DaVinci Resolve Reviews

45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 03, 2021
Jason Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for editing internal and external video projects. The marketing department uses it for quick edits, trimming and improving webinars, and some short external videos. Larger video projects are usually handled by agencies. It allows us to create and post videos quickly, and to save money by doing this work internally.
  • Comprehensive - It has video editing, motion graphics, audio, and export tools in one package. It's probably more than most people need, but you don't have to use all of the tools.
  • Platform and format agnostic - I like that I can work on projects on Mac or PC, and there are regular updates for new codecs and cameras. You can edit pretty much any format with no compatibility worries.
  • Price - They offer a free version which has most of the functionality. It's a great way to try before you buy and learn the tools. The final price is only $300 per license for the full product. It's a bargain for everything you get, and you don't feel like you're not getting your money's worth, even if you don't use all of the tools.
  • Steep learning curve - You can get the basics of editing quickly if you've worked with other non-linear video editors, but the interface has significant differences from its competitors. Additionally, there is a very challenging curve to learning advanced features, especially in the motion graphics and compositing software. There are lots of resources online including plenty of free tutorial videos, but be prepared to spend some time learning the tools.
  • No integration with external software - While this software package is comprehensive for video post-production, it doesn't have built-in integration with image editing, 3D modeling, or music creation software. It can accept all of the formats that other software providers create, but other suites may offer this software and tie it all together well.
It's a really full-featured software suite, but based on the learning curve it may be best suited for quick edits and audio touch-up for organizations that don't have a dedicated video specialist. For organizations that do have someone with a video background, the price for this suite is amazing, but you'll need to give that person time and online training to make the most of all of the tools.
Read Jason Burke's full review
May 21, 2021
Camille Chevalier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use [DaVinci Resolve] to make short movies or videos. It is mainly for my studies as it's a part of it. It's used by most of my co-workers, the others are often on Premiere Pro.
  • Sound adjustments
  • Easy to use
  • Really intuitive
  • Too many [different] files when you're installing it, so I used to get lost on where to go
[DaVinci Resolve] is the best free software that I used in this [department], so I would clearly recommend it for anyone who doesn't want to spend too much money and still have a great software.
Read Camille Chevalier's full review
June 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DaVinci Resolve is being used by two departments of the company, communications, and digital modeling, where I belong. It is helping us deliver clear messages to our customers using animations, simulations, and video clips that merge together the way we need, even allowing us to use our corporate identity correctly throughout our deliverables.
  • Combine several videos into one view
  • Controlling the video timeline accurately
  • Providing excellent video editing tools
  • Allowing to control visualization with data on the control panels
  • It's not the most intuitive program
  • It has many buttons whose use is not clear
  • Some work views are very similar to others and can be confusing
  • It takes a while to load
DaVinci Resolve is perfect for any video editing needs. It provides a lot of tools to control images, logos, text, transitions, as well as any other imported media that has been dragged to the timeline. It lets you create deliverables of very good quality and control every single detail from setup to final video export. It might not be the best option for a quick, simple video edit if the user does not how to use it because it will take a while to get on board on how to use it, even for simple edits.
Read this authenticated review
July 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This software provides me a great solution for making and edit videos for my project. Every slide or screen can be customized with animated text on each picture I use for the video.
  • Time line clearly shows what is going on with in the project screen.
  • It is super to control the background volume. No matter how many audio files we add.
  • It could be better if it has templates for the quick formation of video. In a manner like just adding audio and video files, it gives us the results with default settings.
It is best suited for editing videos. It is a complete solution for editing a professional video for a unique project. It can be used for making outro of any product.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A number of different media editing tools are used across our company depending on the department you work in, and how regularly you need to use the tool. I have been using DaVinci Resolve to put together short-form videos for our knowledge base, and external stakeholders.
  • The user interface is modern & sleek.
  • There are a lot of features to make use of.
  • The product is free.
  • Continually crashes to desktop.
  • Extremely resource intensive.
  • Inconsistent functionality that isn't clearly explained.
  • Not at all smooth to use.
  • Simple features are hidden behind unnecessary menus or easily missed icons.
  • Allows you to export .MKV files but doesn't let you import .MKV files.
DaVinci Resolve would be great for someone with a lot of patience, or someone needing to benchmark their SLI 2080Ti setup.
The product's tendency to crash after anything you do has not been addressed in the 18 months I have been using the software.
Read this authenticated review
September 20, 2019
Rob Gokee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Last year, I wrote and directed a fiction podcast called "Donovan King: Dinosaur Hunter," and I used DaVinci Resolve (utilizing Fairlight) to record all the actors, and I'm currently using it for all of the post-production. I had been to a Resolve class at their office, so I felt comfortable jumping into it with zero experience.
  • Recording audio.
  • Multiple takes.
  • Editing audio.
  • 3D sound effects.
  • Database saving.
  • The screen is a bit cluttered.
  • Shortcuts can be clunky.
I've been using DaVinci Resolve for audio production, specifically the Fairlight part of the program. It was easy for me to just jump in and record audio with the actors. Track setup, as well as recording multiple takes, is very intuitive, and the autosave feature is handy. I experienced very few crashes, and the database makes it easy to find where you left off when you come back to the program.
Not only do they have classes available in Los Angeles, but they'll also allow you to work from home with the manual and demo materials, and then let you test out to get a certification. They get back to you quickly when you email, and they've got a "family" approach to customer service, they make you feel like you're important to them.
Read Rob Gokee's full review
September 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DaVinci Resolve is a feature-rich, high-end video editing/post-production software program. It offers the features and capabilities of competitors but it does so for free! It also has the industries best color grading. DaVinci Resolve will work with pretty much any medium or format that is out there. Did I mention it is free!?
  • Multiple formats and resolutions.
  • Industries best color grading.
  • Fast processing.
  • Fairly low system requirements.
  • The interface can be confusing.
  • Not as well integrated with outside software as some competitors.
  • Noise reduction only available in the paid version.
DaVinci Resolve will handle pretty much anything you throw at it. The learning curve is a little steep so it is probably not well suited for a beginner.
Support seems to be knowledgeable and responsive.
Read this authenticated review
September 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DaVinci Resolve is being used in our studio location by our editors. It addresses the problem of poorly colored footage as well as requests for more stylized videos.
  • DaVinci Resolve does color correction via masking really well. The mask tracking feature is much faster and accurate than similar software applications. These are strengths for DaVinci Resolve, as they appeal to both the professional and amateur editor.
  • DaVinci Resolve's free version is extremely robust. This means that anyone who is unsure about the software can really do an in-depth test run with the majority of features, and evaluate if it is for them before making a purchase.
  • DaVinci Resolve is user-friendly. It's extremely easy to adjust default settings and customize your fades, transitions, etc. exactly how you want them, rather than having to adjust each time you add them to the timeline. This is a strength for Resolve, as it leaves users feeling more empowered and saves time.
  • Although I see the practicality of having a somewhat fixed workspace, being used to other similar software with the flexibility of rearranging and resizing windows to my preference leaves me wanting that same option here.
DaVinci Resolve is well suited for applications where you would like to tweak and finalize the visual style of your project. Color correction is certainly its strong suit, and seems to use up less processing power than its competition. It is especially useful for anyone new to the industry, like an independent creator who doesn't perhaps have the beefed-up computers of larger productions. It may be less well suited for applications where heavy audio correction needs to be done.
Luckily in my time using the software I have not had a need to reach out to support! I am, however, giving a rating of 8 because tutorials and forums of the like are quite easy to find.
Read this authenticated review
August 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DaVinci Resolve is used by a few select individuals throughout the organisation who use the product to produce mainly promotional media for their departments. The business problem being address is mainly the combination of a previously fragmented system into a combined production ready media platform. Previously users used to use many different software packages, doing exactly the same thing, but with varying output results. Choosing DaVinci Resolve as the key software for our promotional media has meant that output results are of the same standard.
  • Well structured workflow, from adding media, to editing it, to adding and modifying Fusion effects, Colorising, perfecting audio output and then the actual rendering and delivery of the media file.
  • Facilitates the use of OpenFX plugins for extended functionality
  • Highly configurable workspace that alows users migrating from other platforms like FinalCutPro, or Premier Pro, to choose a layout that they are used to working with.
  • Adapts efficiently to the memory and processing resources available on the installed platform.
  • Da Vinci Resolve has crashed on numerous occasions where the resource requirement has outstripped the availability. Limited logs are available to detail the failure.
  • The fragmented experience with regards to configuring Fusion effects and titles by navigating to a different tab, should be rethought and modified.
  • Having to add all media into a media pool before being able to use it does not suit the way that I produce video. I prefer an associated folder in which all project related videos are stored and would rather be able to pick anything from that folder than have to add files into a media pool before use.
Well Suited:
  • Video editing for promotional videos and advertising,
  • High-impact training videos with lots of demonstrated content and little text,
  • Immersive media experiences,
  • Kiosk advertising design,
Not well suited:
  • Animation design and production,
  • Text-heavy media, for instance corporate presentations.
  • Home videos (The software is not for beginners and requires an in-depth understanding of certain concepts before it can be used.)
I cannot honestly rate the support for Da Vinci Resolve because I have never used the support channels, but my rating is based on the quality of their support material and the tutorials they have provided. All of the information that I find, or questions that I have to ask, are found via tutorials and through online forums.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2019
Matt Graf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DaVinci Resolve has been our software of choice for color correcting our video footage for quite some time. It is robust and delivers high-quality color palettes, which is exactly what we were looking for. It has really helped us to take our videos to the next level and move closer to achieving the truly cinematic look we aim to achieve.
  • It is robust in its options and the ways you can adjust your footage.
  • It is great for creating "looks" for a shoot, which can be copied and pasted to other clips.
  • The output quality is fantastic.
  • The only thing I would say is it is not for a complete novice. You really need to dedicate the time to learn this software before expecting great results! Practice!!
DaVinci Resolve is great for anyone who is seeking to take their video production quality to the next level. With its robust toolset, it is a fantastic thing to have at your disposal. It will elevate everything you create and help set your videos apart from others! Definitely something for the serious videographer!
Read Matt Graf's full review
February 03, 2019
Dan Talvi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As part of a multi-campus church facility that heavily relies on video media, my Audio / Visual team utilizes DaVinci Resolve as one of the video editing applications in our toolbox for assembling weekly promotional videos for upcoming sermon series and event, Facebook promotional videos, and rendering and editing of sermon videos for YouTube.
  • Free Version Available
  • Wide Support of Common Formats When Importing Video Material
  • Impressive Amount of Transitions and other Video Effects Included in Free Version & Paid Versions
  • Some features and functionality locked behind paid version
  • Unreliable Performance (Windows Version)
  • Different workflow compared to other popular video editing software
DaVinci Resolve, at first glance, is a fantastic video editing application, especially for a free software. Blackmagic has included a great number of features and functionality to assist users in creating basic video productions to more advanced creations. Users looking to create basic advertising video materials will be happy with what DaVinci Resolve has to offer.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
May 03, 2018
Chris Hecox | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Davinci Resolve for color grading purposes for clients. I used it pretty consistently but was the only person in the office who could use it. Resolve allows for exceptional color matching and grading opportunities, in a reasonably easy to use interface.
  • Resolve isn't extremely difficult to learn, at least from a UI perspective. I've found learning the node system isn't a steep learning curve. Users who can visualize how they want a grade or match to look can find their way around the software and use simple tools to get close to their result. People can do this without a lot of experience with the software.
  • Resolve provides extremely complex color grading opportunities, depending on how deeply you wish to use the software. One can fine tune an image, or use a plethora of masks, camera tracking, effects, and small tweaks to get images precisely where they want. It's a versatile software with so many options for every color grading scenario.
  • Resolve is free to use. I'm not too familiar with the NLE function of the program, but as a free software, one can accomplish a lot of work without needing to pay. Noise reduction can be a critical element of Resolve, so in that case, you'll need to purchase the full version to utilize the software to its fullest.
  • Resolve is popular enough that the internet provides many resources, forums, and tutorial videos to better learn the software. This is a big deal for helping to navigate Resolve's capabilities.
  • Some areas of Resolve can leave inexperienced users feeling a bit handicapped. Multiple user sign-ins can be confusing, and determining where to place the database of users might need troubleshooting. The exporting workflow is a bit finicky and will need to be learned to use for even simple capabilities.
  • Resolve is not friendly on a single screen editing workflow, and even worse on a laptop. Ideally, an editor has multiple screens in the first place, but because a colorist needs to see scopes and monitor, handling both on the same screen, along with all tools is a challenge. This software is best with more screens.
  • While the NLE capability of Resolve makes for a quick editing workspace, my little experience with it leads me to the conclusion that unless someone desires a completely free alternative to other NLE software, Resolve is not your best friend. Other programs are better.
Resolve is great and offers so many neat features, like camera tracking, expansive control over your image's color, and an amazing noise reduction plugin. This is a great option for coloring, and I'd recommend most production teams looking for a robust coloring software to look into Resolve and give it a go. It's worth it, even though you'll have to break away from working in Premiere Pro, etc.

If you don't have the money to pay for the full version, it might be better to just use the free version (which is still great. It's a steal honestly) and perhaps down the road pay for the full thing.
Read Chris Hecox's full review
April 06, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use DaVinci Resolve to edit promotional videos for my own artwork, to edit other artists' videos, and videos for submissions to grant applications. Most of these videos use multiple camera sources, sometimes up to 10. They are regularly from a variety of cameras (GoPros and similar cameras are cheap), and the software has to sync all the angles up and allow for color correction to make the clips look similar. I have used Final Cut Pro for about 15 years but switched to DaVinci primarily for its color correction capabilities. It also does an excellent job syncing a variety of sources up.
  • The color correction is excellent. It provides a variety of tools for correcting color, way more than I need. In general, videos edited/corrected with DaVinci look better. There are a couple of filters available depending on the cameras used.
  • Syncing a variety of sources is a breeze. I ran several tests with up to 10 different sources when I switched from FCP to DaVinci, and DaVinci did a better job in a few cases.
  • Another reason to switch was the amount of render data FCP is writing (and saving) to the disk, which filled up hard drives. DaVinci does not have that problem, as it deletes the render files when done. FCP may have a setting for this, which I never found.
  • It also seems generally be less taxing on the CPU than other video software I have used.
  • The interface is slightly confusing for beginners, but that is often a problem when it comes to software that offers a lot of functionality.
The price point (free for the basic version, ≈ $300 for the pro version) makes it interesting for anybody to work with video, but it is a software for professionals so it's not good for editing your wedding videos. Online training material is excellent, so it's not hard to find answers, but not recommended to learn it just to edit a single project.
Read this authenticated review

What is DaVinci Resolve?

Australian company Blackmagic Design offers their video editing application DaVinci Resolve for a wide range of high quality ultra HD effects, render queue, and video uploading options among other features.
Categories:  Video Editing

DaVinci Resolve Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
DaVinci Resolve 17$0.00Free
DaVinci Resolve Studio 17$295.00perpetual license

DaVinci Resolve Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is DaVinci Resolve?

Australian company Blackmagic Design offers their video editing application DaVinci Resolve for a wide range of high quality ultra HD effects, render queue, and video uploading options among other features.

What are DaVinci Resolve's top competitors?

Filmora, VEGAS Pro, and iMovie are common alternatives for DaVinci Resolve.

What is DaVinci Resolve's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 4.4.

Who uses DaVinci Resolve?

The most common users of DaVinci Resolve are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.