TrustRadius
Ensemble Video is an online video platform that simplifies video management and delivers content any time, over a variety of networks.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/v2/Bv/47QULEQ3C2TR.JPEGCreate an ensemble of your campus videos!Our Ensemble instance is used quite a bit by our campus. Its primary use is for hosting the videos instructors would show in face-to-face courses for their online courses. Faculty who legally own VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, or some other digital format of a video may drop that video to our office (after obtaining permission by copyright holders to show their videos to online courses). Student workers perform the tasks necessary to take that original video and have it hosted on our Ensemble video license. The faculty member is provided a URL to the Ensemble video (which is added to a playlist for the faculty member) to link within the LMS. We also heavily use Ensemble for ADA compliance. This includes hosting transcribed videos (for which a third-party service is integrated with our Ensemble instance), Kurzweil files, specially annotated PDF documents, etc., to provide a central location for our campus to better serve those students with special needs.,Faculty bring in a variety of different formats for videos, including VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, MP4, and more. Those at Ensemble Video have helped us to develop a good streamlined workflow to get these varying formats hosted in a central location and develop a campus-wide standard. Ensemble Video has greatly helped us provide better services to our students needing special accommodations. Ensemble is a stable product, where needing help from their support team is very rare. However, on those very rare occasions, their support team is very knowledgeable. We had an issue once that I thought was so obscure, but the team quickly replied with the right answer to resolve our issue, without so much as a clarification on my support ticket. If self hosting the Ensemble Video product, their team will take care of upgrades for you as part of the licensing.,There is one issue where sometimes the 'Add' button to add new media disappears, typically once per week. The workaround is to restart the physical server. While restarting the server each week can be a good thing, it would be nice not to have to keep a reminder on my calendar.,10,I would say our campus' overall business objective would be to serve our students. Ensemble Video has helped us to do that, and in particular has helped to better serve students with special needs.,Panopto and Kaltura,Blackboard, Blackboard Collaborate, DropboxAmazing Media Streaming ServiceEnsemble Video has reduced our workload and made our users a lot happier, and, in the end, that’s the real solution. It's being used with as an enterprise software across the whole organization. Ensemble Video has taken our myriad needs and provided a platform that addresses all of them.,Ensemble Video delivers an easy and fast solution to upload media for educational purposes. Ensemble Video has succeeded for us where other solutions have failed.,Include additional training and development sessions. Introduce additional analytical features for reports.,9,Ensemble Video has provided positive impact on our Distance Education program which allow users to view streaming media for educational purposes.,MediasiteEnsemble - A Comprehensive Solution to all Multimedia NeedsEnsemble Video is primarily used for hosting and delivering multimedia content in our online classes. A great feature of Ensemble Video is ease of creating submission links and user accounts. This gives us a powerful solution for user submitted content that can then be shared through playlists, links and our Blackboard LMS. With the newer embed options, we've also been using Ensemble Video more in our professional development presentations that are built in Articulate Storyline.,Adapting to user needs. Ensemble Video seems to always be listening to their clients needs and suggestions by implementing effective features in every system update. Communication seems to always indicate that these features are driven by requests that their customers have made to improve the service. Client Support - I have an IT/support background and have had to deal with many vendors and external support. Ensemble is easily the most responsive and effective vendor when it comes to support. When needing certain solutions, they have sent code that was in development and not officially released so I could achieve my goals with project videos. Support is always personal, prompt and effective. Customization. New templates, video players, account management, and embed options have allowed us to use Ensemble Video in a much more personalized way. Early versions of the service had an "Ensemble feel" but color schemes and logos are now able to be changed for a better organization feel.,Sometimes the wait time to convert videos can take awhile. It's not a huge concern but it is something we usually have to point out to students that are uploading their own videos. Better file management options would also be nice. Functionality to copy or move video files to different libraries does exist but it can sometimes be a time consuming and tedious process.,10,Ease of user contributed content. The videos that users upload to the system can either be automatically published or they can be reviewed by staff before being added to websites and courses. Instead of all these videos living on different sites (YouTube, Vimeo, etc.) we now have a centralized location that we have control over. LMS Integration - A year ago YouTube changed their policy to not allow direct recording from webcams. This essentially broke the Blackboard Video Everywhere tool that allowed our instructors to post quick comments in class discussions and content areas. While they need to be pre-recorded, the Ensemble Building Block allows our instructors and students to once again upload and post videos, all from directly within the Blackboard content editor. Flexibility - With the ease of creating user accounts and video libraries, Ensemble Video has become the go to option for Erikson courses, professional development content and project videos. Different departments can have their own account and have control over their libraries without the worry of them viewing or editing other institute content.,Blackboard, Articulate StorylineThe Multiple Benefits of Ensemble Video in Higher EducationEnsemble Video is used across our academic and business departments to host media libraries that aid instructional purposes. Academic departments use their libraries for instructional videos that are linked to their educational programs in integration with our learning management system. Business departments use their libraries for staff training and support. Additionally some users have personal libraries were they host media for multiple research purposes.,Customer support. One of the best experiences I have had in this respect. Always helpful and timely. The system design and features is properly implemented. Enough flexibility with only the right amount of options. Constant product improvement. Ensemble Video continues to evolve, adding better and more powerful features. We are always excited about new releases and how they will improve our processes.,User management. Some features are unique to the entire deployment (like authentication sources). It would be great if multiple authentication options could be used across different Ensemble institutions. Upgrade processes. Though new versions of Ensemble Video are always better, the installation process is very manual and Ensemble Video must be involved directly. Not a weakness, but it would be nice to be able to perform our own upgrades/patches when needed.,10,ROI is sometimes tricky because systems, once implemented, are never welcomed by end users and thus, the ROI originally foreseen was more idealistic than real. Ensemble Video is almost universally well received by end users and thus, there is a real ROI that mostly relates to institutional effectiveness.,,Schoology, Extensis Portfolio, SmartsheetTrustRadius readers will love it!Esemble Video is the software we use to manage streaming video accounts for faculty and staff at the university. It is an excellent product that allows us to manage a large volume of videos for the campus. It is user friendly and an affordable option for our campus. We are now also including our materials for ADA compliance as well.,Ease of use Many options it affords the user Affordability Operability,Would like not to have to restart the server each week to get the add button to appear.,10,Ensemble videos allows our department in house to manage and stream videos to be viewed by our campus community. Providing these services saves our university money, which is a precious resource on our campus.,
Windows
Ensemble Video
11 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
TRScore

Ensemble Video Reviews

Ensemble Video
11 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 11 vetted Ensemble Video reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joseph Axenroth profile photo
September 26, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "Create an ensemble of your campus videos!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Ensemble instance is used quite a bit by our campus. Its primary use is for hosting the videos instructors would show in face-to-face courses for their online courses. Faculty who legally own VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, or some other digital format of a video may drop that video to our office (after obtaining permission by copyright holders to show their videos to online courses). Student workers perform the tasks necessary to take that original video and have it hosted on our Ensemble video license. The faculty member is provided a URL to the Ensemble video (which is added to a playlist for the faculty member) to link within the LMS.

We also heavily use Ensemble for ADA compliance. This includes hosting transcribed videos (for which a third-party service is integrated with our Ensemble instance), Kurzweil files, specially annotated PDF documents, etc., to provide a central location for our campus to better serve those students with special needs.
  • Faculty bring in a variety of different formats for videos, including VHS, DVD, Blu-ray, MP4, and more. Those at Ensemble Video have helped us to develop a good streamlined workflow to get these varying formats hosted in a central location and develop a campus-wide standard.
  • Ensemble Video has greatly helped us provide better services to our students needing special accommodations.
  • Ensemble is a stable product, where needing help from their support team is very rare. However, on those very rare occasions, their support team is very knowledgeable. We had an issue once that I thought was so obscure, but the team quickly replied with the right answer to resolve our issue, without so much as a clarification on my support ticket.
  • If self hosting the Ensemble Video product, their team will take care of upgrades for you as part of the licensing.
  • There is one issue where sometimes the 'Add' button to add new media disappears, typically once per week. The workaround is to restart the physical server. While restarting the server each week can be a good thing, it would be nice not to have to keep a reminder on my calendar.
I'm not sure where Ensemble Video would be less appropriate. We've found it to be very effective for our campus-specific use cases. However, the product is very customizable in how a campus could structure their Ensemble instance to match their organization, and how users may be managed.
Read Joseph Axenroth's full review
Derek Hardaway profile photo
September 21, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "Amazing Media Streaming Service"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ensemble Video has reduced our workload and made our users a lot happier, and, in the end, that’s the real solution. It's being used with as an enterprise software across the whole organization. Ensemble Video has taken our myriad needs and provided a platform that addresses all of them.
  • Ensemble Video delivers an easy and fast solution to upload media for educational purposes.
  • Ensemble Video has succeeded for us where other solutions have failed.
  • Include additional training and development sessions.
  • Introduce additional analytical features for reports.
Ensemble Video is well suited in dealing with media needs for all of our organization's needs. It's appropriate in providing a solution for video streaming with the expectation that users can view content from any mobile device.
Read Derek Hardaway's full review
Mike Maxse profile photo
September 21, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "Ensemble - A Comprehensive Solution to all Multimedia Needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ensemble Video is primarily used for hosting and delivering multimedia content in our online classes. A great feature of Ensemble Video is ease of creating submission links and user accounts. This gives us a powerful solution for user submitted content that can then be shared through playlists, links and our Blackboard LMS. With the newer embed options, we've also been using Ensemble Video more in our professional development presentations that are built in Articulate Storyline.
  • Adapting to user needs. Ensemble Video seems to always be listening to their clients needs and suggestions by implementing effective features in every system update. Communication seems to always indicate that these features are driven by requests that their customers have made to improve the service.
  • Client Support - I have an IT/support background and have had to deal with many vendors and external support. Ensemble is easily the most responsive and effective vendor when it comes to support. When needing certain solutions, they have sent code that was in development and not officially released so I could achieve my goals with project videos. Support is always personal, prompt and effective.
  • Customization. New templates, video players, account management, and embed options have allowed us to use Ensemble Video in a much more personalized way. Early versions of the service had an "Ensemble feel" but color schemes and logos are now able to be changed for a better organization feel.
  • Sometimes the wait time to convert videos can take awhile. It's not a huge concern but it is something we usually have to point out to students that are uploading their own videos.
  • Better file management options would also be nice. Functionality to copy or move video files to different libraries does exist but it can sometimes be a time consuming and tedious process.
One of the main reasons we were drawn to Ensemble Video was it's emphasis for supporting multimedia in higher learning environments. Unlimited user accounts, security features and the ease of use has made Ensemble Video an effective solution. Prior to Ensemble Video we tested free sites like YouTube and Vimeo. However they didn't have the privacy settings we needed, especially for our user contributed content, and things were not in a centralized location. This made it more difficult to support and troubleshoot with our students.
Read Mike Maxse's full review
Carlos Astorga profile photo
September 01, 2016

Review: "The Multiple Benefits of Ensemble Video in Higher Education"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ensemble Video is used across our academic and business departments to host media libraries that aid instructional purposes. Academic departments use their libraries for instructional videos that are linked to their educational programs in integration with our learning management system. Business departments use their libraries for staff training and support. Additionally some users have personal libraries were they host media for multiple research purposes.
  • Customer support. One of the best experiences I have had in this respect. Always helpful and timely.
  • The system design and features is properly implemented. Enough flexibility with only the right amount of options.
  • Constant product improvement. Ensemble Video continues to evolve, adding better and more powerful features. We are always excited about new releases and how they will improve our processes.
  • User management. Some features are unique to the entire deployment (like authentication sources). It would be great if multiple authentication options could be used across different Ensemble institutions.
  • Upgrade processes. Though new versions of Ensemble Video are always better, the installation process is very manual and Ensemble Video must be involved directly. Not a weakness, but it would be nice to be able to perform our own upgrades/patches when needed.
Ensemble Video is well suited for:
  • Staff training and support. HR can use it for required training or informational purposes.
  • Departmental Media Repositories can be created for department collaboration.
  • Integration with CMS. Ensemble Video can successfully integrate with your CMS for administration, tracking and analytics of media content in your website.
  • Integration with LMS. Ensemble Video successfully integrates with most major LMS systems for content delivery related to course materials and assignments.
Ensemble Video works well for images and other formats but these are better used when tied to a video element. The management of images and documents is possible but is not the best use of Ensemble Video.
Read Carlos Astorga's full review
Zayac Lynn profile photo
September 20, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "TrustRadius readers will love it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Esemble Video is the software we use to manage streaming video accounts for faculty and staff at the university. It is an excellent product that allows us to manage a large volume of videos for the campus. It is user friendly and an affordable option for our campus. We are now also including our materials for ADA compliance as well.
  • Ease of use
  • Many options it affords the user
  • Affordability
  • Operability
  • Would like not to have to restart the server each week to get the add button to appear.
Ensemble Video is well suited for and environment that needs to manage multiple videos which will be viewed by multiple users.
Read Zayac Lynn's full review
Bill Claxton profile photo
September 20, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "A great lightweight VCMS you can deploy onsite!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As an Ensemble reseller, we've helped government and education customers deploy video content management solutions (VCMS) using this product. Both installs were across the whole organisation. The university is using it as a replacement for YouTube, within an in-house portal. The government ministry is using it as the front end for a broadcast recording system. We are also working with a service provider to deploy Ensemble as a multi-tenant video hosting solution.
  • Ensemble is a really excellent video content management solution for organisations that want to deploy onsite, enjoy a perpetual license and all the features found in competitive products costing many times more.
  • Ensemble does not try to be a monolithic application. Instead it leverages Sorenson Squeeze transcoder for ingest and Wowza's streaming media engine for playout. So it's pretty lightweight and is focused on content management tasks.
  • The portal feature is not a very good replacement for YouTube. It does a basic job of publishing content outside of the VCMS, but the layout is not too attractive.
  • There is no ability to search across content collections.
  • Getting started with Ensemble is not very intuitive.
Ensemble Video is best for deployed solutions needing a lightweight video content management solution (VCMS).
Read Bill Claxton's full review
Kristi Burch profile photo
September 19, 2016

Review: "Ensemble Video is a breath of fresh air"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ensemble Video broadly. Our faculty uses it to show films and clips of films to students in the academic setting. Our students also use it to watch these films and clips as well as upload recorded projects to dropbox for certain classes. Many faculty [members] link Ensemble Video to Moodle as well for easy access by students in one location. We have a generic library in which all students and faculty can access the films, then we create libraries for various classes and instructors as well as staff members. Some of these libraries are created for personal use and others are used for class-related projects and presentations. Ensemble Video is a wonderful product and has made life much easier for faculty and students at our school.
  • Customer Service is excellent. I always my questions and issues are taken care of in a prompt and friendly manner.
  • The quality of the service is superb! After using other services similar to Ensemble and finding them quite lacking in many areas, Ensemble is a breath of fresh air.
  • The price is actually quite affordable compared to the quality of service we receive. Alternative services were much more expensive and provided a lot less in many areas.
  • The online documentation needs to be upgraded. Often we look for information and can't find anything current.
Ensemble Video is well suited in the classroom environment, on the road for student athletes, and in large auditoriums for group showings. I can't really think of a less appropriate scenario - maybe in the woods...
Read Kristi Burch's full review
Shane Showers profile photo
September 19, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "Video Capture Excellance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple degree programs capturing both lecture and technique classes. The videos are then uploaded to Ensemble Video for classes. We also stream live events throughout the year.
  • Ease of use. From an end user perspective there really isn't a lot of training needed.
  • Integration with our learning management system.
  • Customer support is fantastic.
  • A better way of customizing the interfaces.
Ensemble Video is well suited for live streaming events and classroom lecture captures.
Read Shane Showers's full review
Carla Stoeffler profile photo
September 19, 2016

User Review: "Ensemble Video"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization supports the use of Ensemble Video in the K-12 classrooms in Westchester, Putnam & Rockland Counties. We also use Ensemble internally within our department and organization. I often host screen-cast tutorials that I create to help our districts in the many services/software systems that we support.
  • Ensemble provides a secure ad-free environment that is critical in the K12 classroom.
  • Content organization is simple - with Libraries/Playlists/Categories.
  • Many display options/choices depending on your purpose/context/etc. Portals, Playlists, Custom plug-ins, embedding, single links meet any target need I may have in a simple fashion.
  • Honing in on purpose in the K12 Classroom & Ensemble vs. YouTube
Ensemble Video is great in my work flow, as with one log in, I manage my tutorials for every single product that I support. These are organized using playlists/categories. I can assign one video to multiple playlists as well which allows for truly custom instances for whatever my sharing purpose may be.
Read Carla Stoeffler's full review
No photo available
September 19, 2016

Ensemble Video Review: "Ensemble and Academia: How it is used on our campus."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ensemble Video is being used as the video-on-demand service for our campus. Faculty members use Ensemble Video to manage and publish their own video content, and students use it as a way to supplement course related video projects. It is also being used as a repository for campus related videos projects.
  • Ensemble Video is very easy to use. Videos are uploaded quickly, and ready to share within minutes.
  • It is easy to create libraries, and assign permissions.
  • It works well will a variety of web browsers. Our previous video-on-demand system would not work in the most common web browsers; Safari, Google Chrome, Firefox, etc.
  • It would be nice if you could sort listings by title, instead of having to do a title search.
Ensemble Video has been a welcome change to our campus. This web based service provides us with the video-on-demand capabilities that we were searching for. Professors can upload videos and share them directly with their students, or give them access to the library, and students can use the videos housed within the media library as a way to supplement course related video projects.
Read this authenticated review

Ensemble Video Scorecard Summary

About Ensemble Video

Ensemble Video is a turnkey online video platform that streamlines video capture, video management and video publishing. Ensemble Video aims to enable hundreds of organizations across the globe to deliver accessible media content any time, over a variety of networks. 
Categories:  Video

Ensemble Video Features

Has featureUpload diverse format support
Has featureOrganize video and audio
Has featureSecure media content
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureIdentity Provider Support: LDAP / Shibboleth / CAS
Has featureScreencasts software
Has featureLecture Capture software
Has featureWebcam capture
Has featureLive Streaming
Has featureAudio capture
Has featureMulti-device delivery
Has featurePublish to ANY website
Has featureAutomatic Closed Captioning
Has featureSearch inside video
Has featureLMS & CMS Integrations
Has featureAdaptive Bit Rate (ABR)
Has featureQuotas and permissioning
Has featureAutomatic video conversion
Has featureBulk operations
Has featureIngest Directories

Ensemble Video Screenshots

Ensemble Video Integrations

Blackboard, Moodle, Canvas, Drupal, WordPress, Brightcove Zencoder, Brightspace, Wowza Media Systems, Sorenson Media, Matrox, Winnov, Polycom RSS 4000, Cisco Content Server, Caption Sync, 3Play Media, CaptionEx, Rev, VoiceBase, Mirror Image

Ensemble Video Competitors

Kaltura, Vimeo Pro, ShareStream, YouTube

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Ensemble Video Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

Ensemble Video Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Web Conference

Ensemble Video Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web