Elasticsearch Reviews

163 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 44)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 01, 2021
Josh Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has allowed fast searching on large datasets which allow our customers to conduct business in a timely and simple manner.
Read Josh Kramer's full review
January 13, 2021
Swastik Nath | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Faster searches on our application have resulted in better usability and increased application use
  • Analytics dashboard has given our managers a better understanding of day-to-day activities
  • Being a backup data store, we need not touch SQL database while doing data dumps for local data science projects
Read Swastik Nath's full review
January 06, 2020
Maria Sousa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It's simple and the fast set-up spares you lots of money on the set-up stage.
  • Immediate results give back a lot without spending too much.
Read Maria Sousa's full review
March 06, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Free alternative has given us incredible value at the cost of time and energy.
  • We spend 70-90% less time on investigations of incidents.
Read this authenticated review
November 19, 2019
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Shorter outages since it is easier to figure out root causes
  • Better visibility over your environment
  • Security keeping your data at your own environment
Read Erlon Sousa Pinheiro's full review
October 09, 2019
Gary Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Investment is primarily the cost of developer time and maintenance time and with its cost being zero, Elasticsearch has a positive ROI.
Read Gary Davis's full review
October 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I am not in finance and I suspect even if I was this would be hard to measure. But for sure, Elasticsearch has enabled us to have the most flexible data model in the industry for our customer's data, and in doing so we have attracted many many technical customers and got much of their $$$.
  • One problem with Elasticsearch is that because it runs on the JVM, there can be some stop-the-world JVM garbage collections happening that can take down nodes and reduce indexing speed. The solution for that tends to be "let's just upgrade the CPU on that machine". And before you know it you are paying $$$ because this'll happen with 40+ machines.
  • On the other hand, I do think that ES is more efficient than other systems and so it requires fewer nodes to keep it highly tolerant and available, so we probably saved some money that way.
Read this authenticated review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Easy to maintain.
  • Simple to use.
  • Great monitoring out of the box for the product.
Read this authenticated review
June 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved decision making
  • Better log investigations have helped early action on issues
  • Helped in digitizing the organization value chain for maintaining the applications
Read this authenticated review
June 05, 2019
Gedson Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It reduced our solutions' time-to-market, as it's very easy to set up.
  • It greatly boosted the user experience with near-instant search results.
Read Gedson Silva's full review
June 02, 2019
Jose Adan Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Elasticsearch can give you insights based on predictability, to do a Capacity Plan for infrastructure metrics.
  • The Visualization and Dashboards can give you a real view of business KPIs.
  • With OOTB anomaly detection, you can see potential issues with systems.
Read Jose Adan Ortiz's full review
February 26, 2019
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allowed us to give accurate, real-time feedback for RPA.
  • Able to see what works, and what doesn't work.
  • Allows us to identify consistent problems across 60+ different processes.
Read Ben Williams's full review
October 09, 2018
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have had great luck with implementing Elasticsearch for our search and analytics use cases.
  • While the operational burden is not minimal, operating a cluster of servers, using a custom query language, writing Elasticsearch-specific bulk insert code, the performance and the relative operational ease of Elasticsearch are unparalleled.
  • We've easily saved hundreds of thousands of dollars implementing Elasticsearch vs. RDBMS vs. other no-SQL solutions for our specific set of problems.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
October 08, 2018
Tarun Mangukiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Improved the speed of our website
  • Improved the user experience by providing highly efficient text search
  • We're using it for logging, which makes it easy to query the errors and solve them
  • It takes time to understand the advanced queries in Elasticsearch
Read Tarun Mangukiya's full review
April 13, 2018
Brett Knighton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Full-text searches on certain tables have dropped by up to 98%. Searches that used to take upwards of 45 seconds to complete now take a fraction of a second. From a users perspective.
  • Taking the computational load off our servers has allowed us to decrease the number of Oracle cores we have saving us a lot of money in license fees.
Read Brett Knighton's full review
March 01, 2018
David Greenwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The first and highest reason for switching to Elasticsearch was to speed up the queries that we had that were running slowly(full text search over millions of records). We had some Oracle searches that were taking upwards to 45 seconds. After switching to Elasticsearch those same exact queries were running under half a second. It was obvious to us what the return on the investment was there.
  • The first thing(unexpected but made sense) that we noticed when switching to elasticsearch was our database servers didn't need as many cores. As you pay for Oracle licensing by cores, this was a huge benefit. We dropped about 6 cores in our Oracle licensing as soon as we could after switching to ES.
  • Since we had such great success with searching one table we decided to include more tables into our searching to help with our database.
Read David Greenwell's full review
August 31, 2017
Colby Shores | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • When we where initially exploring logging solutions, Splunk was the only vendor in town and they where extremely expensive ($60,000). We haven't revisited them since as ElasticSearch has accomplished all of our needs.
  • We haven't spent anything but Admin hours to maintain our ElasticSearch cluster. Right now we haven't incurred any cost of ownership as I have been maintaining the cluster myself.
  • We have a huge project to grow a new part of our business, but I am not sure if I can spend the time to really update cluster to support the new Logstash features & any syntax changes so I am reluctant to do so. Time is increasingly becoming scarce, so catering to the latest and greatest features that offer little to our organization isn't something we are interested in pursuing though we are going to need to update the ElasticStack eventually.
  • Since all of our metrics are in ElasticSearch, we have had nice trove of data to build our apps around, apps that require specific metrics. Prior to ElasticSearch, we had to build our own tools that handled that metric collection. The cost savings here is that we maintain a simple script that reports back information in our reporting interface vs rolling our own database metric solution that must be modified for every app we develop. That has equated to a huge saving in developer hours in our organization.
Read Colby Shores's full review
October 04, 2017
Manish Rajkarnikar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Most of elasticsearch is free except few things which most of the organizations can live without or have a workaround. Not having to pay Splunk whole bunch of money is a huge ROI right there.
  • Indexing the logs and making it searchable has a huge impact on the way we operate. Developers no longer have to log in to the system to know what's happening. Especially when we have hundreds of servers, having a central place for all the logs is essential to operate the system.
  • It's really easy to set up and maintain even in a scale. Its hot and warm cluster notion is awesome. The self-maintenance makes a huge impact on the need for system admins.
Read Manish Rajkarnikar's full review

What is Elasticsearch?

Elasticsearch is an enterprise search tool from Elastic in Mountain View, California.
Categories:  Enterprise Search

Elasticsearch Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Standard$16.00per month
Gold$19.00per month
Platinum$22.00per month
EnterpriseContact Sales

Elasticsearch Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Elasticsearch?

Elasticsearch is an enterprise search tool from Elastic in Mountain View, California.

What is Elasticsearch's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 7.6.

Who uses Elasticsearch?

The most common users of Elasticsearch are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.