TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/wn/h4/9A5JJO9SARNA.JPEGCarbonite EVault Backup and Disaster Recovery made easyWe currently use Carbonite Evault as our backup and disaster recovery system. It is being used as an organization-wide system. It addresses the need to have quick restores for those files that no one knows how they disappeared, while also addressing the need to have your data stored elsewhere in the event of an emergency.,Carbonite Evault allows for easy management of backups. Once the system is integrated there is minimal hands on time. The system is smart enough to email you if there is an issue to give you the opportunity to fix it before it becomes a larger issue. Carbonite Evault does restores very well also. Our favorite restores are the BMR (Bare Metal Restores). This type of back up allows you to restore the entire server configuration to a brand new box. Carbonite Evault does a good job of allowing you to schedule backups when it is convenient to you with little impact on your bandwith.,There is room for improvement on the notification of policy changes or the inability to support older hardware. We were left with several mission critical servers that no [longer] backed up without notice. The issue was resolved once we contacted support. Another got you is the fact that if you need to do a granular restore for SQL or Exchange you need a special license and a special software installed on the server. I would love to see Carbonite Evault provide a user conference with training. That way the newer users could come up to speed and the current users can become more comfortable modifying or resolving issues on their own.,10,While EVault can become expensive if you have a lot of data to store, but you have to keep in mind that it does not cost you anything more to restore your data in the event of an emergency. Some systems give you a great upfront cost, until you actually need to retrieve your data.,EVault protects every type of system. Whether it is physical, legacy, new or virtual systems. It allows us to backup and protect our servers all in one location. The management dashboard gives us a great look into our environment and allows us to determine if we are in fact keeping too much data and make moves to adjust that and save money on the quantity of data backed up.,Amazon GlacierCarbonite EVault will be the last backup you needWe use Carbonite EVault for our backup solution for our entire business as well as our cloud hosting clients.,The bare metal restore is the best I have seen from a product in a long time. The backups are at the block level, after the initial seeding of backups the backups are quick because of the block level.,We have not found anything wrong with EVault at this time. Support and the product have worked great for us and our clients.,10,Nothing has really impacted us while using Carbonite Evault.,We are entirely a VMWare environment and it has worked great for us. Because it does the block level backups we are not worried about backups going into the business hours.,Symantec Backup ExecSmall Company Flexible SolutionWe use it for our whole organization backing up just under 100GB of file, system state and database types data. Carbonite is installed on two older Microsoft based servers which serve domain and file system roles as well as a SQL Server. It is our industry standard to have disaster recovery methods in place which include file level to complete system recovery. We backup month end snapshots up to 10 years as well as a rolling 30 days.,Their web portal is easy to use to monitor server, check logs, restore or run an ad-hoc backup job. Minimal problems, but when there is a problem, customer support is friendly and flexible in finding a solution. Contacting through their customer portal is convenient. Competitive pricing for level of service provided.,It'd be nice if the customer portal and the Evault portal were integrated a little more smoothly. An alert system when backups are not working, to email or even to Evault support would had been a nice feature. This was our fault for not monitoring more closely, but information was lost when our storage vault was moved and the IP address had to be updated. Backups were failing for about a month and only the portal logs were recording the failure.,9,For a small firm, it has outsourced an important element to support our business continuity. Email archiving was something we couldn't keep up with an EVault type of solution. We have more control of our file storage size than email, so we felt we were paying too much to archive spam and solicitations than important business communication. We went to a Google solution which was extremely cost effective and with more features.,The failure of most systems is a very low percentage, so a solution like EVault is more an insurance purchase than a day-to-day usage service. The peace of mind knowing that you'd be minimally impacted in a "beyond your control" scenario is a cost that should be weighed for each client. We've had to restore a server once from disk failure in 15 years, but everything was restored smoothly from EVault, so that peace of mind going forward is important for company stability and confidence.,AWS, Azure, Overland, Iron Mountain, Corovan, Corodata, Google Cloud Storage, Dropbox, OneDrive and Google DriveCarbonite EVault - a good productWe use Evault to backup our critical computer systems by taking nightly, weekly and monthly backups which are stored on disk, as well as replicating those same backups to an offsite datacenter for disaster recovery if needed.,Managing EVault backups with the director console as well as the software central console is pretty easy. Selecting servers to backup, editing the selections for each server and reviewing the detailed logs should any errors pop up is pretty straight forward. Customer support via phone to EVault is pretty fast. Since the transition to Carbonite, wait time for support has dropped to a point where there is seldom any wait time. Learning of a problem is typically done with email alerts, which I find very helpful. I don't have to look at logs every day searching for errors or failures. The emails notify me. EVault has a process for restoring backed up servers to a different location than the original backup. This is really helpful in a DR situation where the original location may not be accessible.,The granular restore tool for exchange, which is needed to restore a specific email rather than an entire mailbox, is a bit combersome. I wish the tool was incorporated into the 'normal' restore features. The inline replication process is very sensitive to available bandwidth. And if bandwidth between source and replication site becomes overused, inline replication fails and 'regular' replication takes its place. I wish inline replication was a bit less 'touchy' and would have a built in 'pause' to allow for the clearing of bandwidth before it fails over to 'regular' replication.,8,With the reliable backups, replication to our off site data center and replication of key, critical servers to the EVault cloud, we have been able to maintain a viable business presence in all working conditions and disasters. The single area where we have had some issues that cause concern is the ability of the evault cloud restore team to fulfill it's contractual obligations to restore the machines replicated to the evault cloud in a manner that allows for connectivity to those machines in a timely manner. This issue has a definite affect on our ROI and our ability to be 'open for business' in a regional disaster.,We use EVault to protect our virtual servers. EVault backs these systems up in short order with snapshot technology, which allows us ample time in the non-business hours to perform other maintenance tasks such as installing updates and patches to our servers, which in most cases, requires a reboot of the server.,Happy Camper[It's] used to backup the whole organization's servers. It solves protecting data files and is part of the DR strategy.,It's easy to set up and backup. Like the speed of full backups once the initial backup is complete. It compresses and only backs up changes but makes it easy to restore as it links all the files together. Support is excellent - Easy to contact someone when I need help. DR: Previously had to do a restore of over a TB of data from the cloud. They quickly recovered the data onto units and shipped them overnight and it was fairly easy to restore the data and get an email system back up and functional.,Would like to see better integration with the ON-Prem appliance and the cloud so I can backup less critical things like bare metal systems on-prem and then put the critical files in the cloud and not have to separate it as much. It would be nice to have better aging of the data so older files could be put in slower/cheaper storage instead of just falling off a cliff once it's aged based on its retention.,9,Don't know as I'm a reseller but I've been able to restore/recover important files. ROI was excellent on getting email data back from backup. It did take a lot of time but that was due to how the CIO wanted it put back in pieces since new mail was turned on before the restore happended.,Email Disaster averted,
Windows, Linux, IBM iSeries and AIX, VMware, Hyper-V, HP-UX, Solaris
Carbonite EVault
32 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

Carbonite EVault Reviews

Carbonite EVault
32 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 32 vetted Carbonite EVault reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
May 26, 2017

Review: "Carbonite EVault Backup and Disaster Recovery made easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Carbonite Evault as our backup and disaster recovery system. It is being used as an organization-wide system. It addresses the need to have quick restores for those files that no one knows how they disappeared, while also addressing the need to have your data stored elsewhere in the event of an emergency.
  • Carbonite Evault allows for easy management of backups. Once the system is integrated there is minimal hands on time. The system is smart enough to email you if there is an issue to give you the opportunity to fix it before it becomes a larger issue.
  • Carbonite Evault does restores very well also. Our favorite restores are the BMR (Bare Metal Restores). This type of back up allows you to restore the entire server configuration to a brand new box.
  • Carbonite Evault does a good job of allowing you to schedule backups when it is convenient to you with little impact on your bandwith.
  • There is room for improvement on the notification of policy changes or the inability to support older hardware. We were left with several mission critical servers that no [longer] backed up without notice. The issue was resolved once we contacted support.
  • Another got you is the fact that if you need to do a granular restore for SQL or Exchange you need a special license and a special software installed on the server.
  • I would love to see Carbonite Evault provide a user conference with training. That way the newer users could come up to speed and the current users can become more comfortable modifying or resolving issues on their own.
Carbonite Evault is a very good backup and disaster recovery system. We have had no issues restoring when we have lost entire servers. You can also stay in compliance with your records policies and have the data deleted after specific time periods.
EVault protects every type of system. Whether it is physical, legacy, new or virtual systems. It allows us to backup and protect our servers all in one location. The management dashboard gives us a great look into our environment and allows us to determine if we are in fact keeping too much data and make moves to adjust that and save money on the quantity of data backed up.
Read Timika Hite's full review
May 24, 2017

Review: "Carbonite EVault will be the last backup you need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Carbonite EVault for our backup solution for our entire business as well as our cloud hosting clients.
  • The bare metal restore is the best I have seen from a product in a long time.
  • The backups are at the block level, after the initial seeding of backups the backups are quick because of the block level.
  • We have not found anything wrong with EVault at this time. Support and the product have worked great for us and our clients.
Carbonite EVault has worked well in the SMB environments that we manage.
We are entirely a VMWare environment and it has worked great for us. Because it does the block level backups we are not worried about backups going into the business hours.
Read Brent Goedel's full review
May 22, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "Small Company Flexible Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our whole organization backing up just under 100GB of file, system state and database types data. Carbonite is installed on two older Microsoft based servers which serve domain and file system roles as well as a SQL Server. It is our industry standard to have disaster recovery methods in place which include file level to complete system recovery. We backup month end snapshots up to 10 years as well as a rolling 30 days.
  • Their web portal is easy to use to monitor server, check logs, restore or run an ad-hoc backup job.
  • Minimal problems, but when there is a problem, customer support is friendly and flexible in finding a solution. Contacting through their customer portal is convenient.
  • Competitive pricing for level of service provided.
  • It'd be nice if the customer portal and the Evault portal were integrated a little more smoothly.
  • An alert system when backups are not working, to email or even to Evault support would had been a nice feature. This was our fault for not monitoring more closely, but information was lost when our storage vault was moved and the IP address had to be updated. Backups were failing for about a month and only the portal logs were recording the failure.
In a regulated industry where backup recovery is essential and required, Carbonite provides a nice outsourced solution, reducing stress and overhead of most in-house solutions.

Bandwidth could be an issue with larger data companies, so an internet based solution would need to be analyzed from the trade-offs of cost and functionality.
The failure of most systems is a very low percentage, so a solution like EVault is more an insurance purchase than a day-to-day usage service. The peace of mind knowing that you'd be minimally impacted in a "beyond your control" scenario is a cost that should be weighed for each client. We've had to restore a server once from disk failure in 15 years, but everything was restored smoothly from EVault, so that peace of mind going forward is important for company stability and confidence.
Read Eric Romaine's full review
May 19, 2017

User Review: "Carbonite EVault - a good product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Evault to backup our critical computer systems by taking nightly, weekly and monthly backups which are stored on disk, as well as replicating those same backups to an offsite datacenter for disaster recovery if needed.
  • Managing EVault backups with the director console as well as the software central console is pretty easy. Selecting servers to backup, editing the selections for each server and reviewing the detailed logs should any errors pop up is pretty straight forward.
  • Customer support via phone to EVault is pretty fast. Since the transition to Carbonite, wait time for support has dropped to a point where there is seldom any wait time.
  • Learning of a problem is typically done with email alerts, which I find very helpful. I don't have to look at logs every day searching for errors or failures. The emails notify me.
  • EVault has a process for restoring backed up servers to a different location than the original backup. This is really helpful in a DR situation where the original location may not be accessible.
  • The granular restore tool for exchange, which is needed to restore a specific email rather than an entire mailbox, is a bit combersome. I wish the tool was incorporated into the 'normal' restore features.
  • The inline replication process is very sensitive to available bandwidth. And if bandwidth between source and replication site becomes overused, inline replication fails and 'regular' replication takes its place. I wish inline replication was a bit less 'touchy' and would have a built in 'pause' to allow for the clearing of bandwidth before it fails over to 'regular' replication.
I've found EVault to be very scalable and reliable. Once a server is set up for backup via EVault, the process of accomplishing that backup is pretty automated and reliable.
We use EVault to protect our virtual servers. EVault backs these systems up in short order with snapshot technology, which allows us ample time in the non-business hours to perform other maintenance tasks such as installing updates and patches to our servers, which in most cases, requires a reboot of the server.
Read Russ Kruse's full review
May 17, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "Happy Camper"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
[It's] used to backup the whole organization's servers. It solves protecting data files and is part of the DR strategy.
  • It's easy to set up and backup.
  • Like the speed of full backups once the initial backup is complete. It compresses and only backs up changes but makes it easy to restore as it links all the files together.
  • Support is excellent - Easy to contact someone when I need help.
  • DR: Previously had to do a restore of over a TB of data from the cloud. They quickly recovered the data onto units and shipped them overnight and it was fairly easy to restore the data and get an email system back up and functional.
  • Would like to see better integration with the ON-Prem appliance and the cloud so I can backup less critical things like bare metal systems on-prem and then put the critical files in the cloud and not have to separate it as much.
  • It would be nice to have better aging of the data so older files could be put in slower/cheaper storage instead of just falling off a cliff once it's aged based on its retention.
Great for SMBs who have limited resources for backup but need a world class solution. Large companies are hesitant as they are not a big player and I've heard that their compression/deduplication is not as good as others. Some of the SMB on-prem units seemed cheap to me and not a world-class piece of hardware.
Read Kirk Phillips's full review
May 17, 2017

Carbonite EVault: "EVault Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use EVault organization-wide. to back up and store critical systems and data on local and off-site storage. It addresses quick backups as well as quick restore capabilities.
  • Backup of systems and applications (exchange, SQL)
  • Quick restore capability
  • Once the initial backup is completed, from then on it's differential backups only
  • Have the ability to easily copy schedules and configurations from one server to a new one
EVault is well suited for organizations with critical offisite backup strategy. In fac, EVault does not contain the encryption key, only the organization does, it a great security selling point.
We are using EVault to backup physical, virtual, exchange, SQL, and SharePoint databases. it is very easy and straightforward to restore the required system from a backup set.
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
May 17, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Stupid"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I] Have used EVault for 8+ years to backup multiple locations to local backup and central remote site for disaster recovery purposes. Setup has been simple and easy. Web Central Control has drastically reduced time and simplified reviewing backup completion. The entire product is logical and intuitive.
  • Product is very intuitive and logical. Do not need to spend a lot of time figuring out 15 different things to click on to complete a task.
  • Web Central Control removes the need to spend resources on tracking backups and if they were successful. One web page and 30 seconds will show a snapshot of the previous night.
  • The restore process is simple and has the ability to restore from one machine to another.
  • Only have one gripe and that is licensing. I have multiple locations and all use the same capacity license. When upgrading, need to call and have the license reset. No easy way to reset without call.
The product just woks. Hard to come up with specific scenarios other than need files backed up and restored.
Have not really impacted, use of the product is simple file backup and recovery for local and remote.
Read Jeff Lillian's full review
May 19, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "EVault's ease-of-use works for us"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EVault is being used for backing up our ERP system data, in addition to our tape backup process. It is our primary disaster recovery method, through our contract with Sungard. Backups are written to a local server at our site, then replicated to the EVault site. Most of the individual file restores that I need to do are done using the EVault backups, which saves me a lot of time loading/unloading backup tapes.
  • Able to back up production files while in use
  • Easy process for restoring individual files
  • Very reliable software - does not require much attention
  • Because of our contract with Sungard, we cannot contact EVault support directly when needed
  • Haven't had any success restoring spooled files

For a disaster recovery process of restoring your system at a remote site, EVault makes that process easy and way faster than my previous experiences with rebuilding a system on a different system.

Every time I am asked to restore a file from a backup, if a copy from the last week is acceptable, using EVault is by far the easiest and quickest way to restore a file.

Being able to rely on EVault backups for our disaster recovery plan means that we don't have to invest in more costly options, such as completely mirroring the system to a different system.
Read this authenticated review
May 19, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "EVault - A cloud backup solution that delivers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across a significant part of the business - offers a cloud backup solution for company servers and data. It offers a fast, efficient way of safeguarding data and also offers a disaster recovery process. It works well with virtualized server recovery and also file level security. Data is migrated and replicated from localized vaults in data centers to satellite vaults offering cloud storage.
  • Speedy backups - once one time full backup has completed then only differentials are backed up
  • Excellent telephone support - resolution ratio good
  • Virtualization server backup very good
  • Issue with backing up VMware 6.5 - waiting for patches
  • Reports could be improved - usage reporting is often confusing
  • EVault server agents can sometimes be difficult to install
  • Excellent for virtual server backup/restore
  • Speed of backups is good
  • Technical support - telephone support is very good
  • Can handle SAP SQL backups well
EVault handles virtual and physical systems well (the latter with the use of an agent). The virtual background has proved very good with EVault as it treats all virtualised servers the same irrespective of operating system. Virtual backups start with a snapshot which on the odd occasion when there is a genuine problem with backups and jobs fail can leave a lot of snapshots lying around.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "EVault for small/medium businesses"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
EVault is used for backups for our entire company. It backs up physical Windows, SQL databases, IBM i, and VMware virtual machines. We replicate the backups to our secondary datacenter. It allows us to consolidate one one backup platform and eliminate manual intervention of rotating tapes or other media.
  • Multi-platform backup.
  • Hardware agnostic.
  • Length of time for backups to complete because it never has to run a full backup after the first one.
  • Support is generally helpful.
  • Flexible replication topologies.
  • Backup management portal is difficult to manage for hardware/OS upgrades. Not all agents are supported in it either.
  • New product support - vSphere 6.5 is still not supported and doesn't work.
  • Scheduling backups are too time-consuming compared to other products.
  • Finding the log file from email alerts is almost impossible. Log file names on the Director are too generic and no identifier in the name.
  • VMware backups provide no way of centrally showing what VMs are backed up. You have to use the notes of the backup job and manually check each VM.
  • Overall product management is complex. Many different components that work together but there can be 3 or 4 places to check for problems.
  • Backup reporting is there but requires yet another component to be installed.
  • Deduplication only on a per job level.
EVault works well in small companies where the rate of change with servers and backups is low. Medium and large companies will probably be better off with a more proven platform that offers enterprise features like global deduplication and centralized management. The cost is relatively low and you don't have to buy proprietary hardware.
EVault allows us to backup all of our applications and operating systems with one product. This allows us to reduce the amount of training and documentation we have to provide which is good because the product can be very complex.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2017

Carbonite EVault Review: "Carbonite helps AS400 data security"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily do nightly backups for 50+ systems and support a DR site to back this up.
  • Backup software system is very solid
  • Automation of backup tasks is straightforward once you get to know the AS400 agent
  • Our ERA vault use of EVault Agent means we have no way to change director - makes it awkward to do housekeeping tasks. For example, if we create a backup job incorrectly we can't just delete it and use the same name. It takes days to get rid of a mistake.
  • Error codes in backup logs are hard to find or non-esistent - troubleshooting is hindered.
  • They have good tech support people but it is hard or impossible to have continuity of support once a ticket is opened - becomes awkward because each contact may be a different person and usually is. There is - by design I think - no way to reconnect directly to the same person.
Handles high volumes of data.
Easy to retrieve a specific file ... a green screen time machine
Easy to install except for setting up jobs.
Read this authenticated review
July 25, 2014

Carbonite EVault Review: "I trust my critical data to eVault."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use eVault in two ways. The first way is to back up all of our company's internal data to our off-site location. The second way is by reselling eVault products and solutions to our customers.
It addresses the business problems of Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery for us and most of our customers.
  • The end-user experience is as simple and robust as I have ever seen from a backup solution. The end-user dashboard, should you choose to allow them access, is intuitive and granular.
  • eVault has the best bandwidth management I have experienced. The endpoint target is available for all operating systems and is intelligent and efficient using very low overhead. It includes data de-dupe and encryption while using very little system resources. Combine these features with bandwidth throttling and you can backup a large amount of data over any size wire.
  • eVault's deployment options will fit any budget and size environment. You can deploy using your own hardware, even. They really focus on providing the right solution for each customer instead of making each customer fit into their pre-determined box.
  • The eVault process is so thorough, sometimes a simple deployment can take much longer than a customer expects.
  • Their solutions in the past have been targeted to mid-sized to enterprise sized budgets. They now have solutions to fit the small business, but don't market them well.
A key question is, "how much critical data needs to be backed up?". A follow-up question might be, "what impact would it have on your business and reputation if you were to lose this data or take more than a few days to recover?"
If a company's data is not critical or valuable to the success of their business, then this is not a good solution.
Read Shea Taylor's full review
August 04, 2014

Carbonite EVault Review: "eVault: A backup solution capable of supporting a large volume of Fortune 500 companies"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As an IT services provider SunGard setup and supported eVault for multiple customers. It was setup and supported by my group, Availability Service, during my last year with SunGard. The product allowed us to provide an on-site and off-site backup solution for our customers which covered the most important applications (SQL / Exchange) and system types (Windows / Linux).
  • Initial training, setup, and configuration are all very well designed and easy to pick up.
  • Support was very responsive and helpful in all situations.
  • The product was much easier to use compared to other common backup solutions that were in use.
  • I really have no complaints.
Out of about 15 consumer level backup solutions and 3 professional level backup solutions I have used eVault was my favorite so far. I am in the process of getting my current company to switch to eVault from open source programs they are currently using.
Read Christopher Smith's full review
July 10, 2014

Carbonite EVault Review: "Great recovery, not so great support"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eVault is a server/data backup solution and hosted DR provider. The IT department will typically manage this product, but the impact of the product affects the entire organization.
  • eVault has perfected recovering your environment in the cloud during a disaster or simulated disaster. The process is quick and keeps all burden off the local IT department when it comes to recovering the systems and bringing them online.
  • Quick recovery of data/servers some localized issues such as missing files and/or corrupt servers.
  • Allows for all digital backups - no more tapes and costly secure storage!
  • In my opinion, support is terrible. It takes days for them to get back to you and then weeks to resolve issues. Problem is these are usually critical issues that need attention right away.
  • The virtual agent to backup VMs is impossible to install and once it is, it tends to have issues that cause the backups to fail. I now reboot my agent every 2 weeks to avoid issues.
  • Reporting is not good. You are unable to pull simple reports when you backup to an ERA. I needed a report to show status of jobs during a time period and was unable to produce that simple report without having to go into each job and manually download the log file.
It would be important to discuss SLA expectations, what form of back-up you are interested in as they each have different challenges. This product is best suited for smaller IT departments that don't have the manpower or physical location to host and maintain a backup solution.
Read Lauren Fitzpatrick's full review
July 25, 2014

Carbonite EVault Review: "eVault Gets the Job Done"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize eVault as our primary Disaster Recovery software for the entire business. It handles long term data backup and retention (disk-to-disk) for 70 servers and individual databases. It covers MSSQL, Exchange, and file services.
  • D2D backups and restores are fairly intuitive.
  • Background tasks are reported well via e-mail reporting.
  • Scheduled data verification and deduplication is not prioritized properly in automated tasks. This requires constant manual intervention to prevent storage space from being completely consumed without warning.
  • Progress in backups and restores is not always accurately measured.
eVault appears well-suited for a small-to-medium sized business with a D2D backup plan. Overlapping too many backup jobs and tasks can be troublesome and therefore doesn't scale particularly well for a very large environment.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (6)
8.3
Live recovery (7)
8.2
Recovery verification (6)
7.9
Business application protection (7)
7.7
Multiple backup destinations (8)
8.5
Incremental backup identification (9)
8.6
Backup to the cloud (10)
8.5
Deduplication and file compression (11)
7.6
Snapshots (5)
7.6
Flexible deployment (9)
7.9
Management dashboard (9)
7.5
Platform support (10)
7.5
Retention options (11)
7.7
Encryption (11)
8.5

About Carbonite EVault

Carbonite EVault helps organizations protect their most valuable assets. End-to-end encryption keeps confidential data safe at every step, and flexible deployment options protect complex, multi-platform sites and distributed networks. The vendor’s value proposition is that EVault makes it very easy to deploy a comprehensive disaster recovery strategy for any environment—virtual, physical, cloud-based or a hybrid model.

Carbonite EVault Features

Has featureFlexible deployment options (cloud, hybrid, onsite)
Has featureImage backup with bare metal and granular restore
Has featureCentralized, web-based dashboard to monitor all backups, including remote sites and virtual environments
Has featureSeed your data with Data Transfer Service
Has featureSupport for over 200 OS versions, applications, and platforms
Has featureEnd-to-end encryption, including 256-bit private key encryption and TLS/SSL transport security
Has featureAward-winning technical support available 24/7

Carbonite EVault Screenshots

Carbonite EVault Integrations

Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft SharePoint, Oracle DB for Windows and Linux

Carbonite EVault Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Carbonite EVault Onsite Backup$0
Carbonite EVault Hybrid Backup$0
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Carbonite EVault Cloud Backup$0
Carbonite EVault Hybrid Backup$0

Carbonite EVault Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Carbonite EVault Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, IBM iSeries and AIX, VMware, Hyper-V, HP-UX, Solaris
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese