Epicor HCM Reviews

16 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 4.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-11 of 11)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2019

Epicor HCM, not for customer support

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would not recommend Epicor HCM principally because the customer support is terrible. When we open a case, it takes weeks to get development teams to have the first look at the case. If development is required, their team commits on an delivery date and up to now, that date was never respected. They don't do any follow up. Customer service is very bad.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph Moeller | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2016

Epicor HCM - Preferred HR System for the Database Guru

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

While Epicor HCM is functional for enterprises with many branch locations, I feel that is best suited out of the box for locations with corporately centralized HR. This overcomes some of the shortcomings of security capability and the need to spend a lot of time in configuring routing.
The CSS portion of Epicor HCM is not as robust as competing systems and should not be used if corporations are actively looking to onboard at a high rate.
Read Joseph Moeller's full review
Gary Siebenlist | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2016

Epicor HCM for mid-sized businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Epicor HCM is a great software package but it is most useful when the company has a technical resource that can 'look under the hood' if needed. Without a technical resource available, the company must rely on Epicor support which can be inconsistent quality.

Technical skills for advanced report development are especially good to have because while the HCM package does have pre-built reports, reporting data models, and metrics, every company has different needs and to fully mine the data, SQL Reporting Services skills are required.
Read Gary Siebenlist's full review
Cheryl Atkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2015

All employee related information in one master file

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The single most important factor in our selection was that the software would integrate into our shop floor data collection so we would not have to maintain two employee databases. We are able to set up new employees in Open4 and the shop employee record in Vantage is then populated during that process. There is no duplicate entry to be done.

It is important that the system be used properly and the user interface is an important part of that. Because this system allows the menu to be configured by user it greatly reduces the time it takes to train users in the system. There is no need to skip over menu items that are not used by the particular employee being trained. Their menu only displays the menu items they are required to use.

Tax tables updates are provided timely and can be downloaded and applied without the need for assistance from tech support. An email notification is sent out from Epicor support when an update is available and I can download and apply them at my convenience.

Read Cheryl Atkins's full review
Amy Stuart, HRIP | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2015

Epicor HCM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If a company does not have a lot of IT resources and no SQL expert on staff, I recommend being hosted. But, if a company does have IT resources and an HR member with strong SQL skills, then being self hosted is the only way to go - the limits are endless with what you can do with the system.
Read Amy Stuart, HRIP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2016

Not just Epicor, EpiHARDcor! Best ERP/HCM that i've used to date

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The most important thing to ask during the selection process is that if the program you are seeing is everything that is included in the product that you're going to purchase. As with most ERP systems, there are a lot of add-on modules that can be purchased, and you want to make sure that everything that you need and expect to be ready at go-live is going to be A) included and B) functional in the final product. Epicor can, at times, be not well suited to in-house rework, but is very user friendly when it comes to job creation and management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 15, 2016

Implementation Consultant's Viewpoint

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This is a good system for Large organizations, organizations of over 1000 employees; it is often a choice when a company needs a robust system that is all inclusive - HRIS, ATS, training, etc...

Reports are tough to navigate. Interface is ok. Ease of use good.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2015

Epicor HCM: Avoid at all costs.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I could not recommend this system to anyone.

If you do decide to go with this system, depending on organization size, you'll need at least one dedicated IT person with SQL/Report-builder experience to manage the system and reporting, as well as another full-time HR member to manage other administrative set-up and deal with the many, many, user support issues that will crop up.

I'm shocked at the number of positive reviews for this product. A couple of them reiterate the same thing such as each of use (which is completely untrue) and many fields/tables for data storage, which leads me to believe that they're from Epicor or Epicor consultants.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2015

Epicor HCM - underwhelming

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Key questions: What is the future of this product? What is the roadmap going forward and what is currently in development?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2015

Epicor HCM 5.6

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Because the system is very flexible, there are numerous options for building workflows that match your own internal processes. However, this flexibility, means additional complexity that has to be managed and it can take time and budget dollars. Epicor HCM is well suited for organizations that can invest in the people and budget required to keep the system relevant to its users or for organizations that do not need a high degree of customization.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2015

Epic-mess: Where the possible becomes impossible.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

***BEWARE OF EPICOR***

You have officially been warned! As my coworkers and I like to call it, “Epic-mess,” as the possible becomes seemingly impossible. If you are even remotely considering Epicor as your company’s HRIS, please look elsewhere, as Epicor will only cause your HR team massive problems and irritation. Save your company the time, and more importantly the money. Epicor is extremely costly and every small customization has a price including speaking with service representatives. At this point, after dealing with Epicor for over a year and a half, I truly believe Epicor is a legitimate grift.

Why do you ask?

For one, nothing with Epicor is easy. Efficiency is thrown out the window which is ironic since HRIS systems are designed with efficiency in mind. However, this is surely not the case with Epicor. You will spend an inordinate amount of time trying to demystify the system.

Would you like to run a report?

Simple right? How about being directed by Epicor’s software programmers to utilize Microsoft Report Builder to execute this task.

Pardon me? Are you telling me this system doesn’t allow for embedded report creation?

Why yes, that is virtually the case.

While you are able to run very standard reports in Epicor, if you need to run an ad hoc report or build a complex report, you will be directed to utilize Microsoft Report Builder, which is consequently, pretty complicated and honestly, unnecessary considering your company purchased an HRIS. In addition, once you are finally able to run the report in Report Builder after it freezes a couple of times (cross your fingers), you can rest assure that your report is inaccurate. Not only does building a report require a ridiculous amount of time, but the report lacks integrity as Epicor will drop employees from your report without your knowledge. From my team’s understanding, we were told by Epicor that names are dropped because those particular employees are missing information in the requested data fields. Now, logic would tell anyone that a report should still pull the employee in spite of the empty data field, but of course, that would be too logical for Epicor. Instead of pulling the employee and including them in the requested report with the missing information, they completely drop off. Logic would beg one to think, “How would I know the employee was missing information if they are not pulled and I am not given the opportunity to see the missing data field(s) so I can correct them?”

This is only the beginning of your problems.

After dealing with trying to run an accurate report and losing your mind, you will now be inclined to contact Epicor directly. You will find this feat to be daunting if not absurd given you have to call to run a fairly simple report. Epicor offers a “free” customer service line that will immediately instruct you to contact the program developer who handles your account. That sound you just heard…was money flying out the window. Of course Epicor would have you contact your account manager as this means more money for them. So, after you finally call and leave a message, because you must leave a message (which is a joke), someone from Epicor will return your call the following day (emergency…what emergency?) and assist you as best as they can with your problem, but oftentimes, they cannot help because even they do not know. And if they do, they are recommending a solution that will…wait for it…cost more money.

Should you need a basic feature in your HRIS it is considered a “customization.” Would you like a “point in time” report? This is considered a special report that must be created. Yes, you read that correctly. A simple “point in time” report, which is standard in ADP Reports and most reputable HRIS systems, will cost you a pretty penny. But don’t fret, they will try to placate your anger by informing you that they are offering you a “discount” – for something a standard HRIS can do in five minutes. And to add to your mounting costs, your company is still being billed for the phone call(s) which is almost $100 per call, and mind you, because Epicor is extremely convoluted, you will spend a significant amount of time on those phone calls. Maybe even six months because that is how long it took for our organization’s PIT report with minimal parameters to be built. Who doesn’t have money and time to spare in an evolving and fast-paced organization?

Would you simply like to have your HRIS system interface with your company’s payroll system?

Again, the possible becomes impossible. For every single payroll cycle that my organization has to transmit, we have to run an import via Epicor that creates “error reports” that we have to review to ensure that Epicor made the correct changes, which often, we find information is not correctly transmitted over to ADP. Then, we are forced to manually enter the information in our payroll system and complete double data entry. Again, where is the efficiency if you have to manually enter the employee data in both systems? My organization does this multiple times throughout the month. You can only imagine how inefficient and time consuming this task is.

Would you like to complete a mass import?

Sorry. That’s not going to happen without another – you guessed it – phone call. And get this, after spending money on the call, you might possibly be met with, “That’s not possible.” Wow. Who’s asking for the world? You only want to complete a pretty simple task, or seemingly simple task.

Are there other problems?

Of course! However, I don’t have the stamina to list all of them. Without a doubt, if my organization could do it over again when selecting an HRIS, we would have never selected Epicor. It has not met our growing organization’s needs and it simply is not a robust and sustainable system. And there is no way Epicor will meet our needs in the future as it currently fails them now after three years of trying to get this HRIS running properly. Should your company be in the market for an HRIS system, bypass Epicor at all costs, as you can find another system that will meet your needs more efficiently with less cost.

Save yourselves the time, energy, and money -- and the headache.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (8)
5.0
Employment history (8)
6.0
Job profiles and administration (7)
5.0
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (8)
4.0
Organizational charting (4)
2.0
Organization and location management (7)
4.0
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (3)
8.1
Pay calculation (3)
6.1
Support for external payroll vendors (6)
7.2
Benefit plan administration (6)
5.5
Direct deposit files (4)
7.6
Salary revision and increment management (5)
6.7
Reimbursement management (1)
8
Approval workflow (5)
6.0
Balance details (6)
6.0
Annual carry-forward and encashment (4)
7.0
View and generate pay and benefit information (6)
7.0
Update personal information (7)
8.0
View company policy documentation (5)
8.0
Employee recognition (1)
7
View job history (5)
7.0
Tracking of all physical assets (3)
7.1
Report builder (8)
7.0
Pre-built reports (8)
7.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (7)
6.0
New hire portal (2)
7.0
Manager tracking tools (2)
6.0
Corporate goal setting (2)
6.0
Individual goal setting (3)
6.0
Line-of sight-visibility (2)
6.0
Performance tracking (3)
6.0
Performance plans (3)
6.0
Performance improvement plans (2)
6.0
Review status tracking (3)
6.0
Review reminders (3)
6.0
Multiple review frequency (2)
5.0
Candidate ranking (2)
6.5
Candidate search (2)
5.5
Job Requisition Management (3)
6.0
Company Website Posting (2)
5.0
Job Search Site Posting (1)
5
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
5.0
Applicant Tracking (3)
6.0
Notifications and Alerts (3)
5.0

About Epicor HCM

Epicor HCM is a human resource management system scaled towards mid to large-size enterprises. It is accessible as software as a service (Saas), hosted, or via an on-premise license, depending on the hosting preferences of the business. It provides most of the core HR functionality, with the vendor offering integrability with businesses’ payroll vendors of choice, as well as Employee and Manager Self-Service, time and talent management, and recruiting and onboarding support. Epicor also offers reporting and analytics on employee data and regulatory compliance.
Categories:  HR Management

Epicor HCM Competitors

Epicor HCM Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No