Expensify Reviews

241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 31, 2021
Liliya Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is perfect for a small team or a small business. It's affordable (I believe there is even a free version) and it is very easy to submit reports and to teach others how to submit reports. For a larger business, a one-stop shop for travel and expenses might be a better option. Larger companies might want more analytics as well, although Expensify does allow you to run reports.
Read Liliya Carlage's full review
May 03, 2021
Jonathan Whetstone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is great for the user. Connecting expenses from start to finish and then allowing employees to get reimbursed in a timely manner. I would recommend this to other companies because it is great for users and it very simple. Another reason I gave it a 9 is because the employees at our company do not have to do that much work.
Read Jonathan Whetstone's full review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is helpful in an organization where team members are traveling to places at the same time. Employees feel confident that it will be an easy process to submit any work related expenses.
It is smart enough and works well when there are many approvers and chains. With more improvements around scanning, I believe it can be a very convenient tool for companies to have.
Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is perfect for companies looking to simplify employee expense management & reimbursement process. It's very user-friendly, which saves time for the employees submitting expense reports & for the administrators who review, approve, and process reimbursement.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is a great, really easy to use expense report software that I have used for many years now. I think the ease of use is far superior to its main competitor Concur from both a user and admin standpoint. It is ideal for a company who wants to get away from paper receipts and reports because employees can simply snap a picture of a receipt and save it in the app so there is no need to hold onto receipts while traveling.
From an admin perspective, it is very easy to sync the system to Sage Intacct, easy to add and delete users and easy to set up approval flows that vary employee to employee.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have travel intensive function then exoensify works and if you don't have travel focus much then it would not add much value. In that case you can go for other OTC software products such as SAP, Oracle, Zoho Expense and others. The strength of expensify is their user experience and that works well when you have abundance travel datasets.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Unfortunately after using their service for four years, now I don't recommend them to other colleagues. Expensify might be good for very large companies with unlimited resources looking to use all the features that Expensify offers, but even then, their customer service has deteriorated greatly in the past two years.

We used Expensify to manage our team's expenses, and they kept increasing their fees and finally they locked us into an annual agreement and changed their pricing model again. They customer support doesn't answer any questions; they keep sending links to their documentation and support forms instead of answering questions.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In general, it works really well for expense tracking, categorization, and approval to allow employees to get reimbursed quickly while maintaining accurate accounting and coding. It's not super user-friendly though and there aren't a lot of in-app tips that are customizable to ensure end users are using the platform correctly.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
January 29, 2020
Katy Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I highly recommend this tool for medium to large companies who need to manage and track expenses, and/or distribute reimbursements. I don't know if it'd be necessary for a small startup, though I've used it while running my own LLC. I would say it is most advantageous for people who have a few layers of management who would be a part of the review process.
Read Katy Martin's full review
March 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is well suited for anything having to do with reimbursements. Anything along the lines of events, conferences, monthly stipends, anything your company says that you can submit a receipt and get a reimbursement for. It's easily tracked in the mobile app or online. You can see the log of what has been paid out in the past, as well as keep track of your finances.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is user-friendly while also offering critical advanced features like SmartScan. I've now used this across two companies and all my coworkers have been satisfied with it!
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

On our sales team, I'm not sure how we would operate or survive without having Expensify. I do not like the idea of having a corporate credit card so this is a perfect alternative. We're always making little charges on our personal cards and then plugging those into Expensify right away.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's an excellent, user-friendly system to manage the expenses process. In my experience, it's a quicker, easier tool than using a corporate-type system (eg. Workday) for the expense process. Unfortunately, when companies scale, they tend to adopt large scale corporate systems and Expensify hasn't figured out how to market and be used in those situations.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Jason Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a small business the free site is terrific. It offers a full expense reporting function for reps and includes everything that a comparable paid service would. It also offers commenting, where the manager can write comments on the expense report, and the ability to save and print reports.
Read Jason Carlage's full review
January 23, 2020
Scott Regan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is perfect for a business traveler who needs to track expenses by the client for either client payment or IRS reporting. With receipts captured and stored, it makes reporting very, very easy. The ability to integrate with Quickbooks is also a time-saver and reduces the need to double enter expenses in two different applications.
Read Scott Regan's full review
January 17, 2020
Andy Abramson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is well suited for enforcing travel policies and travel budget guidelines. The process for approval is easy. It's not well suited for SOHO businesses where rules are less restrictive and the need for flexibility is there. In the collection of expenses Expensify excels, but in preparing reports that cross personal reimbursement, business non-billable, and client billable it requires more time and work than it needs to.
Read Andy Abramson's full review
January 17, 2020
Nick Walters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When I add the tip to a restaurant bill I can use the picture function to "back up" what I submit on an expense report. I hate keeping all those receipts, but I really hate having to divert my attention from a client to add my tip to my copy. It sounds trivial, but if we are having a good conversation I don't want to stop what we are talking about (usually me selling some idea!) and have to re-add my tip to my receipt.
Read Nick Walters's full review
January 15, 2020
Kelsie Hamilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is pretty much well suited for any company where staff members need to get reimbursed. However, there is a cost associated with the number of users. So, if your organization doesn't really need the reimbursement feature or it happens infrequently, this isn't really the best fit. I'm using Expensify to comp my expenses every other month or so, so it's been extremely helpful for myself and for our financial team.
Read Kelsie Hamilton's full review
January 14, 2020
Ryan Ninness | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is a great product. It performs great, is easy to use, and we get very few complaints from both users and accounting folks who manage the reports on the backside. It has some great interfaces, good drag and drop for PC users, and an app for those that live on their phones.
Read Ryan Ninness's full review
January 14, 2020
Ellie Kerley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As a fully remote team, Expensify is a lifesaver. None of our sales team works in the same office and our CFO also manages a territory. Expensify cuts down on his admin time processing expense reports and makes our reimbursement time much quicker. We were referred to Expensify by a much larger corporation and while it takes them longer to process reports because of their size, it still works well for them too. Expensify works for any size company and saves so much time for your admins!
Read Ellie Kerley's full review
January 14, 2020
Taylor Martino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Expensify is a great tool for employees to use to accurately record their expenses and to know when they will be reimbursed. It is easy to keep track of your total purchases and projected return. I also like the constant updates I get as my expense report gets approved. I think it is less appropriate for constant/recurring expenses, such as bills. I think it's better for trips/clinics /one time purchases with different amounts to be approved instead of recurring spending.
Read Taylor Martino's full review
January 10, 2020
Dustin McBride | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Having traveled for business and created expense reports for over 15 years, I can say that Expensify was great for field sales reps. The ability to link it to your credit card and auto-magically see the reports create themselves was incredible. For me, it was all about spending as little time as possible with maximum accuracy.
Read Dustin McBride's full review
January 09, 2020
Chase Palmer, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Growing companies (around 300 employees) who end up processing reimbursements several times per day would probably start seeing the ROI of Expensify. Smaller companies or companies that don't deal with a lot of employee reimbursements most likely won't benefit from Expensify. Not sure how well a large enterprise company would benefit from Expensify.
Read Chase Palmer, CISSP's full review
January 09, 2020
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I only have good things to say about Expensify. It's really simple and intuitive to use. I am no the most tech-savvy individual, so if a user-interface is cumbersome or not intuitive I will struggle with it. But with Expensify, I was able to start using the product with little to no training. Expensify is perfect for our company's needs where we have lots of people buying lots of items & travel expenses that need to be tracked against different contracts and categorized against different parts of client budgets. When you classify an expense, there is a lot of customization available to help give finely granular classifications.
Read Tegan Jenner's full review

What is Expensify?

Expensify enables users to manage expenses, pay bills, send invoices, and book travel. Supports unlimited receipt scanning and mileage tracking to next-day reimbursement, to automate preaccounting systems.

- Unlimited receipt scanning: Snap a photo of any receipt and Expensify 's SmartScan technology captures the details. Also, the Expensify Card can be used to replace receipts.

- Expense management: Expensify codes and submits business expenses for approval, next-day reimbursement, and automatic sync with accounting software.

- The Expensify Card: Swipe the Expensify card to automate expenses.

- Bill payment: Expensify captures details from vendor bills for automatic approval and payment.

- Invoicing: Create and send invoices, while collecting payments and syncing automatically to accounting software.

- Travel booking: Concierge books flights, hotels, and cars for the user in a chat.

Categories:  Invoicing,  Expense Management

Expensify Video

Watch What is Expensify?

Expensify Integrations

Expensify Competitors

Expensify Pricing

Starting Price: $5

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Track4.99Per Month (Free for 25 SmartScans per Month)
Submit4.99Per Month (Free for 25 SmartScans per Month)
Collect5.00Per User Per Month with Expensify Card with Pay-Per-Use Price of $10 per User per Month
Control5.00Per User Per Month with Expensify Card with Pay-Per-Use Price of $18 per User per Month

Expensify Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Expensify Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Expensify cost?

Expensify starts at $5.

What is Expensify's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Expensify?

The most common users of Expensify are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.