Forcepoint Web Security Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
121 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 63)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 26, 2021
Chandan Singh Rathore | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Earlier we were using the URL filtering from other Firewall vendors for our web security but we were so many challenges with that as it had so many categorization issues. Sports sites were getting blocked in the Movies category and some unwanted URLs were not getting blocked. Our users were facing many problems in their daily tasks. Then we decided to go ahead with Forcepoint Web Security and trust me it was life-changing decision for our infra. First, it got installed in our Data Center on-premises and their categorization is just perfect. After implementing it, we got our web security covered and users didn't face any issues after that.
  • Categorization
  • Real-time security updates for threat protection
  • It has a centralized granular policy controls
  • Content Filtering
  • Customer Support
  • Scalability and throughput
  • Documentation availability
  • Pricing should be bit lower
Forcepoint Web Security is a suited solution for all the kinds of organizations who are accessing the web internet, be it small size, mid-size or larger organizations. Its content filtering feature is just awesome which is not available with other vendors. If you want to allow Sports category and block movie category on the same URL (youtube) then this kind of scenario can be achieved by Forcepoint Web Security. It has intuitive management and reporting and the largest intel database.
Yes we are using remote filter Module and a Web Filter Security Cloud Module which provides web access to remote users for protection against threats and enforcement of policies. Over the last year, [since] most of the users are working from [home] due to lockdown, this feature has helped us a lot in tracking the users activity along with providing web security to those remote users. We can also create custom allow/deny filters with time to expire for special events, and they support exceptions to remediate help desk incidents.
Read Chandan Singh Rathore's full review
December 27, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security works to help protect and control end-user web access all while working to protect against cyber threats. Various rules and filters were implemented to identify potentially malicious and suspicious sites. DLP events also trigger and alert the organizations of suspicious and potentially malicious actions taken by an employee.
  • Forcepoint DLP alerts of potential data security issues with data leaving the organization.
  • Forcepoint web filtering also protected against users navigating to malicious sites.
  • Endpoint solution supports logging and monitoring to alert security control center.
  • Fine tuning is required for various DLP flags.
  • False positives require deep-dive investigations so staffing and timing are required for research.
  • Web filtering not always accurate and additional tuning needed for categorization.
Forcepoint most importantly helps protect the organization from various cyber threats and has supported our organization by identifying and flagging suspicious activity that otherwise may not have ever been discovered. Fine-tuning for web filtering and DLP has enabled to minimize false positives while supporting the security posture of the organization.
Currently, the organization has the capability to support both on and off networks with Forcepoint DLP, but tons of fine-tuning was required, which is not necessarily negative. This, in fact, helps to support the security posture while minimizing false positive alerts and maintains a positive impact on the productivity of users.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2020
Justin Leos | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have 8 years experience as a Forcepoint Web Security customer and I am very happy with it. We have a small IT department and as the IT Manager, Forcepoint allows me to rest at ease as the application does all the work. I really enjoy the fact that it is a cloud-based application, not an appliance. I can quickly run standard reports from the report catalog. I feel a great sense of security knowing my users can browse the internet while Forcepoint blocks malicious threats. This is a inexpensive, but very effective, layer I use for my company's security. I look forward to many more years using Forcepoint Web Security.
  • Advanced threat protection
  • Set it and forget it
  • Any user, any device, any location
  • Change in web content control happens quickly
  • None I can think of
I strongly believe every small organization or IT department can benefit from Forcepoint. The dashboard is a quick way to see what is going on in your environment. The application is set it and forget it and gives me a strong secure feeling knowing malicious sites or content is being updating constantly. User do not know it is on their machine or device. They are alerted by a page saying that is a blocked site, if they really need access, they let me know and if I approve, I can quickly give them access.
With COVID-19 happening, most of our staff work remotely. I do not have to worry about the staff's home network, I know Forcepoint will help secure the work device. We have greatly benefited from this since I can just have them take their laptop or desktop and have them use it at home. Whether they are on the VPN or off, it doesn't matter as Forcepoint works continuously.
Read Justin Leos's full review
December 10, 2020
Andrea Bet | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We deployed the solution all across the whole organization. We have about 30 WCGs and 20 locations using cloud proxy. Forcepoint Endpoint helped us to protect computer and laptops from threats.
We set up a hierarchy inside Forcepoint Security Manager, to grant access of each defined location/company to the respective IT department.
  • URL filtering.
  • Scalability of the management.
  • Easy way to update endpoints.
  • Middle East area (where Government blocks traffic to your local PoP).
  • China area (where you don't have local PoP so it's impossible to point to cloud proxy out of China, because traffic hits the Great Firewall and traffic is sometimes blocked for secured connections).
  • Support expertise.
It suits well on site offices, using cloud proxy defining the filtered location.

As above, worst scenarios of implementation are countries where government intercepts and modifies secured connections.
In those locations we had to disable cloud proxy and permits access using only local Content Gateways.

Also for VPN users, to grant them to accesso to Gsuite, we set up to allow them to use office Internet line to access this service.
Absolutely yes, my organization took benefit of this. Endpoints are secured wherever they are, applying web filtering but mostly blocking malicious links.
Main issues was the non-control of roaming users: at their home, hotel, airport or every unsecure network they were totally exposed to any malicious browsing activity.
Receiving real-time alerts we are also able to fastly investigate and resolve issues.
Read Andrea Bet's full review
December 03, 2020
Grace Huang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In use by the whole organization, provides extra layer of security also provides content blocking as well as time based access to certain sites to increase productivity.
  • Blocks malicious sites.
  • Allows restriction complete or by time to sites such as social media.
  • Provides keyword content and category blocking of sites.
  • Provides extensive reporting for browsing and security alerts.
  • Ability to temporarily disable the proxy.
  • More flexible client deployment options.
  • Web chat support.
Forcepoint is great for monitoring users online browsing behaviors and time spent being less productive, it also provides a layer of security to block malicious websites.
Switching between corporate and public networks is seamless due to the proxy configuration of the product. With our globally roaming userbase and work from home orders due to Covid the flexibility of the product has worked out very advantageously for us with not additional load on IT resources and also provides a window into users productivity when working remotely from non corporate networks.
Read Grace Huang's full review
October 30, 2020
RAJEEV GUJRAL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for protecting the web traffic to and from public networks. It is being used across the state of Rajasthan. It helps us protect from many complex threats crawling on the web and protect our internal users from being affected.
  • Content Filtering
  • APT
  • Web Traffic Analysis
  • Please include support for other protocols as well. We intend to use the product for perimeter security for all the incoming and outgoing traffic. The limitation is that we had to divert the HTTP traffic to forecpoint web security appliance and rest of the traffic to other device.
  • Integration with IBM SOAR Solution
  • Support for Email Traffic including IDN support
Protection from web traffic, content filtering etc. are the best use-cases. Not suited for large organisations having private WAN with multiple ISPs and intend to use it a transparent proxy for all outbound traffic. It supports only HTTP and required non-HTTP traffic to be divereted to some other appliance. Web and Email being one of the most common requirements of any organisation, support for Email protocols is also a must.
We use it for local endpoints only. We are aware of roaming ability but presently not using it in our organisation.
Read RAJEEV GUJRAL's full review
October 13, 2020
Gareth Petersen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used across the whole organization as the sole web filtering platform. Allows us the peace of mind in insuring that our users only access approved web categories and that they remain safe when browsing the internet whilst on the corporate network.
Forcepoint web filtering policies allow us the flexibility needed to tailor the end users experience according to company policy.
  • Web category filtering.
  • Governance and compliance.
  • Investigative reporting.
  • Real time monitoring on the cloud platform would be good to have.
Without disclosing too much information Forcepoint Web Security is well suited in HR related issues where performance management/productivity or breach of internet use policy is questioned. The reporting can be very granular and damming for individuals being investigated.
It is less appropriate for real-time monitoring as this is not possible at this point in time from what I understand.
Our organization is utilizing the on premise and off premise capabilities of the Forcepoint Web Security agent. Our laptop users have had zero issues and have had nothing but positive feedback. The end user experience has not changed and they are able to switch between Wi-Fi networks with zero disruptions which was one of their main concerns.
Read Gareth Petersen's full review
October 13, 2020
Rafique Narejo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have selected Forcepoint for filtering our data flows on web browsing traffic. Its capabilities are scaled and availability is ensured with the high availability option. Load balancing is handled by WCCP. It's transparent proxy implementation.
  • Its most valuable aspect is the efficient, immediate support.
  • Works seamlessly very well on SSL interception and packet deep inspection
  • Gives very flexible and most restrictive options in threat mitigation
  • Stripping scripts from webpages helps fight drive-by, dropper, and cryptic common threats flood.
  • It's very helpful in creating policies to block and safeguard from content and categories that are culturally and regionally sensitive.
  • I would like to see improvement in Triton Manager response and resource consumption.
Forcepoint Web Security is the best by far I have come across for on-campus web security gateway implementation. I would recommend it for all those who are budget concerned but really serious about protecting their assets with less effort and lower maintenance costs. Forcepoint Web Security is a reliever of browsing worries. However, I had some concerns with hybrid deployment where some ISP connection was not making it through but have heard it's been fixed with the latest releases.
In our country, we wished we'd used this for roaming users during the COVID-19 pandemic where most of the workforce worked from home. Unfortunately, the current version we have in action is not working with some roaming users as it doesn't work with internet connections from one major ISP, but we have realized this and we are in the process of upgrading.
Read Rafique Narejo's full review
December 11, 2020
Ashish Chakraborty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint is used across Organization. It takes care of web-security and data leakage prevention.
  • Crawler works very well
  • Each word scanning page wise works well
  • User behavior pattern is very useful
  • Intelligent DLP
  • Network devices vulnerabilities detection
  • Intelligent analysts of threat vulnerabilities
[Well suited for] project specific restriction. DLP restriction works well. Shadow IT is not visible.
Web security works fine in a hybrid model. Our company is using it during WFH COVID times.
Read Ashish Chakraborty's full review
December 02, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint is being used to inspect web content which helps to prevent users from accessing inappropriate websites and security risks while browsing the internet. We also use it on our Cloud infrastructure for behavioral and analytics and data loss prevention. It solves many problems for our organization in terms of keeping things secure.
  • DLP
  • Analytics
  • Email Security
  • Better UI
  • Possibly better documentation
Scenarios where you have people working remotely dealing with sensitive material.
From what I know, I am unaware if we have benefited from this or not at the moment.
Read this authenticated review
November 08, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Forcepoint web security deployed across the whole organization, worldwide with over 350 active endpoints. It provides a very effective defense against everything malicious the web has to offer. Also, it provides us with critical metrics of what types of sites users are visiting and for how long it also enables us to do content and keyword blocking of sites and time-based locking of common sites, eg. social media, this can be achieved very granularly via Active Directory integration.
  • Blocks malicious and compromised websites.
  • Provides a raft of customizable detailed metrics.
  • Provides very easy to implement content filtering of which there is a lot of default framework ready to go.
  • The endpoint software at times can be a little glitchy.
  • Would be good to be able to temporarily disable the filter via the client for troubleshooting and admin purposes.
  • Would be good to be able to manually set a Geo location for better response.
Due to the diverse and roaming demography of our users, Forcepoint suits us with its global flexibility and its ease of use, endpoint and web interface management, and deployment. Providing trends and user habits has been great for reports to the business, as well as defense security blocking reports presented at board reporting intervals.
We have a very diverse and roaming workforce. The web security endpoint works well with traditional security endpoints and provides most of the heavy lifting as anything malicious is blocked well before it even gets to the end user's PC.
Read this authenticated review
September 30, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we have over 3,000 employees and due to current circumstances with Covid-19 most of our employees are working from home or remotely. We use Forcepoint to keep our users secure. We use Forcepoint Web Security across our whole organization. Forcepoint addresses the problem with the blocking of bad/unwanted websites that may have malicious software. I'm actually glad to have Forcepoint installed in our organization. It definitely helps me sleep better at night.
  • Bock URL.
  • Whitelist websites.
  • Protect users from anywhere they are connected.
  • Reporting.
  • Executive summary.
  • Notification to administrator.
Forcepoint all the way around is a very good web security tool. In my opinion is well suited for organizations that have multiple remote sites in the states and around the world. Given that you can manage the whole organization from the cloud, I believe a company will benefit from using Forcepoint web security. Scenarios where it may be less appropriate and the company could possibly save money by going with something simpler, could be a small company. A single office company with no remote users. I strongly believe Forcepoint will still work well for this type of companies, however the company would not be taking advantage of all the Forcepoint Web Security benefits.
Most of our employees are working from home or remotely. Being that Forcepoint is cloud based and agent based, the user doesn't even need to be connected to our network for us to keep that computer secure.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My Systems Administrator and I use ForcePoint Web Security daily. We use it for monitoring and filtering web usage company-wide. And that is exactly the business problem it addresses. Ensuring that hundreds of users are safely and responsibly using the web. Its dashboard and reports alert us to problems before they get out of hand.
  • It gives us a high-level snapshot of what are users are doing online.
  • It allows us to have a generous Acceptable Use Policy because we know that abuses will be easy to spot.
  • It gives us a way to allow temporary access to otherwise blocked sites.
  • Its tools for creating policies and exceptions is confusing in certain areas.
  • Some of its online help topics don't provide as much detail as we would like.
It is suited for any company that needs to monitor web usage and block sites that are dangerous or inappropriate. I honestly cannot think of any scenarios where Forcepoint Web Security isn't a valuable tool.
We have 50 users working from home due to the pandemic. Our ability to monitor those VPN users gave us peace of mind, knowing that they wouldn't even be tempted to take advantage of this situation. And they didn't. We have seen virtually no change in how they use the web.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a good solution and works for us in hybrid as well as central proxy. We are currently using this solution throughout the organization. It is a huge help in the current work from home situation.
  • It works in hybrid mode.
  • The policies and categories are clearly defined.
  • The reporting is good.
  • The cloud setup of the same can be improved.
  • The categories can be detailed out with subcategories.
It works in work from home. Its agent is small and can be easily installed.
Yes, we are using the hybrid client; it is a huge boost.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2019
Allan Eisenhauer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a non-profit that works with the local unemployment agency to assist the public with filing unemployment for their benefits. We also offer services, if they are eligible, for the opportunity for them to get retrained for a different job industry. This program allows us to make sure that users and staff are not going anywhere on the internet that does not align with our mission goals. Currently, this package is used agency-wide between all 6 of our locations and filters about 550 computers.
  • This package is one of the few that offers a category, quota time, that allows us to limit certain categories and or websites for staff that would normally be blocked for customers and may not be something that is needed in their day to day job duties. We allow staff one hour a day, broken down into six 10 min increments, to visit sites for shopping, travel arrangement and other areas that are more of a personal need than a business need.
  • Forcepoint has a wide selection of categories that can be enabled, quota timed or restricted at a top-level or you can go more granular and drill down to subcategories to allow for only partial access.
  • It would be nice if the endpoint would allow admin users to temporarily bypass the restrictions. There are times when a user or group of users may only need to temporarily need access to websites and this feature would be nice instead of the admin having to unblock the website for the specified time period just to have to go back in and restrict it again.
  • Some of the reporting options that allowed us to see minute by minute activity on a user would be nice to have back. We had it on the server-based version we were running but when we switched to cloud we have not been able to find it.
I feel that this is one of the better options out there that offers more flexibility than some of their competitors. This solution can be used if you are looking to offer a singular filtration for all systems or it can be configured to offer a variety of filtering options depending upon groups and user's rights and needs. I am not sure of a scenario where this would be less appropriate.
Currently, we are using the i500 appliance and not the local endpoints so we are not able to take advantage of extending it to remote users. We have maybe a dozen users with laptops that could benefit from this, but we are not at a point where we feel comfortable enough yet to remove the i500 and go strictly with the endpoints. This is something that is scheduled for possibly the middle of 2020.
Read Allan Eisenhauer's full review
January 10, 2020
Philip Clerico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is being used for our whole organization. This helps us protect our company by filtering what websites we allow our employees to access.
  • Web filtering
  • Stability
  • Web filtering
  • SSL decryption
Forcepoint Web Security does a great job filtering websites and an OK job with SSL inspection. I don't think that the SSL inspection issue is necessarily on Forcepoint but more on other websites that are not fans of the SSL inspection certificate that Forcepoint uses.
We have utilized Forcepoint on all of our laptops so that we can control what websites our employees are allowed to access when not on our corporate network.
Read Philip Clerico's full review
January 10, 2020
John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint Web Security to monitor web traffic across the majority of the organization. It allows us to view usage trends, block malicious sites, and track user behavior that may or may not be malicious. We use the agent-based version and its security has been extremely beneficial in a number of areas to improve visibility and investigate.
  • Blocking unwanted websites
  • Presentation of data for reports
  • Product support after implementation
  • Navigation of primary portal
We generally like Forcepoint, but whitelisting of BioMed devices and frequent inexplicable (no actual Forcepoint block page) blockages of traffic prevent the ability to completely understand the security risks presented by each case. We can't tell what the BioMed device is actually doing once it's whitelisted so it could be going to malicious sites but our whitelisting makes it impossible to tell. Some sites appear to be unsuccessful at loading and there's no explanation as to why. They show up as approved in Forcepoint but FP support isn't terribly useful in suggesting other options that could be causing similar results—all they provide is "our product is operating as designed".
Read John Keenan's full review
January 10, 2020
Ted Jan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is used across our enterprise. We have different policies setup depending on the type of users we have (ie: regulated and unregulated) as well as which BU they belong to. The primary use for us is to block users from going to websites that either the company as a whole or the individual BUs don't deem appropriate.
  • Blocking websites based on different BU requirements.
  • Putting websites into categories depending on content.
  • Forcepoint Web Security can have difficulty in determining the user who is browsing the internet and requires an app be run in order to make that determination. This app can fail and your users can still have issues. Hopefully they can figure out a way to move away from using this app.
  • Forcepoint Web Security has to release a new version every time Chrome is updated. Unfortunately, this can mean that you cannot use the latest version of Chrome until Forcepoint is updated; this can take several days. If there is a zero-day vulnerability, this can lead to your company being exposed until the latest version is ready.
In my organization, we use Forcepoint Web Security primarily to control internet browsing per BU specific requirements as well as across the company as a whole. I think the Forcepoint excels in making sure that the specific browsing policies are enforced. It also does a good job of making sure that users don't stumble across websites that might contain malicious content. There is definitely some room for improvement, but overall it does a good job.
All of our users are required to use VPN in order to use company equipment, so we don't really use that capability.
Read Ted Jan's full review
January 08, 2020
Brandon Chisholm | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Web Security to control access by users to the internet. It is employed across the company with various policies and restrictions in place. It helps reduce the attack surface of the company by allowing us to restrict access to troublesome categories, sure, but also by a customized URL blacklist/whitelist where applicable. It also helps to reduce the potential for litigation thanks to the blocking of various content, protocols, file downloads, etc.
  • Easy deployment.
  • An easy to use interface.
  • The SIEM connector still isn't available, but should be.
  • User image searches aren't as easy to follow, in the case of policy enforcement and whatnot.
This product is useful when you have to control access to various categories, websites, or restrict various users while allowing others. It is very scalable.
This product is not as useful in more open environments where the web is generally considered 'open' by the staff, or in closed, very secure environments where the internet isn't available.
We have greatly benefited from the remote web management of users. We have a large force that works remotely that we could not restrict prior. With Web Security, we cannot only restrict what they can access, but also see where they are going. It makes the environment safer and helps protect the company.
Read Brandon Chisholm's full review
January 27, 2020
Jay Stelmach | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use ForcePoint Web Security to help us get a handle on threats from web browsing as well as content and productivity concerns.
  • Customized Block Pages
  • AD Integration
  • None
We deployed it across the entire company. We are using just the Web Security Gateway portion of the product at this point. We use a 95% virtualized workstation environment (VDI). We were able to add the agent to all of our VDI clients before resynchronizing them and we used GPO to push out the agents to our physical devices. We are leveraging the cloud based system and it is working very well for us.
Our previous solution would not allow us to download at speeds greater than 1Mbps and ForcePoint allows us to leverage our full bandwidth.
It allows us to monitor and block web pages as necessary. We now only need to block on content and productivity since Forcepoint always scans the content. This is a specific distinction because many people block webpages due to risk and with Forcepoint, we don't have to worry about risk. We can focus on productivity factor of the websites instead.
Due to the flexibility of the product, I cannot imagine the product not being able to handle any scenario.
Read Jay Stelmach's full review
January 21, 2020
Niket Gaurav | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a partner company of Forcepoint and are supporting many clients across globe (mainly web, email and DLP).
  • Forcepoint Category Database is always updated based on content available on the web rather than another competitor.
  • Content scanning engine which provides real time content scanning/categorization is another feature to prevent malicious activity.
  • I worked on versions 7.6, 8.2 and 8.5.3. But in latest version Forcepoint enables most features as default which which was optional in older versions.
Forcepoint Web Security is the perfect option to monitor all inbound traffic and prevent malicious/phishing activity.
Using RF client to provide security to offsite systems is always beneficial.
Read Niket Gaurav's full review
January 10, 2020
Nicole Wojtalewicz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole org. We use it to protect email.
  • It prevents emails with profanity from going out in and outside the organization which really helps prevent issues and problems between coworkers and looking unprofessional for our members.
  • Obviously, it protects against malicious emails.
  • We are extremely pleased and cannot make any recommendations.
I don't really have any particulars to share.
It protects the email via mobile as well. Good deal.
Read Nicole Wojtalewicz's full review
December 20, 2019
Todd Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Whole organization. We filter staff and patron internet usage.
  • Blocks internet porn.
  • Blocks anti-government sites.
  • Interface could be easier to use for new users.
  • Most commonly used features could have quick add features.
In an organization of my size, it's good that you don't have to manage it often. But with a lot of turn over it is not as user-friendly as some other systems.
We have not benefited from this. We don't have many remote users so we don't use that functionality.
Read Todd Simmons's full review
January 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Forcepoint Web Security to protect our users and devices while they are on-campus. To extend that protection and simplify management, we are currently in the process of switching to the cloud variant.
  • Powerful
  • Feature rich
  • Complex Management
  • Knowledge Base is hard to search
The cloud variant of Forcepoint Web Security can help you protect your end users and devices from malicious web content no matter where they are in a simplified manner. The on-prem variant can do this as well, but additional environment configuration is required. This product shouldn't replace endpoint protection as it doesn't take USB sticks or local files into account.
As a healthcare organization, many of our users are on-call and take work out into the world with them. Being able to protect those devices and knowing that users aren't going to bring something back onto our network is a huge weight off of our shoulders.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Forcepoint Web Security is being utilized in our environment as a proxy and content filter. We use this to filter website categories across the many groups we have in our organization. This includes protocol, file extension, and keyword filters. The software also gives us some solid alert data when employees encounter risks on websites that are not yet categorized.
  • Dynamic threat recognition
  • Diverse ways to deploy the product
  • Reporting was an issue in the past. New report builder features have improved upon this
  • Realtime Monitor works well but can sometimes become non-responsive
Forcepoint Web Security is well suited for diverse environments. It has a load of capabilities. It works well in both inline and explicit proxy situations. There are many authentication methods that give you many deployment options as well. Either used as a traditional Windows server, Linux install or appliance, you can really choose any form you like. The only scenario I can think of where it would not be appropriate would be one where the product was overkill for the organization. I'd say maybe a very small office setting.
We have not used Forcepoint for remote or roaming users. We do however use it in regards to our BYOD network to filter devices that did not originate inside our organization. That has been a success but it is underutilized.
Read this authenticated review

What is Forcepoint Web Security?

Forcepoint Web Security allows companies protect every user, everywhere. The vendor says, with real-time advanced threat protection, built in cloud application security, cloud sandboxing and DLP scanning, you get a comprehensive security solution built for today’s mobile and global workforce.
  • Deep content inspection for pages and links, powered by Forcepoint’s ACE (Advanced Classification Engine) technology to identify zero day, advanced threats, and data theft attempts.
  • Insight and visibility to the cloud application landscape within your organization with Shadow IT discovery, and user and risk ranking. Extend the built-in CASB capabilities to control sanctioned cloud apps across managed devices with anomaly detection and behavioral analytics. Seamlessly upgrade to our full CASB suite for reverse proxy and API mode, and BYOD support.
  • A centralized reporting system enables granularity and customization through an intuitive and easy to use drop and drop interface.
  • Highly secured and always available Forcepoint cloud so you can extend web protection to roaming users with global coverage from the industry’s only certified global cloud infrastructure (ISO 27001, 27018, CSA STAR).
  • Flexible deployments options with a choice of pure cloud (SaaS), hybrid cloud, or on-premise – via a single SKU.
  • Seamlessly integrated with all Forcepoint solutions for a true enterprise security platform; NGFW, CASB, DLP, Email Security, Insider Threat, and Behavioral Analytics.

Forcepoint Web Security Features

Has featureShadow IT discovery and risk ranking
Has featureCloud Application Control and full CASB upgrade
Has featureData Loss Prevention (DLP)
Has featureCloud Sandbox

Forcepoint Web Security Video

Forcepoint Web Security Cloud Features

Forcepoint Web Security Competitors

Forcepoint Web Security Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Forcepoint Web Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Forcepoint Web Security?

Austin-based company Forcepoint (formerly Websense) offers Forcepoint Web Security, a cloud security platform.

Who uses Forcepoint Web Security?

The most common users of Forcepoint Web Security are from Mid-size Companies and the Financial Services industry.