TrustRadius
Formstack is an online form building solution. Its drag-and-drop web form creator gives digital marketers a tool for online data collection and engagement. Users can collect payments and pass form data to popular marketing apps through third-party integrations. With Formstack, users can capture responses, store the information and share it with their teams.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/b2/tz/J4SW38UC20X9.JPEGFormstack Gave Us Back the Heart to Our BusinessThe whole organization. We use it to track applications, conferences, and nearly everything internal when it comes to online paperwork.,Allows for unique situations. As a school, we don't have the luxury of being cookie cutter. Neither do our forms. Support. If we don't know how to do it, their support team has been very helpful and actually attempts to understand the issue on hand. User friendliness. In our field we have a phrase: "what if you get hit by a bus?" With Formstack, you can "get hit by the bus" and someone else can jump in and still keep things running (this is used as a phrase for illness, not termination).,The overall look. I couldn't get it on brand until I used the embed section and had the website take it over. There are times that the integrations haven't worked, and the only way we'd know is when we log in. There is now a field to notify you if this happens, but that does't help us if the third-party is down. I would like to see the unique field and the required field work together better. We want to force someone to select a spot, but have many spots at varying times. If you fill out one section and make the unique spaces required, that shuts down the form - and any remaining, supposed to be unaffected, areas.,9,It has increased efficiency tenfold. Our employees can work on the heart of the business, and not need concern themselves with what the kidneys or spleen is doing because they are working just fine. Increasing efficiency has increased the amount of time we spend on other projects. But, it has also created a reliance on technology. This can come back to bite you if someone doesn't know what they are doing, or is computer illiterate. Ultimately, it created an environment where we could move forward. The ROI is uncalculable because it has returned more time to us in such a valuable way that we can't even fathom going back. If Formstack closed tomorrow, we would be sad; however, it has taught us to understand where the most important part of our business lies.,Google Forms, Typeform, SurveyMonkey and Wufoo,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research Studies,DocuSign, WebMerge, iContact, MailChimp, Google Ad Manager, Google Analytics, SquarespaceGreat way to expand form functionality for marketing automationWe used Formstack as part of our customer onboarding process, so primarily within a product and marketing context. We wanted to survey our new free trial users to segment them and deliver the most relevant training content possible. We embedded a multi-step survey after the free trial signup that branched according to certain high-level responses. This allowed us to better understand who was signing up for our product and how we could help learn our platform.,Formstack allowed us to customize the look and feel of our forms to match our branding. It was easy for our engineers to integrate the forms within our onboarding process to deliver a seamless experience. Formstack integrates well with HubSpot, our marketing automation platform of choice. Formstack offered us a lot of flexibility in the types/formats of questions we could deploy (open-ended text, multi-choice, single choice, etc.). This made it easy to get data the way we wanted and facilitated getting that data into HubSpot.,Setting up our multi-step form took some getting used to. Some of the branching logic configuration wasn't as intuitive as would be ideal. Since we were pushing data directly into Hubspot, I found it cumbersome to deal with data storage limits within Formstack. I would get frequent notices that new responses were not being stored in Formstack and that I needed to upgrade or delete data. I got tired of that. More/easier support for custom fonts would have been a huge plus. We were able to customize the form's appearance, but had to make some concessions in that regard.,8,HubSpot,10,This wasn't a particular point of emphasis for me, though our engineers were highly concerned with maintaining PCI compliance and data security. We had no concerns with Formstack's ability to maintain data security.,Customer SurveysFormstack integrations save time!Most of our organization uses Formstack for inter-departmental and operational forms (forms that need to integrate with multiple systems, forms that are on websites, forms that need to be stood up for repetitive use, etc.) and it handles these forms extremely well. We do, for ease of use and to keep systems clean, use another third-party form creator for departmental use.,Integrations with other systems Ability to create forms extremely easily Well laid out dynamic field filters.,User based settings (saved lists) that don't effect other users. Proxy in as users (to help fix issues that they have due to permission limitations or departmental integrations),9,10,We have been able to integrate Formstack with internal systems as well to allow us to control what fields end-users see while collecting all information in one single spot for the form submitter.,Customer Surveys Research Studies,Pardot Google Drive/DocsWe use Formstack every day and we love it!We use Formstack for all of our lead capture across our whole website. Since implementing Formstack, we've seen an average lead conversion rate of around 20 - 30% -- and these aren't just any leads, these are warm, marketing qualified leads.,I love how easy Formstack is to use. Building forms is a breeze , the support is great, and we love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce to give us quality, high converting lead pages. Formstack has helped us refine and define our lead capture process and following up with qualified prospects has become even easier.,This wouldn't be the case for everyone, but we would love to see an integration with our CRM, Nutshell, without using Zapier.,9,Unbounce MailChimp,9,We don't need to worry about HIPPA, but Formstack has been great helping us set up double opt-in to remain compliant with the recent GDPR changes.,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysFormstack is a One Stop Shop for all Things Forms!We currently utilize Formstack to build and embed forms, collect data, register participants for events, and complete internal communications. While we originally started using Formstack specifically to collect data from our volunteers, we quickly saw the potential to implement it organizaton-wide. Before we elected to use Formstack we used some free tools such as Google forms. While that met our basic need we were not able to develop forms that met our branding guidelines. Formstack proved to be a great option for customization.,Formstack forms are very easy to build. The User Interface takes merely a few moments to figure out. Truly a drag and drop solution. Advanced features such as logic questions and A/B testing are seamlessly integrated. Their customer service is outstanding. Great admin portal for those managing account.,The price point on the upper-tiers is a little high for what you get. Include a live chat feature for customer support.,9,Slack,7,Compliance is not a major issue for us other than FERPA. We work in the higher education space and Formstack's system of data management more than keeps us in compliance. Personally, I have never had any concerns with Formstack storing our member's information. I trust their team implicitly to keep that information safe.,Employee Surveys Customer Surveys Research Studies
Unspecified
Formstack
126 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Formstack Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Formstack
126 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 126 vetted Formstack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 72)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Patrick Stephens profile photo
September 10, 2018

Review: "Formstack Gave Us Back the Heart to Our Business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization. We use it to track applications, conferences, and nearly everything internal when it comes to online paperwork.
  • Allows for unique situations. As a school, we don't have the luxury of being cookie cutter. Neither do our forms.
  • Support. If we don't know how to do it, their support team has been very helpful and actually attempts to understand the issue on hand.
  • User friendliness. In our field we have a phrase: "what if you get hit by a bus?" With Formstack, you can "get hit by the bus" and someone else can jump in and still keep things running (this is used as a phrase for illness, not termination).
  • The overall look. I couldn't get it on brand until I used the embed section and had the website take it over.
  • There are times that the integrations haven't worked, and the only way we'd know is when we log in. There is now a field to notify you if this happens, but that does't help us if the third-party is down.
  • I would like to see the unique field and the required field work together better. We want to force someone to select a spot, but have many spots at varying times. If you fill out one section and make the unique spaces required, that shuts down the form - and any remaining, supposed to be unaffected, areas.
I would use it for Admissions, HR, and Administrative purposes. It automates and streamlines processes like no other. However, I would not recommend it for someone unaware of the third party integrations. You can pull a CSV, but that can become burdensome. If you know Google Sheets, you can create a filter to make the data manageable. For someone who knows how to do this, Formstack is wonderful; if you don't, be prepared to feel lost on data until you get the hang of it.
Read Patrick Stephens's full review
Josh Summerhays profile photo
September 05, 2018

Formstack Review: "Great way to expand form functionality for marketing automation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Formstack as part of our customer onboarding process, so primarily within a product and marketing context. We wanted to survey our new free trial users to segment them and deliver the most relevant training content possible. We embedded a multi-step survey after the free trial signup that branched according to certain high-level responses. This allowed us to better understand who was signing up for our product and how we could help learn our platform.
  • Formstack allowed us to customize the look and feel of our forms to match our branding. It was easy for our engineers to integrate the forms within our onboarding process to deliver a seamless experience.
  • Formstack integrates well with HubSpot, our marketing automation platform of choice.
  • Formstack offered us a lot of flexibility in the types/formats of questions we could deploy (open-ended text, multi-choice, single choice, etc.). This made it easy to get data the way we wanted and facilitated getting that data into HubSpot.
  • Setting up our multi-step form took some getting used to. Some of the branching logic configuration wasn't as intuitive as would be ideal.
  • Since we were pushing data directly into Hubspot, I found it cumbersome to deal with data storage limits within Formstack. I would get frequent notices that new responses were not being stored in Formstack and that I needed to upgrade or delete data. I got tired of that.
  • More/easier support for custom fonts would have been a huge plus. We were able to customize the form's appearance, but had to make some concessions in that regard.
Formstack is great for creating lead generation forms since it integrates so well with third party marketing automation platforms. You get more options for your forms than are standard with, say, HubSpot. One of the drawbacks that you need to be aware of is regarding design. If you are very concerned about the forms being able to match very specific branding and typography, you will not get what you need. Custom fonts are possible, but it takes more engineering work than is ideal. If you are a small team or don't have development resources to help you set it up, you're gonna have to compromise on the visuals.
Read Josh Summerhays's full review
Jared Whitley profile photo
September 06, 2018

User Review: "Formstack integrations save time!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our organization uses Formstack for inter-departmental and operational forms (forms that need to integrate with multiple systems, forms that are on websites, forms that need to be stood up for repetitive use, etc.) and it handles these forms extremely well. We do, for ease of use and to keep systems clean, use another third-party form creator for departmental use.
  • Integrations with other systems
  • Ability to create forms extremely easily
  • Well laid out dynamic field filters.
  • User based settings (saved lists) that don't effect other users.
  • Proxy in as users (to help fix issues that they have due to permission limitations or departmental integrations)
We use it for Pardot Form Handler integration to allow us full control over the forms. We also have some forms that link to multiple systems for logging and access to data. These work great as it doesn't depend on a third-party app (Zapier/IFTTT) for most of the integrations.
Read Jared Whitley's full review
Kristen Hay profile photo
September 05, 2018

Review: "We use Formstack every day and we love it!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Formstack for all of our lead capture across our whole website. Since implementing Formstack, we've seen an average lead conversion rate of around 20 - 30% -- and these aren't just any leads, these are warm, marketing qualified leads.

  • I love how easy Formstack is to use.
  • Building forms is a breeze , the support is great, and we love that it integrates seamlessly with Unbounce to give us quality, high converting lead pages.
  • Formstack has helped us refine and define our lead capture process and following up with qualified prospects has become even easier.
  • This wouldn't be the case for everyone, but we would love to see an integration with our CRM, Nutshell, without using Zapier.
If you're considering Formstack, I would recommend signing on for a free trial first so you can play around in it and see how easy it is to create forms and how your team could use the product most effectively. Feel free to make your own form templates with your brand's colors to really visualize how the forms could look and function.
Read Kristen Hay's full review
Brandon Wells, MPA profile photo
September 05, 2018

Review: "Formstack is a One Stop Shop for all Things Forms!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently utilize Formstack to build and embed forms, collect data, register participants for events, and complete internal communications. While we originally started using Formstack specifically to collect data from our volunteers, we quickly saw the potential to implement it organizaton-wide. Before we elected to use Formstack we used some free tools such as Google forms. While that met our basic need we were not able to develop forms that met our branding guidelines. Formstack proved to be a great option for customization.
  • Formstack forms are very easy to build. The User Interface takes merely a few moments to figure out. Truly a drag and drop solution.
  • Advanced features such as logic questions and A/B testing are seamlessly integrated.
  • Their customer service is outstanding.
  • Great admin portal for those managing account.
  • The price point on the upper-tiers is a little high for what you get.
  • Include a live chat feature for customer support.
Formstack is functional, easy to use, and really helps organizations get organized. I find myself referring people to Formstack all of the time, which to me, is a great indicator of how well they address a customers need in their space. If you are looking for a tool that will help you build professional online forms, Formstack should be the first and last place you look.
Read Brandon Wells, MPA's full review
Steve Unruh profile photo
September 05, 2018

Formstack Review: "Fundamental Shift in Compliance Data Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Currently used by the compliance management department, primarily of occupational health and safety documentation and data collection. Utilizing Formstack for these processes creates significant efficiencies in both compliance data collection and processing for industry and regulatory audits. By utilizing digital data collection we are able to push compliance information into the field as well as direct compliance information to relevant stakeholders both internally and externally. This adds value to clients in the management of their own compliance requirements as well as our own internal compliance requirements.
  • Their form builder tool is exceptionally easy to use so form creation and editing is easy to manage.
  • Their data analysis tool is also easy to use and useful for generating compliance data reports
  • They have been very responsive, in the past, to suggestions for improvement as well as in resolving minor issues
  • Their user interface experience for end users is seamless and we rarely experience negative responses from end users
  • Formstack offers a feature to allow for automated reminders to complete required forms on a recurring basis. This feature has not functioned effectively thus far.
  • I would like to see the capacity for hand written note taking in a form field. Other form builders offer this function
Actually, for our purposes, in compliance management, Formstack is extremely well suited, particularly now that they have implemented the ability for offline form submission.
Read Steve Unruh's full review
Ramsay Pierce profile photo
October 15, 2018

User Review: "Thanks to Formstack!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack as a registration form for individuals taking part in our yoga programs and teacher trainings. We also use it to gather feedback about our programs. It is integrated with our Salesforce org so that we can collect data on program participants as they complete our forms.
  • Formstack is very user friendly for someone without a lot of experience using complex form building products.
  • Formstack integrates easily with Salesforce allowing information to be collected and stored on relevant records.
  • Formstack support responds quickly to any questions or concerns.
  • More support troubleshooting Form Submission Failures/duplicate matching rules.
  • Improved organization structure for storing forms on back-end.
  • Ability to duplicate forms and ensure all rules copy into duplicate.
Great for integration within Salesforce. User friendly. Great customer service support.
Read Ramsay Pierce's full review
Katie Savacool profile photo
September 25, 2018

User Review: "Nonconformist love formstack"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to track memberships, facility use, evaluations, signups for free events, post event surveys, and more. We have 6 departments using it for different things.
  • Creating a database and graphics to communicate information from external sources.
  • Integration in to assorted software.
  • Creation of online forms that is easy and customizable for our programs.
  • It would be great if the name of the field was more customizable and allowed for special formatting without a call out or other minimized things.
If you are looking for a bit more complexity in your form then I prefer Formstack to other programs.
Read Katie Savacool's full review
Laurance J. Specht profile photo
September 24, 2018

User Review: "Formstack needs a refresher"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for a variety of needs where information is required to process requests such as purchasing, IT support and professional development requests. It is used mostly by operations but IT uses it as well. It allows us to keep track of all types of requests easily and provide feedback to users.
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to track in the portal
  • Flexible to fit organization needs
  • The interface is not engaging.
  • More features available like the recent addition of Recaptcha
  • Terminology can be confusing
Formstack is a flexible tool for an organization to gather and track data required to support the work your organization does. It is particularly useful in tracking supply and equipment requests, internal work orders and time requests. There are other tools that work better for IT support requests and have a better user interface.
Read Laurance J. Specht's full review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

User Review: "Formstack - quick, easy, powerful"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is integrated into our website and business processes in several ways, and is used by multiple departments. We have order forms that, when submitted, go to accounting, the warehouse, and the relevant department. We also have event RSVP forms, and forms that facilitate internal organization - access requests, list sign-ups, and the like.
  • Formstack is a simple way to create online forms. The interface is intuitive, and the embed codes don't require a high level of HTML or CSS knowledge to use.
  • Formstack is quite versatile and customizable. There are plenty of options to make the forms specific to each task, and the graphics are easy to change.
  • Formstack was selected by one of our geekiest tech guys, and we haven't had cause to complain.
  • I jumped right in as a user on an existing account as a fairly technically savvy user with no training. Most things were pretty easy, but it did take me a while to figure out how to change the template of new forms when I wanted something other than the default.
Formstack makes it easy to create a variety of forms. I have used it for event interest and registrations, email list sign-ups, and surveys. I have found it easy to customize, and easy to export data for import into other systems (e.g., CRM).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Review: "Formstack: Easily Build Complicated Forms"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack in all 6 schools and at all levels of Administration. We use it for simple tasks like surveys and minor purchases, to complex forms like a 20-course, logic based summer program. We integrate with Google Drive, Authorize.net and a few other components. Its helped us move off of paper, reduce the need to collect cash, and automate many processes. We use it to build Help Desk tickets, and trigger workflows. We have nearly 300 forms, with approximately half of those active at any given time.
  • Conditional Logic: Formstack beats most form editors when it comes to "if, this, then let that happen"
  • Integrations: Formstack integrates with a ton of third party applications, and if Formstack doesn't directly, then its Zapier integration probably does
  • Embed: while its not the prettiest form output, it does embed nearly anywhere
  • Buggy Updates: Formstack tends to make on-the-fly updates that break features. We run into this about once a year
  • Appearance: the forms are starting to look dated compared to some of the competitors (looking at you, Typeform)
  • Dynamic Data: passing data from one field to another is not-exactly doable
  • Paid Add-Ons: the price for Formstack is already an arm and a leg; the fact that they have additional monthly paid add-ons is frustrating
  • User Limits: user accounts barely do anything outside of 'view/edit' permissions, thus the low volume allocated seems a bit greedy at $10/user/mo for more
Formstack is great at most things in bulk. It supports multiple users, lots of forms, lots of submissions, lots of addons, and lots of lots - you get the point. If you're looking to get a bunch of content off of dated systems, and into an online system/email workflow/crm, etc., Formstack will do just that.

What it won't do - it won't wow the end user with a beautiful form, though you can skin it to look native to your website.

Good for Midsize to Enterprise, doesn't need a programmer: Aside from the semi-complex Wordpress integration, Formstack is really easy to use. Secretary types without coding experience would have no problem building a form and sharing it. Technically minded folk will enjoy the complex conditional logic and the support it provides with third party addons and payment systems.

Bad for small businesses: Formstack's not economical, and with the budget-friendly competition, most small businesses are out. Formstack does a good job at complex integrations and spends a sizeable amount of effort on its paid addons rather than improving its core product, so unless you plan on spending a lot monthly and need a bunch of forms, you probably can look elsewhere (Gravity Forms, Ninja Forms, etc).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 24, 2018

Review: "Formstack allowed us to complete our reports months ahead of schedule."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Formstack only in the Chapter Services department but, other departments had interest in it. The Chapter Services department used the software to make annual reporting easier for our chapters. In the past, chapters had to submit a detailed Word document for all their educational events for the fiscal year. Our organization then took months compiling the information (copy and paste, some typing) into a pretty, compiled, format that we distributed to all chapters.

With Formstack, we were able to create an online form that kept all the data together, and accessible via an export. The creation of the form was fairly easy, for our application. We just had to copy questions and sections, since all questions for each educational event were the same.

The only negative was the way the export pull, it pulled as one row. So, a staff member had to break the row down into multiple rows (one for every event). This might have been user error/oversight.
  • The creation of the form was fairly easy, for our application. We just had to copy questions and sections.
  • You can customize all questions/buttons/dates, etc. There was nothing that wasn't customizable.
  • The ability to allow people to pause the survey/form and come back to it using a unique link really helped our chapters with being able to pass the form off to the right person.
  • The export function wasn't user friendly. It might have been user error, but everything exported as one row. There should be different export options.
If you are wasting your time with Word documents, Excel sheets, or simply have to create a more inviting form for your clients or members, this will work. Our CFO and Marketing team inquired about using this for their department reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

User Review: "Formstack, Amazing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is currently being used by the entire Human Resources department. It addresses the main problems of data management. It is great for collecting and organizing data and exporting documents into different formats. It really allows us to customize and create forms without using all of the analytics that you would need to do so today. This makes ita very user-friendly tool for the entire department.
  • This tool is mobile friendly and so you can access items on the go which is a huge plus for such a large organization.
  • Altering and creating forms
  • The support team is very responsive and always ready to help answer questions.
  • Sometimes I wish there were additional formatting options available to customize our forms.
  • The user platform can get glitchy at times so sometimes we need to reload and lose our current templates in the process.
  • Integration of existing data could be easier to do and more seamless.
A lot of scenarios make this tool an excellent one for our organization. Collecting payments has been easier and being able to provide links right away to fill out forms of all types that employees and clients can access from their phone, computer or one of our team's computers. This makes it so mobile friendly and user-friendly for all employee types. Once you get the swing of things, it will save a ton of time. A team with many integrated systems will also find this tool excellent and efficient.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Review: "Formstack - A lifesaver for student service operations!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across our entire organization as our online forms solution. It is heavily used by enrollment services and has replaced all paper forms that were previously in use. The approval functionality makes it easy for us to distribute completed forms to the proper approvers and allows final approvers the opportunity to review all decisions made. Very helpful and efficient!
  • Intuitive and simple forms editor.
  • Approval process works really well in our environment.
  • Integration into website is seamless.
  • Formatting within the editor can sometimes be a challenge.
Works beautifully within a student services environment as a forms solution. Allows for creativity on use and has been instrumental in data collection from students.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Review: "Formstack is great, and keeps getting better. Best form creation tool out there"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across our entire university. It is our enterprise form creation and workflow tool used by various departments across the campus to create forms and workflow.
  • Easy & intuitive form builder that allows users to create forms
  • Branding of forms with your company logo
  • Logic within forms to show and hide fields
  • Logic with email triggers to only send notifications when certain answers are filled out in the form
  • Their workflow feature is still half-baked. Lacks enhanced features like logic & ending the workflow mid-step
  • Some of their integrations are outdated and no longer supported so basically useless to our organization: ie.: Zendesk Integration
  • No integration with Active Directory so user management is a pain
It has great features and they continue to add features. Formstack works great for standard forms but has many limitations with workflow forms, the biggest limitation being you can only route forms to Formstack users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

Formstack Review: "Simple Employee Collection Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to Formstack the company used PDF paper forms and email. The HR Department began using the system to collect employee information, elections, surveys, etc The result was less errors, easy analysis of information, and ease of submission for our employee population.
  • Form builder is simple and easy to build to suite the needs of the form.
  • Collection of data and analysis of submissions
  • The latest upgrade of the form builder has created some extra time creating forms because placement of fields is not quite as easy.
Collection of information into a database for easy analysis or distribution.
Read this authenticated review
Jim Kramer profile photo
January 12, 2018

User Review: "Formstack fits our need"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization transitioned from Wufoo to Formstack in 2011 because Formstack offered more options for design and integration with our website. We needed to create forms for constituents to make online gifts (using a PayPal integration), to submit requests to receive our publications and announcements, to submit event registrations and general inquiries. We use Formstack to accommodate all of our organization's needs. Formstack has readily addressed our need for web forms for multiple interfaces.
  • Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive
  • The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure.
  • Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.
  • I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.
For our website utilization, Formstack has met all of our needs. Again, we use Formstack to create giving forms, registration forms, subscription forms, etc. Embedding is easy, form creation is easy. We have not had a situation where it hasn't served us.
Read Jim Kramer's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
November 03, 2017

Formstack: "A versatile and powerful tool for integrating contact forms and surveys into just about anything."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web production department utilizes FormStack for almost any case where we need an outside web form to be embedded on one of the websites we work with.

We support many different frameworks and CMS solutions. Some of them have nice form solutions built in, and others don't. None of them are very consistent with each other. FormStack solves that, and wherever we have a web platform that doesn't have a good form system, we build out that site's contact forms on FormStack and embed them.
  • Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer.
  • Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic.
  • Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.
  • The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required.
  • You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!).
  • Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.
If you need a generic, embedded solution for forms, where you can keep all of your forms and form responses in one place (Even for multiple clients), FormStack deserves a serious look. If you're comfortable using CSS to help style the forms how you want, then FormStack might just be the ideal solution for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
David Steininger profile photo
October 04, 2017

User Review: "Formstacking the deck"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission and everything in between. Formstack has been an integral part of our initiative to migrate many of our forms and applications to the web, which has - among many other things - greatly increased the speed at which we are able to move students through the enrollment process.
  • Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control.
  • The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections.
  • Simple and seamless payment integrations.
  • The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently).
  • Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of
  • The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.
If you have a need for advanced forms with conditional logic and payment integrations, Formstack is a great pick. If you only need a handful of simple contact forms, there are more affordable solutions. Likewise, if you need a much more robust solution with front-end user accounts (to login and complete a form) or bulletproof integrations with an existing CMS, you might want to find a different dedicated enterprise solution. Formstack can fill in a pretty wide space between the two ends of the spectrum.
Read David Steininger's full review
Aaron Lucas profile photo
September 25, 2017

Review: "Formstack: A great addition to winning workflows"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not only does Octiv use Formstack ourselves, but we help our clients use Formstack because our software has an integration with Formstack that is extremely valuable. Basically, Octiv focuses on online document generation, collaboration, and sending for signature. Often, our customers want to embed forms into these documents to collect information, so we work with Formstack to help set this integration up for our customers.

  • Formstack is excellent for a simple UX style form. Users will never have trouble navigating these forms or understanding what is needed.
  • Formstack is great for integrating with other solutions companies may use. This makes them a great addition to your overall workflow.
  • The Formstack team is great at helping to provide ideas for how you can use their forms to improve your workflows. They are constantly releasing new features and services along with best practices for using them.
  • From our standpoint, as an integration partner, it would be great to get more functionality out of our test users. We are constantly having to QA how Formstack is working with Octiv and our test users don't have the full functionality as our production user accounts.
  • More reporting flexibility would be great, although it's hard to point to anyone else in this space who is doing it better.
I have seen Formstack add great value to a company's marketing strategy when it comes to gathering information about potential customers. We see a lot of clients who add forms to proposals that they send to clients. We have also seen Formstack add value as a guided selling solution. I have not yet seen any environments where Formstack is not well suited.
Read Aaron Lucas's full review
Charles Leon Thompson profile photo
September 19, 2017

Review: "Formstack makes form creation easy and efficient."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used across the entire organization, i.e., anyone who needs a form can request and get one. We handle event signups, requests for college services, feedback, and general questionnaires. Our users utilize both email to receive submissions but also the database export to further utilize submission data. Others use 3rd party integrations like ZenDesk and Mailchimp.

Formstack essentially replaced our IT department's role of creating custom forms and database solutions, so they can focus on more appropriate and important tasks.
  • Ease of setup - we can create something almost immediately.
  • Conditional logic - enables the shortest form possible to be presented to the user, so forms can be comprehensive, but users only see the fields they need.
  • Themes - allow us to make a form look exactly how we want them to look.
  • Embedding - forms easily embed into our website, making the presentation seamless.
  • Integrations - allow our users to harness submission data in the ways that they need.
  • Sometimes how to integrate with 3rd parties isn't super obvious.
Our Registrar has a request form that has 26 separate scenarios, each with custom notification and confirmation emails. The notification emails go to at least 10 different employees in the Registrar. The ability to have a single form handle vastly different requests, provide both custom info inside of all emails, delivered to the appropriate employees is critical to their success as a department.

Our International Admission department has a pre-app form to capture interested international students as they begin our complex application process. The department is able to help guide them through that process by exporting their names from Formstack and comparing that list to an internal list of incomplete applications. They also integrate the form with Mailchimp to be able to communicate deadlines, important College information, etc.
Read Charles Leon Thompson's full review
Anthony Nijmeh profile photo
September 12, 2017

Review: "TrustRadius readers - Why we use Formstack!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack on behalf of 16 associations that we manage. Uses range from collecting information for awards, volunteering, event RSVP, event registration with payments, small conferences and membership sign up and renewal. Formstack itself is mainly managed by the technology staff who provides other staff access to View/Edit and exporting.
  • We manage several smaller associations who have recurring events. Combining this with Stripe allows us to embed a professional looking form onto an existing website without having to pay for a third party event registration platform.
  • Reusable templates, ability to copy forms, fields and sections allow us to deploy recurring forms quickly and accurately.
  • 3rd party integrations solves many of our problems such as payment gateway (Stripe), coupons and reviews. We use reviews for membership applications which we really find very useful.
  • The logic feature is great but it would be an improvement to allow logic on a per item level with radio buttons, select boxes and check marks.
  • Working with themes can be cumbersome. I also don't think limiting themes is a good idea. It's an essential part of ones toolbox when designing a form. I get frustrated when I'm forced to delete one in order to create a new one.
Formstack is well suited for collecting information for events which require a more complex selection of fields and logic. You won't get this sort of flexibility with standard event registration systems. It's also very well suited for collection nomination information and biography profiles. It might not be well suited in situations where tier pricing and access levels are required.
Read Anthony Nijmeh's full review
Brendan Babish profile photo
August 25, 2017

Review: "Formstack actually makes formbuilding fun"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across the organization, largely for public-facing uses such as registrations, surveys, email sign-ups etc., but also for internal use, such as work requests.
  • The mobile view is great for end users.
  • 508 compliant, i.e. accesssible for all users.
  • Easy to use, yet still has loads of features and flexibility.
  • Great customer server. Any issue we have is resolved quickly.
  • Confirmation email formatting is a little glitchy.
  • Can't turn off notification emails for form approvers.
  • Can't set up an approval process where either of two people can approve.
Great for an organization with complicated workflows and where forms are viewed on mobile. Also, relatively easy to learn since Formstack has a big knowledge base and helpful webinars. If security is a huge concern, Formstack can be a great solution because they have a HIPAA compliant version.
Read Brendan Babish's full review
Scott Gara profile photo
October 11, 2017

Formstack Review: "Great for Customer Data Collection!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to collect member testimonials after they initially set up a membership account. This is being used in a specific email sequence for new members.
  • Collects data seamlessly and easily
  • Easy to use/understand UI
  • Easy to set up and integrate into our current web design and code
  • Ability to capture video
I think any data collection you are trying to do with Formstack would be well suited for you. I think it does a really great job of being able to organize on the backend in the Formstack platform and the search intent is very good too. There is a ton of information that comes along with every submission down to the IP address of the person submitting so the ability to target your data and understand the consumers who are filling out the forms is unprecedented.
Read Scott Gara's full review
Shannon McDonald profile photo
October 06, 2017

User Review: "Love me some Formstack!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to collect program registrations for registration that doesn't work in our existing system as well as anytime we need to collect data for one reason or another.
  • Formstack is one of the few form sites we have found that lets you integrate payment into the form with Paypal rather than the user being kicked out to Paypal's website. That is a huge time saver for us, so we don't have to spend time chasing down payments.
  • It is so easy to use. We set a custom template up with our branding and with one click we can drag and drop to make awesome forms!
  • I wish there were some easier ways to set up multiple payment price points.
  • It would be nice if Formstack had some more customized reporting on the forms. When we use them for events, it doesnt make the most user-friendly roster.
Great for capturing data or counts for specific things. Not as easy when we are trying to do a form that we need to capture multiple data points from various attendees in one form.
Read Shannon McDonald's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (51)
7.8
Themes (55)
7.1
Custom logo/branding (56)
7.7
Changes to live survey (51)
8.5
Question design help (1)
8
Multiple question types (55)
8.6
Survey logic flexibility (55)
8.2
Response tracking (1)
10
Data export (57)
8.4
Standard reports (54)
7.8
Custom reports (47)
7.2
Analytics (1)
10
Access controls (53)
8.2
Compliance (47)
8.5
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (1)
8
Respondent restrictions (1)
8

About Formstack

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features
Has featureOnline surveys
Does not have featurePaper surveys
Does not have featurePhone surveys
Has featureSurvey templates
Has featureSurvey library
Has featureThemes
Has featureCustom logo/branding
Does not have featureSingle page survey
Has featureProgression bar
Has featureResponsive design
Survey Content Features
Has featureMultimedia content
Has featureDrag-and-drop editor
Has featureChanges to live survey
Does not have featureQuestion bank
Does not have featureQuestion design help
Has featureMultiple question types
Has featureMatrix questions
Has featureTranslation/multi-lingual
Survey Logic Features
Has featureSurvey logic flexibility
Has featureResponse requirement/validation
Has featureSkip logic
Has featureConditional questions
Has featureQuestion branching
Does not have featurePiping logic
Does not have featureRandomization
Survey Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureResponse tracking
Has featureData export
Does not have featureReal-time results
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureVisualizations
Does not have featureAnalytics
Survey Integrations Features
Has featureCRM Integration
Has featureSocial media integration
Has featureE-commerce integration
Does not have featureTestimonials widget
Survey Automation Features
Has featureNotifications and alerts
Has featureCalendar/scheduling
Has featureFollow-up emails
Survey Distribution Features
Has featureIn-tool invites
Does not have featureEmail distribution
Has featureCross-channel distribution
Does not have featureCustom survey URLs
Has featureEmbeddable surveys
Does not have featureSite intercept surveys
Has feature360 Degree feedback
Has featureAnonymous responses
Does not have featureVendor-offered crowdsourcing
Has featureUnlimited questions per survey
Has featureUnlimited responses per survey
Does not have featureRespondent restrictions
Survey Administration & Security Features
Has featureMultiple users
Has featureAccess controls
Has featureCompliance

Formstack Screenshots

Formstack Integrations

Act-On Software, Authorize.Net, AWeber, Batchbook, Box, Campaign Monitor, Capsule CRM, Chargify, Constant Contact, Dropbox, Drupal, Dwolla, Emma, FirstData, FreshBooks, Google Analytics, Google Drive, GoToWebinar, HelpSpot, Highrise, HubSpot, iContact, Infusionsoft, MailChimp, OneDrive, Pardot, Pipedrive, Slack, Stripe, Trello, TypePad, WePay, WordPress, Xero, Zapier, Zendesk, WebMerge, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Beanstream, BriteVerify, Email Center Pro, Microsoft Excel, Facebook, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Sheets, PayPal, PayPal Payflow, PayPal Pro, QuickBooks, Salesforce, Salesforce Desk, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Twitter

Formstack Competitors

Wufoo, SurveyMonkey, Typeform, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), JotForm

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Silver$39All Base Features + 5 Users
Gold$99/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + 100 Forms + 10,000 Submissions + 10 Users
Platinum$249/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + Priority Support + 1,000 Forms + 100,000 Submissions + 25 Users
Bronze$19/moAll base features + 1 User

We also offer a variety of Add-on features: Workflows, Conversion Kit, Portals, Approvals

Formstack Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Formstack Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese