Drupal Reviews

315 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 71)

Bobby Donohue | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

An all-powerful CMS with a steep learning curve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - I've used Drupal for hundreds of client projects. Drupal is open source, so there is no overhead to using it.
  • Positive - Since all my sites are on the same platform, managing client websites is easy. I know how every site is built, and don't have to remember custom things for each one.
  • Negative - Some clients are DIYers, so teaching them how to log into Drupal's admin area and create or edit web pages can be challenging. It's not that Drupal itself makes it challenging, though it might be easier for a client to make their own webpage or blog post in a WordPress site. But clients don't compare the Drupal experience to WordPress. They compare it to writing an article in MS Word. Or they get flustered when they copy and paste text into Drupal, and unknowingly copy over all of Word's backend code as well.
  • Positive - I've been able to take on some very simple projects, and some extremely complicated projects - and I can use the same Drupal starting point regardless. That saves a tremendous amount of time as each setup can be identical and automated.
Read Bobby Donohue's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Unified, Robust and Responsive CMS/LCMS!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Zero cost on the product license, the organization invests only for the implementation and maintenance. This saves around USD 200,000.
  • There is no upgrade cost involved for the application.
  • Once code is approved, then it can be used as a compliance software and for all industries. Hence more profitable.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Drupal, the CMS for large, data-rich websites

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Drupal has allowed us to build our new website at a relatively quick pace. It's definitely been quicker than if we had to build a new custom CMS.
  • It's allowed our team of developers and designers to all work together simultaneously on building the new site.
  • Our new website is much improved, and will allow us to better serve our citizens.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 26, 2018

Do you deploy a lot of content daily? Do you have strong technical resources? Drupal 8 might be a fit!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The client was very happy with the website, and with the work we put into bringing it to life. I hope that it's had a positive impact on their core business, but this isn't something I have visibility into.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Possibly the most powerful and flexible CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Drupal has allowed us to build up a library of code and base sites we can reuse to save time which has increased our efficiency and thus had a positive financial impact.
  • Drupal has allowed us to take on projects we otherwise would not have been able to, having a further impact.
  • Drupal has allowed us to build great solutions for our clients which give them an excellent ROI.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Drupal as a Solution for Clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • In a positive sense, I can develop sites using Drupal for non-profit organizations that may not afford me to keep their sites up to date, so they can now do it themselves. This is just as applicable to any type of organization for that matter.
  • The negative impact this has had has been that of being called on when the client becomes confused with accessing their account. If I charge for this small favor, I received a negative review, if I do not charge, then I receive calls, seemingly forever.
  • All in all, the ROI is positive. Drupal is worth the time and effort to learn and offer.
Read Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon's full review
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Drupal works at scale, and is free.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I've managed content in Drupal, and this content is viewed by thousands of instructors, preventing the need for them to contact our helpline for assistance. This frees up time for my staff to deal with actual issues, rather than training issues, and is a major positive ROI use case for using Drupal.
  • We provide alerts regarding service outages, hopefully preventing users from calling into our helpline - and allowing the real issues to have a higher volume than issues we are aware of.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Drupal Can Be Great If You Know How To Use It

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Makes updating our company website easier.
  • The time we have spent in setup has been gained back in easy content addition.
  • Drupal updates can be lengthy and problematic. When you can update 5 WordPress sites in the time it takes to update 1 Drupal site, you have to be sure you have implemented the right solution.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Jimmy Mack | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Drupal is a good, moderately powerful CMS that isn't too confusing

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • helped create a robust intranet across the organization
  • share success stories from various departments in form of intranet news feed so departments know what each other are doing
  • create HR document repository for people to access when needed
Read Jimmy Mack's full review
Sean Pomory | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2018

Drupal is the 777 of CMS'

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Has helped us better guide users down predefined funnels
  • Easily embeds resources that have a direct monetary amount attached to them
  • The site can last for sometime without any significant architecture, extending the lifespan of the product
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Drupal: A Definite Recommend!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our overall site traffic has grown exponentially since we have moved to it.
  • We have been able to bring a standardized format to all of our resources and communications.
  • Promoting new products is much easier due to the easy to use interface of Drupal, we can get a new product launch page up in record time compared to our old platform.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Hogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2018

Drupal: Titan of Open Source

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Our business is dependent on the consumers we attract through our websites. Drupal allows us to meet the demands of our various partners on one platform. This is a huge factor in terms of maintaining an able workforce.
  • Drupal provides us the flexibility in terms of customizable elements and scalable entities to grow our client base and confidently display our portfolio to potential new business partners.
  • Each of our Drupal environments is handcrafted to provide a consistent, informative, and unique user experience, which makes an easier decision the investment of our product.
Read Charles Hogan's full review
Brian Nizinsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

If you love happy, giddy developers...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has had a positive impact on out development process by reducing and simplifying it significantly.
  • Drupal provides very easy editing so its had a positive effect on our publishing process.
  • Drupal hosted on AWS is very fast and this has had provided a positive user experience.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (60)
9.2
API (54)
8.8
Internationalization / multi-language (48)
8.8
WYSIWYG editor (57)
8.1
Code quality / cleanliness (61)
8.2
Admin section (63)
8.1
Page templates (62)
8.0
Library of website themes (53)
7.7
Mobile optimization / responsive design (58)
9.0
Publishing workflow (62)
8.5
Form generator (59)
8.4
Content taxonomy (59)
8.4
SEO support (57)
8.3
Bulk management (56)
8.5
Availability / breadth of extensions (56)
8.8
Community / comment management (56)
8.6

About Drupal

Drupal is a free and open source content management system written in PHP that competes primarily with Joomla and Plone. The standard release of Drupal, known as Drupal core, contains basic features common to content management systems. These include a dashboard with a menu management system, RSS feeds, page layout customization and themes to aid this, and system administration tools. Drupal offers access statistics, more advanced search features, caching and feature throttling (to improve performance if needed), descriptive URLs, multiple users with controllable privileges, access control and restrictions, and workflow tools (triggers). There are over 30,000 addons or modules to expand Drupal's functionality.



Categories:  Content Management

Drupal Integrations

Drupal Competitors

Joomla!, Kentico Xperience, Plone, Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Drupal Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No