FileZilla Reviews

96 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 10, 2021
David Ferrier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is used by certain individuals who have a need to securely upload / download files via SFTP to authorized third party sites / vendors. The problem it solves for is the need to securely transfer files that contain personally identifiable information and other private data, versus using something like email or web form uploads.
  • Very easy to use
  • Secure
  • Great logging
  • Wish I could upgrade without the need for admin rights
  • Sometimes times out too quickly
  • Wish I could reveal the passwords I have saved
I use FileZilla to securely upload files that are not permitted to be sent via insecure methods like email or web forms. FileZilla is great to test the ability to "reach" the remote SFTP server and to verify my files arrived. Once I have tested that, then our internal IT group automates the uploads to these third parties, however I can always manually log into FIleZilla to verify the uploads.
Read David Ferrier's full review
June 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Filezilla across the whole organization. We've found it to be a very reliable and secure FTP/SFTP tool. Sometimes we use web-based FTP services but FileZilla is free, fast, secure, and has a great user-friendly interface. It has a very low learning curve as well. We have new users that learn to use it quickly, and we have experienced users of 20 years that use it with advanced features. Overall, I've never had any complaints or issues with FileZilla and I'd recommend it highly.
  • Very easy to use, low learning curve.
  • Lots of options when it comes to connection choices, ie FTP/SFTP/SSH/SSL, etc.
  • Smooth updates, never have to fear an update crashing the software.
  • None yet!
I'd recommend FileZilla all around, whether it's by a home end-user or an employee of a thousand-plus corporation, that's how versatile it is. Possibly the only scenario where it might cause a problem is if the user is not admin-level, therefore the user won't be able to install updates, but there might be workarounds in that scenario.
Read this authenticated review
July 30, 2020
Robert Worth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it to verify code within websites, move code from top layer data to the application for stripping away underlying code that is not used in our systems before we reinsert into new code layers. It also helps to address FTPS protocols when other software for website transfers do not work correctly, thus we can move our designs to sandbox servers to see how finished products behave with different browsers.
  • Strips away unwanted underlying code from products that produce documents using any Microsoft product that is not needed in our products.
  • The nice part is that it strips away hidden code such as ctrl and another digit that is not necessary or can be replaced with the correct coding to produce standard processes such as graphics using ANSI or another protocol as well as line feeds and header masks.
  • We are in the process of determining if their pro product will function in the way we want it to across networks rather than going to each workstation to make changes decreasing our productivity.
  • We are also evaluating whether their technical support is responsive.
  • Technical support
  • Customer service
  • Billing and shipping
It was recommended to us in 1997 to clean up coding from Microsoft documents so that we could prepare web pages without all that unnecessary spaghetti code that was not compatible with HTML products and definitely is not compatible with HTML5 products. We also needed to get rid of header and line codes that might work for a Microsoft document but does not work with HTML, CSS, and many other true to form website design programs. So far, many of the people we have trained as well as mentored were encouraged to acquire the product and they have been using it for everything by stripping out all those hidden codes especially from PDFs.
They don't respond to inquiries timely if at all. We've had several emails where there was no response. Our latest email was sent to them 10-days ago. In our world, 24 hours is too long. Ten days says they either don't have an answer or they simply do not care. It could also mean the company is in the process of going out of business thus morale is no one is there to answer the questions.
Read Robert Worth's full review
March 31, 2020
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileZilla for FTP and SFTP transactions, primarily for accessing web hosts like DreamHost. We find that FileZilla is the perfect app for quickly uploading or downloading files, or browsing through the filesystem of a remote host. FileZilla is perfect for when you need to make a quick edit of a webpage, thanks to its edit-in-place functionality, or when you need to sync, back-up, or otherwise work with the filesystem of a remote server.
  • Easy to use - Some FTP servers bury their functionality in window after window of settings. Not FileZilla. You can get up and running in a few seconds.
  • Drag and drop - FileZilla allows easy uploading and downloading via drag-and-drop.
  • Edit in place - FileZilla allows users to edit a text file (or HTML, etc) in place and automatically upload the changes upon save. This is a great feature for making quick edits to a website!
  • Website slow to download from - This is a minor gripe, and only a one time thing, but in writing this review I decided to install the latest version of FileZilla just to make sure I was running the latest and greatest. Turns out that it takes 10 minutes to download from their website, on a 50 Mbit dedicated business line.
  • Some features locked behind Pro - The free version of FileZilla lacks some features that would be nice to have without requiring the upgrade to Pro. However, FileZilla Pro is quite affordable and so if you need integration with Google Drive, OneDrive, DropBox, Box, or many others, then it's definitely worth it.
  • Auto-update could be improved - I had a version of FileZilla installed and it would not auto update. In fact, Mac OS X required me to remove it, saying that it was malware. I re-downloaded FileZilla again after this, but it was odd. At other times, it seems that FileZilla auto-updates just fine.
FileZilla is great when you need FTP or SFTP file transfer in a nice graphical user interface. It is especially nice on Mac OS X where many other competitors are either more expensive, not as user-friendly, or both. I always recommend FileZilla to people who need a simple FTP client for updating their webpages, as it is so easy to use and comes with everything you need to get up and running immediately with doing file transfers between local and remote storage.
I've never contacted FileZilla support directly, but they are so popular that there are countless tutorials online showing how to connect to any number of web servers, how to configure SSH/SFTP and so on. I feel that because of the popularity of FileZilla, the support from the general user community is sufficient.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
January 22, 2020
Justin McClelland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Filezilla daily to FTP into the web files utilized by my company websites. It is a simple app that allows me to access and administer many web files.
  • FileZilla is very simple and intuitive to use.
  • I like that you can have multiple connections open at once.
  • The updates could run automatically as an option, the way it is now I'm presented an update option quite frequently
  • HT access files could be downloaded easier instead of going through a whole renaming process beforehand.
I like FileZilla because it's straightforward and gets the job done quickly. I would like for it to show file sizes more accurately; however, If I want to know filesizes of a folder, I can't rely on FileZilla as it's not accurate.
A quick google search and I can find the answer to my FileZilla questions very quickly. FileZilla themselves may not always supply them; however, there is a vast amount of documentation online.
Read Justin McClelland's full review
January 21, 2020
Keisha Chavers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is being used by me to access our company and client FTP web files. It assists with file backups and is a helpful tool when migrating sites. It provides a quick interface for access files that need updating. It solves the problem of remembering client accounts and makes it quick to navigate between client files.
  • Creating multiple site sites and managing them is easy to navigate.
  • File management is easy to use. Creating backups and managing updates of the remote site is a breeze.
  • There could be a better interface for managing file and folder permissions.
  • Uploading and downloading many files can sometimes be slow. An estimated time of completion could help make the transition more enduring.
When setting up multiple sites quickly, many sites offer a FileZilla file that quickly and easily sets up FTP access to their site. If updates are needed to many site files, downloading those many files may take time as opposed to updating them directly on the server. Keeping the local files up to date is important especially working in a team environment.
I've always found the setup of FileZilla to be easy to use and setting up new sites has been quick. In working with FileZilla, I haven't had any issues. I rate it high because it's easy, quick, and free. I think anyone that is familiar with File Explorer can use FileZilla.
Read Keisha Chavers's full review
January 18, 2020
Robert Gephart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The internet today continues to simplify the user/designer experience and hide the nuts and bolts of moving and editing individual files. But when things start to go awry, you need to be able to interface directly with files located on servers in the cloud. That is where FileZilla becomes the must-have app on your computer. If you ever have to FTP into a server to copy, delete, transfer or edit files, this is the best program to use.
  • It is the best program for FTP transfers.
  • If you download it from the developer's page it is ad-free!
  • FTP can be finicky.
  • Filezilla has a lot of options that can seem very complicated.
If you have a website and need to access the files on your web server, this is the program for you. It is very easy to grab entire folders to create local copies that you can then work on while offline. FileZilla can be overkill for new users. It has tons of features that may be confusing, but I'm not aware of a better/simpler FTP client. FileZilla has been the industry standard for a long time.
The developer has always done a good job of keeping this product up to date with patches and adding functionality. The fact that it is ad-free is an added bonus.
Read Robert Gephart's full review
February 28, 2020
Edgar Romero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Filezilla is used in our organization to manage all the information in our server. Basically we manage all the files from our webpage--all the files from our different sites and systems that we use in the business operation.
  • Connection--it's pretty easy to set up
  • File transfer, deletion, creation, upload, and download are a breeze
  • Navigation throughout the files is pretty straightforward and simple
  • Editing of files on server
  • Speed in listing documents when you browse folders
  • Automatic update to newer versions
FileZilla is well suited for webserver administrators and any person that wants to manage files on a remote computer.
Haven't used support directly from FileZilla, but there is a lot of free support information in a simple google search.
Read Edgar Romero's full review
December 14, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is used by a very limited audience within our organization, typically used by the people who work on virtual machines and are working on multiple Operating Systems at once. I work on Linux and Windows simultaneously for my software development work and heavily use FileZilla on a daily basis. It solves problems of having a physical media to transfer your files, and allow virtual connections over our local network and allow the file sharing without any hassle.
  • Easy to connect: Connecting two Operating Systems via FileZilla is extremely easy. You just need to key in the IP of the system to which you wish to connect and by default, the port which is being used is port number 22 which makes a connection via Secure Shell. Once you key in the IP (make sure SSH is enabled on both of your machines), you open up a files/ folder hierarchy which displays the data on both the machines and you can drag and drop any data and the transfer will seamlessly happen over your local network.
  • Amazing GUI: The GUI being delivered by this platform is extremely simple to use. You need not have any mastery over the technical aspect to use this software. All you need is to know how to pull the IP address of a system and you shall be all ready to configure and start using this tool.
  • Server version for Linux: The FileZilla Server version is only available for Windows and not available for the Linux Operating System. As we have a huge Linux fan base and most of the servers being deployed on Linux across the world, there is a need for the server version of this software to be available on Linux.
  • Proper tutorials for all the available features: I sometimes feel that this tool offers so many advanced features, but most of them remain hidden behind some nested options. This happens because of a lack of official tutorials of this tool.
If you are a person who moves to-and-fro between multiple systems in one day because of your job responsibilities or any other matter of fact, this tool will help you transfer your data on any system in seconds. You will forget the traditional way of plugging in a pen drive and copying the data and then mounting the pen-drive on a different system and pulling the data. FileZilla simply connects your two systems seamlessly and allows you to transfer the files via its amazing and easy to use GUI.

In case you just have one system and do not work on multiple systems in your day to day activities, then this might not be a good tool for you. As you might not end up moving data much so this tool will be hardly used on your system.
I have not seen any official support for this tool and have ended up in problems for days at times. So I would like to rate it 7 out of 10.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use FileZilla to download and upload documents from our web servers in instances where files are not managed through Git. FileZilla has a simple and easy to use interface that makes accomplishing these tasks quick and painless. We can also store some of our SFTP information in the application so that we do not have to reconfigure each use.
  • Safe and secure SFTP connections.
  • Quickly transfer files.
  • Nothing I can think of!
FileZilla is an easy-to-recommend software product because it is so easy to use. Once an SFTP connection has been configured in the application it is easy for a non-technical user to repeatedly use the tool. The interface is basically a side by side file browser that you can drag files between your local computer and the webserver.
I have never needed to contact their support team or do any of my own self service support. The product works as advertised and is pretty self explanatory. If you are comfortable moving files between folders on your computer using the operating system's file manager then you could pick up using FileZilla easily.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileZilla to move large book files between freelance editors and developers and also use it when sending book files to our foreign coworkers who will translate the material into other languages. It is used by people within our organization. It addresses the problem of moving large files (over 25MB) electronically between needed individuals.
  • File distribution.
  • Ease of use into the direct folder you need to put it.
  • I wish that it would have an easier dashboard to highlight exactly where you are in the program.
It is well suited for places where you need to move large documents and files between entities. We use it for uploading files to our trading partners for Onix feeds into the trade. If the files are under 25MB, it's probably easier to simply use email, but if you are working with original design files, this works great.
I have not had to access any support issues with FileZilla. It has worked as I have expected it to work each time I have had to use the application. There have been no difficulties or reasons that I have had to contact any support for this product. I have been pleased each time.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is used only by a single user within our organization, exclusively to update our website with new files and content via FTP File Transfer connection to our cloud-based web server. It allows effortless file transfers using a simple interface that is easy to manage and use without a technical background.
  • File Transfer
  • Ease of Use
  • Simple Interface
  • Connection profiles can be difficult to setup
  • Large file transfers more prone to disconnect issues
  • Monetization of product could allow for more development of added features
FileZilla is very well suited for smaller file transfers and bulk processing of small file transfers in an environment where a free FTP client is appropriate for use and sufficient to meet business needs. It may be less appropriate for large file transfers or companies with a high file transfer volume.
I have never had to contact FileZilla for support, so I cannot comment on this matter.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileZilla to basically connect to our internal FTP, SFTP, and B2B sites. We can save the state of the connections and do not have to enter passwords again and again. We can also open multiple connections to different systems without any issues. It is also similar to Total commander.
  • It connects to FTP servers.
  • It connects well to SFTP hosts.
  • The free version does not allow connections to cloud-based storage.
FileZilla is well suited for all our needs to access FTP/SFTP based remote hosts where we access and place files for B2B and other kinds of interactions. We write integrations between these systems, and FileZilla makes it easy to retrieve the files in these locations. It is less appropriate for cloud-based storage systems in its free version.
I mainly use the free version, and it is as stable as I need it to be, so I have no complaints.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2019
Chris Oros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is being used by our Customer Experience and IT departments. Using FileZilla helps our company address secure FTP exchanges. Specifically, FileZilla helps us retrieve encrypted or non-encrypted files from our third-party vendors. Being able to directly connect to external servers and retrieve files, with or without keys, as well as drop files on our own servers, is ideal for sending large files or smaller files that need encrypted.
  • FileZilla provides an easy-to-understand application for non-IT users, such as our Customer Experience department.
  • FileZilla allows various departments to exchange files- encrypted and non-encrypted- in a quick and easy process
  • Moving files between internal servers are very easy with FileZilla, particularly between Linux and Windows servers.
  • FileZilla being free is very attractive to any organization, especially if the budget does not allow for many licenses of a product.
  • Easy compatibility with PuTTy allows any user to use a topical application to view Unix-oriented scripts and navigate directories.
  • The editing and viewing feature in FileZilla is not as user-friendly as some other applications. Editing sometimes requires downloading a file and editing it, and then re-applying the file.
  • Placing and saving encryption keys can sometimes be difficult for non-expert users. FileZilla-driven prompts to assist in this would be helpful.
  • The cluttered interface sometimes seems non-navigable. There are many times too many windows and unclear where the actual "action" is occurring.
FileZilla is well-suited for users of all experience levels. There are features with FileZilla that allow experienced users and novice users to both use the application, albeit with different purposes. Novice users can use FileZilla to simply move files internally, or drop files on external servers. Experienced users can use FileZilla for sending encrypted files or viewing Linux directories, as well as editing files in those directories.
Most questions or concerns I have had with FileZilla have been answered on non-FileZilla sponsored websites. In my opinion, this is an advantage, as it shows the ubiquity of FileZilla adoption in the industry, and also that there are many active users. The more users there are, the easier it is to search for answers on the web when an issue is encountered.
Read Chris Oros's full review
August 22, 2019
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Filezilla is the default FTP client in our company. Though not everyone uses it, it is installed by default on every single one of our office computers. We use it to quickly transfer files between local machines and client servers. It is a free solution to one of our most common actions in the office; uploading files to servers.
  • Site manager for storing login credentials.
  • Easy drag and drop interface for transferring files.
  • Multiple connections in different tabs.
  • I would love a command line interface so I could more easily perform actions on the server. For example, you can upload a compressed folder to the server relatively easily, but there is no easy way to extract it on the server without switching to an SSH client.
  • Uploading directories with hundreds of files can take a very long time, which is why it's desirable to upload them as zip (or tar) files and extract them on server.
FileZilla is great for uploading and downloading files on a remote server. It offers a strong and intuitive drag and drop interface which is easy for even novice users to understand. What it isn't really good at is managing files on the server. It's much easier to move and delete files at the command line than it is to do the same actions via FTP. This isn't specific to FileZilla though, it is an inherent drawback of FTP in general.
I've never had to contact FileZilla support, it has always just worked as expected. When interfacing with technology, that's probably the highest praise I can give it. It just works. For the purpose of this review, I did note that there is a Wiki, Forum, and IRC channel available for those who need support.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
August 27, 2019
Michael Anderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My production team uses FileZilla to deliver broadcast commercials to stations around the country through FTP.
  • FileZilla does well managing and saving destinations for future use. The bookmark section is well laid out and easy to navigate.
  • The UI of the program is more modern and user friendly than many of the alternative solutions I've seen.
  • The program pushes out updates often to improve performance and squash bugs.
  • Some of the more secure methods of transfer are not on by default
FileZilla is great if you need to access FTP for things like broadcast delivery or file transfer to remote servers.
I haven't needed to use support. But they update the application often so it is supported well.
Read Michael Anderson's full review
November 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm not sure if FileZilla is being used across the entire organization, but my team has been using it for years. We are currently using Filezilla for the secure file transfer protocol or SFTP. This is how we are able to transfer secure data from files on our computers to our payroll system (Ceridian). It can be a bit tedious, but it works.
  • File transfers.
  • We have a production and test database to transfer to.
  • It lets you know when your files error out.
  • Sometimes it can be tricky to find out where your file went.
  • Some transfers take longer than others.
  • The application crashes from time to time, causing you to have to start over.
We use FileZilla for data transfers that we cannot do directly in Ceridian or other applications. It is helpful in transferring data in and out of various systems, which helps to eliminate a lot of the manual work that we used to do.
I have never had to use FileZilla's customer support, so I am unable to add a rating for it at this time.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the client for most FTP, FTP and SFTP connections to internal and external servers. The client version is used across the organization fro these needs. We also use the server version to transfer files to and from our web servers. The server version is implemented and managed solely by the IT department.
  • Easy to use
  • Cost is a huge plus!
  • Meets security requirements.
  • I'd like to see the server handle SFTP in addtion to FTP and FTP/S. We run into this need now and again and have to use another product for SFTP hosting.
The cost and quality combination is a sure win for implementations where you need a easy to use graphical FTP client or server. Both client and server are easy to implement and use. They both fulfill the primary goal of a full featured client and server admirably. The only reason we use any other product is when SFTP is required server side.
I'm giving this a neutral 5 because we have never actually had to contact them for support of any kind.
Read this authenticated review
November 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FileZilla for file transfer between our internal FTP servers and external clients. Of the software we tested here, it has become our favorite.
  • Good FTP address management.
  • Synchronization between local and remote folders.
  • Easily locate remote files.
  • The interface is a bit polluted, could be better.
For file transfers between local and remote machines, this is the best software. You can manage the addresses of FTP servers by grouping them into folders. You can synchronize the browsing of your local folders with remote folders. Edit files and save them directly to remote FTP.
The note is that it is good, user-friendly software that did not cost my organization and replaced a tool we used that was very limited.
Read this authenticated review
February 23, 2019
Ankit Goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use FileZilla for most of my FTP activities like uploading/downloading files. It is very lightweight and easy to use. On top of everything, it's free. One of the best open source software in any category. As an integration consultant, I often come to projects where files present on FTP need to be integrated. This requires a lot of uploading/downloading of files for testing purposes. FileZilla comes in handy in these scenarios. Its Pro version is also not very costly. What I most like is that I can give this to any new team member and they can start working on it right away without the need for training.
  • Very lightweight and easy to use. Very simple interface. Literally, no training required for the user of any role.
  • Quick connect feature remembers your credentials and let you connect to previously connected sites in one click.
  • Most importantly, it's free! Pro version is not that costly either.
  • We can limit the network speed too. It often comes in handy when we need to save some bandwidth for other processes.
  • Support for the product is one area for improvement but having a free/cost effective (pro version), you can't complain much.
  • Some would say its interface is not very pretty, but it's easy to use which matters most.
FileZilla is useful for all type of FTP activities like uploading/downloading files, etc. It has a very simple and self-explanatory interface so it is well suited for newbies. You can give it to any team member and they can start playing with your FTP server.
Read Ankit Goyal's full review
February 11, 2019
Valery Mezentsau | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current (and previous) positions, I use FileZilla as the main FTP server and client solutions to exchange files between my company and other clients or sister companies. It simplifies the task to manage, edit and transfer files on remote systems. This solution especially helps to provide access to files for remote users such as consultants and contractors that don't have internal user accounts.
  • FileZilla has a very user-friendly interface that allows non-tech savvy employees to use it without any IT department assistance. A few simple screenshots in an email to the end user and all works fine.
  • Very fast and reliable solution. Transfers all files without any issues.
  • Drag-n-drop support saves time.
  • "Quickconnect" - very useful option, especially if you need to connect to FTP server once. For example to upload log files to third-party support services FTP server.
  • Tree hierarchy for the folders navigation - on practice helps a lot.
  • Would be very helpful to have site to site transfer option.
  • Ability to edit files on the FTP server. Sometimes you need to make quick minor changes, so opening them on an FTP server can save some time. However, this is not critical.
  • Would be awesome to have more functions to interact with the remote server, such as SSH console, etc.
  • Scheduled file transfers would be very helpful.
  • On the server side - very often need to have more granular access permissions. I mean it needs to give permissions for specific files but not to the entire folder.
FileZilla is one of my favorite tools. This software will be easy to use for all, not-tech savvy users and to IT specialists. Lots of third-party services require you to use FileZilla, so I wouldn't recommend any other solutions as well. Supports all known types of FTP connections. And it is free, what can be better? Plus the Pro version is pretty cheap and gives way more options for file transfers out of FTP limitations and works with third-party cloud services like Google Drive, One Drive, DropBox, etc.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
January 31, 2019
Atilla Vekony | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use FileZilla as an FTP client to upload and download files from a remote server. Specifically, FileZilla allows me transfer many files at once, such as when I want to back up a live website to a local computer.
  • Manages multiple accounts, usernames and passwords to FTP sites well.
  • Ability to export and import account credentials is great.
  • Fast file upload.
  • Very often there's an update available for the FileZilla program. That would be fine, except that you are not asked whether you want to download the update or not; it is automatically downloaded to your computer when you start the program. It would be great if it prompted whether I wanted to download the update or not.
FileZilla is great to transfer files using FTP and SFTP.
Read Atilla Vekony's full review
January 24, 2019
Swagata Bhattacharyya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FileZilla is used across my organization. We love the feature of saving the credentials for multiple sites that we access frequently and don't have to type it the credentials every time. It's suitable for both small and big downloads. It supports both FTP and SFTP which is an added advantage as well.
  • Supports FTP and SFTP.
  • You can open files directly from the remote location in one click.
  • You can save multiple profiles with their credentials and don't have to type in the credentials every time.
  • It displays the status of the transfer.
  • It lets you connect to multiple FTP locations in different tabs simultaneously.
  • The ability to schedule transfers would be a good addition.
It is a wonderful tool for your day to day FTP needs. It's a lightweight tool supporting both secure and non-secure FTP. It lets you connect to multiple FTP locations in different tabs simultaneously. You can save the FTP profiles for easy access later.

I don't think you can schedule downloads using this.
Read Swagata Bhattacharyya's full review
January 23, 2019
Justin Roodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use FileZilla for uploading files to and downloading files from our web server via FTP. FileZilla lets me queue up multiple files for upload/download and it is generally faster than logging into the server cPanel and using the file manager. FileZilla also provides a site manager which allows me to save credentials for multiple sites.
  • Provides a simple layout with a two-pane interface that shows folders and files in a graphical directory tree structure
  • Features drag and drop for uploading and downloading files - makes it quick to do so.
  • The program notifies you when there are failed transfers. Makes it easier to avoid missing an upload.
  • TLS connection issue -- by default when logging via FTP, FileZilla will force a connection with TLS, which is not supported on some servers, including one of ours.
  • Lacks an in-program text editor -- you have to download files from the server and open them with a local program like Notepad to edit. Then you need to re-upload them.
  • It seems like there are never-ending updates needed to the free version. I'm not sure these updates are product improvements versus a way to advertise their sponsors.
FileZilla is a solid FTP program for beginner users and power users alike. The user interface is simple to understand, and the program offers all of the features that you could need for doing file transfers. Compared to other FTP programs that I have used in the past (Bulletproof FTP and CuteFTP), FileZilla performs well and is easy to use.
Read Justin Roodman's full review
January 23, 2019
Jerry Janes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use FileZilla to transfer website files onto remote servers. Many hosting solutions provide file management solutions, but often they are limited in functionality, not to mention proprietary, where FileZilla remains Open Source and in my opinion, a better file transfer solution than others I have used. One example is that Linux, the OS I use, works perfectly and simply with FileZilla. If you seek a user-friendly FTP solution, this is a great one to start and stick with.
  • User friendly across the board
  • Supports multiple FTP protocols including FTPS and SFTP
  • Available for multiple Operating Systems including Windows, OS and of course, Linux
  • Supports resume feature
  • Transfers large files
  • Site Manager easily centralizes multiple sites
  • Drag & drop supported
  • Keep-alive function
  • In the past, I have read that its plain text password storage was a security risk. I know FileZilla's programmers have explained this is not so, but I still would like to see encrypted storage.
If you are new to FTP, FileZilla is an ideal program as it is fully functional and as user friendly as possible. FTP can be daunting to new users, but this makes it relatively easy.
Read Jerry Janes's full review

What is FileZilla?

FileZilla is a file transfer protocol (FTP) solution.

FileZilla Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is FileZilla?

FileZilla is a file transfer protocol (FTP) solution.

What is FileZilla's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses FileZilla?

The most common users of FileZilla are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.