Certify, by Emburse Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 50)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Certify--Average

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Streamlined
  • Online accessible
  • Approval path
  • Splitting receipts can be cumbersome
  • Uploading receipts doesn't always work accurately.
  • Pulls expenses from previous months
Read this authenticated review
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Certify is Certifiably great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration with AmTrav or other travel booking systems. Certify has a tight integration with travel systems that makes it feel nearly like one cohesive tool.
  • Easy expense options. Use OCR on receipts, import from credit cards and merge items, approve and inquire about expenses. Track your submissions.
  • Easy UI. Friendly and easy to navigate without getting lost.
  • Mobile app. The mobile app is basically a web view of the mobile version of the page and isn't native. That experience could be much smoother.
  • Certify hasn't implemented SSO completely according to the SAML 2.0 protocol, so which IdP workflows work, SP is still broken. This makes it harder to take action from a link in an email as you always need to use the IdP workflow specifically.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
Adam Neveu | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Certify will help keep your team on track with expenses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Receipt auto-fills when I scan it. This saves me a ton a time while traveling, especially when I am in a rush and on the go.
  • You don't need to be connected to the internet when uploading receipts! After a busy trip, I can scan all my receipts on the plane and when I land and turn data back on the expenses will upload from my app to the cloud.
  • Adding and managing new users is easy. The admin tools are very diverse and customizable making it easy for a growing company to add and manage users in the system.
  • Certify can become slow on busy expense days, making it a longer process to upload receipts and create a report online while at my PC.
  • Sometimes the autofill is incorrect, this is hard to really fix though I would assume, so just be careful when auto-filling your receipts.
  • The app seems to load up a web browser on some occasion and I am not sure why.
Read Adam Neveu's full review
Debbie SouthMitchell | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2019

Certify Does Expense Reporting Well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Per diem wizard: we send employees all over the world and allocate different spending limits based on average costs per destination.
  • Map it function: takes the ease of trying to guess at mileage.
  • The flow: approvals are automatically sent to the right person.
  • New users are puzzled when trying to fill in location or vendor— they're blank and they don't know what to do.
Read Debbie SouthMitchell's full review
LaDarryl l.a. Hollingsworth | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Use it anywhere!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • I like the Certify App. It's fast and responsive.
  • I like that it is extremely user-friendly on both mobile devices and desktops.
  • I like that the app doesn't take up a lot of pf space on my phone.
  • Auto texts generated from receipts are sometimes incorrect. So that feature is not 100% dependable. I don't always have to change them but I do always have to check them.
  • No way to view past expense reports.
  • Certify auto-assigns categories to expenses that are not always correct. So that feature is not 100% dependable. I don't always have to change them but I do always have to check them.
Read LaDarryl l.a. Hollingsworth's full review
Michael Palecek | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Expense reporting software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Upload receipts from computer/laptop.
  • See all expenses on a report and work with them.
  • Organize and read receipts from the receipt vault.
  • The automated reading of invoices from PDF is generally good, however, it is not always 100%. I do a fair number of purchases on Amazon and their PDF files are generally laid out very well and should be easy to classify from the data on it.
  • Some of the interface buttons are not clear on what they do, commands are hidden on pop out menus.
  • Creating a new expense report from a statement could use some work.
Read Michael Palecek's full review
Sheila Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2019

Easy to use reporting app!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Mobile upload - piling up receipts to staple to reports and turn in can be cumbersome. Thanks to Certify's mobile app, our team can easily take photos of their receipt and upload it immediately after making a purchase. The info is saved in their report and they can submit easily when needed.
  • Departmentalizes expenses - easy to create expense categories to allow our accountant an easy understanding of what is being spent in each category.
  • ACH payment - while we don't currently use it, I believe the ability to add ACH payment through Certify became an option in 2018, and was one we wanted to see added and glad they did! Now we just need to activate it on our end.
  • When you forward an expense report to a supervisor or co-worker, the expense form is no longer available for us to view. Or at least not that I have found. I wish there was a place for old reviewed/approved expense reports would be saved for easy reference to the past reports.
Read Sheila Garcia's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

I recommend using Certify.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The app is easy to follow and straightforward. You'd be hard-pressed to make a mistake.
  • The app can auto-populate your entire receipt/reimbursement paper, which is very helpful and time-saving.
  • Certify never provided clear instructions to me when I first downloaded it as to how exactly to process expenses. I find to figure it out myself through intuition and scrolling around.
  • The app itself, while easy to follow, isn't particularly aesthetically pleasing, as weird as that may sound. It kind of looks like what an app would look like in 2010 as opposed to 2020.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Expense reports are a breeze with Certify!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Certify matches expenses with receipts that are uploaded automatically.
  • It's very easy to upload receipts to Certify through multiple ways including uploading from a computer or the mobile app and sending directly from email.
  • Most often, the categories that Certify auto-assigns to expenses are incorrect, so I have to always change them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2020

A great application for businesses big and small

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to use, and requires little user training and intervention.
  • It allows for great flexibility in the general ledger setup.
  • I don't have any real complaints. Customer service is great and Certify is always adding functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Linda Lavella | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Happy with Certify!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Certify has the tools to calculate mileage reimbursement from one location to another. The calculation is based on the amount that you want to reimburse per mile. Using this tool within Certify is much easier and quicker than having to go on a "MapQuest" type website to come up with this information.
  • A variety of reports are available in Certify to help track expenses by department, individuals or type of expense. Customized reports can also be added to Certify to provide data on "not so ordinary" expenditures.
  • I am not a user on Certify, only an administrator, but I have been told by many users how easy it is to use Certify. It was very much welcomed by our users when we started using Certify about 5 years ago.
  • When approving an expense, a manager has to approve it and submit it and a few times the manager approved it and never submitted it, thinking it was done.
  • We use the delegation tool that allows a manager to have another individual go into Certify and review and approve expenses for him. I find this feature a little difficult to find for setting this up and for the user to find. I have had to look it up in the support section of Certify.
  • On the screen when setting up a new user, a manager is set up to approve and there are two other fields that approvers can be added, a second approver and AP rep. When the second approver box is not populated, the expense keeps going back to the first approver. I have to put the AP Rep in as 2nd approver and AP approval.
Read Linda Lavella's full review
FRANCISCO OLIVEIRA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Certify: Solid platform with good customer service.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Organization & ease of view.
  • Easy, user-friendly interface.
  • Good customer service.
  • The option to have the edit screen already open as you move from one transaction line to the next.
  • More customization options (at least to the administrator).
  • More comprehensive reporting.
Read FRANCISCO OLIVEIRA's full review
Debbie Cochran | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Certify is awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easily upload pictures of receipts and upload into employee wallet.
  • Mileage is easily tracked for employees using a map and automatically calculates rate so that the employee doesn't have to calculate and eases errors.
  • Multiple reports are readily available for manager review.
  • Sometimes when downloading into accounting software the classes are input incorrectly. I'm not sure that this is a Certify problem or an accounting software issue.
Read Debbie Cochran's full review
Barbara coy | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Highly Recommend Certify

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Certify is linked with our specific business credit card
  • The support team responds very quickly to answer any questions, etc
  • Certify is very user-friendly
  • We have asked Certify for improvements through the years and they have responded very well. At this time I do not see an area for improvement.
Read Barbara coy's full review
Jennifer McBride, CMA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Certify solved problems and is user friendly and efficient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of uploading receipts
  • Approval workflow is visible
  • Variety of reports available
  • I would like to see an administrator dash board with easy identification of where the users are in the report preparation process. Perhaps there is a report for this.
Read Jennifer McBride, CMA's full review
Randal Hauck | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Certify use on a daily basis

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We have a constant need to keep track of job costing for our various projects. With Certify the process of getting the expenses into our accounting program is quick and easy. The "flags" within Certify for expenses that do not meet our requirements are easy to spot and correct.
  • Once an expense report has been approved it would be helpful if someone in our company had the ability to "un-approve" it if an error is noted and needs to be corrected. At this time a call to Certify is required to un-approve the report.
Read Randal Hauck's full review
Shari Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Certify is a win-win for accounting and employees both!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of using the software.
  • Ability to upload receipts using a cell phone.
  • Ability to review and process expense reports effectively.
  • Limiting a dollar amount for specific categories. When an expense can only be charged to that category if it exceeds a set limit.
Read Shari Roberts's full review
Kelly Lesko | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Great time saver for accounting!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to read, and insert receipt information is helpful.
  • The payout to the employee is quick and mostly hands off.
  • This system has saved me hours of time because it is so easy to use.
  • When syncing to QuickBooks, enough information isn't transferred over.
  • My employees tell me the system doesn't always read the receipts correctly and the information needs to be redone.
  • Employees have told me the credit card upload doesn't work as cleanly as they had expected.
Read Kelly Lesko's full review
John Hunt | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Convenience and Power of Certify

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Uses the companies own category list: this way it is tailored for our own use.
  • Stores receipts so that you don't have to keep up with them in a wallet or folder any longer.
  • Organizes the expenses in a simple way based on multiple factors.
  • Provides reminders.
  • The functionality works great, but occasionally there will be challenged with the app. One problem encountered is taking a photo of a receipt and being taken back to the log -in screen.
Read John Hunt's full review
Kevin Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Certify has simplified the business expenses and reimbursement processes in my day to day life!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Certify allows me to automatically generate expense reports for repetitive items.
  • Certify completely streamlines the entire approval process.
  • Certify allows me to get reimbursed much faster than ever before.
  • All my reimbursements are automatically directly deposited into my checking account within a matter of days versus weeks.
  • Certify makes keeping, sorting, and tracking receipts a breeze. It couldn't be better! you can upload, email, use an app, etc. It's fantastic in the office or on the go.
  • The Website and App interfaces are very user-friendly.
  • Certify allow me to import/upload receipts on the fly so that I never miss out or forget about an expensive or the specific amount. It also provides me a way to look back in time and compare as well.
  • Certify allows our organization's users in certify to rate and compare hotels they stay at an expense, restaurants, car rentals, and many other types of purchases. So we can literally see what other colleagues thought about it and how they rated their experience. This is something I have never had anywhere else before, without hours of Googling of course.
  • Certify could also include some automated spending control.
  • Certify could also implement some type of time tracking within it as well.
  • Certify could have something that is specific to accounting for projects.
  • Anything that could be added to help better and assist its users with tax management.
Read Kevin Brown's full review
Laura Berle | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Certainly simple to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Take a photo of the receipt and it is automatically saved
  • Because of the upload, paper receipts no longer need to be saved
  • It syncs really well into the monthly expense report so when it’s time to reconcile credit card transactions it’s all there
  • Capability to correct the transactions (which account, which project, $ amount etc.) works great
  • I use an iPad and when I try to touch things to edit they are placed a little too close to each other
  • When I do touch to edit, it should pull up in front of me. I didn’t realize that I had to arrow down to an item to continue to edit
Read Laura Berle's full review

About Certify, by Emburse

Certify is a web-based travel, expense management, and accounts payable automation software provider for companies of all sizes.

Certify Expense helps make expense reporting easier with its automated expense report creation and mobile receipt capture, promises the vendor. Employees, managers and accountants can create, submit and approve expense reports, check the status of expense reports and access reports on demand.

Certify AP gives finance teams insight into their company purchases and the ability to manage spend before it happens, paper is eliminated, and approvals are handled online, making remote work feasible. By automating these processes, finance teams now have valuable time to be able to work more strategically across their organization.

Certify, by Emburse Features

Expense Management Capabilities Features
Has featureReceipt Scanning
Has featureExpense Approval Routing
Has featureExpense Configuration Policies
Has featureManual Expense Entry and Editing
Has featureCompany Card Management
Has featureReimbursement
Has featureMulti-Currency Support
Has featureExpense Reporting
Expense Management Platform Features Features
Has featureMobile Application
Has featureIntegrations
Has featureExpense Management Security
Has featureExpense Management Compliance
Additional Features
Has featureApproval Process Control
Has featureInvoice Management
Has featureMulti-Currency
Has featureReceipt Management
Has featureReceipt Upload
Has featureReimbursement Management
Has featureSpend Control
Has featurePO creation
Has featurePurchase Requisition creation

Certify, by Emburse Screenshots

Certify, by Emburse Integrations

Xero, NetSuite, Authorize.Net, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, SAP Financial Statement Insights, Stripe, PayPal Payments, Braintree, Workato, Salesforce, Sage ERP, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Micosoft Excel

Certify, by Emburse Competitors

Expensify, Coupa, SAP Concur, Rydoo

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Certify AP has volume based pricing based on processed invoices

Certify, by Emburse Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Certify, by Emburse Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, Latin America, United Kingdom, Europe, Middle-East and Africa, Asia, Australia, China, India, Japan, Germany, Brazil, Mexico
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Taiwanese, Thai