Emburse Abacus

Emburse Abacus

Score 4.6 out of 10
Emburse Abacus

Overview

What is Emburse Abacus?

Abacus is a web and mobile application that helps manage employee expenses and reimbursements. Some key features include: Real-Time Expense Submission, Integrated ACH Payments, and Dynamic Custom Reporting. Abacus was acquired by Certify in summer 2018 and is now part...
Read more

Recent Reviews

We love Abacus!!

10 out of 10
January 28, 2020
Every department at my company uses Abacus to track various expenses for reimbursement. It is nice to have a way to submit these requests …
Continue reading

Abacus For Expenses

7 out of 10
November 19, 2019
We use Abacus to manage all expense tracking and reimbursement within our organization. It allows us an easy and efficient way to report …
Continue reading

Abacus Review

10 out of 10
November 05, 2019
We use it for expenses and travel for all corporate employees and consultants. It is used to manage and approve all expenses and transfers …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Emburse Abacus, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Starter

$9

Cloud
per active user/per month

Professional

Custom Pricing

Cloud

Enterprise

Custom Pricing

Cloud

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Embrace Emburse
01:18
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Emburse Abacus?

Emburse Abacus is presented by the vendor as a software solution that carries a promise to humanize work while delivering expense and corporate card solutions for smaller organizations.

Emburse Abacus Features

  • Supported: Real-Time Expense Submission (No expense reports)
  • Supported: Integrated ACH Payments for Reimbrusement
  • Supported: Seamless Accounting Sync
  • Supported: Dynamic Custom Reporting

Emburse Abacus Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Emburse Abacus Video

Embrace Emburse

Emburse Abacus Integrations

Emburse Abacus Competitors

Emburse Abacus Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android
Supported CountriesU.S.A.
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Abacus is a web and mobile application that helps manage employee expenses and reimbursements. Some key features include: Real-Time Expense Submission, Integrated ACH Payments, and Dynamic Custom Reporting. Abacus was acquired by Certify in summer 2018 and is now part of Emburse, formed from the merger of Certify and Chrome River March 2019.

Expensify, Emburse Certify, and Rydoo are common alternatives for Emburse Abacus.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Emburse Abacus are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (33)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-17 of 17)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Abacus is easy to use. When you incur an expense at a restaurant, for example, you can open the app, take a picture of the receipt, fill in a couple of fields, and submit. It's quick and easy. If you ever have an issue with how a transaction was recorded, a banking issue, or the integration, support can take days to respond. Chat support is rarely real-time.
January 04, 2022

Where is my Support?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Is very easy to use. However, the lack of support makes me not be able to recommend this software. There are issues that make the App not function in the field and users must use the online version as the only solution. This has been an issue for 2 months now.
Jason Chandler | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This tool is very much helpful for those organizations, whose team works on a remote basis and especially I will recommend it to all the sales and marketing based companies. This application will keep you up to date about the expense of your employees and it will add great ease in the working of your accounting team.
Jason Guinn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Emburse Abacus is well suited for mid-market organizations that are open to - or embrace - the concept of real-time processing of expense transactions. Emburse Abacus takes a radically different approach from other platforms that rely on modeling paper-based monthly (or periodic) expense reports containing multiple expenses submitted simultaneously. Emburse Abacus allows each transaction to be very rapidly processed individually so that approving managers and accounting professionals are able to perform review tasks and identify potential problems throughout the entire month, relieving the massive monthly influx of large numbers of expense reports simultaneously.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Abacus is well suited for individuals that travel and have to bill expenses back to the company. I've been at companies where expense reports are such a manual process, and Abacus solved that instantly. It's an app that can be downloaded on your phone, you go to a client dinner take a picture of the bill, submit, and you are done!
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Abacus is excellent for companies of all sizes and a gift for company accounting departments. The way that Abacus compartmentalizes expenses and provides clear expense categories makes it simple to use. The added feature of allowing a drop-down menu of all clients and the organization itself ensures that you can always start and submit an expense with ease.
January 28, 2020

We love Abacus!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have found Abacus to be super useful when we have employee incentives. It gives us the flexibility to go out and choose our own items and then submit for reimbursement. It is also nice when we travel - booking flights, hotels, vehicles - these can all be tracked under their own category.
November 05, 2019

Abacus Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I see other business travelers struggling with receipts and expenses. I often recommend Abacus. Many people are willing to get it themselves, even if their organization isn’t willing to yet.
October 22, 2019

Abacus for the win!

Alexa Terry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Great for a company when people are constantly traveling or having to submit expenses. You upload your receipt images, and it's quickly approved by your team. I am not sure of the pricing of Abacus (I was not the decision maker, just a user), but if it is expensive and people are not logging expenses often, I would imagine it would not have a great ROI for you.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Abacus is great for smaller companies that need to automate expense management. It is a very user-friendly system that makes it easy for all employees to understand without any training. We have heard of issues with their AMEX program. Companies that have tens or hundreds of corporate AMEX cards should likely explore other options
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Perfect for reimbursing employees in an efficient manner. I'm not sure how well the software integrates with a company credit card but in some ways the ease of use means that uploading a receipt can be just as fast. There are no hold ups in getting repaid as long as your manager quickly approves the spending amount. I could not recommend this program more highly.
March 03, 2017

Great expense product

Jennifer Paxton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Abacus has been great for our small startup of 37 employees, it has grown with our team since we were very small. Since we have not experienced it as a bigger company, I am not sure what the scalability would be like. If you're looking for a site with a cleaner look that is easy to use, Abacus is it. I haven't had to reach out to customer service yet because I haven't had any issues. If that isn't proof positive of how easy it is to use, I don't know what is!
Return to navigation