TrustRadius
DigitalOcean is the infrastructure as a service (IaaS) available from the company of the same name in New York.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Em/Bb/ERBQK1RHJHSU.pngFlexible hosting with great customer service and documentationI use DigitalOcean for managing both personal and professional websites. I left hosting and domain support from Site5 last year and found DigitalOcean to be the best option for managing my domains. It offers loads of documentation for migration and setup as well as friendly support from their helpdesk team. You'll want to be (or have a member of your team who is) proficient with the terminal as all setup and server settings are managed through the command line.,Clear and useful documentation for a variety of setups - I've used a variety of their documentation for setting up virtual domains, mail, Apache modules, and SSL. There is an active community helping to keep these documents up to date. Priced well and great performance - Their packages start at $5/month and offer many options for a flexible bundle that fits your needs. Great help desk - I've submitted three or so tickets to their help desk, and each time they are very responsive and guide me in understanding the solution to my questions.,No simple email setup - There are a few walkthroughs on setting up the servers, but it most often recommended to use a service like Zoho for a simple email setup. It would be great if DigitalOcean could implement this into their services. Must log in to view invoice PDF - It might be ideal for small businesses to receive the PDF file in the monthly billing email. Currently, a user must log in to the system (pass the 2-step authentication if required) and dig around for the PDF in the Billing tab.,10,With DigitalOcean, I've been able to move all my sites to https using my own implementations of SSL with LetsEncrypt. Since moving my sites to DigitalOcean, my hosting plan costs less than 40% of what I paid for similar hosting from Site5.,Site5,Teamwork Projects, CloudFlare, Accounting by WaveDigitalOcean is the answer to the reliable and low-cost Cloud Providers.DigitalOcean is used by our engineering team for development, testing and deployment of our production infrastructure. It provides low cost reliable servers, load balancer, storage and most importantly support team.,Best Support Team Low Cost & Reliable Booting up a new Droplet takes less than 1 minute They are continuously improving and adding new services Best documentation for our technical team,There are lot of other services which are missing. For example, Database Service, CDN, Containers, etc.,10,It's the best return on our Investment. Developer satisfaction.,Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web ServicesWhy DigitalOcean Dominates the VPS MarketDustMoon is a media company that publishes hand-picked stories from the tech. I founded the company with some help from my colleagues. DustMoon quickly outgrew shared hosting with over 500K visits per month. We then decided to try out DigitalOcean as it is the most hyped VPS provider at that time. It exceeded our expectations with its performance. We used the entry-level VPS with 512MB RAM. Configuration: Nginx, Redis, MariaDB & Varnish. Adding Varnish to the stack is our best decision. We load tested our server stack with Blitz and it successfully handled 3-4.5 million visits with a very low response times. And thereafter, we implemented the same stack for our sister network, consisting of 3 sites.,The network transit carriers they use are great. They use Tier-1 network providers making a website hosted on DigitalOcean super fast to most of the viewers in every country. Hardware: I had visited DigitalOcean Bangalore collocation provider after getting an approval for a hackathon. They're using the Dell Rack Servers with Samsung SSDs. I'm really happy to be running on DigitalOcean. Customer Support: These guys always excelled it. Excellent support personnel with sound technical knowledge.,More products. Like Amazon Web Services and other cloud providers, DigitalOcean should have launched other products like CDN, and more. Customer Support: Customer Support personnel were warming and great. The only downside is they take a bit longer to respond. The documentation doesn't get updated very frequently and errors and bugs were not addressed properly.,8,DigitalOcean is best suited for SMBs. Very obviously, they get very get profound ROI on DigitalOcean. Return on Investment is very high. Scalability: The only problem is when the SMBs turn into large enterprises. They feel like moving away to another cloud provider like Amazon Web Service or Microsoft Azure who provide more specific products for successfully running an enterprise. Support: Support might be a drawback as they have a very less support personnel all over the world. It's because of their business model.,Vultr and Linode,Ubuntu Linux, WordPress, Docker, Nginx, MariaDB, RedisWould you pass up a reliable, private server starting at $5/month? It really is better than you expect, and recommended if it's all you need.DigitalOcean provides basic "cloud computing" and describes themselves as "bare-bones", which is an understatement when compared to other cloud services, as they only provide computing services (virtual machines), which they call "Droplets", with a few basic sub-services that you can add to your droplets, such as storage, networking, and load-balancing. At this point in telling someone about DigitalOcean, I usually get a question along the lines of "so they are a VPS or a Cloud provider"? DigitalOcean is very clearly in the cloud category. The difference is that a VPS host rents each physical server (individually) to multiple clients, who then share the resources. In Cloud architecture, multiple servers, storage devices, and other network resources are connected together and combined into a single "resource" pool, usually consisting of Processors, RAM, Storage (Hard Drive), Network Adapters, and many more depending on how advanced the service is (GPU, Video RAM, USB Bus, etc). This pool is then shared out as individual units to power "internet" accessible virtual devices, such as servers. The Internet is illustrated in a network diagram as a cloud, hence the name. This architecture has many benefits, such as being available "on the fly", letting a client instantly start, stop, or modify a server. This means a client only pays for what he is using, usually in hourly blocks, which is how DigitalOcean bills. Since all the resources are from a group of servers, a failure of one server or hard drive, NIC, etc does not affect a virtual server at all, meaning any cloud server is considered a "high availability" server. Along with servers, DigitalOcean also offers network services, allowing a client to have a complete private virtual network, with switches, routers, servers, load balancers, subnets, and more, all with the same security advantages as physical units. By offering only 'high-demand' services, DigitalOcean offers awesome cloud services at an affordable rate (starting $5/month), which gives every business, hobbyist, student, and etc access to real network resources, via an easy to use web interface, If they can order a computer from Dell, they can get a cloud server.,Cloud computing services at amazingly low rates, such as $5 a server per month. They have a very clean, simple, an self-explanatory interface. This is the first cloud provider I can honestly truly say this about, Google is second. The price per resource is lower than most other providers, while offering the same core compute services. This is especially true, as their storage services are only provided by SSD, which is usually priced at a premium The best part is DigitalOcean always has promos going on, and you can manage a server for free if you invite someone monthly or trial other services such as CodeAnywhere.,The use of cloud in the company description is a bit misleading, it is correctly used, but most people are expecting more cloud services available. They take "Bare-Bones" to an extreme, It is currently March 13, 2017, and they JUST added Load Balancing services recently. On the other hand, deploying a private droplet to act as a LB/FO controller, DB, etc., is generally cheaper than what other providers charge for those services.,8,They let me offer my clients a better, fully private hosting option, at a fraction of the price, compared to the budget shared hosting plan they currently have. It is easy to use, with a clean interface, making services quick and useful. Everything takes less time to setup, you can even add SSH keys via the web interface, rather than generating and adding them vie a SSH shell. Less time equals more profit for me, and smaller bills for my clients.,,IBM Bluemix, Infor Lawson Supply Chain ManagementTop of the line features for the right price.For a company I worked with as a consultant, I implemented DigitalOcean as a web server for hosting the main website of the company and a self-hosted JIRA instance where they tracked progress on an internal project. DigitalOcean performed really well during times of high traffic and high use of both the website and the project management tool.,SPEED! DigitalOcean provides a really good response speed compared to similar providers. Their servers and Drops perform really well when configured the right way. Ease of Use. Even for a seasoned developer like me, DigitalOcean seemed a bit intimidating at first due to its need to configure almost anything using a console screen. Turns out however, it was very easy to use by using the web interface and following guides on the internet. Documentation. DigitalOcean offers one of the best pieces of documentation one can find for a service anywhere. From creating an account to setting up complex configurations and services, they have it very well documented. If you still can't find how to do anything, you can either read guides on the internet or ask for support and someone will point you in the right direction.,The only area I see room for improvement, if anything, is features on low tiers. They offer several, very afforable plans to be honest. However, some of the features on low price tiers seem too low for modern needs. For example, space on the $10/m or the $20/m plans seem a bit low compared to other providers.,9,It came out as an affordable and reliable option for the company I worked with and the needs they had. Comparing features and price, DigitalOcean offers a really good mix you cannot find with other providers. Plans and features can scale with your company needs.,Amazon Web Services and inMotion,JIRA Software, Atlassian Confluence, Atlassian Crowd,3,1,Web hosting of company website Web hosting for project management application,Found none so far, we used it for very straightforward, common uses.,File hosting Testing environment,9,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Third-party Reviews,Would not change a thing to be honest, awesome experience so far.,Creating drops Starting servers up Installing services,Not a difficulty in DigitalOcean itself but in some services: if you don't know how to put things together in Linux, you have to read a lot.,8,10,10,9
Unspecified
DigitalOcean
51 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

DigitalOcean Reviews

DigitalOcean
51 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 51 vetted DigitalOcean reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jeanine Schoessler profile photo
June 19, 2018

DigitalOcean Review: "Flexible hosting with great customer service and documentation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use DigitalOcean for managing both personal and professional websites. I left hosting and domain support from Site5 last year and found DigitalOcean to be the best option for managing my domains. It offers loads of documentation for migration and setup as well as friendly support from their helpdesk team. You'll want to be (or have a member of your team who is) proficient with the terminal as all setup and server settings are managed through the command line.
  • Clear and useful documentation for a variety of setups - I've used a variety of their documentation for setting up virtual domains, mail, Apache modules, and SSL. There is an active community helping to keep these documents up to date.
  • Priced well and great performance - Their packages start at $5/month and offer many options for a flexible bundle that fits your needs.
  • Great help desk - I've submitted three or so tickets to their help desk, and each time they are very responsive and guide me in understanding the solution to my questions.
  • No simple email setup - There are a few walkthroughs on setting up the servers, but it most often recommended to use a service like Zoho for a simple email setup. It would be great if DigitalOcean could implement this into their services.
  • Must log in to view invoice PDF - It might be ideal for small businesses to receive the PDF file in the monthly billing email. Currently, a user must log in to the system (pass the 2-step authentication if required) and dig around for the PDF in the Billing tab.
DigitalOcean is ideal for web and system administrators who are comfortable with (or at least motivated to learn) using the command line for managing a server. Its setup requires a good grasp of general server understanding but it also allows for flexibility for installing SSL certificates, managing multiple domains in one droplet, and logging data.
Read Jeanine Schoessler's full review
Tarun Mangukiya profile photo
July 26, 2018

Review: "DigitalOcean is the answer to the reliable and low-cost Cloud Providers."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalOcean is used by our engineering team for development, testing and deployment of our production infrastructure. It provides low cost reliable servers, load balancer, storage and most importantly support team.
  • Best Support Team
  • Low Cost & Reliable
  • Booting up a new Droplet takes less than 1 minute
  • They are continuously improving and adding new services
  • Best documentation for our technical team
  • There are lot of other services which are missing. For example, Database Service, CDN, Containers, etc.
In case of SaaS product, your cloud infrastructure is one of the most costly aspect. Thus having low cost of infrastructure allows us to provide high quality services at reasonable rates to our users. Along with it, it must be reliable enough that we can push our production data there. DigitalOcean is best suited for these scenarios. They provides reliable cloud services at reasonable pricing point. Plus they do have free support team, who guide and advise us starting from getting used to the platform to deciding the infrastructure for our production. The only pain point is that, they do have less number of services. But, they are adding them on monthly basis.
Read Tarun Mangukiya's full review
Praneeth Karnena profile photo
August 31, 2017

Review: "Why DigitalOcean Dominates the VPS Market"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DustMoon is a media company that publishes hand-picked stories from the tech. I founded the company with some help from my colleagues. DustMoon quickly outgrew shared hosting with over 500K visits per month. We then decided to try out DigitalOcean as it is the most hyped VPS provider at that time. It exceeded our expectations with its performance. We used the entry-level VPS with 512MB RAM. Configuration: Nginx, Redis, MariaDB & Varnish. Adding Varnish to the stack is our best decision. We load tested our server stack with Blitz and it successfully handled 3-4.5 million visits with a very low response times.

And thereafter, we implemented the same stack for our sister network, consisting of 3 sites.
  • The network transit carriers they use are great. They use Tier-1 network providers making a website hosted on DigitalOcean super fast to most of the viewers in every country.
  • Hardware: I had visited DigitalOcean Bangalore collocation provider after getting an approval for a hackathon. They're using the Dell Rack Servers with Samsung SSDs. I'm really happy to be running on DigitalOcean.
  • Customer Support: These guys always excelled it. Excellent support personnel with sound technical knowledge.
  • More products. Like Amazon Web Services and other cloud providers, DigitalOcean should have launched other products like CDN, and more.
  • Customer Support: Customer Support personnel were warming and great. The only downside is they take a bit longer to respond.
  • The documentation doesn't get updated very frequently and errors and bugs were not addressed properly.
DigitalOcean is best suited for SMBs. For large enterprises, it's better to go for premium providers like AWS, Azure and Google Cloud. The reason being very simple, they don't offer products that other providers do offer. Products like Content Delivery Network, Web Application Firewalls, Scalable Databases, Infrastructure for running intensive applications like Machine Learning and Virtual Reality or so.
Read Praneeth Karnena's full review
Craig Nash profile photo
March 14, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "Would you pass up a reliable, private server starting at $5/month? It really is better than you expect, and recommended if it's all you need."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalOcean provides basic "cloud computing" and describes themselves as "bare-bones", which is an understatement when compared to other cloud services, as they only provide computing services (virtual machines), which they call "Droplets", with a few basic sub-services that you can add to your droplets, such as storage, networking, and load-balancing. At this point in telling someone about DigitalOcean, I usually get a question along the lines of "so they are a VPS or a Cloud provider"? DigitalOcean is very clearly in the cloud category. The difference is that a VPS host rents each physical server (individually) to multiple clients, who then share the resources. In Cloud architecture, multiple servers, storage devices, and other network resources are connected together and combined into a single "resource" pool, usually consisting of Processors, RAM, Storage (Hard Drive), Network Adapters, and many more depending on how advanced the service is (GPU, Video RAM, USB Bus, etc). This pool is then shared out as individual units to power "internet" accessible virtual devices, such as servers. The Internet is illustrated in a network diagram as a cloud, hence the name. This architecture has many benefits, such as being available "on the fly", letting a client instantly start, stop, or modify a server. This means a client only pays for what he is using, usually in hourly blocks, which is how DigitalOcean bills. Since all the resources are from a group of servers, a failure of one server or hard drive, NIC, etc does not affect a virtual server at all, meaning any cloud server is considered a "high availability" server. Along with servers, DigitalOcean also offers network services, allowing a client to have a complete private virtual network, with switches, routers, servers, load balancers, subnets, and more, all with the same security advantages as physical units. By offering only 'high-demand' services, DigitalOcean offers awesome cloud services at an affordable rate (starting $5/month), which gives every business, hobbyist, student, and etc access to real network resources, via an easy to use web interface, If they can order a computer from Dell, they can get a cloud server.
  • Cloud computing services at amazingly low rates, such as $5 a server per month.
  • They have a very clean, simple, an self-explanatory interface. This is the first cloud provider I can honestly truly say this about, Google is second.
  • The price per resource is lower than most other providers, while offering the same core compute services. This is especially true, as their storage services are only provided by SSD, which is usually priced at a premium
  • The best part is DigitalOcean always has promos going on, and you can manage a server for free if you invite someone monthly or trial other services such as CodeAnywhere.
  • The use of cloud in the company description is a bit misleading, it is correctly used, but most people are expecting more cloud services available.
  • They take "Bare-Bones" to an extreme, It is currently March 13, 2017, and they JUST added Load Balancing services recently. On the other hand, deploying a private droplet to act as a LB/FO controller, DB, etc., is generally cheaper than what other providers charge for those services.
Digitalocean is perfect for any person or business on a budget, from students to start-ups, DigitalOcean is very affordable, literally at $5 a month, while offering very high-quality services that, while VERY limited, outrank the other cloud providers, in my opinion. Personally, I find DigitalOcean to be the perfect match for 75% of my clients, who have websites and other online services currently through budget hosting providers, like GoDaddy, but really want higher security, control, bandwidth and etc., without increasing the bill. Normally, that would be impossible but is EXACTLY what is offered by DigitalOcean. You literally have nothing to lose, as you can easily swing multiple servers for free by using a promo service every few months. Yes, AWS does also offer a tier of basic services for a year, and they can't compare to DigitalOcean.
Read Craig Nash's full review
Hernán Silva profile photo
February 14, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "Top of the line features for the right price."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For a company I worked with as a consultant, I implemented DigitalOcean as a web server for hosting the main website of the company and a self-hosted JIRA instance where they tracked progress on an internal project. DigitalOcean performed really well during times of high traffic and high use of both the website and the project management tool.
  • SPEED! DigitalOcean provides a really good response speed compared to similar providers. Their servers and Drops perform really well when configured the right way.
  • Ease of Use. Even for a seasoned developer like me, DigitalOcean seemed a bit intimidating at first due to its need to configure almost anything using a console screen. Turns out however, it was very easy to use by using the web interface and following guides on the internet.
  • Documentation. DigitalOcean offers one of the best pieces of documentation one can find for a service anywhere. From creating an account to setting up complex configurations and services, they have it very well documented. If you still can't find how to do anything, you can either read guides on the internet or ask for support and someone will point you in the right direction.
  • The only area I see room for improvement, if anything, is features on low tiers. They offer several, very afforable plans to be honest. However, some of the features on low price tiers seem too low for modern needs. For example, space on the $10/m or the $20/m plans seem a bit low compared to other providers.
DigitalOcean is a very good option for dedicated hosting of applications and sites with high traffic or high use volume. It's not as good of an option for small websites or novice users looking for a cheap hosting.
Read Hernán Silva's full review
Chris Putnam profile photo
March 19, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "Dive in! As long as you've got the training and/or team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalOcean primarily for a set of applications and automated functionalities. These include client solutions, public applications, and internal development tools. It's primarily used by our programming teams, with some use by other teams in the company.

I also use DigitalOcean for similar personal purposes, including some website hosting as well.
  • Price Point
  • Documentation
  • User Interface
  • Reliability
  • More hands-on support options
  • More pre-built server options (eg. pre-installed cPanel images)
  • Managed server options
You should have the expertise in house to set up, manage and debug your server environment. In such a case, DigitalOcean can save you a lot of money over other services. If you don't have that expertise available, then you will want to look for a more managed solution. Also, if you want extremely high performance at all times, or if you want to pay for your hardware only as you use it, then DigitalOcean may not be a good fit.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
Tyler Longren profile photo
February 20, 2017

User Review: "DigitalOcean vs. Others: Flexibility"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used] organization-wide. It allows us to have servers in various regions as needed. It offers excellent flexibility in terms of capacity. The ability to spin up a new server with specified storage and memory requirements is amazing and changed how we manage our infrastructure.

The various regions available to DigitalOcean customers is very nice for targeting specific geographical areas. Launching a service for the Asian market? Spin up a server in Indonesia, instead of New York like you'd do for US users.
  • Various geographical regions to run a VPS in.
  • Many pre-built images like WordPress, GitLab, and Ghost.
  • Local networking making it easy to communicate between your VPSs.
  • Backups that are always on and free would be sweet.
  • Better integration with Docker Cloud.
You need to be flexible in your server infrastructure. If you're not sure what you need, DigitalOcean is a great option. If your needs change rapidly, DigitalOcean is a great option. Less appropriate if you need to have physical control over servers, DigitalOcean is not a colocation facility and simply provides virtual servers on their hardware.
Read Tyler Longren's full review
Raju Maisnam profile photo
February 16, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "Cheap and Fast but not necessarily reliable 100% of the time."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a freelancer, most of my clients are small businesses and individuals who are looking for something cheap and fast. They cannot afford a VPS service that costs hundreds of dollars. DigitalOcean is probably the cheapest way to set up your web application and it can scale well so you don't really have to worry about infrastructure all that much; of course, Amazon can also provide similar and probably better services but DigitalOcean droplets are comparatively cheaper and have almost all the advantages of using AWS. Also, DigitalOcean has been opening up more server farms around the world hence if you are building an application that is targeted for an audience at a particular place, you could spin up a server that is really close to your target audience; the last time I checked AWS or Linode didn't have as many locations as DigitalOcean. Also, the community documentation is really awesome and there are a lot of small apps and integrations that are coming up that make my work easier.
  • Running a wordpress site at $5 is really cheap (although you need to know a little bit on configuring your server for security).
  • Server locations can help applications that target certain locations, you could spin up a server which is very close to your audience hence increasing the speed at which you serve your applications.
  • At its core, DigitalOcean provides you with a highly configurable server, so you are only limited by your imagination or rather your skills on how you run your server.
  • Security is a major problem, although things are improving now. Community documentation is helping improve that as well, there are a lot of articles that help in configuring servers to improve security overall.
  • Support times are pretty bad, it might be a couple of hours sometimes before someone replies to your ticket. This doesn't happen all the time though.
  • As they are growing the quality has downgraded a little, integrations with some apps (in my case Laravel Forge ) had suffered because of this; hopefully they will get their act straight.
1) You are a small blogger and want to run your website on a super fast server with lots of space and bandwidth at a cheap price and are willing to get your hands dirty a bit.
2) A small startup or an app developer with a small budget that needs access to a highly configurable server.
3) A startup that wants to scale infrastructure as it grows.
Read Raju Maisnam's full review
Chris Gabriel profile photo
February 14, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "A great catch in an ocean of options."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I needed a robust, scalable server setup in a datacenter to power my online businesses. Shared hosting didn't cut it anymore and I found DigitalOcean did a better job of letting me control my hardware. Their API allows for advanced automation options should I choose to implement them down the line.
  • Server management dashboard
  • Community support
  • Infrastructure as a service
  • More automation options
Love the speed in which one can spin up a fresh machine, it literally takes only a few seconds. Why bother with virtual machines when you can just as easily do it in the cloud? The community is particularly responsive and helpful. I really like the improvement they've made to their administrative dashboard. While the selection of OS images is pretty good, their one-click apps are awesome though I haven't used them in production yet.
Read Chris Gabriel's full review
Joey Yax profile photo
February 14, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "If you can configure a server this is the right choice."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalOcean is being used for a handful of client websites, internally and for temporary development/sandbox/staging environments. The selection of locations, ease of setup and speed of provisioning a new server (Droplet) for use is huge-- I can typically have a LAMP server with full root access up and running within 15-30 minutes. Reliability and speed are excellent as well. I really have nothing negative to say about Digital Ocean.
  • The user interface is simple, streamlined and easy to use
  • Servers (Droplets) take only minutes to set up. The time from creation to fully configured is about as good as it gets.
  • Reliablity. Uptime is great, never an issue.
  • Cost. They have several, quite reasonable, price points to support small to large websites.
  • Analytics. More detailed insight into how a server or site is performing would be nice to have.
  • Provisioning profiles. It would be great to be able to define a server entirely before creating it. For example, choose the specific version of Linux, Apache version, MySQL version, PHP, software firewall, and misc Apache, MySQL and PHP extensions, choose users and password and run the install.
Well suited for small and large sites. Less suitable for something you need to grow and shrink dynamically based on load. If you want to be 100% in charge of the management of your server this is the choice for you. If you want someone else to ensure the server is kept up to date and things are set up optimally you're better off elsewhere.
Read Joey Yax's full review
Edward Larkey profile photo
February 14, 2017

Review: "DigitalOcean made it easy to enable automation"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used DigitalOcean because we could easily segment client websites onto their own servers and scale each one according to traffic. This enabled us to fully adopt automation. Each server was created identically and we could be sure that we got the same result after each build. We also enabled DigitalOcean's backup services on all our servers as an extra layer of backup for our services.
  • Price
  • Speed
  • Support
  • Sometimes, droplets were migrated to other hosts that caused a short amount of downtime.
  • Enabling backups on exisiting droplets was a bit of a pain, but they fixed that.
  • All one click install apps are built on Ubuntu.
Might be less appropriate in enterprise settings. But you can build a very robust architecture spread across different regions very easily. They might not have load balancing built in, but you can set that up pretty easily if you want to with a third or fourth node. Digitalocean gets out of your way to build what you need to quickly.
Read Edward Larkey's full review
Brandon Mullins profile photo
February 13, 2017

Review: "DigitalOcean and the evolution of hosting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We happily use DigitalOcean for all of our hosting needs. DigitalOcean provides cloud based servers that are used throughout our organization. In the past we have used various other hosting companies, but DigitalOcean offers us not only a hosting service, but the ability to utilize our own servers. We have been extremely happy with the services DigitalOcean has provided, and any technical problems have been addressed quickly and professionally.
  • We have been building websites for over 15 years, and in that time we feel like we have found the perfect host for our needs.
  • Technical issues that we have encountered, or problems with setting up website related services have been very quickly and professionally dealt with.
  • The customer service is top notch, and surprisingly the customer service representatives have been very enjoyable to talk to.
  • Over the years DigitalOcean has grown, and has predicted our needs before we had them.
  • There is always room for improvement but I've not had any issues that need resolving or services that need improvement upon.
  • I really have no idea what could be improved upon, and when new features are implemented, I am surprised I didn't think of them, They are really on the ball.
We at Moon Books use WordPress as our CMS of choice. DigitalOcean works amazingly well with WordPress and is quicker than any other host I've ever used. We also use ServerPilot in addition to DigitalOcean, which makes rolling out new sites even quicker. The only scenario that I could think of in this case, if possibly using another CMS such as Drupal, but I've not tried it personally, the Drupal hosting could very easily be as polished as WordPress, I'm just pulling Drupal out of my hat.
Read Brandon Mullins's full review
Cameron Banga profile photo
February 13, 2017

DigitalOcean Review: "Digital Ocean offers the best VPS, at the lowest prices."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalOcean to host a variety of different web products, which we build for clients. It's used by essentially our whole team, and solves the problem of allowing easy to access, quick set up VPS availability. Before DigitalOcean, we were primarily using Heroku and other cloud container services. This hosting strategy got expensive, and offered less powerful resources than DigitalOcean.

Once we moved, we were able to drop hosting bills for a couple of clients from ~$500+/month, to ~$20-30/month. We also had the flexibility and power of having a full Linux VPS, which was more customizable and could be fine tuned to customer needs better.
  • It's fast. Getting a VPS up and running for the first time takes only a few minutes.
  • It's affordable. You get SSD powered boxes for as little as $5/month.
  • Their support and educational resources are unmatched. They have the best tutorials and guides in the industry.
  • As the product becomes more complex, setup becomes a bit less clear and you need to understand all of the options available to you.
  • There are some constraints on hard drive space, RAM, and server location, that once set for the first time, are hard to change later. This should be more clear, or more flexibility should be given.
  • Unless this has changed recently, there are no team accounts. A single user/password is used for the account. It would be nice to delegate some instances to team members, who would have their own login credentials. So projects could be shared more easily.
It's great for startups that want a no-nonsense, simple solution. It's also great for young developers just getting started, as a good amount of value is provided at very little cost. Their flexibility, availability, and different pricing tiers also make Digital Ocean a great product for development teams of all size, as they can handle nearly any scale necessary.
Read Cameron Banga's full review
No photo available
February 14, 2017

Review: "DigitalOcean: a direct path to shipping your software product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use digitalocean as a way to prototype infrastructure code in a way that is fundamentally different from Amazon Web Services. DigitalOcean's product features are more minimal and thus let us be sure we aren't relying on proprietary or non-standard features of AWS. In the past, I've deployed personal projects to DigitalOcean. And at a previous employer, we used DigitalOcean as our primary deployment target.
  • A simple feature set that is easy to get started with.
  • Plenty of integrations with userland tools such as CLIs, configuration management, and infrastructure as code.
  • Offers a clear pricing model that is easy to reason about. Other providers are less clear with how pricing will work in practice.
  • Their community outreach is fantastic including a wealth of tutorials and articles.
  • One-click installers for popular technologies are a really easy way to test out interesting technologies.
  • Their feature set is more focused than other providers like AWS, GCE, or Azure.
  • They charge a relatively high amount for image backups.
  • In years past, I've noticed droplets getting into a stuck state periodically. I'm not sure how much of a problem this is today.
  • Lack of software defined networking is a big minus. Once you are used to providers which offer this, it is tough to go back.
When you need to get something deployed quickly, DigitalOcean can be one of the fastest routes if you can't use a PaaS and have requirements that necessitate a VPS.

I would avoid DigitalOcean if you don't need a full-blown IaaS and can use something like Heroku to get your app out the door quickly. I would also use a more advanced provider like AWS if you need features beyond DigitalOcean's catalog.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2017

User Review: "DigitalOcean is awesome"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using DigitalOcean as the primary host for a number of different small client projects. We had previously tried alternative hosts such as AWS however, they were viewed as over complicated for our use case. Droplet hours are cheaper compared to many of their competitors such as Heroku Dynos.
  • Simple UX makes it very easy to use and understand
  • Billed hourly so no need to commit to a full month of billing
  • Fast provisioning on SSDs
  • As of now no DDOS protection functionality
Well Suited:
  • Prototyping and MVP demos due to its simplicity and ease of use
  • Fast cloud server provisioning allows you to quickly spin up new instances
  • Cheap servers billed hourly allows you to scale up and down to match server load and maintain availability
Not Well Suited:
  • No DDOS protection which would be a nice feature to have
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2017

User Review: "Bobbing along on a DigitalOcean"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a DigitalOcean droplet to host our own websites and to host the sites we develop for clients.
  • Excellent custom service
  • An intuitive control panel
  • Fast SSD drivies
  • Excellent, competitive pricing
  • The sites could be a bit faster -- Linode seems to be leading them at this time.
DigitalOcean is useful for a quick "spin up a machine for a test" as well as long-term virtual private server use.
Read this authenticated review
Tom Thomas profile photo
August 01, 2016

User Review: "DigitalOcean"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a good cloud server for a decent price compared to its competitors. The interface is easy to use and allows you to host your own site without having to put in as much work. The features and value were great but their support lacked effectiveness and left a lot to be desired.
  • Easy to use
  • Fast, even compared to other cloud hosting sites
  • Great price
  • Support is not always top notch
It is a great VPS. It has very great speed capabilities and rarely goes down. It can however be difficult to get support from them, as their communication is limited to basically just messaging. They often take a long time to respond and the responses aren't necessarily very helpful or even useful.
Read Tom Thomas's full review
Robert Allen profile photo
June 13, 2016

User Review: "Dive into DigitalOcean"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Digital Ocean to spin up servers for most client jobs. DO is one of the easiest web hosting services around and provides fantastic performance with a great price. We host our company website on Digital Ocean and have done so for over a year. Whenever a new WordPress 'stack' needs to be tested, we spin up a Digital Ocean server and are ready to go in just a couple minutes.
  • DigitalOcean is exceedingly easy to use, with one of the best user interfaces I've seen among web hosts.
  • DigitalOcean has some of the best site performance around. Their VPSs are fast, reliable, and virtually never go down.
  • The initial process of spinning up a server requires logging into the server via the console and changing passwords. This is, frankly, an absurd step. The first few times we spun up new servers we struggled with this opaque process.
  • Preventing disk images from being transferred from one server to another is an odd limitation which feels just shy of arbitrary.
DigitalOcean (DO) provides exceptional performance with a very low price. For clients with extremely low budgets, the price matters. That said, DO servers are fairly barebones. We tend to use managed hosting such as WP Engine for clients, and use DO for testing, internal projects, or clients with personal sites for whom the advantages of managed hosting are wasted.
Read Robert Allen's full review
Creede Lambard profile photo
April 01, 2016

DigitalOcean Review: "Great for the little guy (like me!)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use DigitalOcean as a platform for my personal website, to manage email for several domains I administer, and for some personal projects related to my hobbies and interests.
  • Uptime. Since I joined a couple of years ago I don't think I've had a single outage.
  • Native IPv6. IPv6 is the way of the future and DigitalOcean allows me to participate without jumping through hoops (e.g. negotiating through a tunnel broker).
  • Simplicity. I can spin up a droplet and have it up and running quickly, and I don't have to go through a lengthy process to do so.
  • Platform. I love Ubuntu and it's standard with DigitalOcean.
  • External storage. This is the big one. When you spin up a droplet you have a fixed virtual disk size. It would be really nice to be able to temporarily or permanently add storage without resorting to hacks involving solutions like S3 or Dropbox.
  • DNS management. There are numerous DNS solutions available on the net but it would be nice to have one native to DigitalOcean.
I would recommend DigitalOcean to the small-scale operator who just wants to put up a Wordpress site or something similar; to the hobbyist learning about cloud computing; and to someone looking for a platform more powerful than shared hosting, less expensive than a dedicated host and more cost-effective than AWS. For example, until I found DigitalOcean I was making do with a t1.micro AWS instance that was costing about $15 a month when things like bandwidth costs were factored in. My DigitalOcean droplet runs about $20 a month, has much more computing power than the old AWS instance, and is chugging along happily running several Docker containers that house the services I use. However, for those who need a full ecosystem of products like CDNs, in-house DNS, dedicated database solutions and the like, or who are running larger-scale operations, something like AWS would be more appropriate.
Read Creede Lambard's full review
Fareed Abolhassani profile photo
June 06, 2016

User Review: "DigitalOcean - Worth it?"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it for myself and it pretty much fixed the server performance issues.
  • Great performing servers
  • Lots of operating systems & images
  • Awesome management panel
  • Great community
  • Cannot install system by yourself or provide your own ISO
  • Security issues with ssh host keys
  • Does not have a SAN but instead uses local storage in RAID5
If you desire excellent server performance (server network speed: 1GBPS), access to scale down/up servers with a few clicks, then DigitalOcean is right for you.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
No photo available
October 27, 2016

Review: "DigitalOcean makes VPS management TOO EASY!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used DigitalOcean for business and personal use, the pricing is very flexible to meet the needs of both.

DigitalOcean is a great provider for virtual private server (VPS) web hosting for people who don't want to have to micromanage each and every minor step that is usually involved with setting up Linux-based web servers. DigitalOcean solves that issue with one click solutions that set up servers for you. This includes but isn't limited to WordPress, Ubuntu, and Fedora including custom ISOs.
  • Pricing is very affordable and scalable
  • Uptime is very dependable and consistant
  • Easy to set up, well documented FAQ and tutorials
  • I would like to see increased speeds against VPS providers such as Vultr
  • Expand the one click setup scripts
  • Certain resources could be increased to match the competition like Linode's basic offering
DigitalOcean is a VPS solution I would highly suggest to anyone that is starting out in VPS. It is very simple and easy to use as a beginner. DigitalOcean is also useful for web admins that are more comfortable and advanced working in a remote console/Linux environment. The documentation they have is very extensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 24, 2016

DigitalOcean Review: "Great cloud server"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a team account to access the servers we use. It is well priced and the support is amazing.
  • Great support
  • Good pricing, very fair
  • Very stable
  • A little difficult to figure out if you're a beginner.
It is a great site to host a VPS on a budget.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (19)
9.4
Dynamic scaling (19)
7.3
Elastic load balancing (11)
8.4
Pre-configured templates (17)
8.1
Monitoring tools (21)
6.8
Pre-defined machine images (21)
8.9
Operating system support (20)
8.0
Security controls (19)
7.7

About DigitalOcean

DigitalOcean is the infrastructure as a service (IaaS) available from the company of the same name in New York.

DigitalOcean Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No