Critical Mention Reviews

23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Great Product for PR Pros!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It helps us track radio and TV coverage for clients.
  • It helps us find out how many viewers saw a specific tv clip or listened to a radio segment.
  • Not all broadcast clips have audience numbers which is unfortunate.
  • I would prefer more accurate speech to text - some words are misspelled, and it's tough to find clips because of it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Critical Mention is the Solution You're Looking For!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention's customer service is excellent. Any time we've had a challenge finding a clip or anything, they are on top of it and go above and beyond to make sure we have what we are looking for quickly.
  • The ability to create tailored clips of each mention and quickly share them is unparalleled.
  • The reporting feature is fantastic. It makes it very simple to pull detailed reports and share them with interested parties.
  • The transcription is sometimes unreliable, which can make it a challenge to track mentions if you don't know exactly when/where they are.
Read this authenticated review
Jerry Kambic | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 29, 2018

Critical Mention Is Critical to Our Company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention has been a useful tool over the past dozen years. We have used it to help political campaigns, non-profits, private business and the like to understand where their message is landing and understand if they are hitting their target audience. Our report shows them real-time results for radio, tv, online and even social media.
  • I believe the Critical Mention reporting and reports are far superior to other tracking products we have observed by other in the past.
  • Their online services and support are awesome and when you are looking for a product and value of the product Critical Mention gives you both in one package.
  • I believe the one frustration I have with searching in general that if the closed captioning is not correct on the broadcast end Critical Mention will miss that data. Which is not a Critical Mention issue and does overcome depending on the search. Also, it would be great if you wanted to capture a complete 30 minutes newscast, it could be done by using the search. The clips need to be about to handle 30-minute programs.
  • One nagging issue when using Critical Mention is that it does not save e-mail addresses when sending a report and this requires a waste of time having to type in e-mails that should be able to be pulled from the customers' contacts.
  • Also, it would be great if you wanted to capture a complete 30 minutes newscast, it could be done by using the search. The clips need to be able to handle 30-minute programs.
Read Jerry Kambic's full review
Keith Wald | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2018

PMK*BNC Critical Mention Analysis

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical mention is good at finding a large amount of broadcast clips on particular subjects and news cycles.
  • The ability to search certain shows on stations has proven to be difficult at times and then you have to look up things by timestamp specifically.
  • A feature that I tried to use and did not have any success in is with searching radio. I tried looking up something within the iHeartRadio network and was not successful.
  • Transcription accuracy has been a problem in the past where I was unable to find certain clips and I've had to use a customer service rep for guidance.
Read Keith Wald's full review
Meagen Hagans | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2016

Not your mother's DVR

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provide a variety of download options to retain clips.
  • Monitor web so daily search isn't mandatory.
  • Organize media hits based on audience (local stations vs national stations).
  • Different interface similar to TVEyes when using keyword search (find hits based on number of channels featured).
  • More innovative way to create clips for clients such as a better interface when sharing clip links. A set time when clips will be available to client and to share with a password.
Read Meagen Hagans's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2018

Worth the ROI

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pulling real-time metrics to support each piece of broadcast coverge
  • Sharing organized reports of broadcast media coverage
  • Providing playback opportunities for LIVE segments that aren't always accessible for viewing in the moment
  • The reliance on closed captioning can sometimes cause issues when pulling reports
  • There are sometimes complete captioning blackouts making it hard to find and "wordplay" segments accurately
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Critical Mention is critical for media monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Media monitoring technology
  • Searching for broadcast or radio clips
  • Searching for web aritcles
  • Searching by keywords or phrases
  • Analytics
  • Compiling all clips into one comprehensive report
  • Ability to edit broadcast clips
  • Some of the functionality could be improved
  • Transcription technology could likely be improved
Read this authenticated review
Lyla Shaibi | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2014

Easy to use, but a few changes would make it amazing

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The option to search by call sign and program name is very helpful.
  • Overall, pinpointing a certain clip you need or clips from a certain area of Canada/US is easily facilitated by their search options.
  • Clips load fast and are of good quality.
  • It is extremely slow to delete clips that you've put into a report.
  • Critical Mention often misspells words in its transcript making search terms hard to pinpoint and as a result, relevant clips are harder to find.
  • Clips are often duplicated two or three times.
Read Lyla Shaibi's full review
Allison Lehman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2014

Critical Mention

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention is very simple to navigate and operate. After signing up for an account, users are assigned a dedicated account manager and given a personalized tutorial that provides them with all the information they need to accomplish their tasks and maximize productivity.
  • Various search options, from Boolean logic to caption keywords make the process of finding and sorting results both quick and easy.
  • Compared to other vendors I've worked with, Critical Mention provides the best services when it comes to real-time monitoring, overall.
  • When using Critical Mention for large scale projects with broad search criteria, it can be very difficult to catch duplicate mentions of your keywords within the same broadcast. This often requires a lot of time consuming hands-on work.
  • It would be helpful if there were more independent stations monitored, other than the major affiliates.
  • When stations are not captioned, it can be difficult to find clips without the use of keywords.
  • While there have been major improvements made, there are still bugs within the search function that make certain tasks far more time consuming.
Read Allison Lehman's full review
Jessica Washington | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 02, 2014

Critical Mention - great product!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention is phenomenal for what it's known for (media monitoring).
  • Critical Mention is easy to figure out, streamlines the process of tracking and organizing your company or organization's coverage.
  • Critical mention is relatively easy to figure out.
  • Critical Mention should allow searches to go further back than 30 days.
Read Jessica Washington's full review
Jennifer Jo | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2014

Critical Mention Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Has an extensive list of outlets
  • Easy to find contacts
  • Great for coverage pulling
  • Updated database
  • Cision does pull all coverage. Usually I need to go and do an extensive google search
Read Jennifer Jo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Critical Mention Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitor media mentions and send alerts: it's great because I don't have to go in and search every day. I am set in the morning and afternoon with alerts.
  • Online media reports: it's great because it helps me create my own personal reports in a format that my clients love.
  • Customer service: our account team dedicated to us is amazing. There has never been a time that they let us down.
  • Saving new broadcast clips as reports. Sometimes it's confusing because I don't see everything I saved under the same report.
  • 60 day limit on how far we can go back on our searches. Sometimes I need to pull a clip from 90 or more days ago and I am unable to go that far back.
  • Media alerts about commercials. While the search is set up to capture certain words, sometimes it is a bit much to go through all the commercial content.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2014

Critical Mention Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention allowed me to keep track of all of the pickup around specific stories that were being pitched for my client by scanning not only TV stations, but radio spots too.
  • Critical Mention allowed my team to edit the clip down to show the specific segment, down to the second, of when the client was mentioned.
  • Critical Mention offered a transcript along with the clip as a starting point, since most times it did need to be edited.
  • Within the three years of using Critical Mention, the platform changed multiple times which was hard to keep up with as the changes were drastically different and not always user-friendly.
  • The transcript that Critical Mention offers with the clip is only a starting point as it has a lot of mistakes within in.
  • There was often a big delay from when the clip aired on TV to when it was available on Critical Mention.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2014

Critical Mention, did I mention it's critical to your business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Critical Mention's real-time alerting feature comes in handy and it great as it allows you to focus on other work while staying on top of various television segments.
  • Critical Mention allows you to send video clips in a simple link. Using a application to shorten the web link is even more useful when sending to different people.
  • The filters for search are extremely useful.
  • The audio is sometimes unmatched from the video clips. Therefore headphones are a must with the program.
  • Commercial breaks could be more distinct in the text.
Read this authenticated review

About Critical Mention

Critical Mention allows users to search global TV, Radio, Social Media & Online News, watch video, edit and internally share coverage, receive real-time email alerts, build reports, and analyze coverage through word clouds and graphs.

In contrast to traditional broadcast monitoring services, Critical Mention employs technology to monitor broadcast television in real-time. Using Critical Mention's search platform, customers can view their broadcast clips and transcripts within seconds of airing.

The Critical Mention search platform deploys technology that continuously digitizes transcripts and live broadcast footage, in real-time, and indexes and stores each in the Critical Mention media database. Users are able to perform keyword searches against the database (a company name, product, person, topic, etc.) and have their results of their keyword mention instantly displayed within the platform. Users can then watch the video, read the transcript, forward the clip on to colleagues, order the clip to an archive, or a host of other tasks designed for users to effectively communicate and share their broadcast mentions. Learn more at https://www.criticalmention.com/

Critical Mention Competitors

Critical Mention Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Critical Mention Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No