TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/U3/2I/FMAJG79MFJRL.pngEdmodo is great for elementary teachingI am an elementary teacher at a public charter school. I personally use Edmodo in my own classroom. I am not aware of anyone else in the building who uses it, but there may be other teachers who do. I mostly use it to post warm up questions and create student polls. It helps to save time and go paperless.,The platform is aesthetically pleasing. It is very similar to popular social media platforms. It is great for formative assessment because you can give students immediate feedback on evaluations. You can upload all kinds of files, making it easy for students to access information anywhere, anytime.,It would be helpful to have a chat window to interact with students directly. The mobile version is not as good as the web version and has technical glitches, which students occasionally complain about. The software occasionally runs slow, but hardly ever.,7,As an intervention teacher, Edmodo has helped in teaching my intervention classes. 12 students were able to exit the intervention program this semester due to getting caught up on the material. Edmodo has been helpful in supporting my teaching and thus the success of the students. Edmodo has been helpful for students who are absent a lot. It makes it very easy for them to get caught up on work without me having to chase them around. Some parents are busy and don't have time to come in for a face to face conversation with the teacher. Edmodo makes it so these parents can still easily communicate with me.,Google Classroom,Google Drive, IBM SPSS, Google ClassroomEdmodo Has Much to OfferI have used Edmodo both as an educator and as a student at the graduate level. It has been used at my school as an alternative classroom platform, allowing teachers some versatility. It is a platform suitable for sharing content and calendars. It allows students and teachers to be in touch in a more informal manner.,Has great Google integration, allowing the teacher to share files with students easily. Has user created lesson plan sharing and integration, making education more open and accessible. Edmodo helps keep everything in one central location for classrooms.,Edmodo's user interface can be a bit overwhelming and crowded. Edmodo can be difficult to navigate. It is difficult to customize, the platform is not very intuitive in this regard.,7,Edmodo has provided another option in the world of classroom platforms. Edmodo has allowed faculty to share information with students in a more personal and creative way. Edmodo has allowed for easier data collection.,Google Classroom, Canvas and Moodle,Canvas, IntelliJ WebStorm, VNC ConnectEdmodo - An all in one Educational Platform.We are using Edmodo for continuing medical education, for specialist physicians, resident physicians, nurses and medical students in an internship. This tool has been really useful, because, we have always looked forward to teaching and improving our workers' knowledge, and this way has been the most helpful way to check if what we have taught them has been learned. It also gives us the opportunity to give a follow up with the users.,The platform is simple and concrete. The Facebook like style, makes it easier to use and to get use to. The tools available in this platform are amazing - scheduling a test, reminders, and having statistics of the grades of all students or users. It has included Office 365 Online (for those who don't have the opportunity to buy a subscription or those that are in a hurry and want to do their work online). You can create as many groups as you wish.,The set up is a little bit difficult. The IP redirection for users in your institution can be something overwhelming.,9,For our institution it has been for free. It has brought many benefits to have it implemented, because we didn't have to pay for other platforms which do not have all these great features that Edmodo has. It's really easy for people or users to get used to the platform, and that makes it easy for new users.,Google Classroom,Infinite CampusEdmodo to connect parents and studentsWe currently use Edmodo in the intermediate level of grades 3-5. Older grade levels are using another program entirely. We are using Edmodo to connect with both students and parents over assignments and class scheduling.,Scheduling homework assignments is great. Connecting with parents is very smooth. Having multiple teachers to share a group of students is very easy to do.,Lots of competition. Many programs offer similar tasks or abilities, some that have better UI. Not always the easiest to connect to my school server for uploading student information.,6,The ROI has been negligible since we have not paid for any premium services, just remained on the free tier.,Google Classroom, Schoology and MoodleAmazing Tool at the Grade School Level AgeEdmodo is used by my children's teachers. It is the way we, as parents, stay in touch with the teacher throughout the day, receiving updates, photos, videos, but also real-time important reminders.,The ability to reach a teacher real-time, and for the teacher to reach parents real-time, is amazing. Not just useful, it can make a true difference in the day-to-day school experience of our children. Edmodo definitely engages the parents in their children's education by keeping them involved and interested in what is going on in the classroom, where most parents usually don't get involved. Edmodo brings parents and teachers peace of mind. They know they can quickly and casually communicate with each other, even if it is just a quick "my child had a rough night" or "A is missing her orange folder this morning.",Can't think of any. Love the fact that I receive notifications and never miss anything sent out by the teacher!!,10,Edmodo has an amazing positive impact on my children's first years of school. It allows me to ask them relevant questions at the end of the day, share pictures of activities and field trips with them so they can tell me more about their days, and it also allows me to be in touch with the teacher, should the need arise!,
Unspecified
Edmodo
65 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Edmodo Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Edmodo
65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 65 vetted Edmodo reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Claire Cornell profile photo
February 09, 2019

Review: "Edmodo is great for elementary teaching"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an elementary teacher at a public charter school. I personally use Edmodo in my own classroom. I am not aware of anyone else in the building who uses it, but there may be other teachers who do. I mostly use it to post warm up questions and create student polls. It helps to save time and go paperless.
  • The platform is aesthetically pleasing. It is very similar to popular social media platforms.
  • It is great for formative assessment because you can give students immediate feedback on evaluations.
  • You can upload all kinds of files, making it easy for students to access information anywhere, anytime.
  • It would be helpful to have a chat window to interact with students directly.
  • The mobile version is not as good as the web version and has technical glitches, which students occasionally complain about.
  • The software occasionally runs slow, but hardly ever.
Edmodo is great for improving communications among students, teachers, and parents. It is a good one stop shop for anything related to managing a class via an online platform. Whether this means sharing files, giving assignment feedback, etc., it can do whatever you need. Occasions where it less appropriate are if you use a platform like Google Classroom instead, or have separate methods of doing all the functions that Edmodo does.
Read Claire Cornell's full review
Sarah Ciras Rousseau profile photo
January 31, 2019

User Review: "Edmodo Has Much to Offer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Edmodo both as an educator and as a student at the graduate level. It has been used at my school as an alternative classroom platform, allowing teachers some versatility. It is a platform suitable for sharing content and calendars. It allows students and teachers to be in touch in a more informal manner.
  • Has great Google integration, allowing the teacher to share files with students easily.
  • Has user created lesson plan sharing and integration, making education more open and accessible.
  • Edmodo helps keep everything in one central location for classrooms.
  • Edmodo's user interface can be a bit overwhelming and crowded.
  • Edmodo can be difficult to navigate.
  • It is difficult to customize, the platform is not very intuitive in this regard.
Edmodo is a great classroom management tool. It has a lot of quick and casual features that teachers can access multiple times a day to keep better data on where each student is individually. Things like polls and quizzes built in natively can help teachers track student progress in a formal manner.
Read Sarah Ciras Rousseau's full review
Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing profile photo
January 31, 2019

Review: "Edmodo - An all in one Educational Platform."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Edmodo for continuing medical education, for specialist physicians, resident physicians, nurses and medical students in an internship. This tool has been really useful, because, we have always looked forward to teaching and improving our workers' knowledge, and this way has been the most helpful way to check if what we have taught them has been learned. It also gives us the opportunity to give a follow up with the users.
  • The platform is simple and concrete. The Facebook like style, makes it easier to use and to get use to.
  • The tools available in this platform are amazing - scheduling a test, reminders, and having statistics of the grades of all students or users.
  • It has included Office 365 Online (for those who don't have the opportunity to buy a subscription or those that are in a hurry and want to do their work online).
  • You can create as many groups as you wish.
  • The set up is a little bit difficult.
  • The IP redirection for users in your institution can be something overwhelming.
Edmodo is well suited of course for educational institutions, and also for institutions that have continuing education programs, that want to have reliable proof of how users or students progress in their assigned work.
Read Alejandro Matheu, MD, MBA, MSc in Digital Marketing's full review
Ben Westby profile photo
January 30, 2019

User Review: "Edmodo to connect parents and students"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Edmodo in the intermediate level of grades 3-5. Older grade levels are using another program entirely. We are using Edmodo to connect with both students and parents over assignments and class scheduling.
  • Scheduling homework assignments is great.
  • Connecting with parents is very smooth.
  • Having multiple teachers to share a group of students is very easy to do.
  • Lots of competition. Many programs offer similar tasks or abilities, some that have better UI.
  • Not always the easiest to connect to my school server for uploading student information.
It is most suited for being in a classroom that has 1-1 tablets or computers for students to access their individual homework and schedule.
Read Ben Westby's full review
Laura Georgieff profile photo
January 30, 2019

Edmodo Review: "Amazing Tool at the Grade School Level Age"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is used by my children's teachers. It is the way we, as parents, stay in touch with the teacher throughout the day, receiving updates, photos, videos, but also real-time important reminders.
  • The ability to reach a teacher real-time, and for the teacher to reach parents real-time, is amazing. Not just useful, it can make a true difference in the day-to-day school experience of our children.
  • Edmodo definitely engages the parents in their children's education by keeping them involved and interested in what is going on in the classroom, where most parents usually don't get involved.
  • Edmodo brings parents and teachers peace of mind. They know they can quickly and casually communicate with each other, even if it is just a quick "my child had a rough night" or "A is missing her orange folder this morning."
  • Can't think of any. Love the fact that I receive notifications and never miss anything sent out by the teacher!!
Edmodo is an amazing tool for elementary-grade teachers, when parents need and want to be involved, and the teacher wants to engage the parents in her students' experience.
Read Laura Georgieff's full review
Lee Kolbert profile photo
January 30, 2019

Edmodo Review: "Great Use of Social Learning"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo allows our classrooms to engage in a safe and secure social network. Teachers use it for posting assignments and class discussions. It is especially useful for students who are absent, as they can still participate, collaborate, and engage with their peers and their teachers.
  • Edmodo allows teachers to control who has access to the materials. This ensures the instructional environment is protected from anonymous users or others outside the classroom with no valid interest.
  • Edmodo offers features that can be found in other "walled garden" classroom social network services. For example, Google Classroom functions very similarly.
Edmodo is best suited in grades 5-8. High schoolers are less likely to engage in a "walled garden" social network given their robust experience with more mainstream products such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.
Read Lee Kolbert's full review
No photo available
February 07, 2019

Review: "Edmodo - great collaboration and communication tool for Education!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo was used by our entire school as well as other Charter Schools. It is used to communicate with parents, students, and other educators.
  • It is a very good way for students to communicate with their teachers and vice versa.
  • It can be used to quickly get information out to all parents.
  • It's a great tool for collaboration between instructors in the school as well as between schools.
  • The mobile version does not always log in quickly.
  • The mobile version isn't as easy to navigate.
  • The mobile version could use a better interface.
I honestly can't think of an educational setting that would not benefit from Edmodo. Edmodo is really safe and reliable software. It is really easy to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2019

User Review: "Edmodo - Outdated and Unattractive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My students are in the Wonder League Robotics Competition (WLRC). The organizers of the competition require teacher participants to use Edmodo to stay abreast of program changes and to obtain help regarding submissions and the robot performance. Edmodo is in place due to the requirements of an outside vendor, so it is only used by two people in my organization as far as I know. Edmodo allows me to network with other WLRC participants and the WLRC organizers to ensure the students are meeting the complex requirements set by the WLRC as they evolve.
  • Seeing updates given by the organization.
  • Finding out the concerns of other participants.
  • Accessing help from competition organizers.
  • Searching for specific Edmodo "courses" is very cumbersome.
  • I would like the ability to have multimedia play directly on the platform.
Edmodo is good for basic dissemination of information to users. The interface is not very attractive. It also is not robust for sharing information beyond text and simple documents. Since the search function is cumbersome it isn't appropriate for finding information quickly. Google Classroom is much more user friendly so I would suggest that instead of Edmodo.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

Edmodo Review: "A Great Social Platform to learn and grow together."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo helps to design the flow of a virtual classroom.
If you want to have an online classroom for multiple peers with the same taste to collaborate.
Multiple students can register for the same class and share notes, assignments, and evaluate themselves with the testing functionalities provided.
In the end, you can see how much you improved and how you stand amongst your peers for the same evaluation criteria.
  • Simplicity - The tool is pretty simple to use
  • Data Integrity Constraints - The data access can be provided based on various constraints.
  • Feedback - You can also get feedback for the notes.
  • UI - The UI seems a bit outdated and should be worked upon.
  • Chat - There could be a chat option to allow peers to communicate instantly.
  • Ads - Lots of ads.
Well Suited in the following aspects -
Need to organize a classroom of people having the same courses, who need to practice online with peers.
The group needs to evaluate themselves based on the same test.
The group needs to share resources and want to keep things organized for one set of learning (i.e. classroom/Subject)

Less appropriate for -
Instant help/Feedback
One-on-one Tutoring
Read this authenticated review
Susanne Lang profile photo
March 30, 2018

Edmodo Review: "Perfect software for teachers and students. Create your own school!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Edmodo by myself. In my free time, after my work is done in my company, I am working as a teacher. I always go meet my students in places but then I met Edmodo. Now, thanks to Edmodo, I do not have to go out with my students because we started to use Edmodo and it is an easy way for us to give courses and get courses. Edmodo is reliable and safe product for both students and teachers and it is easy to use.
  • Edmodo provides users to create their own classes. This is a perfect and strong side of Edmodo for me.
  • Edmodo is really safe and a reliable software for anyone like teachers, students and even for parents.
  • Easy to use. Edmodo is basic and similar to much other software used by people like Facebook.
  • Edmodo does not have a good interface when you connect it. The background is not making people get excited.
  • The functionality of Edmodo is quite okay I can not say anything about features and what the product provides you.
  • I want to highlight the mobile version of Edmodo at this point. The Mobile version is not working properly as much as the website version. It needs some work and improvements.
I am using another application software like Edmodo. The difference between them is when Edmodo is updating. The update is fast which is the best side of Edmodo. Also, when you are using Edmodo and you have so many students and classes, sometimes you get confused. The ability to connect with other educators and sharing experiences by talking to them is great.
Read Susanne Lang's full review
Gore Abdulov profile photo
November 30, 2017

Edmodo Review: "It will make your work more easier."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is being used in our courses, especially by teachers. We are working with students and staff members. And I particularly use Edmodo for training for the staff members and creating online classrooms for my students. Edmodo makes my job easier, it turns our entire organization into a paperless one. And the best thing is that you can use its perfect tools for unlimited projects and groups.
  • Unlimited access
  • Simple to use
  • Flexible interface
  • Friendly customer service
  • Perfect Design
  • File supporting- extra features would be great
  • Real-time grading
  • Comment section need improvements
Well, Edmodo is the best e-learning platform. Even you do not have to meet your audience face to face. And there are tons of free courses in different subjects. Now everyone can join them easily and increase their general knowledge or in specific subjects. I am individually using Edmodo for creating groups for my students and our staff members. There are plenty of tools for doing different kinds of work. If you are working with pupils, then you can add their parents to the group and they can only view their child's grades. You can create assignments for your members and you can grade them using Edmodo.
Read Gore Abdulov's full review
Barbara Johnson profile photo
January 26, 2018

Edmodo Review: "Great e-learning program ever !"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working hard already and also I am teaching my students about project management and marketing. I was looking for some software and I discovered Edmodo. it is really helping me with long distance exams and evaluation. Generally, I am coming home after work and opening my computer and starting to give education to my students whenever I want and wherever I go, this is a great opportunity for me without going to my students home and they do not have to come to my home. Thanks to Edmodo my life is easier.
  • It is very similar to Facebook in layout so you can learn about Edmodo fast.
  • It is asy to make assignments, homework and grades and comments to students.
  • The most important thing for me is that Edmodo is really reliable and safe software for anyone.
  • The compatibility of the application should be improved for smartphones.
  • Customer service should be improved as well, takes a long time to reach customer support.
  • Edmodo needs more marketing and multi-language support.
At some point If you are a teacher you can not reach out to all of your students, for instance, I have 15 students and it is really hard to look after all of them but with Edmodo, the impossible is becoming possible. You can teach anything to all students with this software. At some point most of the parents do not like having to sign up for service, even it is free for them and this situation makes the teacher sad because we want parents to see their children getting a quality education.
Read Barbara Johnson's full review
Malwina Sawicka profile photo
December 08, 2017

Review: "Edmodo leads you transfer to paperless mode."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is a perfect online platform for education. As a trainer, I can say that you can't find something like that. Edmodo provides great tools for teachers and people who need one space for collaborate with his/her audience. You can add other viewers, for example, if you are working with minors you can add their parents to the group.
  • It does not require any steps for setup. Just a few clicks and you are ready.
  • So simple to Use
  • Customer Service is perfect
  • Integration with Google Drive
  • Mobile version
  • Adds are annoying
  • More complex grading methods would be perfect
I am working with adults and students. The online grading feature is perfect, you can see who finished their papers or who didn't. And of course it's working with Google Drive and that means it does not require any downloads. Joining any group is so simple, you can add a new member by using their email or they individually join by using group code. I am a trainer and modern education systems require more mobility and flexibility. All of them is included in Edmodo, everything in one place. It helped me to transfer to a paperless mode for my job. I usually work with the web version of Edmodo, but sometimes I need to check my stuff quickly, with the mobile version. But I don't like it as much, It is not working well as the web version. I think they have to do some improvements on that side.
Read Malwina Sawicka's full review
Sudi Stodola profile photo
September 25, 2015

Edmodo Review: "A great way to hybridize your classroom"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many teachers in our organization use Edmodo in the classroom, but we also have schools and committees that are using Edmodo for their professional learning communities. We have found Edmodo useful in a large school district like ours, as it allows many of our teachers who are alone in their buildings, like Librarians, Art and Music teachers, and PE teachers, to asynchronously communicate with each other about best practices, share lesson plans, and have a stronger sense of team.
  • Edmodo syncs with my Google Drive, making the sharing of assignments, handouts, pictures, and videos incredibly easy. Because I can store often-used materials in my Edmodo library, I can find them easily for the next time I am working on that unit.
  • The quizzes are easy to set up and they can be used again, so if I need to do a check for understanding on a particular topic in multiple classrooms, or use the same baseline data collection quiz for more than one semester, I need only create the quiz once.
  • The calendar feature for Edmodo allows me to plan my lessons days, even weeks ahead. I can keep assignments hidden until the day I plan to teach them, and if I need extra time for a lesson within a unit, adjusting the due dates is a simple drag-and-drop operation.
  • One of the features that my students and I were upset to lose was the Tagging option for assignments. When I used the Tags to mark a Unit, students who had missed a significant amount of school could search for the appropriate tag (say, Unit 2 Persuasive) to find the assignments and materials easily. Having to scroll down through the news feed was time-consuming and cumbersome, and students were unable to locate lecture notes by clicking on the calendar, so without the tags, locating missed assignments was frustrating.
  • I don't mind making my own badges, but I wish there were an easy-to-find location where I could find badges created by other teachers so I could borrow them for my own classes.
I find Edmodo to be especially suited to secondary school. It is a great way to accommodate the busy schedules of teens who are often working their first jobs or attending sports and have limited time for homework, but can benefit from looking up assignments or receiving reminders on their phones. It also prepares them for college in that it resembles many collegiate LMS systems.
Read Sudi Stodola's full review
Brandon Rainbeau profile photo
September 23, 2015

Review: "How the Edmodo LMS can expand your teaching horizon"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is or was used by many different teachers in various departments across the two high schools I have worked at. Some teachers I found simply used Edmodo as a means to communicate with parents. I found that the vast majority of teachers used Edmodo as their class website, a place where they could upload their course content. A few teachers, myself included, used some of the more advanced Edmodo features, such as their polling, online testing, online assignment submitting/grading, and video sharing features.
  • Edmodo is an excellent communication tool. Its Facebook style of posts makes it a familiar environment for teachers to communicate what's happening in class with both students and parents.
  • Edmodo's ability to submit and grade assignments online is easy to use and very similar to some other popular LMS platforms. Assignment collection is straightforward and the digital grading tools are simple and effective.
  • Edmodo makes it extremely easy to get both students and parents into the the LMS system. Edmodo also has an easy to use subgrouping feature as well, allowing teachers to divide individual classrooms into smaller groups for particular assignments.
  • Edmodo's online testing feature is fairly easy to use. I have found this a useful feature for both informal and formal assessment of students.
  • Edmodo's polling feature is simple and effective. There are many uses for polling both in and out of the classroom.
  • Edmodo's messaging feature is a nice way to communicate between student and teacher or parent and teacher.
  • Edmodo's app (Android or iOS), although not as feature rich as the website, works well with many of the features already listed above.
  • Edmodo has a very nice Calendar feature, allowing the teacher to easily post important information and/or due dates of assignments.
  • Edmodo makes it easy to share folders, either with the public or with your classes.
  • Edmodo, like many other popular LMS platforms, integrates nicely with Google Drive.
  • Edmodo has a great many community forums. This really is an amazing feature of their LMS. It is so very easy to connect with other teachers and bounce ideas off of each other.
  • Although Edmodo has a nice online assessment feature, it lacks in critical areas. It is difficult to attach diagrams or charts to questions. This can be done, but they are displayed in a module which pops up in front of the question. This thus hides the questions when looking at the diagram, picture, etc.
  • Questions can be randomized in Edmodo when students take an assessment, which is a nice feature. Answer choices, however, cannot be randomized.
  • Edmodo could use a much better WYSIWYG editor. It can be difficult to incorporate equations or subscript for instance.
  • The analytical data offered in assessments is decent, but it would be good if the following was added: it would be good to see which answers where most commonly missed by students; it would be good if more class data was given, such as average, median, low scores.
  • Other LMS platforms do a much nicer job of incorporating these feature directly into the question.
  • You are unable to add attachments to Calendar postings. This would be a very useful feature.
  • Updates can get lost after a while, and are difficult to search for. Once you have a large numbers of postings, finding older postings, which very well could be assignments or assessments, can be tedious for both students and parents. Even with using the built in filter feature, this is certainly an area I could see improvement being made.
  • Although Edmodo has a nice Folder feature to store your materials as a teacher, it is painstaking to use once you have a large number of items in a folder. The drop and drag feature is slow, and doesn't always stick. There is no subfolder feature as well. So, although you can organize materials, other LMS platforms make it much easier to organize and share you materials with students, parents, and other colleagues.
I would say that Edmodo is very feature rich and a great website and communication tool for teachers to use. However, I would inquire as to whether someone looking at LMS platforms is looking for just those features or something more comprehensive. For all the positives I could say about Edmodo, I really don't believe it fills the role of a true LMS system. It has a very familiar interface (Facebook-like) and it is super easy to get started as a teacher, student, or parent. It allows for great communication and it is easy to share resources. However, if you wanted to develop a true online course, or even a blended course for that matter, other LMS platforms make this easier and have more developed tools than does Edmodo.
Read Brandon Rainbeau's full review
Hershey Groff profile photo
September 18, 2015

User Review: "A Look Inside Edmodo"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is being used to connect students, parents, and the community with teachers and administrators in their schools. It allows teachers to upload text messages, digital content, class schedules, digital assignments, and use align educational applications. Additionally, it allows teachers to collaborate and share materials as well as providing the opportunity for classes to connect to other schools from around the world to share ideas and content. It is used in our district on a teacher by teacher basis and is up to the discretion of the teacher on whether or not to incorporate it in their particular classes. When used correctly it allows teachers to have instant access to their students outside the classroom and encourages student-teacher collaboration and class engagement.
  • Removes the physical barriers of the classroom and allows learning to continue beyond the confines of the school.
  • Allows students to access class files and missed work so no student can fall too far behind.
  • Provides an opportunity to be utilized in a flipped classroom.
  • Teachers can connect with other teachers to share lessons, student work, and teaching tools.
  • Google Classroom is more stream lined, offers students the same functions as Edmodo, and is preferred among majority of students.
  • Students are often locked out of their classrooms after 14 days, forget passwords, and have trouble finding class folders.
  • Edmodo's platform has been relatively unchanged for the past several years and students seem to want to try newer applications and technologies.
It is well suited for use in high schools where students have smart phones and can utilize functions such as push notifications about updates and schedule changes. It has also been very beneficial in using it to connect sports coaches to their players (often who they do not teach or see during the regular school day) and for club advisers to communicate with its members. Keeping parents informed of class activities and assignments is another area where Edmodo excels in its application and usage. I'm not sure if it would be as well suited for any use outside of educational purposes as it is geared for use in the classroom.
Read Hershey Groff's full review
Hillary Marshall profile photo
September 15, 2015

Review: "Edmodo tops the Classroom Management tool list! Check it out for your Middle School students!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a middle school library Media Specialist, our private, international school in Seoul choose to use Edmodo as a classroom management tool. We found the interface easy to use with students and although it took parents some time to catch on, it ended up being a useful tool. I especially liked how you could create a quiz and Edmodo would grade it immediately for you. It made for a quick assessment check for understanding with my students. Also, it was a platform students could help their peers with too, yet we could monitor their discussion and make sure that it was educationally appropriate.
  • Running posts dialogue: Helps students answer each other's questions. Helps the teacher see where the mis-understanding happened in instruction.
  • Quiz feature: Creating and immediately graded feedback is helpful for the teacher in time management and provides students with instantaneous information.
  • Interface is really user friendly. Very similar to Facebook and many of our younger middle school students weren't age appropriate for a Facebook account yet.
  • Easier connection for parents. They get lost in the steps of signing up and monitoring.
  • A more mature interface would be appropriate if you were trying to market high school aged students.
  • It would be interesting to allow principals to add comments and participate by seeing the results of the entire department. For example, is there statistical information on the 6th grade English department's use of the Edmodo license?
The key question is who is your audience using this product. And, what is your main purpose in wanting this classroom management platform to perform? Is the audience is an upper elementary (grade 4 or 5) and/or middle school (6th and 7th) classroom, grade level, or school? I think this is an excellent platform. If you are wanting a way to deliver digital content (assignments, teaching information, assessments) and communicate effectively with parents, this is the tool to do that work.
Read Hillary Marshall's full review
Kat Crawford profile photo
September 15, 2015

User Review: "Edmodo: Get Personal-ized!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Edmodo to maintain a personal learning network of teachers virtually. These are teachers who work in very isolated schools and really benefit from the virtual connection that Edmodo provides. We also assist these teachers as they set up Edmodo in their classrooms. We help them backward design their student's Edmodo experience. We believe that Edmodo has the safest and most secure LMS platform available to teachers. The best part about working with Edmodo is the connection that we have with the company themselves. After meeting them at a conference, I was able to foster a partnership with them and they are very responsive to tech support and participating in our Edmodo training sessions. Edmodo is growing, they take teacher's input and spit out great new products that really enhance the user's experience. I test out each LMS that enters the market and in the past five years, nothing has come close to the experience that teachers and students have on Edmodo.
  • Safety and security
  • Engaging students
  • Offers personalized learning
  • Search functions
  • Upload formats
  • Customization of graphics and colors with groups
Edmodo works best when students can have 1:1 access, even if it is in a rotational setting.
Read Kat Crawford's full review
Randy Fairfield profile photo
September 30, 2015

User Review: "Buck the status quo: switch to Edmodo"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Edmodo as a way to enhance (not replace) the experiences that parents and students have with what I would already normally be doing in my classroom. I teach in a setting where I only see my students a few times a week, so being able to communicate with them while working from home has been essential. Posting assignments on Edmodo gives students a chance to see written reminders of directions and due dates that I've stated orally. Putting assignments online also gives me the chance to attach files, link websites, and allow students to learn 21st Century skills all while saving paper and ink. Posting my learning targets, success criteria, and assignments for parents and missing students to see creates transparency and helps absent students get caught up. I never have to worry about losing an assignment... and it's helpful to have saved and organized digital copies of assignments that my students turn in. Sometimes I'll be able to have conversations with students through Edmodo that would be uncomfortable for students to initiate. Linked parent accounts create total transparency and trust regarding such conversations. I completed my Master's thesis on the topic of using Edmodo in an alternative learning environment and the results were overwhelmingly positive. Teachers, once you go to Edmodo, you won't go back!
  • Communicating with students and parents.
  • Gradebook that allows students and parents to constantly monitor student progress.
  • The social learning environment is awesome! Sometimes students help each other before I need to even get involved.
  • Transparency.
  • Automated grading of quizzes.
  • The lack of weighted grading features has frustrated some of my colleagues.
  • The inability for parents to engage in any two-way communication has frustrated some.
  • The "fill-in-blank" feature of the quizzes is only useful if you're checking for the exact word and spelling that ought to go in the blank.
If you're working in a high poverty area where students are less likely to have access to technology at home and/or at school, equity of access could be an issue.
Read Randy Fairfield's full review
Ms.Gabriela Ackert profile photo
September 18, 2015

Edmodo Review: "Best online platform ever!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Edmodo as a hybrid class with my seventh grade Spanish students. My class is paperless thanks to Edmodo. Students submit assignments, quizzes and projects online through Edmodo. I can grade them and offer individualized feedback to them as well. Parents have access codes to monitor their children's progress in class. Students collaborate, and participate on forums and online discussions on Edmodo. Most teachers in my school district use it.
  • Teachers can monitor students online easily due to an Edmodo feauture that allows educators to have full control over what is posted online.
  • Edmodo allows students to sync Google docs through the "backpack" feature.
  • Edmodo is user friendly.
  • Edmodo is a safe online educational platform for teachers and students.
  • Edmodo connects educators across the globe.
  • I would like to be able to classify my homework into marking periods, as of now all grades appear as assignments were posted, pethaps give us a feature that allows the teacher to divide into marking periods, semesters, quarters etc.
Read Ms.Gabriela Ackert's full review
Jessica Groff profile photo
September 16, 2015

User Review: "Test the Waters with Edmodo"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Many teachers at our school use or have used Edmodo as a method for organizing information and maintaining communication for and with students. Recently, students began utilizing Edmodo as a communication tool to form groups and send out notifications for school and even social events. Teachers have also used Edmodo for collaboration and professional development purposes.
  • Edmodo is a great tool for communication. You can easily send out alerts and assignments to all users.
  • Edmodo is also great for forming groups outside of the classroom. If you have a study group, you can post comments and materials for easy access.
  • Edmodo also has a calendar option that quickly organizes upcoming assignments.
  • Edmodo is a stand-alone app - meaning you have to use other resources for posts or collaborative folders to share information and documents.
  • Edmodo also has no back-channel, which for some is a good thing, but in districts that use filters for language, it is good to have students be able to communicate through something other than a public forum.
  • Student's have to have a code and remember passwords to get into classes, and teachers can change passwords. While this sounds great, kids often forget their passwords and use the teacher as a crutch, which means you spend a LOT of time changing passwords!
Edmodo is a free online tool, and it can be used in a variety of ways for teachers. It is not only a place to gather student information, you can also find help forums for different topics that you are teaching about, as well as materials for implementing CCSS and PARCC. If your district is slowly moving to a BYOD policy, and has not yet purchased a unifying program for your district, Edmodo is a great option to start your journey into Ed Tech.
Read Jessica Groff's full review
Audrey Thornborrow profile photo
August 19, 2015

"Edmodo Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo has been such a wonderful tool for my classroom. It has simplified tasks, aided communication with and between students outside of school, and encouraged participation and accessibility to students. I utilize Edmodo to send mass messages to students over the weekend and on snow days. Students use it to contact me or their peers after school hours when they need assistance with homework. I've utilized the quiz and gradebook to help ease my grading workload. I've even used it to create forums for shy students to participate in an online discussion so they can earn points for participation. In addition the the help Edmodo has brought to me and my students with classroom tasks, it has opened up a network of teachers with whom I can communicate and share material. I greatly appreciate the online community of teachers from whom I've been able to get resources and assistance. I am greatful for Edmodo and the way it's helped me be a more connected educator.
  • Networking--you have access to other teachers all around the world
  • Grading--easy access to the gradebook. You can easily create quizzes that can be graded for you
  • Participation--my shy students love this tool. They can share their thoughts and ideas in private without being forced to speak in front of the class
  • Communication--I can contact students and they can contact me or each other whenever they have questions after school hours.
  • Better search options for resources
It's well suited for organization, creativity, participation, communication, simplification, and increasing connectivity with teachers.
Read Audrey Thornborrow's full review
Darcy Calvillo profile photo
April 08, 2015

User Review: "EDMODO focuses on a win/win for all!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Edmodo is used to engage students and allows for student to use it in the classroom, on portable devices, at home and on the go. I develop lessons and Implement them via CCSS standards. Information is recorded and progress assists me in easily establishing grading, popular assignments, areas of reteaching and a high level of communications amongst, teachers, students, administrators, parents and remote monitoring agencies, I.E. partners or vendors. Vendors are those service providers that provide applications or academic resources used in teaching.
  • Wonderful communications tool to help a teacher to plan!
  • Wonderful student engagement.
  • Fantastic time savings for teachers who can have more time to help individual students rather than talk too much in classrooms.
  • Great for collaboration of tests or assignments amongst sharing teachers.
  • Easy to create surveys for students and teachers to evaluate needs.
  • The test pages should allow for documents like short stories to be accessed so an exam does not have too much information, confusing students.
  • It used to be easier to send assignments back to students to re-do, now you have to give a low grade and hope the student sees the grade and re-does thier work.
I see EDMODO as a tool that can elliminate textbooks. As long as you use Standard stories, tried and true, you will have no issues. Edmodo does a great job of chunking and allowing the students to take better ownership of work and helps them organize as well.
Read Darcy Calvillo's full review
Matt Turney profile photo
September 18, 2015

"Edmodo Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I initially implemented Edmodo to provide a flipped learning environment. The advantages were staggering. The opportunity for students to have access to our class 24/7 via Edmodo alleviated any problems with students being out for absences or extracurricular [activities].
  • 24/7 online access for students to submit work and communicate with the teacher.
  • 24/7 access for parents to access student work and look for missing assignments.
  • Collaboration was a pleasant surprise.
  • Peer to Peer collaberation
  • Mobile device application
  • Ipad web interface.
Read Matt Turney's full review
Tamara Letter profile photo
November 28, 2014

User Review: "Edmodo for Education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Edmodo is a fantastic program that provides a means for communication and collaboration in several different facets, within select departments. Currently, we are not using Edmodo for cross-district purposes; however, this does not minimize the instructional impact this program has had for the teachers who use it within their own classrooms. Edmodo provides an easy-to-use interface for student use and includes a large quantity of online storage space for assignments and resources. Students can access Edmodo from any web-enabled device, allowing communication and collaboration to occur beyond traditional school hours.
  • Edmodo has an easy-to-use, appealing graphic design that puts even the most tech-resistant user at ease.
  • Edmodo's assessment features such as quizzes and polls allow users to gain data in a quick, meaningful format that includes individualized tracking and group graphics.
  • Edmodo provides a means of motivation for student users through the awarding of badges.
  • Edmodo's personal app store allows students who do not have access to a mobile device the opportunity to participate in various programs and activities otherwise inaccessible.
  • Edmodo provides an excellent source of professional resources as users can connect with other users and groups who have a shared interest.
  • As Edmodo expands from a teacher/student use, it would be great to see common options such as badges offered for teacher/teacher use.
  • The new view of Edmodo provides generic avatars, replacing unique clip art options. While this does help to streamline the overall view of the website, students enjoyed having the opportunity to select a personalized avatar that reflected their own interests.
  • Uploading documents to the Edmodo library is quick and seamless. The downloading and transfer process is a bit more cumbersome.
Edmodo is an excellent tool for educators who are looking to increase online communication and collaboration among each other and with their students. Prospects would be best advised to seek out the Edmodo District Admin if looking to gain more information about how Edmodo is or could be used in a school district.
Read Tamara Letter's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Course authoring (6)
7.5
Course catalog or library (6)
6.8
Player/Portal (7)
6.9
Learning content (8)
6.5
Mobile friendly (9)
6.8
Progress tracking & certifications (6)
7.8
Assignments (7)
8.1
Compliance management (3)
6.0
Learning administration (6)
7.0
Learning reporting & analytics (7)
7.1
Social learning (8)
7.6

About Edmodo

Categories:  Learning Management

Edmodo Competitors