TrustRadius
The ESET Endpoint Security product line, from Slovakian company ESET, combines antivirus and antispyware with anti-phishing, support for virtualization, as well as remote management and antispam and other features for businesses, as well relatively simple deployment for small offices.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3Q/FI/MJJ05JLWTAMK.jpegESET can't be beatWe use ESET for our computers/servers and have been for 7 years. We had been looking for a antivirus with good value, good reviews, low system resources, and a management console for administration. ESET fit that. Once set up, it's very easy to manage and control clients. All computers connected to the network have it installed, and we've had little to no issues with viruses since.,Management console is great for IT admins. You can setup policies, scans, computers, push install software/updates, view everything from one program ESET was very low in system resources, it doesn't slow the PC down while scanning, which a lot of other AV did ESET was a good price with good reviews, perfect for what we need, and reputable so you know it's good.,The program update procedure can be a bit difficult. It doesn't just auto upgrade major versions, you have to apply them a certain way if you want to manage them via the remote console. Not all the latest versions work with the remote management software.,10,Low/No downtime for computers, they never get infected, thus we never need to spend time fixing infected machines.,Trend Micro Endpoint Security, Malwarebytes and Avira Antivirus,Malwarebytes, Microsoft Office 365, Google DomainsESET Gets IT DoneOur lab uses ESET Endpoint Security on all workstations and servers. We switched to this product about 15 years ago after numerous failures of our university's enterprise anti-virus solution (McAfee). We like the robustness of the product- especially the ability to tune the firewall.,It is easy to create exceptions in the firewall. Great for creating remembered settings for which sites are allowed to send what information when visited. Low overhead on the operating system unlike application such as Symantec. The interface is easy to use.,Make license management a bit easier - a single login accessible through ESET's front page would be helpful.,10,We have not had an infection or down time because of a virus since installing ESET.,,ArcGISESET ProtectsWe use ESET across the whole organization. Because we work in the healthcare industry HIPAA compliance, secure servers and customer endpoints are very important for us. We have 10 servers running ESET and over 70 employee computers. In the past we used various antivirus and security solutions, however without the ability to manage from a centra location it was difficult to expand our coverage.,Easy deployment High quality security Updates as to the protection ESET provides against current threats (malware, ransomware etc) via email Low cost,Remote management (difficult to setup) Remote deployment (difficult to setup) Protection updates,10,Low cost High ROI No issues with security breaches within the last 5 years,Norton Small Business,G Suite, Splashtop Remote Support, Splashtop On-Demand SupportA great software to keep your organization safeESET Endpoint Security is used throughout the company. Keeps all computers in the organization secure against malware, spyware, and other threats.,The Bi-Directional Firewall protects your red and the information against incoming and outgoing infections. The protection against botnets blocks the attempts of cybercriminals to install bot programs secretly on your computer to take control of it. This program works quietly and it doesn't consume a lot of resources.,I think there's not much room to improve. But probably the user interface could be fresher. Probably, something more "Futuristic" but keeping the essence of a business application,10,ESET Endpoint Security fixed a difficult problem that we had in our organization and we never get worried about it againESET Endpoint Security - Great Product, Covers It AllESET Endpoint Security is being used across our entire local government WAN to provide us protection from viruses, spyware, and provides anti-phishing protection as well. It provides protection on the local workstation that takes up a very small footprint, so it does not impact system resources like other products I have used in the past. I also use it to lock down the use of USB devices (USB drives especially) so that large amounts of data cannot be copied and taken off-site, causing a data security issue. The management console allows us complete control for administration.,The small footprint on the local workstations is great. It does not utilize system resources like other product I have used in the past. Excellent Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware/Anti-Phishing and firewall capability. Remote administration works well to push out installation and updates. Cost is lower than other products that I have used in the past. For us, the ability to control and lock down the use of removable devices is a must to provide data security.,Setup does have a learning curve, partially due to the options that are available. Planning and setting up the rules/policies of the organization can be a little daunting. I would like it to be able to deploy new versions to the client automatically instead of having to set this up manually.,10,I can tell you that the cost to provide this security suite is lower than the other major vendors' product and is a better product. The need to protect your organization from threats is required. The costs associated with recovering from an infection that spreads across the organization, the data loss, the productivity loss, etc., are huge! Don't risk it by "saving money" and taking risks.,Symantec Endpoint Protection,Veeam Availability Suite, Microsoft SQL Server
Unspecified
ESET Endpoint Security
43 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
TRScore

ESET Endpoint Security Reviews

ESET Endpoint Security
43 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 43 vetted ESET Endpoint Security reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-17 of 17)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kenji Castro profile photo
May 25, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET can't be beat"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ESET for our computers/servers and have been for 7 years. We had been looking for a antivirus with good value, good reviews, low system resources, and a management console for administration. ESET fit that. Once set up, it's very easy to manage and control clients. All computers connected to the network have it installed, and we've had little to no issues with viruses since.
  • Management console is great for IT admins. You can setup policies, scans, computers, push install software/updates, view everything from one program
  • ESET was very low in system resources, it doesn't slow the PC down while scanning, which a lot of other AV did
  • ESET was a good price with good reviews, perfect for what we need, and reputable so you know it's good.
  • The program update procedure can be a bit difficult. It doesn't just auto upgrade major versions, you have to apply them a certain way if you want to manage them via the remote console. Not all the latest versions work with the remote management software.
If you are a lone IT, or have a very small team, but need to manage many computers, ESET is great. I use it at home too, so I trust both the business and home versions. They have protected me many times, i've yet to get infected since installing. Hard to say where it would be less appropriate, everyone should have some form of antivirus installed.
Read Kenji Castro's full review
Talbot Brooks profile photo
May 25, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET Gets IT Done"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our lab uses ESET Endpoint Security on all workstations and servers. We switched to this product about 15 years ago after numerous failures of our university's enterprise anti-virus solution (McAfee). We like the robustness of the product- especially the ability to tune the firewall.
  • It is easy to create exceptions in the firewall.
  • Great for creating remembered settings for which sites are allowed to send what information when visited.
  • Low overhead on the operating system unlike application such as Symantec.
  • The interface is easy to use.
  • Make license management a bit easier - a single login accessible through ESET's front page would be helpful.
ESET is great for academic computing environments as it handles flaky freshmen trying to access suspect web sites as easily as it puts a stop to the transfer of worms or some types of phishing attempts.
Read Talbot Brooks's full review
Nicolas Pratt profile photo
May 25, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET Protects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ESET across the whole organization. Because we work in the healthcare industry HIPAA compliance, secure servers and customer endpoints are very important for us. We have 10 servers running ESET and over 70 employee computers. In the past we used various antivirus and security solutions, however without the ability to manage from a centra location it was difficult to expand our coverage.
  • Easy deployment
  • High quality security
  • Updates as to the protection ESET provides against current threats (malware, ransomware etc) via email
  • Low cost
  • Remote management (difficult to setup)
  • Remote deployment (difficult to setup)
  • Protection updates
ESET Endpoint Security is perfect for both in-house security, and remote computer security. If you are worried about HIPAA compliance, and protecting PHI, ESET is great for both computers and servers.

ESET would not be ideal for short-term protection on temporary computers, or giving remote users the easy control of their own security.
Read Nicolas Pratt's full review
Miguelangel Nuñez profile photo
July 31, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "A great software to keep your organization safe"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ESET Endpoint Security is used throughout the company. Keeps all computers in the organization secure against malware, spyware, and other threats.
  • The Bi-Directional Firewall protects your red and the information against incoming and outgoing infections.
  • The protection against botnets blocks the attempts of cybercriminals to install bot programs secretly on your computer to take control of it.
  • This program works quietly and it doesn't consume a lot of resources.
  • I think there's not much room to improve. But probably the user interface could be fresher. Probably, something more "Futuristic" but keeping the essence of a business application
This program solves the security problems or weakness in my current organization. It's also a good option to use on Android devices.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Review: "ESET Endpoint Security - Great Product, Covers It All"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ESET Endpoint Security is being used across our entire local government WAN to provide us protection from viruses, spyware, and provides anti-phishing protection as well. It provides protection on the local workstation that takes up a very small footprint, so it does not impact system resources like other products I have used in the past. I also use it to lock down the use of USB devices (USB drives especially) so that large amounts of data cannot be copied and taken off-site, causing a data security issue. The management console allows us complete control for administration.
  • The small footprint on the local workstations is great. It does not utilize system resources like other product I have used in the past.
  • Excellent Anti-Virus/Anti-Spyware/Anti-Phishing and firewall capability.
  • Remote administration works well to push out installation and updates.
  • Cost is lower than other products that I have used in the past.
  • For us, the ability to control and lock down the use of removable devices is a must to provide data security.
  • Setup does have a learning curve, partially due to the options that are available.
  • Planning and setting up the rules/policies of the organization can be a little daunting.
  • I would like it to be able to deploy new versions to the client automatically instead of having to set this up manually.
I think this product is good for larger organizations to be able to manage and monitor clients from a remote administrator. Having device control, on top of all the other components is a nice feature. Having a technical person with experience is pretty much required to get the most out of this product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 08, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET - It works, sometimes it slows down everything, but it works."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
ESET is currently our anti-virus main solution. It's being used in the entire organization, by our users, that currently only notice when the solution does not update automatically, cause the icon turns red. It helped us a lot with malware, trojan, and other OS problems, as well as block some stuff to enter in our network.
  • Do not disturb your machine if it is configured in the right way
  • Split updates using a local server (only that one downloads the updates and split to your local network)
  • Easy interface, even to the user
  • The initial setup, don't slow the computer.
  • Deploy to be a little bit easier in a network
  • The management interface to be a web version
For a multi-tenant environment, I think, it's a very good tool, as you may split your powers with other admins, to manage in a more detailed way the machine groups. There's space to be better in policy application, to specific computers or groups, as you needed to download the file, customize, and upload again, or deal with slow screen updates. Also, the disk space it takes to hold the updates.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 12, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET Endpoint Antivirus features a simple and easy to use interface"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using ESET Endpoint Antivirus for all of our Workstations/Servers in our organization for 10 years. ESET Endpoint Antivirus' main purpose is to protect our computers from all types of malware, including viruses, Trojans, spyware and rootkits, whether they are already on your hard drive or presented via the web, email or removable USB or optical drives.
  • Simple and easy to use interface
  • Quick response time from tech support
  • Easy to use and take up very less system resource, and it won't slow down your PC while scanning
  • Manage all ESET clients via a central remote administrator web console
  • Expensive
Remote Client Installation of ESET Endpoint Antivirus is both quick and simple and it features a simple and easy to use interface
Read this authenticated review
Thomas McMillan profile photo
April 10, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET just works and works well!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the software to protect all our workstations and servers. It provides the extra protection computers need from their users and gives the management you want for an IT professional. Installation was easy and it keeps the computers clean. Updates often to provide the best security. Good management console.
  • Silent scanning
  • Central Management
  • Reliable Updates
  • Good security
  • Every time a user logs in, it pops up a splash screen. Would prefer a more silent approach.
  • Installation requires some attention to make sure it completed. This may have been due to previous AV causing issues, but still had some issues with installation.
  • Silent installation options for Group Policy would be nice.
Great for small businesses that need easy to use security. Management may be more difficult with larger amounts of end points.
Read Thomas McMillan's full review
Eric Broz profile photo
February 19, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "Protect yourself, you end users and your data with Eset Smart Security!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ESET Smart security to protect our servers, laptops, desktop and Macintosh computers from malware, viruses, and phishing attacks. The ability to centrally manage all three platforms (Windows 7/10; Server & Mac) allows us to have a greater control over what applications are installed, and what protocols are permitted inside our network.
  • The ESET Remote Administrator portal is easy to use to keep track of systems, identify hardware and manage ESET installs and configurations.
  • ESET has a small footprint and low overhead on system resources.
  • ESET features presentation mode which prevents popup windows from the program notifying you of updates.
  • ERA tasks are sometimes delayed.
  • Making rules is a bit complex for new administrators.
  • The licensing portal is mediocre at best. Functional, but the UI leaves a lot to be desired.
ESET has protected my personal machines for 14 years. I have used and managed Symantec, McAfee, Avast and ESET in my professional career. ESET is my preferred platform for both home and work. I've never lost a machine protected by ESET to a virus or malware. I do IT work on the side for friends and family and they're all running ESET as well.
Read Eric Broz's full review
No photo available
January 16, 2018

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "Eset Smart Security"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Eset Smart Security across the whole organization. It allows us to have a global overview over all the computers in the organization and allows us to apply rules from a centralized point. As with all Eset products, the interface is well organized and features all the bells and whistles you could imagine.
  • Protects against malware
  • Alerts when OS is not up to date
  • Gives clear overview of security issues
  • Can't think of any cons right now
Eset Smart Security is recommended when you have an organization with many computers all connected to a network. You will install the control panel on a server and will be able to control all security issues from that panel for all the computers in the network, without needed to approach each computer seperately
Read this authenticated review
Bruce Emmerling profile photo
September 13, 2017

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "A well rounded security package for low level networks"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eset Smart Security is as a highly effective security platform for our systems. It provides not only very good antivirus and security protection but also requires less resources than other competing products. Unlike some competing products, Eset Smart Security continues to be streamlined with an easy to use front end interface while maintaining its highly effective scanning engine. The product is not only economical but requires less training for its usage with general users.
  • The product really shines with its relatively easy to use interface. It's easy to setup, use, and manage.
  • Eset Smart Security also does a good job of keeping a low system footprint without requiring large amounts of system resources.
  • Its handling of malicious code is straightforward, easy to understand, and relatively fast.
  • The product might be improved with added firewall features.
  • On rare occasions, like many other comparable products, the Eset Smart Security might miss some malware problems.
  • Another improvement would be to provide some support for enterprise systems
Eset Smart Security is a great security product for ordinary users that may lack knowledge of security systems. It runs well, provides an easy to use interface, and is relatively fast. It runs great with laptops and can be setup to be automated for the most part.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
Robin L. Ore profile photo
July 26, 2017

ESET Endpoint Security: "ESET is the most comprehensive, easy to use, security product for all operating systems."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use ESET Security to safeguard my Apple iMac for all of my business and personal needs. It finds everything and is very simple to use. I have tried everything. ESET is the best.
  • Automatic Updating upon Startup or Wake
  • Finds all threats and keeps users informed
  • Ease of Use
It is well suited for automation of updating and detection of online threats. I cannot think of a scenario where it is less appropriate.
Read Robin L. Ore's full review
Jordan Leano profile photo
April 07, 2017

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "Manage ESET on Your Endpoints"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eset is being used across the whole organization. The challenge in my organization is the mixed PC and Mac environment. I needed a solution where I can manage the antivirus software on both machine types. I have had Eset for 3 years and it was the only solution that I found that offered this capability.
  • Constant signature database updates.
  • Central management of PC and Mac.
  • Simple User Interface.
  • Challenges when upgrading the on-premises central management system when Apple upgrades their OS.
Eset is great for the 1-man shop. Once the endpoints and management system are set up, the admin can easily see reports or incident alerts.
Read Jordan Leano's full review
Ruby Javaid profile photo
March 21, 2017

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "Set it and forget it! ESET offers a convenient and effective one stop security solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently I am using ESET on my work laptop. I am a small freelance business and just have the one computer to protect at the moment. I also purchased another license to install on my parents' computer as they have been very prone to viruses in the past.
  • Set it and forget it - I basically set up this software once to run automatic scans and I haven't had to bother with it much more than that.
  • Anti-theft feature - this feature allows you to locate your computer no matter where it is if it gets stolen. Thankfully haven't had to try this feature out, and I hope that I never have to, but it's pretty comforting to know that I have it.
  • Parental control - I don't use this, but you can basically set up different profiles for children when they browse the web to block certain sites
  • Secure browser for banking and financial websites - ESET launches its own browser when you go to any financial or banking websites. As I understand it, they encrypt everything over this secure browser
  • Chock full of other features like personal firewall, email protection, webcam protection, etc
  • Automatic prompting when you connect an external drive to scan it.
  • So far I have found ESET to be very easy to use and I haven't come across any negatives. Everything from setting up automatic scans to enabling the anti-theft feature through their website has been super smooth
  • You really can set it and forget it. And if you don't want to just rely on automatic scans and want to run your own every once in a while or scan an external drive you can do that as well.
For someone who doesn't know much about antivirus protection, this is a fantastic piece of software. You don't have to be technologically savvy either. The setup is quick and easy and you get prompts on what to do the whole way. It runs in the background without interrupting your work.

If you are looking for something complicated and advanced on how to tweak your own firewall, because you just feel like it, well you can tweak those settings too. There's tons of options pretty much for every setting. However, it's not necessary at all to touch any of that because it works just as well with the settings out of the box.
Read Ruby Javaid's full review
No photo available
March 27, 2017

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "Solid Email Server Protection"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Eset for Exchange as an additional layer of protection on our mail server.
  • Good protection with minimal performance impact
  • Meshes well with our external spam filter
  • Easy to use, easy to implement
  • The UI is generally good, but could stand to have some refinements
  • Upgrading the software to a newer version wipes out all settings, make sure you have your settings backed up
If you are hosting your own exchange server, it does a great job of protecting the server and filtering spam. In my view it's an essential layer of protection for my mail server. It also supports clustered instances and ESET remote administrator.

There are a few UI flaws that I would like to see corrected, namely releasing and whitelisting emails is a bit kludgy.
Read this authenticated review
Blake Clemens profile photo
August 30, 2016

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET - The Only AntiVirus for Me!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our antivirus protection. We also use it on all of our client's machines. We found it to be a far superior solution when compared to other antivirus programs.
  • It detects and blocks viruses better then any other program out there.
  • Installation and setup is very easy.
  • Because we use it at the enterprise level we are able to see all our managed machines in the ESET Command Console. This makes managing 1000+ machines much easier.
  • I would like to see a better antivirus solution for smart phones.
Anytime I work on a PC/Laptop/Mac whether it is for work or personal [reasons] I remove what ever antivirus is on the device and install ESET. I can rely on how well the software will perform. In my opinion that is not something you want to take for granted when talking about an antivirus. Unlike other antivirus [products], ESET is a non-intrusive program. It doesn't constantly interfere with what you are trying to do. It runs quietly in the background.
Read Blake Clemens's full review
Robert Henderson profile photo
April 26, 2016

ESET Endpoint Security Review: "ESET is Great!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Eset Smart Security being used as our firm's anti-virus software.
  • It has been exceptional at rooting out potential threats and cleaning them.
  • It is very easy to update and maintain
  • The start-up scan can slow down the boot process.
  • The software itself slows down our laptops, but this is fairly standard for all anti-virus software.
It has done very well across all of our devices, and in fact I use it for our personal computers at home.
Read Robert Henderson's full review

About ESET Endpoint Security

The ESET Endpoint Security product line, from Slovakian company ESET, combines antivirus and antispyware with anti-phishing, support for virtualization, as well as remote management and antispam and other features for businesses, as well relatively simple deployment for small offices.
Categories:  Antivirus

ESET Endpoint Security Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No