TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/qn/HK/XIWFID5ORAT1.JPEG2 Factor Authentication - The DigitalPersona WayWe use DigitalPersona for our law enforcement agencies. We are able to leverage multiple forms of authentication, which, allows our end-users to pick which combination of authenticators work best for their individual preference. The software fully integrates with Active Directory and has the capability to automatically generate and store strong alphanumeric passwords. This takes the frustration out of requiring end-users to keep track of their changed passwords for those that choose this option. The implementation process was relatively painless and we had the option to have someone come on-site or assist remotely. We chose the latter. Support has been responsive and helpful the few times that I've needed it.,Integration with Active Directory. There is no need to maintain a separate users database. Ability to pick and choose authenticators. This allows flexibility for the end-user to pick what works best for them. Billing structure. Unlike other 2-factor authentication solutions, DigitalPersona is not a subscription based application.,A solution for administrators to log in as other users when necessary. We are a 24/7 operation and will often have laptops left for us to troubleshoot from 2nd or 3rd shift. Bluetooth functionality is good but would be better if you didn't have to pair the device with each laptop before being able to use it. Password manager requires authentication even when the user declines to store a password.,9,As stated previously, the Active Directory integration was a big attracting feature. I really like not having to maintain a separate users database. Furthermore, the DigitalPersona software is easily distributed via group policy. There is also little to no learning curve if you are already familiar with Active Directory.,We are currently only using Digital Persona as it relates to Windows logon for our mobile fleet. We can use prox cards, biometrics as well as passwords as primary forms of authentication. This coupled with the use of our VPN provides our organization with a more secure environment for both our end-users as well as our administration.,All other 2-factor authentication software we looked at were a subscription based platforms. The DigitalPersona staff was very efficient in the implantation process which allowed our staff to move on to other issues. The technical staff spends less time on account lockouts now since the end-user is now capable of resolving lockouts themselves.,Imprivata OneSign and 2FAAltus at last !Digital Persona Altus is a relatively new product that was just called digital persona pro. It is being used in our company to allow our users to unlock a remote app session via their finger print. This has saved used tons of hours from having to sign in directly. We also have a large number of HR and transportation users who utilize this application to keep track of their website passwords. These departments deal with tons of third party websites that each require a separate password in order log in. Very recently we started using Digital Persona Kiosk as well. We are using it for our software based DVR. This DVR is basically a single computer that any non-technical employee can go up to and either type in their account or use their fingerprint and it will give them a controlled "operator" account to view the camera system. Overall we've seen better security and more usability than we originally expected.,Password randomization, to remove password all together from day to day operations. Hardware support, works with every Dell we've ever purchased. Security control, only specific people are allowed to enroll fingerprints for the rest of the users. Kiosk support, a singular controlled account that can be logged into with any user's credentials. Windows 10 support for Windows Hello For Business,Better support for password management. You need to be able to store a user's "saved" password somewhere other than their computer. In case the machine dies there is a backup of their passwords somewhere. Better OTP, the current setup requires tons of work and only really works internally. Remote enrollment, allow enrollment of credentials outside of the network and "drop them" into a user's account when they are back on site. Third party password changes, if you change your password through a web server while you are off site (instead of on your computer), the password and the fingerprint scanners are out of sync and the user has to change their password again in order for it to start working again.,9,Though the user of Biometrics I can utilize a fingerprint to be used as a second factor on my Windows VPN files.,Password sharing has decreased around the office, which is good. People have forgotten their passwords, which is bad and requires more password resets.,Dell Data Protection | Endpoint Security Suite,We are protecting our software DVR kiosk from random people messing with our camera system. We are also protecting our remote app server as well as our desktops.Useful solution for beefing up security postureWe have been able to randomize most of our users' AD passwords so that they are more secure. Most users now authenticate using only their fingerprint.,Right now, only Windows authentication and 3rd party website logins.,We have not done any integrations. We only use DP to authenticate to 3rd party websites.,We have done as much integration as we plan on doing for right now.,,6,None, we do not have any integrations.,All users authenticate to Windows using biometric fingerprint readers. We also use password manager through the Altus console to authenticate to 3rd party websites. We have over 120 3rd party logins that we manage, so this solution saves us time logging in to 3rd party websites and applications, and also gives us a secure way to store passwords.,Windows authentication Password management multifactor authentication,We have issues with fingerprint misreads with our users who do not have as defined of a fingerprint We also have issues with the Agent not loading in Internet Explorer consistently on some workstations.,6,We have struggled to get it working with VPN due to the fact that VPN is mostly used on laptops. Getting the built in fingerprint reader on laptops to work with DP is shaky at best.,Positive impact is for the users for which the solution works they love it and it saves them time. We don't have any benchmarks, but, anecdotally, users report that the solution saves them time logging into websites and frustration with managing passwords.,Dashlane,75,1,AD authentication Password management Authentication to 3rd party websites using fingerprint,We use the standard functionality,We don't have plans to expand the functionality in any way,10,BroadSoft UC-OneDigitalPersonal, a lot more than just a Fingerprint ReaderWe currently use DigitalPersona for biometrics, single sign-on, and password management. Their product allows our users to sign on to their computer and applications using their fingerprint. Their product allowed us as an information technology [company] to force our users to use stronger passwords (fourteen character passwords) and allowed us to use a centralized password management application. With DigitalPersona our organization now has more secure passwords, easier access to applications, and a password management solution.,Application / AD Integration Simplicity of application Their solution solves multiple problems,Implementation is difficult, this is more to due to the applications than DigitalPersona. (all applications are not created equal) Native Two-Factor support (client less two factor support),10,Active Directory Integration is a key component of DigitalPersona. Once integrated all Active Directory user processes, like password changes, are transparent in DigitalPersona. When an application uses active directory credentials for the application, you are initially prompted for how you want to sign into that application, like domain\username or username@domainname.com. DigitalPersona knows your AD password and it automatically logs you into that application.,We typically just use the Windows login, but we have plans to implement multi-factor authentication with Digital Persona. This is actually going to save us money because we already have a two-factor authentication solution. We can drop that application and begin using DigitalPersona which is a lot more than just an MFA provider.,Users love it Users are more productive Our organization is more secure,,Windows AD, internal applications, web pages, MFA for administrator accounts, and digital personal is acting as our Password Manager solution. We have plans to use DP for MFA for VPN access soon.Biometrics Solution EvaluationWe made the decision to purchase the solution after a close evaluation of this product. We are currently using the biometric devices for network authentication and to allow users to login to their applications/websites using their fingerprint scanning device. It allows the users to login and authenticate without having to type their user name and password. It's also used as a password manager tool in the environment. The software manager is very intuitive and user friendly. Enrolling the fingerprints is a very easy process.,Network/Windows login authentication Password Management,The Implementation process needs improvement. Working with an engineer that is not familiar with the network environment can cause some issues and delays. Technical support doesn't have all the answers and can take a long time to get back to you on open tickets.,8,We have benefited from AD integration. The additional extension of the schema allows having a better control to unlock, reset, and clear credentials of the users. It's easy to use and it becomes available on all the domain controllers in the environment.,Currently, we're only using this solution for Windows authentication, single sign-on and use with third-party apps.,We rolled out the solution about 6 months ago. This has alleviated calls to the Help Desk having to do with Windows password unlocks and resets. ROI has been very minimum at this point.,,The product does not work well with custom based applications. We're using it for Office365, in-house applications and thin client (web-based apps).
Windows
DigitalPersona
71 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

DigitalPersona Reviews

DigitalPersona
71 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 71 vetted DigitalPersona reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 45)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
April 04, 2018

Review: "2 Factor Authentication - The DigitalPersona Way"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona for our law enforcement agencies. We are able to leverage multiple forms of authentication, which, allows our end-users to pick which combination of authenticators work best for their individual preference. The software fully integrates with Active Directory and has the capability to automatically generate and store strong alphanumeric passwords. This takes the frustration out of requiring end-users to keep track of their changed passwords for those that choose this option. The implementation process was relatively painless and we had the option to have someone come on-site or assist remotely. We chose the latter. Support has been responsive and helpful the few times that I've needed it.
  • Integration with Active Directory. There is no need to maintain a separate users database.
  • Ability to pick and choose authenticators. This allows flexibility for the end-user to pick what works best for them.
  • Billing structure. Unlike other 2-factor authentication solutions, DigitalPersona is not a subscription based application.
  • A solution for administrators to log in as other users when necessary. We are a 24/7 operation and will often have laptops left for us to troubleshoot from 2nd or 3rd shift.
  • Bluetooth functionality is good but would be better if you didn't have to pair the device with each laptop before being able to use it.
  • Password manager requires authentication even when the user declines to store a password.
DigitalPersona has allowed us to offer a user-friendly 2-factor authentication solution while simultaneously providing a more secure environment for our mobile users. It is flexible in that I can decide to only allow a couple authenticators or open it up to allow many. It is not modular so you have access to all of the authentication methods without any additional cost.
Read Justin Simpkinson's full review
June 11, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "Altus at last !"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona Altus is a relatively new product that was just called digital persona pro. It is being used in our company to allow our users to unlock a remote app session via their finger print. This has saved used tons of hours from having to sign in directly. We also have a large number of HR and transportation users who utilize this application to keep track of their website passwords. These departments deal with tons of third party websites that each require a separate password in order log in. Very recently we started using Digital Persona Kiosk as well. We are using it for our software based DVR. This DVR is basically a single computer that any non-technical employee can go up to and either type in their account or use their fingerprint and it will give them a controlled "operator" account to view the camera system. Overall we've seen better security and more usability than we originally expected.
  • Password randomization, to remove password all together from day to day operations.
  • Hardware support, works with every Dell we've ever purchased.
  • Security control, only specific people are allowed to enroll fingerprints for the rest of the users.
  • Kiosk support, a singular controlled account that can be logged into with any user's credentials.
  • Windows 10 support for Windows Hello For Business
  • Better support for password management. You need to be able to store a user's "saved" password somewhere other than their computer. In case the machine dies there is a backup of their passwords somewhere.
  • Better OTP, the current setup requires tons of work and only really works internally.
  • Remote enrollment, allow enrollment of credentials outside of the network and "drop them" into a user's account when they are back on site.
  • Third party password changes, if you change your password through a web server while you are off site (instead of on your computer), the password and the fingerprint scanners are out of sync and the user has to change their password again in order for it to start working again.
Altus is best suited for a full enterprise environment. It allows us to seamlessly integrate fingerprint scans into day to day interactions. However, it really isn't that great for small environments. If you are only going to use it on 5-10 people there are much simpler products available.
We are protecting our software DVR kiosk from random people messing with our camera system. We are also protecting our remote app server as well as our desktops.
Read Tyler Largin's full review
June 05, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "Useful solution for beefing up security posture"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, only Windows authentication and 3rd party website logins.
All users authenticate to Windows using biometric fingerprint readers. We also use password manager through the Altus console to authenticate to 3rd party websites. We have over 120 3rd party logins that we manage, so this solution saves us time logging in to 3rd party websites and applications, and also gives us a secure way to store passwords.
  • Windows authentication
  • Password management
  • multifactor authentication
  • We have issues with fingerprint misreads with our users who do not have as defined of a fingerprint
  • We also have issues with the Agent not loading in Internet Explorer consistently on some workstations.
When it works properly, I would recommend to anyone. The reason I'm rating a 6 is we have some users who don't like the solution at all because of the issues I described previously.
Read Cory McCarty's full review
April 13, 2018

Review: "DigitalPersonal, a lot more than just a Fingerprint Reader"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use DigitalPersona for biometrics, single sign-on, and password management. Their product allows our users to sign on to their computer and applications using their fingerprint. Their product allowed us as an information technology [company] to force our users to use stronger passwords (fourteen character passwords) and allowed us to use a centralized password management application. With DigitalPersona our organization now has more secure passwords, easier access to applications, and a password management solution.
  • Application / AD Integration
  • Simplicity of application
  • Their solution solves multiple problems
  • Implementation is difficult, this is more to due to the applications than DigitalPersona. (all applications are not created equal)
  • Native Two-Factor support (client less two factor support)
It is probably more appropriate for departments that have multiple applications and where productivity is essential (a call center for example). However, every employee would benefit from this, just some groups might benefit more. If a user goes between 5 workstations or applications every day then saving that user the 15-30 seconds it takes to log in will benefit that individual more than a user that only logs into one computer once a day.
Windows AD, internal applications, web pages, MFA for administrator accounts, and digital personal is acting as our Password Manager solution. We have plans to use DP for MFA for VPN access soon.
Read Tres Coker's full review
April 10, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "Biometrics Solution Evaluation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We made the decision to purchase the solution after a close evaluation of this product. We are currently using the biometric devices for network authentication and to allow users to login to their applications/websites using their fingerprint scanning device. It allows the users to login and authenticate without having to type their user name and password. It's also used as a password manager tool in the environment. The software manager is very intuitive and user friendly. Enrolling the fingerprints is a very easy process.
  • Network/Windows login authentication
  • Password Management
  • The Implementation process needs improvement. Working with an engineer that is not familiar with the network environment can cause some issues and delays.
  • Technical support doesn't have all the answers and can take a long time to get back to you on open tickets.
In the business world, it's a very useful tool to allow users to manage their passwords more efficiently. I wouldn't recommend this to any organization with lots of custom applications. It works well with most basic applications and web login sites. But custom applications require additional configuration from their developers and most are not supported.
The product does not work well with custom based applications. We're using it for Office365, in-house applications and thin client (web-based apps).
Read Mauro Carrillo's full review
March 09, 2018

"DigitalPersona Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
COHC uses digital persona in the whole company. every desk has a fingerprint reader connected to it. We use it to log into windows and also to log into our EMR program called eClinicalWorks. DP allows our users and staff to quickly log in and out of the computers in the exam rooms and also at their desks.
  • fast user switching
  • if someone is already logged in and you need to log them off and get into the computer ad your self. all you have to do is tap their finger and DP will log the other person out and log you in.
  • small form factor
  • since it's a small compact box it can pretty much be placed anywhere we need it.
  • easy to use
  • just have to tap your finger and go
  • the bottom of the reader.....I get its rubber so it can be on a desk, but in our case when I tried to glue them to the desk for security reasons, the glue wouldn't stick or double sided tape didn't even stick to the device
  • connection while in program......sometimes on a computer that has a webcam and the DP reader connected the reader doesn't work. I'm guessing because of the type
  • have it some way know when you change your password in a software that using DP readers to log into like a website. so that it changes it in the fingerprint software also like it does for windows logins
It is well suited for providers to just tap their finger to log in instead of type a password every time they need to log in.
in house windows
and out in house EMR software eClinicalWorks

Read jason craig's full review
June 05, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "Good Smart Finger"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Core system and all of our Finance programs. We are now using DP with more cloud based programs and Anti-Virus. Mostly using it for Windows systems and websites. With more things going to sso we are finding new ways to use Digital Persona Altus so far everything is working.
DigitalPersona is being used by our entire organization. It really helps with our virtual system and when people have to change locations to help out they have all their passwords saved and easy access. This saves time and less calls to IT for forgotten passwords/resets. The program is very intuitive and once the templates are set up it is very user friendly.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Easy to get up and running.
  • Great customer support with getting things moving smoothly.
  • Overall good, none come to mind.
[DigitalPersona is well suited to] Virtual Desktops where people move around a lot. [It's less appropriate] For one person to use that only has 1 password.
Read Justin Wesselmann's full review
June 10, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "The Concept is Awesome, the Execution Not So Much"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization. The idea was to use biometric ID rather than memorize and enter passwords in the many applications we use on a daily basis.
  • The concept is great. A password vault that is managed using biometric identification. Users forget/lose passwords but not their fingers.
  • The fingerprint reader is pretty accurate.
  • They could definitely improve on how the software reads/detects log on screens. Some applications, legacy and web based, are difficult for DigitalPersona to pickup on.
  • There could be improvements to the user interface. The new Altus interface is actually worse in many ways than the older DigitalPersona interface. For example the way the logons are listed in the program is very convoluted especially if you have multiple logons to the same application.
  • They could better test software before releasing it. Our upgrade to Altus from DigitalPersona was terrible. The version we installed had so many flaws that I felt it should not have left beta testing. It broke a lot of the logon templates, some of the password change screens stopped working, some users lost logon data, etc. We are still dealing with the fallout from it. Possibly the worst upgrade I have been involved with in my 18 years of IT experience.
The concept of DigitalPersona is so awesome but the execution is just not there. The software is so fickle as to when it wants to work that it is frustrating. I hope that they take take some feedback from the users and make some improvements to the functionality and UI. I really question some of the changes they made in the new Altus.
Without getting too specific, we use this for about 30 applications. It works well on about half, and to VARYING degrees with the other half. It's a mix of local/server applications and web applications. When it works, it's a beauty.
Read this authenticated review
June 08, 2018

DigitalPersona Review: "Help Desk Technicial at Financial Institution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Altus is being used across our organization for about 300 websites/programs. The biometric authentication provides a simple and secure method of authentication and credential management. If the end users trust the software, they will no longer keep passwords written down or saved on their computers. Also, if the end users understand the software - it should reduce password reset requests.
  • Support - Go-to-assist meetings are used to get problems resolved.
  • Easy template management - Creating templates is very easy with the wizard!
  • Simple and Fast - End-users love the ability to scan into every website and program!
  • Storing and upadting passwords with fingerprints allows for more complex passwords
  • Changing passwords can be challenging with the software templates - If a site has multiple URLs to change passwords from etc.
  • We have opted to not use password changing templates and make users manually update passwords (consistent user experience).
  • Hardware can give issues if users clean scanners improperly (shorter than advertised life span).
  • Seems to not always be a consistent performance between identical computers.
Digital Persona Altus should be well-suited for all businesses in an office environment.
All of our locally installed programs and internal/externally hosted web applications.

Core Financial Platforms
Management Consoles
Peripheral Systems
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2018

DigitalPersona: "Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization. It takes the pain away from typing in your passwords every day for different websites and applications.
  • Login speed
  • Secure
  • Sometimes it does not register fingerprints
  • Templates get corrupt occasionally
It is well suited when logging on to workstations that are automatically locked after some inactivity. It takes the pain away from retyping your passwords at every instance.

It is also safer than writing down your password somewhere which might be a security risk.

In today's world of so many passwords to remember, logging in with your fingerprints comes handy.
Read this authenticated review
April 17, 2018

Review: "DigitalPersona and you. What a great match."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona across the whole organization. It was first implemented to speed up user log in for computers locked when away from workstation. Many employees find it extremely useful for web site credentials. DigitalPersona integrates very well with most devices that have built in finger readers. Users find it easy to manage and use. IT has not had any issues with managing users in software.
  • Website credentials management
  • Speed up log in process.
  • Cut down on account lockouts do to password error.
  • Readers are a little expensive.
  • A few users struggle with consistent performance. (Mostly due to skin condition. chapped, dry)
  • Web credential updates need to be manually edited.
DigitalPersona is well suited for most environments. Readers are well sealed and easy to clean. May not be the best match for heavy industrial applications exposed to a lot of dirt or moisture. Unlike card or proximity sensors, you will always have your finger with you and not accidentally left behind, dropped or broken.
We use DigitalPersona for Windows sign in, IBMi login and web site sign in and credentials storage.
Read this authenticated review
October 08, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Peace of mind is literally at your fingertip!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona to log on to the LiveScan machine we use to fingerprint applicants. As far as I am aware we are the only department using it. It helps to alleviate the need to remember multiple passwords and it is very fast, which means the customer is in and out much quicker. Good for them, good for business.
  • This product is small, sleek, and is able to identify your print very quickly. If your IT team gets it set up for you it is a dream to use, simply put your finger on it and move on.
  • I hate having to remember passwords and in this line of business there are TONS of passwords. If you could have a device that let you in with a single print why would you not?? Everyone is worried about security and DigitalPersona helps put your mind at ease.
  • I have not had any problems, but it is important to clean the surface to ensure you are getting the best reading.
  • I did not install this device, but have heard some people say it is not as simple as plug and go, but I would not expect something that deals with security to be plug and go.
So the room in which we have our computer that DigitalPersona is connected is a room that many people have access to, but we really only want very specific people to be able to utilize the computer due to the nature of what there is access to. Without DigitalPersona anyone with access to the room would have the ability to access the secure information, but now only those with the secure fingerprint added through DigitalPersona have access. I guess if you needed more people that had access it may be less appropriate and may have a greater chance of not being as secure.
The access to DMV files, criminal files, and applicant files.
Read Tara Smith's full review
September 06, 2017

Review: "DigitalPersona - worked at first but now has become an albatross."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Positive ID verification in a hospital [by the] whole organization. It's required by Ohio board of pharmacy.
  • Met the board requirements at the time of implementation.
  • Financially more attractive than the competitor.
  • Company was responsive during the initial implementation.
  • We upgraded our clinical software and changed our hosting environment, upgraded to a new version and DigitalPersona did not work anymore.
  • Crossmatch did not seem to initially understand our issues and state board requirements. Nor did they understand the need for its compatibility when integrating into Citrix and remote host.
  • We were in a time crunch and we had trouble reaching the right Crossmatch people to resolve the problem.
Well suited: Retail, non Citrix environment, others where using Active Directory is not an issue, a place that realizes you should not clean the readers with alcohol

Less appropriate: Hospital pharmacy, hospital with specific board requirements, Citrix environment, a place where user might use alcohol to clean the reader
Medication Management within Paragon
Read Joseph Jeffries, RPh's full review
September 06, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Biometric Authentication Advances"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona has been used for many years by many users across the Government of Alberta to align fingerprint authentication with government identities as well as a convenience for application authentication. The new versions of the product are expanding to other methods of authentication that are being explored by the organization such as Bluetooth proximity authentication for devices such as tablets that do not have fingerprint reader hardware.
  • Fingerprint reader hardware compatibility
  • Multiple authentication options
  • Roaming user data shared between devices
  • Reliable infrastructure easy to support
  • Easily accessible management audit logging
  • Software distribution improvements
  • Optimized customer pages describing best options for the platform installed on
DigitalPersona is best suited for people who have to authenticate to many applications often on some form of physical hardware. It is also well suited for places where passwords are required to be complex, long and changed often. It is not suited for VDI environments or places where specific types of multi-factor authentication are used.
All forms of Windows devices
Read darrell isnor's full review
August 29, 2017

"My DigitalPersona Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the moment, we are using DigitalPersona for OTP for remote access. We will be using it for user authentication next year as well.
  • Super easy to manage
  • Intuitive Admin interface
  • Great support!
  • Had to reach out to sales team several times for a solution to a problem. In the end it required expensive custom coding.
Having tested most of the Biometric authentication products out there, DigitalPersona is hands down the best.
None at the moment, we are only using the OTP solution. In the future we will be using it for Windows authentication and several third party also.
Read this authenticated review
June 29, 2017

Review: "DigitalPersona at Correctional Complexes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona is being used by employees here to log in to our fingerprint machine. Not only is it being used here at the Department of Public Safety, but all of our jails use it when we install new fingerprint machines around the whole state. All of the correctional officers use it to log in to their account before fingerprinting prisoners. Using the Altus Digital Persona for these jails has made it to where an individual cannot stay logged in for another person. It also makes it faster to get to fingerprinting people and everyone has loved it so far at the jails.
  • Faster logins. When getting the setup up, after placing your finger down, the login is extremely fast.
  • More security. No sharing passwords, you must login with your fingerprint.
  • Easy setup. Setting users up was very easy to get down. Also teaching others to set people up was pretty simple as well.
  • It recognizes prints extremely fast. I have set up multiple users with various fingerprint quality and it has not had a problem yet.
  • Some programs you seem to have to select a user name and then use your fingerprint. If you could just use your fingerprint when the program window opens and it finds the user automatically, that would be great.
High security computer programs benefit from DigitalPersona a lot. Anything you wouldn't want others to get into just by finding a password.

I don't know of a scenario where it would be less appropriate, since I would rather use this than logging in with my password every time.
The only application that we're protecting with DigitalPersona is our fingerprinting livescan program from Crossmatch. These are all being included with the machines that we are shipping to around 20 jails in Alaska.
Read Matthew Smith's full review
May 01, 2017

"Hands on review of DigitalPersona"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In today's ever security conscious world we have too many usernames and passwords to manage. Our IT department wanted help the users in our organization stay secure. As many users without a security management system would just write down their passwords near their workstation, save a text document, or a spreadsheet, we knew we needed to provide an easy solution. We offered DigitalPersona to most of our organization, those that manage lots of logins and those that move around the organization often. This provided two solutions to us: One, eliminating unsecure password lists. Two, allowing faster processing of credentials via biometrics for those that enter passwords often.
  • Easy for our users to register their fingerprints without IT hand holding. (Sorry for the pun).
  • Fingerprint accuracy. We have never had any issues with accuracy.
  • Some use the password manager without the biometrics as it is fully functional password manager without the authentication piece.
  • I wish there was a way for DigitalPersona to recognize when a webpage has changed a header. As it works now if a login page address or header changes then DP doesn't know you have a saved password for the site. This requires editing the current entry or creating a new one.
  • Not sure if this has been fixed in the most recent version, but we have had issues with deleting AD accounts before deleting the license and fingerprints associated with it. This resulted in the license being tied to a user no longer employed and no way to remove it without technical support.
  • The newest version is slow to open the password manager.
We have a few users start with DigitalPersona and then stop using it. The cases generally involved 1 or 2 things. One, dry skin or smooth fingers have caused some problems with the readers detecting the user's finger print. When the reader became hard to use the user stopped using it. Two, users didn't need to login to a variety of systems. Users that don't enter credentials throughout the day didn't find much value in the system since they generally logged on in the morning and after lunch and that was all.
A variety of websites, web apps, and our electronic medical records.
Read Christopher McCarthy's full review
April 03, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Digital Personal - An Easy and Affordable Biometric Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by 2 departments (Police and City Attorney's Office). The primary objective is to satisify a dual factor authentication requirement for CJIS. However, due to the increasing number of applications requiring individual user ids and passwords (especially in legal and law enforcement environments), DigitalPersona has relieved users from having to remember all of these credentials by securing them in the application. This also relieves the administrator of having to perform "resets" for his/her users.
  • The Altus client interface is intuitive
  • Altus has a seamless integration with Windows Active Directory
  • Ease of use for users when managing passwords/logins
  • Ease of use when establishing network wide login scenarios
  • Improved functionality with Chrome but not yet perfect.
  • Does not work with Firefox browser
  • Works well with all IE browser based apps.
  • Scanner hardware (fingerprint scanners) have about a 3 year lifespan
Single user workstations are optimal. Multi-user workstations can require a little more support with regards to training and password changes. Applications can vary in their password change schemas which can sometimes present a challenge to the user.
Applications are primarily law enforcement oriented: Tiburon, CJIS, Digital Evidence (VeriPic), etc.
Read Stephen Polimeni's full review
March 21, 2017

Review: "DigitalPersona for your security and compliance requirements"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona is used to provide multi-factor authentication for our customers that require additional security to access and/or collect personally identifying information. We are using both the secure login as well as SDK to protect access to systems and applications.
  • Convenient and secure authentication for users
  • Durable hardware in high-use and shared environments
  • Stable and reliable infrastructure components
  • Licensing could be made a little more straightforward for managing large enterprises where reasonable amounts of employee turnover occur.
Well-Suited:
  • Secure login
  • Application Security
  • Single Sign-on
Windows 7
Windows 10
Windows 2008 R2
Windows 2012 R2
Read Shannon Grosser's full review
June 30, 2017

Review: "DigitalPersona, a must have for all computers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to sign in to our Livescan Fingerprint Machine. Works great, we love it. The ease of use eliminates remembering passwords. We have so many passwords in my business, that I would love to use this on all my computers that I use in the office. Just a great product.
  • Logs into our fingerprint machine with great ease.
  • Eliminates the need to remember passwords.
  • Any time you can make a job easier, I welcome this, and Digital Persona does this very well.
  • Really, I'm not quite sure how the vendor can improve on it, I would love to have it for all my work computers.
I think it would be well suited for all computers in the office. Not sure of a use where it is less appropriate.
Very personal crime applications, and fingerprint records applications.
Read MARTIN SMITH's full review
May 08, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Biometrics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DigitalPersona was first introduced to me by a medical office. Very happy with the two factor authentication and security of biometrics.
  • Less failed login attempts.
  • Less accounts locked out.
  • Assistance with website logins.
  • Update reading devices.
  • Add retinal scanners.
[DigitalPersona Altus is well suited for] Users unable to remember complex passwords.
Read DAVID NICPAN's full review
May 16, 2017

Review: "DigitalPersona stands by their product and their level of support and quality of product is exceptional."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Digital Persona is used to speed up the login process for transactions processed by the application operators as well as to collect biometrics (fingerprint) for customers. In addition to that, in both (operator or applicant) processing of fingerprints, we use Digital Persona to store, match and compare fingerprints as to avoid fraud on the operator side and the applicant side.
  • Digital Persona does particularly well on fingerprint matching to authenticate users' credentials via Fingerprint against Active Directory.
  • Digital Persona does well on providing active directory tools for troubleshooting problematic fingeprints.
  • DigitalPresona provides intuitive wizards for enrolling, re-enrolling and un-enrolling users' fingerprints from active directory.
  • Digital Persona does not have a granular auditing method for generating reports of active users and the last time a specific user or users were last successfully authenticated or attempted to authenticate in active directory. This functionality can provide significant value to customers, especially for customers where the number of licenses ranks in the thousands. This would allow customers to revoke a license from users who do not use their fingerprint for authentication.
  • Digital Persona does not have the ability to purge stale fingerprints to free up licenses that have been assigned to users who do prefer not to use their biometric login, users who have left the company or moved on to a different department. Having the ability to purge stale users' biometrics (and licenses) can potentially save customers licensing fees.
  • Digital Persona does not have the ability to run reports for stored biometrics. It could potentially prove useful to be able to run reports of say 5000 users and have a breakdown of fingerprint quality spectrum. This could potentially alleviate administration overhead by identifying stored problematic low-quality fingerprints for users.
Digital Persona is well suited for situations where auditing is required for processed transactions on internally written applications and to automate and speed up authentication of users who must repeatedly log into a system or application throughout their work day. Digital Persona is less suited for scenarios where user authentication throughout the day is minimal as this does not justify the fingerprint reader or the licensing expense for each user.
We are using DigitalPersona to protect Windows based systems and in-house web-based Microsoft .NET applications. The DigitalPersona platform does extend to Unix/Linux but for our implementation requirements, we did not need their alternate solutions.
Read this authenticated review
April 04, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Thumbs up for Digital Persona Altus!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Digital Persona Altus to manage multifactor login.
  • Multiple factors such as biometric, smart and prox card, Bluetooth, face, and token methods.
  • Very straightforward both for the engineer in setting up group policies as well as end user friendly.
  • Installation is seemless both for client and server installations.
  • Works without hitch; an simple 'set it, and forget it' type of product. Rarely requires interference from engineer.
  • I would like to see more GPO functionality, such as the ability to limit factors after a specific timeframe, or an email notification to the user if 'self password recovery' is utilized.
  • I'd like to see email blasts of current updates or patches.
  • I'd like to see more than three comstomizable randomized security questions for password recovery.
Altus is great for added network security. It lessens the chance of social engineering by providing factors which are something you are, something you know, and something you have.
This product is currently being used for Windows logins at this time.
Read this authenticated review
March 09, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "DigitaPersona - more trouble than it's worth for complicated infrastructures"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm the main administrator for DP. We use DigitalPersona Altus, and used DigitalPersona Pro Enterprise before it, to manage credentials for the bulk of our applications and websites. For applications where it's compatible, we also use it to change passwords. When it works right, it helps reduce password reset calls and manages user's passwords for them.
  • It simplifies logging into your computer.
  • It stores your credentials securely
  • Changing your password is a constant pain point for our staff. More times than not they call for assistance effectively negating the whole point of using the software.
  • Template management for each application it's tied to is cumbersome. We have many apps that just don't work well with Digital Persona.
  • Support is lacking. We paid for professional services to help implement an upgrade and resolve our outstanding issues. They never successfully resolved our outstanding issues despite multiple follow ups.
  • DP support gave us a tool to assist with one of our problems without explaining how powerful the tool was. Using the tool wiped out our ENTIRE PASSWORD DATABASE FOR EVERY USER.
  • With our XenApp environment, we were constantly experiencing DP database wipes for users. DP support simply said our environment wasn't supported after hours on the phone and even after paying for professional services to fix the issue.
  • Long term we plan to move away from DP. The time we spent supporting the tool outweighs it's usefulness.
Long term we plan to move away from DP. The time we spent supporting the tool outweighs it's usefulness. If you have a simple organization with a few applications, it would probably work fine. Our organization is too complex and we support over a hundred of applications that use DP.
A variety of banking applications and websites that are hosted internally and externally. Well over 100.
Read this authenticated review
March 01, 2017

DigitalPersona Review: "Financial Institution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DigitalPersona Altus across our entire organization. Being a financial institution and having to follow numerous IT regulations, password security and complexity is a must and DigitalPersona allows our users to not have to remember numerous complex passwords and has increased productivity.
  • DigitalPersona helps our users change passwords on the fly by auto generating a password that meet the password requirements in which ever application they may need.
  • Biometric sign-on increases work flow by being able to log into applications and websites with the touch of a finger while providing security through fingerprint scanners.
  • The password administration tool could use some more functionality, especially on sites that have to be created manually.
Financial Institutions are heavily regulated and password security is one of the biggest hurdles to overcome.
We are protecting not only our core banking system but about 80-85% of the applications and sites that are used on a daily basis.
Read this authenticated review

About DigitalPersona

Crossmatch's DigitalPersona provides a comprehensive multi-factor authentication solution. The vendor’s value proposition is that their solution frees users from cumbersome login activities while making it easy for an IT Team to secure access to their networks, data and applications.

DigitalPersona Features

Has featureMany different authentication methods to choose from including biometrics, SAML, phone, Bluetooth, tokens, PIN and more
Has featureSecure access to networks and applications including inhouse, web based and legacy (green screen) applications.
Has featureProtects your data & applications, while not getting in the way of doing business
Has featureAssisted or Self Reset Password Recovery
Has featureAdaptive (Contextual) Authentication based on risk (location, time, device)
Has featureEasily add applications yourself in minutes without ongoing consulting fees
Has featureEasy to install, manage and maintain (Only 2 days to get launched!)
Has featureSingle Sign-On with no changes/customizations necessary to your existing applications
Has featureAdded protection for priviledge users (Admins)
Has featureQuickly change users for shared workstation environments

DigitalPersona Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

DigitalPersona Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

DigitalPersona Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone
Supported Countries:Most Countries except companies included in US Embargo