Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Expensify

Expensify

Overview

What is Expensify?

Expensify automates the entire spend management process. Scan receipts, track mileage, submit and approve expenses, manage corporate cards, reimburse employees, pay bills, send invoices, and book travel. Built for individuals and companies of all sizes, anywhere in the world.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Great and essencial tool

9 out of 10
May 06, 2024
Is a very versatile and fast software.It is very intuitive and easy to use especially I think it is very useful that a whole expense …
Continue reading

Best expense app

10 out of 10
May 01, 2024
At our company, we utilize Expensify to streamline employee expense organization and submission. This encompasses business expenses such …
Continue reading

Do it use Expensify right now!!!!

10 out of 10
April 18, 2024
Love Expensify, this is a great tool inside my business work. Makes it easy to turn in my expenses and het things paid also i can explain …
Continue reading

Easy As Expensify

10 out of 10
March 31, 2024
As a sales person, I travel a good part of the year and meet with customers frequently. Expensify is used by my company and is extremely …
Continue reading

Save Yourself A Lot of Time!

10 out of 10
March 04, 2024
I have been using Expensify for several years. When I was in a corporate environment, it was mainly to track expenses while traveling and …
Continue reading

Highly Recommend!

10 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
I use Expensify to manage my expenses, primarily travel, client entertainment, subscriptions, etc. I've worked in sales / business …
Continue reading

Expensify Simplifies Expenses

10 out of 10
January 02, 2024
I use Expensify to submit my monthly expenses. Expensify simplifies the submission and management of my monthly expenses.
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Expensify is a versatile expense management software that solves the problem of tracking and managing employee corporate expenses. Users …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Employee Expense Reporting (12)
    7.8
    78%
  • Advanced OCR (10)
    6.3
    63%
  • Duplicate Bill Detection (10)
    6.1
    61%
  • Customizable Approval Policies (10)
    5.9
    59%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Collect

$5

Cloud
per month per user

Control

$9

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://use.expensify.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Expensify mobile app demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Expense Management

Expense management features

7.2
Avg 8.0

Payment Management

Features that allow for the management of payments across various forms of finance/accounting software.

6.8
Avg 8.1
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Expensify?

Expensify helps users to save time on expense management whether they are self-employed, starting a small business, scaling a startup, or managing a global enterprise company.

Here are just a handful of its capabilities:

  • Scan receipts - a photo can be snapped of any physical receipt and Expensify's SmartScan technology transcribes the details. Digital receipts can be forwarded to receipts@expensify.com or an integration can be used for automatic scanning.
  • Mileage tracking - log trips in miles or kilometers for tax purposes or for reimbursement.
  • Import cards - corporate cards can be synced with Expensify for full visibility into company spend, automatic receipt matching, and reconciliation.
  • Expensify Card - the Expensify company credit card offers up to 2% cash back, 50% off your Expensify bill, realtime alerts, spend limits, admin controls, and more.
  • Submit expenses - expense rules can be set to code everything automatically, and reports can be scheduled to submit on a custom cadence.
  • Approve reports - one or more layers of approval can be set up and Guided Review enables users to focus on risky or outlier expenses.
  • Employee reimbursement - teams can be paid in as little as one business day, across town or around the world.
  • Bill payment - capture details from vendor bills for automatic approval and payment.
  • Invoicing - create and send invoices, collect payments, and sync with accounting software.
  • Travel booking - book flights, hotels, and cars in a simple chat with Concierge.
  • Accounting sync - major accounting packages including QuickBooks, NetSuite, Sage, and Xero can be connected.

Expensify Features

Expense Management Features

  • Supported: Employee Expense Reporting
  • Supported: Corporate Card Reconciliation

Payment Management Features

  • Supported: Customizable Approval Policies
  • Supported: Financial Document Management
  • Supported: Payment Status Tracking
  • Supported: Payment Audit Trail
  • Supported: Duplicate Bill Detection
  • Supported: Advanced OCR
  • Supported: Electronic Funds Transfer
  • Supported: PCI Compliant Security Measures

Expensify Screenshots

Screenshot of the Expensify financial management app for expenses and corporate cards.Screenshot of The Expensify Card, which offers up to 2% cash back and 50% off the monthly Expensify bill. It includes realtime alerts, spend limits, and auto-reconciliation.

Expensify Video

Expensify mobile app demo

Expensify Competitors

Expensify Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

Expensify automates the entire spend management process. Scan receipts, track mileage, submit and approve expenses, manage corporate cards, reimburse employees, pay bills, send invoices, and book travel. Built for individuals and companies of all sizes, anywhere in the world.

Expensify starts at $0.

Microsoft Excel, SAP Concur, and Brex are common alternatives for Expensify.

Reviewers rate Payment Audit Trail highest, with a score of 8.

The most common users of Expensify are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(391)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Expensify is a versatile expense management software that solves the problem of tracking and managing employee corporate expenses. Users appreciate its ability to connect with corporate credit cards, simplifying the process of reporting transactions and providing crucial details and receipts. This feature is particularly useful for consultants who frequently travel, as it enables them to easily upload and tag receipts to expense reports. Expensify is widely used across organizations to record expenses across all departments, addressing the issue of expense approval workflow and eliminating the need for physical receipts. Additionally, the software streamlines the reimbursement process, eliminating paperwork and keeping budgets in check. Users commend Expensify's simplicity and efficiency, making it highly recommended for its seamless integration with travel software and other finance systems. It is commonly leveraged by sales teams for recording travel expenses and customer meetings, allowing for accurate job costing and client budgeting. The platform's interface is intuitive and user-friendly, with a sleek mobile app that receives high praise from users, especially frequent travelers.

Email Receipts: Users appreciate the ability to email receipts directly to Expensify as it matches up the email with the expense and makes capturing receipts with OCR awesome. This feature is highly praised by many reviewers for its convenience and effectiveness in keeping track of expenses.

Manual Creation of Expenses: The option to manually create expenses is seen as easy and straightforward by users. They can enter expenses, choose categories, input amounts, and submit them effortlessly. Many reviewers have found this feature user-friendly and efficient.

Automatic Expense Creation based on OCR: Users find the automatic creation of expenses based on optical character recognition OCR to be a time-saving feature. The system reads receipts and automatically fills out expense information, which has been appreciated by several reviewers for its efficiency and accuracy.

Cons:

  1. Quality Issues: Some users have experienced quality issues with the product, including defects and malfunctions. Several reviewers mentioned that the product did not meet their expectations in terms of durability and craftsmanship.
  2. Lack of Features: A common complaint among users is the absence of certain features in the product. Many customers have expressed disappointment over the lack of key functionalities that are commonly found in similar products on the market.
  3. Poor Customer Service: Several reviewers have reported negative experiences with customer service. Users have expressed frustration over long response times, unhelpful support staff, and difficulty in resolving issues or obtaining refunds.

These cons represent a subset of user opinions and should be considered as potential areas for improvement rather than definitive statements about the overall quality or performance of the product.

Users have made several recommendations for Expensify based on their experiences with the tool. The most common recommendations include using Expensify to manage expense reimbursement plans for teams of any size. Users find Expensify to be a useful tool in efficiently managing and streamlining the process of reimbursing expenses. They appreciate the features that help them easily track and submit expenses, as well as the ability to set up policies and guidelines for spending.

Another recommendation is to use Expensify to separate personal and business spending for tax purposes. Many users find this feature helpful in accurately reporting and tracking their finances for tax purposes. It simplifies the process of identifying and categorizing expenses, saving time and effort.

Additionally, users recommend Expensify for its functionality in keeping them updated on mileage reimbursement changes. They also appreciate being able to set spending policies within the tool, which gives them better control over budgeting and expense management.

In addition to these recommendations, some users suggest utilizing the Expensify credit card, which provides an almost automatic reimbursement process for approved expenses.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 43)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Scott Regan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Although I give Expensify a 10 for support, I have never needed to contact the support team. Whenever I have had an issue, I have solved it on my own through Expensify's extensive knowledgebase. The app is very simple to use, so support has never been required in the 10+ years I have used the software.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Luckily, I have never had to use Expensify support because it is straight forward and it mostly just works. If I did want to contact support the chat box in the bottom right gives you an error and says "Something's wrong: We're unable to load messenger", so luckily I don't need help!
Kelsie Hamilton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I don't tend to need support very often, which I guess is a good thing. The only thing that has been a bit frustrating is my US Bank credit card could never link to the Expensify account. That issue, though, was between Expensify and US Bank, so it was something they needed to work out. Ultimately, I stopped using that card entirely because it wasn't working.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is great because the product is solid to begin with. We rarely have to interact with support, and when we do it is quick and easy. Most of the issues can be resolved by poking around or manually doing something. Most of the time it is flawless, so even manual workarounds are limited.
January 14, 2020

Review for Expensify

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have not had to contact support for Expensify so I don't really have an answer to this question. But I have used the frequently asked questions to look for quick answers and that has been fairly easy to navigate and to find what I have been looking for when I need help.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have not needed to use Expensify support. We have had no problems with the app that I have been made aware of. Everything set up easily and we have not had any technical issues that needed addressing. Everything is clean and clear and easy to figure out for any level of technical ability.
Return to navigation