Datadog

Datadog

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Datadog

Overview

Recent Reviews

The APM tool you'll love

9 out of 10
May 13, 2021
We use Datadog to trace and monitor our whole infrastructure. The APM feature is a blessing. Also, the log stream is way better than the …
Continue reading

Great product, kinda expensive

9 out of 10
November 21, 2020
It is used to monitor multiple hosts for networking, compute, and memory along with application-level metrics (errors, performance, etc). …
Continue reading

Datadog Review

8 out of 10
March 09, 2019
We use Datadog on almost all of our production systems to give us granularity into how systems are running, and additionally, use …
Continue reading

Datadog tool

9 out of 10
August 04, 2018
Datadog is implemented as APM of choice for our organization at the platform level. Any team across the company opting to use the platform …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Datadog, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
Up to 5 hosts

Log Management

$1.27

On Premise
Per Million Log Events

Standard

$15/host

Cloud
Up to 500 hosts

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.datadoghq.com/pricing/?utm_s…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Datadog?

Datadog is a monitoring, security and analytics platform for developers, IT operations teams, security engineers and business users in the cloud age. Datadog's SaaS platform integrates and automates infrastructure monitoring, application performance monitoring and log management to provide unified, real-time observability of their customers' entire technology stack. Datadog is used by organizations of all sizes and across a wide range of industries to enable digital transformation and cloud migration, drive collaboration among development, operations, security and business teams, accelerate time to market for applications, reduce time to problem resolution, secure applications and infrastructure, understand user behavior and track key business metrics.

Datadog Features

  • Supported: Aggregate metrics and events across your entire stack with Datadog's 450+ built-in integrations
  • Supported: Trace requests from end to end across distributed systems with APM
  • Supported: Explore and analyze logs from all your services, applications, and platforms
  • Supported: Proactively monitor critical user journeys and visualize user experience data in one place
  • Supported: Correlate frontend performance with business impact using user experience metrics
  • Supported: Build real-time interactive dashboards to monitor metrics, traces, logs, and more
  • Supported: Visualize traffic flow in cloud-native environments
  • Supported: Monitor ephemeral systems without fatigue using machine learning-based alerts
  • Supported: Detect threats in real-time across your applications, network, and infrastructure with Security Monitoring
  • Supported: Free trial, no credit card needed

Datadog Screenshots

Out-of-the-box and easily customizable monitoring dashboards.Datadog is built to give visibility across teams. You can discuss issues in-context with production data, annotate changes and notify your team, see who responded to that alert before, and remember what was done to fix it.Datadog seamlessly unifies traces, metrics, and logs—the three pillars of observability.Collect monitoring data from across your entire stack with Datadog's 400+ built-in integrations.Datadog's Service Map decomposes your application into all its component services and draws the observed dependencies between these services in real timeCentralize log data from any source.Datadog's Host Map let you see all of your hosts together on one screen, grouped however you want, filtered however you want, with metrics made instantly comprehensible via color and shape.

Datadog Videos

Datadog offers a single unified platform to observe your infrastructure, applications, network flows, security threats, UX, and more. For full visibility, you can seamlessly navigate between metrics, traces, and logs. See inside any stack, any app, at any scale, anywhere.
Datadog APM provides deep visibility into application performance and code efficiency, so you can monitor and optimize your stack at any scale and provide the best digital experience for your users. APM and distributed tracing are fully integrated with the rest of Datadog, giv...
 Show More
The Service Map automatically decomposes your application into all its services and dependencies so you can visualize your architecture in real time.

Datadog Integrations

Datadog Competitors

Datadog Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS/RedHat, Fedora, CoreOS, Docker, Kubernetes, Openshift, SmartOS, Chef, Puppet, Ansible
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Datadog is a monitoring service for IT, Dev and Ops teams who write and run applications at scale, and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools and services into actionable insight.

Splunk Cloud, Dynatrace, and SolarWinds Log Analyzer (LA) are common alternatives for Datadog.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.9.

The most common users of Datadog are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (162)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-19 of 19)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog to trace and monitor our whole infrastructure. The APM feature is a blessing. Also, the log stream is way better than the same features of similar products. We used it to gather and centralize data from AWS into an easy-to-understand dashboard. For example, we created dashboards with the data per environment about availability, error rates, error quotas & network traffic.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to monitor multiple hosts for networking, compute, and memory along with application-level metrics (errors, performance, etc). This allows for site reliability engineers to determine the cause of errors and gain other data for root cause analysis (RCA).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are testing and using Datadog in the e-commerce applications we are creating in a project to re-engineer our existing legacy applications, and transform them into a micro services based architecture hosted on several different cloud platforms. Datadog is helping us to monitor all the applications and the logging within a single pane of glass.
Dmitry Pashkevich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog to monitor all kinds of application metrics: errors, network stats, response times, queues, and a bunch of application-specific metrics. We also have alerts set up that notify us of changes in production application performance. We also get a lot of metrics "for free" from all kinds of third-party tools (e.g. ElasticSearch, GitHub, Heroku, Cloudflare, etc).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses Data Dog to monitor critical server uptime as well as switches and routers over SNMP. We also use the Data Dog API to write critical events for alerting and monitoring. We don’t currently use the application monitoring features, but I could see us using them in the future.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had very complex monitoring requirements for APIs related to IoT and mobile app users. There were several different tools, no reliable results and we were losing credibility in the stability and reliability of our infrastructure. Also, all tools were very difficult to manage, implement and support, not to mention expensive.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our DevOps team utilizes DataDog to be aware of any abnormalities across our infrastructure, whether hosted or local. We can look in one place to see stats and alarms across all infrastructure, independent of hosting provider's console. Being a software company, we can also send events to DataDog via their API to generate alerts for certain activity within our applications.
March 09, 2019

Datadog Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog on almost all of our production systems to give us granularity into how systems are running, and additionally, use Datadog's logging feature to aggregate all of our logs across systems in real time. Datadog's simple dashboards enable visibility from different providers to be displayed all in one place, even if systems are not from the same vendor.
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering/dev-ops teams use DataDog as the tool of choice for monitoring our applications/servers, and for aggregating logs. All of our applications and micro-services use the DataDog Rest API to send metrics to, so that we can monitor performance and CPU usage, and setup alerts in case any issues arise.
November 23, 2018

DataDog at Wayfair!

Anthony Zappala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DataDog is currently being used by Wayfair's Monitoring, Network Ops, and Critical Incident teams to provide a variety of data to provision, manage and maintain the existing infrastructure for internal and external sites and applications. It is a critical input to how these teams identify, tag, and respond to alerts within the company. We use Datadog for the current day to day provisioning tasks and well as prior/after any maintenance.

It has a key plug-in with ServiceNow and this is a key integration at Wayfair. ServiceNow is used as the reporting platform to store and index all DataDog alerting. Further, we have built several notification systems to piggy back off DataDog alerts for clear and wide-spread notifications to all stakeholders of a particular stack of technology.

The visuals and simple interface provides a clean and ready-made application in which to address the business and technical needs, for a rapidly evolving infrastructure. Wayfair has a tremendous amount of growth and we rely on this tool to grow and adapt alongside us. The Platform as a Service approach has proven to provide what we need, without the dependencies to support the infrastructure, which is a big bonus for our teams.
August 04, 2018

Datadog tool

Rahul Narula | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is implemented as APM of choice for our organization at the platform level. Any team across the company opting to use the platform gets Datadog to gain insights into the platform with metrics like ELB, container & network stats, memory usage etc. This integration comes out of the box for the clients which they can use for monitoring their services
Girivaru Tarun | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are Premium MSP partner for AWS so our DevOps engineers, Managers user them, We also have a product for Cloud Management Platform where we are working on parsing information from Datadog to our SaaS platform to present monitoring data much graphically.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by all engineers. We have scaled our e-commerce, and Datadog makes easier to look at each cluster. One great point of Datadog is how easy it is to identify an unhealthy box. Also, another great one, is to watch important metrics like CPU and memory. It's way easier to watch it on Datadog rather than AWS itself.
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog provides great visibility into how our server infrastructure is performing. There is support for a huge variety of integrations, pretty much any service you can think of has a supported integration. Our organization uses the dashboard functionality to get a quick view as to the current state of our environment. If there's a server or website issue, everyone hops onto Datadog to get a view as to what's happening.
February 15, 2017

All the DevOpsy things

Deepshikha Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog helps us monitor our applications and ensure uptime. It is widely adopted by the entire engineering organization. When it comes to gathering performance metrics and tuning of our software applications, Datadog is just what we need. It ensures our infrastructure is highly available with fast and reliable services to our customers.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is being used to pull variable information from an agent on each of our servers and sent to a centralized location so we have a one stop place to understand how well our servers and services are doing. It is being used by the operations team as well as developers. It addresses getting having to go many places to get the same information.