TrustRadius
eXo Platform is an open-source, social-collaboration software designed for enterprises. Some key features include: Enterprise Social Network, Enterprise Content Management and Social Collaboration.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Hd/z2/1903TKWCGMP9.pngDiscovering EXO PlatformWe're discovering this platform. Our goal was to replace all DMS and CMS systems, using only a collaborative platform with a complete set of functionalities. After few weeks, the feedback is quite good, it seems easy to use and personalize. Reviewers can see all comments in an easy way, resulting in less duplication and in a collaborative feel. Overall project management is made easier and easy to afford. The UI is quite easy to manage and is very intuitive.,Very good UI and Look and Feel Collaboration oriented Resource sharing between users is improved,It's not so simple to create sub-sites User management is quite tricky Overall configuration is not easy,8,Increased collaboration Easy versioning Easy sharing,,MS SharePoint, Google Drive, Dropbox for BusinessWhy eXo Platform Rocks!Within my organization, eXo Platform is utilized across the entire company. It addresses the issues of efficient collaboration and effective communication between employees, particularly in regards to working on and completing projects.,I personally love the user-friendly interface. Often you find software which is difficult to learn, and not utilized as often as it should be because of this. With eXo Platform, the interface is easy to understand, and is not particularly challenging to new users and non-tech savvy individuals. It allows you to get work done, without feeling like using the platform is part of the actual work. It feels more like a natural system you would use in your leisure time to connect with friends and family, rather than a social intranet designed to facilitate employee communication and help you meet project deadlines. The cloud platform allows users to easily share information and files, and collaborate on project work. Another benefit to this is it makes mobile collaboration possible.,There aren't really any areas I have discovered within eXo Platform that have been disappointing. I believe the company has done a wonderful job creating an intuitive, user-friendly product to assist organizations' overall communication and productivity.,10,eXo Platform has definitely increased productivity and employee efficiency, allowing employees to work together from multiple locations.Could eXo Platform be the new challenger for corporate intranets?Although still very new with the eXo Platform, it looks like it can effectively address a number of issues in managing corporate communication, collaboration and sunchronisation. The social features are definitely a plus in focusing and enhancing the internal human capital. The in-house and cloud options seem to offer a flexible adoption road map too.,The private social intranet is a great tool for concentrating internal human capital. Spaces are a good tool for internal working groups or project teams. Status and activity updates, document sharing and management tools are great for enhancing communication and collaboration among company and group members.,As the platform appears to be packed with features and functionality it may be a bit daunting at first to get used to it. The initial adoption in a corporate setting would involve a number of questions, such as integration with other applications, data migration and security and the optimum adoption road map in order to maximise the benefit from the platform.,8,eXo Platform appears to be very suitable for corporate settings for maximising and enhancing internal synergies when planned carefully.,,2eXo Platform does the job!!eXo Platform is being used to connect employees from across department and geographies and provide them a single platform for communication, information sharing, document management and team building. It's helping us with disconnected groups across the organization and lets us bring them together. It is pretty intuitive and easy to use. eXo is our own "Facebook" where people can come connect and have discussions.,Intuitive interface and ease of use and understanding. Flexible to customize with good frameworks which are easy to manage. All in one solution for collaboration and to help go email less where all communication, assets, conversations are possible through one platform.,Web Content management could be more flexible with additional portlets which can be used to create websites.,8,Employee collaboration has increased by 50%. The number of email exchanges have reduced. Content sharing is easy- starting from snippets on activity stream to document sharing.,Act-On,Alfresco,Oracle Fusion CRMGreat Software but hard to startI tried eXo Platform and it amazed me because of all the features and things you can do to better organize your company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand how to actually get started.,Incredible number of add-ons and features. Very good reliability.,Not fully translated, making some pages bilingual. Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.,8,Positive ROI,Atlassian Confluence,Atlassian JIRA
Windows, Linux, Mac
eXo Platform
17 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
TRScore

eXo Platform Reviews

eXo Platform
17 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 17 vetted eXo Platform reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Luigi Trevisant profile photo
August 23, 2017

User Review: "Discovering EXO Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're discovering this platform. Our goal was to replace all DMS and CMS systems, using only a collaborative platform with a complete set of functionalities. After few weeks, the feedback is quite good, it seems easy to use and personalize. Reviewers can see all comments in an easy way, resulting in less duplication and in a collaborative feel. Overall project management is made easier and easy to afford. The UI is quite easy to manage and is very intuitive.
  • Very good UI and Look and Feel
  • Collaboration oriented
  • Resource sharing between users is improved
  • It's not so simple to create sub-sites
  • User management is quite tricky
  • Overall configuration is not easy
In our scenario, we're using it for DMS, too. The DMS functionalities are suited only for small enterprises because when the number of resources increases it becomes harder to manage overall configuration. Anyway software is quite easy to use from an end-user point of view and it increases collaboration, especially when the team is already suited to use collaborative tools.
Read Luigi Trevisant's full review
Corinne Girr profile photo
May 06, 2015

User Review: "Why eXo Platform Rocks!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my organization, eXo Platform is utilized across the entire company. It addresses the issues of efficient collaboration and effective communication between employees, particularly in regards to working on and completing projects.
  • I personally love the user-friendly interface. Often you find software which is difficult to learn, and not utilized as often as it should be because of this. With eXo Platform, the interface is easy to understand, and is not particularly challenging to new users and non-tech savvy individuals.
  • It allows you to get work done, without feeling like using the platform is part of the actual work. It feels more like a natural system you would use in your leisure time to connect with friends and family, rather than a social intranet designed to facilitate employee communication and help you meet project deadlines.
  • The cloud platform allows users to easily share information and files, and collaborate on project work. Another benefit to this is it makes mobile collaboration possible.
  • There aren't really any areas I have discovered within eXo Platform that have been disappointing. I believe the company has done a wonderful job creating an intuitive, user-friendly product to assist organizations' overall communication and productivity.
For an organization which is particularly project-based, and values the accessibility provided by the cloud platform, eXo Platform offers an excellent solution to these needs while emphasizing social collaboration and project organization. It is especially well-suited for employees who work together remotely or from disjointed locations, allowing them access to collaborative work and tools for easy communication.
Read Corinne Girr's full review
Ayhan Şehrin profile photo
March 19, 2015

"Could eXo Platform be the new challenger for corporate intranets?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Although still very new with the eXo Platform, it looks like it can effectively address a number of issues in managing corporate communication, collaboration and sunchronisation. The social features are definitely a plus in focusing and enhancing the internal human capital. The in-house and cloud options seem to offer a flexible adoption road map too.
  • The private social intranet is a great tool for concentrating internal human capital.
  • Spaces are a good tool for internal working groups or project teams.
  • Status and activity updates, document sharing and management tools are great for enhancing communication and collaboration among company and group members.
  • As the platform appears to be packed with features and functionality it may be a bit daunting at first to get used to it.
  • The initial adoption in a corporate setting would involve a number of questions, such as integration with other applications, data migration and security and the optimum adoption road map in order to maximise the benefit from the platform.
Issues need to be addressed in a corporate setting where features/functions coincide with functionality of other applications (e.g. mail, calendar, document store etc.)
Read Ayhan Şehrin's full review
Abhijeet Jaswal profile photo
March 06, 2015

User Review: "eXo Platform does the job!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eXo Platform is being used to connect employees from across department and geographies and provide them a single platform for communication, information sharing, document management and team building. It's helping us with disconnected groups across the organization and lets us bring them together. It is pretty intuitive and easy to use. eXo is our own "Facebook" where people can come connect and have discussions.
  • Intuitive interface and ease of use and understanding.
  • Flexible to customize with good frameworks which are easy to manage.
  • All in one solution for collaboration and to help go email less where all communication, assets, conversations are possible through one platform.
  • Web Content management could be more flexible with additional portlets which can be used to create websites.
Ask about security, DLP, LDAP integration, google drive integration and exchange sync.

Chat could have a standalone version.
Read Abhijeet Jaswal's full review
√ Andre Lucas profile photo
February 04, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "Great Software but hard to start"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I tried eXo Platform and it amazed me because of all the features and things you can do to better organize your company. In spite of that, I found it very hard to start using it. The amount of things on the page that demand attention made me open a few tabs just to catch up with everything. Also, I found it hard to understand how to actually get started.
  • Incredible number of add-ons and features.
  • Very good reliability.
  • Not fully translated, making some pages bilingual.
  • Hard to get started as it delivers a great deal of its features right away.
eXo Platform is best suited for medium to large sized companies.
Read √ Andre Lucas's full review
Aron Berman profile photo
February 03, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "Awesome Application that call Exo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eXo Platform is a great application. It includes collaboration features and is easy to install and configure. This application is very helpful for collaboration jobs in small companies until they become big companies. This application is also very helpful for an educational institution. This platform is easy to use and to install in any operating system. The view of this platform is very nice too, simple but elegant. Chatting and file sharing features are also available in this platform.
  • Chatting Feature is very helpful
  • Blog, wiki, etc in all one
  • Open Source
  • Multiple video conference
  • User Manual for new user is quite small
  • Some manual didn't work
Read Aron Berman's full review
Somnath Mane profile photo
February 02, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "eXo is a really good platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collaboration at its best. There is a right app for each purpose - wiki for documentation, forums for support and a calendar to manage planning. You get notified cleanly on an activity stream or by email if you prefer. Now with the addition of chat and video calls, instant communication is enabled for even more fluidity in the collaboration.
  • I like the UI and the flexibility of the eXo platform
  • Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum
  • You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;
  • Server is too slow during start up.
eXo Platform provides all basic features for developing a niche social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network.
Read Somnath Mane's full review
Russ Bryan profile photo
January 30, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "Fantastic product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using eXo as an intranet portal - the first page that appears when an employee opens their web browser. It is being used across the entire organization; it was pushed down through policy. It addresses a problem we have with communications and will provide an additional place for announcements to be made.
  • Open source (Community Edition)
  • Document storage with revision history
  • Ease of installation/administration
  • Themes, or customization for the end user
  • Mobile app would be awesome!
  • It can be a bit slow at times.
If you're budget conscious, the community edition is free at the risk of not having phone support and relying on the community to help you resolve issues.
Read Russ Bryan's full review
Divyang Patel profile photo
January 20, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "eXo - I would say a Good Social Collaborative tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We are working for one of our clients who is developing social collaboration features with good UI and UX that eXo platform provides.Client also need more use of events and tasks for meetings . eXo platform provides its powerful calendar features to satisfy needs of client's requirements. eXo platform also provides powerful document and content management that satisfies the architecture of application.
  • Blog engine is also very useful as It is being widely used for sharing ideas in our application.
  • Chat application is loaded with fully functional features and high resources that are needed for chat.
  • Chat Application is awesome with video conferencing features.
  • Blog Extension is also good for writing blogs and sharing blogs with access and modify permission level.
  • Custom extension to modify or override portal related changes
  • Most of the configuration are XML based which is quite a good thing for initiators.
  • Ajax call timing is more when creating space from eXo portal. Sometimes some UI portion was getting messed up in older version of eXo portal.
  • Should have a good validations for e.g "There are no documents available in this folder" instead of blank when there are no documents available in document folder.

It is very well suited for social collaboration requirements. Also for Intranet based projects it is very well developed. Space is a good feature in eXo where we can invite the user and for sharing ideas via Space.


I would like to suggest a point for intranet of eXo. There should be signup option for new users and then Admin can make a call to approve them or not.

Read Divyang Patel's full review
Daniel Ferraz profile photo
January 19, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "The best so far"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use the platform across the whole organization because we like to have different spaces, with different people to solve different issues. We have sensitive information that cannot be shared with the whole company, and the platform solves that for us. Many files that we need to have a control of changes.
  • Privacy manager
  • Connecting different parts of the company
  • It's very easy to implement new features to it, according to use
  • Not so customizable skins
  • You have to read a bit to use it to full power
It is better for commercial use, where the company aims for a 10+ users in the platform. That way you can really use the space feature and have a great time using the product. Woudn't recommend for smaller companies, even if it works properly! :)
Read Daniel Ferraz's full review
Digambar Kadam profile photo
February 13, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "eXo eXo eXo"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization for: exchanging knowledge and documents, working collaboratively, task management and contact data. These can all be done socially and via mobile.

eXo is an enterprise social network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!
  • eXo platform is easy to use and easy to install.
  • eXo Platform is the first cloud-ready enterprise portal and user experience platform-as-a-service (UXPaaS) for building and deploying transactional websites.
  • eXo Platform allows customers to take advantage of the benefits of cloud deployments
  • The eXo Platform can not provide the more custom application for user, like DMS
  • Maybe some official brochure is needed too
There is a right app for each purpose - wiki for documentation and forums for support. I found eXo Platform is best suited for managing our websites and managing our documents.
Read Digambar Kadam's full review
Alfredo Silveira profile photo
January 22, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "eXo, a great social plataform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eXo Platform is a great social network. We use it in the entire organization and solve information problems.
  • Simple
  • Intuitive
  • Design
  • Sometimes performs slowly.
Read Alfredo Silveira's full review
Michal Kubacki profile photo
January 19, 2015

eXo Platform Review: "Great platform, highly recommended"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using it across all departments. We could customise it the way we wanted and connect it to our existing services.
  • Scalability
  • Ease of use
  • Affordability
  • Better UI
  • More modules
It is a great platform for the creative teams.
Read Michal Kubacki's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (1)
4.5
Gantt Charts (1)
5.5
Scheduling (1)
5.5
Workflow Automation (1)
5.5
Mobile Access (1)
5.5
Search (1)
6.4
Visual planning tools (1)
5.5
Versioning (1)
6.4
Document collaboration (1)
6.4
Access control (1)
5.5

About eXo Platform

eXo Platform is an open-source, social-collaboration software designed for enterprises. Some key features include: Enterprise Social Network, Enterprise Content Management and Social Collaboration.

eXo Platform Features

Has featureEnterprise Social Network
Has featureEnterprise Content Management
Has featureSocial Collaboration

eXo Platform Screenshots

eXo Platform Integrations

Exchange, Sharepoint, Box, Alfresco, Bonita Software

eXo Platform Competitors

Jive, Sharepoint, Liferay, Tibbr

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

eXo Platform Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email

eXo Platform Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Languages: 23