Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology

Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology
Formerly Ellie Mae

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 6.4 out of 100
Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology

Overview

What is Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology?

Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technolgoy (formerly Ellie Mae) is an all-in-one mortgage management solution for lenders.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Paperless

8 out of 10
September 20, 2018
Encompass is used by our Mortgage Production group, and it allows us to transition leads to funded loans paperless.
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Which Loan Servicing Software is Best? (Apache Fineract, TurnKey, Encompass)
03:14
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology?

Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technolgoy (formerly Ellie Mae) is an all-in-one mortgage management solution for lenders.

Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology Video

Loan Servicing Software focuses on automating post-disbursement loan activity including collections, amortization, collateral tracking, and customer service. This video compares Encompass against two other competing tools in the space to share which type of tool is best for each use case.

Encompass from ICE Mortgage Technology Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (82)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 69)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass is and has been the go-to system for loan originators. The system is catered to each company individually and allows originators and operations to manage a borrower's entire loan profile from origination to funding in one system. One of the best features of Encompass, outside of its main function which is mortgages is that you can collect data due to the thousands of data sets it has. This is perfect if you want to quickly gather email addresses, phone numbers, interest rates, loan programs, etc of your active and closed pipeline.
  • Loan Origination to Closing
  • Customizable data points
  • Quick Data Gathering
  • Secure Documentation Holding
  • Server Issues making it inoperable too often
  • Companies input too many data points or overuse
  • New URLA is still hard to get used to, way too many data points are required to be filled out often leading to issues with functions downline like running AUS
The system is great for loan origination and downline processing. The thing about Encompass is that it's only as good as its user so I can see where new loan originators or folks who are new to the system can have a huge disadvantage over somebody who is experienced with it. Of course, if you have experience with it it's the perfect tool. Compliance is also a big factor that Encompass does take advantage of. It communicates with various 3rd parties like Blend, appraisal management systems, Loanbeam, etc to help gather data where needed and keep files in compliance as needed. I don't know of any other case use for Encompass outside of loan origination.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This was used for our loan origination system (LOS). It was the center of the tech stack for our mortgage company. We used this for completing loan applications over the phone, as well as tracking and updating apps as needed.
  • Tracking mortgage applications
  • Being source of truth during all stages of the mortgage process
  • Allowing Administrators to customize views and forms to fit the needs of the business
  • Cloud offering is lacking, so we never implemented it and stuck to the desktop (clunky) version
  • Integrations with Salesforce and other systems are a burden
  • No true mobile offering for LO's on the go
This is a well-suited platform for mortgage companies that do a lot of work out of a centralized call center. If Loan Officer's are in an office setting and don't need a mobile/web offering, this solution is powerful and capable of handling the loan both pre and post close. The company must also be willing to hire or consult at least 1 Encompass Admin for this to work.
Eyal Tropen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Encompass to originate residential mortgages. I come from a technical background, so I understand the product as a software solution as well as a tool for loan originators. Programmatically, this is the most accomplished product I have encountered so far, after using Calix Point and PC Lender. It follows standard windows programming language for the user interface much better than the other two products mentioned, and is enhancing advanced features and integration all the time.
  • Document management
  • Integration with web and mobile app
  • Integration with 3rd party service providers such as credit reporting, pricing engine, CRM
  • Ability to have multiple loans open at the same time
  • Multiple screens open at the same time
  • Loan scenario comparison & borrower options presentation
  • Low ability to check options without saving, as the file is being worked on
Very appropriate for the origination of residential mortgages. Don't know about commercial mortgages - these may work as well.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have utilized Encompass in a loan processing capacity (on and off) for the last 12 years. The loan processing position requires intensive use of Encompass. Encompass, unfortunately, creates more problems than it addresses. Blend does not make things any easier. I have processed and closed as many as 40 loans per month on Encompass, and it was grueling.
  • Nothing [in my opinion]
  • No auto save. [In my experience] Encompass has extreme issues with printing docs, and crashes.
  • I have been processing loans for over 38 years and Encompass is in serious need of AutoSave. I [feel] it is a dangerous system when Encompass vanishes without any ability to save hours of work. You then start all over. I left my last company over Encompass, and I will only work for lenders who do not utilize Encompass as their LOS.
  • The entire system needs to be overhauled and updated. Blend is of no help.
[In my opinion] no autosave makes Encompass a dinosaur and a dangerous one at that. Far too many "work arounds." You have to maintain extensive notes in order to navigate through functions which are basic on other LOS. The single most dangerous issue with Encompass is crashing - Encompass has a solid reputation for crashing at least once or twice every couple of weeks. Since there is no auto save, this wreaks havoc and slows the process way down, resulting in lost referral business and turn over.
September 20, 2018

Paperless

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass is used by our Mortgage Production group, and it allows us to transition leads to funded loans paperless.
  • We are able to create custom screens to tailor to individual personas; this keeps staff from needing to go to additional pages.
  • We are looking at Consumer Connect; it isn't quite where we need it yet, but it is close.
  • Consumer Connect needs detailed fees. These fees need to be dynamic based on user entries such as property type, property state, occupancy, etc.
  • Releases seem to have a few unseen hiccups until clients start using it. Some of those have been basic functions.
  • Items on the roadmap keep getting pushed, in some cases over 18 months.
Great for high volume shops. Has integrations for day 1 and lots of other services.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass for the entire mortgage department and all of our subgroups within. We get compliments from new Loan Officers all the time for having such a smooth and streamlined process! The reporting functionality is fantastic and I love that we can set our own rules and tasks.
  • staying on top of industry and regulatory processes and requirements
  • Keeping updates on the investor data and pushing that information out to the documents
  • integrating with external software providers- while I wish there were more on the list, the integration process is incredibly easy.
  • FHA ebinder uploads
  • using API in a standard format
  • some of the help desk personnel seem to need additional training.
  • I would be more inclined to attend the conferences if they weren't always in Las Vegas
I'm of the opinion that this software could be used in any financing or servicing type function as it is so easily customizable.
February 19, 2018

Flexibility at a CO$T

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass is being used by the mortgage department and enables start to finish solutions from loan origination to delivery in to the secondary market.
  • Encompass is very user friendly
  • It’s a flexible LOS that can be set up to fit your business process and operation.
  • There are a lot of helpful educational videos to get users started.
  • Encompass is a powerful tool that is flexible and can be set up to meet your business needs. However, a guide of best practices in designing a workflow process would be a huge resource.
  • A feature that would be helpful is the ability to easily create pop up boxes that could allow users to identify errors in data being entered in to fields and direct them to a solution to easily correct the error.
Encompass is a very robust tool that would work great for companies that have strong organizational process with defined user roles in place. I would recommend anyone considering implementing it to carefully map out every step from lead generation to loan delivery. It’s important to involve compliance and audit as well as origination and post closing with every decision for best execution.
Hilary Pelican | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass360 is a fantastic LOS system that is used by all business units within our organization. It really makes production easier when all departments can reference their respective loan information all in one place.
  • Third-party integration and automation. Forward-thinking technology is an integral piece to staying competitive within the mortgage industry. The ability to call upon multiple third party services within the LOS makes production more efficient.
  • Tolerance cure tracking could be improved upon. It would be a great benefit if we could report on the types of fees that are being cured. A screen or tool such as this would serve as a dual purpose, identifying training needs and determining the exact cost of cures.
For my personal use, Encompass works well and is mostly sufficient for my needs. I do not work on the Operations side of things - this is best answered by someone in a production role.
Courtney Hamlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have used Encompass at the last two companies. I have seen it in different phases and pieces of development just from having different administers/packages. It changed my previous company 100% by allowing processing and sales to work from the same system and see live updates. It has transformed into a VERY useful software. It has given the ability to have most of the processes standardizes, and still allows the mortgage company to add some personal touch stock letters too. The e-signing process is streamlined, so the borrowers have fewer problems with the e-signing. This gives some additional leverage by allowing us to keep up with the busy computer savvy person too.
  • Companies have the ability to customize some of the processes and documents it needs to meet their company standards/ principles too.
  • Knowledge and updates are easy to access.
  • Offering more free webinars
  • Easier for the borrower to decline e-disclosures if anything has changed since they were sent or automatic directions sent to the borrower during the e-consent stage explaining more of what the web center is for them.
It makes it difficult for returning borrowers to change the password when signing another loan package electronically. Giving the ability for the loan officer's assistant to have more importance during the actual Encompass systems.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass to originate, process and underwrite different types of mortgage loans. A majority of our organization utilizes Encompass in one way or another. It has helped us streamline our process from beginning to end and eliminate some errors that can happen when dealing with paper files.
  • Streamline. Encompass helps us set up templates and pages/forms for different types of mortgages. Thus making it easier on our staff because they can choose the specific template to the loan product they are working with.
  • Automation. Ellie Mae works hard to automate or utilize custom calculations whenever possible, which is wonderful, and can eliminate human error in some cases.
  • Sometimes getting documents corrected or updated can be a lengthy and arduous process.
  • Currently the alerts that fire in the system are all red, I think it would be beneficial to color code them so that the alerts that need to be handled right away stand out to users.
Encompass has worked very well for all the types of mortgages we currently work with.
Leanne Holzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Ellie Mae Encompass has allowed us to ensure our loans are compliant and has streamlined the way to originate and close mortgages. We have been able to close loans with ease and monitor compliance through the entire transaction. The software is suited to all borrowers whether they are tech savvy or not. We can also originate loans in market areas where we have no physical presence with ease. It's also going to save me a tremendous amount of time by being able to do transactions paperless.
  • The Web Center allows us to compete in our market and also allows us to continue to originate loans in markets where we don't have a physical originator.
  • The software is easy to use so it allows us to train staff very quickly so they can start producing mortgages.
  • I appreciate receiving information on upcoming updates well before they take place so that I can review the updates and inform the staff of changes they need to be aware of.
  • I would like to see more practical training maybe similar to the video introductory training on practical applications. I am a small lender so administering the software can prove to be very difficult at times.
  • I would like to see practical training on issues like "going paperless" and how exactly to set that up. It would be helpful to have that type of training in the form of a video.
  • I would like to have control of adding the closing documents myself rather than having to request them.
  • The software loads very slowly.
It offers lenders comfort in knowing that it's compliant especially in today's regulatory world where it can be a burden and almost impossible to keep up with all of the changes. The downside to Encompass is that it is just a complex and robust system which is often more than small lenders need even though the setup remains the same. There are aspects of the software that I will never use as a smaller lender.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This is being used by virtually all business units in my organization to facilitate the loan process from inception through closing.
  • Encompass from Ellie Mae is on top of compliance changes.
  • Ellie Mae provides great support for vendor integration.
  • Ellie Mae allows for extensive customization via their SDK/API
  • The smart client is kind of a dated model for app dev but Ellie Mae is transitioning to web
  • No mobile app
  • Smartclient is slow
It is legitimately the only LOS product on the market right now that I would recommend.
December 20, 2017

Encompass is great!!!

Paula Trisnee Ashby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass from application to purchasing like most companies. It is an outstanding LOS that has taken the market by storm and just continues to improve. the only drawback is their pricing engine EPPS, it is not the greatest, it is very basic and does not give you the options and functions that are really needed and necessary when pricing a mortgage loan for an accurate rate.
  • Their system keeps improving every time you turn around and it handles the cradle to the grave of mortgages exceptionally with ease.
  • Their EPPS pricing engine is in desperate need on improvement. at this time, it prices on the assumption that the loan is approved/eligible. we all know that is extremely inaccurate. there are several ways the EPPS pricing engine needs to improve. I am sorely disappointed in it.
I would highly recommend Encompass for a great LOS, but I would not recommend the EPPS Pricing Engine.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass from Ellie Mae for all of our residential mortgage lending. We lend in 38 states currently, and are merging with another bank that uses Encompass as well. We hope that the use of Encompass will allow for a seamless transition of mortgage operations during the merger. I have been working closely with the merger team to ensure that the services that we are utilizing will meet the needs of the borrowers and the needs of the direct users, the loan officers, to minimize effort and eliminate duplication. I look forward to telling you about our successes in 6 months time.
  • The online app works well
  • The integration with CBC Innovus and the automated underwriting is seamless
  • The dashboard lets me see everything that is important to me
  • My edited pipeline views are perfect for me and my team
  • I want the HMDA data added to the online application
  • I sometimes get booted off the system
  • I would like the time stamp to always be the local time, instead of the server time zone
I feel that Encompass is suitable for all that I do in residential lending, the agency products are great and, the portfolio products are as great as we enter them in to be. I rarely have any issue with running findings that I can't identify and fix in one or two tries. If I had to say there was a problem area, it may be the fault of our implementation team, but the construction-perm, rehab and purchase rehab loans seem to have the most issues and cause the most difficulty for the disclosure desk and processing.
November 30, 2017

One Person’s Opinion

Mark Carr | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass is our LOS system that this company has been using for the last 3 years. We currently utilize it from the beginning application stage through post-purchase / trailing documents.
  • The robustness of the platform and the ability to customize the file flow to match an organization's particular structure is hands down the best I have ever used or seen.
  • Without a strong Encompass admin, the setup and day to day support for your end users can become very daunting. But with the right people in place, there is almost nothing you can't get done.
  • The support for construction loans and HELOC is lacking, though there are a few third-party companies (TPC) out there that do provide some options for plugins.
As we are seeing an uptick in 203k and conventional construction loans, it would be nice to have them better integrated into the system.
Cassie Dietrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company switched over to Encompass 2 years ago and it was the best decision we ever made. The software is easy to work with and incredibly user-friendly. It helps us more efficiently process loans and has significantly increased our productivity. Not only does the system itself provide useful tools but the support that goes along with the software makes any questions that do arise easy to answer.

Ellie Mae has provided me with numerous learning opportunities to become better at my job and continues to support that learning on a consistent basis. Not only do the programs the house make doing my job easier, but they also help my company be more efficient and enables us to help more people achieve their dream of homeownership.
  • Loan compliance is easy with the use of Mavent through Encompass
  • Doc Solutions in Encompass is a great way to stay in compliance with all state regulations
  • Navigation is very easy and intuitively obvious to the user
  • It can be easy to over customize Encompass because of its flexibility
Encompass is well suited for origination and processing of mortgage loans. I really think that would be the only reason anyone would use this software, it wouldn't be appropriate for any other industries.
Linda L. Moran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We first started with Ellie Mae in 2004 with Contour and transitioned to Encompass. We are a small community bank with 25 users. We use a lot of the features/add-ons of Encompass for origination, closing, website, LO Connect, mortgage returns, Ellie Mae Pricing Engine and Mavent Compliance Service. The system is easy to use and between Mavent and the Business Rules, it keeps us compliant not just for TRID but also for HMDA and ensures a complete application to get loans to closing in 22-25 days or less. The electronic document management is awesome and the feature that allows you to directly print to the e-folder is a real timesaver. We have streamlined our processing for almost every service to one-click ordering which has allowed processors to handle larger volumes. I would highly recommend Encompass to any bank, mortgage company or mortgage broker. It is well worth the cost.
  • Most of our loan officers work remotely and between Encompass and LO Connect, loan officers have status and information wherever and whenever they need it. Loan Officer Connect is a great sales tool.
  • Mavent Compliance Software - this has helped our bank stay compliant. If an issue comes up, the Mavent report is easy to read and figure out the error so it can be fixed quickly.
  • Integration between services - The transfer of data is flawless from credit report orders to automated underwriting to the pricing engine for the loan officers and ordering fraud reports, appraisals, flood certs, VOEs, VODs and titles for the processors.
  • The ability to text the borrowers from within Encompass. Today's borrowers respond much more quickly to a text message than an email. If that feature was integrated into Encompass it would be a real timesaver.
  • From an admin perspective, it would be nice if it were easier to set up new users. There are a lot steps to go through to make sure new users have access to what they need. Between the persona and the position assigned there seems to be some redundancy in the set up of users.
Seamless integration to services, customizable business rules, easy for new users to come on board and be trained. There is a great resource center available to resolve most issues 24/7. The only downside is that sometimes there are long wait times for tech support via the phone and even online. However, once you get a tech support person, they are knowledgeable and usually have a fix for you in a short amount of time.
Scott R. Gripman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Loan Origination Software for an Arizona Licensed Mortgage Broker. Marketing prospective clients, Opening prospective loan file, Importing Credit Report and Liabilities for qualifying, Originating loan application, Sending the loan application for electronic signatures, Receiving signed electronic loan application back, Processing loan application. Clients upload their documents directly into Encompass 360 and get updates throughout the loan process.
  • The closest to all in one loan origination software on the market
  • Mortgage Broker LOS edition includes website with live mortgage rates
  • Always has updated state and federal disclosures
  • Great database for online do it yourself help
  • No live phone support
  • Catered for Banks, Savings & Loan, Mortgage Bankers
  • You have to pay an hourly fee to get help setting up if you are a first time user with no previous Encompass 360 experience
I believe this software was developed for mortgage bankers NOT mortgage brokers, but having said that I do believe if you take the time to read the training material from their website and or pay for help once you get it set up it integrates seamlessly with your end investors and clients. Remember I speaking as a mortgage broker.
Brian Beaman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass as our Loan Origination System and System of Record for compliance reporting. We are almost all in, as in we use the Complaince Service and Ellie Mae Docs. The only core service we don't use is EPPS.
  • Document updates and Management is very reliable.
  • Interpretation of compliance rules leans conservative. This protects both Ellie Mae and us.
  • Strong community of other admins.
  • The new release schedule is causing more problems than it solved.
  • Easier access to information about changes to the system.
There isn't a more complete or comprehensive solution for Mortgage Lenders or Brokers in the market. If you value strong integration with key providers, Encompass from Ellie Mae is the Gold Standard.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass to originate all of our retail mortgage loans, process them, draw docs and fund.
  • Compliant: We did not worry too much the last few years knowing Ellie Mae will be prepared to tackle any of the issues with Dodd Frank, RESPA-TILA and CFPB.
  • Innovative: They are always ahead of the competition with new services and products.
  • Quick: Taking an application should not take long and Encompass does that whether it's online or on the software.
  • Pricing engine is one thing they can improve.
It works perfectly whether you are a small or large lender.
Rob Mildish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We now utilize Encompass as our LOS and we are working towards it being our end-to-end system.
  • Best integration with Optimal Blue PPE.
  • Ability to customize business rules for different personas.
  • Integrated with more softwares than any other LOS.
  • Consumer interface still lacking.
  • Cost of some integrations is excessive.
Excellent for correspondent lenders and brokers. Lacking if you work with TPOs or if you are a loan servicer.
July 21, 2017

Encompass

Ian Shirey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Encompass is used for all Origination and post closing as well as their docs solution
  • The do a great job of keeping up with regulatory changes.
  • They are always on top of new technological trends
  • Any time you speak to any of their employees they are helpful and pleasant to work with. They a great group! They have always been great at following up on issues we have.
  • Their technical support could use some improvement. The resource center is clumsy to work with for finding answers to higher end functionality issues
  • Their custom forms editor needs updating
Encompass is well suited for most lending environments from brokers to Third Party Originators. It has coverage for most aspects of mortgage lending. It is not well suited for commercial lending
Samuel Lerner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass for all aspects of the origination process, from taking a loan app, to underwriting, to post closing. It integrates with hundreds of vendors so that our users never have to leave the LOS. It allows a fair amount of automation and they are working every day to automate more functions. It allowed us to customize our workflows for our various channels of business as well.
  • Easily self managed. A single user can administer the software.
  • Mavent Compliance engine provides integrated assurance that files remain in compliance.
  • Ability to customize workflows based on channel.
  • Ability to customize input forms to match your business needs. You can completely customize your users experience with input forms.
  • Customer support has improved but could still stand a little improvement.
  • Updates to print forms lag behind edisclosed version.
  • Direct access to database.
Encompass is good for most lenders. With two versions (Broker and Banker) they cover all their bases. Smaller shops can use Broker and get the automation and integrations they need, without the complexity of configuring the myriad of functions of Banker.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Encompass from prospects to post-closing and everything in between. It allows for the seamless integration of many services throughout the mortgage industry.
  • Product and service integration - Creating a framework for vendors to integrate their services into.
  • Stability and performance - The system can be laggy, especially west of Chicago.
It is well-suited for mid to large sized companies who do not want to build their own solution.
April 10, 2017

Encompass delivers!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use Encompass for our whole organization, except for our reverse business. It allows us to originate compliant loans.
  • Start to finish solution
  • Allows us to automate and simplify the process for our users
  • Piece of mind that our loans are originated compliantly
  • More customization for integrated services
  • Reporting and data analytics need to be greatly improved
  • Lack of support for many types of loans, such as 0% interest rate and reverse
It's well suited for any company looking to simplify their loan origination workflow and ensure that loans are compliant with state & federal regulations.
Return to navigation