Data.com

Data.com

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.1 out of 100
Data.com

Overview

Recent Reviews

Good Data.com CRM

8 out of 10
March 03, 2022
My company uses Data.com as an integrated CRM that provides all departments of the company customer information. Information about …
Continue reading

Data.com Review

10 out of 10
December 20, 2019
I had used Data.com for over eight years before it was retired earlier this year. As a small business, I do not have a large budget for …
Continue reading

Data.com with SFDC

5 out of 10
October 27, 2017
The sales department uses Data.com here. We divide sales territories up by size of company and also use NAICS codes as we have a vertical …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Popular Features

View all 20 features
  • Contact information (24)
    8.0
    80%
  • List quality (24)
    7.3
    73%
  • List upload/download (24)
    7.0
    70%
  • Load time/data access (25)
    6.3
    63%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Data.com, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Data.com?

Salesforce launched Data.com in 2011, in partnership with D&B, but has since decided to gradually sunset the platform. Some aspects of the platform will continue to be available until July 2020. Data.com offers a store of company and customer data for use in sales and prospecting. There are 3…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Owler?

Owler is a sales intelligence app developed by the company of the same name San Mateo and acquired by Meltwater June 2021, providing competitive insights, company information, and other sales relevant information.

What is LinkedIn Sales Navigator?

LinkedIn Sales Navigator is a sales intelligence software solution offered by LinkedIn.

Features Scorecard

Prospecting

6.9
69%

Sales Intelligence Data Standards

7.8
78%

Data Augmentation & Lead Qualification

7.0
70%

Sales Intelligence Email Features

7.7
77%

Product Details

What is Data.com?

Salesforce launched Data.com in 2011, in partnership with D&B, but has since decided to gradually sunset the platform. Some aspects of the platform will continue to be available until July 2020.

Data.com offers a store of company and customer data for use in sales and prospecting. There are 3 components of Data.com: Connect, Prospector, and Clean.

Data.com Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Salesforce launched Data.com in 2011, in partnership with D&B, but has since decided to gradually sunset the platform. Some aspects of the platform will continue to be available until July 2020. Data.com offers a store of company and customer data for use in sales and prospecting. There are 3 components of Data.com: Connect, Prospector, and Clean.

Reviewers rate Lead qualification process highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Data.com are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (81)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 25)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Ojas Korde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Dashboard.
  • Email list based on customer interaction level.
  • Better sales decision based on the data gathered from various channels.
  • Even though it has a lot of features, sometimes it gets overwhelming for a newbie. So I would really appreciate it if the user interface gets more friendly.
  • There are some digital advertising channels that Data.com struggles to connect. Also, within some channels like LinkedIn, it would be great if data.com could get more granular on ad type, ad targeting level (speaking from a marketing perspective).
  • It has limited visualization capabilities where there is a lot of scope for improvement.
March 03, 2022

Good Data.com CRM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Consolidated information.
  • Connection with other systems.
  • Creating reports.
  • Omit some tabs.
  • Customize more information.
  • The system is more agile.
Elizabeth Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The contact information the website provides tends to be accurate.
  • I like that it is free and works on a point system- the more info you give, the more info you get.
  • I like that you can update contact information as needed.
  • If it provided more details about the company it would be great- information such as employee size or software used would be great.
  • The ability to add a contact with just a number would be great- sometimes you don't have an address.
  • It would be helpful to be notified when a contact you have "purchased" has been changed/updated.
December 20, 2019

Data.com Review

Stacy Venditto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ability to search the entire database to find the right contact before purchasing.
  • Rewards points for updates made to existing data and providing info that wasn't previously in the database.
  • No way to organize data once in shopping cart.
  • No ability to add a new company.
Jerry van Dalen Jr. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provide full contact details of an account contact.
  • Provide industry and annual revenue data for accounts.
  • Often provides several options when adding a new account. That is, to add the headquarters or branch, or associated company.
  • It is not as clear how to use Data.com in Salesforce Lightning. If this was as clear as it was in the previous UI experience, it might be more useful.
  • Sometimes smaller accounts will have duplicate entries in Data.com so that it may confuse the user to pick the correct account.
  • Adding new contacts from an account that product contact search results that do not directly correspond to the account. This happens especially when the account has a rather common name.
Zach Ettelman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Data.com is a great way to find out accurate revenue and employee numbers for companies across various industries.
  • Data.com's filtering capabilities allow our team to quickly find the ideal prospects to reach out to.
  • Data.com, being owned by Salesforce, allows for a seamless integration into our CRM. This saves us an incredible amount of time and ensures data accuracy.
  • Data.com's data can be all over the board in terms of reliability. For contacts that have been there over a year, we see a significant increase in email bounces.
  • Data.com's token model is expensive and seems outdated compared to what their competitors are doing.
  • I'd love to see Data.com offer an email deliverability verifier. This would ensure only valid emails are available on Data.com
  • I'd love to see Data.com offer the ability to see which CMS (content management system) accounts use.
Steve Kim | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Data.com provides extensive industry information.
  • The company and account profiles on Data.com are thorough.
  • The integration to the Salesforce platform is extremely useful as it allows us to seamlessly push and "clean" our records.
  • The database on contact information is limited.
  • Larger companies are fairly easy to find information on but data is lacking on smaller organizations.
  • The monthly limit of 300 credits can sometimes be a roadblock to pull data quickly.
James Reich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Search for company contacts and build out org charts.
  • Allow sales to focus on companies that are spending.
  • Importing data and parsing contact without any data entry.
  • Solid, easy to follow dashboards.
  • Some of the contacts and companies have outdated information (wrong numbers or emails or the person has left or someone new has taken the role).
  • Limits on data you can parse into SFDC.
  • Can be tricky to run reports if not knowledgeable.
Erik Viager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy integration with Salesforce.
  • Good filters for prospecting. You are able to segment by location, title, industry, etc.
  • Access to an abundant amount of information.
  • Good for mid-size and large company information
  • Incorrect contact information. Either from being old or just totally wrong.
  • Duplicate records, often times with conflicting data.
  • Not ideal for small business information.
Thomas Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Find email addresses of contacts within a company.
  • Easy to refund "points" spent on incorrect addresses.
  • Able to sort by specific criteria i.e. title, date last updated, alphabetically, etc.
  • Deeper reach of companies that are online.
  • Data.com does well with larger well-known companies, it does struggle with contacts at businesses under a certain level.
  • Find a way to link contacts and their LinkedIn profiles so they are automatically removed if a contact is no longer with the company.
  • Interface could use some updating as well to be more intuitive.
John Cupoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Robust crowd sourced database that generally provides accurate information. This is a great help for general searches looking for specific titles.
  • Easy to add companies and contacts to earn points. The ability to earn points by adding either a .csv or individual contacts is a great feature for individuals who want to be able to find new contact info for free. I've never spent a cent on data and have been able to get thousands of contacts.
  • Using Data.com is very intuitive. They did a good job with site layout and even a new user should be able to easily navigate the site and features.
  • Bad data. As with any crowd sourced database, the quality degrades over time. While you can mark a contact as having left the company, if you purchase contacts in bulk it can be cumbersome to go back in and mark them all as bad data to get your points back. Perhaps allowing to mark numerous contacts at bad at once would be helpful.
  • Manipulated data. People adding bad data or editing existing contacts intentionally to get points. I come across this a lot, and have had contacts I've added marked as no longer with company when they are. I always go back in and fix it, however not all users are vigilant about this which means there are a lot of non-searchable contacts that are actually still viable.
October 27, 2017

Data.com with SFDC

Bryan Gorham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • NAICS codes and NAICS descriptions
  • Employee count of company
  • Geography; locations of offices
  • Unfortunately, the NAICS codes can be incorrect.
  • Sometimes the employee count is way off.
  • In our Salesforce integration, the "clean" button, which is supposed to update info on the prospect page rarely works.
Eric Farnham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Economical option, one of the few B2B contact databases that offers a plan that costs nothing if you upload or update contacts.
  • Tight integration with Salesforce.
  • Allows export of lists: some B2B databases don't allow easy exports or charge extra for that feature.
  • No append feature to automatically add contact information to a list of names.
  • Not the most accurate. Although the data is updated by users, it's not foolproof. More accurate would be some of the other databases which employ analysts to call the names on the list and confirm.
  • More comprehensive data for US companies than foreign ones.
Leah Sevey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Data.com provides detailed company information such as headquarter address, phone number, approximate number of employees, revenue and industry.
  • I like that I can filter my search by title, department, C level, etc.
  • I can also research the addresses of all company locations
  • I like that I can add contacts and earn points so that I can use the product for free
  • Data.com is not always my first source for lead generation research because the information I receive is frequently unreliable
  • I don't like that I have to rely on other people to provide contact information. If data.com does due diligence for accuracy, they clearly don't do it well because the contact information is false most of the time.
  • Start up/smaller companies are usually not listed
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The system of redeeming points for contact information is a great idea - it encourages crowd sourcing information while keeping the service free/affordable for the average sales person.
  • The search functionality is robust enough that I have confidence in the results when I'm searching for a particular prospect. I can be sure that if a prospect doesn't show up, there's probably no legitimate information for them in the system.
  • Data.com captures the right information - going so far as to require a title - so you don't waste points/money on bogus contacts. You can be confident there's a valid email address and the potential for a direct dial is fairly high as well. If not, you can easily correct it and gain points back.
  • Data.com could improve the amount of data available for its users. We use this to find prospects that don't appear elsewhere, rather than a first stop, since many of our other data sources are more comprehensive.
  • It would be nice to be able to export contacts directly into a platform like Salesforce or Outreach, rather than just to a csv.
  • The user interface could use an update! It looks like 90s tech.
Kayla Latulippe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Employees input data for more accurate information.
  • It is very easy to use.
  • It could use a little bit more information on companies, but it is mostly the employees that input data so it is hard to have more details.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Data.com is appealing because it's affordable. You might need to purchase a few contacts to get rolling, but once you're able to add some yourself and gain additional points, it can very rewarding to "earn" additional contacts by submitting some of your own.
  • There is a wide range of search terms available to narrow down your list by name, region, company name, and others.
  • Easy "add contacts" function, and a template to add a large number of them at once.
  • Some contacts can be old. Perhaps they could consider validating some that are older than 5 years.
  • They don't always detect duplicate companies. For example, I've added the same company twice before, I don't understand how they allow that, or prevent others from adding duplicates. It doesn't happen very often,, only occasionally.
  • Sometimes data.com will "autocorrect" a job title incorrectly. For example, entering "Director of People & Culture" will autocorrect it to "Director of peopleandculture" If you don't catch it, it looks pretty bad for the next person who wants to view the contact.
Robert Belton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Advanced searching - allows users to narrow down search results or target specific sectors based on parameters like revenue, subsidiaries, competition, industry, etc. Very detailed and specific background information is provided on organizations, and allows you to have a richer understanding of the prospect or client.
  • Customer service - they are quick and pleasant to deal with any time that we've ever had a question arise.
  • Salesforce integration - this software syncs records to salesforce with a few clicks of a button. It even allows you to clean your database and remove duplicates / append to existing records with their Clean function.
  • Multi-Location facilities - When searching for a prospect or account, you'll find that organizations with multiple locations (or worse, ones with 10+) all come back with the account name identical (Ex; "John Deere") and no easy way to identify them without manually changing the name yourself.
September 19, 2016

Data.com user review

Michael Owskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • It is great at finding company location.
  • It integrates with our Salesforce instance easily.
  • it also works within our Pardot instance.
  • It seems to aggregate its data from a number of sources. Often times this leaves things like the number employees as inaccurate.
Kate Sarkissian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ability to clean and update records with a few mouse clicks. Enhanced data with D&B integration provides a more trusted and reliable data source and better visibility across entire SFDC Org.
  • The Prospector product is a great self-service lead gen tool, however the inability to export mass amounts of data like in the old Jigsaw product is greatly missed.
Steven A. Levano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Verification, I believe data.com is one of the better tools to verify prospect info. For example, getting the different types of office phone numbers and different types of emails.
  • Data.com also excels in its integration with Salesforce. It is very nice to simply add accounts/leads/contacts right into Salesforce. The drawback of course is that custom fields don't get populated. That's always going to be an issue and no fault of the program.
  • Number of contacts in the database, Data.com has a robust database of contacts and accounts. Simply entering "marketing manager" will yield several thousand marketing managers.
  • Outdated data is always an issue with any database and I know data.com does frequently update, however when I apply my marketing efforts in certain industries, I do find that some are neglected more than others. Direct response marketers and agencies for example seem to have gaps in data.
  • Always have to use your SFDC log in to use. It should be easy enough for me to go home to log into data.com with out having to use a security token to get into my SF account from home.
  • Exports aren't the easiest. Exports have to happen into Salesforce and then you have to look for the file and actually export it into a usable Excel document.