TrustRadius
Dell's Boomi product (acquired 2010) is a cloud integration platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ky/Ub/X4MSMBU6A4CE.pngBoomi is the way to go for your integration requirementsWe chose and implemented Boomi to integrate between cloud and on-premise applications, like NetSuite, Namely, OpenAir, Concur etc. It is addressing a wide range of our integration requirements from the manufacturing vendors to internal business processes. For manufacturing, we are integrating with our 30+ semiconductor suppliers exchanging B2B data in real time with the purpose of managing(planning, tracking) our semiconductor production live. As for internal business processes we use it to integrate Namely to NetSuite for custom requirements on employees data and Concur to NetSuite for expense reporting specific needs. Also, we use Boomi to bring timesheets data from OpenAir to NetSuite for financial purposes.,Pre-built connectors to almost anything which greatly reduce time to release of your integration needs. Easy to use development platform with drag&drop features. Non-technical people could build simple integration processes in no time. Great user community where you can get quick help if needed. Boomi people hang around there a lot.,If you have more complex integration requirements, you need to write lots of custom scripting in Javascript or Groovy. It takes some time for a software development team, for example, to become really productive in Dell Boomi environment since it requires a change in the mindset of a programmer. Every connection type has a cost. When you run on a low budget, you need to think and have workarounds in your integration's architecture and design to overcome this. Performance may be an issue with customs requirements in data processing. For example, if you have to process data in a sequential fashion, you will see a huge drop in performance since Boomi is optimized for parallel processing.,10,Positive impact: Dell Boomi helped us greatly reducing the cost of running a 15 years old version of ERP together with huge custom applications built for integrating with this ERP. By moving to Boomi cloud we have shut down 30+ servers running to support these apps. Positive impact: Our goal is to become 100% cloud and going with Boomi made it possible for us to choose cloud apps for the business needs but also to keep the business requirements for integrating these clouds with the on-premise legacy apps. It really makes the transition to cloud smoother. Negative impact: adopting Boomi with a team of software developers has a risk of losing people that want to focus on lower level programming technologies. We lost several software developers that didn't want to switch to Boomi.,Oracle SOA Suite,Namely, NetSuite, NetSuite OpenAir PSA, Okta, JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence, Bitbucket, BambooFun product to learn and work withDell Boomi is used by our applications teams to build integrations. We are using it to create real-time applications and batch processes that run our business. Our company is currently doing most of their business processing on an IBM mainframe. Mainframe is limited when it comes to connecting to outside systems and using a middleware tool like Dell Boomi has really increased what the business can do. Dell Boomi has made it easier to create APIs that can be consumed by outside clients.,Boomi has a lot of built in connectors that make integrations faster and easier. The tool is easy to use and has great visuals to help understand how a process works. There isn't a large learning curve. Frequent updates to the platform. New connectors are frequently added. Great support documents and community. Real-time integrations.,The dashboards are limited Running Low latency improves performance but makes resolving issues very difficult Unable to sign up for alerts for one process only. Alerts go out at an account level. If you want to get notifications for a process you need to build it into your application. The folder structure of components can get messy if not well governed. Easy to create duplicate components and not realizing that someone else in your company already created one. Scripting could be improved. You don't know if you have errors in your code until you run the process.,10,It has allowed us to complete projects that would have been impossible We can make services faster when Boomi is orchestrating Integrations can be completed quickly Figuring out production issues can be extremely challenging,WebSphere DataPower Gateway, SQL Server Integration Services and Amazon API Gateway,FICO Blaze Advisor, FICO Model Builder, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), MySQL, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System,10,3Dell Boomi: Connecting businessesI have used Dell Boomi to develop integration flows between various end systems on cloud and on-premise. For example, the complete eCommerce flow and the sales channel processing of my client firm is designed using Dell Boomi. The low code and user-friendly UI makes it easy to develop interfaces in a short span of time. Dell Boomi MDM is also leveraged in many of the use cases.,Low Code, user-friendly UI Various inbuilt connectors and features like Boomi suggests which makes development easier and faster Readily available materials and fast response through Boomi communities and user guides with solutions to complex problems,For some transformation areas, we still have to use scripting, like for dynamically converting xml to csv or vice versa without defining a specific profile. These ideas are addressed in the communities.,9,Reduced the time taken for development Reduced the number of resources needed for development,WebSphere Message Broker and WebSphere DataPower GatewayWorth to try. You might love it.We are using Boomi to process B2B reports from our suppliers and input transactions into NetSuite automatically. We are also planning to have more integration (NetSuite and Namely). So far, it's only used by the eBusiness team but when more application integration is implemented, more departments could be involved such as HR. Boomi can reduce a lot of manual effort.,Drag and drop user interface. No programming language experience required. It's all in the cloud. No maintenance effort needed except if using local atoms. Pre-implemented connectors support a number of cloud services.,Big maps, profiles take time to load. But you need to wait for them load completely before any change. Otherwise, some incorrect thing (for example some links will be disconnected) will happen and it takes you much time to investigate. The way Boomi processes documents may be different from the programming languages you are using. So you have to change your mindset logically when working with Boomi. Logging and debugging is a hard process when you execute processes on Atom. Hopefully, Boomi can visualize an execution just like the way it does when running on test mode. Number of features (shapes) are limited, you need to use them flexibly to meet your needs. Otherwise, you need to write some source code with custom scripts.,9,From the view of a software engineer/developer, a negative impact is Boomi makes me work less with coding. I only need to implement some small lines of code for some custom script. The rest could be done with shapes, just drag and drop. However, the above negative point is also a positive point that you don't need to be a developer to work with Boomi. Then on my team now, all other members such as QA/QC engineers also can work with Boomi. Another positive thing is Boomi has limited shapes and you need to combine those shapes flexibly to reach your requirement, to meet what you want to do on Boomi. Then it could improve your logical thinking.Boomi reviewWe use Boomi to upload data for the client to our application. Boomi is used in the technical areas of the company, and is for loading different types of files (flat files, XML, EDI, etc). Boomi tells us the information of each client that comes with different formats,File profile Interact with Groovy code File treatments: It is quick to process them,Formatting dates The ability to connect to any server, so that it is not necessary that the files reside locally,7,We have not yet measured the ROI of it.,IBM InfoSphere Information Server,IBM InfoSphere Information Server, Oracle Data Integrator, Informatica Enterprise Data Integration
Unspecified
Dell Boomi
59 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Dell Boomi Reviews

Dell Boomi
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 59 vetted Dell Boomi reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 25)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
July 27, 2018

Dell Boomi Review: "Boomi is the way to go for your integration requirements"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose and implemented Boomi to integrate between cloud and on-premise applications, like NetSuite, Namely, OpenAir, Concur etc. It is addressing a wide range of our integration requirements from the manufacturing vendors to internal business processes.
For manufacturing, we are integrating with our 30+ semiconductor suppliers exchanging B2B data in real time with the purpose of managing(planning, tracking) our semiconductor production live.
As for internal business processes we use it to integrate Namely to NetSuite for custom requirements on employees data and Concur to NetSuite for expense reporting specific needs. Also, we use Boomi to bring timesheets data from OpenAir to NetSuite for financial purposes.
  • Pre-built connectors to almost anything which greatly reduce time to release of your integration needs.
  • Easy to use development platform with drag&drop features. Non-technical people could build simple integration processes in no time.
  • Great user community where you can get quick help if needed. Boomi people hang around there a lot.
  • If you have more complex integration requirements, you need to write lots of custom scripting in Javascript or Groovy. It takes some time for a software development team, for example, to become really productive in Dell Boomi environment since it requires a change in the mindset of a programmer.
  • Every connection type has a cost. When you run on a low budget, you need to think and have workarounds in your integration's architecture and design to overcome this.
  • Performance may be an issue with customs requirements in data processing. For example, if you have to process data in a sequential fashion, you will see a huge drop in performance since Boomi is optimized for parallel processing.
Boomi is an integration platform. It will address integration requirements between applications, cloud or on-premise. Also, will allow you to integrate with vendors and customers via EDI or FTP for data transfers.
Examples:
- NetSuite/Oracle eBusiness Suite/SAP with vendors for manufacturing management and financial transactions
- cloud to cloud integration(NetSuite to Namely/OpenAir/Concur, SalesForce to ERP)
- on-premise to cloud: custom legacy apps that almost every company has can be integrated to cloud apps, making the transition to 100% cloud apps easier
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Adam White profile photo
July 24, 2018

Dell Boomi Review: "Fun product to learn and work with"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell Boomi is used by our applications teams to build integrations. We are using it to create real-time applications and batch processes that run our business. Our company is currently doing most of their business processing on an IBM mainframe. Mainframe is limited when it comes to connecting to outside systems and using a middleware tool like Dell Boomi has really increased what the business can do. Dell Boomi has made it easier to create APIs that can be consumed by outside clients.
  • Boomi has a lot of built in connectors that make integrations faster and easier.
  • The tool is easy to use and has great visuals to help understand how a process works. There isn't a large learning curve.
  • Frequent updates to the platform.
  • New connectors are frequently added.
  • Great support documents and community.
  • Real-time integrations.
  • The dashboards are limited
  • Running Low latency improves performance but makes resolving issues very difficult
  • Unable to sign up for alerts for one process only. Alerts go out at an account level. If you want to get notifications for a process you need to build it into your application.
  • The folder structure of components can get messy if not well governed.
  • Easy to create duplicate components and not realizing that someone else in your company already created one.
  • Scripting could be improved. You don't know if you have errors in your code until you run the process.
Dell Boomi is a great choice if you are integrating real-time processes with multiple other systems. If you have a web service call that requires transforming the data I think Boomi is the best choice. Where I wouldn't recommend using it is for batch processing. It can do the trick if needed but when a batch process goes down it can be extremely hard to figure out where the problem is. The problem is usually in the data but finding that data can be very tricky when you are processing thousands of transactions at a time.
Read Adam White's full review
Rethwik Janardhanan profile photo
July 24, 2018

User Review: "Dell Boomi: Connecting businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Dell Boomi to develop integration flows between various end systems on cloud and on-premise. For example, the complete eCommerce flow and the sales channel processing of my client firm is designed using Dell Boomi. The low code and user-friendly UI makes it easy to develop interfaces in a short span of time. Dell Boomi MDM is also leveraged in many of the use cases.
  • Low Code, user-friendly UI
  • Various inbuilt connectors and features like Boomi suggests which makes development easier and faster
  • Readily available materials and fast response through Boomi communities and user guides with solutions to complex problems
  • For some transformation areas, we still have to use scripting, like for dynamically converting xml to csv or vice versa without defining a specific profile. These ideas are addressed in the communities.
Areas where Boomi is well suited:
1) Salesforce integration
2) Netsuite integration
3) Successfactors integration
4) When the technical team does not know or is not keen on learning a scripting language in deep

Areas where Boomi is not well suited:
1) Heavy data load scenarios. Eventhough Boomi have run times which provides supports for heavy data load, there are other tools which handles these scenarios well.
Read Rethwik Janardhanan's full review
Phi Hoang profile photo
July 30, 2018

Dell Boomi Review: "Worth to try. You might love it."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Boomi to process B2B reports from our suppliers and input transactions into NetSuite automatically. We are also planning to have more integration (NetSuite and Namely). So far, it's only used by the eBusiness team but when more application integration is implemented, more departments could be involved such as HR. Boomi can reduce a lot of manual effort.
  • Drag and drop user interface. No programming language experience required.
  • It's all in the cloud. No maintenance effort needed except if using local atoms.
  • Pre-implemented connectors support a number of cloud services.
  • Big maps, profiles take time to load. But you need to wait for them load completely before any change. Otherwise, some incorrect thing (for example some links will be disconnected) will happen and it takes you much time to investigate.
  • The way Boomi processes documents may be different from the programming languages you are using. So you have to change your mindset logically when working with Boomi.
  • Logging and debugging is a hard process when you execute processes on Atom. Hopefully, Boomi can visualize an execution just like the way it does when running on test mode.
  • Number of features (shapes) are limited, you need to use them flexibly to meet your needs. Otherwise, you need to write some source code with custom scripts.
Boomi is suitable to the integration of data transformation or synchronization:
  • When you have to create new data on a system based on data on another system and you have to do that manually repeatedly. Boomi could help.
  • When you have to re-enter data on a system with information you just entered on another system, Boomi could help as well.
However, if you need to process your data in the middle of a transition, you need to review or try to implement a custom script. If your rules are too complicated, you may consider choosing another platform or creating a software by yourself.
Read Phi Hoang's full review
No photo available
September 11, 2018

Dell Boomi: "Boomi review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Boomi to upload data for the client to our application. Boomi is used in the technical areas of the company, and is for loading different types of files (flat files, XML, EDI, etc). Boomi tells us the information of each client that comes with different formats
  • File profile
  • Interact with Groovy code
  • File treatments: It is quick to process them
  • Formatting dates
  • The ability to connect to any server, so that it is not necessary that the files reside locally
Suitable for processes that manipulate files, and file movement. Less suitable for processes with complex transformations, or when you need to debug processes to find programming issues.
Read this authenticated review
Ankit Goyal profile photo
February 09, 2018

Review: "Dell Boomi: Great tool for data Integration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We helped several customers implement Dell Boomi for integrating their various systems and fortunately all are happy with its performance. We have used it mainly to integrate Salesforce with various other systems like ServiceNow, Oracle, MySQL etc. Also used to integrate various homegrown systems using SOAP and Rest Webservices.
  • Completely cloud based solution. No need to install any software or agent on local machine while integrating cloud systems. Although provides ability to integrate on premise solutions too by installing and local atom.
  • Best thing about Boomi is its relatively low learning curve. Its very easy to use for the developers.
  • Great tutorials and documentation available on their site.
  • Boomi supports a wide variety of systems and provides flexibilities to integrate home grown systems too.
  • Pricing is on a upper side comparing to other tools in market. However it does worth it in my opinion.
  • Although documentation is good but it lacks examples.
For integrating cloud systems, Boomi is best tool in market.
Read Ankit Goyal's full review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

"Dell Boomi ETL Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell Boomi is being used as our ETL tool to handle the data communication between two different platforms. It is being used currently by our IT department. Boomi solves our ETL needs and allows for a quicker implementation of the ETL.
  • Graphical ETL Interface that is simple
  • Large community and good resources
  • Integration with many platforms
  • The option for detailed logging on deployed processes would be a good additional feature.
  • More control over documents from a database
  • Delete multiple IDs from Salesforce at one time
It is a great ETL tool that handles multiple platforms and gives a wide range of control.
Read this authenticated review
VenkataNaveen Kumar profile photo
October 10, 2017

User Review: "Ease of using Dell Boomi iPaas"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dell Boomi is used as the iPaas for my Client organization, where the client was using older EAI tool by name JCAPS where its life has come to an end. We have suggested the Client based on the current technologies and the existing architecture of the client. We have exposed Dell Boomi's capabilities in cloud based integration and the ease of using it by developers and architects. Dell Boomi is used as the Enterprise Integration Tool for the organization , where both on-premise and cloud integration is used. Users are happy with the performance and the control it provides, over the old EAI Tool. Dell Boomi has all the connectors that are required for the trending market technologies and with out being hurdled you can integrate them.
  • Cloud Integration
  • Atom and Molecule performance on both On-Premise and Cloud Deployments
  • Easy to Use Connectors and configure with out any difficulty
  • Wonderful support
  • NA
  • NA
  • NA
Cloud Integration, iPAAS Salesforce and SAP integration are perfectly done with Dell Boomi with cloud platform benefits. No hardware/software to install or maintain along with automatic upgrades. Usage-based pricing with one platform for companies of all sizes. Fully functional trial with on-demand access with multi-tenant architecture. Enterprise scalability and elasticity, molecule and atom architecture boosts the performance and availability.
Read VenkataNaveen Kumar's full review
Vijaya Reddy profile photo
September 19, 2017

User Review: "Dell Boomi Migration Expert"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EAIESB is a Middleware/iPaaS solutions/Services provider. Most of the customers are moving towards Cloud and PaaS solutions. We do provide POC to of demonstrating how their code will be migrated/re-engineered to Dell Boomi and the features of Dell Boomi.
  • On-Premises Connectors (Disk/FTP/DB)
  • Cloud SaaS Connectors (Salesforce, Service Now)
  • Big Data Connectors
  • Cloud Storage Connectors (Azure, Amazon, GCP)
  • Nicer UI (more appearance - it's just my opinion))
  • Good Documentation on Developing Custom Connectors
  • Better Strategy in minimizing downtime while performing upgrades
  • No installation effort [required] to start the project
  • It will support all integration patterns and scenarios
  • If customer is talking to very limited applications with limited message exchanges
Read Vijaya Reddy's full review
David Byrd profile photo
March 09, 2017

Dell Boomi Review: "First Impressions of Boomi Integration Platform will rock your Integrations!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SFCG is a consulting firm. Its primary focus is supporting the Oracle CX suite and other Oracle Cloud Applications. My team's, the Apps & Integration team, role is to develop integration in Boomi, which helps solve the problem for our customers to get data in and out of the applications
  • After recently finishing my first small business focused Boomi integration here at SFCG, here are the top five things that are totally cool about the Boomi Atomsphere Platform:
  • Coding Not Required: This integration required sourcing data from one cloud app and writing to two different objects in another Oracle CX cloud app. This integration performs a web service call for the source data (QuickBooks Online) and then uses web services to write to two different entities (Oracles Sales Cloud – Accounts/Contacts) in another application. For more complex situations, Boomi does allow for coding using JavaScript or Groovy. However, no higher level coding was performed here. This process included 37 different steps.
  • Unique Data Processing: Boomi processes a single record at a time. This sounds similar to the way the current integration products work but it’s actually not quite the same. Most tools process a whole file (with multiple records) thru each step. Boomi’s methodology runs the record (or row of data), which is a basic unit of work, thru the process up and until you decide to combine it into a multi-record document. One reason a development engineer might find this interesting is that the developer designs a process to handle a single unit of work. Boomi handles the looping. Totally Cool!!!
  • Branching Processes: Branching allows you to start over with the source data to accomplish something else in your process. Only one source read is required to process a record thru multiple branches. Above we process all the source records into an Account entity, and then we start over with the original source data and process it into Contacts.
  • Storing Results for Error Handling: Result info easily captured. We can capture results and store them into a Dynamic Process Property.
  • And the TOP COOLNESS Reason. Every Integration methodology concept we configured into this integration helps builds a template for starting on the next. Some of the artifacts will even be re-usable.
  • Another cool feature is using the Email feature to email of process results is fairly simple and straightforward. I have written a blog article about this:
  • http://sfcg.com/four-steps-to-using-the-boomi-email-step-in-integrations/
  • The last cool feature I have actually written about is the Flow Control feature.
  • Boomi handles many integration tasks at a high level without the need for scripting pretty much at all. However, there comes a time when you just need to alter/manipulate/examine the document by groups, and most of the Step components generally cannot do that. However, you can use the Flow Control step.
  • The Flow Control Step is one component that is totally awesome. For example when using the process batch web-services in Oracle CX – Sales Cloud you can group the XML payloads in batches of 500. In your Boomi data Integrator process you can easily handle this issue with the Flow Control Step.
  • This step takes individual documents flowing into this step, and batches them in whatever is configured as a Batch parameter. It is typically followed by a combined step.
  • Sample Flow
  • Say Quickbooks as a source has 1800 records in their database. Through web-services we are provided with 1800 XML documents, one at a time. These documents flow thru the Flow Control Step, and only 500 (or less) at a time are processed. Then the next step combines the 500 that flowed into the step and creates a single document with combined information of the 500 records.
  • This would happen for document 501 thru 1000, and then 1001 thru 1500, and then 1501, thru 1800.
  • http://sfcg.com/boomi-integrations-the-coolest-feature-yet-the-flow-control-step/
  • The Data Process step has a cool feature for splitting records. However the XML piece has some reported issues. This is easily overcome with custom Groovy scripting.
Boomi is suited when an integration between systems is required. Within that domain of data processing, I have not found case where I would choose another integration tool because Boomi could not handle it.
Read David Byrd's full review
Jake J. Darley profile photo
March 03, 2017

Dell Boomi Review: "Connecting our Ecosystem of Best of Breed Applications with Boomi"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Boomi in Finance and Operations with a simple use case of provisioning our Product to the customer as Orders are approved and processed. Since then, we have used it to connect Salesforce Account and Opportunity records to NetSuite Account and Sales Order records, to connect Workfront and NetSuite, our Production servers and NetSuite, Zendesk and Salesforce, etc... thought the entire organization. We now have a Corporate Information Systems team that sits within Finance that are Boomi power users, and have 6-7 ongoing projects at any point-in-time. The main objective we are using Boomi for is to connect all of our different SaaS platforms together, so that data can systematically flow between the different environments.
  • Moving data between Salesforce and NetSuite. With the great and extensive open API that both of products offer, Boomi allows you to simply connect to the different endpoints, and drag-and-drop to create the workflow. In fact, when we first implemented Boomi, it was so easy to learn and adopt, that we took one of our accountants and turned them into our Boomi admin.
  • We also use it in on-boarding employees. When we first create an employee in our HRIS (syncHR), it automatically creates and syncs the user across to Concur, Workfront, Motivosity, etc.
  • We also use it to sync project data between Workfront and NetSuite. This allows us to have a simply but robust process in recognizing revenue related to projects and work being performed in Workfront.
  • Honestly, the user interface. It has a lot of room to improve to get aligned with our products it is working with. The design is intuitive, but somewhat clunky because of the interface. It seems to be about 10-years behind other products in this area. The UI is important, especially when you are trying to attract users that may not have a development background.
It is very well suited for moving data from one location to the next (especially in the case of moving data between Salesforce and NetSuite). It is drag-and-drop intuitive.

It is less appropriate when you need to run complex sequences of manipulating the data in transit, and also when you need to have thousands of similar items running through the same branch at the same time.
Read Jake J. Darley's full review
Britto Parthalomew profile photo
March 01, 2017

Dell Boomi: "Boomi - Integrate, evolve and succeed"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Boomi for the integration need between legacy systems. My organization uses iPaaS for all integration related problems. Currently Boomi is used to address the problem we face sending data to another cloud platform. That is where Boomi plays a major role. Boomi integrates these systems by sending data in a format the destination system understands. And also Boomi does apply certain business logic to deal with certain business problems.
  • Boomi is a wonderful cloud integration tool. It is easy to code or develop. And this is the easiest tool I have ever used for installation and deployment.
  • Boomi also is a near real time data processing tool. Its atomsphere makes it easy for light weighted data processing.
  • Boomi has lots of built in functions therefore eliminates the need for coding 90%.
  • Boomi licensing is very cost effective. You do not have to buy the whole features of Boomi. Based your business need you can select features. This helps reduce cost and be more productive of the tool.
  • Boomi does have room for improvement. Mainly in the areas of using connectors. I do encounter [issues] with a few connectors like SFTP, missing certain wild card filters while processing different types of files.
  • There are a few functionalities also missing like processing large amounts of data. I very often see data getting lost when large amounts of data processed or it gets suspended without any specific failures.
  • Look and feel could be improved in terms of moving or selecting a shape.
  • Process report logs could provide more filter options.
Boomi is well suited where we do not have to move large amounts of data. Or else the source system should be capable of batching the data to a smaller size. However, Boomi does have capabilities to deal with huge amounts of data if a client is ready to invest for another server. Boomi could be used for banking services, travel and transport where real-time transaction data are moved from one vendor to another.
Read Britto Parthalomew's full review
Yona Adler profile photo
July 27, 2016

Dell Boomi Review: "Best of Boomi"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi is used for two way integration between our Salesforce and SQL databases.
  • Creating XML files using SQL data
  • Syncing data between databases
  • Error tracking
  • Tutorials
  • Error alerts via email
We sometimes encounter problems with large batches but Boomi can be adjusted to import the appropriate number of records for each process. From experience I'd say Boomi serves better as an integration tool even though it is capable of accomplishing much of what is done with Apex code. The fact that Boomi relies on schedules and is not instantaneous makes Apex better suited for certain functions.
Read Yona Adler's full review
Anil Atyam, PMP profile photo
December 18, 2015

Dell Boomi: "Boomi product review by Cloud Integrator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi is our top pick for our customers integrating cloud applications. Boomi primarily address the integration challenges between various cloud applications.
  • It's unimaginably simple to use and I call the development "assembly".
  • Has various proven cloud applicaton connectors.
  • Ease of use, ease of deployment, ease of monitoring, on demand licensing, out of queue support, cloud development etc.
  • The product is evolving day after day. There were several weaknesses two years ago but not any more. for example WS-Security was introduced recentlyy to enable end point communication security.
Boomi is well suited for an organization leveraging cloud platform driven applications. Its an inevitable integration tool.
Read Anil Atyam, PMP's full review
Wade Poe profile photo
November 03, 2015

Dell Boomi Review: "Boomi"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi is currently being used for developing integrations between SuccessFactors Employee Central and SAP On-Premise. It is also being used for replicating data down for payroll processes.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Easily deployed.
  • Easily managed.
  • Very difficult to use in complex scenarios.
  • EXTREEEEEEEMLY poor debugging capabilities.
  • No Room for coding where your beginner/typical/average programmer would find useful.
  • Having to code (drag and drop) through the website makes it very time consuming rather then using a downloaded development software.
  • Minimal ability to manipulate data in some scenarios.
  • Difficulty determining exact process data and details of the run when running in a production environment.
I would use Boomi ONLY if there were pre-built iFlows.
Read Wade Poe's full review
Francois Gravel profile photo
November 03, 2015

Dell Boomi Review: "Easy to use, but not recommended for complex integrations."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We wanted to be able to create/maintain integration jobs between different systems easily and not necessarily use a professional database administrator (DBA) to do so. This goal was achieved. I would like to mention that I received outstanding, good service from Anton Damiani. He was our trainer and we also bought some consulting services from Boomi with him as a resource. He definitely goes above and beyond to give help when needed.
  • Visual interface. An inexperienced user can figure out what the job does in a simple look.
  • Quick to get a simple integration going. Some of our integrations took just few hours to build are are still running after 2 years.
  • Out of the box connectors to Salesforce, Taleo and other common SAAS.
  • Not easy to troubleshoot failures. Unable to easily access payloads and components.
  • Dev mode is painful with a limit of 10 records.
  • Running processes even on dev mode takes a long time. Takes at least 20 seconds before starting to process.
Boomi is well suited if you have simple integrations that need to be built fast and don't necessarily have a DBA on-premise. It is not well suited in an environment where you need a dev, QA, staging and production environment. You will be strangled by the stiff licensing costs.
Read Francois Gravel's full review
Sebastian Gonzalez profile photo
November 06, 2015

User Review: "Highly recommend Dell Boomi"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi makes system integration easy by providing pre-defined objects and connectors.
  • Provides a ton of built-in connectors.
  • Provides very strong revisioning/object history.
  • User friendly UI.
  • It should have a way to encapsulate or hide code from other users (ex. compiling into DLL file).
  • Keyword search for large projects would be great.
Boomi is recommended when a client wants to do more than one or two integrations. It is not recommended for less than that.
Read Sebastian Gonzalez's full review
Jason Lutz profile photo
July 17, 2014

Dell Boomi: "Integrate your way to a better place"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi is used by the IT team to integrate numerous systems. Without Boomi we would have to write a lot of custom software that would not be as robust. Because of Boomi, we are able to smoothly integrate our eCommerce websites, other websites, ERP/CRM system, and reporting platform. Additionally, we are able to integrate our data with our partners' data.
  • Boomi allows us to quickly integrate existing or new systems with a point and click user interface. We have integrated our ERP/CRM system (Netsuite) with our eCommerce sites built in Magento Commerce and WebSphere Commerce, along with custom websites written in ColdFusion. We switched from WebSphere to Magento 1-2 years ago, and it was a seemless transition.
  • Boomi is constantly upgraded and improved. In the time I have used it, I have been impressed by the number of changes and improvements made.
  • Boomi handles large amounts of data quickly and provides exceptional tools for testing and debugging issues.
  • Boomi provides a way to script using Groovy and JavaScript that allows the user to extend the system to fit business needs.
  • One area for improvement is in handling XML with complicated schemas. We have had a few times where it was impossible or very difficult to handle XML when the schema was complicated. We found workarounds in each scenario, but sometimes that workaround was outside of Boomi.
  • Make it easier to test a process using test systems instead of production ones. Although testing and debugging are exceptional overall, it is very difficult to do that testing in test systems instead of the production ones.
  • The community could be improved to allow you to find pointers and suggestions by other users instead of having to rely on your first line of support. Without this, there is a lot of trial and error.
Boomi is exceptional when you need to integrate disparate systems in a comprehensive way. It is also very good when you have a lot of data that is synced overnight (not real time). It allows you to handle a lot of data, schedule it for when you need it to run, and alert you if there are any problems. It might not be a perfect fit if your integration needs to be real time, although the APIs do exist to allow this to be done if needed.
Read Jason Lutz's full review
Aaron Jestrab profile photo
July 18, 2014

Dell Boomi Review: "Boomi - The road to fast implementations."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Boomi to interface between various systems and processes ranging from high end CRM and ERP systems to every day shopping carts. Boomi is used and managed by the IT department and provides the flexibility and agility we need to complete our integrations quickly and efficiently.
  • Document and File translation and modification - every day systems need to communicate, however rarely do they speak the same language or format. Boomi allows us to modify data, translate data, format data into the proper needs for various systems.
  • Provides an avenue that both the expert user and novice user can succeed with.
  • Reduces the complexity of tasks
  • Provides more lower "Time to Production" in comparison with stand alone software development.
  • Boomi needs some additional / essential file types. Example: Microsoft Excel, currently Boomi can not read and parse an excel document. While it can be achieved through more advanced coding within Boomi using open source applications this is such a prevalent format that it should be part of the base capabilities.
  • Better instructional documentation would help with several tasks. Often the documentation is more of a summary format and not a "Usage" guideline.
It is well suited across the board.
Read Aaron Jestrab's full review
Sahana Shah profile photo
July 16, 2014

Dell Boomi Review: "Boomi"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think Boomi is a wonderful tool. It easily helps with integrating with many systems. The components that the tool has provide the flexibility to add various logic. A simple process can also be built by someone with a non engineer background, which is a great plus. The only downside is the cost of the professional service of Boomi. I would definitely recommend this product.
  • Non Engineer Team can mange the Boomi Process.
  • It can integrate easily with any system which is a huge Plus Point.
  • The Various Components provides a robust flow to be developed.
  • The XML Split casues Issues. Thats needs to be educated well during training.
  • Boomi is very sensitive about the data type and format that it accepts. This also needs to be addresses during the training sessions.
The key factors would be support and how to build the Boomi knowledge for the company. It requires dedicated resources to work on this.
Read Sahana Shah's full review
Tyler Harris profile photo
July 15, 2014

Dell Boomi Review: "Boomi - A User's Perspective"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Boomi company wide as an integration hub, primarily between our CRM (Salesforce) and our ERP (Oracle Applications R12) systems. Integration to Oracle Applications required the purchase of the Oracle (enterprise) connector as an add-on to our professional license type. Boomi has been instrumental in mending the systems within our lead-to-cash process.
  • Excellent library of connectors
  • The Visual Integration Designer is fantastically intuitive
  • The integration deployment process is quick and painless
  • The process reporting functionality is excellent
  • User Management - It's possible for users to overwrite a shared resource.
  • Support is off-shore which makes collaboration difficult.
  • Process alerting - It is possible to configure integration process failures and the account level but not at the integration job level
Boomi is a very polished solution making it an excellent selection for business analysts, but it is also opinionated and IT driven organizations may become frustrated with many of the "clicks-not-code" features. Boomi is priced by the connector and not the endpoint ~ It becomes the onus of the integration developer to ensure that multiple connectors do not share a common endpoint.
Read Tyler Harris's full review
Rob Marlbrough profile photo
July 25, 2014

Dell Boomi: "Boomi Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Enterprise middleware solution to synchronize between our custom e-commerce storefront, email marketing system, Salesforce CRM system, and custom product license key systems.
  • Prebuilt connection types makes integration work easy.
  • Table and field mappings were easy to define.
  • Data transformation between systems was easy to implement.
  • Licensing was confusing at times.
  • Management software was buggy at times.
Validate the types of systems you're connecting to ahead of time, and make sure they are supported.
Read Rob Marlbrough's full review
Bob Small profile photo
July 16, 2014

Dell Boomi: "Boomi review"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Boomi is currently our middleware solution. We have a webpage, member management application, and a front end that communicates through Boomi to our payment processor and database backend.
  • Boomi has a very intuitive front end for users to easily build processes.
  • Boomi makes it easy and fast to build simple flows.
  • Boomi is not the best at a reliable cloud based solution. Simply put if the service is not accessible then nothing works and the business flows stop. Boomi can improve in reliability, portability, and maintainability.
  • Boomi could also improve on moving from SOAP to RESTful services as they are lighter and easier to use.
  • Also improvements could be made in testability working with SmartBear and its tools for fast and easy use of testing processes and web services.
Time to live should be a factor. Other recommendation factors include ease of use, reliability, customizability and portability.
Read Bob Small's full review
No photo available
December 21, 2015

Dell Boomi Review: "Difficult integrations are a snap with Boomi."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Boomi to integrate an on-premise legacy system with a cloud system. Two very different databases and we are able to successfully move critical data between the two for critical business processes.
  • Boomi provides all the visuals to accurately map, and transform, data from one system to another.
  • Easy to set up a completely isolated test environment to put the integrations through their paces before deploying to production.
  • Compared to CastIron, the solution was much simpler to configure.
  • Haven't run across anything that we can't yet accomplish with Boomi.
  • Having a "test run" feature. If there is no test environment to test against, having a "what would be the result if I ran it" feature would be great.
Boomi is well suited to completely disparate databases where there are few options for integration.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2014

Dell Boomi: "Boomi Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to integrate enterprise business systems with business systems in the cloud.
  • Best thing about Boomi Atom, is you don't have to worry about netowrk security ports. The Atom iniside firewall initiates the request
  • Intuitive user interface.
  • Maintainance can be done in cloud, so you can maintain it from anywhere. There is nothing to install on a PC.
  • Top product but fair price.
Questions to ask are:

  • Can it integrate any application to any other application?
  • Are there any permutations and Combinations of ( On Premise, In Cloud )?
  • Does it have a fair price to the given functionality?
  • Does it have limitations on No.of Users Allowed?
  • Does it require Hardware Maitenance?
  • Do you have to install anything on user workstation?
  • Do you have to open up network ports?

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pre-built connectors (17)
8.6
Connector modification (14)
7.7
Support for real-time and batch integration (17)
8.7
Data quality services (15)
8.3
Data security features (16)
7.9
Monitoring console (18)
6.3

About Dell Boomi

Dell's Boomi product (acquired 2010) is a cloud integration platform.

Dell Boomi Competitors

Dell Boomi Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No