Flipgrid

Flipgrid

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Flipgrid

Overview

Recent Reviews

Flipgrid or bust!

9 out of 10
January 16, 2020
I use Flipgrid with my students in responding to prompts and assignments. It allows students in our classrooms to be able to respond to us …
Continue reading

Flipgrid is Great.

10 out of 10
April 08, 2019
Flipgrid is being used district-wide with students, teachers and even administrators for staff meetings. Flipgrid provides an opportunity …
Continue reading

#FlipgridFever

10 out of 10
March 27, 2019
Flipgrid is an amazing resource that allows students and teachers to share their views, opinions, and knowledge with one another. I have …
Continue reading

Students find their voices!

10 out of 10
March 25, 2019
Flipgrid is being used across our school district with both staff and students in a K-12 public school system. It allows our students to …
Continue reading

Student Voice with Flipgrid

10 out of 10
January 26, 2019
Flipgrid is a great way to have my students reflect on questions that they may be apprehensive to answer in front of their peers. The …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 22 features

Video comments (8)

10.0
100%

Video personalization (8)

9.0
90%

Embedded videos (8)

9.0
90%

Video link sharing (8)

8.1
81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Flipgrid, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Flipgrid?

Flipgrid is a video learning platform, acquired by Microsoft in 2018.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

6 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Panopto?

Panopto is a video management platform for businesses and universities from the company of the same name in Seattle, supporting the recording, sharing, live streaming, and (after recording) sharing via LMS or internal video site, video search, and virtual classroom.

What is Vimeo?

Vimeo PRO is an enterprise video platform built to host and provide full high-definition videos with presentation customization and detailed reporting for users.

Features Scorecard

Video Marketing

9.0
90%

Video Platform Integrations

10.0
100%

Video Security

8.3
83%

Video Player

7.6
76%

Video Analytics

9.5
95%

Video Hosting, Management & Storage

9.3
93%

Video Engagement

10.0
100%

Product Details

What is Flipgrid?

Flipgrid is a video learning platform, acquired by Microsoft in 2018.

Flipgrid Video

What is Flipgrid?

Flipgrid Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Flipgrid?

Flipgrid is a video learning platform, acquired by Microsoft in 2018.

What is Flipgrid's best feature?

Reviewers rate Integration to LMS and Per viewer tracking and Video comments highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Flipgrid?

The most common users of Flipgrid are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Education Management industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (23)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-9 of 9)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teachers use Flipgrid in various ways for students to share their own videos, and in the past year with the pandemic, it was used more widely. Fortunately, it’s an easy-to-use program for both teachers and students. To create a video, students can record themselves, or they can record their screens
  • Customizable
  • Clear for students to crate videos
  • Allows students to share work with each other
  • Would like to require word count for comments
I use Flipgrid to allow students to share their work with each other. For example, my students created some artwork based on a prompt. Then, they used Flipgrid to record their work and explain their choices. I also required them to comment on each other’s work to make sure they watched the videos.
June 30, 2021

Flip Speaking

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Flipgrid is used widely throughout the department of the "School of Languages" in our university. We have been using it to enhance the learning of different languages through easy and funny video interactions that students really engage in. Flipgrid is a platform that allows you to open video forums where students have short instructions of a "Topic" that they will discuss. To enter this forum they use the topic's code which leads them to the recording page where they will leave a video stating their opinion. After that, they are able to see their partner's opinions (if you allow them) and leave comments, record a video replying back, and even mark them as a favorite, Students are also able to see how many views their video has and receive a notification every time some likes it or add it as a favorite, which motivates them to give their best. A disadvantage it may have is that students with a slow connection to the internet could have difficulties uploading the video, but other than that it works wonders. Filpgrid has contributed to making speaking activities easy to manage and fun for students and teachers.
  • Engage students in Speaking activities
  • Provides a wide variety of methods to share the activity (Google Classroom, Teams, etc)
  • Design of activities is made easier, because you are able to add images, videos, documents, etc.
  • Adding the emojis at the end is something that is unnecessary and makes the page freeze.
  • The internet usage should be adapted, for example if students have a slow connection adapting the quality of the videos would be ideal so everyone can watch doesn't matter the speed.
  • As a teacher, I'd like to be able to grade this videos in the platform to get a full report.
I'd greatly recommend it to any teacher. It can be used in a variety of scenarios but mainly for speaking activities. It can work for example as an oral exam or oral evaluation, this I make them hiding it from other students' views. I also use it to analyze and comment about videos and readings. When students start talking and liking it, it's a killer. They start asking when is the next forum going to happen. However, something I do not recommend it for is role plays or collective readings, which I have tried and it fails miserably. This is because of timing, students upload the video at different moments and it is a hot mess. However, I am fine with the first part because it works pretty well.
January 16, 2020

Flipgrid or bust!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Flipgrid with my students in responding to prompts and assignments. It allows students in our classrooms to be able to respond to us without having to speak in front of a room full of their peers. It gives them the opportunity to record their response in a private setting and having the ability to express themselves with fear of failure in front of others.
  • Ease of use for students.
  • Teacher support and community encouraged by the company.
  • Students can get carried away with stickers and filters with their recordings.
  • Issues arise if students have to use older devices.
Flipgrid is well suited for all types of classrooms. Flipgrid is free for teachers to create accounts and use them with their students. It is a great option to use with all students or to utilize with students who do not feel comfortable sharing their answers in front of a class. It also provides a differentiated way for students to complete projects and assignments.
Flipgrip is great for supporting educators. They provide opportunities for teachers to learn the program and become ambassadors for the program. They are also responsive to questions and concerns through many different modes. That includes online communities, email, and Facebook communities. They are eager to meet and troubleshoot with you and are also eager to meet educators at conferences and meetings.
August 15, 2019

Catch #FlipgridFever

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our school is using Flipgrid across and within grade levels for various topics and projects. We recently used it to build a school community within our staff by completing a #Fliphunt to introduce incoming teachers to vitals points and people around the school. To begin the school year, students have also participated in a Meet & Greet #Fliphunt to build relationships in their classroom.
  • Flipgrid does an excellent job of amplifying student voice by giving students a voice in a variety of ways, using their mouth, drawing their responses, and demonstrating their learning on their Flipgrid board.
  • Flipgrid allows teachers to share their best practices and lessons by uploading ideas into the Disco Library located on the Flipgrid platform.
  • Flipgrid allows students to build community and connect with others by following and participating in #FlipgridFever on Twitter and Instagram.
  • At this time, Flipgrid is doing things right by listening to its users, teachers, and students.
Flipgrid is well suited in EVERY aspect of learning and teaching. It's even welcomed at parties, gatherings, and team buildings. At this time, my youngest daughter uses it for her personal journal which allows her to speak, sing, draw, and act out her thoughts. I have yet to find a non-use of Flipgrid.
Those who created Flipgrid and continue to work there, support teachers and students tirelessly and graciously.
April 08, 2019

Flipgrid is Great.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Flipgrid is being used district-wide with students, teachers and even administrators for staff meetings. Flipgrid provides an opportunity for students to record their thoughts and ideas based on a teacher directed question. Teachers can then use it to assess students competency in a given topic or get relevant feedback from their students. Flipgrid gives a voice to some of our most timid students and also provides a window into a child's day to their parents if teachers choose to share the activity.
  • Flipgrid allows teachers to post a question to students on how they accomplished a particular task. This is important because it shows the students process and also gives them an opportunity to teach others.
  • Flipgrid allows teachers to make a "mixed tape" of student responses and use it for assessment. This allows teachers to show parents and administrators whether student growth.
  • Flipgrid has a great feature that allows teachers to post their Flipgrids with the community. The community can reuse the questions and edit them. This allows collaboration among fellow teachers.
  • Not only can teachers post questions but they can also record themselves asking the question. This is great for non-readers and English Language Learners.
  • Fligrid can improve using mixed tapes. I feel if it's not pointed out, teachers don't necessarily know it can be done.
  • When setting up the topic, some of the personalization choices are hard to find or down the page. It would be easier to choose the most used settings and making them the default - like the privacy settings.
  • I also believe the word Grid should be substituted with class. Teachers are always confused about what the Grid and topic are.
Flipgrid is well suited to be used in classrooms where students are able to record themselves independently. Students can use Flipgrid to review a book or an activity. Students can also use Flipgrid to reteach a concept. The teacher can then post the video to their website or classroom. This promotes student buy-in and raises motivation for having your video posted. I think this also gets students excited to showcase a skill they are good at.

Flipgrid is more difficult to use with adults. Most adults are self-conscious recording themselves and can even be suspicious of the person wanting a recorded answer.
March 27, 2019

#FlipgridFever

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Flipgrid is an amazing resource that allows students and teachers to share their views, opinions, and knowledge with one another. I have used Flipgrid for Faculty to share ideas with one another, for them to connect with students, and to gain background on people's knowledge of a topic. Teachers use it for students to share responses with them, to interact with one another, and to have a voice in their learning. The video feature is actively used in education today, and makes learning fun and engaging for all ages. Primary students through adults enjoy interacting with the easy to use platform, and watching each other's responses as well.
  • Integrates with other resources in education. App smashing with Newsela, Wakelet, etc.
  • Allows students to have a voice in their learning.
  • Helps in sharing with families and other educators what students are learning.
  • Fun and easy to learn.
  • I think Flipgrid is great. They listen to users to continuously make the product better!
Flipgrid used in any subject area is beneficial. Starting in younger grades allows for more application in older grades.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Flipgrid is being used across our school district with both staff and students in a K-12 public school system. It allows our students to have a voice, responding to prompts, completing assignments, or simply reflecting on their learnings. The digital video component allows for communication beyond writing or typing, enhancing learning and teaching through public speaking, using emotion, and displaying understanding.
  • Student voice is a primary focus and enhanced through the use of Flipgrid.
  • Flipgrid is a fun tool that the students enjoy using, simply through the "selfie" and social-media feel.
  • It is easy and simple to use by both staff and students.
  • If there was more of an admin-panel to customize settings for our district and manage our staff.
  • The ability to "default" settings across Flipgrid and not per-grid or topic
Flipgrid has been great for reading levels, world language understanding, and debates or public speaking. The ability to be used in any content area and grade level has been amazing. Staff love having access to their students responses, the opportunity to provide feedback instantly, and the control over how it is viewed and shared.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Flipgrid is a great way to have my students reflect on questions that they may be apprehensive to answer in front of their peers. The ability to provide an answer directly to their teacher also enables a student to use their voice versus being unsure when writing their answer. I have used these for fun activities to learn how a students summer break was to an evaluation of a unit to make sure the student achieved their goal.
  • The ability for the students to write notes to read off of prevents them from saying a bunch of "um.." "uh..."
  • Student Voice is empowered with Flipgrid. The quietest kids in the class are able to speak knowing that it is just them, the computer screen, and their teacher.
  • Flipgrid makes it fun by providing students to personalize their selfie with stickers.
  • I wish students could log into Flipgrid and download their previous videos.
  • Need integration of grades into more learning management systems
  • There is always an introduction topic for every grid. I wish this could be turned off after using Flipgrid for a while.
Flipgrid is the ultimate teacher tool for Student Voice and allowing students to share answers or their feelings towards a topic. I have been using it with students in grades three to five and all students are able to learn how to use Flipgrid very quickly. It is very easy to watch the videos of students by placing limits such as 60 seconds on the video and extend it up to 5 minutes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the hottest applications out in education right now. Teachers throughout my district are using Flipgrid in their classrooms to spark student voice. This gives students a platform that they are familiar with, similar to social media applications such as Facebook live, and Snapchat, in which they can record themselves doing something. Our World Language teachers and English teachers have really taken to Flipgrid as a way for students to show their learning on a topic. ESL students enjoy this as well, as they can record themselves reading a segment from a text and share with the teacher for feedback. I have also used Flipgrid to deliver engaging professional development opportunities or as a way for teachers to share their own learning.

  • Enhances student voice and gives them a platform to share their voice with others. Helps bring attention to the quiet students or those hesitant to share or ask questions.
  • Easy navigation and simple for teachers to create assignments, embed materials, link to Google apps, etc.
  • Teachers can keep track of al student video submissions right from within Flipgrid. Not need to manage it anywhere else!
  • Offers ways for students who might be hesitant to show their face, ways to hide it with clip art, etc.
  • This is small, but I've had a difficult time grabbing the embed code from Flipgrid and embedding it into a Google Site or LMS. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Maybe there can be LTI integration with LMS platforms?
This is one of those apps that can be applied to any grade level and any subject matter. I have also had great success using Flipgrid for staff and teacher professional development. Flipgrid can be used 1) as a way to practice interview style questions 2) as a way to practice IB curriculum 3) as a way to learn about students at the beginning of a year 4) as a way for staff to collaborate during a book discussion.