Entrinsik Informer Reviews

84 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Michael Harlow | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2017

Informer, people are using and loving it without realizing they are using it.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer is available for use by the entire organization while only a few power users from the main departments actually create their own queries. The product allows a single point for querying multiple systems and databases. The UI allows users not familiar with SQL query commands to easily create complex queries and compile results from multiple files to one output.

Read Michael Harlow's full review
Brian Pollitt | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

Drowning in Ad-Hoc Reports? Get Entrinsik Informer!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Entrinsik Informer as our reporting tool for our student information system. Any employee may request to be a user for Informer, but we really only have a select group of employees that use it regularly (including myself). We migrated to Informer due to Datatel (now Ellucian) eliminating Query Builder for reporting. Now that we have Informer, it is easier for end-users to create their own reports, which reduces the need to involve IT and thus the end-users get the data they need in a more timely manner.
Read Brian Pollitt's full review
Todd Doster | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2016

Great Product and Awesome Support!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Simply and as succinctly as I can possibly make it - Informer is a great product that produces superior results right out of the box. It is a product we depend on every single day in our entire organization and it always produces great results and truly worth every last cent of investment. The enhancements over the years have taken an already great product and truly made it better and the company is always listening to their customers to better the product and add features that truly enhance the customer experience. We originally purchased Informer to report from a single U2 Data source, but it is now reporting from multiple data sources and solving more analytical problems than the simple reporting we originally purchased it to solve.
Read Todd Doster's full review
Jeffrey Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2016

Business Intelligence and ROI come naturally with Entrinsik Informer.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The Informer product is used in a variety of ways across our whole university. The reports and dashboards provide up to date information in an easy to digest format. While a majority of the report and dashboard construction is housed in the Office of Systems Analysis, our users actively use and create reports to help with their operational and/or strategic decisions. From the ad hoc reports, to the scheduled reports to the automated processes, Informer is synonymous with efficiency and productivity on our campus.
Read Jeffrey Jones's full review
Anita Farris | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2016

Informer Entrinsik from a front-end user's perspective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As an independent consultant, I use Entrinsik Informer (EI) at any client site that has it implemented. At this point, I've used it only with clients who were still on Unidata; I have no experience with those operating through SQL.

I'm a huge fan for a number of reasons. Navigationally, it's intuitive for any user. It's flexible for in terms of file linkages and in terms of dictionary names (in plain English) for less-experienced users. It enables more experienced users to build complex reports quickly and produce them in multiple display formats. The copy feature is very helpful in enabling the construction of a new report without having to start at step one. Overall, it's simply an excellent product. For me, the only impediment is that I've never had any training in its use, so I'm confident that there are functionalities that I'm not leveraging. Finally, EI has a very attractive price point making it feasible for even the smallest institution.

Read Anita Farris's full review
Karen Brenneman | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2016

Put information into the right hands with Informer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Informer across campus. It changed the way we access information. In the past, power users ran reports for the rest of campus. Now, the entire campus has access to the information they need when they want it.

Our IT department writes most of the reports and controls access. For example, all budget managers have access to real-time information. What the budget manager sees is limited to the general ledger numbers they manage. One department can't see another department's numbers. We also have access to course information, demographics, etc. All the information seen depends on your access level. End users love it since all they have to do is fill in a few blanks!

Read Karen Brenneman's full review
Don Penrose | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik's Informer is a solid, versatile, and powerful reporting tool.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ohlone needed a flexible reporting tool that supported multiple database platforms and we chose Entrinsik's Informer in late 2011 and were up and running in January 2012. What was initially a limited roll-out to specific departments quickly turned into an enthusiastic campus-wide implementation: everyone wanted to use this new, easy-to-use reporting tool.

We have over 1000 reports, with some scheduled and others setup as quick links for individual users. Most of the reports are written by the Applications Team in Information Technology, but we engaged with tech-savvy and power-user employees around the campus, training and encouraging standards in writing their own reports for themselves and their departments. The Informer product has helped departments "own" their reports through the ability to quickly review, audit, and verify data specific to their area.
Read Don Penrose's full review
Noelle Hurley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Excellent product--Excellent company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer is being used throughout the university as the primary reporting tool. It allows not only for ad-hoc reporting but also to assist in decision-making at management level. We are able to export data to outside entities to provide data for FMLA benefits, insurance benefits, and Alumni database population as well as others. The ease of the tool itself makes it relatively easy for end-users to create their own reports as well. It also allows mapping to a UniData database which is not common in the BI world.
Read Noelle Hurley's full review
James Kastrantas | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Makes Reporting Fast and Easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer is currently being used as a reporting tool across our entire college campus. I work in a admissions office where data needs are always changing for reports and Informer allows me to create advanced reports in a matter of minutes to fit those needs in a very user friendly way. I have used to create a work flow process with a series of reports that are scheduled and send based on specific conditions to other employees. The scheduling module allows me to create and schedule a report based on a select statement which means I can have one report that sends 60 emails to different people instead of having 60 individual reports where each one is "hard coded" with that select and emailed out. Entrinsik Informer really makes it easy for the end user, who might not be as technical, log in and run reports based on their needs or the reports they have access to on their security class.
Read James Kastrantas's full review
Lisa O'Dellick | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2016

Hands down, Informer is the icing on the cake!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer Web Reporting is being used by most departments at Juniata College. We currently have a few more departments to train and move to using Informer. It is unbelievably easy for end users to grasp, which makes our job of training end users very easy. One of our Vice Presidents is very excited about the dashboard feature. We have been able to create dashboards for him to know exactly where the college stands on budget vs. actual spending at a moments notice. In addition to other dashboards that show total deposited applicants along with their demographic and financial information which is one of the most important factors in determining the College's future budget.
Read Lisa O'Dellick's full review
Ron Darschewski | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2015

Entrinsik Informer Easy Reporting/Visualizations of Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer is used across our whole organization for reporting and data analysis. We have created numerous reports that are scheduled and emailed to different offices on campus with information that is important for them as the evaluate the next steps in the processes that they manage. We have also created dashboards to provide a quick look at where we are today compared to previous years and to provide additional information regarding our current enrollment status. Informer has provided us a very clean and usable way to give our end-users access to the data that they find important in a quick and efficient manner. Offices on campus enjoy the ease of use, the ability to create reports without the need to be technical and the ability to create visualizations of their data. I highly recommend Entrinsik Informer for your data reporting needs.
Read Ron Darschewski's full review
Kyle Rima | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

Entrinsik Informer makes reporting life easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Informer for almost all of our reporting and BI needs across the entire campus. We were struggling with reporting for many years and had not been able to find a good reporting solution until we found Entrinsik's Informer. It was easy to setup and easy to train our users how to run reports and write their own reports.
Read Kyle Rima's full review
Nakamura Dean | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Informer, not just for Unidata

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Informer is a great reporting tool that we use across the entire College. We initially purchased it when our Student system, which is on Unidata, moved to a new user interface and created reporting challenges. Reporting tools for Unidata are a rare commodity. Informer addressed those issues and more. It allows us to report on Unidata as well as sql. Using Informer also allowed us to centralize report writing, where before, each workstation had to have separate reports. Furthermore, Informer allowed us to schedule and email reports using several formatting options, thus allowing us to not set up cron jobs to run them. What I really like about it is that I can create a report, notify the user that it exists and then if they wanted to make changes to it, I can troubleshoot it over the phone and have them look at the report and the results as I am working on it. I've set it up so that users can view the metadata so that they can see what files and fields are available.
Read Nakamura Dean's full review
Theresa M. Frachalla | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Informer: Data at Your Fingertips in Minutes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer provides our University (across all departments) with an easy way to access real-time data from Colleague. Informer allows us to give power to our users who extract the data they need to make informed decisions. One approach we've taken is to deploy LiveExcel links to secured department folders for routine reports, so that end-users don't have to wait on the I.T. staff. We've also created complex reports using the Javascript to evaluate the data and output appropriate answers to business questions such as "What grade did the student get in Statistics?" or "Did this student take and pass their Basic Skills test?". Having the ability to put this type of specific information in a report makes life much easier for our end-users and creates efficiencies in our business processes.
Read Theresa M. Frachalla's full review
John Bowker | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

How did we function without it?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have rolled Informer out across our campus. We went live with Informer in February 2011, coming from a dos-based reporting tool where we had 8 people writing reports. We now have 101 different staff members who have written their own reports. We have 211 users on our campus who have run reports on their own. Most of them received one 2-hour training class to run and manipulate their reports. This has certainly de-centralized the functions away from our IT office running all of the reports. Additionally, this is allowing the end-users to manage their own data on their own timeline. I have been a data analyst for the University for over 20 years, and this tool is by far the easiest to manage.
We recently rolled out dynamic dashboards and 43 report-writers attended the training session.
Read John Bowker's full review
Bryan Horstman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 08, 2015

It's a great product, we couldn't get along with out it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Entrinsik Informer here a Loras College pretty much across the whole organization. Before Informer we used Unidata paragraphs for reporting. These were nearly impossible for the end user to write so any time someone needed a report, they contacted us in Information Services. Now most of the reports can be written by end users. This saves a huge amount of time since most reports can be written by the end user now.
Read Bryan Horstman's full review
Joseph Riquelme | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Entrinsk Informer for Public Safety

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I work in the Public Safety Software field. Reports and statistics play a key role in managing resources. However the problem in the past was to extract the data into a report was very difficult. The most amazing aspect of Entrinsik for me is the power of the application and easy of use.
Read Joseph Riquelme's full review
Jerry Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Informer, a tool that every institution needs in their toolbox

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer was initially used by just some power users at our institution. But now with training we have increased the usage to campus wide. We have three major groups of users (those that just run created reports, then a group of staff that will take created reports and modify them to match what they need, and then the group that is made up of power users and those are the ones that will created reports from scratch. Our staff have found Informer to be a tool that can be used by all staff.
Read Jerry Fowler's full review
Christopher Kennedy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Informer provides great value to our customer base.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We resell Informer to our customer base and it's a great tool for them. It allows them to built their own reports and dashboards and gives them access to the data that they need. This gives our customers a lot more flexibility in the types of reports they are able to use to manage their business.
Read Christopher Kennedy's full review
Stephanie Holliman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2015

Entrinsik Informer ROCKS!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our institution uses Entrinsik Informer across the whole institution. It is used primarily to allow end-users of data the ability to create and manipulate data when & how they need. Prior to Informer, our end-users were not able to get data when they wanted it. Also, the ability for them to run a live excel spreadsheet, rather than operate inside Informer has alleviated any user trepidation about their ability to run reports. Training has been lessened - once a user is trained on live excel specifics, they will run any other Informer report without hesitation.
Read Stephanie Holliman's full review
Ed McClusky | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2015

Get Consistent real-time Unidata Reporting with Informer.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Entrinsik Informer is a powerful web-based ERP db operational reporting tool and business intelligence solution. Informer is used here at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff across all administrative offices to report on data contained in Ellucian Colleague. Informer is our primary real time data extraction and administrative reporting solution. Here at UAPB we utilize Informer hourly – almost around the clock. Using Informer's easy to follow UI and Informer's Live Excel features, the power of launching/executing created reports is moved to the person that needs the information.
Read Ed McClusky's full review
Sarah Gaither | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2014

Make Life Easier with Entrinsik Informer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire college uses Informer. It solves a multitude of problems for our college. In addition to select reporting functionality for a specific issue that arises, it also gives us the ability to email reports daily to review and correct various issues with registration, addresses, data inaccuracies, etc. Our college uses Colleague and Informer provides a seamless integration between the two systems.
Read Sarah Gaither's full review
Kara Bosch | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2014

Informer as a User Friendly Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Informer is being used throughout the college community. The Informer reporting tool allows users on-demand access to operational data in order to make effective business decisions.
Read Kara Bosch's full review
Lauren Newcome | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Client converting to SQL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Informer in a Unidata environment and are in the process of converting to a SQL environment. We use the product across the entire university. Informer allows our users to generate reports very easily. We have a few users the create and modify their own reports and are in the processing of training other users to begin creating/modify reports.
Read Lauren Newcome's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (1)
5.5
Customizable dashboards (5)
8.0
Report Formatting Templates (5)
8.0
Drill-down analysis (7)
7.0
Formatting capabilities (8)
7.0
Integration with R or other statistical packages (1)
8.2
Report sharing and collaboration (8)
8.0
Publish to Web (3)
9.0
Publish to PDF (7)
9.0
Report Versioning (2)
8.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (9)
9.0
Role-Based Security Model (8)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (7)
8.0

About Entrinsik Informer

Informer 5 from Entrinsik is a data discovery and analytics tool that aims to simplify the process of accessing, cleansing, blending, and analyzing data from multiple sources. According to the vendor, with Informer, companies can aggregate all their disparate data into a single platform using an intuitive, 100% web-based interface that replaces outdated query tools and complicated reporting systems.

The tool aims to eliminate the need for data warehouses and cubes, and eliminate complicated “views” and limited functionality. With extensible architecture, collaborative environment, and enterprise-level performance, Informer aims to deliver actionable insights and better, data-driven decisions for its customers.

Entrinsik Informer Features

BI Platform Features
Does not have featureAdministration via Windows App
Does not have featureAdministration via MacOS App
Has featureAdministration via Web Interface
Has featureLive Connection to External Data
Has featureSnapshot of External Data
Has featureIn-memory data model
Does not have featureOLAP (Pre-processed cube representation)
Does not have featureROLAP (SQL-layer querying)
Has featureMulti-Data Source Reporting (Blending)
Does not have featureData warehouse / dictionary layer
Does not have featureETL Capability
Does not have featureETL Scheduler
Supported Data Sources Features
Has featureMS Excel Workbooks
Has featureText Files (CSV, etc)
Has featureOracle
Has featureMS SQL Server
Has featureIBM DB2
Has featurePostgres
Has featureMySQL
Has featureODBC
Has featureCloudera Hadoop
Has featureHortonworks Hadoop
Does not have featureEMC Greenplum
Does not have featureIBM Netezza
Does not have featureHP Vertica
Does not have featureParAccel
Has featureSAP Hana
Does not have featureTeradata
Does not have featureSage 500
Does not have featureSalesforce
Does not have featureSAP
Does not have featureGoogle Analytics
BI Standard Reporting Features
Does not have featurePixel Perfect reports
Has featureCustomizable dashboards
Has featureReport Formatting Templates
Ad-hoc Reporting Features
Has featureDrill-down analysis
Has featureFormatting capabilities
Does not have featurePredictive modeling
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Has featureReport sharing and collaboration
Report Output and Scheduling Features
Has featurePublish to Web
Has featurePublish to PDF
Does not have featureOutput Raw Supporting Data
Has featureReport Versioning
Has featureReport Delivery Scheduling
Has featureDelivery to Remote Servers
Data Discovery and Visualization Features
Has featurePre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
Has featureLocation Analytics / Geographic Visualization
Does not have featurePredictive Analytics
Does not have featureSupport for Machine Learning models
Does not have featurePattern Recognition and Data Mining
Does not have featureIntegration with R or other statistical packages
Access Control and Security Features
Has featureMulti-User Support (named login)
Has featureRole-Based Security Model
Has featureMultiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
Has featureReport-Level Access Control
Has featureTable-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Has featureField-Level Access Control (BI-layer)
Does not have featureSingle Sign-On (SSO)
Mobile Capabilities Features
Has featureResponsive Design for Web Access
Does not have featureDedicated iOS Application
Does not have featureDedicated Android Application
Has featureDashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile
Application Program Interfaces (APIs) / Embedding Features
Has featureREST API
Does not have featureJavascript API
Does not have featureiFrames
Does not have featureJava API
Does not have featureThemeable User Interface (UI)
Does not have featureCustomizable Platform (Open Source)

Entrinsik Informer Screenshots

Entrinsik Informer Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Entrinsik Informer Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No