Expensify Reviews

241 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 87)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 31, 2021
Liliya Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify allows our team to quickly enter expenses on their website. It solves the problem of having to submit expense reports manually or having to save receipts. You can save receipts on your cell phone and send them to Expensify or upload them when you are submitting reports. It's easy to use so it requires little training or setup time.
Read Liliya Carlage's full review
May 03, 2021
Jonathan Whetstone | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is being used to record expenses across all our departments. It is solving the connection of expenses from employees to accountants. We have used this for over 2 years and it has really cut down on the amount of work that our team needs to do when worrying about expense reports.
Read Jonathan Whetstone's full review
May 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is used across all departments to manage employee expenses and reimbursements. It does the expense approval workflow as well as the storing and capturing receipts to ensure proper accounting. It makes it easier to sort and track expenses made on company credit cards. It is also used for other expenses that are not related to travel.

Read this authenticated review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Expensify for our entire company. We tracked all employee expenses using Expensify. It simplified our expense reporting process tremendously. It helped reduce administrative work.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is used by our organization for expense report management, integrated with our accounting ERP system, Intacct. It allows our mostly remote team to submit expense reports paperlessly and makes approval and reimbursement very easy.
Read this authenticated review
May 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is used across all over organization and it addresses the expense management and expense reporting problems. Since sales and product management along with presales teams have higher travel work load there are specific user experience focused changes has been done for these power users. Expensive allows great user experience by offering changes.
Read this authenticated review
January 04, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've used Expensify to manage our team's expenses for over four years. We mainly used it to track travel and events expenses. We like their service and depended on it for four years; however, this year we decided to end our service with them and find an alternative. This decision was primarily related to the increase in their fees and the degradation of their customer support.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used across the whole organization to manage employee expenses and reimbursements. It solves the problem of expense approval workflow as well as the need for receipts to ensure proper accounting and bookkeeping. It also makes it easier to categorize and track expenses made on company credit cards.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
January 29, 2020
Katy Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Expensify to track, manage, and approve expenses. I personally use it on my mobile app and on my computer. It's easy to use. It helps everyone stay informed about expenses and cascades the approval process through the necessary managers. It makes it convenient to track expenses on the go, including work trips.
Read Katy Martin's full review
March 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The entire organization is using Expensify. We use it to log any reimbursements we need as well as things the company has decided to cover for us; for example, our phone bills are covered if you're in sales, and Expensify is where I log that information every month.
Read this authenticated review
February 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses Expensify to manage most employee expenses that we submit manually. Exceptions include ordering from shared business accounts with the business credit card already loaded into it, like Amazon Business. Otherwise, the fully-remote company I work for provides a set budget for specific activities and office supplies, then employees submit all these expenses to Expensify for approval.
Read this authenticated review
January 31, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Expensify for random business expenses such as Ubering to a meeting, ordering food for the team or client, or pretty much any time we need to use our personal credit cards for something that is related to our job.
Read this authenticated review
January 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Expensify across the entire company for reimbursements including documentation, approval, and payment. Currently, all reimbursements are approved by one person on the operations team. In the future, we will move to a department-based approval system. It keeps all documentation in one place and expedites the reimbursement process vs. one person manually processing the payments through our banking system.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2019
Jason Carlage | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify allows our team to upload expenses and get reimbursed. It's a website, it doesn't require any downloads and is a quick way to create and submit expense reports. There is also a free version which is all our small company has needed for the past three years.
Read Jason Carlage's full review
January 23, 2020
Scott Regan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a consultant, I travel a great deal. I used to manage receipts the old-school way: stuff them into my pockets and hope I don't lose any. With Expensify, receipts get uploaded on the fly, get tagged to a specific expense report, and are ready to be submitted with my invoices when I need them.
Read Scott Regan's full review
January 17, 2020
Andy Abramson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is being used company-wide and is used to streamline expense reporting and report submission both for internal costs that staff incurs for non-billable charges and for expenses that are incurred by staff that are billable back to clients. By using Expensify we can properly attribute the expenses to clients (billable) or to internal expenses client projects (non-billable).
Read Andy Abramson's full review
January 17, 2020
Nick Walters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are all using it because it's so easy to use. The mobile-friendliness is the key component. Most of us who do sales HATE keeping up with expenses, and the ability to use the scanning/picture functions are two of the things we like best. If we are on a business lunch, we can take the full receipt and have it scanned and be done.
Read Nick Walters's full review
January 15, 2020
Kelsie Hamilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company doesn't have company credit cards, so any expenses are paid by the employee's personal credit card (although many of us purchase a card we only use for work) and then are reimbursed by the company through Expensify. The whole organization uses it. However, as an organization where a few members travel internationally for work, those traveling members use it pretty consistently and for pretty significant amounts. Expensify addresses the problem of staff getting reimbursed in a quick and efficient way (and doesn't require saving a bunch of physical receipts), and our accountant is satisfied with the legal and financial side of it as well.
Read Kelsie Hamilton's full review
January 14, 2020
Ryan Ninness | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Expensify across our entire organization for expense management, expense reporting, and employee repayment. We also have an interface with American Express that brings in all charges to each individual's expense report for company card purchases. This helps out with monthly expense reports for every employee in our organization.
Read Ryan Ninness's full review
January 14, 2020
Ellie Kerley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our entire organization uses Expensify to streamline our expense reports. We are all remote across the west coast and before Expensify, all expense reports were done in excel and e-mailed to the admin. Receipts had to then be mailed or scanned and e-mailed. This makes expense reports so much cleaner and allows everyone to expense what they need as they go or after each trip instead of at the end of each month. Some of our guys would do 3 months at a time because it was such a pain to fill out their reports. Now, they are able to do it as they go. Saves so much time!
Read Ellie Kerley's full review
January 14, 2020
Taylor Martino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify is used for any business-related purchase that an individual makes and needs to be reimbursed for by the company. Sales use it the most, as we book our own travel to meet with customers, attend conferences, etc. and it is an easy way to record all of our expenses in an easy manner.
Read Taylor Martino's full review
January 10, 2020
Dustin McBride | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Expensify was used by my entire company, starting at the time we had 30 employees up until the time we were acquired.

When we had just over 100 employees, we need a platform that was easy to set up, and our employees would quickly adopt that. It was used across the entire org for mainly travels expense reports. It was also used for general expenses not related to travel.
Read Dustin McBride's full review
January 09, 2020
Chase Palmer, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Expensify to streamline the employee reimbursement process and to keep budgets in check. In the past, reimbursements would generally involve filling out paperwork and attaching physical receipts to those reports and then it would take weeks to get all the necessary managers to sign off on it. Expensify not only eliminated all paperwork, but it also gets approvals done quickly.
Read Chase Palmer, CISSP's full review
January 09, 2020
Tegan Jenner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Expensify for all of our internal expenses. We buy a lot of props with allotted client budgets to create our digital ad content. All of these items need to be tracked and allocated to separate client budgets. We also track all of our travel costs here for reimbursement.
Read Tegan Jenner's full review

What is Expensify?

Expensify enables users to manage expenses, pay bills, send invoices, and book travel. Supports unlimited receipt scanning and mileage tracking to next-day reimbursement, to automate preaccounting systems.

- Unlimited receipt scanning: Snap a photo of any receipt and Expensify 's SmartScan technology captures the details. Also, the Expensify Card can be used to replace receipts.

- Expense management: Expensify codes and submits business expenses for approval, next-day reimbursement, and automatic sync with accounting software.

- The Expensify Card: Swipe the Expensify card to automate expenses.

- Bill payment: Expensify captures details from vendor bills for automatic approval and payment.

- Invoicing: Create and send invoices, while collecting payments and syncing automatically to accounting software.

- Travel booking: Concierge books flights, hotels, and cars for the user in a chat.

Categories:  Invoicing,  Expense Management

Expensify Video

Watch What is Expensify?

Expensify Integrations

Expensify Competitors

Expensify Pricing

Starting Price: $5

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Track4.99Per Month (Free for 25 SmartScans per Month)
Submit4.99Per Month (Free for 25 SmartScans per Month)
Collect5.00Per User Per Month with Expensify Card with Pay-Per-Use Price of $10 per User per Month
Control5.00Per User Per Month with Expensify Card with Pay-Per-Use Price of $18 per User per Month

Expensify Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Expensify Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Expensify cost?

Expensify starts at $5.

What is Expensify's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Expensify?

The most common users of Expensify are from Mid-size Companies and the Computer Software industry.