erwin Data Modeler Reviews

18 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 26, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Erwin was used as a true enterprise data modeling tool, largely by a team of data architects and modelers, to ensure consistent modeling across the corporation. As a large organization it helped address the needs of multiple developers often needing to work within the same model at the same time. It also provided centralization an assured developers were working with the correct version of the model.
  • Easy to reverse engineer existing databases to bring them into the model or account for drift.
  • Intuitive interface for developers just starting out with the tool.
  • Large number of options on how to display a data model visually, which is critical when dealing with very large models.
  • Cost is the single largest barrier to entry with this tool.
  • Would like to see a greater variety of export options available for use outside of the tool, for example as a vector graphic.
  • Support has been uneven at times.
I have two reservations for ranking erwin higher than I have. One is the cost of the tool. For smaller shops, it can be a tough pill to swallow and difficult to convince management of its value. The other is that I consider erwin to be essentially on par with embarcadero. That being said, erwin is excellent if you need centralized management of your models. This naturally lends itself to a larger shop, but this management is still valuable for smaller companies as well so long as a good process is in place.
Read this authenticated review
February 24, 2020
Sean Zef | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using erwin Data Modeler now for the ERD diagram design. We then provide the ERD to end-users or developers so they can make utilize it while designing their applications. We are also using it for some SQL Server change management. For example, when end-users request table changes, we then reverse engineer the existing DB or table, make the change, and then have erwin Data Modeler generate an Alter script that we can reuse once promoted to Production.
  • ERD diagrams
  • Publishing those ERDs for end-user consumption either on the web or PDF.
  • The GUI is a little clunky, even on the 2020 version
  • Overwhelming amount of options, which is good eventually
Erwin Data Modeler great when trying to model a relational DB that is well established and mainstream. A little less useful for something like Amazon Athena, which kind of makes sense. It makes handy diagrams that have lots of information but is also not very visually appealing to view. Further, it's a little obtuse to figure out initially, again due to option overload - sometimes I wish it had a 'simple' and 'advanced' view. It is excellent for automating diagrams and generating changes for existing DBs.
They helped us renew our license and upgrade from 9.1 to 2020, which also allowed us to Decom our license server. Further, once we upgraded they gave a free overview class where my team could ask questions and see the new features. They've extended the offer to the future if we ever need a refresher. I haven't asked about any real technical issues yet, but I'm sure it would be a similar experience.
Read Sean Zef's full review
December 03, 2019
Rina Falkovich | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Erwin Data Modeler was used by our DBA and Data Architecture to design new data models and document the existing physical databases by reverse engineering them.
  • Creation of logical data models
  • Reverse engineering
  • Excellent communication tool in conversations with Developers and BAs
  • As a company, Erwin provides lots of tutorials and how-tos.
  • The main con I can think of is cost.
  • It takes time to setup and learn which is an adoption barrier.
  • Modeling of complex environments
  • Documenting existing databases
  • Communication tool between BAs, Architects, DBAs and Developers
  • Modeling and documentation tool for developing our Data Warehouse
We did not have to call for tech support, but there is a lot of useful information and "how-tos" coming from the company.
Read Rina Falkovich's full review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Erwin Data Modeler is an enterprise modeling tool often used by government agencies and organizations to design, maintain, and implement databases to support enterprise applications. Government agencies and organizations usually select a standard data modeling tool in which they can consistently implement databases and maintain them. It provides a standard software toolset that all projects can use.
  • Generation/management of DDL.
  • Enforces standard naming conventions.
  • Builds logical and physical data models.
  • User interface
  • Many options available to learn.
Erwin Data Modeler is an enterprise-level tool and should be considered for managing large DB implementations or when aligning to an existing organization's naming standards/definitions/data types is needed. This is a key tool for a Data Architect to design databases. It is possible the cost would not make it ideal for small projects where scripts could be easily managed by scripts.
CA customer support and our account manager have been able to support us with any issues that we have had, from managing our serial keys to issues we logged tickets to resolve. There are aspects of key management that have made it difficult over the years but support usually has worked with us.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use erwin Data Modeler on a very small scale. We use it to standardize record abbreviations and field names.
  • It is reliable in the use case we have, to rename and standardize fields accurately.
  • erwin has as very great customer service team.
  • Interface is very old seeming
  • Small text and multiple buttons makes the user interface difficult to maneuver
erwin has many capabilities that our company does not use to the full potential. We simply use it as a naming conversion tool to standardize our field names.
Read this authenticated review
January 25, 2019
Ravinder Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using erwin Data Modeler for initial design, development and deployment phases. We use it to design ER diagrams for our new databases or incorporate change requests into existing. We then forward engineer deployment scripts for erwin directly and deploy it to various database environments. This has helped us version control and release control in our database environments. It is also easier to discuss with functional team by presenting them with ER diagram block instead of talking to them in database language.
  • Reverse Engineering: I love the way we can import an SQL file containing schema meta data and generate ER diagram out of it. This is specifically useful if you are implementing erwin Data Modeler for an existing database.
  • Forward Engineering: We use this feature very frequently. Where we do database changes in our physical and logical data models and then generate deployment scripts for the changes made.
  • Physical vs Logical Models: I like to have my database model split into physical and logical models and at the same time still linked to each other. Any changes you make to logical model or physical model shows up in the other.
  • For large models, it gets tedious to print the diagram in a single pdf. I have to often make adjustment and if i use the fit model feature, it kind of changes the alignment of entities in my ER diagram. Erwin may let us make pdf of the model as is.
  • I have used reverse engineering using for Oracle schemas. It will be very good if it supports reverse engineering for more vendors, so i can use erwin data modeler for database conversion activities too.
If you have a database environment that gets frequent schema object change requests. erwin Data Modeler is a great tool for version control and release control. Also, it's very useful to communicate between database and application teams.
Read Ravinder Gupta's full review
January 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a big organization that supports multiple applications. We use erwin Data Modeler for database model design before it can actually make to the database.
We build ER diagrams out of requirement documents and then use these ER diagrams to discuss in meetings with functional and DBA teams. Once the design is approved, we further use erwin Data Modeler to make both logical and physical data models, include triggers and constraints in the model, and forward engineer deployment scripts for the DBA team.
erwin Data Modeler has greatly helped us maintain a SDLC for database changes and version control.
  • erwin Data Modeler helps generate deployment scripts for database deployments without the need to worry about programming syntax.
  • It helps you compare different models pretty easily and identify any discrepancies induced due to human error during deployment cycles.
  • I have a great experience of using erwin Data Modeler to generate database models straight out of database SQL file. This feature is called reverse engineering in erwin Data Modeler world.
  • erwin Data Modeler allows only 25 entities in a trial version. It really limits you when you want to try out the product before actually deciding to pay for licensing cost. It would be rather helpful if they limit the trial period by days instead.
  • The UI is pretty good but sometimes the large diagrams are hard to manage. A little improvement in that area would be helpful.
I have had a chance to use few other data modeling tools from Quest and Oracle, but I am most comfortable using erwin Data Modeler. They understand your data modeling needs and have designed the software to give you a feeling of completeness when you are designing a data model.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Formatting capabilities (1)
9
Report sharing and collaboration (1)
9
Publish to PDF (1)
8
Report Versioning (1)
9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (1)
7

What is erwin Data Modeler?

erwin provides a data management platform for managing both structured and unstructured data types. It is an open-standards data hub designed to allow customers to manage their data wherever it might be stored (in-house relational databases, or public or private cloud). The platform handles big data governance, control, customization and web-based publishing and reporting.

The vendor says erwin Data Modeler is used by more than 50,000 professionals in 60+ countries to get big results from their enterprise data initiatives. Additionally, the vendor says their solution is the #1 choice in virtually every industry, from government and healthcare to retail and finance.

erwin is now a Quest solution, since the January 2021 acquisition.


erwin Data Modeler Screenshots

erwin Data Modeler Video

erwin Data Modeler Competitors

SAP PowerDesigner, Idera ER/Studio, Toad Data Modeler

erwin Data Modeler Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

erwin Data Modeler Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

erwin Data Modeler Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is erwin Data Modeler's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses erwin Data Modeler?

The most common users of erwin Data Modeler are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.