Nexonia, by Emburse Reviews

22 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Jessica Rich | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

As long as you're willing to put the time and work into it, Nexonia Expenses is a tool that gets the job done

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexonia Expenses are used by my entire company to handle reimbursements of business expenses like travel and office supplies. As I do travel a few times a year, I use it to be reimbursed for my hotel, transportation, and meals. As I am a remote employee, I also need to submit reimbursements for my internet and cell phone. I've also been reimbursed for shipping and other office-related expenses
  • They are widely used and recognized - this means they are a trusted company
  • For straightforward expenses, the form to complete the necessary information is probably ok for most people to figure out.
  • The design interface isn't intuitive or attractive. Because I use it irregularly (less than once a month), I spend a lot of wasted time trying to remember how to use it.
  • If you have complicated submissions, it's challenging to figure out how to submit it correctly. I have to break each submission down into individual charges, although there's supposed to be a way to use a "split" feature or other features that would allow you to add multiple receipts to 1 day. After a year, I still haven't figured out how to use anything beyond one receipt = 1 submission.
I think Nexonia Expenses one of the only options in this market, and honestly, if this vendor is as frustrating to use, I can only imagine that the other vendors are just equally bad. In some markets and some industries, "Okay" is good enough. I can imagine that one of the reasons it was chosen as the vendor is because lot expenses come from lots of employees from around the world. A vendor that can handle the scale of all of those entries and process them is probably the bar, not that the tool is easy to use.
I haven't interacted with the support team.
Read Jessica Rich's full review
Kendra Zondervan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Nexonia Expenses great Product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our employees use Nexonia Expenses to manage both company credit card expenses as well as reimbursable expenses. Also, we utilize another add on feature for Invoice and Purchasing. Due to the high volume of corporate credit cards issued to individual employees, coupled with the number of transactions, overall spreadsheets were no longer cutting it. Nexonia Expenses has an incredible integration with the credit card provider (we use American Express), in which all cardholder transactions feed directly into Nexonia Expenses, after which the user itemizes the transactions inside a report. There they also store and connect receipts then submit their report, which can go through a simplified or very complex approval workflow depending on your needs.
  • Integration with Multiple Credit Card Vendors allowing seamless expensing of transactions for individual cardholders under one business account.
  • Ability to build very complex approval hierarchies by both locations, department, dollar amount, etc.
  • Invoices and Payables modules would need improvement if you were trying to utilize an all in one option for your organization.
  • The OCR for receipts within expense management is very inconsistent and does not have great functionality.
  • If you are looking only to utilize the Expense Management module Nexonia Expenses is an excellent solution for both large and small companies. I would highly recommend it. The cost of the software is also very reasonable. It pays for itself if you're using spreadsheets or a select few individuals that have to itemize many credit card or reimbursement expenses for multiple users.
  • The only con is if you are looking for an all in one platform that your users can engage with to manage both credit card expenses, reimbursements, invoices, and purchasing approvals and submissions their Payables (Invoicing) and Purchase order modules are not their bread and butter and need significant improvement.
No designated rep, therefore when you have changes or support needs, you do need to submit a ticket and often receive support from multiple parties sometimes regarding one ongoing issue.
Read Kendra Zondervan's full review
Johann Davila | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Nexonia Express Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexonia Expenses is being used across the whole organization to help our finance team to get a hold of all expense reports. It has been an easy to use platform that has allowed everyone in the company to be able to upload and register what expenses need to be accounted for, for our finance team.
  • Easy to use.
  • Quick to upload.
  • Everything in one place.
  • Nexonia has been working great since day one that we don't have any complaints or improvements yet.
Nexonia is so easy to use and quick to upload that filling out monthly expense reports for the finance department has been a breeze. It's a one-stop-shop for every in the organization to be able to manage their expense reports to easily get these taken care of for the end of the month.
I haven't had to use support, which is saying something good about the product.
Read Johann Davila's full review
Renaud Renvoye | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Solid tool at an affordable price

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexonia expenses is being across the entire organization in order to submit every professional expenses. It is very good to provide a good visibility on who is doing what and to streamline the approval process. When you update an expense, your direct manager receive a notification and vice versa, the employee receive a notification when the status has changed.
  • Easy
  • Streamline process
  • Visibility
  • Scalability
  • Interface
  • Innovation
I think at a small scale, Nexonia Expenses is very well suited and is able to fit the needs of a company who has a mid-market size and not overwhelming sales team. It seems like, it is less appropriate for global organizations, that's why I was mentioning the scalability of the product.
I was not talking directly with the customer support. My understanding was that, there was some maintenance on the platform but it was never inconvenient for employee or during pick time when employee would put their expenses in the tool. To that extent, I think the support for Nexonia is correct.
Read Renaud Renvoye's full review
Alicia Azulay | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Nexonia - Great Option for Small to Mid-Size Businesses

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are only using it for our India subsidiary. We piloted it with just our non-US employees because it was a smaller population to explore options outside of Concur Expense. In the end we determined that Nexonia could not support some of our more complex needs that Concur can and we are now transition all employees back over to Concur.
  • The integration with NetSuite is well executed.
  • The system is intuitive for both users and approvers.
  • Ability to feed credit card data into the system is super helpful.
  • Limitations on the NetSuite integration, a negative expense report cannot sync because the system can only import as a bill and not a bill credit. We have this come up if any employee has a credit card refund for the month and no other charges to offset it. We are forced to manually enter.
  • There is no easy way to mass update Expense Type data. For example we wanted to update the receipt requirement for all expense types for our India subsidiary and each expense type had to be updated one by one.
  • When integrating with Nexonia it links to 'Expense Categories' and not directly to the Chart of Accounts. This creates a lot of manual work in NetSuite when wanting to add new expense types.
I think it is well suited for smaller sized businesses on a mid level ERP.
Read Alicia Azulay's full review
Christopher Boutros | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2017

My personal experience with Nexonia Expenses

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Nexonia Expenses is used for employee expense reimbursement. We have recently rolled out the features for purchase orders (POs). While there are a few hiccups in implementation and synchronization with Intacct's accounting platform, it has been easy to adjust. The whole organization uses the employee expense reimbursement side while the development and construction teams of our solar development company use it for POs.
  • Nexonia Expenses is easy to set up and have it sync with our accounting software
  • Nexonia is easy to use
  • It is difficult to say where Nexonia Expenses has room for improvement since I personally have less hands on experience with it beyond implementation and expense reimbursement.
Nexonia Expenses is well suited for any type of business that has a large enough need for an expense reimbursement software. It could improve by adding an FAQ section and offering more online support for a less experienced implementer.
Read Christopher Boutros's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2018

Simple and functional

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Nexonia in the North American office to track expenses and process reimbursements and it's been working well for the past few years. It is very easy to submit expense reports and get approvals both from a computer or on the go. The software doesn't require any learning and is super easy to use.
  • Expense tracking
  • Expense reporting
  • Expense approval
  • Mobile app is a bit outdated but fully functional
  • The UI could use some facelift but it's still very good
  • Linking-unlinking photos and expense items is a bit confusing but manageable after some practicing
Nexonia is a perfect tool to track business trip expenses and submit them to your company. Very easy to use whether it's web UI or the mobile app. The reporting system is simple and information and the approval process is beyond easy. It's the tool that does the job and it's really hard to suggest anything else. Accountants / financial managers could wish more (potentially) but for end users it is perfect.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2017

Good and solid, but could use some user interface updates.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Nexonia with 50 users across all lines of our business. It helps streamline our credit card reconciliations each month, along with reducing paper.
  • Downloads transactions from credit cards
  • Ability to customize to business processes
  • UI is outdated
  • Have not seen many updates
It is well suited for someone who needs to automate the credit card process. It is pretty easy to set up and train users on how to use it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2017

Nexonia - best expense reporting tool for NetSuite

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by all employees including two subsidiaries (200+ employees) to submit expense reports and approve vendor bills.
  • Sync corporate credit card
  • Timely and helpful support
  • Customization
  • Receipt scanning OQR
Global or domestic expense reporting tool, easy to use and implement, connects with existing ERPs (especially NetSuite), automated AP approval flow.
Read this authenticated review

Nexonia, by Emburse Scorecard Summary

About Nexonia, by Emburse

Nexonia, by Emburse, is a tool designed to streamline employee expense reporting. It is designed to increase visibility into spendings and make the expense tracking, approval, and reporting process paperless.

Nexonia was part of a merger with Certify in 2017 and is now part of the larger company formed from it and Chrome River, Emburse.

Categories:  Expense Management

Nexonia, by Emburse Features

Has featureAutomated integration with your other business applications: travel management, ERP, online storage, online payment systems, etc
Has featureIntuitive and powerful mobile apps
Has featureUnlimited support and unlimited training

Nexonia, by Emburse Integrations

Sage Intacct, NetSuite, QuickBooks Online, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Microsoft Dynamics SL, SAP ERP, Oracle Financials, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations (Dynamics AX)

Nexonia, by Emburse Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Nexonia, by Emburse Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Nexonia, by Emburse Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry
Supported Countries:United States, Canada
Supported Languages: English, French, Spanish