Elasticsearch Reviews

165 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 10, 2021
Keith Lubell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch and Solr are both based on Lucene, but the user community for Elasticsearch is much stronger, and setting up a cluster is easier. Splunk is very well suited for Log indexing and searching but is not nearly as flexible as Elasticsearch. Couchbase is a great NoSQL database and is super fast as key value store, but it's indexing abilities are much weaker than Elasticsearch and can not do aggregates and listings in a single query
Read Keith Lubell's full review
January 13, 2021
Swastik Nath | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Search and analytics capabilities of Elasticsearch are superior to its competitors. Being open source, it is a cheaper and faster solution than other competitors. Installation is straightforward and it can be potentially deployed anywhere and everywhere! There is no need for expensive subscriptions or pay per data.
Read Swastik Nath's full review
March 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Faster, better, more efficient. There was no comparison in Elasticsearch vs LEM. AlienVault was decent but too expensive for what it does compared to Elastic. The only competitor I'd consider as in the same ballpark in the SIEM world is Splunk. Save yourself the money and get a Ferrari and Elasticsearch instead.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I think Elasticseach works less great compared to Splunk. Mainly the way the Splunk search head works is vastly superior to the way the Elasticsearch query language works. Furthermore, the Splunk architecture is in my opinion easier to roll out and scale-up. Splunk also has a better visualisation editor for dashboarding, which has more freedom and is easier to use.
Read this authenticated review
January 06, 2020
Maria Sousa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is very well packed in a broad set of features, ranging from customization capabilities to security and add-ons, and also comes with a great visualization tool named Kibana. Most of the competitors are strong in some of these areas, but I know of no other that's so well balanced as Elasticsearch is.
Read Maria Sousa's full review
December 02, 2019
Mark Freeman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • SharePoint seems antiquated.
  • Amazon Elastic File System is hard to find things.
  • Google Search Appliance does ranking poorly.
Read Mark Freeman, MBA's full review
November 19, 2019
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

From my perspective, there is nothing currently on the marker better than Datadog, but unfortunately, that's a pricey product, Elasticsearch deliver us part of Datadog functionalities being cheaper. Fluentd as a service (provided by the company behind Fluentd) looks like a medium service. I didn't find anything better than Elasticsearch, so, from my perspective, Elasticsearch is a product between Fluentd and Datadog.
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
October 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Almost no one uses Solr anymore--most have migrated to Elasticsearch. I've never tried it myself but I heard Solr is much more difficult to configure and because it doesn't use a REST API, it locks you into Java and XML. XML--ick!
Lucene: Elasticsearch is built using Lucene instances for each index (the ES code essentially just glues together tons of Lucene instances), so it's not a fair comparison. But I suppose if you wanted the flexible data-model and you don't need the system to be distributed and highly available and parallel, Lucene would be a good choice.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is more expensive, especially on disk storage. In terms of functionality and ease of use, it's better than most solutions out there.
Read this authenticated review
June 06, 2019
Gedson Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is much easier to set up and maintain. It provides better distributed architecture and fault tolerance, and is much faster searching.
Read Gedson Silva's full review
June 02, 2019
Jose Adan Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With Elasticsearch you can integrate a lot of data sources. It can act as a small DataLake where you can put different kinds of data and extract important insights. With Splunk, additional to elevated costs of licensing and hardware, you need to have expert engineers to address business and platform requirements. If you have Elasticsearch, it can be easily deployed and scaled.
Read Jose Adan Ortiz's full review
October 09, 2018
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

When we first evaluated Elasticsearch, we compared it with alternatives like traditional RDBMS products (Postgres, MySQL) as well as other noSQL solutions like Cassandra & MongoDB. For our use case, Elasticsearch delivered on two fronts. First, we got a world-class search engine out of it, that we custom-built for our specific domain (healthcare). We've got, easily, the most expressive (easy to use & powerful) healthcare search engine out there. Second, along with the search, we also received an analytics engine that could do most analytics jobs as quickly as it retrieved search results. Overall, it would be very difficult for us to find a single solution for these two different problems.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
March 01, 2018
David Greenwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The only other competitor we researched was mongo as some of our table information is stored in an XML file, but as we were doing searching we gravitated towards Elasticsearch. We knew mongo had some of the qualifications for what we wanted, but went with Elasticsearch for specifically our searches and actually used Mongo for more DB storage.
Read David Greenwell's full review
August 31, 2017
Colby Shores | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Apache Solr is the closest competitor to ElasticSearch from a search engine perspective. ElasticSearch is simple and streamlined in it's configuration. When taken as a whole, Apache Solr is more robust as a storage engine from a developer perspective, ElasticSearch has the entire ElasticStack at it's disposal which sets it apart. Our organization looked into Splunk, however I wasn't with the organization at that time to give a solid perspective on it.
Read Colby Shores's full review
November 14, 2017
Trung Le | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

NEST library is excellent, excellent performance, and scalability (we used a cluster of 2 nodes, and most the queries completed in ms, some may take up to 2s.
Read Trung Le's full review
October 04, 2017
Manish Rajkarnikar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is widely popular and it's mostly free. Its ecosystem, ability to scale, ease to set up, integration with other systems, highly usable API make it really great compared to its competition.
Read Manish Rajkarnikar's full review
September 15, 2017
Devaraj Natarajan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is DevOps friendly; it is easy for installation and management of a node/cluster. It is very friendly for developers by providing the REST API out of the box, reducing the development time.
Read Devaraj Natarajan's full review
April 04, 2017
Kris Bandurski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Solr
I have used Solr only briefly, but Elasticsearch wins when it comes to the ease of setting up and getting access to data stored in search indices (Kibana). It also comes with comprehensive and easy to read documentation that familiarises the reader with the concepts behind a distributed search engine.
Read Kris Bandurski's full review
April 13, 2017
Yasmany Cubela Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • sphinx
Even when sphinx base code is on c++ and they obtain a great performance from it, even when they have a set of plugins that allow to integrate with common database systems like MySQL, Elasticsearch is on top of license and all their experience on search. It also provides a long set of plugins and data extractors that can be used with common databases like MongoDB but the decisive point for our company was their modern concepts and ways to integrate and interact with modern software.
Read Yasmany Cubela Medina's full review
April 05, 2017
Rowan Hughes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Elasticsearch is based off of Apache Lucene. You get the same power as well as a JSON response. REST API is simple and easy to understand. Other options include XML responses which is much more complicated to parse at times.
Read Rowan Hughes's full review

What is Elasticsearch?

Elasticsearch is an enterprise search tool from Elastic in Mountain View, California.
Categories:  Enterprise Search

Elasticsearch Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Standard$16.00per month
Gold$19.00per month
Platinum$22.00per month
EnterpriseContact Sales

Elasticsearch Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Elasticsearch?

Elasticsearch is an enterprise search tool from Elastic in Mountain View, California.

What is Elasticsearch's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.6.

Who uses Elasticsearch?

The most common users of Elasticsearch are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.