Dameware Remote Support Reviews

94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

John Fester | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Dameware Remote Support - Saving Time AND Money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote connections are the best in Dameware! You can create groups of techs that can only connect to a group of workstations or servers, ensuring your team remains focused on the systems assigned to them.
  • Deploying or uninstalling services from one computer or multiple computers in a batch, saves tremendous time and is super fast to create!
  • You can already do nearly everything I've thought about inside Dameware. One thing that could be useful would be the ability to deploy a MSI package through it, to a group of workstations.
  • They are very strict on activating the software, but also give you a utility to de-register your installation prior to removing it, so that it frees up your license for another installation.
Read John Fester's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

A great tool for any IT support technician

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quick access to the remote computers.
  • Multiple methods of connecting to remote computers provide easy access to servers or PCs.
  • The admin menus design and options could use some improvement.
  • Multi-monitor support could be improved.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2019

Dameware Remote Support for easy remote sessions!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides remote support to multiple OS
  • Offers full functionality without needing to be on-site
  • The software sometimes gets "stuck" and won't connect to the end user's PC
  • Took a while before being compatible with Windows 10 - before it ran sluggish on Windows 10 machines
  • Pricey
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Harmuth, PMP/MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

DameWare Remote Control Review - Nice Product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote into a user's PCs/laptop was easy. We were able to train temporary tech employees quickly.
  • It did not require the user at the other end to perform any task, so the medical staff could focus on their duties and not be technical.
  • The DameWare client was part of our O/S image, so no software was required for the users to install.
  • We did not find issues with DameWare.
  • If it could interface with our help desk system (ManageEngine), that would be the only improvement.
Read Daniel Harmuth, PMP/MBA's full review
Jason Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2016

DameWare is for you.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It provides the necessary remote tools to allow you to interact with a machine transparently to the user needing support.
  • It allows the client to continue working on their PC while you diagnose their issue using tools like, Remote Registry, File Shares, and Processes.
  • I would like to see snapshots of screens (updated at specific intervals) that I am not connected to through the mini remote control module as a way to keep tabs on users.
  • I would like to see a troubleshooting recorder, similar to Windows 7's Problem Step Recorders with capabilities to email the recording to a specified email address or post to a support forum.
Read Jason Dunaway's full review
Michael Chambers | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

DameWare Remote Control - support team's dream software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • DameWare has been a very reliable solution for remote support for out team.
  • With multiple authentication options, we are able to connect to computers that have been dropped from the domain.
  • The secure file transfer in DameWare provides and quick and easy way to pass files to/from employee computers saving us time during support.
  • Connecting to last session is not always the last session.
  • Saving your position in the Personal Host List would be helpful. I have a folder structure 3 levels deep and when I'm going through a list of computers it is frustrating to have to browse down through the same levels each time.
  • When connecting to a host, an entry is saved in Saved Host List (even duplicates). I would be nice to have an option to save or not save like a quick connect option.
  • DameWare Mobile has separate password than desktop and cannot be linked to Active Directory password like desktop.
Read Michael Chambers's full review
Brett Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

DameWare is a must for IT professionals!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Desktop sharing is vital to me so I can see exactly what end users are experiencing and DameWare does this flawlessly.
  • File transfers are so simple with DameWare it takes all of the guess work out transferring files so even beginners could use it with confidence.
  • These are great tools that DameWare provides to strengthen my ability to get the job done right and get it done quickly.
  • Perhaps popup messages that guide a user to where they need to go when sharing a session with another remote user to allow them full access as well.
  • When the toolbar gets minimized it can be difficult to get it restored.
Read Brett Davis's full review
Marc Cummings | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

Managed IT Services Dream

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • First and foremost, the Mini Remote Control is a lifesaver. It offers a robust set of connectivity options and a snappy console to manage the machines while you're connected. You're able to connect to multiple platforms (Windows, Linux, and MAC). I find these to be a huge benefit especially when it comes to BYOD environments and remote users. As long as there's an internet connection, you can support them.
  • System monitoring and information is another feature that is done particularly well by DameWare Remote Support. You can get an in depth view of all services, scheduled tasks, event logs, and much more at the click of a button. This provides a huge benefit to systems administrators by allowing them to query any information necessary to address a problem or apply simple fixes without having to log into the box directly.
  • The export tool allows for quick and easy reports to be produced about various information that you select. Whether it's active directly overview or a software inventory for each machine, this proves to be a beneficial tool. Our company utilizes it for software queries and inventory purposes.
  • We have had issues with credentials saving for specific domains and/or machines. I would like to see a credential manager in place, especially given that my system administrators manage a portfolio of clients.
  • When connectivity is lost for a particular machine, whether it's a reboot or network connection failure the screen just goes blank. It would be nice to have an auto ping show so that you know when the machine is back online.
  • I'm sure it's in development, but it would be nice to have a cloud based console or implementation with various firewall vendors adding to their UTM software suite. It would be ideal to VPN to a firewall and authenticate a session with a DameWare client installed on that box.
Read Marc Cummings's full review
Jeanne Moffat | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

Simplify your world with DRS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of installing service on a new machine.
  • Interactive with Windows Active Directory.
  • Ease of navigation throughout DameWare Remote Support and DRS Mini Remote
  • A static IP address has to be set on the machine before the service installs
Read Jeanne Moffat's full review
Robert Long | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 10, 2015

Ease of multi-monitor remote system support with DameWare!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Virtual display compatibility for multiple monitor workstation support
  • Upload and download of software patches in a shared folder with easy access
  • The ability to lock the end-user keyboard and mouse to prevent accidental confusion during critical operations
  • Import of workstation information from another management system to ease build and deployment of the software.
  • Occassional loss of control of downstream system due to unforeseen issues (network/bandwidth?) - possible QOS escalation within the application?
Read Robert Long's full review
Louis Gephardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 31, 2015

What a Dame! DameWare Remote Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Remote Support: DameWare makes it easy to remotely manage servers, and assist clients with technical issues.
  • Easy Deployment: DameWare makes it very easy to customize an MSI installer for use with Active Directory and Group Policy in order to install the DameWare client on all workstations in our domain.
  • WebHelpDesk Integration: One click in WebHelpDesk will launch the DameWare Remote Support software and connect me with a client in need of assistance. When the session is done, the software allows me to update the ticket right from DameWare.
  • The only real area of weakness I see for DameWare is the difficulty in setting it up to help clients on other networks or across the Internet. Setting up the DameWare Server can be a bit cumbersome to a less advanced user and it does require some firewall configuration to make work. Compared to items like LogMeIn, join.me, or GoToAssist, this can be difficult for a one-man-shop to set up and maintain.
Read Louis Gephardt's full review
Dan Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2015

DameWare Mini Remote Control Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use. Really easy to get up and going.
  • From our end users stand point, there isn't anything that they need to do, no typing of codes, installing files etc. They call into support and we are able to remotely connect to help them.
  • We've run into some issues using this tool with shared desktops inside our Citrix environment. We use another tool for those support sessions
  • Cost, while not overly expensive it isn't free.
Read Dan Turner's full review
James Mauck | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2015

Your users will feel the love remotely!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy for users to comprehend
  • Easy to deploy to Windows desktops for consistent end user experience
  • Good security options to offer end user privacy protection.
  • Add secure option to operate beyond corporate WAN, I.E. over the Internet like Citrix GoToAssist
Read James Mauck's full review
Dwayne Lofton | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2015

Dameware Remote Support is the One-Man IT Department's Best Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to address multiple support issues at once is critical for a small or one-person support staff.
  • The interface is easy to work with and logically laid out. There's a lot of functionality but it's easy to just jump in and use.
  • The included system tools give you pretty much everything you'll need to manage disks, check events, and run remote backups.
  • It does't automatically repair a user's desktop on it's own. Is that too much to ask? Honestly, I've been pretty happy with it.
Read Dwayne Lofton's full review
Justin Mauck | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2015

DameWare is Fantastic!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • DameWare allows us to remotely connect to ANY device on our network
  • DameWare takes the guesswork out of troubleshooting issues - end-users routinely describe errors and system glitches incorrectly, so being able to remote into their device to see what they are actually experiencing is invaluable.
  • To connect to PCs, users must have administrative rights on the client PC. I totally understand the reasoning behind this, but our setup includes scenarios where we need to connect to clients on a separate domain. We can ultimately connect, but we do not have the ability to take control of the client's keyboard/mouse, even after a client has accepted our connection. This makes the troubleshooting process less effective.
Read Justin Mauck's full review
Hiren Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2015

Best Remote Control Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Chat function.
  • Good refresh rate over the wan connection without lag.
  • Chat function does not stay on top [of screen] or blink so a user can see something is incoming.
Read Hiren Shah's full review
Bill Dalton | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

You should be using DameWare. Enough said.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I can work on multiple PC's or servers at once and never have to walk the user though the necessary steps over the phone.
  • It integrates with my Active Directory domain, so I always have a current list of devices that it can connect to. And with the remote server, I can connect to any of them even from a phone.
  • For the price, I can't really think of anything that is left out. I would like a way to view what PC a user is logged into.
Read Bill Dalton's full review
Don Niman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

Great Support Tool for any IT Department

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The ability to remotely control our desktops and provide UAC credentials is great!
  • Having the ability to look at logs, processes, and remote control all from one console saves a lot of time and resources.
  • Using the centralized server allows us to activate by user instead of per computer helps to save on cost.
  • You are unable to provide UAC credentials if you are using an Internet session
  • You can launch the remote control from the main console but it opens another application and forces you to login again to the Central Server.
Read Don Niman's full review
Benjamin Doyle | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

Dameware is a solid product, worth the price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Almost no screen refresh issues.
  • Simple file transfers
  • Connect to multiple computers at once
  • I disagree with the Solarwinds business model requiring pay for maintenance to get updates
  • Retrieving licenses from PCs no longer in use is a pain in the ass
Read Benjamin Doyle's full review
Daniel Mantell | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2015

Effective remote support for a reasonable cost for most environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Quickly access user PCs.
  • Allow quick functionality of common needs (e.g. remote cursor, scaling, remove user input).
  • Allows multiple instances.
  • Authentication can be cumbersome, there should be an option to remember authentication time for any PC.
  • Should provide auto scaling for multiple instances (e.g. auto scale 4 windows to fit one monitor changing the destination resolution as necessary during session)
  • Link with AD computer list in a practical way.
Read Daniel Mantell's full review
Benjamin McCarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

DameWare is still the best after many many years of use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple install.
  • Manage computers remotely easily.
  • The reminders or service running out or version updates required needs to have the ability to turn them off.
  • Registering each install after rebuilding a pc and being required to go through the web site for a reinstall is a big pain.
Read Benjamin McCarthy's full review
John Knierim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2015

I mostly love DameWare!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Can connect to many operating systems using different protocols
  • Uses a variety of authentication protocols
  • Easy to configure
  • The UI is a little clumsy
  • Having to launch a new window after ending the last session does not make sense to me
  • It has always been a real pain to login to their website for updates
Read John Knierim's full review
Troy Riegsecker | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2015

Great Product! Must use and buy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy installation for the administrator and easy installation when deploying to the end user.
  • The interface is extremely easy to use. Even our beginner help desk person was able to pick up and use the software right away.
  • We have had not one issue being able to connect with someone and it uses little bandwith.
  • I think one improvement could be having a saved directory be able to organize it by lets say domain controllers, and site's frequent users.
Read Troy Riegsecker's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Screen sharing (53)
10.0
File transfer (50)
10.0
Instant message (38)
9.0
Secure remote access with Smart Card authentication (13)
9.0
Access to sleeping/powered-off computers (35)
9.2
Over-the-Internet remote session (38)
9.3
Initiate remote control from mobile (25)
9.0
Remote management of servers & workstations (47)
10.0
Remote Active Directory® management (35)
9.5
Centralized management dashboard (31)
8.3
Session record (5)
8.7
Annotations (4)
7.7
Monitoring and Alerts (5)
9.0
Multi-platform remote control (24)
9.7

About Dameware Remote Support

DameWare Remote Support is a systems administration tool that lets IT admins and support teams provide remote support to end-users. This tool enables users to initiate remote connections with multiple computers at the same time and provide support with the help of the built-in administration tools and utilities. Users can also remotely connect to Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X systems—all from a single, central DameWare console. The vendor says the solution is trusted by over 70,000 organizations worldwide and that DameWare was the first remote support software to introduce Smart Card authentication for remote connectivity.With the help of a secure internet proxy, DameWare lets users connect to thier end-users and customers across the globe—whether they are situated inside or outside their corporate network. The DameWare Mobile Gateway functionality lets IT pros provide on-call and after-hours support by launching remote sessions from iOS and Android devices.

DameWare Remote Support enables IT Pros to:

  • Benefit from in-session chat, screenshot capture, and file transfer functionality
  • Remotely troubleshoot and manage Windows servers and workstations with built-in system tools
  • Remotely reboot systems, start/stop services & processes, copy/delete files, view and clear event logs
  • Manage multiple Active Directory domains, users an groups, and remotely reset passwords
Categories:  Remote Desktop

Dameware Remote Support Screenshots

Dameware Remote Support Integrations

Dameware Remote Support Competitors

LogMeIn Rescue, TeamViewer, RescueAssist, BeyondTrust Remote Support (Formerely Bomgar Remote Support), ConnectWise Control (formerly ScreenConnect)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
DameWare Remote Support$365per technician user
DameWare Mini Remote Control$259per technician user

DameWare Remote Support and Mini Remote Control are licensed based on the number of technician users that use the software for remote administration. There are no limits or restrictions for the number of end-users supported or the number of remote endpoints/computers supported. As you buy higher counts of licenses, the per-seat pricing goes down giving you a reduced total price.

Dameware Remote Support Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Dameware Remote Support Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android