TrustRadius
Ektron is a Web Content Management System. It has been focused on mid-market accounts but is now starting to attract more enterprise customers. The product has a very comprehensive set of connectors to CRMs and web analytics products. It is built on a .NET platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ne/8T/A2D2R5H8Z6RP.JPEGEktron CMS400: Great Bang for the BuckWe use Ektron CMS400 for our organization's public-facing web site. It it used across the entire organization. Sometimes we use it for limited B2B and intranet purposes. As a smaller institution of higher education, financial resources are always a concern. Ektron CMS400 provides a wealth of power, flexibility, and features for an affordable price vs. the competition. Great bang for the buck. It addresses our business need for a central web content management system, including versioning, workflow, and permissions.,From a developer perspective, Ektron CMS400 is powerful and flexible. All the features and functionality of the system are accessible to the developer through a well documented API. The system has had great backwards compatibility through numerous upgrade cycles. Security patches have been problem-free. Ektron CMS400 is great for working with structured data. I feel this is a key strength. It is simple to build smart forms for authoring content with structured data. The data is then available in XML format as individual items or collections of items, and may be displayed or applied as desired.,The evolution of the product has focused on architecture and functionality that is of value in large distributed installations, but less so for smaller 1 or 2 server implementations. Development of the back end authoring and administrative interface has lagged. It has received a cosmetic face lift over the years, but has received little attention in regards to ease-of-use and usability. To some degree, it has poor discoverability with many idiosyncratic UI conventions. Our authors complain about learning and retaining the knowledge for using the authoring interface. In Ektron's usage model, it is a skilled role. We would prefer the authoring be more intuitive. I don't feel Ektron necessarily lags behind the competition in this area, but there is lots of room for improvement and differentiation here if they chose to make this a priority.,6,Ektron CMS400 has helped us to improve web publication speed, especially with forms. The system has helped improve departmental content ownership and content maintenance. Ektron has definitely helped us provide better customer service through fresher content, conversion of paper forms to web forms, and publishing of rich media assets.,Percussion CMS,Cascade Server,Drupal,WordPress,Sharepoint,Developer,1,000-10,000 pages,Implemented in-house,Smart forms and handling structured content are a key strength of the system. Ektron's developer API is powerful and comprehensive. Web forms are easy for author to implement.,Authoring interface is not always intuitive, has a learning curve, and it remains difficult to insulate non-technical users from needing to know some HTML and CSS. For authors, there is a confusing paradigm in the back end between two different types of content repositories. Although web forms are easy for authors to implement, there are some idiosyncrasies in how submitted form data is handled in the back end. For instance, a submitted email form will never complete if there is an issue with connecting to the mail server. This should be asynchronous, and not the site visitor's problem.,No,5Not quite the worst CMS but close.The Ektron CMS is being used by the website stake holders. As most know who work in a corporate setting, the company website is managed by Marketing. The so-called business problem the CMS addresses is the elusive, “we would like to update content on the site ourselves…” syndrome that many website owners/managers suffer from. The theory is that a CMS will eliminate the expense and often times – several days or more lead time that a busy web master may require to add or change content. After all if that one word in the third paragraph of a product description isn’t bolded immediately the universe will end, therefore causing the company to go under.,The main strength of the Ektron CMS is that yes indeed, after very expensive training, non-technical users will be able to add and update website content. Ektron makes it easy to manage users and content once you become an expert at it after extensive and costly training plus plenty of experience using it day to day. The CMS is built on the .NET Framework therefore easy to modify and extend by an experienced asp.net developer. After training of course. There is also plenty of free code contributed by other developers – some may actually be useful for your particular situation.,The first and greatest weakness is the price. More accurately the over-price. Software that requires a hard sell by a sales person is universally expensive. Ektron doesn’t have prices published on its website. Everything is simply "contact us for more information". Unless you have monster servers even for a low traffic site, the bloated Ektron software will be obvious by the slow page loads. The only CMS worse than Ektron is SiteCore.,1,It has done nothing except cost us a lot of money.,,Developer,10-100 pages,Implemented in-houseAllows marketing to publish updates continuously throughout the day, especially during the busy ski season.Ektron CMS is used by our IT and Marketing Departments to provide a content management system for our website, www.wintergreenresort.com. We needed a content management system that would allow the marketing department to make daily updates to the website quickly and easily on their own without involving IT. Our Marketing Department loves Ektron CMS because it enables them to do just that. As the web developer, I am responsible for installing and configuring Ektron, setting up the site synchronizations, and overall technical support. In the five years that we have been using Ektron CMS, I can say that the product has been robust and reliable. Our site is fast and reliable, and updates to it can be easily made by non-technical people. What's not to love about Ektron CMS!,Ektron CMS is reliable and performs well. Outages are extremely rare, and the site is fast. The Ektron CMS content editor is easy to use, and updates can be made by non-technical people. The Ektron site synchronization process allows us to automatically publish updates every 30 minutes. This is very important to the resort's marketing efforts during the busy ski season. This is straight from the marketing department: 'Ektron CMS is user friendly for non-technical people, and it allows us to be more effective in our marketing efforts.,It is difficult to apply custom css styles to Ektron server controls. The product documentation can be confusing. The annual licensing fee is reasonable, but the start up cost is high, and some of the other resorts balk at the high price tag.,9,The marketing department can publish updates quickly and easily, and this to keeps our members and guests up-to-date, especially during the busy ski season.,Developer,100-1,000 pagesEktron CMS : An Eye on the FutureWe use Ektron for our main website as a content publishing tool which integrats with our enrollment system as weel as course and programs catalog. In addition we use Ektron's smart form to develop online applications.it functions as a document repository for digital assets for public access, customer and internal access. Ektron has proven to be a rebost tool for editing and updating online content as well as providing an easy to use publishing workflow.,Ektron smart orm is a very powerful and easy to use tool which can be updated by content editors and leveraged by developers using XSLT or code behind classes Ektron Framework API provides developers with the right tools to extend and enrich the website's functionality. Publishing workflow Ektron's publishing and approval workflows allow multiple content editors to easily collaborate on updating a single content item in tandem. Site administrator to create approval workflows which integrate with the organization's business logic and hierarchy. eSync Tool Ektron's eSync tool allows for synchronization of content and application files of multiple environments, making migration of changes a seamless process.,Subdomains - Native support for multiple subdomains under one Ektron site,8,Ektron's easy publishing management features have allowed to publish content more efficiently and of higher quality Ektron allowed us to integrate information from our ERP and CRM systems which benefits our business goals.,,9,Professional services company,10,9Ektron system serves non-profitEktron CMS serves as the platform for seven of the organization's websites. The sites include a main, general organization identity website, and six smaller sites that support annual events and special interest campaigns. Sites are administered and updated by marketing staff, and a few other line department staff within the organization. The organization adopted Ektron CMS (at version 4) because it was cost-effective, and relatively easy to set up and manage.,The system has been very stable and dependable - up-time has been nearly 100%. Content editing is relatively simple and flexible, and it's easy to include images and video in page layouts. In user management, security and permissions are flexible and easy to administer. Content approval chains are simple to set up. The system includes advanced features such as manual or rule-based content aliasing, widget-based page layout, blogging, content rating, and integrated analytics. Ektron support staff are prompt and helpful when we encounter problems. Unlimited support is offered to licensees. The system integrates seamlessly with our organization's customer management system for e-commerce.,Content editing has become challenging as new browser versions are released. Some operations of the content editor in v8.6 are unstable with recent versions of IE, Firefox and Chrome, and can cause loss of work if the user is not careful. We hope this will be addressed in the next upgrade. Only other option would be to lock down browser upgrades in our shop, but that doesn't seem safe. The upgrade process has become more difficult with each new version. We used to perform upgrades and any needed cleanup in-house, but Ektron now recommends having this work done by a partner re-seller, adding significant cost. Site search was based on index-server until v8.0. It was simple to set up, very reliable and met all our needs. Newer versions are much more complex to setup and require more resources.,8,The system was simple enough to be set up and maintained by in-house staff. The initial purchase cost was much lower than competing systems. System use is reasonably intuitive - it is relatively easy to train new staff and for them to become productive.,RedPoint Data Management,Weblink,9,1,9,Professional services company,10
Unspecified
Ektron Web Content Management System
47 Ratings
Score 5.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Ektron Reviews

Ektron
47 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 5.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 47 vetted Ektron reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 26)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
John Shea profile photo
November 11, 2015

User Review: "Ektron CMS400: Great Bang for the Buck"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron CMS400 for our organization's public-facing web site. It it used across the entire organization. Sometimes we use it for limited B2B and intranet purposes. As a smaller institution of higher education, financial resources are always a concern. Ektron CMS400 provides a wealth of power, flexibility, and features for an affordable price vs. the competition. Great bang for the buck. It addresses our business need for a central web content management system, including versioning, workflow, and permissions.
  • From a developer perspective, Ektron CMS400 is powerful and flexible. All the features and functionality of the system are accessible to the developer through a well documented API.
  • The system has had great backwards compatibility through numerous upgrade cycles. Security patches have been problem-free.
  • Ektron CMS400 is great for working with structured data. I feel this is a key strength. It is simple to build smart forms for authoring content with structured data. The data is then available in XML format as individual items or collections of items, and may be displayed or applied as desired.
  • The evolution of the product has focused on architecture and functionality that is of value in large distributed installations, but less so for smaller 1 or 2 server implementations.
  • Development of the back end authoring and administrative interface has lagged. It has received a cosmetic face lift over the years, but has received little attention in regards to ease-of-use and usability. To some degree, it has poor discoverability with many idiosyncratic UI conventions.
  • Our authors complain about learning and retaining the knowledge for using the authoring interface. In Ektron's usage model, it is a skilled role. We would prefer the authoring be more intuitive. I don't feel Ektron necessarily lags behind the competition in this area, but there is lots of room for improvement and differentiation here if they chose to make this a priority.
I think Ektron is good for enterprise use where bang for the buck is a priority and there is a commitment to having an on-staff web team: developer, cms administrator, and lead author (at a minimum). For small organization use, I question if it is the best value in terms of staffing required and overkill of functionality; open-source options may be a better fit in this case. Ektron is great when there is lots of structured content that needs to be managed, displayed, and/or repurposed. If you are working with mostly free-form content, and at a smaller organization, I think there are other better options.
Read John Shea's full review
Duane Da`Vein profile photo
December 23, 2015

Ektron Review: "Not quite the worst CMS but close."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Ektron CMS is being used by the website stake holders. As most know who work in a corporate setting, the company website is managed by Marketing. The so-called business problem the CMS addresses is the elusive, “we would like to update content on the site ourselves…” syndrome that many website owners/managers suffer from. The theory is that a CMS will eliminate the expense and often times – several days or more lead time that a busy web master may require to add or change content. After all if that one word in the third paragraph of a product description isn’t bolded immediately the universe will end, therefore causing the company to go under.
  • The main strength of the Ektron CMS is that yes indeed, after very expensive training, non-technical users will be able to add and update website content.
  • Ektron makes it easy to manage users and content once you become an expert at it after extensive and costly training plus plenty of experience using it day to day.
  • The CMS is built on the .NET Framework therefore easy to modify and extend by an experienced asp.net developer. After training of course. There is also plenty of free code contributed by other developers – some may actually be useful for your particular situation.
  • The first and greatest weakness is the price. More accurately the over-price. Software that requires a hard sell by a sales person is universally expensive. Ektron doesn’t have prices published on its website. Everything is simply "contact us for more information".
  • Unless you have monster servers even for a low traffic site, the bloated Ektron software will be obvious by the slow page loads.
  • The only CMS worse than Ektron is SiteCore.
Honestly, I inherited the application. It is a huge money pit. I wish it would just go away.
Read Duane Da`Vein's full review
Joy Kilmer profile photo
July 17, 2015

Ektron Review: "Allows marketing to publish updates continuously throughout the day, especially during the busy ski season."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ektron CMS is used by our IT and Marketing Departments to provide a content management system for our website, www.wintergreenresort.com. We needed a content management system that would allow the marketing department to make daily updates to the website quickly and easily on their own without involving IT. Our Marketing Department loves Ektron CMS because it enables them to do just that. As the web developer, I am responsible for installing and configuring Ektron, setting up the site synchronizations, and overall technical support. In the five years that we have been using Ektron CMS, I can say that the product has been robust and reliable. Our site is fast and reliable, and updates to it can be easily made by non-technical people. What's not to love about Ektron CMS!
  • Ektron CMS is reliable and performs well. Outages are extremely rare, and the site is fast.
  • The Ektron CMS content editor is easy to use, and updates can be made by non-technical people. The Ektron site synchronization process allows us to automatically publish updates every 30 minutes. This is very important to the resort's marketing efforts during the busy ski season.
  • This is straight from the marketing department: 'Ektron CMS is user friendly for non-technical people, and it allows us to be more effective in our marketing efforts.
  • It is difficult to apply custom css styles to Ektron server controls.
  • The product documentation can be confusing.
  • The annual licensing fee is reasonable, but the start up cost is high, and some of the other resorts balk at the high price tag.
Content updates can be made by non-technical people. Updates can be published automatically on a schedule throughout the day.
Read Joy Kilmer's full review
Ayman Idrees profile photo
September 30, 2015

User Review: "Ektron CMS : An Eye on the Future"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron for our main website as a content publishing tool which integrats with our enrollment system as weel as course and programs catalog. In addition we use Ektron's smart form to develop online applications.it functions as a document repository for digital assets for public access, customer and internal access. Ektron has proven to be a rebost tool for editing and updating online content as well as providing an easy to use publishing workflow.
  • Ektron smart orm is a very powerful and easy to use tool which can be updated by content editors and leveraged by developers using XSLT or code behind classes
  • Ektron Framework API provides developers with the right tools to extend and enrich the website's functionality.
  • Publishing workflow Ektron's publishing and approval workflows allow multiple content editors to easily collaborate on updating a single content item in tandem. Site administrator to create approval workflows which integrate with the organization's business logic and hierarchy.
  • eSync Tool Ektron's eSync tool allows for synchronization of content and application files of multiple environments, making migration of changes a seamless process.
  • Subdomains - Native support for multiple subdomains under one Ektron site
For our organization, we have a great deal of content owners and wanted the features of easy content updating and publishing workflow. Also, it is necessary to have the proper infrastructure to host at least a staging and production environment so that one can leverage the power of Ektron's eSync tool.
Read Ayman Idrees's full review
Bart Johnson profile photo
September 30, 2015

User Review: "Ektron system serves non-profit"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ektron CMS serves as the platform for seven of the organization's websites. The sites include a main, general organization identity website, and six smaller sites that support annual events and special interest campaigns. Sites are administered and updated by marketing staff, and a few other line department staff within the organization. The organization adopted Ektron CMS (at version 4) because it was cost-effective, and relatively easy to set up and manage.
  • The system has been very stable and dependable - up-time has been nearly 100%.
  • Content editing is relatively simple and flexible, and it's easy to include images and video in page layouts.
  • In user management, security and permissions are flexible and easy to administer. Content approval chains are simple to set up.
  • The system includes advanced features such as manual or rule-based content aliasing, widget-based page layout, blogging, content rating, and integrated analytics.
  • Ektron support staff are prompt and helpful when we encounter problems. Unlimited support is offered to licensees.
  • The system integrates seamlessly with our organization's customer management system for e-commerce.
  • Content editing has become challenging as new browser versions are released. Some operations of the content editor in v8.6 are unstable with recent versions of IE, Firefox and Chrome, and can cause loss of work if the user is not careful. We hope this will be addressed in the next upgrade. Only other option would be to lock down browser upgrades in our shop, but that doesn't seem safe.
  • The upgrade process has become more difficult with each new version. We used to perform upgrades and any needed cleanup in-house, but Ektron now recommends having this work done by a partner re-seller, adding significant cost.
  • Site search was based on index-server until v8.0. It was simple to set up, very reliable and met all our needs. Newer versions are much more complex to setup and require more resources.
We have found the Ektron CMS to be reliable, cost-effective and well suited to our non-profit organization's needs. It was relatively easy to integrate with our customer relations management system for e-commerce. The system has a very long list of features and functionality available. Many of these are wrapped up in modular bundles, which can allow customers to save by purchasing only what they will use. The system may be best suited for shops that are comfortable working with Microsoft SQL and Dot Net framework.
Read Bart Johnson's full review
Jonathan Graham profile photo
November 26, 2014

Review: "Ektron - Reliable WCM (.NET) Platform for Multiple Industry Verticals"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Experis is a global implementation partner for Ektron; and, as such, we develop specific solutions for a variety of customers to meet their business challenges. We have created and worked with Ektron solutions for those in the government, health care, education, non-profit, financial, software, hotel and manufacturing verticals. Primary CMS authors tend to be those in a marketing related role; and, then supported by the IT department. Typically, the implementations address the need to (1) manage content creation/workflow for the public websites (2) provide easy to use WYSIWYG editors to allow for quick content/page creations (3) manage translation needs (4) support the need for document repositories.
  • Translation Services - Ektron was one of the early adopters that understood the importance of the global community and the need to provide localized translations for a multinational audience. As such, Ektron has had a way to export content in standard XLIFF format that would allow different translations providers to review your word count and provide competitive pricing for your translation needs. Over time, Ektron has worked with software providers to make widgets available that will allow the exports to integrate with translation management systems to help provide near real-time view of the work being done.
  • eSync - Early on in their software development road-map, Ektron identified the need for an easy file transfer system between servers so that the IT department would not need to be involved; and, ultimately give more control back to the CMS author/administrator. Ektron’s eSync allows users to synchronize content, assets, HTML pages and other website components (whether they are managed by Ektron or not) from server-to-server in real-time or on a predetermined schedule.
  • Page Builder - When Ektron introduced PageBuilder, it was viewed as a game changer in that it provided more usability to the authors; and, reduced the need for IT staff to be involved with the website from a management perspective. Once a template has been created, any CMS author than can assign it for use and manipulate what/where on the page the content will reside using drop zones with drag-and-drop widgets.
  • Aloha WYSIWYG Editor - All new versions of Ektron come with the Aloha editor (http://www.aloha-editor.org/) that allows users to create HTML5 complaint text/markup. The Aloha Editor is a semantic Rich Text Editor framework written in Javascript with best support of xHTML5.
  • Pricing - My concern around pricing is not limited to Ektron; but, is a symptomatic problem with the majority of the products in this space. Overtime, the pricing model has changed; and, has created a barrier to entry for smaller/mid market customers.
  • Modules - Similar to pricing (and definitely not limited to Ektron), the optional add-on modules are attractive; but, have created a barrier to entry. During the sales process, varies modules/functionality are shown to entice the buyers decision making process; however, it becomes sticker shock when they learn that the modules are not part of the base model.
  • eCommerce - I've been working with the Ektron product for close to 8 years; and, during this time, I have heard that there are only a handful (10 or less) eCommerce implementations running in a production environment today.
Key Questions:
1. How many CMS Authors will need to have access?
2. What is your planned server infrastructure (IE: DEV-->STG-->PROD)?
3. Will you be deploying to the Cloud (if so, Amazon or Azure)?
4. What are the business challenges you are trying to overcome?
5. What development technologies are you in-house development staff familiar with (IE: .NET, MVC, PHP, Drupal, etc)?
6. Do you need to integrate with other systems like SalesForce, HubSpot, SharePoint, etc?
7. What is your overall budget for (1) software and (2) services?
Read Jonathan Graham's full review
Laura Jackowski profile photo
March 10, 2015

User Review: "Managing many sites with Ektron"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At AMN, Ektron is used by the Marketing department so they can manage and edit content without IT intervention. Marketing also uses the tool to build and publish campaign landing pages. The IT department uses Ektron to manage website templates for both desktop and mobile.
  • Landing page creation. Marketing can quickly learn to create pages on the fly. Easy to do.
  • Managing content and graphics. Clean interface and easy to navigate.
  • URL aliasing. Marketing can quickly change the names of pages and assign SEO friendly URLs.
  • Speed. The tool can be slow in certain browsers.
  • Uploading graphics. Load balancer does not work well.
How many websites you plan to manage ( we have over 30); what type of authoring environment you need (we do not use esync which was somewhat problematic for us, so Markerting authors in prod);
How much you can spend (Ektron is somewhat pricey).
Read Laura Jackowski's full review
Chris Osterhout profile photo
October 03, 2014

"An Expert Review of the Ektron Content Management System"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Ektron is used to run our corporate website. Our marketing team members are the primary users of the CMS platform. They use it daily to create content, publish blogs, execute on our SEO and inbound marketing initiatives including but not limited to:

  • Displaying Call to Actions (CTAs)
  • Creating Landing Pages
  • Capturing Leads
  • Personalizing the customer journey
  • The eSync product is one of the best tools on the market for synchronizing both content and its associated assets between and authoring and production environment
  • The Cloud Manager offers a streamlined process for hosting in the cloud
  • The Taxonomy functionality allows you to create one piece of content and serve it up contextually throughout other areas of the website with ease.
  • The user interface within the administration area feels very dated
  • The Page Builder product produces a fair amount of extraneous html markup which can make some mobile implementations more complicated
  • The Page Builder product can case somewhat of a maintenance complication for large scale websites
If a key business requirement is to have an Enterprise Level CMS platform that allows seamless synchronization between authoring and production hosting environments, Ektron is by far the leader in the industry. Additionally, if you are for a platform that will scale well to large amounts of content, Ektron is also a good fit.
Read Chris Osterhout's full review
Patrick Poer profile photo
March 04, 2014

Review: "Ektron - Creating value with integration and implementation"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
In most cases, our clients' marketing or communications department "owns" the CMS. In some circumstances, content authoring is distributed across the organization, but most of the time it stays within that business unit.

Typically, Ektron is brought in to:
1. Improve Content Authoring Capabilities
2. Increase flexibility for creating and maintaining a website
3. Integrate more powerful marketing and communications tools and capabilities and put more in the hands of the content authors without requiring IT or developer time
4. Improve change control and release management
5. Provide a Single Source for commerce, community and content and other web-facing functionality
  • Content authoring is a strength of the CMS. The interface is relatively simple to understand and utilize and most users feel comfortable finding, editing and publishing content with just a short introduction or training session.
  • The integrated community, marketing and commerce tools simplify the administration of more complex websites and provide a single place and unified methodology for managing all web-facing content and capabilities.
  • Page Builder, as a platform, really provides a lot of flexibility for content authors to create the exact experience users want while not requiring developers to create new templates or layouts to support their initiatives. Embracing the Page Builder / Widget architecture yields considerable flexibility for content authors.
  • The developer APIs have gone through various iterations over the years and we find we have to utilize both old and new methods to achieve the desired functionality. Ektron needs to complete the new Framework API's and make them usable for all use cases.
  • The system requires considerable support to maintain and upgrade and developers and administrators need to plan updates and upgrades carefully.
  • Smart Forms (xml-structured content) need to be modernized and more strategically integrated into the content authoring experience and more robust support through the APIs.
  • The community tools need to be overhauled and updated to keep pace with the current market's requirements and capabilities.
As with all of the CMS' we support, Ektron can be a great fit for the right organization. There are many circumstances where it works well, but primarily:

1. Organizations with a marketing and content oriented set of requirements
2. Organizations with limited IT infrastructure and internal support capabilities
3. Organizations that need to integrate multiple web-facing components into a single managed solution
4. Organizations wanting to quickly embrace mobile

There are other additional factors that influence it's fit within an organization, but it's a capable tool with some appealing features, but as with all CMS' needs to be properly tailored and implemented to match the clients needs.
Read Patrick Poer's full review
Chris Chodnicki profile photo
February 19, 2014

Review: "Ektron in a crowded WCM field of competitors - where do you stand out?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Ektron is used from a core perspective for content publishing and distribution basis. In addition it functions as a document repository for digital assets for public access, customer and internal access. Finally as a lead gen marketing campaign with landing page, marketing automation integration and visitor tracking.
  • Content Publishing. Control is intuitive and very distinct from a workflow perspective. Advanced features such as tagging & taxonomy may be introduced for more personalization
  • Mobile. support for responsive design / adaptive sites is imperative and Ektron provides device based support to control the mobile experience relative to content, images, navigation, etc...
  • eSync. the ability to replicate from multiple environments at both an app level and content as well as in a bi-directional manner is very powerful and a differentiator for the WCM to competitive platforms
  • Need to expand on external system integration to where they are more automated. This ranges from the marketing Automation platforms to analytical / social platforms.
  • Document Repository could be improved to be a complete Digital Asset Management tool that includes in depth usage data/analytics.
This depends on the client and their budget to start. Ektron relative to several lower cost and open source products is expensive. on the other hand many direct competitors are equal or substantially more expensive. Ektron often is positioned because of the technology stack - .net which would put it against a more limited selection of competitors. We hit the cost question on a TCO over a period of 3 to 5 years (and not just year 1) where Ektron based on its model fairs well when cost is an issue.
Read Chris Chodnicki's full review
Jared Bird profile photo
April 04, 2014

Ektron Review: "An "OK" product, but not ready for the big leagues"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron for our corporate website with roughly 70 users accessing the system globally. When we upgraded to 9.0 they touted a large list of functionality, but sadly, most of these are half-baked, poorly integrated solution with a UX that is not intuitive and changes drastically from one function to the next. If you want a simple CMS with only a few power users, Ektron is great, but if you're looking for a stable system with complex workflows, look elsewhere.
  • Basic page creation
  • Simple Workflows
  • Aloha WYSIWYG editor has large UX gaps. Tech-savvy users can learn workarounds, but base users will have trouble.
  • Sync'ing from one environment to another is a crap-shoot. (There are options for bi-directional sync's but Support has said never to use them because of stability issues)
  • Ektron 9.0 is much more resource intensive than 8.5 was. We needed to double our allocated memory.
Choosing Ektron really depends on a few main questions: How complex is your website going to be? Will you need to integrate Ektron with other systems? How skilled are your in-house developers?
Read Jared Bird's full review
Jenn Murray profile photo
February 25, 2014

User Review: "Ektron CMS: Invest in the Best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Ektron CMS is utilized by Allegheny County, Pennsylvania for the entirety of its website. Beyond just the County IT Department, multiple departments (such as the Department of Human Services) utilize the CMS to update and manage their content on a daily basis. Without it, it would be extremely difficult for the County to provide our constituents with timely, relevant information.
  • Responsive web design (version 9.0)
  • Design customization
  • Content management (uploading, editing, approval process, etc.)
  • Fabulous customer support
  • Have the "Desktop" tab of the CMS function more like a dashboard than an information center, giving each user a customized and efficient user experience.
  • The ability to delete multiple files or images at the same time versus individually.
  • The ability to further organize or flag a file (such as with a color, icon, etc.) within folders, in order to make it simple for another use to locate.
The Ektron CMS is a heavy-duty system that can be successfully utilized in numerous situations. If you need a small-scale CMS, then Ektron may be overkill. But if you organization is medium to large scale, then Ektron would definitely fit the bill.

The CMS's functionality offers everything you could possibly need. (And if it doesn't, Ektron is great about working with you to develop a solution.) In addition, Ektron consistently stays atop industry trends and technical advancements. So you can assured that purchasing their platform is an investment - not simply a purchase.
Read Jenn Murray's full review
Travis Cotton profile photo
February 21, 2014

"Ektron CMS400 Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used the product for more than 5 years to run both our public site for the school district as well as 37 school sites. We no longer use the product having migrated to the Sharepoint platform but that was a strategic decision and not one that was a result of problems or issues with the Ektron product. Ektron is an excellent choice for organizations looking to provide a template based content management system and is especially useful in a multi-site environment like ours.
  • Ease of use and integration - I'll caveat this with you need some experience with the concept of a template based solution where users are given a standard workspace but the design elements (colors, layout, etc) have already been provided by the organization via the templates. Its not a difficult concept but the system is not "built for you" out of the box but does have some templates to get you up and running. Most organizations are going to implement customization's however.
  • Good fit with our technology - This is a .NET based system which fit with our current staff's expertise and experience. It allowed us to get the system up quickly and begin development above and beyond what is provided by Ektron out of the box.
  • Administration - The system allows for adequate granular administration of the site(s). This was especially important to us as we have nearly 40 web sites each with administrators who are tasked with providing content.
  • Modules - Given that we have not used the product recently this may have changed but I would like to see more out of the box modules that address typical use (i.e. media, industry specific modules especially ones geared towards education, etc).
  • Social elements - The last version we used lacked any social integration so users were still forced to update their websites and then go out to Facebook, etc and make those same updates. Id like to see more integration between Ektron and various social platforms.
  • More granular administration with an easier interface for assignment of user rights and the ability to fine tune user group rights.
The product is well suited for organizations that want end users to focus on content generation and not be involved in managing the look and feel of the site. The product also shines in multisite environments with updates to various sites being very easy in comparison to say a product like Sharepoint which, while very powerful, is more difficult to update and maintain.
Read Travis Cotton's full review
Charlie Villard profile photo
March 06, 2014

User Review: "Ektron"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We managed multiple web sites and web systems using an older version of Ektron. Currently it allows users to manage their own content.
  • User management
  • Content management is difficult
  • Documents are hard to locate via search
I gave a 4 because we are using an older version of the software.
Read Charlie Villard's full review
Dumindi Kaduruwana profile photo
February 19, 2014

Ektron Review: "Efficiently handled business solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to a provide a business solution to a customer.
  • Handles large scale of data efficiently.
  • User friendliness and easy accessibility.
  • User manual is not detailed enough.
Best suited to situations where the application has to handle large scale of information.
Read Dumindi Kaduruwana's full review
No photo available
August 21, 2015

User Review: "Ektron? Good Grief."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ektron is used as the platform to manage and deliver all our web communications and content via the diocese's main website.
  • Forms are relatively easy to use and set up within Ektron, but by easier, I mean, easier than coding them by hand.
  • Ektron's user interface could use a complete overhaul, beginning with the odd logical separation between "Library" items and "Content." From an end-user perspective these distinctions are completely irrelevant and only serve to confuse everyone.
  • The way Ektron reads html in the code editor is unfathomable. White space is dealt with in a completely unconventional and error prone way and the text editor often inserts immense amounts of unnecessary markup that often causes problems and bugs.
  • Ektron contains so many bugs its almost impossible to list them all. As the main editor of the website, my standard answer to any standard functionality requests is "no" because Ektron charges inordinate sums of money for those functions and even if we do custom manage our own solution, it would likely cause the entire system to crash.
  • Ektron is very very slow.
  • Ektron requires a seperate module for mobile/web-friendly websites. You can't just code it yourself. You have to buy their's.
From what I have heard, Ektron is great for security (forms).

I would still recommend looking at any other CMS over Ektron. It is by far the worst I have ever used and, unfortunately, continue to use. If you have a large team of well-trained content editors, each in charge of small portions of a website, I could see Ektron being useful. If you are a small business or don't have unlimited funds to waste on a poorly made product, use Wordpress, Drupal, or Concrete. If you would like something that works well and comes with few 'undocumented features,' use the aforementioned as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2015

Ektron Review: "Moving wcm forward for local gov"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using Ektron for both our internal, and external site. Over the last 7 or so years, I've noticed a pretty massive change with the company and its proven to be beneficial. From a technical perspective, I handle the implementation, administration and development for roughly 175 content editors, and just over 5000 publicly viewable pages. I've been very happy that it's been a steady workhorse these past few years, and we're looking at utilizing more of the cms with our next re-write.
  • The performance of the database as well as the cms itself has improved greatly.
  • Not tied to the CMS in particular, but the dev community on Ektron sites as well as Twitter is great.
  • The editor is great, but its still missing some of the functionality of the previous WYSIWYG editor.
  • I'd like to see some expanded html forms or custom content types used as forms. As is, you can do basic surveys and forms but anything beyond that essentially requires a custom page / app.
I think its very well suited for what we're doing. We have over 100 editors, and thousands of pieces of content. Since implementation there have really been very few 'big' issues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2015

Ektron Review: "Create, Deploy and Manage Enterprise-Scale Websites"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ektron is be used by all of the websites that the Company has. Right now besides being our content management, Ektron directs our Marketing Automation and analytics strategy.
  • Easily create and manage content
  • Analyze and optimize site and campaign performance to drive desired results
  • Content Targeting: Personalize content to site visitors
  • Deliver a unified, optimized customer experience
  • A better integration of the Page Builder pages with MVC
if you want to have CMS based on the .Net platform, Ektron is the CMS to go to.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2015

Review: "Ektron CMS - Solid potential in a ride that might be a bit bumpy for the uninitiated."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used to support Ektron CMS for customers of the product, and then I specialized in integrating solutions using Ektron CMS as the primary system to power intranets and public facing websites. It used to power our personal website at a past job, but my primary interaction with it was to build solutions for customer's needs. Organizations implementing Ektron CMS on the public facing side were looking to empower marketers to manage the content on the website. Most companies I worked with were managing their website through the IT department and most IT departments did not want to continue to manage email requests for small HTML changes. For internal implementations, organizations were looking to create a social atmosphere with their intranet to serve documents to employees and provide a way for internal employees to connect to one another or access important information.
  • It's an all in one solution that can be built to suit your needs. From the simple job of managing content and resources like images and documents, to social components like activity boards, messaging services, and eCommerce.
  • The interface provides a solid structure to configure components of the application to allow quick and easy content entry and management. Smart Forms, for example, provide a nice way to structure content entry for marketers and non-technical users so they are limited to the scope a developer needs, but are allowed flexibility to the degree the author might need.
  • Page Builder allows a developer to set up various templates for the website to be flexible enough for a marketer to be able to add content and create "pages" on the website that suite the needs of the department or user. Ektron's "widgets" are similar enough to standard .NET user controls that a developer familiar with them can create custom ones for Page Builder pages pretty successfully.
  • Recent updates have added support for SOLR as a search engine allowing you the freedom to move away from the strong licensing structure of Microsoft Search Server and FAST if your organization is more familiar with the APACHE offering.
  • The Document Management System (DMS) built-in provides the ability to add typical office documents into the system complete with search, versioning, and permission and privacy control.
  • The API is pretty powerful and flexible when you become familiar with all the levels and features available through it.
  • Some users feel the management interface (Workarea) feels a little dated or confusing with a typical Windows-like folder tree on the left and a right pane that changes based on the section of the Workarea you are in. Visual cues for buttons and components are not always obvious.
  • While the interface enables you to structure the site and add content with faster and easier setup than some other competing products on the market, as with many the competition, the implementation is only as good as the administrator configures it, and over the years I have found this to be one of the biggest complaints and problems with the system.
  • The CMS has many features packed in for marketers, developers, administrators, and users, and it has a great deal of potential to be a powerful system because of them. But many of them feel half-baked into the system more to serve as keywords for a sales pitch or a checklist as opposed to being a solid and usable addition to the system. That's not to say that many of these features are not usable, but they are not as usable or great as they could be. For example, the eCommerce component tends to feel clunky or confusing for users managing products in it. The intranet components, like activity boards or messaging, are difficult to manage in the Workarea because of the interface and lack of access to features that exist and are otherwise hidden from the Workarea or are available only through a front-end widget.
  • The API can be very powerful, and I find most of the time I leverage that to build custom components and controls, but the documentation, though much better now than it has been in past years, is still struggling to provide the level of detail to the various methods and libraries available through the product. This is one area where some of the competition outshines. With someone who has many years of professional experience with the product this is not as big an issue as the API is fairly easy to remember, but for new developers this can be a challenge.
  • Support used to be more of a hit-or-miss roller-coaster ride, and while it has improved in the past years, it's still bumpy for some people. The positive side of this is they have a solid group of community users that are willing to help answer questions and provide samples or demo code where they can to enable new and existing users and developers.
  • While the community is very helpful and willing through various social spheres, like Stack Overflow, Twitter, and Ektron's Developer Forums, Ektron's own Developer Forums are a bit rough to use, making that piece more challenging than it should be. As mentioned, however, they have very helpful and active community members that patrol, and a few internal users that are fairly "hell-bent" on making sure that questions are seen by anyone who might be able to assist. I always recommend Tweeting about something after posting it, for optimal exposure.
  • Ektron's support for MVC is probably it's biggest, obvious weakness currently. While the competition has moved on to solid support for MVC, Ektron's strength is still with Webforms. The three-tier architecture Ektron has built provides a similar approach, but it still cannot compete with true MVC support. If your organization is dedicated to an MVC implementation, a different solution might suit you better.
The best approach to determining if it's a good fit is trying to get a look-and-feel of the system with a little hands on to determine if you understand or like the approach to UI. Other things to consider are:

  • How quick do you need a deployment? With proper guidance, an Ektron site can be deployed fairly quickly depending on the needs and complexity of the application it's being used for.
  • What kind of flexibility do you need for the management of content? Ektron's Smart Forms provide a nice structured content entry method, but the built in system-types are not as flexible as some competitors interface.
  • What's your tech stack and preferred application approach? Ektron's structure is built with standard .NET webforms in mind. If your preference is for MVC, a different product will probably serve you better.
  • Are you planning to deploy using your own developers or through an agency? Most Ektron partners, or agencies with solid experience will provide a more positive experience and final solution as they tend to have the experience and expertise to work past some of the shortcomings. If building yourself, allow time for learning challenges and proper training.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 17, 2015

Review: "William Shatner screaming "Ektrooooohhhhnnn" instead of Khan sums up our experience with Ektron"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Ektron Web Content Management System is being used throughout the organization for an external, marketing website and for an internal website used by staff and students. The content for the external website is primarily input by one department with about a dozen contributors across the organization. Everyone within the organization has permission to edit content for the internal website. Ektron allowed distributed content editing, thus avoiding a bottleneck of content editing.
  • Ektron does provide the ability for developers to program additional features, widgets, and apps utilizing both .NET components and Ektron components.
  • It allows an organization to use their LDAP/AD system to automatically create user accounts and permissions.
  • By utilizing the pagebuilder module, non-developers can create new pages with a unique content structure by dragging widgets onto a page and selecting content for each widget. Some of the prebuilt widgets allow for the addition of content from YouTube, Brightcove, news feeder, calendar, blogs, flickr, etc
  • The work area is not very user friendly and is based on a file folder system similar to a Windows based system which can cause some user problems with people who use a Mac.
  • Ektron's support system works as a ticket-based system. Your ticket may sit in a queue for a day before you hear from someone.
  • The Ektron system doesn't lend itself well to responsive design.
It is well-suited for a company seeking distributed content editing, who has a good IT support staff and content editors that are tech savvy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 07, 2015

Ektron Review: "Managing a complex website"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ektron is being used to manage the content of our public website. The system is mainly used by our marketing team.We wanted to have a solid solution that would be integrated with our CRM system. (SalesForce)
  • Makes it easy to work across departments.
  • The system might look a bit complex if you did not get proper training.
How big is the website you want to manage?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2014

Ektron Review: "The best CMS for .Net customization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron to manage content, create dynamic pages, create widgets, and templates.
  • Manage user security and roles
  • Manage content and rollback
  • .Net inetgration
  • Ektron sometimes tries to clean up javascript and HTML that we enter with code for specific enhancements that we need to do. Ektron tries to clean some of this code up when it saves the content, thereby removing our intended implementation.
It's a great product. Our struggles are when we push it to it's limits and run into particular scenarios that don't work well.

For most implementations, it should work well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 24, 2014

User Review: "Ektron CMS is good."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is an Ektron integrator and partner. Ektron's Content Management System is used by clients to maintain their websites. Typical clients are associations that have an Association Management System that plugs into the Content Management System. They manage the permissions of content, create workgroups, set up notification alerts for administrative users and members.

The system is typically used throughout an organization as it is user friendly and intuitive. The business problem it addresses is disseminating content online in an efficient and effective manner.
  • Content creation
  • User and workgroup creation with AMS
  • Permissions and control of information
  • Admin dashboard should have a default setup
  • Integrate videos into Help component of Admin
The first thing to consider is the organization's goals and business requirements: what is you looking to showcase on your site? The homepage has valuable real estate so what kind of content are you trying to highlight and why. For instance:
Membership, products, events or information

Ektron's CMS products are great for website management and have components that user base organizations will like: Sliders, Smartforms (ease level of effort for event creation or forms). The reports in the Admin are helpful and the revamped search in version 8.7 and 9 features faceted search.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 18, 2014

Review: "Ektron, good for .NET sites... with a little performance tag on it"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron in our company to support content management for more than 10 websites, allowing the Marketing department to push new content as desired. Besides serving content to websites, we also have Smart Forms to integrate dynamic User Interface elements; for smaller websites, we connect to Ektron using either their API or Web Services. This allows to have very dynamic website with little effort from the development team once they go live, allowing other departments to take ownership.
  • Allows user control management and publishing flow in a seamless way
  • Content versioning
  • Multiple content access (i.e. native control, API, Web Services)
  • Content Manager interface - UI and performance
  • Web Services
  • Better MVC integration
Main key was the ability to integrate Ektron on websites, allowing logged in users to select and edit content directly from their browsers when accessing the sites. Ektron will be a little more challenging to use if this is required into an MVC environment. Also, it makes the projects a bit heavier to deploy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 18, 2014

Ektron Review: "Stable robust CMS for a healthcare org"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ektron as the CMS for our health system's website. Almost all of the production work is done in the communications department, though the site represents the whole organization. It would of course be next to impossible to run a website of this size and complexity without a reliable CMS in place, and Ektron fits the bill.
  • Good reliability. When implemented correctly, extremely rarely have timeouts or crashes
  • User-friendly. I've worked in CMSs before that were so complicated you might as well have been writing everything by hand in HTML. Not so here.
  • That being said, the code view is easy to use, as well, for those (like me) who actually are quite comfortable using HTML.
  • No major complaints. My impression is that it is rather flexible, and that it's not particularly difficult for devs to build what producers and managers need on top of the existing code.
It's well suited for the purposes for which we use it: running a large enterprise web site. It is probably overkill for something small. If you're a small business with only a few web pages, you are almost certainly better off using WordPress, I think, if only for the simplicity and (free) cost.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (5)
8.5
API (5)
5.6
Internationalization / multi-language (5)
5.8
WYSIWYG editor (7)
5.9
Code quality / cleanliness (7)
5.6
Admin section (7)
5.3
Page templates (4)
4.6
Library of website themes (2)
3.9
Mobile optimization / responsive design (6)
3.8
Publishing workflow (7)
6.3
Form generator (5)
6.8
Content taxonomy (6)
5.8
SEO support (6)
5.3
Bulk management (5)
5.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (5)
5.6
Community / comment management (5)
6.0

About Ektron

Ektron is a Web Content Management System from Ektron+EPisersver (Ektron is retained as a brand following the merger). It has been focused on mid-market accounts but is now starting to attract more enterprise customers. The product has a very comprehensive set of connectors to CRMs (e.g. Salesforce) and web analytics products (e.g.Google, Webtrends). It is built on a .NET platform. Its WYSIWYG, drag and drop content editor favors a less technical approach; the system supports the creation of lists, content, forms and multimedia in pages via its simplified interface. Extron has multichannel delivery, so content is mobile-accessible and viewable on many device types. Ektron is offered via a perpetual or a subscription model, and can be deployed on premises or from the Ektron Managed Cloud. Cost of implementation will vary.



Categories:  Content Management

Ektron Integrations

Ektron Competitors

Ektron Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No