Autotask PSA Reviews

77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Ben Nichols | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Ideal for all MSPs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datto Autotask PSA has been a great centralised tool to manage support tickets, quotes, customer relationship data and timesheets. The integrations with Xero make our accounts team very happy and ensures that we aren't jumping between a help desk, an invoice/quote system, normal emails and other tools. The built in internal and external knowledgebase is also great.
  • Centralised platform that manages all MSP items.
  • Integrations and workflow rules.
  • HTML editor from service desk (eg: unable to bold/underline/change colour of lines in responses to tickets).
  • UI could do with a little improvements (lots and lots of pop ups).
Pros
  • Service desk.
  • Customer workflow rules.
  • Contract management.
  • MSP CRM.
Cons
  • UI needs a revamp
  • Site config needs to support more than just plain text
  • Need to support custom formatting throughout the platform, focusing on outbound service desk emails.
Read Ben Nichols's full review
Ashley Beal | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Autotask Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask to track tickets, contracts, invoices, billing info, create opportunities, and create reports for our customers. It basically allows us to do almost everything we need for our business.
  • It creates reports well for our customers.
  • Makes quoting and invoicing very easy and manageable.
  • Transferring invoices to QuickBooks can be a little slow sometimes.
Autotask is well suited for businesses that are looking for a product that has ticketing, invoicing, quoting, reporting, and more all in one place.
Read Ashley Beal's full review
Elvin Thomas | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

My Autotask Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for ticket tracking and assigning, and we also use the EPM tool for managing devices.
  • The ability to create multiple groups to assign tickets to.
  • Being able to properly categorize and note tickets.
  • Being able to create and utilize SLA's.
  • It could use easier ways to make the email address used for sending tickets.
It has all of the main features of any ticketing system, so it's well suited for those purposes.
Read Elvin Thomas's full review
Hesham Gomaa Elmasry , IBDL | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2019

Autotask, the best ticketing App ever!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used for submitting either internal tickets by the employees internally, or external tickets by our clients, these tickets may be maintenance tickets that need to be resolved, or new needs which will be converted to projected phases and specific tasks to be implemented by the project's team.
Autotask is being used by the customer service, quality, accounting, and software development departments.
Autotask helps us maintain our products by solving clients' problems, managing, monitoring, and controlling projects.
  • Shows all the communication within the tickets very clearly, even if it holds a huge amount of information.
  • Manages projects effectively by dividing the project into phases, each phase into multiple milestones, and each milestone in multiple tasks. And for each task, you can assign all its related attributes like the resources, estimated hours, duration, start date, end date, and so on.
  • It has very professional customizable dashboards that show the progress, status, and even trends of everything.
  • It supports notifying internal and external stakeholders for each note added on a project or ticket.
  • Supports Gantt charts for project management.
  • Filter tickets for notes for a specific user.
  • Creating reports needs enough training to be able to create a professional one.
Well suited to creating tickets, following up on tickets' status, sending notifications, creating reports, scheduling automatic reports, creating a project from a ticket, attaching files on both tickets and projects, creating project phases, milestones, and tasks.
It's less appropriate for automatic resource smoothing, leveling, fast-tracking, crashing, and other more advanced project management.
Read Hesham Gomaa Elmasry , IBDL's full review
Steven Norris | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2019

Great MSP business tool to keep you on track!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask across the whole organization. It is our main system that ties everything together. CRM, accounting, time tracking, ticketing, and procurement; it helps us stay on track with all areas of the business.
  • It is a very good ticketing system that tracks tickets and employee time entries on tickets with ease.
  • It handles quoting products and services very well.
  • Ticket contracts for invoicing works well.
  • The knowledge base could be better and have more functionality.
  • Customization is very limited. It would be better if you had a little more control over certain items.
  • It needs better sales order automation.
Great professional services automation toolkit.
Read Steven Norris's full review
Kris Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Autotask is a robust ticketing system.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used to track IT issues while providing documentation options, while also including billable time functions. This allows for billing integration and client management as contact's tickets are easily workable and trackable. The ability to assign a ticket to a company instead of a contact helps to manage a company regardless of contacts.
  • Associating billing data to tickets streamlines the invoicing process.
  • The ability to assign tickets to accounts instead of individuals helps to ensure easy task tracking.
  • The ability to easily separate assignments by geographical sections.
  • Wildcard abilities for Account Name searching when integrating.
  • The UI is not visually friendly and requires training to navigate without difficulty.
Autotask is well suited for IT service industries who bill by the department, issue type, time on the ticket, and more. Severity levels and subcategories provide granular options not found in simple ticketing systems. This works well with an existing client, but adding new leads or companies can be a bit cumbersome. The reporting felt difficult to navigate.
Read Kris Lambert's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Great Ticketing System

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are using Autotask as for our ticketing/incident system, tracking time, and project management. Currently the organization as whole uses Autotask for submitting support tickets, and our technology team uses the product for tracking our time & PM. It allows us to easily receive, assign, and work support tickets as they arrive throughout the day. As well as allows the PM team to schedule tasks and such during projects.
  • AutoTask allows for us to receive and work support tickets very easily. We've setup various 'Issue Types' that in turn are bound to SLAs ensuring that items are worked appropriately as they are received.
  • The automation that AutoTask allows for with regards to various emails/requests coming through has been great. It allows for us to not have to constantly "watch the queue" as when a critical item arrives the appropriate persons are notified and can work it.
  • I feel that the management of AutoTask for both user setup, and various automations is done well. We're able to copy settings as needed, and create templates for multiple items.
  • To date, the maim area of improvement is the ability to allow for retrieving a ticket that may have inadvertently been deleted. At present there is no way to do this which at times can be frustrating.
  • The search function does leave something to be desired as it does require some specific wording to find what you're looking for.
At present with using this as our ticketing system it works great. As I've mentioned with the automation in place and the notification options it provides we very rarely miss high priority items when they arise. I have not experienced this myself, but our project managers have stated that AutoTask lacks a lot of options they'd like to see on their side of the house.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2018

Autotask is automation perfected.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask has been implemented throughout our entire organization from Procurement to Service desk and through to Admin and HR.

Having a single platform to track all tasks throughout our organization has been invaluable in reducing turn-around times for both client communication and on-boarding improving client relations from day one.

Autotask has also been implemented for internal use for new employee on-boarding allowing us to make sure that everything is set up for the employee to hit the ground running.

  • With a recent update, Autotask introduced ticket checklists which greatly reduced errors with support, it has also reduced the number of unnecessary ticket transfers as a ticket cannot be transferred unless all the checklist items have been completed.
  • Autotask has an excellent reporting system built in with automated sending and customisability
  • Autotask allows for automated client communications with a wealth of customizable templates.
  • Autosk has excellent integration options with a number of third-party applications.
  • Ease of use can be improved as the admin section can be daunting to a first time user.
  • Setting up custom reports or client comms templated can be a time-consuming process.
  • The Autotask Knowledgebase can use some improvement.
Autotask is perfectly suited for a remote support based environment where client communications and timely support is paramount.

As Autotask has auto-fire notifications we can notify our support technicians when they are close to breaching SLA or have been idle on a ticket for too long ensuring that clients are always updated.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Gospe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 03, 2018

Their CRM is a one-stop shop for management of many clients. Their AEM is unmatched as an RMM tool.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask as our CRM, to track our clients and their support tickets, and to create/monitor contracts that we have. We also use their Endpoint Management software. All of us use Autotask here. The tech team uses it to add their time entries so that proper billing occurs after calls. I use it for the above, as well as for creating contracts and running reports. Finally, the bookkeeper uses it as well to invoice our clients.
  • Integrates well with RMM tools
  • A wealth of reports are available, or you can create your own
  • You can set up your users with individualized access rights to your company's data
  • The support team is awesome
  • Custom reports can be a bit confusing to set up
  • Their inside sales team reaches out a bit too often
Autotask is much more well suited to a busy company. It's a little bit price-prohibitive if you only have a couple of employees or not many clients. This solution works for us, having 10 employees and about 200 clients. Any less than that, the pricing wouldn't be worthwhile.

Autotask fits very well with us. It's easy to keep on task. Any tickets that are getting old will shoot out alerts and scheduled tasks for our techs to finish up work on it. It's also very easy to run reports for clients on the services that they've used through us. We love Autotask.
Read Dan Gospe's full review
Zach Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2017

Easy to use, easy to manage, easy to teach!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used across the whole organization. It was used to keep track of client contact for sales efforts, also used by our purchasing and billing departments to charge clients for services, as well as a place for customers to submit requests for help, assistance, troubleshooting, etc. I can't think of anyone in the company that does not use AutoTask daily.
  • Has a great end user portal for clients to log in and submit/view their support tickets for updates and status.
  • Has great integration with third party add ons to provide additional functionality.
  • Is web based and super reliable. No maintenance or teams to manage the product are needed!
  • It would be great if more options for dashboard widgets existed.
Having used AutoTask in primarily a support role it was a really great way to keep track of support cases. They allow you to create multiple queues that can be specific to certain teams or task types. It is highly customizable. It offers a great portal for the end user to login and see the status of the cases. It's very easy to learn and teach other how to use.
Read Zach Cooper's full review
Michaela Good | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2017

Autotask for the win!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used autotask for billing, project management of our web design department and our IT support staff. The nice part is everything is in one platform rather than multiple which makes life much easier. The support staff was always super kind if I needed help with something. The interface was also super easy to learn which made it easy to train new people.
  • Billing on work completed
  • Organization
  • Business contact management
  • Number of clicks to do something
  • Invoicing
  • Reporting
This is great for project management - sometimes support has issues because it's not designed for that as much. I would recommend this to anyone that has a project manager with multiple employees. For support help desks this becomes confusing when some things are billable and somethings aren't.
Read Michaela Good's full review
Lauren Burnett | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2017

Autotask at work

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used across our company. We use it as a way to store all of our files in one place and it allows any team member to access any file. It also allows us to access things remotely, even if we are not at our own computer.
  • Allows remote access of files.
  • Shows you when things are syncing/have synced.
  • Allows collaboration between members.
  • Would like to be able to work on files simultaneously.
  • Web interface could be more intuitive. Have to click a lot of buttons to do simple tasks.
Great for having a main database of all files. Not appropriate for trying to work on something with someone else in real time. Would prefer a Google Docs like interface for some things.
Read Lauren Burnett's full review
Garry Adams | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2017

Professional services automation with Autotask

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is used by every member of our organization from the service department, to order procurement and inventory, to accounting and administration. It is the most integral piece of software there is for running our business. Autotask allows us to track and bill for technician time, parts, software licensing, and other costs. It tracks our service contracts and shows us profitability.
  • Time tracking
  • Ticket handling
  • Service contracts
  • Inventory
  • PTO accrual and tracking
  • Live reports
We use Autotask for everything. It may not be the ideal tool for some things (like inventory for example) but the fact that it is integrated into one system makes up for any of those shortcomings. Also, Autotask allows us to integrate outside systems to extend its capabilities into areas or products that would otherwise require manual tracking. For example, we have several Viking systems for products at resell that integrate with Autotask so we don't have to manually enter billing for them in our service contracts. The services are updated automatically by the API.
Read Garry Adams's full review
Kimberly West | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2017

Autotask Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autotask is being used organization-wide. We use it for time tracking, ticketing, a knowledge base, some CRM and billing. We do not use it for projects or quoting.
  • Ticketing/time entry is very efficient and easy.
  • Contracts/billing are easy to use as long as you are selling contracts that can conform to the options for contracts within Autotask.
  • Easy to keep up with employee timesheets and PTO.
  • I tried the Projects about 3 years ago, and I didn't like it at all. It was not as efficient as we wanted it to be, and it limited me as to how many lines per project I could import. We decided to use another product.
  • Workflow rules could use some further development with available criteria to edit/change, such as client name.
  • Quoting.
Well suited for a company who needs ability to time track, ticket track and document.
Read Kimberly West's full review
Daniel J. Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Tasks Automatized!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I worked with was an MSP, we used Autotask to assist with managing client requests. Whether it's from a support side, consulting, projects or general information utilizing Autotask is one of the better programs that I've used in the past.

I'm not going to outline other products unless asked, however one key feature which was most beneficial from a management perspective was the real time graphical interface to see who worked on what ticket and the last time it was addressed including how long it was open for. This was extremely helpful for reports come end of the month.
  • The graphical calculations on time spent on requests, how long they were open for, who worked on a ticket last.
  • Grouping by priority so you can determine easier what needs to be addressed sooner rather then later. This also helps if Account Management has conversations a technician is not aware of so they can prioritize efficiently.
  • The email updates that are sent out to the technicians so they are aware of upcoming or stale tickets.
  • The documentation or "Notes" needs work. I have been exporting other options for an internal database of passwords, IP's, etc however this information can be a hassle to obtain with the current layout.
  • Searching is a huge utility in this industry, I'd like to be able to open a company "notes" or page and search for a specific server, account number, IP, etc however this is lacking which in turn takes time to drill down the listed categories.
Autotask is a great program for overall time management for anyone in an organization. It helps to determine where most of your time is spent, also for accounting and account management when reviewing client contracts. It's also extremely beneficial to keep requests/tickets on your radar, it's very easy on a day to day basics to have things fall through the cracks. Once a request is generated it must be followed through and closed with specific details. This ensures who worked on it last, what was completed and client confirmation.
Read Daniel J. Lewis's full review
Isaac Beyda | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2016

AutoTask Review @ Tabush Group

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask is used by almost our entire office. The technicians use it to create support tickets, store information of client networks, and to track the time worked. The executive part of the office uses AutoTask to bill our clients for the time the technician put in for working on the issue at hand.
  • The search feature is very convenient. I like how you can search by client, ticket, asset, contact name, etc.
  • I like the interface of AutoTask. It's clean and easy to navigate through for users to find what they need.
  • These are strengths of AutoTask because when a company looks for a product similar to this they want something that is easy for them to use, and not going to have to call support at any time.
  • When entering time, sometimes you won't be able to enter the time and have to refresh the page, when you do so you lose the time you had running.
  • When creating a ticket it always asks you "do you want to close this window?" Obviously I do if i just created the ticket. Please remove that.
  • Asset's should have more options and even an option to type in the Asset Type by yourself.
Read Isaac Beyda's full review
Mark Hitchcock | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2015

Autotask is Autotastic!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Autotask for help desk ticket and billing purposes. We are a small managed services company in the Pittsburgh, PA area and needed a solution for our business. Autotask was great for automating our interaction with customers and helping us stay organized with all facets of our communication with them. Autotask may not be as aesthetically pleasing as some of the competition but it comes with some robust features.
  • Manages "support ticket to billing" aspects extremely well.
  • Simple interface that isn't too flashy for its own good.
  • Integrates extremely well with email systems.
  • Extremely robust feature set.
  • Isn't the most updated, design wise.
  • Limited revenue and cost reporting.
  • Limited security options.
Autotask is extremely well suited for a managed services model business. That being said, this software is also well suited for an internal IT department (larger than 15 or more) and other niche business that may benefit. The strongest assets of this software benefit - Project Management, IT Support, IT Billing, Reporting, and Support Organization.
Read Mark Hitchcock's full review
Arthur Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2015

Autotask: The 'Remedy' for Bloated ITSM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I used Autotask, it was being used as the primary Service Desk ticketing system for a number of accounts (i.e. external customers) that my organization provided IT services for. It would track incidents and service requests in a cradle-to-grave manner and was used by both direct Service Desk employees as well as customer IT staff.
  • Low 'Clicks-per-Action'
  • Easy to Understand (without Training)
  • Advanced Search Capabilities
  • Easy Account Management
  • Conducive to Multi-Tasking
  • No Support for Multi-Tenancy (Multiple External Customers)
  • Very Basic User Portal
As a ticketing system for a Service Desk, Autotask does everything it does very well. The only glaring shortcoming is the lack of support for multi-tenancy while still granting those 'tenants' access to their data. For example: Customer 1 and Customer 2 are supported out of the same Autotask instance. If they were granted access to see their own tickets, they would also see each other's tickets. Where Autotask truly excels is the user (meaning Service Desk Agent or other staff) experience.
Read Arthur Warren's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2016

Well designed work management system for a variety of users.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Autotask across our entire organization, as well as require our clients to use Autotask to submit their work requests. This work management tool provides us a way to link our active contracts and employee time to the work requests to ensure we get paid for the work we do.
  • Simple web based interface for a variety of users, which makes it easier for our clients to use.
  • Variety of canned reporting.
  • Service Desk users have many options for organizing and documenting their workload.
  • Live reports are difficult to create and use.
  • Creating new projects and adding resources is time consuming, even with templates.
  • Would like to see one URL for time sheets and the client access portal.
Autotask is a great fit for IT and business services industries. Implementation was fairly painless thanks to a good project management assistant at Autotask.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2016

AT use by a everyday Help Desk Engineer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoTask [AT] is being used by all employees of the company. I personally create the tabs needed for different departments or specific to a position. The flexibility to create widgets needed is great, though I feel more options should be made available. The new AT and dashboards have been great for productivity and to assist me with the QA portion of my responsibilities.
  • Increases productivity and ticket management by help desk engineers
  • It greatly helps with the QA portion of my job due to new dashboards and ability to create widgets
  • Timesheets are better manageable
  • Different layouts for widgets
  • Widget refresh after "max" data has been reached - set as "last 30 days" or more
  • More SLA options
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 22, 2016

Review from an Engineer

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a ticketing system and is plugged into alerting systems to resolve issues. We use this to help manage escalation processes between departments as well as to manage projects within the organization. It also works for us to manage time and bill clients based on these tickets and tasks.
  • Easily create workflow
  • Help create tracking for tickets and tasks to monitor performance
  • Allows you to manage your time appropriately
  • Site is inconsistently slow
  • At times cannot place time entries
  • Outage response time when issues arise isn't always the greatest
I think Autotask is very well suited for the IT services industry. It allows you to put all of your resources together in the same place. It makes it simpler if all the departments can communicate over the same platform. It allows for better auditing of the overall service your company can provide.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Organize and prioritize service tickets (21)
9.2
Expert directory (17)
7.6
Service restoration (15)
5.7
Self-service tools (17)
7.3
Subscription-based notifications (15)
7.9
ITSM collaboration and documentation (16)
7.8
ITSM reports and dashboards (17)
8.0
Configuration mangement (15)
7.8
Asset management dashboard (13)
8.0
Policy and contract enforcement (12)
7.6
Change requests repository (18)
8.1
Change calendar (14)
7.6
Service-level management (20)
8.1

About Autotask PSA

Datto Autotask PSA is designed to make the business of delivering IT easier, more efficient and gives the user instant access to the analytics needed to take MSP operations to the next level.

Streamlining service delivery workflows for 9,000+ IT solution providers worldwide.

Autotask PSA Integrations

Autotask PSA Competitors

Autotask PSA Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No