TrustRadius
Salesforce launched Data.com in 2011, in partnership with D&B, but has since decided to gradually sunset the platform. Some aspects of the platform will continue to be available until July 2020. Data.com offers a store of company and customer data for use in sales and prospecting. There are 3 components of Data.com: Connect, Prospector, and Clean.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/cr/3H/3SLF3I1CWNA4.PNGData.com - the outbound prospector's go-to toolData.com is used in our sales and strategy teams at our company. We use Data.com to fuel all of our outbound sales activity and tie it closely to our account-based sales and marketing approach. Data.com is a great way for us to search for companies and contacts that fall within our ideal customer and prospect profile. Our strategy team uses Data.com to validate our assumptions on our target market and ensure we are reaching the addressable market, based on the data this source provides.,Data.com is a great way to find out accurate revenue and employee numbers for companies across various industries. Data.com's filtering capabilities allow our team to quickly find the ideal prospects to reach out to. Data.com, being owned by Salesforce, allows for a seamless integration into our CRM. This saves us an incredible amount of time and ensures data accuracy.,Data.com's data can be all over the board in terms of reliability. For contacts that have been there over a year, we see a significant increase in email bounces. Data.com's token model is expensive and seems outdated compared to what their competitors are doing. I'd love to see Data.com offer an email deliverability verifier. This would ensure only valid emails are available on Data.com I'd love to see Data.com offer the ability to see which CMS (content management system) accounts use.,5,Data.com has helped decrease the time it takes to find contacts, thus making us more efficient in outbound prospecting. Data.com pays for itself multiple times over if we can close one deal based off an outbound lead that we found using the tool, so the ROI is extremely high. Data.com does require Salesforce, which can be expensive. More tokens are needed if you want to be able to download more contacts, which increases costs quite quickly.,SharpSpring,We generate a variety of reports using Data.com. The majority of these reports deal with the specific accounts that fit in our ideal customer profile. From there, we generate a secondary report with all of the contacts, from the accounts that fit our profile, to build out a big report of ideal prospects. These reports do meet our needs and ensure we are always targeting the right people.,Drupal, Salesforce App Cloud, PardotGreat tool for the Salesforce-centric organizationData.com is used in our organization to scrub contacts within Salesforce. After a meeting or demo we might have names, but no emails, or vice verse. Perhaps the name of a decision maker was mentioned, but no contact information was shared. Data.com helps us fill in the gaps. We also use it as we add accounts into Salesforce. Data.com is very useful because it includes annual revenue, legal name, and addresses along with the accounts that one imports. This cuts a lot of research time from my schedule and helps our sales team give the correct price book to our customers.,Provide full contact details of an account contact. Provide industry and annual revenue data for accounts. Often provides several options when adding a new account. That is, to add the headquarters or branch, or associated company.,It is not as clear how to use Data.com in Salesforce Lightning. If this was as clear as it was in the previous UI experience, it might be more useful. Sometimes smaller accounts will have duplicate entries in Data.com so that it may confuse the user to pick the correct account. Adding new contacts from an account that product contact search results that do not directly correspond to the account. This happens especially when the account has a rather common name.,9,It does an excellent job of creating a more complete picture of an account and key contacts. Helps clarify the key contacts. Sometimes all you get is a mumbled name on a call that might be very important. Data.com allows for a quick search and identification of the contact that would have been lost otherwise. Even helped us begin sending marketing assets to customers of our partners that share a need overlap.,,Our team mostly generates reports based on the IT or finance contact of a particular organization. When the lists are too long, then we apply filters based on the authority level of their title positions.,iContact Pro Select, Camtasia, SnagitSales research and prospecting toolOur sales and business development teams use Data.com to research potential sales prospects and gather account information. Data.com provides company data for us to target our prospects and allocate resources appropriately. We are also asked by our marketing team to pull information from Data.com on specific industries and company profiles.,Data.com provides extensive industry information. The company and account profiles on Data.com are thorough. The integration to the Salesforce platform is extremely useful as it allows us to seamlessly push and "clean" our records.,The database on contact information is limited. Larger companies are fairly easy to find information on but data is lacking on smaller organizations. The monthly limit of 300 credits can sometimes be a roadblock to pull data quickly.,8,It has made our prospecting efforts more effective and efficient. We've been able to target prospects at a much faster pace. We've increased the size of our pipeline.,ZoomInfo and Datanyze,We do not utilize the reports out of Data.com. We just the native reports and dashboards in Salesforce. The reports that we run general information on accounts and contacts and are not specific to Data.com. The industry classification data is not that important to us as is the general vertical or industry of the companies we are trying to target.,ZoomInfo, DatanyzeData.com has the data that will improve your sales and marketing teamsData.com is being used by both the sales and marketing teams for deep insight into companies, projects and contacts. It is solving a big problem of where to concentrate your efforts, most return for your time spent. It allows the sales team to focus on growing accounts that utilize our types of services and are profitable.,Search for company contacts and build out org charts. Allow sales to focus on companies that are spending. Importing data and parsing contact without any data entry. Solid, easy to follow dashboards.,Some of the contacts and companies have outdated information (wrong numbers or emails or the person has left or someone new has taken the role). Limits on data you can parse into SFDC. Can be tricky to run reports if not knowledgeable.,8,It allowed me to find target clients easily, creating more sales. It has allowed us to market better and get more attendees to functions which sometimes produces greater sales.,RainKing (acquired by DiscoverOrg),I did not typically run too many reports.,HubSpot, LinkedIn Talent, RainKing (acquired by DiscoverOrg), Bullhorn CRMData.com - Tons of info but often outdated.Data.com was previously used by the business development and sales team at the agency I work for. It was our number one resource for prospecting and finding contact information for target leads. Aside from contact information, we leveraged Data.com for company information including headquarter address, annual revenue, Dun and Bradstreet numbers, and more.,Easy integration with Salesforce. Good filters for prospecting. You are able to segment by location, title, industry, etc. Access to an abundant amount of information. Good for mid-size and large company information,Incorrect contact information. Either from being old or just totally wrong. Duplicate records, often times with conflicting data. Not ideal for small business information.,5,Promotes lead generation Increases team efficiency by centralizing lead information Incorrect data can skew the CRM integrity,Winmo and Datanyze,I would not often generate reports with Data.com. Data.com was solely used for importing company and lead information into our Salesforce which was then used in targeted outreach campaigns by our business development team. The only reports I would run would be lists of segmented contact information, usually by industry and lead title.,Winmo, NetSuite OpenAir PSA, BlueJeans, Okta, Box, ADP Workforce Now
Unspecified
Data.com
60 Ratings
Score 7.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Data.com Reviews

Data.com
60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.2 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 60 vetted Data.com reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-20 of 20)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Zach Ettelman profile photo
March 12, 2018

Review: "Data.com - the outbound prospector's go-to tool"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com is used in our sales and strategy teams at our company. We use Data.com to fuel all of our outbound sales activity and tie it closely to our account-based sales and marketing approach. Data.com is a great way for us to search for companies and contacts that fall within our ideal customer and prospect profile. Our strategy team uses Data.com to validate our assumptions on our target market and ensure we are reaching the addressable market, based on the data this source provides.
  • Data.com is a great way to find out accurate revenue and employee numbers for companies across various industries.
  • Data.com's filtering capabilities allow our team to quickly find the ideal prospects to reach out to.
  • Data.com, being owned by Salesforce, allows for a seamless integration into our CRM. This saves us an incredible amount of time and ensures data accuracy.
  • Data.com's data can be all over the board in terms of reliability. For contacts that have been there over a year, we see a significant increase in email bounces.
  • Data.com's token model is expensive and seems outdated compared to what their competitors are doing.
  • I'd love to see Data.com offer an email deliverability verifier. This would ensure only valid emails are available on Data.com
  • I'd love to see Data.com offer the ability to see which CMS (content management system) accounts use.
Data.com is a good prospecting and data information tool for any agency or company doing outbound prospecting. Data.com requires you to also have Salesforce CRM, so this tool is really only suited for those companies that can afford Salesforce. Because of this, Data.com seems like a better fit for companies with at least 30 or more employees (total in the company) and at least 5 Salesforce users.

Data.com is not a good fit for small businesses.
Read Zach Ettelman's full review
Jerry van Dalen Jr. profile photo
June 07, 2018

Data.com Review: "Great tool for the Salesforce-centric organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com is used in our organization to scrub contacts within Salesforce. After a meeting or demo we might have names, but no emails, or vice verse. Perhaps the name of a decision maker was mentioned, but no contact information was shared. Data.com helps us fill in the gaps. We also use it as we add accounts into Salesforce. Data.com is very useful because it includes annual revenue, legal name, and addresses along with the accounts that one imports. This cuts a lot of research time from my schedule and helps our sales team give the correct price book to our customers.
  • Provide full contact details of an account contact.
  • Provide industry and annual revenue data for accounts.
  • Often provides several options when adding a new account. That is, to add the headquarters or branch, or associated company.
  • It is not as clear how to use Data.com in Salesforce Lightning. If this was as clear as it was in the previous UI experience, it might be more useful.
  • Sometimes smaller accounts will have duplicate entries in Data.com so that it may confuse the user to pick the correct account.
  • Adding new contacts from an account that product contact search results that do not directly correspond to the account. This happens especially when the account has a rather common name.
A great tool to further populate the information on a prospect account or contact. Also serves as a good tool for more general prospecting. You can basically find any company from a name or website and begin prospecting through that. Not so good if you want to build an email list. This is not the intended use for the solution.
Read Jerry van Dalen Jr.'s full review
Steve Kim profile photo
February 28, 2018

Data.com Review: "Sales research and prospecting tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our sales and business development teams use Data.com to research potential sales prospects and gather account information. Data.com provides company data for us to target our prospects and allocate resources appropriately. We are also asked by our marketing team to pull information from Data.com on specific industries and company profiles.
  • Data.com provides extensive industry information.
  • The company and account profiles on Data.com are thorough.
  • The integration to the Salesforce platform is extremely useful as it allows us to seamlessly push and "clean" our records.
  • The database on contact information is limited.
  • Larger companies are fairly easy to find information on but data is lacking on smaller organizations.
  • The monthly limit of 300 credits can sometimes be a roadblock to pull data quickly.
Data.com is useful if you are trying to segment an entire vertical or market. Company and account information is robust but specific contact information is lacking. They provide a granular level of data as it relates to industry standards (i.e. SIC, NAICS, etc.) but if the company you are trying to research is private or on a smaller scale, you may have difficulty finding the right information.
Read Steve Kim's full review
James Reich profile photo
January 16, 2018

Review: "Data.com has the data that will improve your sales and marketing teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com is being used by both the sales and marketing teams for deep insight into companies, projects and contacts. It is solving a big problem of where to concentrate your efforts, most return for your time spent. It allows the sales team to focus on growing accounts that utilize our types of services and are profitable.
  • Search for company contacts and build out org charts.
  • Allow sales to focus on companies that are spending.
  • Importing data and parsing contact without any data entry.
  • Solid, easy to follow dashboards.
  • Some of the contacts and companies have outdated information (wrong numbers or emails or the person has left or someone new has taken the role).
  • Limits on data you can parse into SFDC.
  • Can be tricky to run reports if not knowledgeable.
Data.com is good for any sales team that needs to find buyers. It is good for prospecting companies and finding clients that are spending in your industry or on similar services. It might not be ideal for a sales team that already has existing accounts and are just managing those accounts.
Read James Reich's full review
Erik Viager profile photo
December 14, 2017

Review: "Data.com - Tons of info but often outdated."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com was previously used by the business development and sales team at the agency I work for. It was our number one resource for prospecting and finding contact information for target leads. Aside from contact information, we leveraged Data.com for company information including headquarter address, annual revenue, Dun and Bradstreet numbers, and more.
  • Easy integration with Salesforce.
  • Good filters for prospecting. You are able to segment by location, title, industry, etc.
  • Access to an abundant amount of information.
  • Good for mid-size and large company information
  • Incorrect contact information. Either from being old or just totally wrong.
  • Duplicate records, often times with conflicting data.
  • Not ideal for small business information.
Data.com is good for large-scale account based marketing and outreach campaigns. It provides business development professionals with a large amount of company and lead information. Users can easily filter and manage which leads and companies they want to import into Salesforce and add to their database. It is ideal for prospecting mid to large size businesses. Unfortunately much of the information is outdated and incorrect. I would often experience a high bounce rate on contact information that was directly pulled from Data.com.
Read Erik Viager's full review
Thomas Henderson profile photo
December 08, 2017

Review: "Data.com: Simple to use and trustworthy"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Data.com within the sales department. It allows a single location for our team to identify contacts within an organization and find accurate email addresses. We use Data.com alongside of LinkedIn Sales Navigator to ensure that we are reaching out to contacts that are still working with a company.
  • Find email addresses of contacts within a company.
  • Easy to refund "points" spent on incorrect addresses.
  • Able to sort by specific criteria i.e. title, date last updated, alphabetically, etc.
  • Deeper reach of companies that are online.
  • Data.com does well with larger well-known companies, it does struggle with contacts at businesses under a certain level.
  • Find a way to link contacts and their LinkedIn profiles so they are automatically removed if a contact is no longer with the company.
  • Interface could use some updating as well to be more intuitive.
Data.com is best suited for sales teams that have a robust outreach program. For teams that are taking an account based approach, this is a great tool to identify email addresses of multiple people within an organization. This could also be a great tool for those wanting to expand their network in a specific vertical.
Read Thomas Henderson's full review
Paul Murphy profile photo
August 10, 2017

Review: "Data.com is great for price conscious, resource rich professionals"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use data.com routinely, every few weeks at least, but at times every day for several weeks a month. As a freelancer, I often get employment building sales lists for clients, and this has been an indispensable resource for me. It's great to cross-reference with LinkedIn to ensure data quality and check for job title changes.
  • Data.com is appealing because it's affordable. You might need to purchase a few contacts to get rolling, but once you're able to add some yourself and gain additional points, it can very rewarding to "earn" additional contacts by submitting some of your own.
  • There is a wide range of search terms available to narrow down your list by name, region, company name, and others.
  • Easy "add contacts" function, and a template to add a large number of them at once.
  • Some contacts can be old. Perhaps they could consider validating some that are older than 5 years.
  • They don't always detect duplicate companies. For example, I've added the same company twice before, I don't understand how they allow that, or prevent others from adding duplicates. It doesn't happen very often,, only occasionally.
  • Sometimes data.com will "autocorrect" a job title incorrectly. For example, entering "Director of People & Culture" will autocorrect it to "Director of peopleandculture" If you don't catch it, it looks pretty bad for the next person who wants to view the contact.
Data.com is well suited for people that like to earn their resources, rather than just expect to pay for them when there's no budget for it.

The platform is easy to use and navigate, and doesn't really have any "quirks" to mention.

On the other hand, because they are not verified by data.com/salesforce, it could make a paying person skeptical about buying a truly correct set of contacts.
Read Paul Murphy's full review
John Cupoli profile photo
November 08, 2017

Data.com Review: "Best Crowd Sourced Data Provider"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Data.com over the past five years. Currently I use it individually as a resource to find contacts. Even if the exact person you are looking for is not in their database many times you can get an email of another person at the organization and use the email syntax to get the person's direct email.
  • Robust crowd sourced database that generally provides accurate information. This is a great help for general searches looking for specific titles.
  • Easy to add companies and contacts to earn points. The ability to earn points by adding either a .csv or individual contacts is a great feature for individuals who want to be able to find new contact info for free. I've never spent a cent on data and have been able to get thousands of contacts.
  • Using Data.com is very intuitive. They did a good job with site layout and even a new user should be able to easily navigate the site and features.
  • Bad data. As with any crowd sourced database, the quality degrades over time. While you can mark a contact as having left the company, if you purchase contacts in bulk it can be cumbersome to go back in and mark them all as bad data to get your points back. Perhaps allowing to mark numerous contacts at bad at once would be helpful.
  • Manipulated data. People adding bad data or editing existing contacts intentionally to get points. I come across this a lot, and have had contacts I've added marked as no longer with company when they are. I always go back in and fix it, however not all users are vigilant about this which means there are a lot of non-searchable contacts that are actually still viable.
I think it is an incredibly useful tool to both find new contacts and figure out at least the email even for a contact who may not be in the database. I wouldn't rely solely on Data.com for my contacts as generally, my lists have had anywhere from 25-40% bad data.
Read John Cupoli's full review
Bryan Gorham profile photo
October 27, 2017

User Review: "Data.com with SFDC"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The sales department uses Data.com here. We divide sales territories up by size of company and also use NAICS codes as we have a vertical sales division selling specifically to software and technology companies. This is divided up my NAICS codes, which are provided by data.com as well as size of company.
  • NAICS codes and NAICS descriptions
  • Employee count of company
  • Geography; locations of offices
  • Unfortunately, the NAICS codes can be incorrect.
  • Sometimes the employee count is way off.
  • In our Salesforce integration, the "clean" button, which is supposed to update info on the prospect page rarely works.
The Salesforce integration works great, however, the clean button rarely works, even if the info you are looking for is in data.com. For some reason, the info refuses to update automatically when that is its exact function it is supposed to do.
Read Bryan Gorham's full review
Eric Farnham profile photo
October 25, 2017

User Review: "Been using Data.com (Jigsaw) for years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have had an account with Data.com (previously called Jigsaw) for several years which I've continued to use through my last few job positions. Currently, data.com is one of 4 contact databases which my company uses to build lists and find email addresses/direct numbers for contacts we have. I really [like] that I haven't had to pay anything for Data.com in many years because I am able to get "points" for new contacts by uploading or updating contacts to data.com. I find the data quality to be slightly above average, about 80% accurate when it comes to direct numbers and email deliverability.
  • Economical option, one of the few B2B contact databases that offers a plan that costs nothing if you upload or update contacts.
  • Tight integration with Salesforce.
  • Allows export of lists: some B2B databases don't allow easy exports or charge extra for that feature.
  • No append feature to automatically add contact information to a list of names.
  • Not the most accurate. Although the data is updated by users, it's not foolproof. More accurate would be some of the other databases which employ analysts to call the names on the list and confirm.
  • More comprehensive data for US companies than foreign ones.
- Companies that use salesforce.com will get the most value out of data.com because of the tight integration.
- The individual cost free account is great for sales representatives to have for themselves to add to whatever tools are provided by each company they work for.
- Data.com is really good for building lists as the search and filter functions work well.
Read Eric Farnham's full review
Leah Sevey profile photo
September 15, 2017

Review: "Data.com is hit or miss, but can be free, which is a huge plus"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use data.com to obtain contact information for people and companies. I am the Head of Customer Success, but I also support our sales team to find new leads that may benefit from our product. I have suggested that others on our sales team make an account so they can research contact info as well.
  • Data.com provides detailed company information such as headquarter address, phone number, approximate number of employees, revenue and industry.
  • I like that I can filter my search by title, department, C level, etc.
  • I can also research the addresses of all company locations
  • I like that I can add contacts and earn points so that I can use the product for free
  • Data.com is not always my first source for lead generation research because the information I receive is frequently unreliable
  • I don't like that I have to rely on other people to provide contact information. If data.com does due diligence for accuracy, they clearly don't do it well because the contact information is false most of the time.
  • Start up/smaller companies are usually not listed
If I'm doing a general search for company and/or contact information for a large company, I will use data.com. If I don't have much time and I want to ensure the information I search is correct, I will likely use other software or search engines.
Read Leah Sevey's full review
Kayla Latulippe profile photo
August 23, 2017

Data.com Review: "Easy to use and a great tool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Data.com in addition to different program such as DiscoverOrg. I am not sure who else uses it in my department or in the organization. It gives more insight into the companies that I look up. The employees add themselves into the companies directory so it is a little bit more accurate as to how many users the company has and the contact information is more up to date. I find it very helpful.
  • Employees input data for more accurate information.
  • It is very easy to use.
  • It could use a little bit more information on companies, but it is mostly the employees that input data so it is hard to have more details.
It is well suited when you are trying to look up a company that may have more employees because the more employees that input their information equals the more information you can obtain. A scenario where it is less appropriate is when the company is smaller and not a lot of employees use the website to input data.
Read Kayla Latulippe's full review
Jeremy Levine profile photo
September 26, 2017

User Review: "Data.com it is what it is"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We] Use it to both prospect new clients and find contact info for prospects we find in Sales Navigator.
  • Has a pretty good set of addresses
  • You can get free credits if you have access to lists of contacts
  • Easy to Use
  • Cleaner data
  • Less cumbersome uploads
  • Better search across companies
If you need to find people at large companies to prospect
Read Jeremy Levine's full review
No photo available
September 13, 2017

Data.com Review: "Broad reach. Data could be more up to date."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Data.com mainly for prospect phone and email addresses. We will also use it to get firmographic data on a limited basis.
  • Extensive collection of companies.
  • Built into Salesforce.
  • A lot of phone number data.
  • A lot of email bounces and incorrect phone numbers.
  • Data is stale. Often contacts have moved to different companies.
Data.com is a good place to start when looking for a data vendor. It's relatively inexpensive, is built into Salesforce, and has a very broad range of industries for contact data. Where data.com surpasses other tools in breadth, it lacks in depth -- if you have a smaller niche or more tightly defined addressable market, you may want to look into other providers or using other tactics. Also, it doesn't appear that they refresh the data often, as you will get a lot of bounces or contacts no longer at the company.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 08, 2017

Review: "We found what we were looking for at Data.com"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our SDR organization uses a variety of resources for finding prospects' direct contact information. Data.com is a good place for supplementing the bulk of information we receive from other sources with one-off pieces of information (e.g. an email address or direct dial) for someone that we can't find elsewhere. It helps our SDRs to conduct multi-channel outreach, improving their chances of connecting with a prospect and setting a meeting.
  • The system of redeeming points for contact information is a great idea - it encourages crowd sourcing information while keeping the service free/affordable for the average sales person.
  • The search functionality is robust enough that I have confidence in the results when I'm searching for a particular prospect. I can be sure that if a prospect doesn't show up, there's probably no legitimate information for them in the system.
  • Data.com captures the right information - going so far as to require a title - so you don't waste points/money on bogus contacts. You can be confident there's a valid email address and the potential for a direct dial is fairly high as well. If not, you can easily correct it and gain points back.
  • Data.com could improve the amount of data available for its users. We use this to find prospects that don't appear elsewhere, rather than a first stop, since many of our other data sources are more comprehensive.
  • It would be nice to be able to export contacts directly into a platform like Salesforce or Outreach, rather than just to a csv.
  • The user interface could use an update! It looks like 90s tech.
I recommend Data.com every chance I get. It is a great source of information for field reps, who are looking to find contact info for a specific person or a couple of people. It is also a good supplement to the likes of DiscoverOrg for marketing or sales development reps, who have massive data sources at their disposal but would like to fill in some blanks or double check information if they're not getting a response.
Read this authenticated review
Robert Belton profile photo
February 06, 2017

User Review: "Data.com - One stop Data shop!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com is a tool our research and prospecting teams use to gain and leverage business intelligence to aid in their efforts to help open up new business. Using the search features allows to narrow results down to our ideal customer profile targets, and focus on that marketplace. Without the features Data.com boasts, our research and prospecting time spent developing prospect lists and intelligence was exponentially more cumbersome.
  • Advanced searching - allows users to narrow down search results or target specific sectors based on parameters like revenue, subsidiaries, competition, industry, etc. Very detailed and specific background information is provided on organizations, and allows you to have a richer understanding of the prospect or client.
  • Customer service - they are quick and pleasant to deal with any time that we've ever had a question arise.
  • Salesforce integration - this software syncs records to salesforce with a few clicks of a button. It even allows you to clean your database and remove duplicates / append to existing records with their Clean function.
  • Multi-Location facilities - When searching for a prospect or account, you'll find that organizations with multiple locations (or worse, ones with 10+) all come back with the account name identical (Ex; "John Deere") and no easy way to identify them without manually changing the name yourself.
To build a strong prospect list and clean your database at the same, Data.com is unbeatable. Their advanced searching cuts down the time required to sift through accounts that don't meet your ideal customer profiles, and allows your resources to be more effective and productive overall. As an added bonus, the smooth integration to Salesforce will appeal to users of one of the larger CRM's, though; some may find the fact that organizations with multiple locations are hard to differentiate when importing them to your instance of salesforce without creating duplicates.

As far as data integrity is concerned, Data.com does a moderately good job of providing a healthy blend of senior and entry level employees, though you may find some of the information outdated. This can be annoying, but leveraging the available information the right way beats having nothing at all and being stonewalled by a gatekeeper.
Read Robert Belton's full review
Michael Owskey profile photo
September 19, 2016

"Data.com user review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use data.com in conjunction with Salesforce to qualify our lead flow. In addition to using it for inbound leads and the qualifications of them we use it for client data such as number of employees, as well as location and industry. We find that it helps us in our MQL processes.
  • It is great at finding company location.
  • It integrates with our Salesforce instance easily.
  • it also works within our Pardot instance.
  • It seems to aggregate its data from a number of sources. Often times this leaves things like the number employees as inaccurate.
Data.com is well suited to enterprise and larger mid-market clients and things where there is a wealth of public information to draw upon. If you find that you need to target larger deals within an enterprise level you have a great tool here. If you have a smaller or more niche market, you may have a harder time getting the same level of accurate data from data.com.
Read Michael Owskey's full review
Kate Sarkissian profile photo
May 24, 2016

Review: "Data.com is the key to keeping Duplicates out!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-demand data quality reporting, updates and lead generation to support account-based campaigning.

We recently started using the Company Hierarchy tab when creating new accounts. This allows us to ensure that we are tucking the account under the right parent account, or, moving other accounts underneath their parent account.

What we hope to see in the near future is the ability to make changes to our OWN hierarchy structure based on the Data.com Company Hierarchy model, in a dynamic way. There's a lot of cleanup involved in cleaning our old hierarchies and to have a tool that would scrub through them and offer updates, like clean, would be an excellent feature.

Data.com is being used and managed by Marketing
  • Ability to clean and update records with a few mouse clicks. Enhanced data with D&B integration provides a more trusted and reliable data source and better visibility across entire SFDC Org.
  • The Prospector product is a great self-service lead gen tool, however the inability to export mass amounts of data like in the old Jigsaw product is greatly missed.
cleaning Account Data. Bringing in new accounts to the system using prospector. This has elimated duplicate accounts from being created, completely.
Read Kate Sarkissian's full review
Laura LaBine profile photo
February 15, 2016

Data.com Review: "Just the facts M'aam."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Data.com since the early days when it was originally Jigsaw.com. The product was integral to my business development needs, in helping me to find decision makers. This product was created by user generated content, with the concept of "give one, get one". Being that the tool soon became part of my daily arsenal, I eventually became a data defender and company recognized champion of the product. The company also involved this user community to help tailor and develop new updates to their platform.
Using Data.com/connect is a significant part of lead generating for marketing campaigns.
  • Lead generation
  • Sourcing
  • Business development
  • Recruiting
  • Keeping data updated and current
Using Data.com (or Data.com/connect) is excellent for business development. It gives you names and contact information.
Read Laura LaBine's full review
Steven A. Levano profile photo
February 10, 2016

Review: "Data.com - A Robust Database, With a Catch."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data.com has proven to be a valuable asset to both marketing and sales. Initially it was used as a simple research tool to provide lead lists to the sales teams but we quickly started using it for verification of addresses, emails and phone numbers. We also have based many campaigns around the availability of data in data.com and our other research tools. We have slowly transitioned into being more of a content driven company and are relying on inbound leads more so than using these prospecting tools. Sales continues to find it useful.
  • Verification, I believe data.com is one of the better tools to verify prospect info. For example, getting the different types of office phone numbers and different types of emails.
  • Data.com also excels in its integration with Salesforce. It is very nice to simply add accounts/leads/contacts right into Salesforce. The drawback of course is that custom fields don't get populated. That's always going to be an issue and no fault of the program.
  • Number of contacts in the database, Data.com has a robust database of contacts and accounts. Simply entering "marketing manager" will yield several thousand marketing managers.
  • Outdated data is always an issue with any database and I know data.com does frequently update, however when I apply my marketing efforts in certain industries, I do find that some are neglected more than others. Direct response marketers and agencies for example seem to have gaps in data.
  • Always have to use your SFDC log in to use. It should be easy enough for me to go home to log into data.com with out having to use a security token to get into my SF account from home.
  • Exports aren't the easiest. Exports have to happen into Salesforce and then you have to look for the file and actually export it into a usable Excel document.
Data.com is well suited to handle questions like "this email bounced, where can I verify what the correct email is?" and "where does this person work now?". I think data.com isn't well suited in a company that solely focuses on inbound, content driven marketing strategies. The leads on data.com are simply too cold.
Read Steven A. Levano's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Advanced search (19)
7.6
Identification of new leads (19)
6.9
List quality (19)
6.4
List upload/download (19)
7.6
Ideal customer targeting (17)
6.8
Load time/data access (20)
8.2
Contact information (20)
6.5
Company information (20)
7.5
Industry information (15)
6.9
Lead qualification process (13)
6.8
Smart lists and recommendations (9)
6.4
Salesforce integration (17)
9.0
Company/business profiles (17)
7.7
Alerts and reminders (11)
6.2
Data hygiene (19)
5.9
Automatic data refresh (10)
6.2
Tags (9)
5.7
Filters and segmentation (19)
7.1
Sales email templates (2)
3.3
Append emails to records (6)
6.2

About Data.com

Salesforce launched Data.com in 2011, in partnership with D&B, but has since decided to gradually sunset the platform. Some aspects of the platform will continue to be available until July 2020.

Data.com offers a store of company and customer data for use in sales and prospecting. There are 3 components of Data.com: Connect, Prospector, and Clean.
Categories:  Sales Intelligence

Data.com Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No