FireMon Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Ken Sharp | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 03, 2020

FireMon provides a nice view

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The use of FireMon has eliminated the backlog in firewall policy changes, approval, and implementation.
  • FireMon has greatly increased the accuracy of changes, and reduced the risk of planned changes (3 incidents in over 27000 change tickets--most with multiple policy changes in each, is a stellar record)
Read Ken Sharp's full review
Daniel James | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

FireMon – Bringing the heat!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Extremely Positive - Recent efforts that have hinged on Firemon reporting ability have greatly matured our security posture.
  • Administration Culture - Admins fight a balance of efficiency and due diligence - just as security teams fight a battle of risk vs. business needs. Having Firemon in house as a solution has helped shape the due diligence and expectations from our administrators, clearly allowing us to draw a line in the sand as far as acceptable risk, or acceptable documentation - and enforce that. Over time findings go down, technical debt from years past is lowered, and were promoting that security minded mentality into future vendor and device selections based off of in house practices and priorities.
Read Daniel James's full review
jeff Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

FireMon Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduced audit compliance support time by 90%
  • Reduced firewall maintenance time by 50%
  • Reduce upper-management report time by 90%
Read jeff Reese's full review
Blake Wofford | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

FireMon, but without bugs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - ability to add rule owners has been a big deal
  • Clean-Up of unused firewall rules has been helpful
  • Global architecture searching - i.e. I'm looking for a single server and all of its touchpoints in our environment. Where do I search? FireMon, of course.
Read Blake Wofford's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

A Review of FireMon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • FireMon's Compliance Reporting provided an immediate and tangible benefit
  • FireMon helps identify egregious or erroneous rules quickly across multiple platforms
  • FireMon took our audit process from an Excel spreadsheet into a far more advanced process with readily available context for reviewers
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Firemon Security Manager v7/v8

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The tool provides consistent, measurable compliance reports that help keep our business safe.
  • There was no migration path from version 7 to version 8. An audit requires seven years of records, so the old system needed to stay active despite support ending. There was no easy way to export the ticket information for storage and reference.
  • There have been some licensing challenges and confusion over how devices need to be licensed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

One more step in protecting firewalls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We had a couple of outages on our rule documentation due to changes in the FMOS code that caused the appliance to be down for a while which hurt our ROI.
  • Not having to manually track all of the rules has freed up engineers for better things.
  • Better auditing of firewall rules significantly decreases security risks to our environment because we are using FireMon to ensure everything is reviewed regularly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Innovative approach to firewall operations and compliance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Reduced security analysis
  • Minimizing the audit time
  • Increased security posture, score, and metrics for firewall rule bases
  • Effective implementation of zero trust mode throughout the organization
  • Decreasing errors while implementing new security rules
  • Solid reporting from a single product instead of collecting and analyzing different vendors' solutions
  • Fewer unneeded or inconsistent rules
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Another Fire-something, but a good one!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The product enables us to review the change management process with our vendors and enables us to track any changes in the firewalls that would have not been authorized.
Read this authenticated review
Howard Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

All in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • On the positive we were able to reduce the amount of man hours needed to remediate and get reporting to our auditors, this was very important to us as we moved to ongoing remediation versus quarterly.
  • On the downside we spent a lot of time training, configuring and remediating to get everything the way we needed it. This was the biggest pain point we had and it caused some stress to the organization. In the long run it made life easier though.
Read Howard Wall's full review
Robert Bollinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2019

FireMon - Great Enterprise Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Positive - flexibility and use of the product. This enables non-firewall savvy people to gather enough information to make an intelligent, firewall policy request. Automation of reporting frees up a ton of resources by sending the appropriate information to the different teams. Compliance is a huge benefactor of these reports, as we are in one form of an audit every other month
  • Negative - High price tag. Difficult Licensing model. Scalability and stability has been a problem for us. Integration to our ticketing system will cost to much, so this is still an area that I would like to integrate some day.
Read Robert Bollinger's full review
Johnson Ditching | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

A Life with FireMon.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • As a product distributor, we would like to introduce the add on module to the customers. In return it will help the customer a lot on optimising firewall rules and creating firewall rules to harden the firewall perimeter.
Read Johnson Ditching's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2019

FireMon, great tools for managing cyber security devices!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We are managing larger number of client's security devices using FireMon and it reduced our backlog for routine changes.
  • By using FireMon's well-designed UI and great features like traffic analysis, removable rules report and compliance auditing etc, we are able to archive our goals in one central console, it saved manpower and reduced human errors.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Garcia | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2017

FireMon Excellence!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have nearly eliminated any unauthorized or unnecessary changes on the firewall platforms through implementation of a sound change management strategy that uses FireMon as the auditing platform.
  • We are cleaning up our firewalls through the elimination of redundant and shadow rules along with unused rules.
  • We have experienced a significant reduction in man hours required to monitor our firewall platforms, provide reporting, and assess each platform for compliance.
Read Eric Garcia's full review
Jackie Duarte | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2017

Reliable IT Security Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Using FireMon for decommissioning servers has enabled my team a 100% success rate (zero outages).
  • My team daily relies on FireMon in order to accomplish work for the organization.
  • The quick response time from queries/reports run using FireMon cut research time by 40%.
Read Jackie Duarte's full review
Jamie Hudson | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2017

Comprehensive firewall management tool review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • FireMon has proved a positive impact on Return on Investment by having the ability to review firewall rules based on risk. High risk rules can be given a higher priority for review and revision.
  • Real time firewall rule monitoring provides a sense of security insuring firewall are appropriate and approved.
Read Jamie Hudson's full review
Ryan Bast | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2017

FireMon Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The rules recently changed [feature] is great to troubleshoot problems.
  • Traffic Flow Analysis works well to ensure traffic is going where you expect it to go.
Read Ryan Bast's full review
Larissa Cui | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2017

Going beyond the simplicity

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We've had ups and downs with FireMon. Our network team doesn't like too many people seeing how the network flow works. Although we don't use FIreMon for any changes, it allows the security team to see what it is that they're doing. Making sure that those who leave the company aren't making any last minute changes to the configurations. I also like the feature that allows you to roll back a configuration.
Read Larissa Cui's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Policy planning and rule management (14)
8.3
Automated Policy Orchestration (9)
7.7
Device Discovery (13)
7.3
Policy Compliance Auditing (19)
8.1
Attack Path Simulation Testing (4)
6.3
Anomalous Event or Behavior Deviation (3)
6.8
Vulnerability Scans (2)
6.5
Firewall Rule Cleanup (19)
8.1

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab TrusGuard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

FireMon Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English