eClinicalWorks Reviews

35 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Wesley Emmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Beware of eClinicalWorks

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Notes look professional - medical history and medicines are listed to the side, instead of pages and pages of typed words.
  • Can easily transfer photos in the office to the medical record.
  • I just tried to dictate a single simple paragraph, and "the request is timed out"; not the first time this has occurred. Ultimately, I end up hand typing the entire note.
  • Often, when selecting a diagnosis, it is not possible to correctly create that in the Assessments; a prosthetic knee infection option is not there, but a prosthetic hip infection might be.
Read Wesley Emmons's full review
Kelly Ferriter | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2018

We love this program!!!!!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • secure sign on for staff for medical records
  • comprehensive medical record keeping
  • very easy to read medical records and find fast and easy what the client is looking for
  • Sometimes we have slowness with the software that we have brought to the attention of the program engineers
  • We would like a section to place notes in the folders of the patients in regards to payment information/ call in information in regards to payments
Read Kelly Ferriter's full review
Mel Hugentobler,  MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2018

eCW honest review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Front-Desk - Easy at a glance daily payment postings to front desk staff can see their production quickly. Able to take payments easily. Add new patients quickly. See and organize the provider schedule easily. Automated phone call appointment reminders was valuable.
  • Clinic - Access of old notes was easy and template structure was good
  • Billing - Easily add notes to claims to track what billings was doing. All aspects of patient receivables were fairly simple and easy.
  • Administration/Analytics - Not much good to say here.
  • Clinic - Cumbersome and click happy. Much of the time it required the providers and medical assistants open multiple windows to get to where they needed to enter info. Workflow was slowed. CUMBERSOME!
  • Billing - Reporting was a challenge. It was difficult to get out of the system what was needed. Formatting was unfavorable as well. Very difficult to set up new providers. Time and resource intensive.
  • Administrative - Two of the biggest weaknesses of eCW were Reporting & Customer Service. Like billing, REPORTS on the administrative side were difficult at best. Some needed reports did not exist and couldn't be created. eCW would do that but charge $1,000 +/- to create. Not user-friendly. Exactly the opposite. Attempting to pull reports was time consuming and frustrating. Many KPIs were manually tracked - another time consuming add on to workflow. CUSTOMER SERVICE is something I don't think eCW really knows at all. It was always very difficult to get any service and if by chance we did, we couldn't understand the rep. By far both of these were the worst aspects of eCW. Which to us is two of the most important.
Read Mel Hugentobler, MBA's full review
Malachi Mosley | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2017

eClinical"Works" for everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • eClinicalWorks has a high degree of customization. We use it in multiple different practices and everyone has different workflows in place to make the system work for them.
  • User interface is very clear. Generally if you are lost within the system, it only take a few seconds to find out where you need to go because there are always at least two ways there sitting in front of you.
  • Interfaces are also very good. Results flow seamlessly into eClinicalWorks which is most necessary for proper patient care.
  • Speed. It is common for eClinicalWorks to get slowed down heavily by the network issues at our facilities. This may be due to the networks themselves, but eClinicalWorks is usually the first application to suffer.
Read Malachi Mosley's full review
Katy Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2017

Eworks!!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keep track of balances
  • Make scheduling templates easy to use
  • Fnding a patient is very easy
  • Slow
  • Can be hard to navigate
  • A lot of screens
Read Katy Wilk's full review
Olga Shipp | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

EClinicalWorks Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Functionality
  • Customer Service/IT support
  • Software innovation
  • Freezes/Crashes when use certain functions.
  • When a new upgrade/update is released, it's not always fully functional.
Read Olga Shipp's full review
Kinekal Tasew | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2016

An Admin and Tech view of eClinicalWorks Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Our providers really love the functionality of the right chart panel as they are building their progress note
  • Flexibility of building templates
  • Integration of Dragon Medical with eCW
  • the Chronic Care Module is the most frustrating module we have seen in eCW. Providers can't bring the note from CCM to the progress note without locking one or the other
  • Not being able to open multiple windows. The lack of this functionality is the major complaining point
  • Each small task is being a paid service.. we would rather see in our customer support agreement upfront. These various fees really upsetting administration.
Read Kinekal Tasew's full review
Sue Tree | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2016

eClinicalWorks - the Good & the Bad

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Improves provider communication as all records for a patient are accessible
  • Eliminates errors in handwriting interpretation
  • Customizable template: IT has started tweaking the template specifically for my needs
  • Major problem is the lack of ability to work on more than one menu simultaneously. For example, if I want to make a note of a problem with a blood chemistry value that impacts my treatment plan, and I haven't written it on paper, I can't access it if I have the intervention menu open. I have to close it, open another and repeat. This takes time writing notes.
  • It would be nice to have the Nutrition Care Process automatically incorporated into the Nutrition sections, without having to spend time free writing in the problems, and asking IT to put it into the template.
  • There are sections that repeat as in Nutrition, which is what I use. I find that some of the menus are a bit non-intuitive.
Read Sue Tree's full review
Sarah Rahbari | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2016

User-Friendly Software! Would love to have this software in every office!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Sending refills electronically to the pharmacy, cutting time in half instead of calling the pharmacy for refills on medications.
  • Telephone encounters - sending telephone encounters to providers/nurses is much more reliable then having the patient transferred to a employees voicemail. Nurses and providers can see who the telephone encounter is from and look over their chart before calling the patient back, all in one place.
  • Web Encounters - Patients can send web encounters, almost like telephone encounters to nurses regarding medication refills or questions and or cancelling or making an appointment.
  • The look of the software needs and update.
  • When patients are web enabled they are sent an email of their appointment time to tell them in the email to arrive 15 minutes early rather then giving them the exact time of their appointment. This throws our schedule off.
  • The ability to enable to text a patient's phone regarding to remind them of their appointment date and time.
Read Sarah Rahbari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2017

You can't please everyone

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One of the strengths of ECW can also be a weakness depending on the user's perception. ECW has a lot of redundancies. There are multiple pathways to perform a task. It can be appealing to advanced computer users because of the versatility. I have found that it tends to confuse lesser experienced computer users.
  • The creation of templates is very easy and any provider in our system can create one. It definitely makes documentation more efficient. By creating a set of templates for the clinic, we are able to standardize the orders/procedures along established guidelines.
  • We have converted our scheduling to open access. ECW allows us to set the follow up time and the end of the visit and then an alert is created. Front office staff can run the report and schedule patients closer to the actual time. It has improved our no show/cancellation rates.
  • The interface with SureScripts has some small hiccups due to the way names are entered at the pharmacy vs in our system. About 50% of my refill requests that I receive electronically require me to confirm the patient or drug because of mismatches.
  • The lab interface with Quest seems to work well and results are received quickly. There is some difficulty with the compendium staying current. Each lab company has to participate in setting up an interface and results are varied. Labcorp frequently sends duplicate results; one through the interface and a faxed set. The hospital cannot interface at all. The variability makes it difficult to have the historical lab show up in one view to evaluate for trends.
  • Data analytics are not as strong as other programs. We decided to use third party software to better achieve our objectives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2017

eClinical - The Best EMR!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The SOAP note is set up in a way that is clear, concise, and easy to use. The templates allow me to see more patients in a shorter amount of time.
  • The billing and global alerts allow me to communicate with my administrative staff when they are checking in the patient.
  • The schedule can be viewed in chronological order and as a map-like format, allowing me to quickly see which slots are available for patient appointments.
  • EClinical Works freezes quite often, especially when opening patient documents.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2017

eClinicalWorks Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of navigation through program. This is very important to time efficiency.
  • Ability to stay in communication in real time with providers, billing, and other essential coworkers.
  • Flexible custom setup to the needs of the organization on how we required it to work.
  • Simplify the path of comment feature
  • Create a flag alert for duplicate dates of service
  • Code selection of duplication alert
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2017

One of The Easiest and Fastest Complete EHR Systems to Deploy

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Low cost of entry and price point adjust-ability based on size of organization. Offer to web-based EMR system with very little to no need for local IT infrastructure for servers and storage.
  • Easy to implement with pre-built forms for specialties.
  • Good registration and scheduling system with response UI.
  • Built in ePrescribe and eFax solutions.
  • Billing system was lacking. No way to model financial projections.
  • Reporting and trending systems were crude with no UI without custom coding.
  • No easy access to patient data historically beyond 5 years for trending.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2016

EClinicalWorks- a viable, reputable EMR solution for your practice

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very user friendly.
  • Easy and straightforward to set up.
  • Makes changes along with the changing regulatory requirements. Meets the standards necessary to successfully meet meaningful use, PQRS and reporting of other quality measures.
  • eClinicalWorks had performance issues for larger size groups. I am not sure their technical setup was the best to ensure top speed to move around the application. Also their tools to evaluate this problem did not work.
  • Recommended to have more metadata items for their EBO reporting module and to grant direct access to their database for analytics teams to generate needed custom reports.
  • Having more overall functionality that is geared toward larger practices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2016

To Improve your private medical practice

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Making appointments and scheduling has become a lot easier and organized on eClinicalWorks. You are able to change your settings to view the entire month or weekly schedule. It gives you the options to make a certain type of appointment either, new patient, existing patient or nurse visit.
  • You are able to tell the patients their test results once we receive them with the physician's notes directly attached to the results for a quicker explanation.
  • Searching patients based on a various amount of information is also easy, either by date of birth, last name, or social security number.
  • The system would crash periodically and we would need to have a technician come to help often.
  • It made our internet connection very slow.
  • Trouble connecting to external devices such as printers or scanners, computer techs would come and explain that the software of eClinicalWorks wasn't recognizing the devices, making it difficult to check faxed items.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2016

Very user friendly!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy access to patient information
  • Very quick in finding tests
  • Provides updated information quickly
  • More modern interface
  • More user friendly
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2015

eClinicalWorks User Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User Friendly because their user interface allows for seamless transition from all aspects of the electronic medical record
  • Reporting is comprehensive so any report can be generated
  • Built-In functionality for reminders, campaigns, patient portal, and etc.
  • Meaningful Use Reports should be capturing data in real time and generated fairly quickly instead of the MAQ dashboard extraction process.
  • Their support teams are not very helpful at certain topics such as the definition/logic of Meaningful Use calculations. These are generally difficult to determine but several cases in regards to Meaningful Use take several days before it gets addressed.
  • Training videos would be helpful on their support website.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2015

Hospital extends eCW to Private Practices

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive to use. Many of our practices are changing from paper and having worked with other EHR vendors before, I believe that eCW is more intuitive to use than other systems which helps in the transition from paper medical records.
  • Quick implementation. The standard install for eCW usually only takes a few weeks and most of this work is done remotely which saves the practice money.
  • Economical. The cost of a standard eCW solution is comparable to other vendors of similar quality.
  • Communication gap. Most of the support staff at eCW are Indian which often times creates a language barrier between the clinics and eCW.
  • Training. Training is only one week on site for the week of go-live and then everything else is done remote or is up to the practice to watch webinars which has been a complaint of many practices.
  • Upcharges. The standard product from eCW is decent but there are often upcharges for basic additional functionality that practices feel should be included.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Real-time eligibility verification (16)
6.2
Claims management (13)
7.0
Coding (14)
7.1
Patient billing (14)
8.0
Financial Reporting (13)
9.0
Rule-based scheduling (19)
7.1
Automated appointment reminders (15)
9.0
Automated patient check-in (16)
7.0
Multi-location support (17)
7.7
Calendar interface (14)
7.7
Charting / document management (21)
4.5
Templates (21)
4.7
Patient portal (18)
9.8
Mobile/tablet support (15)
8.7
Fax integration (19)
10.0
Integration with other EMR and PM systems (16)
9.8
Workflow automation (19)
9.8
Speech recognition (13)
10.0
Customization (19)
9.9
E-prescribing (20)
8.0
HIPAA compliance (21)
7.4
Role-based permission levels (21)
7.1
Data backups and redundancy (18)
8.9
Local mode / networking failsafe (15)
9.8
Task tracking (17)
8.9
Specialty-specific workflows (18)
9.8
Multi-office / multi-physician capabilities (19)
10.0

About eClinicalWorks

eClinicalWorks headquartered in Westborough offers their EHR / EMR solution, which can be upgraded to a full practice management solution at higher pricing tiers.

eClinicalWorks Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No