Forcepoint Web Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
90 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Solid Web Security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ForcePoint Web Security to help us get a handle on threats from web browsing as well as content and productivity concerns.
  • Customized Block Pages
  • AD Integration
  • None
We deployed it across the entire company. We are using just the Web Security Gateway portion of the product at this point. We use a 95% virtualized workstation environment (VDI). We were able to add the agent to all of our VDI clients before resynchronizing them and we used GPO to push out the agents to our physical devices. We are leveraging the cloud based system and it is working very well for us.
Our previous solution would not allow us to download at speeds greater than 1Mbps and ForcePoint allows us to leverage our full bandwidth.
It allows us to monitor and block web pages as necessary. We now only need to block on content and productivity since Forcepoint always scans the content. This is a specific distinction because many people block webpages due to risk and with Forcepoint, we don't have to worry about risk. We can focus on productivity factor of the websites instead.
Due to the flexibility of the product, I cannot imagine the product not being able to handle any scenario.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
Niket Gaurav | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Forcepoint is the best tool to secure all types of networks/environments.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a partner company of Forcepoint and are supporting many clients across globe (mainly web, email and DLP).
  • Forcepoint Category Database is always updated based on content available on the web rather than another competitor.
  • Content scanning engine which provides real time content scanning/categorization is another feature to prevent malicious activity.
  • I worked on versions 7.6, 8.2 and 8.5.3. But in latest version Forcepoint enables most features as default which which was optional in older versions.
Forcepoint Web Security is the perfect option to monitor all inbound traffic and prevent malicious/phishing activity.
Using RF client to provide security to offsite systems is always beneficial.
Read Niket Gaurav's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Solid protection without babysitting!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint Web Security to protect our users and devices while they are on-campus. To extend that protection and simplify management, we are currently in the process of switching to the cloud variant.
  • Powerful
  • Feature rich
  • Complex Management
  • Knowledge Base is hard to search
The cloud variant of Forcepoint Web Security can help you protect your end users and devices from malicious web content no matter where they are in a simplified manner. The on-prem variant can do this as well, but additional environment configuration is required. This product shouldn't replace endpoint protection as it doesn't take USB sticks or local files into account.
As a healthcare organization, many of our users are on-call and take work out into the world with them. Being able to protect those devices and knowing that users aren't going to bring something back onto our network is a huge weight off of our shoulders.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

May the Force(point) Be With You!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is being utilized in our environment as a proxy and content filter. We use this to filter website categories across the many groups we have in our organization. This includes protocol, file extension, and keyword filters. The software also gives us some solid alert data when employees encounter risks on websites that are not yet categorized.
  • Dynamic threat recognition
  • Diverse ways to deploy the product
  • Reporting was an issue in the past. New report builder features have improved upon this
  • Realtime Monitor works well but can sometimes become non-responsive
Forcepoint Web Security is well suited for diverse environments. It has a load of capabilities. It works well in both inline and explicit proxy situations. There are many authentication methods that give you many deployment options as well. Either used as a traditional Windows server, Linux install or appliance, you can really choose any form you like. The only scenario I can think of where it would not be appropriate would be one where the product was overkill for the organization. I'd say maybe a very small office setting.
We have not used Forcepoint for remote or roaming users. We do however use it in regards to our BYOD network to filter devices that did not originate inside our organization. That has been a success but it is underutilized.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2020

Forcepoint helps our SOC be proactive

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used across the enterprise as a web proxy and DLP for a business unit. We are in the process of deploying the Hybrid to our company. We have received excellent help in this endeavor and may start using the DLP option after the POC. We look forward to continuing to work with Forcepoint.
  • Block Malicious Sites
  • DLP
  • Ease of Use
  • Cloud based could use more granularity
  • Easier backend access
  • Cloud HA
Forcepoint Web Security is for companies that have well-established policies that are clearly defined. The cloud deployment is useful for companies that want an easier deployment and a mostly remote workforce. The hybrid works better for a company that has internal resources that have the knowledge to deploy and manage a proxy environment.
Yes, we have the endpoint deployed on all machines internal and mobile. Our remote nurse practitioners are covered by the remote endpoint and this keeps us in regulatory compliance. It is a necessary security tool and we wouldn't be able to complete our mission without it. Forcepoint has been a great partner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Quick analysis and access list for the small/medium environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint Web Security for web filtering only. We use it across our entire organization. This allows us to quickly set up standardized accesses to different levels of employees. With it's real-time monitoring features Forcepoint Web Security also allows us to easily identify sites that are being blocked and which ones are being allowed. Using that information, I can then evaluate user access and adjust it.
  • The real-time monitoring tool allows for quick analysis of users traffic.
  • Exceptions, makes allowing one-off accesses easy and allows for notes.
  • Command-line functionality seems limited and not very user friendly.
  • Online documentation to assist in solving errors quickly isn't easy to find what your looking for or isn't relevant to your problem.
Forcepoint Web Security is well suited for a smaller organization that needs easy management of web URL filtering. It allows IT to quickly discover inadvertently blocked sites and correct. It does appear to have some reporting functionality but as we are not using it, I can't say for sure. I would say that it appears it could use a more robust set of reporting tools.
We do not utilize this software in this manner so I cannot comment on this feature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Forcepoint Web Security: The One to Beat

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used across the entire organization to limit where particular users can go on the web and protect the corporation from malicious websites, and control loss of company data.
Forcepoint is especially critical in worker productivity as reports can be run against users and departments on internet usage. We especially like that the threat database and site categorization is constantly being updated throughout the day.
  • Limit access to sites by category
  • Block malicious content
  • Easier software upgrades
  • Cloud offering for management of content gateway/on premise infrastructure
Forcepoint Web Security is well suited for environments where admins need to control users' access to websites, and to also keep track of loss of data, such as if documents or information containing PII isare being sent out of the company.

Forcepoint Web Security may be less appropriate in very small environments--less than 1,000 users--or where there might not be an admin to maintain the system frequently.
Forcepoint Web Security has been a big benefit for roaming users, as we can now have the same policy for users not on our network. In the past, users not on the internal network could have un-controlled access, but now we can limit it and see in logs where the users went and what data was sent.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

ForcePoint Web Security: Solid, but not great

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use ForcePoint Web Security across the entire organization. It serves the dual role of web filtering and data loss prevention.
  • Allows content filtering.
  • Guards against potential threats.
  • Administrative overhead.
  • Time to resolve issues with support.
ForcePoint would be a much better solution if the product did not encounter so many glitches and if support were able to resolve issues more timely.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Overall a good solid product.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it as a web filtering tool across the whole organization. We have different policies in place for our different business units. Its primary use is to protect us from malware.
  • Web filtering works well
  • Hybrid client has no issues
  • O365 filtering was different but improving
  • FTP filtering is difficult
Well suited for a PCI environment where you need to limit web access.
We are using the hybrid client for our mobile users and it is rock solid.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Forcepoint protects our organization from malicious sites and allows us to institute our ISSP.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used across our organization to protect our Internet access.
  • Ease of Use
  • Ease to Manage
  • A bit complicated to setup
  • Too many server pieces to integrate
Forcepoint Web Security works for our organization because it protects our users from malicious websites and allows us to block websites not suitable for our business.
We only use Forcepoint Web Security for internal users. We were not aware it could extend security to roaming and remote users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

May the FORCEpoint Be With You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint is used across our organization. We have a large pool of users and Forcepoint is being used to filter web content to ensure security over the network.
  • Security from viruses, malware, phishing
  • Data loss prevention
  • N/A
It is very well suited for an organization with a large number of end users. I imagine it works well for small and medium scale organizations as well. For us it is perfect because we are a large organization.
At this time we do not have it set up for mobile users.
Read this authenticated review
Allan Eisenhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Forcepoint Web Secruity that can be used by any and all

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a non-profit that works with the local unemployment agency to assist the public with filing unemployment for their benefits. We also offer services, if they are eligible, for the opportunity for them to get retrained for a different job industry. This program allows us to make sure that users and staff are not going anywhere on the internet that does not align with our mission goals. Currently, this package is used agency-wide between all 6 of our locations and filters about 550 computers.
  • This package is one of the few that offers a category, quota time, that allows us to limit certain categories and or websites for staff that would normally be blocked for customers and may not be something that is needed in their day to day job duties. We allow staff one hour a day, broken down into six 10 min increments, to visit sites for shopping, travel arrangement and other areas that are more of a personal need than a business need.
  • Forcepoint has a wide selection of categories that can be enabled, quota timed or restricted at a top-level or you can go more granular and drill down to subcategories to allow for only partial access.
  • It would be nice if the endpoint would allow admin users to temporarily bypass the restrictions. There are times when a user or group of users may only need to temporarily need access to websites and this feature would be nice instead of the admin having to unblock the website for the specified time period just to have to go back in and restrict it again.
  • Some of the reporting options that allowed us to see minute by minute activity on a user would be nice to have back. We had it on the server-based version we were running but when we switched to cloud we have not been able to find it.
I feel that this is one of the better options out there that offers more flexibility than some of their competitors. This solution can be used if you are looking to offer a singular filtration for all systems or it can be configured to offer a variety of filtering options depending upon groups and user's rights and needs. I am not sure of a scenario where this would be less appropriate.
Currently, we are using the i500 appliance and not the local endpoints so we are not able to take advantage of extending it to remote users. We have maybe a dozen users with laptops that could benefit from this, but we are not at a point where we feel comfortable enough yet to remove the i500 and go strictly with the endpoints. This is something that is scheduled for possibly the middle of 2020.
Read Allan Eisenhauer's full review
Philip Clerico | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Forcepoint Web is easy to use in a single pane of glass view.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is being used for our whole organization. This helps us protect our company by filtering what websites we allow our employees to access.
  • Web filtering
  • Stability
  • Web filtering
  • SSL decryption
Forcepoint Web Security does a great job filtering websites and an OK job with SSL inspection. I don't think that the SSL inspection issue is necessarily on Forcepoint but more on other websites that are not fans of the SSL inspection certificate that Forcepoint uses.
We have utilized Forcepoint on all of our laptops so that we can control what websites our employees are allowed to access when not on our corporate network.
Read Philip Clerico's full review
John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Forcepoint Web Security Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint Web Security to monitor web traffic across the majority of the organization. It allows us to view usage trends, block malicious sites, and track user behavior that may or may not be malicious. We use the agent-based version and its security has been extremely beneficial in a number of areas to improve visibility and investigate.
  • Blocking unwanted websites
  • Presentation of data for reports
  • Product support after implementation
  • Navigation of primary portal
We generally like Forcepoint, but whitelisting of BioMed devices and frequent inexplicable (no actual Forcepoint block page) blockages of traffic prevent the ability to completely understand the security risks presented by each case. We can't tell what the BioMed device is actually doing once it's whitelisted so it could be going to malicious sites but our whitelisting makes it impossible to tell. Some sites appear to be unsuccessful at loading and there's no explanation as to why. They show up as approved in Forcepoint but FP support isn't terribly useful in suggesting other options that could be causing similar results—all they provide is "our product is operating as designed".
Read John Keenan's full review
Ted Jan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Forcepoint Web Security is Great for Internet Content Filtering!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used across our enterprise. We have different policies setup depending on the type of users we have (ie: regulated and unregulated) as well as which BU they belong to. The primary use for us is to block users from going to websites that either the company as a whole or the individual BUs don't deem appropriate.
  • Blocking websites based on different BU requirements.
  • Putting websites into categories depending on content.
  • Forcepoint Web Security can have difficulty in determining the user who is browsing the internet and requires an app be run in order to make that determination. This app can fail and your users can still have issues. Hopefully they can figure out a way to move away from using this app.
  • Forcepoint Web Security has to release a new version every time Chrome is updated. Unfortunately, this can mean that you cannot use the latest version of Chrome until Forcepoint is updated; this can take several days. If there is a zero-day vulnerability, this can lead to your company being exposed until the latest version is ready.
In my organization, we use Forcepoint Web Security primarily to control internet browsing per BU specific requirements as well as across the company as a whole. I think the Forcepoint excels in making sure that the specific browsing policies are enforced. It also does a good job of making sure that users don't stumble across websites that might contain malicious content. There is definitely some room for improvement, but overall it does a good job.
All of our users are required to use VPN in order to use company equipment, so we don't really use that capability.
Read Ted Jan's full review
Brandon Chisholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Web Security is a pretty good purchase for those looking to secure their company's web usage.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Web Security to control access by users to the internet. It is employed across the company with various policies and restrictions in place. It helps reduce the attack surface of the company by allowing us to restrict access to troublesome categories, sure, but also by a customized URL blacklist/whitelist where applicable. It also helps to reduce the potential for litigation thanks to the blocking of various content, protocols, file downloads, etc.
  • Easy deployment.
  • An easy to use interface.
  • The SIEM connector still isn't available, but should be.
  • User image searches aren't as easy to follow, in the case of policy enforcement and whatnot.
This product is useful when you have to control access to various categories, websites, or restrict various users while allowing others. It is very scalable.
This product is not as useful in more open environments where the web is generally considered 'open' by the staff, or in closed, very secure environments where the internet isn't available.
We have greatly benefited from the remote web management of users. We have a large force that works remotely that we could not restrict prior. With Web Security, we cannot only restrict what they can access, but also see where they are going. It makes the environment safer and helps protect the company.
Read Brandon Chisholm's full review
Junie Johwa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2019

Easy Protection with Forcepoint Web Security

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organisation. It addresses web security for our users and allows certain departments to be able to access certain categories of websites (e.g. PR has access to Facebook while others don't). It enables Internet usage and bandwidth usage to be measured easily and to keep track to see if any additional bandwidth for staff is needed.
  • Check bandwidth usage, e.g "bandwidth vampires"
  • Control internet access with policies
  • Robust reporting!
  • Easy to use interface and very user-friendly "User Administrative" interfaces
  • Extremely stable and no sudden issues
  • Complete Active Directory integration. Users have to be manually removed if they have been deleted on Active Directory, therefore you can have some users who still exist but have been deleted from Active Directory and consume licenses
  • Some configurations are only available via Linux CLI which can be intimidating for Windows or "GUI users" on the appliance configurations
  • There are three parts of the system and some people don't know that and that can be confusing, i.e. Web Security, Content Management Gateway and Appliance Management. It can be simplified to be one system or at least have it be more obvious that there are three "parts"
  • Some sites struggle to be accessed and some have to be "bypassed" because of some known issues with the sites
It is very appropriate when dealing with sites such as Office365 as you don't have to "open" any related sites which are many. You don't have to do any configuration for access to Office365 sites/applications. It is appropriate for scenarios where an organisation has users with different needs in terms of Internet access e.g PR users having access to social media sites and other departments not having access, Technical divisions having access to YouTube and other streaming sites while other departments do not. It is very appropriate in terms of reporting Internet use in the organisation and proper action taken to "bandwidth vampires" which affect the productivity of other users. It is good at reporting as it can keep data for a long time depending how long it is kept (for us it is 3 years) and can be used during IT audits
Corporate machines are protected all the way regardless of whether you are using hotel wifi or home wifi. The access policies will follow you and you are protected throughout with the hybrid deployment. The organisation is sure that the corporate machines are always protected regardless of location. This is to maintain control and security of organisation's machines.
The is a quick first response to acknowledge your issue and the Engineers never take more than two hours to fix an issue and we hardly get issues looking at the fact that the system is pretty stable. There is also a robust Knowledge Base in the site for known problems.
Despite the intimidating Linux CLI when you use the appliance for troubleshooting, the web security usability compensates as most of the Administration of the system is done there. It is GUI based and has an easy to use UI where one can navigate around rather easily like getting reports, checking alerts, looking the whole setup under deployment to check if all services are running in one place though there are other parts to the system.
Read Junie Johwa's full review
Nicole Wojtalewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Not much info but we are happy with Forcepoint

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole org. We use it to protect email.
  • It prevents emails with profanity from going out in and outside the organization which really helps prevent issues and problems between coworkers and looking unprofessional for our members.
  • Obviously, it protects against malicious emails.
  • We are extremely pleased and cannot make any recommendations.
I don't really have any particulars to share.
It protects the email via mobile as well. Good deal.
Read Nicole Wojtalewicz's full review
Todd Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Compliant with our standards

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organization. We filter staff and patron internet usage.
  • Blocks internet porn.
  • Blocks anti-government sites.
  • Interface could be easier to use for new users.
  • Most commonly used features could have quick add features.
In an organization of my size, it's good that you don't have to manage it often. But with a lot of turn over it is not as user-friendly as some other systems.
We have not benefited from this. We don't have many remote users so we don't use that functionality.
Read Todd Simmons's full review
Scott Kemp | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Forcepoint review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses it. We use it to restrict access to certain website categories. Managers also review internet activity.
  • Reporting
  • Managing rules
  • Cannot restrict https sites.
Overall, it is a good product and runs without much intervention after the initial setup and configuration. If you intend to block https sites, this product is not for you.
Read Scott Kemp's full review
Eric Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Forcepoint Web Security protects our library patrons and saves us thousands in IT purchases

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it throughout our library district to meet CIPA requirements for our patrons and qualify for E-Rate funding.
  • Easy to manage filtered connections (IP address list).
  • The ability to define custom categories for testing the product.
  • Forcepoint endpoint client has not worked as expected for the laptops we circulate. Sometimes it requires a Forcepoint login, which we would like to avoid for transparent internet access for our patrons regardless of the network they connect to.
Works well for computers connecting through a fixed IP address. The endpoint client has been problematic (see response to previous question).
We have only benefited for users connected to the internet through hotspots with static IP addresses. Attempts to accomplish the same with the Forcepoint client for dynamic IP addresses have only been partially successful.
Read Eric Moore's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Web Security Review after 4 years. Forcepoint will get re-elected.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is used across our whole organization. It's primary purpose is to restrict access to sites that are deemed not secure, whether that be determined by us or automatically by the product itself.
  • Globally block a site for the whole organization.
  • Restrict social media access to specific groups across the organization.
  • The user access logs contain a lot of useless information. I understand this is very hard to tackle as I've seen this across any product that logs web activity.
  • I would like to see more customization options of website block pages.
While we had some challenges implementing, once it was in place it's been largely a "set it and forget it" product. As an understaffed organization that is quite valuable. One challenge we constantly run into is issues with collaborative sites (Webex, Educational streams, etc). Unblocking those is a constant struggle.
While we have recently implemented this on devices that aren't on the network, honestly I'm not a big fan, particularly from the Social Media side of things.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2020

Malicious web activities meets its match in Forcepoint

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint across the enterprise. Its web filtering protects the company from several problems. Malicious websites, phishing links, viruses, encryption attacks, illegal and or immoral web activity, unproductive browsing, and wasteful use of bandwidth. Several phishing links and encryption attacks have been thwarted by Forcepoint, and our Security team was alerted to the danger.
  • Blocking immoral/Illegal activities and browsing.
  • Blocking Phishing Links.
  • Some applications have an issue with Forcepoint in the middle of the transaction. While there are ways to resolve this, it could be made easier to troubleshoot.
  • The Hybrid client can be problematic, preventing all web access in some cases.
Forcepoint works very well onsite; we've had great protection for our onsite users.
When Users are traveling, we do get protection from the hybrid client, but it has caused several issues preventing all web access in certain scenarios, While there are a couple of ways to implement the hybrid client, none work perfectly.
On the corporate network, it works great. Off-Network... we have had issues with speed issues when moving large files, connectivity issues, and such. The speed issues can be resolved by changing the way people work, which can be a challenge. For the intermittent connectivity issues, we have not yet found a good fix, which has limited our deployment of the hybrid client.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Forcepoint Web Security 5 year Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is being used company-wide for its web filtering gateway and security protection. It provides security protection and blocking against malicious and non-productive websites while enhancing network performance. It addresses social engineering, high bandwidth consumption, and third-party application download and installation.
  • Blocking malicious websites.
  • Manageable rules and policies.
  • Difficulty troubleshooting from alerts.
  • Poor search capabilities in reports.
I have used Bluecoat prior to Forcepoint Web Security. Bluecoat has a very easily manageable console and rich features. But it costs many times over Forcepoint. Forcepoint is suitable for a medium-size company with its reasonable cost and software application without the requirement of a hardware appliance. It provides a dependable gateway security web protection against social engineering websites.
Due to the limitations of remote users, we don't have this roaming and remote users feature turned on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Use the Forcepoint

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used by my company to manage employee access to acceptable websites, reduce time spent on frivolous sites, and to manage some of the features that we want to permit within social media sites. It is also a defense-in-depth layer for malicious attacks that call out to the Internet to download scripts. We have also used it in security investigations for threat hunting, to search for unusual website access, as well as finding other outliers, like users hitting a certain site thousands of times over.
  • Good dashboard overview
  • Targeted policies on users, IPs, subnets
  • Sometimes requires a logoff/logon to validate website access
  • Occasional service restarts needed as a troubleshooting measure
Great enterprise tool, uses existing directories for user, group, and IP-based custom permissions against common site category groupings for policies. The exceptions allow date expiration, which helps keep exceptions limited instead of going into perpetuity. It uses Microsoft technologies, which helps make it manageable within the skillsets of SQL and Windows administrators.
We are implementing the roaming and remote user proxy to provide a consistent user experience, and to extend the protections necessary to prevent attacks from succeeding when the user is not on our internal networks. This also enables us to better monitor and respond when a compromise does occur away from the main office.
Read this authenticated review

About Forcepoint Web Security

Forcepoint Web Security allows companies protect every user, everywhere. The vendor says, with real-time advanced threat protection, built in cloud application security, cloud sandboxing and DLP scanning, you get a comprehensive security solution built for today’s mobile and global workforce.
  • Deep content inspection for pages and links, powered by Forcepoint’s ACE (Advanced Classification Engine) technology to identify zero day, advanced threats, and data theft attempts.
  • Insight and visibility to the cloud application landscape within your organization with Shadow IT discovery, and user and risk ranking. Extend the built-in CASB capabilities to control sanctioned cloud apps across managed devices with anomaly detection and behavioral analytics. Seamlessly upgrade to our full CASB suite for reverse proxy and API mode, and BYOD support.
  • A centralized reporting system enables granularity and customization through an intuitive and easy to use drop and drop interface.
  • Highly secured and always available Forcepoint cloud so you can extend web protection to roaming users with global coverage from the industry’s only certified global cloud infrastructure (ISO 27001, 27018, CSA STAR).
  • Flexible deployments options with a choice of pure cloud (SaaS), hybrid cloud, or on-premise – via a single SKU.
  • Seamlessly integrated with all Forcepoint solutions for a true enterprise security platform; NGFW, CASB, DLP, Email Security, Insider Threat, and Behavioral Analytics.

Forcepoint Web Security Features

Has featureShadow IT discovery and risk ranking
Has featureCloud Application Control and full CASB upgrade
Has featureData Loss Prevention (DLP)
Has featureCloud Sandbox

Forcepoint Web Security Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Forcepoint Web Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No