TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/YI/PE/JTAW3TJ715KF.PNGGood for some organizations, but lacking in many areasDonorPerfect is used throughout our organization in both the U.S. and Canada, primarily by our Donor Relations team. It is our primary system for tracking donors, creating campaigns and appeals, and related donor tasks. It is connected to several of our other systems and used for reporting and exporting to other report tools.,DonorPerfect is completely based in the cloud so there is no need to maintain servers or worry about downtime DonorPerfect's interface is web-based and fairly intuitive to learn and navigate DonorPerfect is quite customizable so it can be customized to fit your organization's unique workflows.,DonorPerfect lacks good reporting functionality. Our staff often have to export data to CSV or use other reporting tools so we end up with a lot of data outside DonorPerfect doesn't really do a good job of tracking the full donor relationship. It needs to have better CRM functionality. Our donor relations staff often resort to third party tools to track these things. DonorPerfect has an API for integrations but it is very poorly implemented and slow. We have a lot of security concerns about DonorPerfect. These stem from our experiences using their API and observing how it is implemented, but also through our conversations directly with the company. They refused to provide security compliance details during a routine vendor risk audit from a reputable security audit vendor that we engaged to evaluate all of our vendors.,5,Positive - using a standard Donor management system across a wide geographic area has reduced our infrastructure costs and training requirements Negative - We are not realizing the full potential of our donors because we are missing opportunities for engagement, and missing connections and opportunities because DonorPerfect's limitations. Negative - Limited/poorly implemented API has significantly increased our development costs as we struggle to implement DonorPerfect data with other internal systems.,Salesforce.com and Blackbaud CRM,Salesforce.com, Sage People, Power BI For Office 365Donor Perfect is a customizable, powerful, affordable tool for nonprofitsOur small nonprofit implemented using DonorPerfect nearly five years ago to better track our donors, organize our solicitation process, and help us steward donors more consistently. DonorPerfect has been a great tool to have and we've grown our fundraising over the past five years by nearly 300%. DonorPerfect works so well for us because we can completely customize it. We can add new fields as they become relevant, and we can search those fields through reports. We also like the integration with Constant Contact, allowing us to keep all of our lists segmented easily so we can send targeted email communications to different groups. Whenever anyone changes their email or opts out, the Constant Contact > DonorPerfect connection automatically updates for us, so we don't have to manually make the changes. DonorPerfect also has a great form builder tool, to allow us to create web forms easily and quickly. And what we probably like best of all - their incredible support team. I can email them a question if I'm having trouble getting a report to run the way I want, or I can call and almost always get a person on the first ring. Their support team will walk us through an issue, or help us think through how to add new fields or make changes that will work for us.,Personalization to the organization is incredible. The ability to customize takes some learning, but it's not overly complex and is a really powerful way to make sure you can track information relevant to your organization. Their support team is exceptional. Phone support is almost always immediately available, and they can walk me through a task or screen share with me and take a look at something if I'm having an issue. DonorPerfect integrates well with our website and with our accounting software, making it easy to track donations and ensure proper acknowledgment.,The customs forms are a bit tricky to navigate at first, but that's where the support service becomes so important. I'd like to be able to integrate it with more of our online tools, such as Mail Chimp or Classy. Finding duplicate accounts requires regular maintenance. If someone makes a gift online and they enter their information slightly differently than we have it on file, the system will create a new record. Every month, we go through and clean up those duplicates by merging the records. The processes are simple, but it takes time.,9,DonorPerfect has helped us increase fundraising by giving us tools to track donor gifts and see the full picture of a donor's relationship with the organization. DonorPerfect's reports are exceptional in helping make data-driven decisions. It's reporting feature can help identify donors that have lapsed, donors that have increased their gifts over time, lifetime giving of a donor, or the types of solicitations that a specific donor responds best to. That data has helped us segment our donors and develop more targeted messaging that has helped us be more successful. DonorPerfect's integration with Quickbooks helps save time and ensure that all of our donations are being recorded.,Classy, QuickBooks Online, Constant ContactCost-effective, user-friendly donor databaseWe use DonorPerfect as our donor database. I work in the fundraising department, and we use the program to track donors, donations, donor stewardship, committee membership, and board member terms. We do not use the program outside of our fundraising department.,DonorPerfect has provided our organization a cost-effective, user-friendly option for donor databases. It is intuitive and even someone without experience in databases can use it for the basics. They also provide lots of paid and free webinars that help dig deeper into the functionality. While there are some areas that need improvement, they are quick to respond to suggestions and are constantly upgrading. Overall I'm pleased with DonorPerfect.,Their contact management tracking is cumbersome. Event management tracking is cumbersome and no easy way to see in a donor's record what events they have attended. There is not much room for customization in the reporting.,8,Can track donor stewardship. Even though it's cumbersome, we don't have an easier way to track it. Helps to provide information when making an ask. Can easily track donations and funds raised so we can reach our goals. Low cost means that we can use more funds for direct service to our clients.,,Asana,4,1,Cost-effective User-friendly Wide selection of functionality,Tracking table hosts for luncheons tracking committee memberships,hopefully with events more contact management,10,Not Sure,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Third-party Reviews,I think I would do it again the same way.Donor Perfect is all you'll needDonorPerfect is the database used to manage the donors for our private school. It is used primarily by the development and business departments. We keep track of donor's contact information, donations, solicitors, how they are connected to our organization, the relationships between other donors, etc.,The database is flexible and easy to modify. We have modified the basic set up to accommodate our needs in multiple areas. For example, we created a new field to use on reports that have different information (i.e. Jones, Mr. John & Mrs. Sally (Smith) instead of Mr. & Mrs. John Jones.) It is easy to do and easy to use. Tech Support is a pleasure. The staff is highly trained, explains things very well, and is very responsive. Reporting is almost always a pleasure. When I need a particularly complex filter, I have no issue in working with tech support to accomplish my goals.,The contact management system is clunky.,9,The program makes it easy to keep track of the things that are important.,Donor Perfect Lives Up To Its Promises - Responsive and Accurate To Customer Needs.We use DonorPerfect as our in-house donor database, with mailing software to produce campaigns and appeals, to generate fundraising reports, to track relationships and plan our annual fund development plan. We further use DonorPerfect for our reporting and analysis of giving trends, to initiate new campaigns, and to inform our board and leadership team.,Integration of donation receipts, acknowledgements and campaigns. No more entering things multiple times in multiple spreadsheets or documents! With careful input of data, streamlines the customer relations aspects of fundraising, building a comprehensive history of each donor and their gifts. Can be used with swipers to do on the spot donations at events, with transactions recorded instantly and instant donor acknowledgement. Has a variety of built in reports that enable us to interface with our internal accounting system, to retrieve multiple years of data, etc. Has the AFP Fundraising Effectiveness Report which tracks retention of donors, years of giving, new donors, etc. Very little lag time for questions or concerns with the vendor, they have excellent training and support services. Relatively cost effective, you don't pay for things you will not use on a consistent basis.,They recently developed a crowdfundraising template, which is a useful addition to their suite of templates.,9,DonorPerfect helped us to grow our donor base from 2015-2016 resulting in a 63.3% revenue increase, and an additional 5% revenue increase in 2017. Having the ability to capture data in real time has made it possible for us to produce tracking metrics for our Board and Committees bi-monthly, with confidence in our accuracy and detail to back up our numbers. Our fundraising effectiveness has definitely increased with our greater fluency and ability using the product, resulting in savings of staff hours as well as data to inform executive decision making.,eTapestry, Raiser's Edge NXT, Constant Contact and MailChimp,Constant Contact
Unspecified
DonorPerfect
86 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

DonorPerfect Reviews

DonorPerfect
86 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 86 vetted DonorPerfect reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 50)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jeremiah Miller profile photo
August 17, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Good for some organizations, but lacking in many areas"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is used throughout our organization in both the U.S. and Canada, primarily by our Donor Relations team. It is our primary system for tracking donors, creating campaigns and appeals, and related donor tasks. It is connected to several of our other systems and used for reporting and exporting to other report tools.
  • DonorPerfect is completely based in the cloud so there is no need to maintain servers or worry about downtime
  • DonorPerfect's interface is web-based and fairly intuitive to learn and navigate
  • DonorPerfect is quite customizable so it can be customized to fit your organization's unique workflows.
  • DonorPerfect lacks good reporting functionality. Our staff often have to export data to CSV or use other reporting tools so we end up with a lot of data outside
  • DonorPerfect doesn't really do a good job of tracking the full donor relationship. It needs to have better CRM functionality. Our donor relations staff often resort to third party tools to track these things.
  • DonorPerfect has an API for integrations but it is very poorly implemented and slow.
  • We have a lot of security concerns about DonorPerfect. These stem from our experiences using their API and observing how it is implemented, but also through our conversations directly with the company. They refused to provide security compliance details during a routine vendor risk audit from a reputable security audit vendor that we engaged to evaluate all of our vendors.
DonorPerfect is well suited to smaller organizations who want something simple, don't have a lot of customization or integration needs, and don't have the internal resources to manage a server or install/maintain software.

It is less appropriate to organizations who want a robust CRM platform to manage donors or who want to integrate with other systems or have the need to customize.
Read Jeremiah Miller's full review
Emily Westergaard profile photo
July 20, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Donor Perfect is a customizable, powerful, affordable tool for nonprofits"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our small nonprofit implemented using DonorPerfect nearly five years ago to better track our donors, organize our solicitation process, and help us steward donors more consistently. DonorPerfect has been a great tool to have and we've grown our fundraising over the past five years by nearly 300%.

DonorPerfect works so well for us because we can completely customize it. We can add new fields as they become relevant, and we can search those fields through reports. We also like the integration with Constant Contact, allowing us to keep all of our lists segmented easily so we can send targeted email communications to different groups. Whenever anyone changes their email or opts out, the Constant Contact > DonorPerfect connection automatically updates for us, so we don't have to manually make the changes. DonorPerfect also has a great form builder tool, to allow us to create web forms easily and quickly. And what we probably like best of all - their incredible support team. I can email them a question if I'm having trouble getting a report to run the way I want, or I can call and almost always get a person on the first ring. Their support team will walk us through an issue, or help us think through how to add new fields or make changes that will work for us.
  • Personalization to the organization is incredible. The ability to customize takes some learning, but it's not overly complex and is a really powerful way to make sure you can track information relevant to your organization.
  • Their support team is exceptional. Phone support is almost always immediately available, and they can walk me through a task or screen share with me and take a look at something if I'm having an issue.
  • DonorPerfect integrates well with our website and with our accounting software, making it easy to track donations and ensure proper acknowledgment.
  • The customs forms are a bit tricky to navigate at first, but that's where the support service becomes so important.
  • I'd like to be able to integrate it with more of our online tools, such as Mail Chimp or Classy.
  • Finding duplicate accounts requires regular maintenance. If someone makes a gift online and they enter their information slightly differently than we have it on file, the system will create a new record. Every month, we go through and clean up those duplicates by merging the records. The processes are simple, but it takes time.
DonorPerfect works well for our small team of 6 staff members. We have about 3000 records (donors) in the system, and DonorPerfect makes it possible for us to keep better track of gifts received view trends in giving, identify donors that have lapsed or that might be prospects for a larger donation and all the ways we communicate with a donor.

As with any donor/contact management system though, the most crucial step is making sure staff members understand how to use the system and ensuring that everyone uses it consistently. To make DonorPerfect really work for your organization, you need to be committed to ongoing training and learning so that everyone who should be using it is using it, and they're all using it in the same way.
Read Emily Westergaard's full review
Lauren Sikkema profile photo
July 17, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Cost-effective, user-friendly donor database"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DonorPerfect as our donor database. I work in the fundraising department, and we use the program to track donors, donations, donor stewardship, committee membership, and board member terms. We do not use the program outside of our fundraising department.

  • DonorPerfect has provided our organization a cost-effective, user-friendly option for donor databases. It is intuitive and even someone without experience in databases can use it for the basics.
  • They also provide lots of paid and free webinars that help dig deeper into the functionality.
  • While there are some areas that need improvement, they are quick to respond to suggestions and are constantly upgrading. Overall I'm pleased with DonorPerfect.
  • Their contact management tracking is cumbersome.
  • Event management tracking is cumbersome and no easy way to see in a donor's record what events they have attended.
  • There is not much room for customization in the reporting.
  • Cost-effective, so good for a smaller organization or one with a low budget.
  • Intuitive and user-friendly. Good for an organization that has a wide range of experience with databases.
  • Somewhat limited with the customization of reporting. If you don't need reports outside of what is already provided, this isn't a problem.
Read Lauren Sikkema's full review
Donna Goldman profile photo
July 20, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Donor Perfect is all you'll need"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is the database used to manage the donors for our private school. It is used primarily by the development and business departments. We keep track of donor's contact information, donations, solicitors, how they are connected to our organization, the relationships between other donors, etc.
  • The database is flexible and easy to modify. We have modified the basic set up to accommodate our needs in multiple areas. For example, we created a new field to use on reports that have different information (i.e. Jones, Mr. John & Mrs. Sally (Smith) instead of Mr. & Mrs. John Jones.) It is easy to do and easy to use.
  • Tech Support is a pleasure. The staff is highly trained, explains things very well, and is very responsive.
  • Reporting is almost always a pleasure. When I need a particularly complex filter, I have no issue in working with tech support to accomplish my goals.
  • The contact management system is clunky.
In my opinion, DonorPerfect is a good system for the price. The high quality of the tech support department makes up for any deficits. I've used it for a long time, both the installed and the online version, and I am not interested in switching to another company.
Read Donna Goldman's full review
Susan Daily CFRE profile photo
July 17, 2018

DonorPerfect: "Donor Perfect Lives Up To Its Promises - Responsive and Accurate To Customer Needs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DonorPerfect as our in-house donor database, with mailing software to produce campaigns and appeals, to generate fundraising reports, to track relationships and plan our annual fund development plan. We further use DonorPerfect for our reporting and analysis of giving trends, to initiate new campaigns, and to inform our board and leadership team.
  • Integration of donation receipts, acknowledgements and campaigns. No more entering things multiple times in multiple spreadsheets or documents!
  • With careful input of data, streamlines the customer relations aspects of fundraising, building a comprehensive history of each donor and their gifts.
  • Can be used with swipers to do on the spot donations at events, with transactions recorded instantly and instant donor acknowledgement.
  • Has a variety of built in reports that enable us to interface with our internal accounting system, to retrieve multiple years of data, etc. Has the AFP Fundraising Effectiveness Report which tracks retention of donors, years of giving, new donors, etc.
  • Very little lag time for questions or concerns with the vendor, they have excellent training and support services.
  • Relatively cost effective, you don't pay for things you will not use on a consistent basis.
  • They recently developed a crowdfundraising template, which is a useful addition to their suite of templates.
We have a relatively small donor universe at the moment and have been using DonorPerfect for about five years. They were a good choice for a "new shop" with a long history of donations previously captured in other forms. I would recommend them to small organizations just getting started who need a software that integrates with marketing, mailing, and event planning. I can't think of any scenario where it would be less appropriate. I believe it does everything that is needed.
Read Susan Daily CFRE's full review
Joseph Cuozzo profile photo
July 17, 2018

"DonorPerfect Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the Development Department to track donations, donors and interactions with donors. It address raising money for an organization and methods to track the raising of money. We use it for both cash and in-kind donations as well as moves management with donors and prospects.
  • DonorPerfect is easy to use. I have trained volunteers and employees in under an hour on the basics of tracking name and address information. For a small organization, it is a good stable platform that will get any Development Department to speed quickly.
  • It also does a good job of letting an individual track movements with a prospect or donor. From meeting or phone call notes to next steps, it does a pretty good right within the system, so you don't need extra reports.
  • Their support team is really good about staying on top of issues and answering questions quickly whether it's through the Chat feature or telephone support. Their webinar trainings are another way for new users to get up to speed quickly.
  • Some of the ways they handle online donations could be improved. One section requires a tribute or memorial fields in the donation and not every donation is like that so I believe it confuses the donor. They have yet to find a remedy to that in my knowledge.
  • Some of their reports or structures within the reports cause some issues. For donations that are split between different programs, the donations do not appear in some reports which can be confusing
  • Would like to see their duplicate maintenance system improved. Sometimes it does not catch all the duplicates within the system if one runs the report on just name and address.
I think DonorPerfect is suited for all development operations, but I think small to mid-size organizations is where it shines. It is easy to use and one can get started on the most important aspects of fundraising - thanking donors and tracking donations. This can happen very quickly with DonorPerfect. A Development Department can then build relationships from there using the contact tab. There are a very of reports that team members can use as well.
Read Joseph Cuozzo's full review
Elisha Sherman profile photo
July 20, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Using Donor Perfect"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, only the Community Engagement Department consisting of 2 people use DonorPerfect. DonorPerfect is used as a customer management tool and as a reporting tool.
  • DonorPerfect is useful for tracking contacts with donors and potential donors.
  • DonorPerfect can tailor reports to your specific needs.
  • Like most complex programs, DonorPerfect requires significant training to make full use of its functionality.
  • DonorPerfect is not very intuitive when navigating or updating.
Donor Perfect is well suited for Agencies with specific reporting and complex needs. If an Agency needs only the bare minimum at a cost-efficient price then DonorPerfect is not the software they should invest in.
Read Elisha Sherman's full review
Hope Cutchins profile photo
June 21, 2018

Review: "DonorPerfect is great for receipting, with excellent customer support!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Finance team uses DonorPerfect to store donor contact information and track donor contacts. We enter donations into DonorPerfect and use that information to issue receipts and year-end statements.
  • DonorPerfect makes it easy to send receipts and statements to donors.
  • DonorPerfect has really great tutorials, forums, and customer support. Whenever I'm learning to use a new function, I use webinars and guides in the forums to learn what to do.
  • You have to click through a lot of screens to add a new gift. It seems like this could be streamlined some.
DonorPerfect works great for what we use it for, which is mainly storing donor information, receipting gifts, and creating donor statements. We don't use many of the fundraising/development features, or really for tracking other types of donor communication.
Read Hope Cutchins's full review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

Review: "DonorPerfect is pretty close to perfect."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is used by the advancement department of Converse College. We manage the alumnae and donor information for the college. We use DonorPerfect to pull mailing lists for events, do gift entry, complete donor research (with DonorSearch), store critical information about our donors and alums, track any contacts we have with constituents, and much more.
  • Reports are clean and fairly simple to pull, as long as you're trained in how to use the filters. Especially coming from experience using a database where we had to write codes to pull reports, Donor perfect's report system is incredibly simple.
  • DonorPerfect is SO user-friendly and simple to find the information you need. I believe anyone can easily learn how to use it.
  • It's so simple to customize your DonorPerfect system. Screen Designer is one of my favorite parts. I have no background in databases, but I can create fields, calculations, set alerts for our philanthropy officers when certain gifts come in, and customize how the screens look. You can make so many adjustments in your DonorPerfect system to meet the needs of your organization.
  • The staff listen to your needs! The community allows you to make a suggestion for how DonorPerfect can be improved. If your idea gets enough votes, they make it happen. The support team is also probably the best I've ever seen. Each person is so knowledgeable, personable, and helpful.
  • We recently started using DP online forms, so I'm fairly new with it. Our one day of giving brought in 500+ gifts and about 40-50% of those downloads created duplicate records. It'd be great if DP had additional options for the data verification so this wouldn't be such an issue.
  • We unfortunately aren't able to use the tribute notification system to the fullest. If user-defined fields could be used within the notification module, it'd be very helpful.
DonorPerfect is great for gift entry, maintenance of clean data, tracking mailings and correspondence, and exporting that information to provide to someone else.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 23, 2018

DonorPerfect Review: "Donor Perfect is Good Most of the Time - Confusing at Other Times"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage DonorPerfect web forms for a nonprofit client. It helps us create forms that easily feed into the DonorPerfect database for ease of donor management. The forms include membership forms, donation forms, sponsorship forms, and combinations thereof for more complex installations to get donors and members more active in the nonprofit.
  • Easy-to-use forms
  • Google Analytics
  • Database
  • Needs Google Tag Manager
  • Confusing to add non-template categories
  • Doesn't easily explain what things mean - you have to guess.
Good for nonprofits of all sizes looking to streamline their process.
Read this authenticated review
Bernie Rupe profile photo
January 10, 2018

Review: "DonorPerfect - great product, great team"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Donor Perfect for four years now. We have everything integrated – constant contact, website pages, donation processing, and event registration.
  • Seamless integration of third-party tools
  • Customer support - always top notch and helpful.
  • Ease of setting up web pages.
  • Don't really have areas for improvement - it is a solid product
It worked very well for us just getting started as a small non-profit. They also have been able to grow and scale with us.
Read Bernie Rupe's full review
Laura Carr profile photo
December 18, 2017

DonorPerfect Review: "Don't waste your time with other databases."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use DonorPerfect to record and receipt gifts and manage donor relationships. It is our CRM software for our non-profit organization.
  • Their reporting features are excellent, particularly the flexibility in creating reports. Before using DPO, I struggled to get the information our direct mail agency needed but now I have no problems getting them timely and accurate reports at the drop of a hat.
  • I love that I can sync DonorPerfect with Constant Contact to send targeted e-mails to different groups of donors. This feature is great for our communications since we manage our e-mail marketing in-house.
  • DonorPerfect is very user-friendly and easy to learn, and the tech support is very helpful when I run into issues.
  • It has the ability to grow with our donor-base, unlike our previous database provider.
  • I'd like to have a better functioning volunteer management tool. We currently use Volgistics since DonorPerfect doesn't meet our needs in this area, but I'd like to be able to sync these databases.
  • I'd also like a more user-friendly grant management tool in DonorPerfect.
  • The receipting templates are a little complicated and took me a while to figure out.
DonorPerfect works well for non-profits of our size (about 32,000 donor records), and I envision using it as we grow. It may be too expensive for start-up non-profits that can't afford a robust CRM.
Read Laura Carr's full review
Paul Ugalde profile photo
December 20, 2017

DonorPerfect Review: "Perfecting the Art of Fundraising"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DP is primarily our fundraising database but we are sharing it with other departments who are using it to track contacts, compare reports and consolidate information.
  • Tracking donations.
  • Built-in reports are very useful and can give you data you didn't know you wanted.
  • Customer support is excellent.
  • The annual conference is fun and informative.
  • We tried the Moves Management module but it needs some development to be truly useful.
  • It's a good idea to designate someone as the in-house DP expert and let them design the more advanced queries. Not all of us are savvy in the language of filters and Boolean logic and you can waste a lot of time trying to figure it out.
It is ideal for keeping all your donor records from donations received to contacts made through mailings, email and visits.
We are trying to use it as a CRM database but it's too early to tell how well this will work.
Read Paul Ugalde's full review
Donald Larson profile photo
March 27, 2017

DonorPerfect Review: "Friendly, Mobile and Versatile Database for English Language"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is being used across the whole organization. It allows each department to individually customize the processing of donor data.

For those departments which have people who are comfortable with SQL or are adept at using the filter design tools, Donorperfect provides often design shared filters which the other departments can easily access and use. The advantages of online access to shared information is most advantageous and benefits the whole organization.
  • DonorPerfect has responded to bugs in the online software with patches which makes software use easier.
  • DonorPerfect permits data filter sharing among different departments in the same organization which not only benefits each department but the whole organization.
  • DonorPerfect easily allows data analysis. This is most beneficial in better targeting of donors.
  • The only area of which I am aware that DonorPefect has room for improvement is in its handling of data that includes extended ASCII characters necessary for the Spanish language and Hispanic names. When accents (á, é, í, ó, ú), tildes (ñ, Ñ) and special punctuation characters (¡, ¿) are used in the database, there are consequences. Since the majority of the departments in our organization deal exclusively with Hispanics, this becomes an issue.
I would recommend DonorPerfect without hesitation to non-profit organizations that deal with English speaking donors only.

I would recommend DonorPerfect with reservations to non-profit organizations that deal with Spanish speaking donors.
Read Donald Larson's full review
Rose Grant profile photo
March 23, 2017

Review: "DonorPerfect: Learning Curve but worth the training"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect helps us track mailings, contacts, and appointments with our constituents. We use it in conjunction with gift campaigns that are synced with communications efforts. The software helps us track grant applications, follow up with due dates, and manage fundraising activities. The support for DonorPerfect is nice and easy to work with as well.

  • Customer Service/Support: When it comes to fundraising you want to make sure you can reach out to their tech support and utilize the tools as best as possible
  • Reporting: The tools are easy to use and invaluable for goal setting & keeping track.
  • Outreach Customization: You can integrate your donations with donor history and use that for targeted outreach.
  • User friendliness: For first time users it's a little hard to figure out the tools, but that takes time and training.
  • Report Running: Again, this is just for when first starting out, it's a little tricky to customize the system to get what you need (if learning on your own).
Ultimately, it'll save your organization time (and likely earn you money) because of the tools for reaching and engaging with donors. The interface is friendly and makes your data more accessible. If you have a smaller staff whose time is limited this is an especially helpful tool. I actually don't know of a better tool to use for what a small-to-medium sized organization would need.
Read Rose Grant's full review
Cara Meskill profile photo
November 18, 2016

DonorPerfect Review: "Donor Perfect is second to none in the donor management software field."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is the best donor management software in the industry. The customer support is second to none and the partnerships they have with other providers allows for seamless integration. The software allows for easy management of donations and donors. With add-ons like DonorSearch you will not be disappointed.
  • Customer Service is only a phone call away. They will walk you through a problem resolution then send you notes on how to do it again in the future.
  • Add-on options for other common services give you options to fully manage your entire workload.
  • We are a high school and unfortunately since it is a donor management software there are times where we are still in need of alumni management functions.
DonorPerfect has the best customer service in the industry. In addition, they are consistently making improvements. One of the best things they provide is the ability for users to submit suggestions and other users can vote on them. Based on the votes, DonorPerfect makes the improvements. They use their customers in the prioritizing of fixes.
Read Cara Meskill's full review
Richard House profile photo
November 25, 2015

Review: "DonorPerfect : Best fit and reasonable cost for that 1 million dollar non-profit."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is currently our donor management database. We store all of our donor information as well as financial support.
  • Donor information database.
  • Financial information management.
  • Reporting.
  • Donor cash batch input. This is a very tedious and manpower intensive task that could be easily resolved. Most of the faith based competitors as well as Quickbooks have what is called a memorized gift. DonorPerfect does not have it nor will they provide one. They continue to ignore the many requests for improvement.
I believe DonorPerfect is well suited for 1 to 10 million revenue organizations. They have a fairly decent credit card processing system. It is not suited for strictly cash based organizations.
Read Richard House's full review
Sarah Steffen profile photo
November 09, 2015

User Review: "DonorPerfect is DonorPerfection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is used across the Little Sisters of the Poor organization. Each home in all the states use the system to track donations and donors. We all also use the system to pull mailing lists for various events, invitations, and mailings. As a whole the organization relies on donations in regards to money and supplies. DonorPerfect is our way to keep track so others can view the giving history of each home.
  • DonorPerfect is very user friendly. The layout is simple and pretty self explanatory for new users.
  • DonorPerfect holds very helpful webinars to address processes and procedures of its features. Each discussion is broken down and given monthly to help address any questions.
  • DonorPerfect has been very good about improving the website and its features. Whenever updates are added it is announced and seems to transition smoothly for users.
  • One of the best things about DonorPerfect is the fact that you can personalize the system to your own needs. Even though all homes in our organization use the system, each home uses the system differently depending on what has worked best for each of them.
  • I wish that the reports were easier to use. Some of the report listings seem to work great, but others have given me quite a hard time figuring out what I need from the donor system. For example finding all donors that have given a total of $5000 or more in gifts.
  • There have been a few small glitches that I have experienced in using reports. If I want to reload the report after making changes, the system will randomly log me off and I have to go back in to re-run the report entirely. This could be a network issue, but something I thought was worth mentioning.
  • When you link an account, it is not seen on both accounts that they are linked. So if I link donor A to donor B. I can only see that donor B is linked to donor A from donor A's profile.
DonorPerfect is a simple and user friendly system that is well suited to keep track of any and all donations and the history of donations for a company. It is also well used as a mailing list reference tool. You can exclude and include specific names by the coding options each user chooses.
Read Sarah Steffen's full review
L. Susan Stroup profile photo
November 06, 2015

Review: "DonorPerfect -- A great value for the money!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small non-profit that works with children and youth who have severe behavioral and emotional disorders. DonorPerfect Online is the database we use to track donor giving and create fund raising appeals. Our entire development department (4 staff members) plus our CEO and myself use DonorPerfect Online to research our donors, track donations, keep contact information, and keep up with contacts with our donors.
  • My impression of DonorPerfect has grown over the years because they continue to address any issues that come up as well as expand and improve their product. DonorPerfect is truly a cost effective solution for donor tracking/accounting, contact tracking, and general database keeping.
  • We use WebLink to provide our donors an online way to make a donation. The page is easy to set up and works like a charm!
  • I love that I can create and change the "thank you" that the donor gets whether it is through WebLink, EFT, or manual entry.
  • It is so helpful to be able to access it anywhere we have an internet connection and that we can share information through the database.
  • It is great that I can create custom fields that are useful for my agency and what our development team wants to see. And I have the ability to hide what they don't want to see or what they don't need.
  • Recently there seems to have been a change in how Screen Designer works. Now I don't have the different requirements: plus, hidden or show, like on fields that I used to. I reported this and was directed to Smart Screens. I spent a lot of time getting Main and Bio screens like I wanted them and now I have to figure out something different. I don't really have time to fix this. Upgrade or changes usually don't happen like this, but once every few years it does.
  • When adding a link (soft credit, etc.) to a gift, it would be nice if we could search directly from the field that appears instead of having to hit Lookup for another screen.
  • Year end recalculations are handled in a very odd manner. Any gift entered after midnight on the last day of the fiscal year automatically recalculates totals for that donor moving what you thought you were entering for what is now Last Year to the New Year. This is very confusing in that the database asks you if you want to recalculate. Until 2 years ago, I thought I was in control of this. For most non-profits, I am willing to bet that end of the year gifts -- especially if end of year is December 31 -- are not all entered in the database before midnight on December 31. The DonorPerfect administrator truly needs to be in control of this function so that they can be assured that the reports they run reflect the data they think it does.
  • On the Bio Tab, it would be great if it were by default set up to handle occupation, education, etc. of both spouses.
If you are converting from another database, ask if your text fields will be reformatted. Also, don't assume that just because you have data in one database that it will be mapped to the new database. However, no conversion is ever seamless. Have an in-depth conversation about your processes (letters, notifications, appeals, donor contact tracking, reporting, etc.) with the DonorPerfect folks to make sure you understand how it will work -- or possibly not work -- in the new database. Find out how custom fields and equations will or will not convert. No minute detail is too small to not address. Converting to a new database is a big decision and a lot of work.
Read L. Susan Stroup's full review
Vicki Kirkpatrick profile photo
November 05, 2015

Review: "When you buy DonorPerfect, it's not just a database you get. It comes with a team of highly knowledgable professionals that help your organization grow to new heights."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is used by three primary users: the executive director, the fund development coordinator and the office administrator. It is used to manage our donor, grant, volunteer and board of director activities. It allows us to report on donations received by campaign or solicitations, different mailing lists, volunteer hours, grants and event planning. Having DonorPerfect allows us to maintain all these records in one central database, instead of having to manage several databases or spreadsheets. Also, having the online version allows our data to be saved and encrypted off site, which we are required by state to have.
  • DonorPerfect is very user friendly, not complicated like other donor databases.
  • DonorPerfect is customizable to what your organization's needs are, even after your initial setup with the company.
  • The BEST support team I have ever worked with. I am in awe of the support team's knowledge of the product and their willingness and eagerness to help you and your organization to succeed.
  • I would love to see DonorPerfet have a faster rate of fixing issues that might only affect some of their customers. I feel they concentrate (prioritize) on issues first that affect the customers system wide, then work on the smaller issues.
  • Roll out apps for Android systems at the same time as the IOS systems.
How easy is it to use?
How many users can I have signed up and can they be on at the same time?
Can I restrict what certain users can see and/or edit in the system?
As my organization grows and expands, will DonorPerfect allow me to add features or make changes to my software that I can use?
What type of training is available to learn the system, once my account is set up?
Read Vicki Kirkpatrick's full review
Michael Brix profile photo
November 04, 2015

DonorPerfect Review: "A few thoughts from a reasonably sized ED of a small NPO"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DonorPerfect to track donors, to thank donors and send receipts. We also use DonorPerfect as our contact management system for participants in our programming. We use MailMerge to generate our bulk mailing lists and we use the WebLink product to create donation forms and accept credit card donations through our various web sites.
  • The best thing about DonorPerfect is their customer support. They are almost always available, you can reach them through multiple means: email form, web chat, or phone support. I hate talking to machines and with DonorPerfect I almost never have to. All the support I've received is knowledgable and able to resolve my issues (when it's possible).
  • The system is almost never off-line. They do shut down for maintenance from time to time, but the timing has never effected our business.
  • I like the ability to send thank-you receipts immediately upon receiving a donation.
  • DonorPerfect can be better at communicating up-front the costs of the different products and fees. We were surprised at our first bill, even after speaking at length to a sales representative.
  • In terms of the WebLink software, we purchased it to take the place of PayPal for processing recurring donations, but the system was not automatic and our staff needed to continue to manually charge credit cards monthly.
  • The difference in WebLink and WebLink Pro products is another example of where I feel DonorPerfect does a little "nickel and diming" of their customers. If you wanted to use the WebLink product to create a certain form or event registration, you are limited in your choices UNLESS you upgrade. However, in sales, this is not adequately explained. (In fact, in the sales process, it was continually assured to me that we would be able to do all of the functions that we are currently doing with PayPal, which is just not the case. We are still using PayPal for a few key functions of our organization.
If you host events or wish to take monthly donations, please ask about WebLink versus WebLink Pro products. Additionally, I feel that DonorPerfect would be more useful for an organization with a larger budget or more established than a start-up NPO because of the budgetary constraints (i.e. very little wiggle room).
Read Michael Brix's full review
Marina Shuman profile photo
November 04, 2015

DonorPerfect: "Great option for integrating donor and volunteer records"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our nonprofit dental clinic uses DonorPerfect to track donors and volunteers, including gifts, communications, and event attendance. We're pretty small and have about 500 constituents total, and DonorPerfect makes it very easy to keep track of all the ways we're connecting with donors, volunteers, and supporters.
  • Easy to export and import data. There will always be things that are easier to do in other programs, so getting information in and out of a database is key. It's very straightfoward to set up filters, export templates, etc, so that I'm getting exactly the information I need in the format that's most useful.
  • Can track both donors and volunteers. As a volunteer-based dental clinic, it's important to us to make sure our volunteer licenses are up to date, track volunteer hours, and see which donors are also volunteers. Although DonorPerfect doesn't have separate volunteer tracking options, it does make it very easy to integrate donor and volunteer information.
  • Customer support has been very responsive every time I've used them, by phone or online chat.
  • No options for scheduling volunteers. This would improve functionality immensely for us.
  • Tracking donations from multiple household members could be simpler. If donations are recorded under multiple household members, there's no way to set that the whole household gets a thank you letter. Whenever I do a large mailing, I have to go through manually and merge multiple household members.
I was surprised at how useful DonorPerfect has been for tracking both donors and volunteers. If an organization is interested in looking at increasing the number of volunteers who donate, or donors who volunteer, DonorPerfect is a good choice.
Read Marina Shuman's full review
Caleb Tinkle profile photo
November 04, 2015

Review: "DonorPerfect Online has helped me keep my donors perfectly in line."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Donor Perfect is used by our Development Department (both Individual and Corporate Support) to raise funds, track campaigns, manage contacts and moves management, and documenting donor relations in general. We have also used DPO to track Board and Committee information as well as volunteer projects and hours. Some work has begun to use the grants tracking tool as well. We are a fairly small organization, but incredibly busy managing thousands of relationships. Tracking those interactions in DPO has been a huge help, since it centralizes all information pertinent to our donors. It's also helped with analyzing campaigns/tactics and reporting out quickly and accurately to our board or donors.
  • Tracking Campaigns - the built in reporting makes it very easy to analyze ROI with the click of a button.
  • Moves Management - the ability to use existing info fields and create new ones specific to our organization makes it easy to track donor advancement up the giving ladder. This makes it so much easier to know when they are ready for an ask and how much to ask for.
  • Analyzing revenue trends over multiple years - the built in reports are great for easy comparisons, but the ability to build custom reports and save them is such a time saver.
  • Better reporting on volunteer projects - more built in reports.
  • Tracking Membership renewal rates year over year and month to month, based on a July to June fiscal year.
  • DPO tracks whether or not people have opened an email in Constant Contact - knowing if they then clicked a link to our website and resulted in a donation would be very valuable for tracking e-campaign success.
What are you hoping to track? The main and best function of DonorPerfect is tracking donor information and campaigns through financials. If you are needing a tool to manage large scale events or something less donor based and specific to your organization, DonorPerfect Online (DPO) may work, but you need to problem solve with their development staff to be sure they can help you modify it to your needs. The software is very malleable, but you need to think critically about the specific processes you need carried out.
Read Caleb Tinkle's full review
Maggie Ivins profile photo
November 04, 2015

DonorPerfect Review: "Reports - only as good as your filters"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DonorPerfect is used to track donor contacts, dollars, volunteers, and budgets for events. It used by other departments. It addresses consistency to a certain degree.
  • Up to date information, once items are keyed in they populate.
  • Offers various output options.
  • Seems to hold ALOT of data,
  • Reports - There needs to be a better way to create reports when it comes to filters. There are so many filters you don't know what to do. It is very confusing if you want a specific report (multi year trend analysis). Your filters need to be precise or your reports will be skewed. There should be a catalog or example of reports with a brief summary. QuickBooks Online for example, has this kind of feature where it tells you the name of the report, then a description of what that report will tell you and a preview of what you will see once you launch the report. I think even a high level report that you can then drill down would be helpful. This is my biggest issue with DonorPerfect. Perhaps send a user survey and ask for what reports are the most popular ?
DonorPerfect is the only software I know and I am not 100% sure about it. The reports need a lot of help. A big question is what do you want the software to do? DO you want a one stop shop - then sure. Do you need daily and consistent reports that are accurate and don't drive you nuts because of all the filters you must check......then no....
Read Maggie Ivins's full review
Brooke Seigle profile photo
November 04, 2015

User Review: "DonorPerfect Survey Results"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use of DonorPerfect is departmental. It serves a as a database for Upper Room and World Services.
  • Simple. Easy to learn. Easy to teach. Accessible. Cost effective.
  • We have two divisions using one software. I can't set up credit card swipes for both.
DonorPerfect is a great program for the cost associated.
Read Brooke Seigle's full review

About DonorPerfect

DonorPerfect Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No