FireMon Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 32)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Daniel James | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

FireMon – Bringing the heat!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I can't say that I've looked at a lot of competitors. What I can say however is that the great majority of those competitors simply offer reporting and tracking. Although in this review I have emphasized on just that area myself let me clearly identify that FireMon is more than that. Yes, I can run reports - but I can also canvas my team and come up with specific controls that we want to enforce going forward. A user submits a ticket and wants a rule with any object let's say - our admins will be told by FireMon that the security team has already said "NO - that's bush league stuff - get out of here with that nonsense" and that admin will then work with the user to identify a better solution. That's just one specific example...
Read Daniel James's full review
jeff Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

FireMon Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nothing like FireMon. We have other tools but 99% of them are looking at specific areas and not the enterprise security on a dashboard.
Read jeff Reese's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

A Review of FireMon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We performed a head-to-head PoC between FireMon and AlgoSec several years ago. Both platforms were well developed, but FireMon had the upper hand in three areas:
  1. Its UI was more unified and intuitive across the different components and products
  2. The reporting was better suited for upper management and more visually appealing
  3. The REST API was easier to use, at least in the limited time we had during the PoC
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Innovative approach to firewall operations and compliance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

FireMon is very different from other competitive products. SiQL is very powerful--you can get any query with vast options. However, it’s also complex. Multiple-vendor support is one of the main points. Similar solutions in the market do not have the capability to parse the logs. FireMon can parse any format. You can access the parser configuration and change whatever is needed. Then get the results. The modifications for the parser is easily seen and maintained.
Multi-vector scoring in FireMon is unique compared to one or two vectors in other solutions. All rules in one screen with the scores are widely visible, while other products just show the flawed rules. FireMon can give you excellence in security. Central monitoring of collectors is a big plus. Complex deployments are easily set. FireMon has built-in security in its own manager or collectors, it’s somehow bulletproof. I don’t need to worry about the security of these components.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Another Fire-something, but a good one!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I already had experience with the Tufin and AlgoSec products, and the customization that FireMon provides is just not available with the other products. The licensing of FireMon over AlgoSec is another winner for us.
Read this authenticated review
Howard Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

All in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We were impressed with FireMon's native cloud support and compliance reporting, in looking at other vendors we were not too impressed by their ability to support cloud-native technologies and their reporting was less than stellar. We did not want a solution that would last only a few years and FireMon was able to provide us with what we needed, and we felt comfortable that they would support the direction we were going. By far they were they were the most engaged with the vetting process.
Read Howard Wall's full review
Jackie Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2017

Reliable IT Security Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Once I learned how to properly query within FireMon, I found FireMon to be an easier application to use and provided more detailed information than that of the other security products used. My organization invested in FireMon and moved away from using the other two security applications, therefore I was required to begin using FireMon but am glad that this change occurred.
Read Jackie Duarte's full review
Ryan Bast | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2017

FireMon Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We have not used any other competing products. We were turned onto the product by our security consultant and we have been very pleased with the product. Based on our happiness we have not had a need to seek out an alternative product.
Read Ryan Bast's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Policy planning and rule management (14)
8.3
Automated Policy Orchestration (9)
7.7
Device Discovery (13)
7.3
Policy Compliance Auditing (19)
8.1
Attack Path Simulation Testing (4)
6.3
Anomalous Event or Behavior Deviation (3)
6.8
Vulnerability Scans (2)
6.5
Firewall Rule Cleanup (19)
8.1

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab TrusGuard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

FireMon Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English