TrustRadius
Prophet 21 helps distributors focus on, and meet, business needsOur organization uses Prophet 21 across the entire organization. We are a distributor of irrigation products, with Front Counter sales as well, and Prophet 21 (P21) is used by our Counter Staff to process quotes and orders. Our Purchasing Department uses P21 to submit purchase orders from our part vendors. As well, our AR and AP Departments use P21 to both invoice customers and to pay vendors. Prophet 21 addresses the typical problem of managing wholesale stock so that users at all facets of the organization can properly process incoming and outgoing stock, and inventory.,Comprehensive customization of many fields and screens Offers a fairly robust API that allows external connectivity Provides connectivity to Crystal Reports for improved reporting capabilities,Some background technologies are still a bit behind the current development technologies in the market. Only started offering a Web-based front end to Prophet 21 in the past year, and it still has a number of limitations not present in the client-based program When new iterations/version are released, there are often significant bugs that require opening Support Requests Epicor (P21) Support is still not the most responsive or efficient,8,Yes, overall, we have benefited from the various tools and capabilities provided by Prophet 21. By using an integrated solution, it makes it easier and much more efficient to follow the workflow from initial quoting and/or Order Entry, through invoicing and payment. As well, the Inventory and Warehouse features allow us to easily identify stock needs and demand, and to order from our Vendors to meet such demand. We can use reports of the products with the most 'hits' and sales periods to ensure our warehouses are stocked appropriately during peak demand.,No,Change management was a minor issue with the implementation,We actually paid for Epicor's ECC product back in 2016, but the System Administrator was never able to successfully get it set up here. I was tasked with getting it set up late last year, but, to be honest, Epicor would not offer Implementation Assistance without charging us by the hour, so it is currently on hold as we dispute that with Epicor.,It is clear that using Prophet 21 has allowed us to more efficiently manage our Sales and Ordering processes Using the Purchasing and Inventory Management features have allowed is to successfully maintain appropriate stock levels at our various branches By providing a means to view previous years' sales and purchasing trends, our staff can order stock when vendors offer special pricing or volume discountsProphet 21 Catchy Product ReviewWe use Prophet 21 in every area of our business and use it to solve everyday problems like providing accurate and timely price quotes to customers and getting purchase orders in the hands of our suppliers in time to replenish inventory. As a wholesaler, we rely on Prophet 21 to help us make good business decisions to help our distributors succeed. Really. The open database structure means we can get the information we need in basically any format to help us and our customers make more informed decisions.,Ease of use. Prophet 21 application designers have put a lot of thought into making Prophet 21 simple to use yet powerful enough to meet the demands of thousands of distribution businesses. Open database. I love the open database architecture. It allows me all the functionality I need to write custom reports for my business. Fits a wide range of business requirements.,Lots of stuff in there we just don't use. Can sometimes be slow aggregating data. Artificial limit on the number of windows that can be open in the software at one time. Most computers today are more than capable of handling a much higher limit.,9,We have definitely benefited from a focus on distribution. Epicor has invested considerable money and time into designing the program flow to meet the needs of many distribution companies. The software is feature-rich and flexible enough for most distribution companies to implement and use successfully. This is particularly true for distributors looking for an out-of-the-box solution that doesn't require any customization.,Yes,Change management was a major issue with the implementation,I haven't used the Epicor eCommerce plug-in much. I've seen it before, and if you're willing to spend (a lot of) money to get it up and running, it's a good tool. I'm sure there are better tools out there - maybe not with the breadth of applicability, but certainly easier to implement and less expensive.,Positive: real-time reporting has allowed us to save a lot of money right to the bottom line. Positive: application framework makes it easy to tailor business processes to the software or the software to business processes. Negative: can be costly to implement additional users.,,Dropbox, Evernote, Microsoft Office 365,7,1,Inventory Control. This is one probably the primary reason for purchasing the software. As a wholesale distribution company, inventory control is critical to our success. Epicor Prophet 21 is head and shoulders above our previous solution and allows us to make real-time decisions about managing our inventory. General Ledger. Our previous system didn't have an open general ledger that allowed us drill-down capability into the profitability of the company. Prior to Epicor Prophet 21, we had mountains of spreadsheets to keep track of this information. Order Entry. Our previous system had order entry, but not with the kind of flexibility we've been able to achieve with Epicor Prophet 21.,Add-on reporting. Because of the open database architecture, you can write custom reports to your heart's desire. That's probably been the most innovative way we've used the software. Classes. Class fields exist throughout the application. Orders can be classed so that a particular report will be sent to a particular person, for example. There are limitless ways the class fields can be used.,Sorry, I can't see the future.,10,Product Features Product Usability Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor Third-party Reviews,I don't think I would. When I did the original evaluation, I looked 18 software packages. When I'd narrowed it down to 4 packages, I did an exhaustive review of more than 300 features in each package. I also had day-long demos of the software for key personnel so they could really dig in and answer questions about what the software could and couldn't do. Overall, we spent a couple of months just reviewing candidates.,Implemented in-house,Yes,Data conversion. As I already mentioned, we came from a very old system to Prophet 21. I had to write a middleware application to move data from my Unix-based system to the Microsoft SQL database used by Prophet 21. It was a nightmare; not on the receiving end - just getting the data out and formatted for Prophet 21. Customer pricing. We made the mistake of trying to implement a new pricing model at the same time as go-live. It was fraught with problems and unanticipated complexity. We made it through, but I'm kind of surprised we didn't lose more business.,7,Online training In-person training Self-taught,9,8,The self-teaching only came after we'd had extensive training. This was the self-guided training that we did to discover features of the system we didn't know were there because they weren't needed during the initial implementation.,7,That's a really long conversation. Best practice is to pay attention to the implementation specialists who are involved in the project. They've done extensive best practice studies and have built the software around them. If the system doesn't fit your process, consider changing the process because there's a good chance it can be done more efficiently.,Some - we have done small customizations to the interface,No - we have not done any custom code,Because of the open database, you can create external reports that run in Microsoft Office (for example) pretty easily. We've done quite a bit of that to get reports in just the format we want.,No,8,Yes,Absolutely! Prophet 21 has an open database. I thought I was smarter than the software so I created a custom import without understanding all the implications of what I was doing. The end result was that every order written had to be approved by accounting. I had no idea how to undo what I did. I uploaded a copy of my database to Prophet 21 and within two days they had written custom scripts to undo the mess I'd made. It was pretty remarkable.,Item creation. I've created thousands of items by hand in Prophet 21 and got to where I could create an item in under a minute. The system also allows for on-the-fly item creation which takes just a few seconds. Order entry is also elegant. The screen is packed with features, but so many can be set as default - or simply used to extend the capability of order entry - that the process of writing up an order is very quick. Purchase order generation. Prophet 21 has this cool tool called PO Requirements/Generation that can evaluate buy requirements in about half a dozen different ways. It's very efficient and allows you to review requirements for one, several, or all suppliers simultaneously.,Prophet 21 integrates with Crystal Reports. Getting Crystal up and running on a new computer is never an easy proposition. They've made it a little better with recent releases, but it's still kind of a bear.,No,9,10,9,7,Microsoft Office,,File import/export,6,Have fun! You're really only limited by your imagination - even with a simple protocol like ODBC. As the API set matures, that will afford even greater interaction with all kind of platforms.,9,9,We were able to negotiate equal pays on the platform's initial cost. We were also able to talk them down about 15% off the sticker price.,Play nice. They're good folks who genuinely want to help distribution businesses thrive. There will be hiccups along the way; just work with them and things will go smoothly.,Yes,With each new release, greater extensibility options are introduced. New features for controlling the software and adding business logic to the platform are being added all the time.,To be honest, I haven't evaluated the next version yet. The move from 12.x to 2017 then to 2018 were such significant moves, I haven't even looked at what's next.,No,NoIt would be a good program if issues could be resolved.Our whole organization uses P21. We are a distribution company. We were looking for a faster way of getting work done. A more efficient way of getting more work done without the need to hire more people.,The system allows us to pretty much design it to work the way want it to work. It is a very flexible system for the most part. The system doesn't let you make too many shortcuts with getting something processed. It forces you to go through the proper steps. The system keeps track of everything and can be easily retrieved through history searches. Detailed reports, graphs, ....,CRASHING, the system crashes too frequently for me. 3-5 times a day, support can't figure out why it happens. Extremely annoying when in the middle of a transaction. Overall support from P21 technicians is poor. If they or you can't replicate a problem, they can't help. Even if the problem is frequent. Cycle counts are a concern. Not much of a real cycle count report to check inventory daily, we had to create our own. Crystal Reports and how they can link with documents are challenging. Especially for packing lists and commercial invoices. As well as certs that are created for some items.,3,It is beneficial, there are a lot more things I can do now as opposed to what I was able to do in our previous ERP system. There are more areas to work from instead of a limited few that are for certain departments. I can get the majority of my work done and issue resolved without relying on others for help or needing someone in another department to perform a task before I continue.,Yes,Change management was minimal,I have yet to use the storefront.,We are able to handle the workload with a low overhead. System crashing doesn't really make things better for us. Can't work or get things done quickly or in a rush when the system crashes. Too much time logging in and out and setting up windows with each crash. ( Time wasted ),Customer Service and InventoryWe use it across our entire company. It streamlines all that we do in each department. We use it for service order entry, machine and tooling order entry, CRM and so much more.,I love the Item Master Inquiry screen. Anything and everything you need to know about items can be found in one location. I like that each area has its own tab so you can quickly go to the area that you need to find. Sales History or Purchase History are two that I frequently use. PO Requirements Generation is also a great powerful tool to utilize for purchasing. If you set up your ABC Classes, Safety Stock and utilize Up To as your replenishment method the system can basically do your purchasing for you and you can feel comfortable with the way it purchases. I love Dynachanges and Dynachange rules. It truly allows you to customize the screens to meet your department or companies needs. You can move things around and if you have a function that is always repeated you can make it happen automatically with Dynachange rules.,PO Requirements Generation - We need the ability to add items on the fly in PORG. In Order Entry - You have one Carrier ID for the entire order. Sometimes items need to ship different ways. It would be extremely helpful to have a Carrier by item option to be used to change one item to UPS Red, one to will call or whatever is needed. We struggle with this daily and it adds time for our takers and often due to this shipping is confused by the instructions and things are shipped incorrectly. When doing imports if something errors out the error log is very hard to read and understand. Better descriptions and maybe not such technical wording would help us to understand it better. When sending acknowledgments more options to select multiple contact. You can manually type them but would be nice to just select multiple contacts. Many times we are sending to more than one person so we have to manually type the email address for the second person. When sending an email out of P21 add the ability to add an attachment on to that email.,8,Absolutely we have benefited from all aspects. I can touch on Purchasing, Inventory and Order Management. Purchasing - Streamlined our stock purchasing from taking a good half a day each week to taking less than an hour by trusting the system settings to order the correct qtys. Inventory - Convert Non Stock reports are a great tool to identify items that you are not currently stocking that you possibly should be. Ordering - So much power to customize order entry windows to your needs bringing areas that are important to you right out in front saving your order entry people time and improving efficiencies.,Yes,We are not using this and I was not part of that decision so I do not understand why.,I do not have this information.,Service and Distribution with Pixie (PXII)Prophet 21 is used across our entire company. We use it for tracking orders, a/p, a/r, purchasing, plus we use the service module for tracking technical service processes for our customers.,I process machine orders that are shipped directly to our customers. Prophet 21 allows the ordering and billing to be tied together and handled as one transaction. We have a technical service team that services our customers in a large geographic area. The Prophet 21 service module allows us to track the serial numbers of the customer equipment and what work is being done, has been done, and should be scheduled in the future. Each technician can have their schedule available to all concerned parties. Tracking our customers' multiple ship-to addresses is easy. Some even have different company names, but the same bill-to address. Prophet 21 handles this seamlessly.,The service module could be more integrated into the Prophet 21 program. It is a separate log-in and the orders can't be accessed from the main module. Integrating with tasks could be easier to use. Integrating with Outlook would be very helpful. I did look at a program while evaluating P21 that had great integration. P21 could be better.,9,We have benefited on a focus on distribution because the complicated nature of margins and forecasting is handled clearly and succinctly. There are many nuances with distribution and we have complete reporting and ordering options.,Yes,Change management was a major issue with the implementation,We have decided not to use this feature. We distribute for too many vendors to handle all the associated products.,Our outdated software prior to Prophet 21 was really creating a problem for us to grow and communicate effectively. Prophet 21 has enabled us to do simple things like email reports and order documents easily.,
Unspecified
Epicor Prophet 21
48 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
TRScore

Epicor Prophet 21 Reviews

Epicor Prophet 21
48 Ratings
Score 7.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 48 vetted Epicor Prophet 21 reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-24 of 24)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
John Suit profile photo
August 24, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Prophet 21 helps distributors focus on, and meet, business needs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Prophet 21 across the entire organization. We are a distributor of irrigation products, with Front Counter sales as well, and Prophet 21 (P21) is used by our Counter Staff to process quotes and orders. Our Purchasing Department uses P21 to submit purchase orders from our part vendors. As well, our AR and AP Departments use P21 to both invoice customers and to pay vendors.

Prophet 21 addresses the typical problem of managing wholesale stock so that users at all facets of the organization can properly process incoming and outgoing stock, and inventory.
  • Comprehensive customization of many fields and screens
  • Offers a fairly robust API that allows external connectivity
  • Provides connectivity to Crystal Reports for improved reporting capabilities
  • Some background technologies are still a bit behind the current development technologies in the market.
  • Only started offering a Web-based front end to Prophet 21 in the past year, and it still has a number of limitations not present in the client-based program
  • When new iterations/version are released, there are often significant bugs that require opening Support Requests
  • Epicor (P21) Support is still not the most responsive or efficient
Good for distribution organizations with warehousing. Can also support both Accounts Receivable and Accounts Payable, although a more thorough Accounting package is recommended. Is strong when it comes to integrating bar codes and scanners, particularly for warehouse maintenance. Prophet 21 does include a basic CRM offering. However, it is very basic, and for any real Customer Resource management, a third-party tool is best (even recommended by Epicor.)
Read John Suit's full review
Aaron Pace profile photo
August 22, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21: "Prophet 21 Catchy Product Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Prophet 21 in every area of our business and use it to solve everyday problems like providing accurate and timely price quotes to customers and getting purchase orders in the hands of our suppliers in time to replenish inventory. As a wholesaler, we rely on Prophet 21 to help us make good business decisions to help our distributors succeed. Really. The open database structure means we can get the information we need in basically any format to help us and our customers make more informed decisions.
  • Ease of use. Prophet 21 application designers have put a lot of thought into making Prophet 21 simple to use yet powerful enough to meet the demands of thousands of distribution businesses.
  • Open database. I love the open database architecture. It allows me all the functionality I need to write custom reports for my business.
  • Fits a wide range of business requirements.
  • Lots of stuff in there we just don't use.
  • Can sometimes be slow aggregating data.
  • Artificial limit on the number of windows that can be open in the software at one time. Most computers today are more than capable of handling a much higher limit.
Prophet 21 is a great application suited to managing, in particular, the financial aspects of our business. It is easy to get financial reports from the system and because of the open database structure, the sky is the limit on other reports needed to manage the overall financial health of the business.
Read Aaron Pace's full review
Michael Gonzalez profile photo
May 10, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "It would be a good program if issues could be resolved."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our whole organization uses P21. We are a distribution company. We were looking for a faster way of getting work done. A more efficient way of getting more work done without the need to hire more people.
  • The system allows us to pretty much design it to work the way want it to work. It is a very flexible system for the most part.
  • The system doesn't let you make too many shortcuts with getting something processed. It forces you to go through the proper steps.
  • The system keeps track of everything and can be easily retrieved through history searches. Detailed reports, graphs, ....
  • CRASHING, the system crashes too frequently for me. 3-5 times a day, support can't figure out why it happens. Extremely annoying when in the middle of a transaction.
  • Overall support from P21 technicians is poor. If they or you can't replicate a problem, they can't help. Even if the problem is frequent.
  • Cycle counts are a concern. Not much of a real cycle count report to check inventory daily, we had to create our own.
  • Crystal Reports and how they can link with documents are challenging. Especially for packing lists and commercial invoices. As well as certs that are created for some items.
P21 would be a very good program if it didn't crash, if the technical support was better, if the initial installation and set up was better.
Read Michael Gonzalez's full review
Lindsey Merritt profile photo
May 17, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Customer Service and Inventory"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across our entire company. It streamlines all that we do in each department. We use it for service order entry, machine and tooling order entry, CRM and so much more.
  • I love the Item Master Inquiry screen. Anything and everything you need to know about items can be found in one location. I like that each area has its own tab so you can quickly go to the area that you need to find. Sales History or Purchase History are two that I frequently use.
  • PO Requirements Generation is also a great powerful tool to utilize for purchasing. If you set up your ABC Classes, Safety Stock and utilize Up To as your replenishment method the system can basically do your purchasing for you and you can feel comfortable with the way it purchases.
  • I love Dynachanges and Dynachange rules. It truly allows you to customize the screens to meet your department or companies needs. You can move things around and if you have a function that is always repeated you can make it happen automatically with Dynachange rules.
  • PO Requirements Generation - We need the ability to add items on the fly in PORG.
  • In Order Entry - You have one Carrier ID for the entire order. Sometimes items need to ship different ways. It would be extremely helpful to have a Carrier by item option to be used to change one item to UPS Red, one to will call or whatever is needed. We struggle with this daily and it adds time for our takers and often due to this shipping is confused by the instructions and things are shipped incorrectly.
  • When doing imports if something errors out the error log is very hard to read and understand. Better descriptions and maybe not such technical wording would help us to understand it better.
  • When sending acknowledgments more options to select multiple contact. You can manually type them but would be nice to just select multiple contacts. Many times we are sending to more than one person so we have to manually type the email address for the second person.
  • When sending an email out of P21 add the ability to add an attachment on to that email.
I think it works great for the distribution industry. Buying and Selling functionality works great.
Read Lindsey Merritt's full review
Sue Dziedzic profile photo
May 09, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Service and Distribution with Pixie (PXII)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 is used across our entire company. We use it for tracking orders, a/p, a/r, purchasing, plus we use the service module for tracking technical service processes for our customers.
  • I process machine orders that are shipped directly to our customers. Prophet 21 allows the ordering and billing to be tied together and handled as one transaction.
  • We have a technical service team that services our customers in a large geographic area. The Prophet 21 service module allows us to track the serial numbers of the customer equipment and what work is being done, has been done, and should be scheduled in the future. Each technician can have their schedule available to all concerned parties.
  • Tracking our customers' multiple ship-to addresses is easy. Some even have different company names, but the same bill-to address. Prophet 21 handles this seamlessly.
  • The service module could be more integrated into the Prophet 21 program. It is a separate log-in and the orders can't be accessed from the main module.
  • Integrating with tasks could be easier to use.
  • Integrating with Outlook would be very helpful. I did look at a program while evaluating P21 that had great integration. P21 could be better.
I feel I already did this previously.
Read Sue Dziedzic's full review
Chris Stovel profile photo
April 26, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "P21 Good Choice for Small Businesses"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several of our customers use P 21 to run their entire business (accounting, sales, inventory, etc). We are an Oakland based managed services provider (MSP) that supports Prophet 21. We do stuff like set up and maintain SQL server, backups of P 21, assist in user account creation and removal, installation of custom modules, upgrade the version, and support end users with our bay area IT help desk.
  • It is a single system - all in one ERP system
  • Clients seem to like it
  • It is less expensive than Salesforce
  • It would be nice if they had a SAAS billing model
  • It would be better if it was more mobile friendly and worked on an iOS App
  • It would be better if it had an updated GUI
  • It would be better if Epicor Support was better
It is well suited for businesses who need an all in one off the shelf ERP system for managing their business. It is less appropriate for higher tech firms that want the latest and greatest technology.
Read Chris Stovel's full review
Jenny Sagan profile photo
April 11, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Moving our business forward with Prophet 21"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 is used throughout our whole organization. The business problems that Prophet 21 addresses are orders are entered more efficiently, also, answering customers' questions regarding order status are more efficient. Since using Prophet 21, we can see a marked improvement in all areas of our business.
  • Prophet 21 does a great job at putting in a lot of information to answer customers' questions easily and in one place.
  • Prophet 21 also does a good job at having solutions for known problems accessible. I have found many solutions to small issues easily on their solutions database.
  • Prophet 21 also does a good job at having learning tools at the user's fingertips. Having the Epicor University, the conference with so many people and classes at your fingertips.
  • Prophet 21 could improve on the ease of exporting reports from the application.
Prophet 21 is well suited for the distribution industry. It has helped us track our inventory value more effectively. Prophet 21 has also made managing our finances much better.
Read Jenny Sagan's full review
Wesley Parkin profile photo
March 29, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "About to Implement, Trained and Ready to Go!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is just about to roll out Epicor Prophet 21 across our entire organization to replace our existing system. The P21 sytem will allow us to speed up the employee on boarding process, create and track rewards programs, and review our business performance using up to date and dynamic dashboards and reporting.
  • We now have the ability to just search for the screen, portal or interface that we are looking for to complete the task we are working on.
  • Integrated reporting and dashboard features, that are always up to date.
  • The ability to share relevant customer information with relevant people within our company.
  • We've are just starting to roll-out P21, so we haven't used it in the live environment yet.
Epicor Prophet 21 is well suited for any HVAC or Refrigeration Distribution company looking to upgrade their computer system from an older "Green Screen" style system to one that uses the "Windows Based" or "Point & Click" type of software that most new employees will be familiar with, and allow them to use the tools of modern business reporting that they will need to grow their business.
Read Wesley Parkin's full review
Don Nowak profile photo
March 27, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "P21 a great tool for fastener distributors"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
P 21 is our enterprise software system. We use it in all aspects of the business. It helps us to process transactions and track KPIs to insure that we are meeting our goals.
  • We are a specialty distributor. We don't have a product line per se. We manage inventory by customer. P 21 gives us the tools to do this effectively.
  • The accounting functions provide us a very good picture of our success in meeting our financial goals.
  • The portals that we can configure give us a good day to day pulse on the business
  • We do a great deal of kitting and re-work. P 21 helps us manage these processes.
  • The system is fairly intuitive and easy to use.
  • The customer master inquiry is a good tool. I like the tab for order history which shows 24 months history to establish trends. The same data should be available for invoices and GM %.
  • In item master inquiry, the data is shown on a location basis. It would be good to have a tab that shows total corporate data (inventory, sales history, usage, etc.)
  • I mentioned previously that P21 accounting functions are strong. That being said, the system really makes you pay to correct errors in pricing, A/P, receiving and billing.
I believe it is well suited for most distribution verticals. It does a very good job tracking product and cost changes due to external processes for fastener distributors. There are many more tools for other verticals that we do not need.
Read Don Nowak's full review
Varun Sachdeva profile photo
May 14, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21: "P21 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are using Prophet 21 across the whole organisation; it's one ERP system that gives a solution to all the company requirements and has all the required modules.

It's very vast and there is so much to learn I would say we only using 50% of what is available in there.

  • We can log every customer correspondence and anyone can see anytime which reduces the dependency on personnel.
  • Detailed reporting feature which allows you to pull out different useful reports.
  • Easy to learn and work.
  • More transferability, with more drill down techniques especially in accounting.
  • Better and systematic rebate functionality.
  • Easy alert setups on different things to remember.

I would like to say P21 is very good at customer service or CRM part. And I will be recommending others as well to use P21 for the customer service part. Stock maintenance and warehouse options with the consignment options are also very handy.

Accounting needs improvement like more drill downs and easy to access and better reporting.

Read Varun Sachdeva's full review
Jamie Maring-Webb profile photo
April 12, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Trying to love you, P21"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the whole organization, P21 helps with inventory but limited resources due to having to pay for certain (needed) features. EX: numbered lines on a Purchase Order. I basically feel P21 can be best described as "if you need to go next door, you have to go all the around the block to get there". We created our own way to perform price changes and there is no help for annual inventory returns. But on the positive side, there are features we use daily.
  • Audit Trail is a nice feature, it keeps track of old prices and who did what on some transactions.
  • Item Fast Edit is also a feature we use often but is limited by what it can and cannot do.
  • Short Code has been beneficial as well since ABC classes affect other departments and their functionality.
  • There needs to be more access to areas that can give you a QOH (quantity on hand) it would be very helpful in Item Fast Edit.
  • The "Shipped" checkbox in "Extended Info" on PO's has no function!!!!!! Have no idea why it is there.
  • No functionality for Annual Return of non-moving inventory.
I do not have other systems to compare Epicor to, we have used this system for 12 years. There are many things I feel we should not have to pay to get such as numbered lines on our purchase orders. SQL reports do not include enough choices/options to get reports pertaining to certain needed information.
Read Jamie Maring-Webb's full review
Matt Schron profile photo
April 12, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21: "P21 Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our industrial distribution business. It is critical to our success. When most employee login they open P21 and Outlook to start their days. The biggest problem is the CRM and integration with Outlook.
  • The ability to customize the system.
  • The ease of getting to the information.
  • The network community that works so well together to find solutions to problems
  • Our suppliers have a lot more contract pricing. We are unable to connect supplier purchasing pricing contacts with selling pricing for individual accounts.
Direct shipments to customers and the ease of creating a supplier order. Tying supplier contract and pricing back to our customer accounts.
Read Matt Schron's full review
No photo available
May 11, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21: "Epicor P21 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
P 21 is our ERP system. It is used across the whole organization. It gives us access to all of our sales information.
  • P 21 integrates easily with our CRM software.
  • From a marketing perspective, P 21 allows us to enter prospects and convert them so we can track history.
  • From a marketer's perspective, it would be nice to have a way to pull contact lists directly from P 21. Now we are able to use our CRM software for this, but before CRM, I would have to ask our business systems analyst to pull customer lists.
I probably use P 21 once every couple days, but in my experience, it's user-friendly and intuitive. I can usually find everything I need.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 20, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Well balanced ERP software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use P21 across the whole company from Accounting, Purchasing, Sales, to Inventory and shipping management. On the purchasing side we use it to send POs to our vendors and on the sales side, we use it to process orders for our customers. The product is very flexible and reporting rich when paired with some third-party add-ons. It can be a little complicated and not intuitive at times, but for the most part (especially with inventory management) it gets the job done well and is flexible enough to meet our needs.
  • Flexibility, the software is very flexible and customizable
  • Cost-effective ERP when compared to other competing products
  • Community support. Beyond P21 support, there is a strong community of users that are very helpful in solving problems and getting answers.
  • Can be a little complicated at times
  • Support could use a little more of a personal touch with call-in options
It is very useful for distribution, manufacturing, wholesale, and distribution types of businesses. For retail-type businesses, this isn't what you'd be looking for.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 16, 2018

User Review: "Epicor Prophet 21"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Epicor Prophet 21 is being used throughout the organization to purchase, manage inventory, sales process, and accounting processes. Additional functionality being used is consignment (vending machines), website integration and reporting via Crystal and other third-party programs. We've heavily customized the screens via Dynachange and aim to stay current on all the version releases.
  • P 21 does a great job of managing inventory throughout the purchasing, inventory control and sales processes.
  • Having the data accessible in an SQL database has been huge for us, P 21 does a good job of capturing all the transactional data.
  • The ability to customize the screens is a big advantage and something we take full advantage of.
  • The built-in CRM is a huge plus, but it could be more robust, it doesn't need to be on par with the other full-blown CRM packages, just close the gap.
  • I've been attending the Summit/Insights conferences for 10 years now, over the last few years it's "head-scratching" of how much turn over is occurring in the key management positions, seem to get different priorities each year.
  • The move of support to India is a disaster, when putting in a case I cringe - waiting to be asked to provide detailed steps and re-hash details, half the time it seems like I'm training the people on the other end during a Bomgar session. When I do get someone in the U.S. the support has been tremendous and resolved quickly, most of the time the first time around.
It's a great solution for the distribution industry, many ERP systems try to do both, but essentially they're weighted towards either distribution or manufacturing, there has been more focus on having manufacturing functionality built into P 21, that could be a good enhancement to the system as long as the focus stays on distribution.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2018

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Moving into the future with P21"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 is replacing our current ERP system that is no longer supported by Epicor. The entire company will be using it. It addresses the problem that our current ERP is obsolete.
  • For our company in particular, P21 addresses new items that can be created on the fly. Right now, the salesperson either has to create an *asterisk item or wait for the product to be added to the system. Asterisk items cause many issues in our current ERP system.
  • P21 offers a diverse way to utilize Vendor and Customer pricing. It provides much most flexibility and accuracy, not just for the buyers, but information used by salespeople.
  • P21 also mitigates negative on-hand quantities, which currently causes a large amount of problems in our current ERP system.
  • There are a number of processes where it seems like there are far too many steps.
  • In regards to bun adjustments, it would be nice if you can assign inventory at the same time, instead of it being two separate transactions.
  • The many steps to a Tag and Hold order is frustrating.
Most of the colleague's I have use ERP systems that are more current and offer more relevant features.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 30, 2018

"Epicor Prophet 21 Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for accounting, inventory, orders, and purchasing.
  • Good for distribution companies
  • Easy to manage uploads of inventory or changes
  • Pricing Libraries
  • The support service is horrible, takes too long to respond and they do not communicate well in a timely manner to issues.
  • Reporting is harder than expected
  • Training Material is limited
Find that the customer support is very lacking and even our assigned rep is very lacking in followups.
Read this authenticated review
James Mayfield, MBA profile photo
August 30, 2017

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "P21 for Distribution Growth"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 is used across our organization, by almost all departments. It allows us to keep track of our inventory across 4 warehouses and fulfill orders to customers nationwide. We utilize the order entry, accounting, sales, inventory, and purchasing modules. We utilized a separate warehouse management system that syncs with P21.
  • SQL based database recording all transactions. This allows us to use common SQL tools for data reporting. We have had to rely on Crystal Reports and other BI tools such as Sisense to supplement the reporting offered from the P21 application.
  • Demand Forecast is measured across all our warehouses and allows us to stock the correct inventory levels for each location. It is captured at time of purchase and recorded against a customer's default warehouse location regardless of where the item ships from.
  • Complex pricing can be setup with Sales Pricing Maintenance to charge different prices based on suppliers, discount groups, individual items, and certain customers.
  • Not very flexible. For example you cannot change which fields get exported when sending an EDI Invoice to a customer.
  • Difficult to update records. The Fast Edit functionality leaves a lot of filtering features to be desired. I've seen good things with their 2017 version, but we have not yet implemented that upgrade.
  • Search functionality is pretty bad when looking up an item, order, customer record etc. It is very slow and cannot be filtered to only look for specific fields.
P21 has allowed us to grow as a distribution organization. We can set up complex pricing functionality situations to stay on top of our margins. Inventory costs and values are tracked monthly by location to make sure we have the correct items in stock that our customers want. EDI features have allowed us to set up integrated ordering with our customers and vendors.
Read James Mayfield, MBA's full review
No photo available
September 15, 2017

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Prophet 21 : No reason not to get this software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 has always been a great tool to further our business, however, their ear to customer feedback has transitioned the software into a coveted tool in our organization and they seem to be continuing to listen to feedback and creating a pathway to greatness and improvement.
  • Allows Beginning to End Solutions
  • Processing and layout
  • Ease of use
  • Capability and integration with necessary tools
  • Additional connection and integration to popular industry products
  • Better CRM integration and development
Prophet 21 has allowed for fast order processing and creates an environment that allows us to be in front of the customer more rather than spending a large amount of time trying to make the system work.
Read this authenticated review
August Brimer profile photo
November 23, 2016

Epicor Prophet 21: "Detailed Honest Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are a leader in the fluid power industry in which we design, sell and service equipment and parts along with manufacture custom hydraulic systems through distribution. We have 2 companies across 9 locations with 3 manufacturing divisions. Each location has a showroom for front counter Sales (point of sale) and a service department with a stocking warehouse. We perform central based purchasing and forecasting mainly with some location based purchasing where needed. We use Prophet 21 software in every aspect of our company across all locations, short of payroll and internal purchasing of our business consumables in a mostly dominant thin client environment.

With the vast amount of features in the system it allows it to be compatible with many different business models throughout several industries which can make it a little over complicated on what to do via data entry as not all companies use every single piece of functionality and you have to fill in the appropriate area for what your company is using as there are a lot of fields and tabs that you could have to update, so it can produce very detailed information if a lot of the fields are utilized. Speed is a huge concern with this software as it has multiple layers of programming on top of an outdated platform that makes the data entry workable but painfully slow once you get used to running the software.

  • Scalability and the capability to mold to a lot of different companies' business models.
  • The Purchasing/Forecasting functionality is top notch and very moldable to any purchasing model ranging from central purchasing down to individualized seasonal items. Once set up it will let you get away with a smaller procurement department as the system will tell you what you need to order.
  • There are a ton of purchasable add-ons from the vendor along with even more third party add-ons that make this a wonderful software if you have the money and skilled personnel to support it.
  • The vendor is good about fixing issues quickly but sometimes it's difficult to distinguish between an actual error and a company specific business process.
  • Developers run a continuous improvement program with multiple releases a year so as they are designing new features at the same time they are cleaning errors and glitches rather than waiting a long time for advancements and a rock solid release. This could also be considered good and bad if you need an advancement, you don't have to wait!
  • Scalability and the capability to mold to a lot of different companies' business models. Since this software can mold to a large variety of business models it can make training difficult and long due to the complexities of the software's advanced features. This also makes data entry cumbersome as you have to know what fields to enter depending on what functionality you are using.
  • Slow to implement vendor driven Idea's Network from user ideas.
  • The product feels extremely slow once you get used to running the system and is glitchy because of the method chosen to release updates and advancements in the continuous improvement method.
  • Developers run a continuous improvement program with multiple releases a year so as they are designing new features at the same time they are cleaning errors and glitches rather than waiting a long time for advancements and a rock solid release. This could also be considered good and bad if you need an advancement, you don't have to wait!
  • The company's move to have the first level of support go to India can lead to frustrations because of the communication barrier along with new support teams that are not yet very knowledgeable in this software and the level of experiences with the software is still being developed.

Recommendations are in order of robustness in each area of business:

Purchasing - Very Strong

Distribution - Very Strong

Sales - Strong (Does not currently have a "true" Point of Sale Module/No security for sales pricing over-rides)

Pricing Sales/Purchasing Structures - Strong (Does not show % discount for orders/rebates are cumbersome)

Service & Maintenance - Strong to Medium: Needs a lot of work for differences in business models for Service. Scheduling a service is a challenge.

Manufacturing - Light: When they mean light manufacturing they mean it. Not a CNC type manufacturing add-on. They are currently working on a scheduling functionality that will help a ton but would still be a lot of work to run a large caliber manufacturing facility using this add-on. Some things are nice and some others are horridly missing. There is better software that handles manufacturing easier.

CRM - Thumbs is half down: Can get away with the baseline functionality and better with some customization but purchasable integrated add-ons make a world of difference!

Reporting - Baseline: Thumbs Down - Need to purchase an add-on if you want any business oversight and strong reports. Someone with highly developed SQL and or C++ skills is recommended. Crystal skills is a bonus. Can get away with middle of the road knowledge in those areas but the highly developed skills make a world of difference in molding your business processes.

Read August Brimer's full review
No photo available
May 08, 2017

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Great Software, Great Company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor Prophet 21 across all our locations (8) and it is fully implemented. It solves real-time data issues in multiple respects as well as data transparency across all locations. It has helped us serve our customers with immediate and detailed information regarding products and their deliveries.
  • Support
  • Extensibility
  • Ease of use
  • Rigidity (sometimes it is just too structured)
  • Easily crashes
If you turn the same product(s) day in and day out, Epicor P 21 is well suited. For us, we are entering one off items and specials on a regular basis. It becomes a little more cumbersome but still gets the job done.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Moon profile photo
November 01, 2016

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Distributing Growth"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prophet 21 is deployed throughout our enterprises, across multiple locations. Growth in wholesale distribution is achieved primarily by improving our ability to manage pricing and purchasing in a fast moving warehouse with as much accuracy as possible. Prophet 21 provides an integrated solution for us to do just that. As a strategic part of our overall information systems, Prophet 21 has been a major factor in our ability to increase inventory accuracy while reducing picking errors, maintain reasonable inventory levels without tying up assets in overstock, all while enjoying double digit growth, year after year.
  • As an open database, Epicor Prophet 21 not only gives you access directly to strategic information, its interface makes finding it convenient and efficient while allowing the use of industry standard reporting tools to manipulate reports and data.
  • The Wireless Warehouse package has been invaluable to the efficiency of our warehouse operations. Inventory flow, picking accuracy and stocking effectiveness have all improved.
  • One of the most valuable features of Epicor Prophet 21 is its support staff. They have always been responsive and knowledgeable with a focus on solving problems. They show an understanding of how important it is to correct any disruptive issues in as short a time as possible.
  • Prophet 21 could use better management tools for its own data. The database has a tendency to bloat and over time can grow exceedingly large without administrative intervention.
  • The UI can be cluttered at times and the windows tend to jump into focus or drop from focus when it isn't expected causing user confusion and data entry errors.
  • Branding on forms and the UI is almost nonexistent. Customizations of screen aesthetics and form layout options should be easier and not require custom programming.
For distributors of easily handled commodity products with the opportunity for growth, this is a perfectly suited ERP system. When you have to deal with larger quantities per order or larger cubes, integrating with Prophet 21 can be problematic. Wholesalers such as ourselves sometimes have to fight with the retail distributor model that seems to be entrenched in many of Prophet 21's features.
Read Charles Moon's full review
Jim Barber profile photo
August 09, 2016

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "P21 great for wholesale dist."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our ERP software. We use it in operations for orders, inventory management, customer information and as our CRM. We use it for accounting. We also use it for purchasing and forecasting our buying needs. We have it virtualized on hyperV.
  • It is excellent at allowing us to customize pricing for each customer.
  • It supports Microsoft operating systems and other support applications like Exchange and SQL.
  • Training end users on it for order entry and front counter is very intuitive and the ability to customize the screens helps make it simple to see key data needs.
  • It likes to take resources on the client side. I cannot put more than 20 users on a terminal server for it to work well.
  • There is no 64-bit version of it. 'It's coming soon' but so is Jesus and that's been 2000 years.
  • Exporting support to India has not been very easy for us as end users. Most of the cases I post are reviewed and changed.
Its great for wholesale distribution. It is very robust and seems to be able to meet all of the needs for the midsize company's needs. I'm not sure it would work for a small company. It seems to be expensive in that model. The cloud based solution is not priced appropriately for our size company.
Read Jim Barber's full review
No photo available
February 08, 2016

Epicor Prophet 21 Review: "Good at the basics, but don't be over sold"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Epicor Prophet 21 across the whole organization. We are a distributor for a large number of items and we use Epicor Prophet 21 for every process except payroll (not sure why that is).
  • Epicor Prophet 21 can do a lot of things, I'm amazed at how many different things it can do.
  • A good knowledge of how distribution works.
  • Allows customer code (Business Rules) in certain areas.
  • The reporting is lousy.
  • New versions always have new bugs (and sometime old bugs revisit).
  • Slow to implement user suggested features.
Epicor Prophet 21 is well suited for a distributor that buys and sells many items but doesn't have a store front.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (3)
7.0
Benefit plan administration (2)
8.2
Direct deposit files (3)
7.3
Salary revision and increment management (3)
6.9
Reimbursement management (3)
6.3
API for custom integration (13)
7.0
Plug-ins (12)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (19)
8.1
Role-based user permissions (20)
8.9
Dashboards (18)
6.4
Standard reports (24)
7.7
Custom reports (19)
7.2
Accounts payable (19)
8.6
Accounts receivable (19)
8.4
Global Financial Support (8)
7.3
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (10)
6.9
Intercompany Accounting (9)
7.2
Localizations (8)
7.7
Journals and Reconciliations (12)
7.2
Enterprise Accounting (8)
7.1
Configurable Accounting (8)
7.0
Centralized Rules Framework (8)
7.1
Standardized Processes (10)
7.6
Inventory tracking (22)
9.3
Automatic reordering (15)
8.8
Location management (18)
7.7
Manufacturing module (8)
6.7
Pricing (21)
8.5
Order entry (22)
8.7
Credit card processing (16)
8.0
Cost of goods sold (21)
8.6
Order Orchestration (10)
7.7
End-to-end order visibility (13)
7.8
Order exception Resolution (11)
7.3
Automated Invoice Processing (8)
7.7
Shared Services Payments (4)
7.0
Billings Management (9)
7.7
Customer Receipt Applications (10)
7.7
Customer Collections (11)
7.4
Revenue Recognition (9)
7.4
Cash Management (11)
7.4
Asset Management (8)
7.4
Travel & Expense Management (6)
6.2
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (6)
6.2
Period Close (12)
7.7
Transactions Tax (10)
7.5
Subledger Reconciliations (9)
7.1
3rd Party Accounting Systems (5)
7.5
Budgeting and Forecasting (5)
5.9
Project Costing (3)
5.0
Cost Capture (3)
4.9
Capital Project Management (2)
5.9
Customer Invoicing (6)
6.6
Customer Contract Compliance (6)
5.6
Project Revenue Recognition (2)
6.2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (2)
5.9
Project Financials Dashboard (2)
6.9
Real-time Financial Reporting (5)
6.3
Embedded Business Intelligence (3)
6.2
Project Planning Collaboration (3)
5.3
Project Planning and Scheduling (2)
3.6
Project Manager Dashboard (2)
3.6
Resource Manager Dashboard (2)
3.6
Task Insight for Project Managers (2)
3.6
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (2)
3.2
Team Member Task Collaboration (2)
3.2
Team Member Mobile Functionality (2)
4.1
Project Candidate Search (1)
3.6
Project Candidate Comparison and Analysis (1)
4.5
Defineable Resource Pools (2)
3.6
Defineable Resource Pools (2)
3.6
Talent Profiles (1)
4.5
Real-Time Project Reporting (2)
3.2
Absence Management (1)
3.6
Product Lifecycle Management (1)
2.7
Award Lifecycle Management (2)
5.3
Spending Control (2)
5.8
Indirect Cost Management (2)
6.3
Billing (3)
7.3
Sourcing Team Collaboration (4)
6.3
Sourcing Analysis (5)
6.3
Bids Analyzed and Compared (4)
4.9
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (3)
4.0
Contract Authoring (4)
5.8
Contract Compliance Management (4)
6.4
Contract History (5)
6.0
Contract Renewal Automation (2)
3.2
Contract Repository (3)
7.3
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (3)
6.4
Electronic Signatures (2)
3.6
Invoice Automated Matching (3)
4.8
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (1)
4.5
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (3)
6.1
Spend Compliance Management (2)
5.9
Supplier Assessment (3)
4.8
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (3)
4.8
Supplier Management (4)
5.7
Supplier Portal (2)
5.5
Risk Repository (1)
5.5
Control Management (1)
4.5
Control Mapping (1)
5.5
Control Efficiency Assessments (1)
5.5
Automated Control Assessments (1)
5.5
Assessment Capture (1)
5.5
Issue Detection (1)
4.5
Automatic Notification (1)
4.5
Remediation and Certification (1)
6.4
Transportation Planning and Optimization (5)
6.0
Transportation Sourcing Management (5)
5.8
Transportation Process Integration (4)
5.9
Transportation Execution Management (3)
5.5
Freight Payment Automation (5)
5.9
Trade Management (3)
6.6
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (3)
4.9
Customs Entry Management (4)
6.6
Customs Document Management (4)
7.2
Customs Document Collaboration (4)
5.5
Fulfillment Management (4)
5.9
Inventory Visibility (6)
7.1
Warehouse Workforce Management (5)
6.5
Production Process Design (1)
5.5
Supply Chain Business Flows (1)
4.5
Production Management (1)
4.5
Contracted Manufacturing Management (1)
4.5
Configuration Management (1)
2.7
Work Definition (2)
2.3
Work Execution (2)
5.0
Advanced Fulfillment (1)
1
Manufacturing Costs (1)
1
Forecasting (9)
5.9
Inventory Planning (10)
6.4
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (6)
5.9
Performance Monitoring (9)
6.0
Ideation Management (1)
6.4
Requirements Management (2)
5.9
Proposal Management (1)
5.5
Innovation Portfolio Management (1)
6.4
Product Master Data Management (1)
5.5
Vendor Portal (1)
4.5
Project Portfolio Management (1)
3.6

About Epicor Prophet 21

Epicor Prophet 21 Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No