Formstack Forms Reviews

135 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
David Steininger | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Formstacking the deck

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission and everything in between. Formstack has been an integral part of our initiative to migrate many of our forms and applications to the web, which has - among many other things - greatly increased the speed at which we are able to move students through the enrollment process.
  • Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control.
  • The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections.
  • Simple and seamless payment integrations.
  • The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently).
  • Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of
  • The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.
If you have a need for advanced forms with conditional logic and payment integrations, Formstack is a great pick. If you only need a handful of simple contact forms, there are more affordable solutions. Likewise, if you need a much more robust solution with front-end user accounts (to login and complete a form) or bulletproof integrations with an existing CMS, you might want to find a different dedicated enterprise solution. Formstack can fill in a pretty wide space between the two ends of the spectrum.
Read David Steininger's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Better User Experience and Administration, but Sales Process Needs Improvement

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We contracted with Formstack to help us run a large annual survey project that required more ability to build in page and question logic and better reporting and analytics than the free online tool we had previously used. We have discussed rolling out Formstack to our staff generally, but have not done so to this point due to the relative ease of the free online tool we use and the simplicity of most of our surveys.
  • Analytics--being able to track bottlenecks, abandonment, and time to complete.
  • Page and question logic was good.
  • When discussing the scope of engagement, Formstack indicated a partnership with another company that would allow us to aggregate the survey data with our internal data. That partnership was oversold.
  • We were looking for a way to capture data in a table form. They could accommodate a small table, but not a large one, resulting in us having to modify the layout.
There is no question that we gained significant functionality in terms of analytics and page and question logic by choosing Formstack over the free survey tool we had used previously. The feedback from users who had taken the survey was that it was user-friendly and looked much more professional. There were some discussions in the sales phase that did not accurately represent the functionality, and while they were extremely accommodating to our changes based on user experience, and training was phenomenal, it wasn't conveyed at point of contract that the service we were provided as part of that contract was limited to an hour of edits, and that our additional time was at an additional cost. Finally, the fact that they connected us with another software that was supposed to make our data integration easier made it appear that they either didn't understand the scope of our project request or they didn't have a good handle on the other company's capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Ramsay Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2018

Thanks to Formstack!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack as a registration form for individuals taking part in our yoga programs and teacher trainings. We also use it to gather feedback about our programs. It is integrated with our Salesforce org so that we can collect data on program participants as they complete our forms.
  • Formstack is very user friendly for someone without a lot of experience using complex form building products.
  • Formstack integrates easily with Salesforce allowing information to be collected and stored on relevant records.
  • Formstack support responds quickly to any questions or concerns.
  • More support troubleshooting Form Submission Failures/duplicate matching rules.
  • Improved organization structure for storing forms on back-end.
  • Ability to duplicate forms and ensure all rules copy into duplicate.
Great for integration within Salesforce. User friendly. Great customer service support.
Read Ramsay Pierce's full review
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2018

Formstack Gave Us Back the Heart to Our Business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization. We use it to track applications, conferences, and nearly everything internal when it comes to online paperwork.
  • Allows for unique situations. As a school, we don't have the luxury of being cookie cutter. Neither do our forms.
  • Support. If we don't know how to do it, their support team has been very helpful and actually attempts to understand the issue on hand.
  • User friendliness. In our field we have a phrase: "what if you get hit by a bus?" With Formstack, you can "get hit by the bus" and someone else can jump in and still keep things running (this is used as a phrase for illness, not termination).
  • The overall look. I couldn't get it on brand until I used the embed section and had the website take it over.
  • There are times that the integrations haven't worked, and the only way we'd know is when we log in. There is now a field to notify you if this happens, but that does't help us if the third-party is down.
  • I would like to see the unique field and the required field work together better. We want to force someone to select a spot, but have many spots at varying times. If you fill out one section and make the unique spaces required, that shuts down the form - and any remaining, supposed to be unaffected, areas.
I would use it for Admissions, HR, and Administrative purposes. It automates and streamlines processes like no other. However, I would not recommend it for someone unaware of the third party integrations. You can pull a CSV, but that can become burdensome. If you know Google Sheets, you can create a filter to make the data manageable. For someone who knows how to do this, Formstack is wonderful; if you don't, be prepared to feel lost on data until you get the hang of it.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Great way to expand form functionality for marketing automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Formstack as part of our customer onboarding process, so primarily within a product and marketing context. We wanted to survey our new free trial users to segment them and deliver the most relevant training content possible. We embedded a multi-step survey after the free trial signup that branched according to certain high-level responses. This allowed us to better understand who was signing up for our product and how we could help learn our platform.
  • Formstack allowed us to customize the look and feel of our forms to match our branding. It was easy for our engineers to integrate the forms within our onboarding process to deliver a seamless experience.
  • Formstack integrates well with HubSpot, our marketing automation platform of choice.
  • Formstack offered us a lot of flexibility in the types/formats of questions we could deploy (open-ended text, multi-choice, single choice, etc.). This made it easy to get data the way we wanted and facilitated getting that data into HubSpot.
  • Setting up our multi-step form took some getting used to. Some of the branching logic configuration wasn't as intuitive as would be ideal.
  • Since we were pushing data directly into Hubspot, I found it cumbersome to deal with data storage limits within Formstack. I would get frequent notices that new responses were not being stored in Formstack and that I needed to upgrade or delete data. I got tired of that.
  • More/easier support for custom fonts would have been a huge plus. We were able to customize the form's appearance, but had to make some concessions in that regard.
Formstack is great for creating lead generation forms since it integrates so well with third party marketing automation platforms. You get more options for your forms than are standard with, say, HubSpot. One of the drawbacks that you need to be aware of is regarding design. If you are very concerned about the forms being able to match very specific branding and typography, you will not get what you need. Custom fonts are possible, but it takes more engineering work than is ideal. If you are a small team or don't have development resources to help you set it up, you're gonna have to compromise on the visuals.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
Jared Whitley | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2018

Formstack integrations save time!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our organization uses Formstack for inter-departmental and operational forms (forms that need to integrate with multiple systems, forms that are on websites, forms that need to be stood up for repetitive use, etc.) and it handles these forms extremely well. We do, for ease of use and to keep systems clean, use another third-party form creator for departmental use.
  • Integrations with other systems
  • Ability to create forms extremely easily
  • Well laid out dynamic field filters.
  • User based settings (saved lists) that don't effect other users.
  • Proxy in as users (to help fix issues that they have due to permission limitations or departmental integrations)
We use it for Pardot Form Handler integration to allow us full control over the forms. We also have some forms that link to multiple systems for logging and access to data. These work great as it doesn't depend on a third-party app (Zapier/IFTTT) for most of the integrations.
Read Jared Whitley's full review
Kristen Hay | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

We use Formstack every day and we love it!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Formstack for all of our lead capture across our whole website. Since implementing Formstack, we've seen an average lead conversion rate of around 20 - 30% -- and these aren't just any leads, these are warm, marketing qualified leads.

  • I love how easy Formstack is to use.
  • Building forms is a breeze , the support is great, and we love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce to give us quality, high converting lead pages.
  • Formstack has helped us refine and define our lead capture process and following up with qualified prospects has become even easier.
  • This wouldn't be the case for everyone, but we would love to see an integration with our CRM, Nutshell, without using Zapier.
If you're considering Formstack, I would recommend signing on for a free trial first so you can play around in it and see how easy it is to create forms and how your team could use the product most effectively. Feel free to make your own form templates with your brand's colors to really visualize how the forms could look and function.
Read Kristen Hay's full review
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Formstack is a One Stop Shop for all Things Forms!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Formstack to build and embed forms, collect data, register participants for events, and complete internal communications. While we originally started using Formstack specifically to collect data from our volunteers, we quickly saw the potential to implement it organizaton-wide. Before we elected to use Formstack we used some free tools such as Google forms. While that met our basic need we were not able to develop forms that met our branding guidelines. Formstack proved to be a great option for customization.
  • Formstack forms are very easy to build. The User Interface takes merely a few moments to figure out. Truly a drag and drop solution.
  • Advanced features such as logic questions and A/B testing are seamlessly integrated.
  • Their customer service is outstanding.
  • Great admin portal for those managing account.
  • The price point on the upper-tiers is a little high for what you get.
  • Include a live chat feature for customer support.
Formstack is functional, easy to use, and really helps organizations get organized. I find myself referring people to Formstack all of the time, which to me, is a great indicator of how well they address a customers need in their space. If you are looking for a tool that will help you build professional online forms, Formstack should be the first and last place you look.
Read Brandon Wells, MPA's full review
Steve Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Fundamental Shift in Compliance Data Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Currently used by the compliance management department, primarily of occupational health and safety documentation and data collection. Utilizing Formstack for these processes creates significant efficiencies in both compliance data collection and processing for industry and regulatory audits. By utilizing digital data collection we are able to push compliance information into the field as well as direct compliance information to relevant stakeholders both internally and externally. This adds value to clients in the management of their own compliance requirements as well as our own internal compliance requirements.
  • Their form builder tool is exceptionally easy to use so form creation and editing is easy to manage.
  • Their data analysis tool is also easy to use and useful for generating compliance data reports
  • They have been very responsive, in the past, to suggestions for improvement as well as in resolving minor issues
  • Their user interface experience for end users is seamless and we rarely experience negative responses from end users
  • Formstack offers a feature to allow for automated reminders to complete required forms on a recurring basis. This feature has not functioned effectively thus far.
  • I would like to see the capacity for hand written note taking in a form field. Other form builders offer this function
Actually, for our purposes, in compliance management, Formstack is extremely well suited, particularly now that they have implemented the ability for offline form submission.
Read Steve Unruh's full review
Kow Samman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2018

Formstack is great, and keeps getting better. Best form creation tool out there

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across our entire university. It is our enterprise form creation and workflow tool used by various departments across the campus to create forms and workflow.
  • Easy & intuitive form builder that allows users to create forms
  • Branding of forms with your company logo
  • Logic within forms to show and hide fields
  • Logic with email triggers to only send notifications when certain answers are filled out in the form
  • Their workflow feature is still half-baked. Lacks enhanced features like logic & ending the workflow mid-step
  • Some of their integrations are outdated and no longer supported so basically useless to our organization: ie.: Zendesk Integration
  • No integration with Active Directory so user management is a pain
It has great features and they continue to add features. Formstack works great for standard forms but has many limitations with workflow forms, the biggest limitation being you can only route forms to Formstack users.
Read Kow Samman, MBA's full review
Katie Savacool | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2018

Nonconformist love formstack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track memberships, facility use, evaluations, signups for free events, post event surveys, and more. We have 6 departments using it for different things.
  • Creating a database and graphics to communicate information from external sources.
  • Integration in to assorted software.
  • Creation of online forms that is easy and customizable for our programs.
  • It would be great if the name of the field was more customizable and allowed for special formatting without a call out or other minimized things.
If you are looking for a bit more complexity in your form then I prefer Formstack to other programs.
Read Katie Savacool's full review
Laurance J. Specht | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 24, 2018

Formstack needs a refresher

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for a variety of needs where information is required to process requests such as purchasing, IT support and professional development requests. It is used mostly by operations but IT uses it as well. It allows us to keep track of all types of requests easily and provide feedback to users.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to track in the portal
  • Flexible to fit organization needs
  • The interface is not engaging.
  • More features available like the recent addition of Recaptcha
  • Terminology can be confusing
Formstack is a flexible tool for an organization to gather and track data required to support the work your organization does. It is particularly useful in tracking supply and equipment requests, internal work orders and time requests. There are other tools that work better for IT support requests and have a better user interface.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

A versatile and powerful tool for integrating contact forms and surveys into just about anything.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web production department utilizes FormStack for almost any case where we need an outside web form to be embedded on one of the websites we work with.

We support many different frameworks and CMS solutions. Some of them have nice form solutions built in, and others don't. None of them are very consistent with each other. FormStack solves that, and wherever we have a web platform that doesn't have a good form system, we build out that site's contact forms on FormStack and embed them.
  • Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer.
  • Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic.
  • Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.
  • The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required.
  • You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!).
  • Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.
If you need a generic, embedded solution for forms, where you can keep all of your forms and form responses in one place (Even for multiple clients), FormStack deserves a serious look. If you're comfortable using CSS to help style the forms how you want, then FormStack might just be the ideal solution for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Aaron Lucas | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2017

Formstack: A great addition to winning workflows

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not only does Octiv use Formstack ourselves, but we help our clients use Formstack because our software has an integration with Formstack that is extremely valuable. Basically, Octiv focuses on online document generation, collaboration, and sending for signature. Often, our customers want to embed forms into these documents to collect information, so we work with Formstack to help set this integration up for our customers.

  • Formstack is excellent for a simple UX style form. Users will never have trouble navigating these forms or understanding what is needed.
  • Formstack is great for integrating with other solutions companies may use. This makes them a great addition to your overall workflow.
  • The Formstack team is great at helping to provide ideas for how you can use their forms to improve your workflows. They are constantly releasing new features and services along with best practices for using them.
  • From our standpoint, as an integration partner, it would be great to get more functionality out of our test users. We are constantly having to QA how Formstack is working with Octiv and our test users don't have the full functionality as our production user accounts.
  • More reporting flexibility would be great, although it's hard to point to anyone else in this space who is doing it better.
I have seen Formstack add great value to a company's marketing strategy when it comes to gathering information about potential customers. We see a lot of clients who add forms to proposals that they send to clients. We have also seen Formstack add value as a guided selling solution. I have not yet seen any environments where Formstack is not well suited.
Read Aaron Lucas's full review
Charles Leon Thompson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

Formstack makes form creation easy and efficient.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used across the entire organization, i.e., anyone who needs a form can request and get one. We handle event signups, requests for college services, feedback, and general questionnaires. Our users utilize both email to receive submissions but also the database export to further utilize submission data. Others use 3rd party integrations like ZenDesk and Mailchimp.

Formstack essentially replaced our IT department's role of creating custom forms and database solutions, so they can focus on more appropriate and important tasks.
  • Ease of setup - we can create something almost immediately.
  • Conditional logic - enables the shortest form possible to be presented to the user, so forms can be comprehensive, but users only see the fields they need.
  • Themes - allow us to make a form look exactly how we want them to look.
  • Embedding - forms easily embed into our website, making the presentation seamless.
  • Integrations - allow our users to harness submission data in the ways that they need.
  • Sometimes how to integrate with 3rd parties isn't super obvious.
Our Registrar has a request form that has 26 separate scenarios, each with custom notification and confirmation emails. The notification emails go to at least 10 different employees in the Registrar. The ability to have a single form handle vastly different requests, provide both custom info inside of all emails, delivered to the appropriate employees is critical to their success as a department.

Our International Admission department has a pre-app form to capture interested international students as they begin our complex application process. The department is able to help guide them through that process by exporting their names from Formstack and comparing that list to an internal list of incomplete applications. They also integrate the form with Mailchimp to be able to communicate deadlines, important College information, etc.
Read Charles Leon Thompson's full review
Jim Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2018

Formstack fits our need

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization transitioned from Wufoo to Formstack in 2011 because Formstack offered more options for design and integration with our website. We needed to create forms for constituents to make online gifts (using a PayPal integration), to submit requests to receive our publications and announcements, to submit event registrations and general inquiries. We use Formstack to accommodate all of our organization's needs. Formstack has readily addressed our need for web forms for multiple interfaces.
  • Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive
  • The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure.
  • Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.
  • I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.
For our website utilization, Formstack has met all of our needs. Again, we use Formstack to create giving forms, registration forms, subscription forms, etc. Embedding is easy, form creation is easy. We have not had a situation where it hasn't served us.
Read Jim Kramer's full review
Anthony Nijmeh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

TrustRadius readers - Why we use Formstack!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack on behalf of 16 associations that we manage. Uses range from collecting information for awards, volunteering, event RSVP, event registration with payments, small conferences and membership sign up and renewal. Formstack itself is mainly managed by the technology staff who provides other staff access to View/Edit and exporting.
  • We manage several smaller associations who have recurring events. Combining this with Stripe allows us to embed a professional looking form onto an existing website without having to pay for a third party event registration platform.
  • Reusable templates, ability to copy forms, fields and sections allow us to deploy recurring forms quickly and accurately.
  • 3rd party integrations solves many of our problems such as payment gateway (Stripe), coupons and reviews. We use reviews for membership applications which we really find very useful.
  • The logic feature is great but it would be an improvement to allow logic on a per item level with radio buttons, select boxes and check marks.
  • Working with themes can be cumbersome. I also don't think limiting themes is a good idea. It's an essential part of ones toolbox when designing a form. I get frustrated when I'm forced to delete one in order to create a new one.
Formstack is well suited for collecting information for events which require a more complex selection of fields and logic. You won't get this sort of flexibility with standard event registration systems. It's also very well suited for collection nomination information and biography profiles. It might not be well suited in situations where tier pricing and access levels are required.
Read Anthony Nijmeh's full review
Brendan Babish | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 25, 2017

Formstack actually makes formbuilding fun

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across the organization, largely for public-facing uses such as registrations, surveys, email sign-ups etc., but also for internal use, such as work requests.
  • The mobile view is great for end users.
  • 508 compliant, i.e. accesssible for all users.
  • Easy to use, yet still has loads of features and flexibility.
  • Great customer server. Any issue we have is resolved quickly.
  • Confirmation email formatting is a little glitchy.
  • Can't turn off notification emails for form approvers.
  • Can't set up an approval process where either of two people can approve.
Great for an organization with complicated workflows and where forms are viewed on mobile. Also, relatively easy to learn since Formstack has a big knowledge base and helpful webinars. If security is a huge concern, Formstack can be a great solution because they have a HIPAA compliant version.
Read Brendan Babish's full review
Scott Gara | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2017

Great for Customer Data Collection!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to collect member testimonials after they initially set up a membership account. This is being used in a specific email sequence for new members.
  • Collects data seamlessly and easily
  • Easy to use/understand UI
  • Easy to set up and integrate into our current web design and code
  • Ability to capture video
I think any data collection you are trying to do with Formstack would be well suited for you. I think it does a really great job of being able to organize on the backend in the Formstack platform and the search intent is very good too. There is a ton of information that comes along with every submission down to the IP address of the person submitting so the ability to target your data and understand the consumers who are filling out the forms is unprecedented.
Read Scott Gara's full review
Shannon McDonald | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2017

Love me some Formstack!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to collect program registrations for registration that doesn't work in our existing system as well as anytime we need to collect data for one reason or another.
  • Formstack is one of the few form sites we have found that lets you integrate payment into the form with Paypal rather than the user being kicked out to Paypal's website. That is a huge time saver for us, so we don't have to spend time chasing down payments.
  • It is so easy to use. We set a custom template up with our branding and with one click we can drag and drop to make awesome forms!
  • I wish there were some easier ways to set up multiple payment price points.
  • It would be nice if Formstack had some more customized reporting on the forms. When we use them for events, it doesnt make the most user-friendly roster.
Great for capturing data or counts for specific things. Not as easy when we are trying to do a form that we need to capture multiple data points from various attendees in one form.
Read Shannon McDonald's full review
Julie Harding | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2017

Formstack is a great way to generate any form you need.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for every area of ministry in our church, from event registration and payment to online donations. It may be a simple RSVP or signup form, or a complicated, logic-driven event registration. Formstack is easy to use and helps me to be able to craft sign-up forms for every application.
  • The conditional logic built into Formstack helps me craft forms and registrations with multiple options. It's pretty easy to pick up on how to use.
  • Mobile friendly forms that can be used directly in our app is a big plus.
  • The submission stats and charts have been invaluable to me in planning and keeping those in leadership informed.
  • I'd like to see Formstack be able to send each registrant a custom QR code for quick check in.
Formstack is well suited for times when options need to be available for people to choose. I can create a simple form with our online givine/CMS system, but there is no flexibility there in asking for options and especially with conditional logic. We do a music theatre camp each summer and offer optional extra childcare times before and after for a fee. Formstack makes it easy for parents to sign up and select all their options.
Read Julie Harding's full review
Al Depoutot | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 03, 2017

Easy and efficient

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across our whole company to be able to do our business - forms are created and used by each department. It enables us to be more efficient and gives our students a smoother and more user-friendly process. It is one piece that we are using to transition from paper to all electronic.
  • It enables our students to do most of their admission process electronically.
  • It enables future athletes to apply by filling out the appropriate form stack forms and allows us to make an immediate evaluation.
  • It allows my department to keep track of student information electronically.
  • It gives flexibility to be able to create whatever electronic forms are needed.
  • The creation process could be made so that anyone could do it.
  • The use of electronic signatures and the writing of notes.
It has helped my department the best making it easier for us to collect student information and to be able to create the forms we need. It is also helpful with inter-office communication of information that other offices need.
Read Al Depoutot's full review
Ian Burnette | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2017

Formstack - an expensive choice if you use it for as much as we do.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use forms from Formstack to implement applications for pilot testing, as well as for certain lead retrieval tasks that Hubspot is unsuitable for. We also use it as a tool internally to manage group events and to collect information about the team, as well as a type of internal ticketing system for various requests (design, copyediting, etc.)
  • Compatibility with old browsers.
  • Fairly easy to build forms, even for users who haven't been explicitly trained.
  • Versatility in form building styles, which allows us to use it for many different purposes.
  • Integrations with other software platforms, like Hubspot.
  • Managing form designs in Formstack is very difficult, and we've had numerous problems with design/styling.
  • Certain features are missing from the form builder, like "same as above" functionality.
  • The form storage backend is difficult to navigate, and it is difficult to find forms in any way but searching for them.
  • Sometimes features in the form builder require reverting to the old form builder to implement.
For well-funded institutions with a large number of forms needs, Formstack is well-suited for a variety of tasks. However, the styling limitations held us back numerous times and the we've reached the form limit frequently and have had to upgrade our account. For smaller, less well-funded organizations, the cost would quickly get prohibitive if they use it like we do.
Read Ian Burnette's full review
Matt Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 22, 2017

For a small non-profit Formstack is major time saver

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is the technology for our volunteer applications. We have a very long and involved application form and Formstack has the features to allow us to capture all the information that we need. It is also able to present the questions over multiple pages thus allowing the applicant to partially complete and return. Upon submission the application form creates a Lead record in our Salesforce instance, from there we can quickly take them through the selection process.
  • Strong integration with Salesforce - can create multiple records within or across multiple objects
  • Quick to build forms
  • CSS allow small changes to formatting
  • Support are always speedy in their responses
  • Sometimes updates to fields don’t happen and you have to refresh the page and try again
  • Changing field types has unexpected consequences
  • With the Salesforce integration it is not possible to create a record and attach a file in one form submission.
With Formstack and Salesforce together you can automate the sending on emails that contain links to forms with record IDs pre-populated. This way you can automate updates/feedback/surveys from your clients.
Read Matt Morris's full review
Caleb Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Formstack - The ultimate data collection tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack to gather data from our employees and customers. We use it across several departments, including Marketing, Sales, Finance, and HR. Formstack helps us collect important information and funnel it to the right people, organize it for detailed reporting purposes, and make good decisions based on the facts.
  • Formstack has a very robust form-builder that allows multiple field types, conditional logic, and calculations.
  • Formstack has a huge number of supported integrations to get your data where it needs to be.
  • Formstack's database of submissions allows for a lot of detailed reporting to be done on collected data.
  • It can be a little tricky to modify a form's appearance with Themes. This has gotten better with some recent updates, but there are still some issues on the appearance of forms that aren't perfect.
  • It's not always clear what users will see after they submit a form.
  • It would be great if Formstack supported an on page confirmation instead of redirecting to another page once forms are submitted.
We have used Formstack in a variety of ways, but it is extremely helpful for us in our Product Claims Management processes. We've built a very large multi-page form to collect data from our customers if they are having a problem with one of our products. We use a lot of conditional logic, field calculations, and alternate values to get detailed information. We then use Formstack's great integrations to create reports and summaries of the data on the fly that are sent to appropriate people based on the information collected in the form.
Read Caleb Unruh's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (50)
7.7
Themes (54)
7.0
Custom logo/branding (56)
8.6
Changes to live survey (51)
8.8
Question design help (1)
8
Multiple question types (56)
9.1
Survey logic flexibility (56)
8.9
Response tracking (1)
10
Data export (57)
9.2
Standard reports (54)
8.8
Custom reports (46)
7.4
Analytics (1)
10
Access controls (53)
8.2
Compliance (48)
8.7
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (1)
8
Respondent restrictions (1)
8

About Formstack Forms

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Forms Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features

Has featureOnline surveys
Has featureSurvey templates
Has featureSurvey library
Has featureThemes
Has featureCustom logo/branding
Has featureProgression bar
Has featureResponsive design

Survey Content Features

Has featureMultimedia content
Has featureDrag-and-drop editor
Has featureChanges to live survey
Has featureMultiple question types
Has featureMatrix questions
Has featureTranslation/multi-lingual

Survey Logic Features

Has featureSurvey logic flexibility
Has featureResponse requirement/validation
Has featureSkip logic
Has featureConditional questions
Has featureQuestion branching

Survey Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureData export
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureVisualizations

Survey Integrations Features

Has featureCRM Integration
Has featureSocial media integration
Has featureE-commerce integration

Survey Automation Features

Has featureNotifications and alerts
Has featureCalendar/scheduling
Has featureFollow-up emails

Survey Distribution Features

Has featureIn-tool invites
Has featureCross-channel distribution
Has featureEmbeddable surveys
Has feature360 Degree feedback
Has featureAnonymous responses
Has featureUnlimited questions per survey
Has featureUnlimited responses per survey

Survey Administration & Security Features

Has featureMultiple users
Has featureAccess controls
Has featureCompliance

Formstack Forms Screenshots

Formstack Forms Integrations

Act-On Software, Authorize.Net, AWeber, Batchbook, Box, Campaign Monitor, Capsule CRM, Chargify, Constant Contact, Dropbox, Drupal, Dwolla, Emma, First Data - ICICI Merchant Services, FreshBooks, Google Analytics, Google Drive, GoToWebinar, HelpSpot, Highrise, HubSpot, iContact, Mailchimp, OneDrive, Pardot, Pipedrive, Slack, Stripe, Trello, TypePad, WePay, WordPress, Xero, Zapier, Zendesk, BriteVerify, Keap (formerly Infusionsoft), Formstack Documents (formerly WebMerge), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Beanstream, Email Center Pro, Microsoft Excel, Facebook, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Sheets, PayPal, PayPal Payflow, PayPal Pro, QuickBooks, Salesforce, Salesforce Desk, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Twitter

Formstack Forms Competitors

Wufoo, SurveyMonkey, Typeform, JotForm, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm)

Formstack Forms Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Silver$39All Base Features + 5 Users
Gold$99/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + 100 Forms + 10,000 Submissions + 10 Users
Platinum$249/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + Priority Support + 1,000 Forms + 100,000 Submissions + 25 Users
Bronze$19/moAll base features + 1 User

We also offer a variety of Add-on features: Workflows, Conversion Kit, Portals, Approvals

Formstack Forms Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Formstack Forms Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese