Formstack Forms

Formstack Forms

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Formstack Forms

Overview

Recent Reviews

The Formstack Forms Review

7
March 25, 2022
A huge resource to conduct market and customer research. Allows us to get real time and specific responses from our customers. This then …
Read full review

Formstacking the deck

8
October 21, 2019
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission …

Thanks to Formstack!

7
October 15, 2018
We use Formstack as a registration form for individuals taking part in our yoga programs and teacher trainings. We also use it to gather …

Nonconformist love formstack

10
September 25, 2018
We use it to track memberships, facility use, evaluations, signups for free events, post event surveys, and more. We have 6 departments …

Formstack needs a refresher

6
September 24, 2018
We use Formstack for a variety of needs where information is required to process requests such as purchasing, IT support and professional …

Formstack - quick, easy, powerful

8
September 24, 2018
Formstack is integrated into our website and business processes in several ways, and is used by multiple departments. We have order forms …
Read full review

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 16 features

Multiple question types (58)

9.0
90%

Data export (59)

8.5
85%

Survey logic flexibility (58)

8.5
85%

Custom logo/branding (58)

7.0
70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Formstack Forms, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Silver

$59

Cloud
per month

Gold

$99

Cloud
per month

Platinum

$249

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.formstack.com/pricing?utm_s…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Survey Format & Appearance

7.0
70%

Survey Content

8.3
83%

Survey Logic

8.5
85%

Survey Reporting & Analytics

9.1
91%

Survey Administration & Security

7.8
78%

Survey Distribution

8.0
80%

Product Details

What is Formstack Forms?

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Forms Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features

  • Supported: Online surveys
  • Supported: Survey templates
  • Supported: Survey library
  • Supported: Themes
  • Supported: Custom logo/branding
  • Supported: Progression bar
  • Supported: Responsive design

Survey Content Features

  • Supported: Multimedia content
  • Supported: Drag-and-drop editor
  • Supported: Changes to live survey
  • Supported: Multiple question types
  • Supported: Matrix questions
  • Supported: Translation/multi-lingual

Survey Logic Features

  • Supported: Survey logic flexibility
  • Supported: Response requirement/validation
  • Supported: Skip logic
  • Supported: Conditional questions
  • Supported: Question branching

Survey Reporting & Analytics Features

  • Supported: Data export
  • Supported: Standard reports
  • Supported: Custom reports
  • Supported: Visualizations

Survey Integrations Features

  • Supported: CRM Integration
  • Supported: Social media integration
  • Supported: E-commerce integration

Survey Automation Features

  • Supported: Notifications and alerts
  • Supported: Calendar/scheduling
  • Supported: Follow-up emails

Survey Distribution Features

  • Supported: In-tool invites
  • Supported: Cross-channel distribution
  • Supported: Embeddable surveys
  • Supported: 360 Degree feedback
  • Supported: Anonymous responses
  • Supported: Unlimited questions per survey
  • Supported: Unlimited responses per survey

Survey Administration & Security Features

  • Supported: Multiple users
  • Supported: Access controls
  • Supported: Compliance

Formstack Forms Screenshots

Formstack DashboardConversion Kit Add-onPortals Add-onRobust IntegrationsWorkflows FeatureProduct Walkthroughs

Formstack Forms Video

Simplify your data collection with Formstack Forms⎜Formstack

Formstack Forms Downloadables

Formstack Forms Integrations

Formstack Forms Competitors

Formstack Forms Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationMobile Web
Supported CountriesAll
Supported LanguagesAlbanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Formstack Forms?

Formstack is an online form building solution. Its drag-and-drop web form creator gives digital marketers a tool for online data collection and engagement. Users can collect payments and pass form data to popular marketing apps through third-party integrations. With Formstack, users can capture responses, store the information and share it with their teams.

What is Formstack Forms's best feature?

Reviewers rate Multiple question types and Standard reports highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Formstack Forms?

The most common users of Formstack Forms are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Non-profit Organization Management industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (151)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 74)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Shreyas Mecheri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simplified data collection.
  • Clean, attractive, user friendly interface.
  • Data security.
  • Templates to collect info in a form and use for evaluations. I did this through a tedious process manually but can see great use for it.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Analytics--being able to track bottlenecks, abandonment, and time to complete.
  • Page and question logic was good.
  • When discussing the scope of engagement, Formstack indicated a partnership with another company that would allow us to aggregate the survey data with our internal data. That partnership was oversold.
  • We were looking for a way to capture data in a table form. They could accommodate a small table, but not a large one, resulting in us having to modify the layout.
October 21, 2019

Formstacking the deck

David Steininger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control.
  • The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections.
  • Simple and seamless payment integrations.
  • The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently).
  • Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of
  • The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.
October 15, 2018

Thanks to Formstack!

Ramsay Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Formstack is very user friendly for someone without a lot of experience using complex form building products.
  • Formstack integrates easily with Salesforce allowing information to be collected and stored on relevant records.
  • Formstack support responds quickly to any questions or concerns.
  • More support troubleshooting Form Submission Failures/duplicate matching rules.
  • Improved organization structure for storing forms on back-end.
  • Ability to duplicate forms and ensure all rules copy into duplicate.
Katie Savacool | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Creating a database and graphics to communicate information from external sources.
  • Integration in to assorted software.
  • Creation of online forms that is easy and customizable for our programs.
  • It would be great if the name of the field was more customizable and allowed for special formatting without a call out or other minimized things.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The creation of the form was fairly easy, for our application. We just had to copy questions and sections.
  • You can customize all questions/buttons/dates, etc. There was nothing that wasn't customizable.
  • The ability to allow people to pause the survey/form and come back to it using a unique link really helped our chapters with being able to pass the form off to the right person.
  • The export function wasn't user friendly. It might have been user error, but everything exported as one row. There should be different export options.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Formstack is a simple way to create online forms. The interface is intuitive, and the embed codes don't require a high level of HTML or CSS knowledge to use.
  • Formstack is quite versatile and customizable. There are plenty of options to make the forms specific to each task, and the graphics are easy to change.
  • Formstack was selected by one of our geekiest tech guys, and we haven't had cause to complain.
  • I jumped right in as a user on an existing account as a fairly technically savvy user with no training. Most things were pretty easy, but it did take me a while to figure out how to change the template of new forms when I wanted something other than the default.
Patrick Stephens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allows for unique situations. As a school, we don't have the luxury of being cookie cutter. Neither do our forms.
  • Support. If we don't know how to do it, their support team has been very helpful and actually attempts to understand the issue on hand.
  • User friendliness. In our field we have a phrase: "what if you get hit by a bus?" With Formstack, you can "get hit by the bus" and someone else can jump in and still keep things running (this is used as a phrase for illness, not termination).
  • The overall look. I couldn't get it on brand until I used the embed section and had the website take it over.
  • There are times that the integrations haven't worked, and the only way we'd know is when we log in. There is now a field to notify you if this happens, but that does't help us if the third-party is down.
  • I would like to see the unique field and the required field work together better. We want to force someone to select a spot, but have many spots at varying times. If you fill out one section and make the unique spaces required, that shuts down the form - and any remaining, supposed to be unaffected, areas.
Jared Whitley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Integrations with other systems
  • Ability to create forms extremely easily
  • Well laid out dynamic field filters.
  • User based settings (saved lists) that don't effect other users.
  • Proxy in as users (to help fix issues that they have due to permission limitations or departmental integrations)
Kristen Hay | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I love how easy Formstack is to use.
  • Building forms is a breeze , the support is great, and we love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce to give us quality, high converting lead pages.
  • Formstack has helped us refine and define our lead capture process and following up with qualified prospects has become even easier.
  • This wouldn't be the case for everyone, but we would love to see an integration with our CRM, Nutshell, without using Zapier.
Josh Summerhays | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Formstack allowed us to customize the look and feel of our forms to match our branding. It was easy for our engineers to integrate the forms within our onboarding process to deliver a seamless experience.
  • Formstack integrates well with HubSpot, our marketing automation platform of choice.
  • Formstack offered us a lot of flexibility in the types/formats of questions we could deploy (open-ended text, multi-choice, single choice, etc.). This made it easy to get data the way we wanted and facilitated getting that data into HubSpot.
  • Setting up our multi-step form took some getting used to. Some of the branching logic configuration wasn't as intuitive as would be ideal.
  • Since we were pushing data directly into Hubspot, I found it cumbersome to deal with data storage limits within Formstack. I would get frequent notices that new responses were not being stored in Formstack and that I needed to upgrade or delete data. I got tired of that.
  • More/easier support for custom fonts would have been a huge plus. We were able to customize the form's appearance, but had to make some concessions in that regard.
Brandon Wells, MPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Formstack forms are very easy to build. The User Interface takes merely a few moments to figure out. Truly a drag and drop solution.
  • Advanced features such as logic questions and A/B testing are seamlessly integrated.
  • Their customer service is outstanding.
  • Great admin portal for those managing account.
  • The price point on the upper-tiers is a little high for what you get.
  • Include a live chat feature for customer support.
Steve Unruh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
  • Their form builder tool is exceptionally easy to use so form creation and editing is easy to manage.
  • Their data analysis tool is also easy to use and useful for generating compliance data reports
  • They have been very responsive, in the past, to suggestions for improvement as well as in resolving minor issues
  • Their user interface experience for end users is seamless and we rarely experience negative responses from end users
  • Formstack offers a feature to allow for automated reminders to complete required forms on a recurring basis. This feature has not functioned effectively thus far.
  • I would like to see the capacity for hand written note taking in a form field. Other form builders offer this function
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Form builder is simple and easy to build to suite the needs of the form.
  • Collection of data and analysis of submissions
  • The latest upgrade of the form builder has created some extra time creating forms because placement of fields is not quite as easy.
Kow Samman, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy & intuitive form builder that allows users to create forms
  • Branding of forms with your company logo
  • Logic within forms to show and hide fields
  • Logic with email triggers to only send notifications when certain answers are filled out in the form
  • Their workflow feature is still half-baked. Lacks enhanced features like logic & ending the workflow mid-step
  • Some of their integrations are outdated and no longer supported so basically useless to our organization: ie.: Zendesk Integration
  • No integration with Active Directory so user management is a pain
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Conditional Logic: Formstack beats most form editors when it comes to "if, this, then let that happen"
  • Integrations: Formstack integrates with a ton of third party applications, and if Formstack doesn't directly, then its Zapier integration probably does
  • Embed: while its not the prettiest form output, it does embed nearly anywhere
  • Buggy Updates: Formstack tends to make on-the-fly updates that break features. We run into this about once a year
  • Appearance: the forms are starting to look dated compared to some of the competitors (looking at you, Typeform)
  • Dynamic Data: passing data from one field to another is not-exactly doable
  • Paid Add-Ons: the price for Formstack is already an arm and a leg; the fact that they have additional monthly paid add-ons is frustrating
  • User Limits: user accounts barely do anything outside of 'view/edit' permissions, thus the low volume allocated seems a bit greedy at $10/user/mo for more
January 12, 2018

Formstack fits our need

Jim Kramer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive
  • The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure.
  • Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.
  • I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer.
  • Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic.
  • Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.
  • The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required.
  • You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!).
  • Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.
October 17, 2017

Fabulous Formstack

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Conditional Logic: we haven't found another service that does this quite as well as Formstack.
  • Simplicity/User-Friendly: Incredibly easy to build even the most robust of forms.
  • Embedding.
  • Integrations: Integrates with tons of other services/platforms that keeps our ecosystem running smoothly.
  • Sometimes the form builder is slightly clunky or buggy.
  • Complicated conditional-logic gets hard to follow/troubleshoot.
  • Seems like there is unnecessary feature or design switches that come out of nowhere.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Salesforce Integration - it is solid but can become overly complex
  • Approvals - we have many forms that are "applications" and the approvals feature has been ultra helpful
  • Partial Submissions - this is a great tool for our team to follow up on people who don't finish our large applications
  • Reporting - need to have the ability to report across my entire account (ie. export all leads)