Entrinsik Informer Reviews

84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Michael Harlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Informer, people are using and loving it without realizing they are using it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It makes creating queries very easy for end users so not only research or technicians can do it. The availability for creating Live reports that are accessible via Excel on the network has given many of our users the ability to get the information they need in a format they can use without needing someone to translate the raw data.
Read Michael Harlow's full review
Brian Pollitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

Drowning in Ad-Hoc Reports? Get Entrinsik Informer!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is well suited for businesses that need the capability for end-users to create their own reports. It is easy to learn, and users have multiple output formats they could use, so IT would not need to be as involved. Setting up users is quick and simple, so end-users can be up and going in no time.
Read Brian Pollitt's full review
Todd Doster | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2016

Great Product and Awesome Support!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The documentation is simple and concise. Take the time to read it. No other vendor in this space provides a true try it before you buy it, and that is really huge in creating a partnership with these guys even before any checks are signed. They are not out to sell a lot of copies of software, they are out to keep you as a customer for the long-haul.
Read Todd Doster's full review
Jeffrey Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2016

Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is uniquely positioned in my view to bridge the data gaps that exist in so many organizations. With Informer, we are able to join and return data from multiple servers and databases and even database platforms. Our institution, used to try to reign in these database islands, now we work to incorporate them into the larger system of data, and provide them with their missing information while simultaneously filling out the larger data picture on our campus.
Read Jeffrey Jones's full review
Don Penrose | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik's Informer is a solid, versatile, and powerful reporting tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is well suited for mass reporting of simple to complex data sets. Informer is less appropriate for specific employee, student, vendor, faculty, or record level validation. We use other case tools for specific file/field data verification. Granted, it would be simple to set up an Informer report for the instant ad hoc queries we use often in I.T.
Read Don Penrose's full review
Noelle Hurley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Excellent product--Excellent company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This product is well-suited with any type of underlying database but we were particularly impressed with its ability to be used with a multi-valued database (which our ERP is currently running off of).
Read Noelle Hurley's full review
James Kastrantas | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Makes Reporting Fast and Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think you can use Entrinsik Informer in almost any scenario where you need data in any kind. It allows for a easy way for someone to write reports with out having to know complicated languages just to pull data. You can use the Dashboard module to make predictive models or see data in a different way where you no longer have to take it into a Microsoft Pivot table.
Read James Kastrantas's full review
Ron Darschewski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Easy Reporting/Visualizations of Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This product is well suited for reporting from Unidata databases especially for multivalued output. Entrinsik has been a pleasure to work with the product is easy to set up and any issues we have had have been addressed and resolved quickly.
Read Ron Darschewski's full review
Kyle Rima | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer makes reporting life easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I found the Informer software relatively easy to setup. I would recommend taking time to evaluate what fields you want to "import" into the Informer mappings. Keeping the fields you import specific will help make sure that your end users are using the correct fields. It also helps to pay close attention to assigning validation tables to fields as you set things up.f

With Informer we are able to use it for most all of our reporting needs. There are a couple of instances when the report is complicated enough that Informer is not the best tool to use. Since the release of the dashboards we are able to move some of these more complicated reports to a dashboard but there are still a handful of reports that we use other tools for.

Overall we are very happy with Informer. It has absolutely changed our reporting capabilities for the better.
Read Kyle Rima's full review
Nakamura Dean | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Informer, not just for Unidata

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Go to the conferences. They are great. You can learn a lot from other users. If you are a Unidata shop, I don't know of a better reporting tool. Security is a pain to set up but it can't be rushed nor forced. Make sure you do it right for audit's sake. Make sure the policy making body takes their time to set standards and guidelines to ensure security, access and standardization. This will help your systems administrators create the security and will make it easier to maintain. After using Informer for a year, do a comprehensive review to see what standards and processes should be modified to maximize security and efficiency.
Read Nakamura Dean's full review
Theresa M. Frachalla | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Informer: Data at Your Fingertips in Minutes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

, because it drags down system performance on the production ERP. However, with the ability to have multiple data sources, you could have Informer connected to a data warehouse and use that data source for the larger, higher level reporting.
Read Theresa M. Frachalla's full review
John Bowker | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

How did we function without it?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our Room Scheduling software has some canned reports that we are not able to replicate in Informer due to the inability to un-align columns of data for a multi-line report. Allowing the report to contain lengthy comments fields in a row under the basic data.
~~This is still true~~~jbowker 11/10/14
Read John Bowker's full review
Bryan Horstman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

It's a great product, we couldn't get along with out it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works great for simple queries and reports, however there are a few occasions where it doesn't and we need to write a unidata program or use SPSS to accomplish the report the users is asking for. I wouldn't call this a limitation of Informer, I believe that this is simply the way the data is organized in Colleague and we need to find another way to accomplish the task.
Read Bryan Horstman's full review
Joseph Riquelme | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Entrinsk Informer for Public Safety

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I find Informer a great product that will compliment any public safety agency by giving them the ability to create their own tactical reports with tools that are very user friendly. End users are now more educated regarding software applications. It just seems like sense to put the right tools in front of them to enhance their work environment.
Read Joseph Riquelme's full review
Jerry Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Informer, a tool that every institution needs in their toolbox

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is best suited for those institutions that have users that know their data and how it is laid out. They will find Informer is a tool that will fit their needs and will be a product that can be used by staff of different levels.
Read Jerry Fowler's full review
Christopher Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Informer provides great value to our customer base.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer works great for us - we are connecting to a DB2 database and it seems to work quite well and Entrinsik has been a very professional business partner. They have gone out of their way to help us by making the tool better and incorporating suggested changes/features into the product over time.
Read Christopher Kennedy's full review
Stephanie Holliman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Entrinsik Informer ROCKS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ellucian (Datatel) did not allow users to join files based on a common key. THIS was a huge selling point in selecting Informer. Also, the cost and the ability to quickly deploy the product to users was a big plus. Our Information Technologe department was sold when they learned they didn't have to worry about end users modifying any data in the Datatel system and that security could be controlled. Finally, in using Entrinsik Informer, CUSTOMER SERVICE is OUTSTANDING!
Read Stephanie Holliman's full review
Ed McClusky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2015

Get Consistent real-time Unidata Reporting with Informer.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Entrinsik Informer is not a what-you-see-is-what-you-get true free-form report designer like can be found in some other reporting solutions. However, Informer is the best data extraction and BI provider for Unidata ever. End users should not have to go to a technical report developer to just get a set of data. Informer provides the ability to deliver customized reports either scheduled or ad-hoc when and where they want utilizing widely accepted formats.
Read Ed McClusky's full review
Sarah Gaither | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2014

Make Life Easier with Entrinsik Informer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Informer is well-suited for creating reports from Colleague in a variety of ways that are currently unavailable within the Colleague software itself. It allows you to combine different fields and values and data from multiple areas of the college within one report, and even use that report to create even more reports.
Read Sarah Gaither's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
5.5
Customizable dashboards (5)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (5)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (7)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (8)
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (8)
8.0
Publish to Web (3)
9.0
Publish to PDF (7)
9.0
Report Versioning (2)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (9)
9.0
Role-Based Security Model (8)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (7)
8.0

About Entrinsik Informer

Informer 5 from Entrinsik is a data discovery and analytics tool that aims to simplify the process of accessing, cleansing, blending, and analyzing data from multiple sources. According to the vendor, with Informer, companies can aggregate all their disparate data into a single platform using an intuitive, 100% web-based interface that replaces outdated query tools and complicated reporting systems.

The tool aims to eliminate the need for data warehouses and cubes, and eliminate complicated “views” and limited functionality. With extensible architecture, collaborative environment, and enterprise-level performance, Informer aims to deliver actionable insights and better, data-driven decisions for its customers.

Entrinsik Informer Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Does not have featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Does not have featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Does not have featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Entrinsik Informer Screenshots

Entrinsik Informer Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Entrinsik Informer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No