CrowdStrike Falcon Reviews

27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Randy Munroe | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

CrowdStrike Falcon Endpoint Protection: The Cadillac of Exploit and Ransomware Protection

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrowdStrike Falcon Pro is installed on all enterprise machines, virtual and physical. We even have it installed on our private cloud servers used for web hosting. CrowdStrike is part of our layered defense strategy to mitigate breaches, ransomware and other types of malware. The ability to run on Windows, Mac, and Linux is a huge advantage that we couldn't find in every solution.
  • Ransomware protection. We ran a ransomware simulation with obfuscated executables to hide malware signatures and CrowdStrike found and stopped 15 out of 15.
  • Malware/adware detection. Packaged adware in official installers are instantly blocked without interfering with the install of the primary application.
  • The ability to do a system-level scan like a traditional AV is missing and isn't a feature CrowdStrike is planning on implementing. Old school IT guys are going to be curious about this.
  • Host management and deletion are clunky and take 45 days for a machine to fall off your subscription license.
There aren't many scenarios where I wouldn't recommend CrowdStrike. You'll have the ability to create protection policies for different parts of your environment so that sensitive machines have as much protection as possible, and low-risk machines aren't overly locked down. The only reason I can't see someone choosing CrowdStrike is over a matter of budget. It's not the most expensive, nor is it the cheapest.
Support is generally pretty fast and gets right to the issue. We haven't had to use them much, fortunately, but the issues and questions we've had are usually answered quickly. The customer success manager/account manager you're assigned will also follow up with you on a regular cadence to ensure you're getting the most out of the subscription. There's not a whole lot of room to improve, other than the general confusion about what is/what is not covered in custom packages you're subscribed to. The initial purchase took much longer because of a package name changes and realignments of different modules into those packages.
Read Randy Munroe's full review
Samuel Hadid | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

CrowdStrike Falcon Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The agent is deployed in all endpoints and centrally managed by a team of security professionals. Works as any other next/new gen AV/IPS/IDS but with a more friendly UI that allows for a more granular and customizable security strategy. It's very scalable and its compatibility allows for greater coverage which allows for mitigation of SPFs.
  • The balance between ease of use and granular control.
  • Compatibility.
  • Customer service.
  • Action performed logs not included in the executive/technical report.
  • Some problems and glitches with the management tool.
  • Some web interface items are not very intuitive.
CrowdStrike is very convenient in large scale environments, the product is very agile, scalable and reliable; they even have a 24/7 team constantly aware of your environment in case something got through; the product is so good that they never needed to call. Its range of compatibility is also an important piece to note, it can be integrated into many systems to achieve bigger/stronger coverage. Not sure about their offer but this may not be the main option for small companies.
Their customer service is great. They're always available, always polite, and their level of knowledge makes them always efficient. They always provide a solution, they're very open - they even let you submit ideas to improve their solution, and they are very reachable (their chat support service actually works with the speed and efficiency a chat must always have, unlike other solutions).
Read Samuel Hadid's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Falcon - a complete review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CrowdStrike is being used within the security department. It is installed on machines within the whole organization, but the only people typically looking into the platform are the security team. Systems team has access to the platform, but only log on as needed to update sensors or install new ones. It addresses the issue of not needing to manually scan machines. The detections allow for easily digging into any potential issues.
  • Detailed explanations and break downs of detection.
  • Allows for remote control of machines.
  • Easy to deploy.
  • Falcon isn't continuously scanning the machine, if something is downloaded and viewed as safe it won't be re-checked later.
  • More dashboards and information on vulnerabilities on the machines would be helpful.
  • More reports that could be given to executives would also be beneficial. There are some now, but the options are rather limited.
Falcon does an efficient job of detecting suspicious activity on machines. It is well suited for any scenario, I can't think of a particular case where Falcon wouldn't be useful. There could be a greater amount of dashboards and reporting options, if your company is heavy on those I would suggest looking into Falcon's options before purchasing the product.
When I receive support, it is always useful and informative. However, the support doesn't get back to me in the most timely manner. Often, by the time I hear back from support I have already resolved the issue. But for bigger issues, that need more in-depth help the support team has been incredibly valuable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

CrowdStrike Falcon Delivers As Expected

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have utilized Crowdstrike Falcon for just over a year enterprise-wide across our server and VDI infrastructure with great success. This replaced an older signature-based solution. In the 1st few weeks we have seen an approx. 17% increase in detections. Support has been great through the implementation and initial tightening of rules and removing false positives. Highly recommend CrowdStrike and their managed support.
  • Initial detection through their various proprietary methodologies.
  • The graphical display of the malware and the potential impact chain is fantastic.
  • We realize sensor updating is necessary, but they seem to be very frequent.
  • It is not a cheap solution.
CrowdStrike scales nicely for small to large organizations with ease. Its real-time detection works well and provides great insight into the particular threat triggered. Quick and easy sensor deployment via various methods makes installation relatively easy for most companies. It incorporates white/blacklisting features, exploits and malware detection, as well as IOA behavioral protection.
  • Ease of implementation.
  • Overall protection capabilities.
  • Real-time system inventory function.
  • Insight and intelligence of not only the threat, but the potential of the threat.
  • Support staff of their managed service is excellent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

CrowdStrike does what we need it to do

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor the machines connecting to our network. It scans activity for Malicious activity and determines the severity from low-high. We receive an email telling us what the hostname is of the machine that is effected. The Falcon Complete Team is also able to do things for us such as whitelist.
  • The monitoring is great, and the emails we receive help determine when and if we need to do something on a specific machine.
  • The service that the Falcon Complete Team offers is also helpful.
  • I also think the recommended actions when Escalation: High Detection is determined are great.
  • I have been doing an audit on machines that have or are missing Crowdstrike. MAC addresses are used but don't always match with the serial number of the machine. but Crowdstrike doesn't capture serial numbers. I have to do a manual comparison.
Running audits works great for companies that are Apple-specific. Since I use Jamf, I am able to compare the serial and MAC address.
It is much more difficult to do a comparison with Linux and Windows machines. Trying to get the host name serial number and MAC Address are not that easy.
The Falcon Complete Team is very proactive. I get emails for escalations with information on what needs to be done to correct the issue.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

CrowdStrike gives you the piece of mind to do business in an unsafe business world

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Falcon was installed on all systems in an effort to support attacks. We were recently the victim of an attack and needed to quickly recover and get systems back up and running. CrowdStrike helped us do that securely.
  • Stops breaches.
  • Identifies unauthorized systems and applications, and monitors the use of privileged user accounts anywhere in the environment.
  • Install limitations - Windows XP not capable.
Appropriate if you're concerned about security or just suffered a breach. I wouldn't recommend this program if you are a personal user - but as a business user - the security of our information is very important.
So far it's been great. Giving us the piece of mind that our systems are safe. Until it detects a known threat we won't see it in action. Just like any insurance we hope to never have to use it, but glad it's there.
Read this authenticated review
Mark Sauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2018

CrowdStrike will save your company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Crowdstrike (CS) is deployed globally to all workstations and a dozen critical servers. Crowdstrike is our only application for endpoint protection/security. We went with Crowdstrike specifically to address a rash of Ransomware we experienced back in 2016. Since installing, our problems completely disappeared.
  • Detects and automatically blocks dangerous behavior on endpoints that could be indicative of malicious activity, like executing programs from the deleted items folder, executing a SSH command in silent mode from different places in the OS, etc.
  • Monitors endpoints continuously for known malware, evaluates dangerous behaviors and blocks execution based on risk tolerance settings, uses AI to draw correlations on multiple attack vectors, and has a human malware hunting element to detect known or newly detected attack vectors.
  • Is easy to deploy across a large organization and manage centrally by as few as 1 person part time.
  • This was the fastest and easiest implementation of an enterprise grade security system I have ever done. I pushed software to the endpoints on a Friday afternoon, and was complete by Noon on Monday, as each workstation came online, the installer completed, and we were protected.
  • We get false positive detections when we run an email signature script for our users. These false positives can be a distraction. We've implemented a whitelist for those behaviors, but had some difficulty in figuring out how to configure CrowdStrike to recognize these executions since the file name and hash were always different (the executing file was firstname_lastname.exe, and that was too Vague to whitelist.
It simply works. I do get alerts, but I know Crowdstrike is blocking the behavior or malware, so I don't lose any sleep. Since installing CS, we have not had a single security incident. Nice to focus on other value add tasks than remediating malware or Ransomeware.
Read Mark Sauer's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2018

Crowdstrike Falon EPP - security and intelligence

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Falcon EPP is installed on every PC and server in our environment. Our primary use of the solution is for real-time forensic analysis and we highly value the contributions of the CrowdStrike OverWatch Team.
  • Rapid identification of potential data security issues.
  • Blocking of continued activity and lateral movement in the event that a single endpoint is suspected of compromise.
  • Detailed threat intelligence and analysis from the OverWatch Team.
  • Fully developed and integrated internal vulnerability scanning.
Falcon EPP is ideally suited for organizations with a basic internal data security presence that will benefit from the extended knowledge and 24x7 support.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (5)
9.0
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (5)
9.2
Centralized Management (5)
8.8
Hybrid Deployment Support (3)
7.7
Infection Remediation (5)
9.0
Vulnerability Management (5)
8.2
Malware Detection (5)
9.6

About CrowdStrike Falcon

CrowdStrike's Falcon line of software includes Falcon Endpoint Protection, a complete antivirus and endpoint protection system emphasizing threat detection, machine learning malware detection, and signature free updating. Additionally the available Falcon Spotlight module delivers vulnerability assessment with no performance impact, no additional agents, hardware, scheduled scans, firewall exceptions or admin credentials.

CrowdStrike also offers a managed endpoint security solution, via Falcon Complete.

Try Falcon for free here.

CrowdStrike Falcon Features

Endpoint Security Features

Has featureEndpoint Detection and Response (EDR)
Has featureCentralized Management
Has featureInfection Remediation
Has featureVulnerability Management
Has featureMalware Detection

CrowdStrike Falcon Competitors

SentinelOne, McAfee Endpoint Security, Symantec Cloud Workload Protection, VMware Carbon Black Cloud Endpoint Standard (formerly Cb Defense)

CrowdStrike Falcon Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

- Falcon Pro $6.99 per endpoint/month (for 5-250 endpoints, billed annually) - Falcon Enterprise $14.99 per endpoint/month (minimum number of endpoints applies) - Falcon Premium $17.99 per endpoint/month (minimum number of endpoints applies) You can try Falcon for free at https://go.crowdstrike.com/try-falcon-prevent.html?utm_campaign=freetrial&utm_medium=syn&utm_source=trus.

CrowdStrike Falcon Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No