Formstack Forms

Formstack Forms

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Formstack Forms

Overview

Recent Reviews

The Formstack Forms Review

7
March 25, 2022
A huge resource to conduct market and customer research. Allows us to get real time and specific responses from our customers. This then …
Read full review

Formstacking the deck

8
October 21, 2019
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission …

Thanks to Formstack!

7
October 15, 2018
We use Formstack as a registration form for individuals taking part in our yoga programs and teacher trainings. We also use it to gather …

Nonconformist love formstack

10
September 25, 2018
We use it to track memberships, facility use, evaluations, signups for free events, post event surveys, and more. We have 6 departments …

Formstack needs a refresher

6
September 24, 2018
We use Formstack for a variety of needs where information is required to process requests such as purchasing, IT support and professional …

Formstack - quick, easy, powerful

8
September 24, 2018
Formstack is integrated into our website and business processes in several ways, and is used by multiple departments. We have order forms …
Read full review

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 16 features

Multiple question types (58)

9.0
90%

Data export (59)

8.5
85%

Survey logic flexibility (58)

8.5
85%

Custom logo/branding (58)

7.0
70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Formstack Forms, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Silver

$59

Cloud
per month

Gold

$99

Cloud
per month

Platinum

$249

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.formstack.com/pricing?utm_s…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Survey Format & Appearance

7.0
70%

Survey Content

8.3
83%

Survey Logic

8.5
85%

Survey Reporting & Analytics

9.1
91%

Survey Administration & Security

7.8
78%

Survey Distribution

8.0
80%

Product Details

What is Formstack Forms?

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Forms Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features

  • Supported: Online surveys
  • Supported: Survey templates
  • Supported: Survey library
  • Supported: Themes
  • Supported: Custom logo/branding
  • Supported: Progression bar
  • Supported: Responsive design

Survey Content Features

  • Supported: Multimedia content
  • Supported: Drag-and-drop editor
  • Supported: Changes to live survey
  • Supported: Multiple question types
  • Supported: Matrix questions
  • Supported: Translation/multi-lingual

Survey Logic Features

  • Supported: Survey logic flexibility
  • Supported: Response requirement/validation
  • Supported: Skip logic
  • Supported: Conditional questions
  • Supported: Question branching

Survey Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Data export
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports
  • Supported: Visualizations

Survey Integrations Features

  • Supported: CRM Integration
  • Supported: Social media integration
  • Supported: E-commerce integration

Survey Automation Features

  • Supported: Notifications and alerts
  • Supported: Calendar/scheduling
  • Supported: Follow-up emails

Survey Distribution Features

  • Supported: In-tool invites
  • Supported: Cross-channel distribution
  • Supported: Embeddable surveys
  • Supported: 360 Degree feedback
  • Supported: Anonymous responses
  • Supported: Unlimited questions per survey
  • Supported: Unlimited responses per survey

Survey Administration & Security Features

  • Supported: Multiple users
  • Supported: Access controls
  • Supported: Compliance

Formstack Forms Screenshots

Formstack DashboardConversion Kit Add-onPortals Add-onRobust IntegrationsWorkflows FeatureProduct Walkthroughs

Formstack Forms Video

Simplify your data collection with Formstack Forms⎜Formstack

Formstack Forms Downloadables

Formstack Forms Integrations

Formstack Forms Competitors

Formstack Forms Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesAll
Supported LanguagesAlbanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Formstack Forms?

Formstack is an online form building solution. Its drag-and-drop web form creator gives digital marketers a tool for online data collection and engagement. Users can collect payments and pass form data to popular marketing apps through third-party integrations. With Formstack, users can capture responses, store the information and share it with their teams.

What is Formstack Forms's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multiple question types and Standard reports highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Formstack Forms?

The most common users of Formstack Forms are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Non-profit Organization Management industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (151)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 74)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A huge resource to conduct market and customer research. Allows us to get real time and specific responses from our customers. This then allows us to create the best product we can in line with feedback from our customers. It helped us find product market fit as well by seeing what people are looking for in our market.
  • Receiving responses
  • Concise way to find information
  • Easily send out and track responses
  • Overall glitches
  • Overall presentation
  • Integrations with other tools
It is well supported for companies in the learning phase looking to collect as much data as possible on their market, customers, product, competitors, etc… In addition, it’s easy enough for most people to set up and implement and to start using right away. It’s less appropriate for huge companies who might have their own databases to collect data.
I simply didn’t need to use any support so I can’t say wether it was great or poor. When reviewing this service, I saw reviews saying support was good but I myself actually didn’t have experience with using Formstack’s support services. Therefore, I keep my response neutral and in the middle.
Shreyas Mecheri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Embedded forms for multiple use cases such as newsletter subscription, lead generation, scholarship applications, evaluations, etc. The ease of creating forms in a user-friendly interface that is also supported with a high level of security, user authentication, and data protection was important in the decision to go with Formstack. It was so easy to train new staff to use and even create options like custom dropdown lists, logic branching, checkboxes for GDPR compliance, etc. Reuse and duplication of forms was easy, as was customizing the look and feel for the embedded form depending on the host website branding. Being able to easily edit text in a form without complex tickets or lengthy wait times enabled the team to respond to user behavior such as low completion rates. We were also able to easily test the effect of A/B testing, changing up form field types, etc. by paying close attention to the analytics. While I personally did not use partial completes, that seemed like an attractive feature that stood out over the competition. We did encounter some issues with the forms not displaying correctly on mobile but that may have been an issue with the site it was embedded on. With consistent testing, we were able to bypass this. issue.
  • Simplified data collection.
  • Clean, attractive, user friendly interface.
  • Data security.
  • Templates to collect info in a form and use for evaluations. I did this through a tedious process manually but can see great use for it.
Suited for marketing teams to be able to control forms with ease, including integrations into CRMs or Marketing Automation software. Less suited for complex preference center management kind of use cases.
I didn't use support much so cannot say. The one time I had an issue they were quick to respond. The help documentation is good.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We contracted with Formstack to help us run a large annual survey project that required more ability to build in page and question logic and better reporting and analytics than the free online tool we had previously used. We have discussed rolling out Formstack to our staff generally, but have not done so to this point due to the relative ease of the free online tool we use and the simplicity of most of our surveys.
  • Analytics--being able to track bottlenecks, abandonment, and time to complete.
  • Page and question logic was good.
  • When discussing the scope of engagement, Formstack indicated a partnership with another company that would allow us to aggregate the survey data with our internal data. That partnership was oversold.
  • We were looking for a way to capture data in a table form. They could accommodate a small table, but not a large one, resulting in us having to modify the layout.
There is no question that we gained significant functionality in terms of analytics and page and question logic by choosing Formstack over the free survey tool we had used previously. The feedback from users who had taken the survey was that it was user-friendly and looked much more professional. There were some discussions in the sales phase that did not accurately represent the functionality, and while they were extremely accommodating to our changes based on user experience, and training was phenomenal, it wasn't conveyed at point of contract that the service we were provided as part of that contract was limited to an hour of edits, and that our additional time was at an additional cost. Finally, the fact that they connected us with another software that was supposed to make our data integration easier made it appear that they either didn't understand the scope of our project request or they didn't have a good handle on the other company's capabilities.
October 21, 2019

Formstacking the deck

David Steininger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission and everything in between. Formstack has been an integral part of our initiative to migrate many of our forms and applications to the web, which has - among many other things - greatly increased the speed at which we are able to move students through the enrollment process.
  • Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control.
  • The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections.
  • Simple and seamless payment integrations.
  • The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently).
  • Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of
  • The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.
If you have a need for advanced forms with conditional logic and payment integrations, Formstack is a great pick. If you only need a handful of simple contact forms, there are more affordable solutions. Likewise, if you need a much more robust solution with front-end user accounts (to login and complete a form) or bulletproof integrations with an existing CMS, you might want to find a different dedicated enterprise solution. Formstack can fill in a pretty wide space between the two ends of the spectrum.
October 15, 2018

Thanks to Formstack!

Ramsay Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack as a registration form for individuals taking part in our yoga programs and teacher trainings. We also use it to gather feedback about our programs. It is integrated with our Salesforce org so that we can collect data on program participants as they complete our forms.
  • Formstack is very user friendly for someone without a lot of experience using complex form building products.
  • Formstack integrates easily with Salesforce allowing information to be collected and stored on relevant records.
  • Formstack support responds quickly to any questions or concerns.
  • More support troubleshooting Form Submission Failures/duplicate matching rules.
  • Improved organization structure for storing forms on back-end.
  • Ability to duplicate forms and ensure all rules copy into duplicate.
Great for integration within Salesforce. User friendly. Great customer service support.
Katie Savacool | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track memberships, facility use, evaluations, signups for free events, post event surveys, and more. We have 6 departments using it for different things.
  • Creating a database and graphics to communicate information from external sources.
  • Integration in to assorted software.
  • Creation of online forms that is easy and customizable for our programs.
  • It would be great if the name of the field was more customizable and allowed for special formatting without a call out or other minimized things.
If you are looking for a bit more complexity in your form then I prefer Formstack to other programs.
September 24, 2018

Formstack needs a refresher

Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for a variety of needs where information is required to process requests such as purchasing, IT support and professional development requests. It is used mostly by operations but IT uses it as well. It allows us to keep track of all types of requests easily and provide feedback to users.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to track in the portal
  • Flexible to fit organization needs
  • The interface is not engaging.
  • More features available like the recent addition of Recaptcha
  • Terminology can be confusing
Formstack is a flexible tool for an organization to gather and track data required to support the work your organization does. It is particularly useful in tracking supply and equipment requests, internal work orders and time requests. There are other tools that work better for IT support requests and have a better user interface.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Formstack only in the Chapter Services department but, other departments had interest in it. The Chapter Services department used the software to make annual reporting easier for our chapters. In the past, chapters had to submit a detailed Word document for all their educational events for the fiscal year. Our organization then took months compiling the information (copy and paste, some typing) into a pretty, compiled, format that we distributed to all chapters.

With Formstack, we were able to create an online form that kept all the data together, and accessible via an export. The creation of the form was fairly easy, for our application. We just had to copy questions and sections, since all questions for each educational event were the same.

The only negative was the way the export pull, it pulled as one row. So, a staff member had to break the row down into multiple rows (one for every event). This might have been user error/oversight.
  • The creation of the form was fairly easy, for our application. We just had to copy questions and sections.
  • You can customize all questions/buttons/dates, etc. There was nothing that wasn't customizable.
  • The ability to allow people to pause the survey/form and come back to it using a unique link really helped our chapters with being able to pass the form off to the right person.
  • The export function wasn't user friendly. It might have been user error, but everything exported as one row. There should be different export options.
If you are wasting your time with Word documents, Excel sheets, or simply have to create a more inviting form for your clients or members, this will work. Our CFO and Marketing team inquired about using this for their department reporting.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is integrated into our website and business processes in several ways, and is used by multiple departments. We have order forms that, when submitted, go to accounting, the warehouse, and the relevant department. We also have event RSVP forms, and forms that facilitate internal organization - access requests, list sign-ups, and the like.
  • Formstack is a simple way to create online forms. The interface is intuitive, and the embed codes don't require a high level of HTML or CSS knowledge to use.
  • Formstack is quite versatile and customizable. There are plenty of options to make the forms specific to each task, and the graphics are easy to change.
  • Formstack was selected by one of our geekiest tech guys, and we haven't had cause to complain.
  • I jumped right in as a user on an existing account as a fairly technically savvy user with no training. Most things were pretty easy, but it did take me a while to figure out how to change the template of new forms when I wanted something other than the default.
Formstack makes it easy to create a variety of forms. I have used it for event interest and registrations, email list sign-ups, and surveys. I have found it easy to customize, and easy to export data for import into other systems (e.g., CRM).
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization. We use it to track applications, conferences, and nearly everything internal when it comes to online paperwork.
  • Allows for unique situations. As a school, we don't have the luxury of being cookie cutter. Neither do our forms.
  • Support. If we don't know how to do it, their support team has been very helpful and actually attempts to understand the issue on hand.
  • User friendliness. In our field we have a phrase: "what if you get hit by a bus?" With Formstack, you can "get hit by the bus" and someone else can jump in and still keep things running (this is used as a phrase for illness, not termination).
  • The overall look. I couldn't get it on brand until I used the embed section and had the website take it over.
  • There are times that the integrations haven't worked, and the only way we'd know is when we log in. There is now a field to notify you if this happens, but that does't help us if the third-party is down.
  • I would like to see the unique field and the required field work together better. We want to force someone to select a spot, but have many spots at varying times. If you fill out one section and make the unique spaces required, that shuts down the form - and any remaining, supposed to be unaffected, areas.
I would use it for Admissions, HR, and Administrative purposes. It automates and streamlines processes like no other. However, I would not recommend it for someone unaware of the third party integrations. You can pull a CSV, but that can become burdensome. If you know Google Sheets, you can create a filter to make the data manageable. For someone who knows how to do this, Formstack is wonderful; if you don't, be prepared to feel lost on data until you get the hang of it.
Jared Whitley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our organization uses Formstack for inter-departmental and operational forms (forms that need to integrate with multiple systems, forms that are on websites, forms that need to be stood up for repetitive use, etc.) and it handles these forms extremely well. We do, for ease of use and to keep systems clean, use another third-party form creator for departmental use.
  • Integrations with other systems
  • Ability to create forms extremely easily
  • Well laid out dynamic field filters.
  • User based settings (saved lists) that don't effect other users.
  • Proxy in as users (to help fix issues that they have due to permission limitations or departmental integrations)
We use it for Pardot Form Handler integration to allow us full control over the forms. We also have some forms that link to multiple systems for logging and access to data. These work great as it doesn't depend on a third-party app (Zapier/IFTTT) for most of the integrations.
Kristen Hay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Formstack for all of our lead capture across our whole website. Since implementing Formstack, we've seen an average lead conversion rate of around 20 - 30% -- and these aren't just any leads, these are warm, marketing qualified leads.

  • I love how easy Formstack is to use.
  • Building forms is a breeze , the support is great, and we love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce to give us quality, high converting lead pages.
  • Formstack has helped us refine and define our lead capture process and following up with qualified prospects has become even easier.
  • This wouldn't be the case for everyone, but we would love to see an integration with our CRM, Nutshell, without using Zapier.
If you're considering Formstack, I would recommend signing on for a free trial first so you can play around in it and see how easy it is to create forms and how your team could use the product most effectively. Feel free to make your own form templates with your brand's colors to really visualize how the forms could look and function.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across our entire organization as our online forms solution. It is heavily used by enrollment services and has replaced all paper forms that were previously in use. The approval functionality makes it easy for us to distribute completed forms to the proper approvers and allows final approvers the opportunity to review all decisions made. Very helpful and efficient!
  • Intuitive and simple forms editor.
  • Approval process works really well in our environment.
  • Integration into website is seamless.
  • Formatting within the editor can sometimes be a challenge.
Works beautifully within a student services environment as a forms solution. Allows for creativity on use and has been instrumental in data collection from students.
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Formstack as part of our customer onboarding process, so primarily within a product and marketing context. We wanted to survey our new free trial users to segment them and deliver the most relevant training content possible. We embedded a multi-step survey after the free trial signup that branched according to certain high-level responses. This allowed us to better understand who was signing up for our product and how we could help learn our platform.
  • Formstack allowed us to customize the look and feel of our forms to match our branding. It was easy for our engineers to integrate the forms within our onboarding process to deliver a seamless experience.
  • Formstack integrates well with HubSpot, our marketing automation platform of choice.
  • Formstack offered us a lot of flexibility in the types/formats of questions we could deploy (open-ended text, multi-choice, single choice, etc.). This made it easy to get data the way we wanted and facilitated getting that data into HubSpot.
  • Setting up our multi-step form took some getting used to. Some of the branching logic configuration wasn't as intuitive as would be ideal.
  • Since we were pushing data directly into Hubspot, I found it cumbersome to deal with data storage limits within Formstack. I would get frequent notices that new responses were not being stored in Formstack and that I needed to upgrade or delete data. I got tired of that.
  • More/easier support for custom fonts would have been a huge plus. We were able to customize the form's appearance, but had to make some concessions in that regard.
Formstack is great for creating lead generation forms since it integrates so well with third party marketing automation platforms. You get more options for your forms than are standard with, say, HubSpot. One of the drawbacks that you need to be aware of is regarding design. If you are very concerned about the forms being able to match very specific branding and typography, you will not get what you need. Custom fonts are possible, but it takes more engineering work than is ideal. If you are a small team or don't have development resources to help you set it up, you're gonna have to compromise on the visuals.
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Formstack to build and embed forms, collect data, register participants for events, and complete internal communications. While we originally started using Formstack specifically to collect data from our volunteers, we quickly saw the potential to implement it organizaton-wide. Before we elected to use Formstack we used some free tools such as Google forms. While that met our basic need we were not able to develop forms that met our branding guidelines. Formstack proved to be a great option for customization.
  • Formstack forms are very easy to build. The User Interface takes merely a few moments to figure out. Truly a drag and drop solution.
  • Advanced features such as logic questions and A/B testing are seamlessly integrated.
  • Their customer service is outstanding.
  • Great admin portal for those managing account.
  • The price point on the upper-tiers is a little high for what you get.
  • Include a live chat feature for customer support.
Formstack is functional, easy to use, and really helps organizations get organized. I find myself referring people to Formstack all of the time, which to me, is a great indicator of how well they address a customers need in their space. If you are looking for a tool that will help you build professional online forms, Formstack should be the first and last place you look.
Steve Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Currently used by the compliance management department, primarily of occupational health and safety documentation and data collection. Utilizing Formstack for these processes creates significant efficiencies in both compliance data collection and processing for industry and regulatory audits. By utilizing digital data collection we are able to push compliance information into the field as well as direct compliance information to relevant stakeholders both internally and externally. This adds value to clients in the management of their own compliance requirements as well as our own internal compliance requirements.
  • Their form builder tool is exceptionally easy to use so form creation and editing is easy to manage.
  • Their data analysis tool is also easy to use and useful for generating compliance data reports
  • They have been very responsive, in the past, to suggestions for improvement as well as in resolving minor issues
  • Their user interface experience for end users is seamless and we rarely experience negative responses from end users
  • Formstack offers a feature to allow for automated reminders to complete required forms on a recurring basis. This feature has not functioned effectively thus far.
  • I would like to see the capacity for hand written note taking in a form field. Other form builders offer this function
Actually, for our purposes, in compliance management, Formstack is extremely well suited, particularly now that they have implemented the ability for offline form submission.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to Formstack the company used PDF paper forms and email. The HR Department began using the system to collect employee information, elections, surveys, etc The result was less errors, easy analysis of information, and ease of submission for our employee population.
  • Form builder is simple and easy to build to suite the needs of the form.
  • Collection of data and analysis of submissions
  • The latest upgrade of the form builder has created some extra time creating forms because placement of fields is not quite as easy.
Collection of information into a database for easy analysis or distribution.
Kow Samman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across our entire university. It is our enterprise form creation and workflow tool used by various departments across the campus to create forms and workflow.
  • Easy & intuitive form builder that allows users to create forms
  • Branding of forms with your company logo
  • Logic within forms to show and hide fields
  • Logic with email triggers to only send notifications when certain answers are filled out in the form
  • Their workflow feature is still half-baked. Lacks enhanced features like logic & ending the workflow mid-step
  • Some of their integrations are outdated and no longer supported so basically useless to our organization: ie.: Zendesk Integration
  • No integration with Active Directory so user management is a pain
It has great features and they continue to add features. Formstack works great for standard forms but has many limitations with workflow forms, the biggest limitation being you can only route forms to Formstack users.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack in all 6 schools and at all levels of Administration. We use it for simple tasks like surveys and minor purchases, to complex forms like a 20-course, logic based summer program. We integrate with Google Drive, Authorize.net and a few other components. Its helped us move off of paper, reduce the need to collect cash, and automate many processes. We use it to build Help Desk tickets, and trigger workflows. We have nearly 300 forms, with approximately half of those active at any given time.
  • Conditional Logic: Formstack beats most form editors when it comes to "if, this, then let that happen"
  • Integrations: Formstack integrates with a ton of third party applications, and if Formstack doesn't directly, then its Zapier integration probably does
  • Embed: while its not the prettiest form output, it does embed nearly anywhere
  • Buggy Updates: Formstack tends to make on-the-fly updates that break features. We run into this about once a year
  • Appearance: the forms are starting to look dated compared to some of the competitors (looking at you, Typeform)
  • Dynamic Data: passing data from one field to another is not-exactly doable
  • Paid Add-Ons: the price for Formstack is already an arm and a leg; the fact that they have additional monthly paid add-ons is frustrating
  • User Limits: user accounts barely do anything outside of 'view/edit' permissions, thus the low volume allocated seems a bit greedy at $10/user/mo for more
Formstack is great at most things in bulk. It supports multiple users, lots of forms, lots of submissions, lots of addons, and lots of lots - you get the point. If you're looking to get a bunch of content off of dated systems, and into an online system/email workflow/crm, etc., Formstack will do just that.

What it won't do - it won't wow the end user with a beautiful form, though you can skin it to look native to your website.

Good for Midsize to Enterprise, doesn't need a programmer: Aside from the semi-complex Wordpress integration, Formstack is really easy to use. Secretary types without coding experience would have no problem building a form and sharing it. Technically minded folk will enjoy the complex conditional logic and the support it provides with third party addons and payment systems.

Bad for small businesses: Formstack's not economical, and with the budget-friendly competition, most small businesses are out. Formstack does a good job at complex integrations and spends a sizeable amount of effort on its paid addons rather than improving its core product, so unless you plan on spending a lot monthly and need a bunch of forms, you probably can look elsewhere (Gravity Forms, Ninja Forms, etc).
The agents in the original group, especially the ones in cahoots with the developers, are really solid and know what they're talking about--I'm looking at you, Collin. The 'Tier 1' support agents that typically reply to the tickets are really spotty. If you have an overly technical question, i.e. bugfix, or describe a feature from a few years back that randomly disappeared, these agents typically will give you what feels like a generic reply and not know what you're talking about.
January 12, 2018

Formstack fits our need

Jim Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization transitioned from Wufoo to Formstack in 2011 because Formstack offered more options for design and integration with our website. We needed to create forms for constituents to make online gifts (using a PayPal integration), to submit requests to receive our publications and announcements, to submit event registrations and general inquiries. We use Formstack to accommodate all of our organization's needs. Formstack has readily addressed our need for web forms for multiple interfaces.
  • Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive
  • The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure.
  • Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.
  • I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.
For our website utilization, Formstack has met all of our needs. Again, we use Formstack to create giving forms, registration forms, subscription forms, etc. Embedding is easy, form creation is easy. We have not had a situation where it hasn't served us.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web production department utilizes FormStack for almost any case where we need an outside web form to be embedded on one of the websites we work with.

We support many different frameworks and CMS solutions. Some of them have nice form solutions built in, and others don't. None of them are very consistent with each other. FormStack solves that, and wherever we have a web platform that doesn't have a good form system, we build out that site's contact forms on FormStack and embed them.
  • Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer.
  • Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic.
  • Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.
  • The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required.
  • You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!).
  • Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.
If you need a generic, embedded solution for forms, where you can keep all of your forms and form responses in one place (Even for multiple clients), FormStack deserves a serious look. If you're comfortable using CSS to help style the forms how you want, then FormStack might just be the ideal solution for you.
October 17, 2017

Fabulous Formstack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used by our whole organization. We use Formstack to handle all of our feedback forms, surveys, and inter-departmental requests. We've tried other survey and form services that could tackle part of our needs but not all of them. Formstack is ideal since it can easily be embedded into our website, integrates with other services we use and has robust email features.
  • Conditional Logic: we haven't found another service that does this quite as well as Formstack.
  • Simplicity/User-Friendly: Incredibly easy to build even the most robust of forms.
  • Embedding.
  • Integrations: Integrates with tons of other services/platforms that keeps our ecosystem running smoothly.
  • Sometimes the form builder is slightly clunky or buggy.
  • Complicated conditional-logic gets hard to follow/troubleshoot.
  • Seems like there is unnecessary feature or design switches that come out of nowhere.
Formstack is very well suited for surveys and feedback forms. We haven't really found a limitation or a place that it isn't appropriate.
Scott Gara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to collect member testimonials after they initially set up a membership account. This is being used in a specific email sequence for new members.
  • Collects data seamlessly and easily
  • Easy to use/understand UI
  • Easy to set up and integrate into our current web design and code
  • Ability to capture video
I think any data collection you are trying to do with Formstack would be well suited for you. I think it does a really great job of being able to organize on the backend in the Formstack platform and the search intent is very good too. There is a ton of information that comes along with every submission down to the IP address of the person submitting so the ability to target your data and understand the consumers who are filling out the forms is unprecedented.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our entire organization. We got it to combat individually coded forms across our portfolio of websites as they are constantly changing. We also were beginning to adopt a number of platforms (marketing & CRM) that we needed to integrate between each other which was natively available with Formstack.
  • Salesforce Integration - it is solid but can become overly complex
  • Approvals - we have many forms that are "applications" and the approvals feature has been ultra helpful
  • Partial Submissions - this is a great tool for our team to follow up on people who don't finish our large applications
  • Reporting - need to have the ability to report across my entire account (ie. export all leads)
Easy to setup
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used on a limited basis to automate workflows for tasks like audit requests, system access removals, etc.
  • Simple workflows/conditional logic
  • Ease of implementing email notifications
  • Cleaner WYSIWYG interface
There are a few situations that we have encountered that required more complicated workflows that were not very intuitive to set up. We instead opted to use Formstack for submission, then moved the workflow to a dedicated tool.