BIG-IP Reviews

42 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We did not evaluate other solutions, we purchased a whole new rack of equipment which upgraded our servers from physical to virtual and the F5 BIG-IPs were part of that upgrade
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2020
Paul Luchini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Microsoft Network Monitor (Discontinued)
Previously we were using Microsoft Network Load Balancing. In comparison to f5 BIG-IP, it was very limited and basic. It was also substantially less secure. One limitation was it only supported Windows Server, while BIG-IP supports any devices you want. Also, BIG-IP includes full firewall functionality, including NAT. Finally, BIG-IP also has many more options for configuring load balancing.
Read Paul Luchini's full review
May 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Despite some crashes, F5 BIG-IP is a good VPN client. It has an easy and intuitive interface and allows you to easily connect to your corporate network. It also integrates with two-factor authentication, which makes this great VPN client even more secure. Another great feature is the list of blocked IP addresses.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I can't recall the name of the previous software we used for remote intranet access, but it was much less reliable. F5 BIG-IP is consistent and easy to use--the authentication process happens quickly and reliably via my cell phone's facial recognition feature which is convenient and secure. No need to carry a key fob or enter a verification code. The previous software required email codes be sent and entered to verify access.
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

SSLVPN on F5 works much better than IPSec on ASA. From the user's side, no configuration is required - the user can just install the VPN client, input the URL, and the F5 client does the rest. For ASA, profile installation or configuration is required, so the user must go to help desk, which is a big drawback. I also found the SSLVPN to be more stable.
FortiClient installation/licensing is somewhat harder and more clunky, while configuration on the user's side is comparable to F5.
SonicWall SSLVPN is also very counterintuitive on Windows 10, with the user having to go to different places in the interface and Windows settings to start/stop their connection, while their IPSec VPN is better.
For load balancing, F5 stacks up well to NetScaler, with potentially more options using iRules.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2018
Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Kemp is getting more mature but F5 is still superior. While the Kemp UI is easier F5 allows for more option and customization. I still feel Kemp is strong due to their no-cost lab license.
Read Alan Matson, CCNA:S, MCP's full review
March 20, 2018
Lukasz Kokot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We decided to go with F5 BIG-IP over the competitors because F5 BIG-IP has the features we need at an acceptable price point for our organization. The ease of use, administration, set up, and quality of support was better than the competition. Also, the ability to link several F5 BIG-IP globally was better done by F5 than the competition.
Read Lukasz Kokot's full review
September 05, 2017
Bear Golightly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In the application delivery controller space, there are a lot of players - established players like F5, Barracuda and Citrix all the way to new kids on the block such as A10.

Any of these companies can sell you a load balancer / application firewall device. Any of these will probably work pretty well and will be easy to use, but they're like driving a Toyota Corolla.

When you're ready to go the next level and drive a Cadillac, get yourself an F5 Networks BIG-IP appliance.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
August 28, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Netscaler and F5 Big-IP are very similar. I liked the Netscaler GUI a little better, but they both basically serve the same purpose quite well. Both are more advanced than the cheap/free software-based alternatives out there. Both can be clustered to avoid having a single point of failure at the load balancer level. Both can be programmed with custom rules to handle traffic routing.
Read this authenticated review
August 23, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use a significant number of the virtual edition F5s, and a few physicals. We also have netscalers in a few places, but the netscalers we use are pretty much only used for Citrix Traffic where the F5s give us a ton of flexibility and can handle pretty much anything we throw at them.
Read this authenticated review

What is BIG-IP?

F5 BIG-IP software from Seattle-based F5 Networks is a load balancing and application protection solution suite available on cloud or via virtual editions, on a subscription or perpetual licensing basis. The BIG-IP suite of products supports a wide range of security and application performance needs. The suite includes BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) traffic management and optimization, BIG-IP DNS, BIG-IP Access Policy Manager (APM) identity and password protection, BIG-IP Application Acceleration Manager, BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) and BIG-IP Application Security Manager (ASM) web application firewall (WAF) and advanced DDoS protection.

BIG-IP Video

What is F5 BIG-IP?

BIG-IP Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is BIG-IP?

F5 BIG-IP software from Seattle-based F5 Networks is a load balancing and application protection solution suite available on cloud or via virtual editions, on a subscription or perpetual licensing basis. The BIG-IP suite of products supports a wide range of security and application performance needs. The suite includes BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) traffic management and optimization, BIG-IP DNS, BIG-IP Access Policy Manager (APM) identity and password protection, BIG-IP Application Acceleration Manager, BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) and BIG-IP Application Security Manager (ASM) web application firewall (WAF) and advanced DDoS protection.

What is BIG-IP's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.1.

Who uses BIG-IP?

The most common users of BIG-IP are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.