Figma Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
33 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-17 of 17)

Rob Harol | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2020

Figma for Product Design

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is primarily used at the request of the Product Design team with the goal of making it easier for that team to collaborate with client departments such as Marketing, Product, and Engineering. And while the design team in primarily responsible for the implementation of the software, all those associated teams are heavy users of the product.
  • Standardization of asset delivery (i.e. Product and Engineering always get the expected output).
  • Easy collaboration within the tool during the design sprint reduces delays.
  • Prototype mode allows for the design to come to life when reviewing comps.
  • Default settings can often make it quite difficult to find specific assets when part of a complete UIUX build.
  • Out of the box training is probably necessary but is not readily available or always intuitive.
  • View options could be improved to make it easier to the casual user to understand what they are looking at within the design.
  • Timestamp would be a nice-to-have feature to track iterations.
If your design team is not dedicated to a specific product team, Figma is a great solution for storing the work and understanding the design iterations that have occurred along the way. It far exceeds Dropbox in this capacity. The ability to quickly turn designs into a breathing prototype with relative ease is by far the best feature of Figma regardless of where in the design cycle your particular talents lie.
Read Rob Harol's full review
Andrea Hester | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Figma is a Design Team's Dream

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web development company uses Figma as our main design tool for collaborating and sharing designs across our team. It combines the intuitive functionality of other design programs like Sketch, InVision, and Photoshop with the powerful addition of cloud-based file storing and sharing. It also makes handoff from design to development a breeze.
  • Website Design Mockups
  • File Sharing and Collaboration
  • Interactive Prototyping
  • I honestly haven't come across anything about it yet that I don't like.
For designers familiar with Adobe applications, Sketch, and InVision, getting up to speed with Figma is a breeze. It's perfect for design teams of all sizes and solves the problem of file-sharing/collaboration and it makes the process of commenting and feedback much more efficient. It allows designers to create, store, share, and socialize designs all within one powerful app.
Read Andrea Hester's full review
Vinicius Andrade | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

Next level in prototyping

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is being used to develop the design system of our product right now. Our design team sketch components and layouts to present for the developers and to validate the prototype with users.
  • Sketch Design
  • Layout
  • Microinteractions
  • Transitions
It is perfectly suited to the design of high fidelity prototypes. It is less appropriated for other design demands that are not digital.
Read Vinicius Andrade's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2020

Great Design Tool for Collaboration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma was used in order to build both mocks and finalized designs for our website. It was primarily used by the design team, the product management team and engineers. Our designers built our entire design system, company brand book and mockup styles using Figma. It was extremely easy to set up team permissions and share these designs with Product Stakeholders, Engineers and the Management team in order to walk them through the user experience we visualized for new products prior to implementation and release.
  • Access permissions are easy to set up.
  • Shareability of designs across teams.
  • Simplicity of use.
  • It's quite a heavy application so make sure your device has the resources needed to support it if you're using it for long hours.
  • It would be great if people without a design background could have a simpler walkthrough on getting started and trying out designs on the application.
  • Zooming in and out of designs is always a frustrating experience when trying to present them during a meeting. Perhaps some attention to this feature could reduce friction and the need to use a touch screen to zoom.
It's great if you have an accomplished designer on your team who can pick up the basics easily and has used other design or mockup tools in the past. It can prove to have a steep learning curve for more novice design enthusiasts who would need to be able to invest more time and effort in getting more up to speed with the tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2020

Figma is the underdog that we've been waiting for...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is a tool that we are currently exploring to switch to. The first impressions were that it was super fast if it is an independent file. I believe it handles even heavy files better than Sketch does. If this passes our testing and suits our needs, we might switch the entire team soon to Figma. Given that it has version control, I believe it would eliminate a need for Abstract.
  • Online real-time collaboration
  • Fluid fast user interface
  • Familiar controls makes the switch from Sketch simple
  • The libraries experience is very confusing unlike Abstract's ability to integrate libraries in Sketch files
  • Lack of some plugins like Sketch Runner.
  • Friction to move and poor onboarding
Given how fast and fluid the interface feels and the file handling is, Figma is a clear choice for designers moving forward. The features are only growing by the day and it is on the way to be the best design tool for UI designers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Figma Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After several attempts to use Adobe Creative Cloud, we sought a more collaborative cloud-based solution. Figma is doing this perfectly. Leveraging the same functionalities as Adobe, we can now collaborate more effectively and review results real live with designers. By connecting pages together we can also achieve what XD would serve.
  • User interface.
  • Ease of use.
  • Simplicity.
  • File management.
  • Team management.
Figma will be more suited for smaller companies with a few designers. However, this could also be leveraged by enterprises seeking alternatives to their Adobe Creative Cloud products. Its pricing is simple, however, it can quickly go up with the number of users involved. Collaboration happens live and this is just what's needed for rapid developments.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Richardson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2019

Figma is ahead by a mile in the prototype tool race

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is being used as a prototype tool for digital design within our Marketing department. It helps to illustrate how a product will work before it is actually built to get buy-in from stakeholders. We use it to wireframe, do high fidelity mockups and create documentation for developers to use when creating the final product.
  • A building block for a design system.
  • Screen-based prototyping.
  • Collaboration with stakeholders.
  • UI is not very intuitive as a viewer who's not familiar with other similar software.
  • Structuring large projects with multiple moving parts is a pretty large overhead.
  • Version control is almost non-existent so keeping track of changes is very difficult.
Figma is a fantastic collaborative digital design tool. It allows you to create prototypes and design documentation to the same level as Sketch or other tools and has a real-time collaboration feature built on top of it. It came out with that feature in mind so it's built around that idea as opposed to finding a way to put it in later. This is a real advantage as inviting people to see your work is incredibly easy and they can then use your work to communicate what's happening rather than spending many hours in meetings showing everyone from the file you have on a hard drive that no one else can open.
Read Andrew Richardson's full review
Mitchell Clements | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Figma: The Ultimate Design Tool for Collaboration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is currently being tested and tried out by myself and another designer in my organization. Depending on how the trial goes, we hope to utilize it with our entire development team for implementing a design system and handing off designs and prototypes in our product development process. Figma has an emphasis on collaboration between designers and developers, which is an internal process we want to improve on.
  • Figma allows multiple designers to work on the same files, removing the need for file versioning.
  • Figma allows designers to share mockups with developers so that they can inspect the designs.
  • Figma is a great design tool, but it still has some quirks that are hard to adjust too.
  • Occasionally Figma can be very slow, mainly because it is a web tool.
Figma is an excellent tool for both individual designers and teams of designers. It is especially beneficial for designers who often work in the same files together, or designers that want to bring in developers on the design process. It's hard to think of a scenario where Figma would be less appropriate, considering it is so flexible.
Read Mitchell Clements's full review
Ostap Yaroshevych | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

A great design tool for everyone!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is easy as pie to pick up. There's almost zero learning curve; you can start designing without any design skills. Everyone can hop into the same file at the same time. As a marketer, I use a Figma to design some materials for our blog. Also, it´s easy to use triggers and actions to create the experience the designer wants to have. Our design team loves this tool and have said that it's a powerful tool for UI/UX and other design work.
  • Figma lets you control the time transition between screens.
  • It works on Windows or Mac, and in-browser. It has awesome features for quick access
  • Real-time collaboration.
  • Also, It has a very simple UI and UX interface, so you can easily find what you want
  • There are no Invision plugins.
Well, Figma is a very intuitive tool, making it a perfect match for a new team of designers or for marketers like me. It works really well with LP and small materials like logo, screenshots, preview images and more. Sometimes I have so many layers I don't know where to look, and the item is hidden on the screen and I have to manually check every group and layer for the same. So, in this case, it is hard to manage all things when you just want to check something in layers.
Read Ostap Yaroshevych's full review
Brittany Bartoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

A great all-in-one solution for teams looking for a solid design hub

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Figma across our organization, but it is mainly used by our team of designers. The design team inputs their designs into Figma, and we use that file to share with other internal teams (such as developers) and to present designs to external clients. The most important problem that it has solved (and one of the main reasons we're using it) is that we wanted a streamlined app that would allow us to hand off all design assets to our developers.
  • Figma is a great app for sharing designs amongst team resources. Our designers are able to use it to make edits to each other's work.
  • Figma is an adequate hub for housing design assets so that our developers have everything they need to build a site.
  • The sharing settings are very satisfactory, and I can give different permissions (like view, edit, etc.) to people based on their role in the project.
  • It's not extremely user-friendly. There is definitely a learning curve for Figma that may not exist for similar apps.
  • I think the user experience for a viewer should be different from that of an editor. Obviously, a viewer wouldn't have the ability to edit, but it'd be nice to be able to click on a page in the sidebar and be immediately taken to that design without having to use the prototype function.
  • The prototype function is not as user-friendly and streamlined as other prototype apps I've used.
It's a great way to easily share designs amongst team resources. Our team used to have to share PSDs via a dropbox folder, but now they have everything they need in one place and they can easily share it with whoever needs access. I think if a team is looking at the app for the prototype function there are better options, but it is nice that you have a prototype function if you need it in addition to the other features Figma offers.
Read Brittany Bartoli's full review
Gwen Pierre | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2019

Powerhouse of design with collaboration in mind

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma was implemented by our company so that our design team could collaborate with developers and the product team. The cloud based sharing platform was key to our decision to purchase this software. Originally, the product team did some light design work, which was simple since our design team setup shared elements. We no longer do design work here ourselves, but ourselves and developers use Figma to review and comment on work.
  • Figma is great for using a shared library of elements, creating iterations of projects, and global updates of icons and elements.
  • Sharing and commenting on work is easy and makes conversations about work easy to do in your own time.
  • Keyboard shortcuts are intuitive and it is easy to get the hang of quickly snapping objects and creating flows to wire up the prototype.
  • The iterations feature has some bugginess where you sometimes lose the wire-up flow in the new iteration and then have to go back and connect all the screens again.
  • I wish I could wire up triggers so that it is easier to show dropdown clicks and other user actions that then take the user to the next screen. Other programs I have used have some out of the box elements that act as drop-downs, etc to make this easier.
  • Figma is really meant for a team with a designer who creates and manages the library of elements. If you are looking for an out of the box solution, this is not for you.
Figma is great for teams that have a dedicated employee to manage the library of elements in Figma. It is also great for teams that need exact pixel measurements and colors with developer ready HTML. If your team only needs a rough mockup, look for something else like UXPin or Balsamiq.
Read Gwen Pierre's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2019

A breath of fresh air

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is used in our Marketing department that services the entire University. As we design collateral and assets for all University initiatives we can utilize Figma as a central means of designing and wireframing digital campaign assets and prototypes for landing pages and other projects. It also simplifies working with external vendors that develop and assist with our digital efforts.
  • Cloud software with auto-save and no lag
  • Components!
  • Always adding features and integrations
  • Slight learning curve if coming from an Adobe workflow
  • Training resources are not as plentiful as Sketch and XD (Figma site is constantly improving though)
  • Not as easy to round trip like you can in Adobe products
Figma's online collaboration is unmatched. If you are working with a large team or especially a remote one this is a game changer. Also, Figma works on just about any platform as a desktop app in addition to designing in the browser so it's not tied to Mac like Sketch.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Just the tool for UI and UX work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Figma as an intermediary step for design sign-offs before starting development work, as there was no formal UX team in-house. The aim of this was to introduce design consistency and provide a talking point between engineers and stakeholders so that any issues with UI and usability could be resolved before committing to the final build.
  • Symbols and shared assets.
  • Sharing and document management.
  • Vector design tools.
  • Easy exports.
  • Collaboration.
  • Limited range of design tools.
  • Desirable design system tools behind a paywall.
Figma is excellent for POC and rapid prototyping. The range of tools offered within the free tier is excellent and can really help accelerate design work, particularly for those lagging behind with old versions of Adobe software, or even free design software.
Figma is excellent for UI designs suited to web or other forms of applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Great for designers and developers. A little clunky for everyone else.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Figma between our design team and clients and then between our design team and development team once designs are approved. Figma allows our design team to provide our developers with 1 linked folder that contains all of the files that the developer needs in order to build out a new website. We also use it to create sitemaps, which allows us to keep everything in once place.
  • Keeps design files streamlined and organized into folders, files and tabs.
  • Allows for the creation or prototypes in the same folder as design files, keeping everything in once place. Prototypes are also great for presenting designs to our clients.
  • Eliminates the need for sending hefty PSDs in a dropbox folder, which is what we used to do prior to using Figma.
  • It's not extremely user-friendly. For example, I would like the ability to view 1 single design without it being a prototype. Currently, I have to zoom in on a file and scroll to the page I'd like to view.
  • Would like the ability to hide certain parts of a folder with someone so that certain people only have access to certain elements in the folder.
  • The commenting function is not very user-friendly.
If you want a simple way to share designs between designer and a team of developers, this is an amazing tool. It's nice to have the prototype function for sharing with clients, but in my opinion, there are other tools that are better for creating website prototypes. If you're looking at this specifically for the prototype feature, I'd try another tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

For prototyping use Figma!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Figma is used for all our prototypes, visual QAs, and competitive analysis and collaboration.
  • It is very easy to share within and outside the organization.
  • It is moderately user-friendly and stable.
  • It can host a lot of content.
  • It would be nice to be able to import designs easily from Adobe XD and as well as import components. These things might be possible but not made clear so I'd suggest more user guidance on how to do tasks that are recurring in any project.
Figma is well-suited for any collaborative design or ideation situation, whether it be work, remote co-working, or a hackathon.
Read this authenticated review
Mirzet Kadric | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2019

Great Alternative to Sketch : Collaborate, Real-time, Cross-platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Figma to collaborate with our colleagues and clients in real-time for designing our wireframes and prototypes. It runs 100% in your browser and lets you collaborate in real-time. We previously used Sketch and both tools have pretty much the same UI and design tools, but Figma allows us to collaborate in real-time in the tool!
  • Comments in your Figma projects.
  • Collaborate inside your Figma projects.
  • Really easy onboarding.
  • Easy to import .Sketch files
  • Speed and loading times might be an issue for larger files.
  • You need to log in each time and it can be problematic if you're traveling or are without internet.
  • Figma lacks advanced prototyping features, but it will surely come.
Making wireframes in Figma is really fast and you can make multiple prototypes and iterations. The Figma prototype can be shared directly with the client, without the need for any third party software such as In-vision. As a web agency that serves our clients, Figma allows our team to help clients visualize the designs we've created and collaborate with them in real-time to get faster feedback.
Read Mirzet Kadric's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2019

Real-Time Collaboration with Figma is a Gem (With Some Issues)

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Figma is being used pretty rarely at our organization. However, we’ve used it in the past when we’ve been searching for a less expensive, web-based solution that allows for real-time collaboration. We’ve run into some collaboration issues with other products that don’t enable real-time co-working, like Adobe XD, so we’re considering ways we might use Figma in our design efforts when we want to work with remote designers who aren’t necessarily full-time members of our organization (e.g. contractors).
  • No installation needed! Functioning fully within a web browser, Figma can save on computer storage. And as an editor/designer, all the free space I can have is very much valued.
  • Figma allows for real-time collaboration. This is the best part of this product, as it removes some of the issues of designing "in a vacuum" when your designers are often working remotely.
  • Figma allows for ease of sharing and facilitating design feedback loops. Instead of having to use a plugin to a tool like InVision, we can quickly receive feedback within Figma and know that our comments are safely stored in the same place as the original designs.
  • With larger files, Figma tends to run a little slowly. This was sometimes problematic because a lot of our designs do involve large files.
  • No built-in animation tools (you have to use the Principle integration). We’re starting to involve small animations in our designs, and Figma’s lack of this type of functionality made it difficult to have an in-app solution to creating prototypes with animations. We are reluctant to take on another tool for the sake of integration when other products have this feature built in.
  • Offline use is risky -- if the internet drops out, then one must keep the screen open until the internet reconnects. This may not be a big issue for people living in more urban places, but sometimes having the internet go out can be a regular occurrence for many designers on staff.
Figma is really great if you’re looking for a web-based design tool that enables real-time collaboration. That piece is the jewel of this product, as it’s not a functionality that’s available in many other similar products. Great for soliciting and integrating feedback quickly, and for storing conversations about designs in a single place for future reference. It’s also pretty easy to use if you’re familiar with the interface of Sketch. This is not a product well-suited for those who do not have a consistently reliable internet connection. For these folks, there’s a real risk of losing work if the connection goes out.
Read this authenticated review

About Figma

Figma, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their collaborative design and prototyping application to support digital product and UI development.
Categories:  Prototyping

Figma Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No