FireMon Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-22 of 22)

Daniel James | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2020

FireMon – Bringing the heat!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
As a security professional let me first acknowledge that I know better than to say or document much in a public forum. That being said I have recently had reasons to sit down and future proof our current implementation. We're as virtual as virtual can be - if we acquired 300% of our current device load tomorrow responding to that need (aside from licensing) would just be a matter of spinning up more VM's in house, and cutting the appropriate tickets for where syslog info gets sent.
Read Daniel James's full review
jeff Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2020

FireMon Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
You count the current and new devices for the years and you're done. Not a set as in most other applications where you buy 10, 25, or 100, and end up paying for something you are not using.
Read jeff Reese's full review
Blake Wofford | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2020

FireMon, but without bugs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

8
Easily understanding how many firewalls, routers, switches, etc. can be used from a hardware/CPU/memory perspective has been challenging. The real reason I gave the "8" is because of all the bugs in the systems that we encounter when we upgrade. It's guaranteed we run into a minimum of two to three bugs immediately after upgrading.
Read Blake Wofford's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 28, 2020

A Review of FireMon

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
With a distributed architecture available for larger deployments, FireMon is excellent at scaling during or after implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Firemon Security Manager v7/v8

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

7
The current environment has not been scaled out, but replacing a data collector was relatively straightforward. I imagine it would be similar when scaling the environment to include more data collectors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

One more step in protecting firewalls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
Note - I bumped this to a 9/10 when it was originally a 6/10. This is because they added "datacollector groups" which resolves the issue that I was complaining about when I put the 6/10.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2020

Innovative approach to firewall operations and compliance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
It's highly scalable, multiple collectors can be set up and integrated with different vendors. With solid hardware incredible EPS rates can be achieved. Customization for device monitoring options is the key point for high EPS rates. Smart and dedicated monitoring of FireMon data collectors is a major advantage in scalability.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2020

FireMon - Great tool for a clean environment

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
It seems the scalability is pretty simple in a VM environment. However, if you have hardware appliances, you want to make sure it is futureproofed for any acquisitions or additional hardware that may come up.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

Another Fire-something, but a good one!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

9
I am in an organization that spans over all continents, and this product enables me to create data collectors close to the assets without compromising effectiveness.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2019

FireMon consolidates well

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
It seems that you could get to a very large and/or heterogeneous environment and it will still give you the data you need.
Read this authenticated review
Howard Wall | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

All in one firewall compliance and reporting that really works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
It has some hefty requirements for system specs, but that's due to the firewall logging. You can have multiple nodes to distribute the load and grow as you need. We found that our initial setup went beyond what we initially needed, but we were able to see the increasing load and plan accordingly to add resources and nodes to handle the additional firewalls.
Read Howard Wall's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2018

FireMon - Worth it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Scalability

10
We have encountered no issues scaling or changing systems that feed the data. Upgrades are straight forward.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Policy planning and rule management (14)
8.3
Automated Policy Orchestration (9)
7.7
Device Discovery (13)
7.3
Policy Compliance Auditing (19)
8.1
Attack Path Simulation Testing (4)
6.4
Anomalous Event or Behavior Deviation (3)
6.9
Vulnerability Scans (2)
6.5
Firewall Rule Cleanup (19)
8.1

About FireMon

FireMon's Network Security Policy Management (NSPM) platform gives security and operations teams automated visibility and analysis for network security devices. FireMon's web-based UI allows users to dissect their network security policies, locate compliance failures, and assess security vulnerabilities. The vendor says the platform proactively delivers intelligence around IT security and compliance so organizations can make better decisions about their network security.

The FireMon platform offers:

  • Real-time monitoring for security and network operations to see details in complex IT and security systems. With granular, sub-second views into the network infrastructure, FireMon provides automated analysis to improve security posture, maintain compliance and detect advanced threats.
  • Automated Security Configuration Assessments (SCA) for continuous compliance, automated rule and cleanup recommendations, and risk-based simulation for policy changes. Users can create "what if" scenarios for analysis and model the impact of potential changes. This reduces time and gives greater assurance that firewall changes provide appropriate security and accessibility to IT assets.
  • Continuous assessment of all security device configurations in real-time, complying to regulatory and internal standards. Audits are automated with sub-second analysis and documentation across the security infrastructure.

FireMon Features

Has featureKPI Dashboards: See your network at a glance with analysis, trending and key performance indicator widgets on a customizable dashboard.
Has featureTraffic Flow Analysis: Monitor network traffic behavior – down to the application level – to isolate overly permissive configurations.
Has featureAccess Path Analysis: Trace every available access path across the network and visualize relationships between network devices to identify risk access points.
Has featureNetwork Mapping: Visualize and interact with highly complex network security environments or segmentations.
Has featureChange Detection & Reporting: Isolate, document and alert on every ongoing change implemented throughout your existing firewall policies.
Has featureAssessments & Controls: Define and employ unique security controls for customized, repeatable analysis and reporting on your firewall policies.

FireMon Videos (2)

FireMon Downloadables

FireMon Integrations

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls - PA Series, Palo Alto Networks URL Filtering PAN-DB, Palo Alto Networks Virtualized Next-Generation Firewalls - VM Series, VMware NSX, VMware ESXi, Check Point Next Generation Firewall, Check Point Security Management, AhnLab TrusGuard, Check Point FireWall-1 / SmartCenter / VPN-1 Edge including VSX, Cisco ASA / PIX / FWSM / ASA Context, Dell SonicWall, F5 AFM, Fortinet Fortigate / VDOM, Huawei USG / Eduemon, Hillstone SG-6000 series, IBM Proventia MFS, Juniper Netscreen / SRX / ScreenOS / VSYS, Secui NXG / MF2, Stonesoft Management Center and detected firewalls, Topsec Firewall, WeGuardia FW

FireMon Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

FireMon Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
8%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
15%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
77%

FireMon Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

FireMon Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Web based browser UI
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:All countries except North Korea, Iran, Sudan, Syria and Cuba
Supported Languages: English