TrustRadius
Formstack is an online form building solution. Its drag-and-drop web form creator gives digital marketers a tool for online data collection and engagement. Users can collect payments and pass form data to popular marketing apps through third-party integrations. With Formstack, users can capture responses, store the information and share it with their teams.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/b2/tz/J4SW38UC20X9.JPEGA versatile and powerful tool for integrating contact forms and surveys into just about anything.Our web production department utilizes FormStack for almost any case where we need an outside web form to be embedded on one of the websites we work with. We support many different frameworks and CMS solutions. Some of them have nice form solutions built in, and others don't. None of them are very consistent with each other. FormStack solves that, and wherever we have a web platform that doesn't have a good form system, we build out that site's contact forms on FormStack and embed them.,Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer. Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic. Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.,The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required. You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!). Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.,9,Drupal WordPress ModX Symfony Google Analytics Google Sheets,10,FormStack has made an impact on the efficiency of working with form submission data. It's great to have the submissions in one secure place no matter what platform we're dealing with. We have not needed to work with FormStack forms on HIPPA or 508 compliant websites yet, so cannot speak much to that aspect.,Customer SurveysFormstacking the deckCairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission and everything in between. Formstack has been an integral part of our initiative to migrate many of our forms and applications to the web, which has - among many other things - greatly increased the speed at which we are able to move students through the enrollment process.,Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control. The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections. Simple and seamless payment integrations.,The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently). Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.,9,Google Sheets PayPal Pro Wordpress,8,Formstack has greatly improved efficiency in our Admissions department. For example, we were able to set up a series of forms that allow an applicant to identify someone who they would like to use as a reference, and then automatically email the named reference with a link to another form for them to complete on behalf of the student. This has cut out a lot of middle-man work and increased the speed we are able to receive completed references. We are also using Formstack as a secure data submission tool for our HR Department. New hires can submit tax forms and other important documents through an online form, and our HR staff get a notification to login to Formstack's secure site to retrieve the information. No sensitive data is passed through email.,Customer SurveysFormstack: A great addition to winning workflowsNot only does Octiv use Formstack ourselves, but we help our clients use Formstack because our software has an integration with Formstack that is extremely valuable. Basically, Octiv focuses on online document generation, collaboration, and sending for signature. Often, our customers want to embed forms into these documents to collect information, so we work with Formstack to help set this integration up for our customers.,Formstack is excellent for a simple UX style form. Users will never have trouble navigating these forms or understanding what is needed. Formstack is great for integrating with other solutions companies may use. This makes them a great addition to your overall workflow. The Formstack team is great at helping to provide ideas for how you can use their forms to improve your workflows. They are constantly releasing new features and services along with best practices for using them.,From our standpoint, as an integration partner, it would be great to get more functionality out of our test users. We are constantly having to QA how Formstack is working with Octiv and our test users don't have the full functionality as our production user accounts. More reporting flexibility would be great, although it's hard to point to anyone else in this space who is doing it better.,9,Salesforce is the first solution that comes to mind here. We work with many customers who are already using Salesforce as a CRM and using Formstack to integrate with it is a big part of those workflows. Our solution, Octiv, is obviously something we spend a lot of time integrating with Formstack. I'm sure other document generation tools also fit here, but I haven't seen these solutions.,10,Octiv works a lot with financial institutions who require compliance with security of client information. This becomes even more tricky when you consider that Octiv documents are all generated and shared online. Formstack is a trusted partner who has helped us continue to meet the high security standards our clients expect when collecting confidential information.,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysFormstack makes form creation easy and efficient.Formstack is used across the entire organization, i.e., anyone who needs a form can request and get one. We handle event signups, requests for college services, feedback, and general questionnaires. Our users utilize both email to receive submissions but also the database export to further utilize submission data. Others use 3rd party integrations like ZenDesk and Mailchimp. Formstack essentially replaced our IT department's role of creating custom forms and database solutions, so they can focus on more appropriate and important tasks.,Ease of setup - we can create something almost immediately. Conditional logic - enables the shortest form possible to be presented to the user, so forms can be comprehensive, but users only see the fields they need. Themes - allow us to make a form look exactly how we want them to look. Embedding - forms easily embed into our website, making the presentation seamless. Integrations - allow our users to harness submission data in the ways that they need.,Sometimes how to integrate with 3rd parties isn't super obvious.,9,ZenDesk Mailchimp,9,We are more efficient both in creating forms, but also in using form submission data. Forms previously were created by ITS, required database creation as well, or were restricted to only email notification. A form's database in Formstack allows for some really great top level analysis of quantitative questions. Showing people who need forms this capability helps them reassess the questions that they ask to more clear and informative.,Employee Surveys Customer SurveysFormstack fits our needOur organization transitioned from Wufoo to Formstack in 2011 because Formstack offered more options for design and integration with our website. We needed to create forms for constituents to make online gifts (using a PayPal integration), to submit requests to receive our publications and announcements, to submit event registrations and general inquiries. We use Formstack to accommodate all of our organization's needs. Formstack has readily addressed our need for web forms for multiple interfaces.,Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure. Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.,I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.,9,PayPal,9,Formstack has the capacity for added security but we have not used it for workflow, social autofill, etc.
Unspecified
Formstack
109 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Formstack Reviews

Formstack
109 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 109 vetted Formstack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 56)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
November 03, 2017

Formstack: "A versatile and powerful tool for integrating contact forms and surveys into just about anything."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our web production department utilizes FormStack for almost any case where we need an outside web form to be embedded on one of the websites we work with.

We support many different frameworks and CMS solutions. Some of them have nice form solutions built in, and others don't. None of them are very consistent with each other. FormStack solves that, and wherever we have a web platform that doesn't have a good form system, we build out that site's contact forms on FormStack and embed them.
  • Allows the visual building of generic forms that can easily fit into any website and that don't have to be created by a web developer.
  • Offers fairly advanced conditions and automation scenarios that can occur, allowing for some complex form logic.
  • Allows a choice of themes as well as the ability to override the form styling in your site's own CSS.
  • The themes that come with FormStack don't look particularly good to me. We usually end up going with the most plain-looking one so that it's easiest to override with CSS, but it would be nice if there were really generic themes that would better fit in with an existing site and look more modern without as much CSS overriding being required.
  • You can do a lot with the form logic in FormStack, but if you're used to having full control of the form output in a server language such as PHP, there it can be a big change having to think about things in terms of what you're able to accomplish through the FormStack UI. There are a lot of options, but it will probably never be as flexible as actually building a form yourself (but it sure is easier!).
  • Internally within a form, the layout options are pretty limited. We have a lot of cases where we have custom-designed forms that are supposed to have some fields next to each other, or multiple columns of fields, etc. In those cases, using custom CSS to try and make those changes is usually the best answer, but it would be great if a non-developer had more layout options for form fields.
If you need a generic, embedded solution for forms, where you can keep all of your forms and form responses in one place (Even for multiple clients), FormStack deserves a serious look. If you're comfortable using CSS to help style the forms how you want, then FormStack might just be the ideal solution for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
October 04, 2017

User Review: "Formstacking the deck"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cairn University uses Formstack for the majority of our online forms - from simple event registrations to our Application for Admission and everything in between. Formstack has been an integral part of our initiative to migrate many of our forms and applications to the web, which has - among many other things - greatly increased the speed at which we are able to move students through the enrollment process.
  • Very intuitive and simple use, while offering a lot of advanced features that offer a lot of control.
  • The conditional logic features allow us to build complex forms that walk users through a process, dynamically showing or hiding fields based on their previous selections.
  • Simple and seamless payment integrations.
  • The Wordpress plugin had been a bit fickle (but I think they have improved this recently).
  • Date and time fields cannot be used to trigger conditions (would come in VERY handy for an institution working with a lot of
  • The number of clicks in and out of different screen to finish setting up, say a custom email response, can be a bit tedious sometimes.
If you have a need for advanced forms with conditional logic and payment integrations, Formstack is a great pick. If you only need a handful of simple contact forms, there are more affordable solutions. Likewise, if you need a much more robust solution with front-end user accounts (to login and complete a form) or bulletproof integrations with an existing CMS, you might want to find a different dedicated enterprise solution. Formstack can fill in a pretty wide space between the two ends of the spectrum.
Read David Steininger's full review
September 25, 2017

Review: "Formstack: A great addition to winning workflows"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Not only does Octiv use Formstack ourselves, but we help our clients use Formstack because our software has an integration with Formstack that is extremely valuable. Basically, Octiv focuses on online document generation, collaboration, and sending for signature. Often, our customers want to embed forms into these documents to collect information, so we work with Formstack to help set this integration up for our customers.

  • Formstack is excellent for a simple UX style form. Users will never have trouble navigating these forms or understanding what is needed.
  • Formstack is great for integrating with other solutions companies may use. This makes them a great addition to your overall workflow.
  • The Formstack team is great at helping to provide ideas for how you can use their forms to improve your workflows. They are constantly releasing new features and services along with best practices for using them.
  • From our standpoint, as an integration partner, it would be great to get more functionality out of our test users. We are constantly having to QA how Formstack is working with Octiv and our test users don't have the full functionality as our production user accounts.
  • More reporting flexibility would be great, although it's hard to point to anyone else in this space who is doing it better.
I have seen Formstack add great value to a company's marketing strategy when it comes to gathering information about potential customers. We see a lot of clients who add forms to proposals that they send to clients. We have also seen Formstack add value as a guided selling solution. I have not yet seen any environments where Formstack is not well suited.
Read Aaron Lucas's full review
September 19, 2017

Review: "Formstack makes form creation easy and efficient."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used across the entire organization, i.e., anyone who needs a form can request and get one. We handle event signups, requests for college services, feedback, and general questionnaires. Our users utilize both email to receive submissions but also the database export to further utilize submission data. Others use 3rd party integrations like ZenDesk and Mailchimp.

Formstack essentially replaced our IT department's role of creating custom forms and database solutions, so they can focus on more appropriate and important tasks.
  • Ease of setup - we can create something almost immediately.
  • Conditional logic - enables the shortest form possible to be presented to the user, so forms can be comprehensive, but users only see the fields they need.
  • Themes - allow us to make a form look exactly how we want them to look.
  • Embedding - forms easily embed into our website, making the presentation seamless.
  • Integrations - allow our users to harness submission data in the ways that they need.
  • Sometimes how to integrate with 3rd parties isn't super obvious.
Our Registrar has a request form that has 26 separate scenarios, each with custom notification and confirmation emails. The notification emails go to at least 10 different employees in the Registrar. The ability to have a single form handle vastly different requests, provide both custom info inside of all emails, delivered to the appropriate employees is critical to their success as a department.

Our International Admission department has a pre-app form to capture interested international students as they begin our complex application process. The department is able to help guide them through that process by exporting their names from Formstack and comparing that list to an internal list of incomplete applications. They also integrate the form with Mailchimp to be able to communicate deadlines, important College information, etc.
Read Charles Leon Thompson's full review
January 12, 2018

User Review: "Formstack fits our need"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization transitioned from Wufoo to Formstack in 2011 because Formstack offered more options for design and integration with our website. We needed to create forms for constituents to make online gifts (using a PayPal integration), to submit requests to receive our publications and announcements, to submit event registrations and general inquiries. We use Formstack to accommodate all of our organization's needs. Formstack has readily addressed our need for web forms for multiple interfaces.
  • Ease of use in creating forms. For a non-tech person like myself, the learning curve is brief and form creating becomes more intuitive
  • The interface options are many and relatively easy to configure.
  • Templates are clean, crisp and easy to work with.
  • I could see the help options improved by having clarifying instructions (or short tutorials) present as forms are being created so one doesn't have to leave a form to find help.
For our website utilization, Formstack has met all of our needs. Again, we use Formstack to create giving forms, registration forms, subscription forms, etc. Embedding is easy, form creation is easy. We have not had a situation where it hasn't served us.
Read Jim Kramer's full review
September 12, 2017

Review: "TrustRadius readers - Why we use Formstack!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack on behalf of 16 associations that we manage. Uses range from collecting information for awards, volunteering, event RSVP, event registration with payments, small conferences and membership sign up and renewal. Formstack itself is mainly managed by the technology staff who provides other staff access to View/Edit and exporting.
  • We manage several smaller associations who have recurring events. Combining this with Stripe allows us to embed a professional looking form onto an existing website without having to pay for a third party event registration platform.
  • Reusable templates, ability to copy forms, fields and sections allow us to deploy recurring forms quickly and accurately.
  • 3rd party integrations solves many of our problems such as payment gateway (Stripe), coupons and reviews. We use reviews for membership applications which we really find very useful.
  • The logic feature is great but it would be an improvement to allow logic on a per item level with radio buttons, select boxes and check marks.
  • Working with themes can be cumbersome. I also don't think limiting themes is a good idea. It's an essential part of ones toolbox when designing a form. I get frustrated when I'm forced to delete one in order to create a new one.
Formstack is well suited for collecting information for events which require a more complex selection of fields and logic. You won't get this sort of flexibility with standard event registration systems. It's also very well suited for collection nomination information and biography profiles. It might not be well suited in situations where tier pricing and access levels are required.
Read Anthony Nijmeh's full review
August 25, 2017

Review: "Formstack actually makes formbuilding fun"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is being used across the organization, largely for public-facing uses such as registrations, surveys, email sign-ups etc., but also for internal use, such as work requests.
  • The mobile view is great for end users.
  • 508 compliant, i.e. accesssible for all users.
  • Easy to use, yet still has loads of features and flexibility.
  • Great customer server. Any issue we have is resolved quickly.
  • Confirmation email formatting is a little glitchy.
  • Can't turn off notification emails for form approvers.
  • Can't set up an approval process where either of two people can approve.
Great for an organization with complicated workflows and where forms are viewed on mobile. Also, relatively easy to learn since Formstack has a big knowledge base and helpful webinars. If security is a huge concern, Formstack can be a great solution because they have a HIPAA compliant version.
Read Brendan Babish's full review
October 11, 2017

Formstack Review: "Great for Customer Data Collection!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it to collect member testimonials after they initially set up a membership account. This is being used in a specific email sequence for new members.
  • Collects data seamlessly and easily
  • Easy to use/understand UI
  • Easy to set up and integrate into our current web design and code
  • Ability to capture video
I think any data collection you are trying to do with Formstack would be well suited for you. I think it does a really great job of being able to organize on the backend in the Formstack platform and the search intent is very good too. There is a ton of information that comes along with every submission down to the IP address of the person submitting so the ability to target your data and understand the consumers who are filling out the forms is unprecedented.
Read Scott Gara's full review
October 06, 2017

User Review: "Love me some Formstack!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to collect program registrations for registration that doesn't work in our existing system as well as anytime we need to collect data for one reason or another.
  • Formstack is one of the few form sites we have found that lets you integrate payment into the form with Paypal rather than the user being kicked out to Paypal's website. That is a huge time saver for us, so we don't have to spend time chasing down payments.
  • It is so easy to use. We set a custom template up with our branding and with one click we can drag and drop to make awesome forms!
  • I wish there were some easier ways to set up multiple payment price points.
  • It would be nice if Formstack had some more customized reporting on the forms. When we use them for events, it doesnt make the most user-friendly roster.
Great for capturing data or counts for specific things. Not as easy when we are trying to do a form that we need to capture multiple data points from various attendees in one form.
Read Shannon McDonald's full review
October 04, 2017

"Formstack is a great way to generate any form you need."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for every area of ministry in our church, from event registration and payment to online donations. It may be a simple RSVP or signup form, or a complicated, logic-driven event registration. Formstack is easy to use and helps me to be able to craft sign-up forms for every application.
  • The conditional logic built into Formstack helps me craft forms and registrations with multiple options. It's pretty easy to pick up on how to use.
  • Mobile friendly forms that can be used directly in our app is a big plus.
  • The submission stats and charts have been invaluable to me in planning and keeping those in leadership informed.
  • I'd like to see Formstack be able to send each registrant a custom QR code for quick check in.
Formstack is well suited for times when options need to be available for people to choose. I can create a simple form with our online givine/CMS system, but there is no flexibility there in asking for options and especially with conditional logic. We do a music theatre camp each summer and offer optional extra childcare times before and after for a fee. Formstack makes it easy for parents to sign up and select all their options.
Read Julie Harding's full review
October 03, 2017

Formstack Review: "Easy and efficient"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across our whole company to be able to do our business - forms are created and used by each department. It enables us to be more efficient and gives our students a smoother and more user-friendly process. It is one piece that we are using to transition from paper to all electronic.
  • It enables our students to do most of their admission process electronically.
  • It enables future athletes to apply by filling out the appropriate form stack forms and allows us to make an immediate evaluation.
  • It allows my department to keep track of student information electronically.
  • It gives flexibility to be able to create whatever electronic forms are needed.
  • The creation process could be made so that anyone could do it.
  • The use of electronic signatures and the writing of notes.
It has helped my department the best making it easier for us to collect student information and to be able to create the forms we need. It is also helpful with inter-office communication of information that other offices need.
Read Al Depoutot's full review
September 29, 2017

Review: "Formstack - an expensive choice if you use it for as much as we do."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use forms from Formstack to implement applications for pilot testing, as well as for certain lead retrieval tasks that Hubspot is unsuitable for. We also use it as a tool internally to manage group events and to collect information about the team, as well as a type of internal ticketing system for various requests (design, copyediting, etc.)
  • Compatibility with old browsers.
  • Fairly easy to build forms, even for users who haven't been explicitly trained.
  • Versatility in form building styles, which allows us to use it for many different purposes.
  • Integrations with other software platforms, like Hubspot.
  • Managing form designs in Formstack is very difficult, and we've had numerous problems with design/styling.
  • Certain features are missing from the form builder, like "same as above" functionality.
  • The form storage backend is difficult to navigate, and it is difficult to find forms in any way but searching for them.
  • Sometimes features in the form builder require reverting to the old form builder to implement.
For well-funded institutions with a large number of forms needs, Formstack is well-suited for a variety of tasks. However, the styling limitations held us back numerous times and the we've reached the form limit frequently and have had to upgrade our account. For smaller, less well-funded organizations, the cost would quickly get prohibitive if they use it like we do.
Read Ian Burnette's full review
September 22, 2017

Review: "For a small non-profit Formstack is major time saver"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is the technology for our volunteer applications. We have a very long and involved application form and Formstack has the features to allow us to capture all the information that we need. It is also able to present the questions over multiple pages thus allowing the applicant to partially complete and return. Upon submission the application form creates a Lead record in our Salesforce instance, from there we can quickly take them through the selection process.
  • Strong integration with Salesforce - can create multiple records within or across multiple objects
  • Quick to build forms
  • CSS allow small changes to formatting
  • Support are always speedy in their responses
  • Sometimes updates to fields don’t happen and you have to refresh the page and try again
  • Changing field types has unexpected consequences
  • With the Salesforce integration it is not possible to create a record and attach a file in one form submission.
With Formstack and Salesforce together you can automate the sending on emails that contain links to forms with record IDs pre-populated. This way you can automate updates/feedback/surveys from your clients.
Read Matt Morris's full review
September 21, 2017

Review: "Formstack - The ultimate data collection tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack to gather data from our employees and customers. We use it across several departments, including Marketing, Sales, Finance, and HR. Formstack helps us collect important information and funnel it to the right people, organize it for detailed reporting purposes, and make good decisions based on the facts.
  • Formstack has a very robust form-builder that allows multiple field types, conditional logic, and calculations.
  • Formstack has a huge number of supported integrations to get your data where it needs to be.
  • Formstack's database of submissions allows for a lot of detailed reporting to be done on collected data.
  • It can be a little tricky to modify a form's appearance with Themes. This has gotten better with some recent updates, but there are still some issues on the appearance of forms that aren't perfect.
  • It's not always clear what users will see after they submit a form.
  • It would be great if Formstack supported an on page confirmation instead of redirecting to another page once forms are submitted.
We have used Formstack in a variety of ways, but it is extremely helpful for us in our Product Claims Management processes. We've built a very large multi-page form to collect data from our customers if they are having a problem with one of our products. We use a lot of conditional logic, field calculations, and alternate values to get detailed information. We then use Formstack's great integrations to create reports and summaries of the data on the fly that are sent to appropriate people based on the information collected in the form.
Read Caleb Unruh's full review
September 21, 2017

User Review: "Formstack is a Game Changer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used across our entire institution. Its uses vary from event registration to lead generation, data collection, applications and more. Departments who get the most use of Formstack are marketing/communications, alumni relations, fundraising, admissions, and human resources. As a preK-12 school, Formstack has saved countless hours for several employees as we have eliminated many paper forms. The convenience of being able to submit a form quickly at any time of day is also a great benefit to our users.
  • Easy drag and drop form-builder
  • Share links that allow anyone without a login to view the data in real-time
  • Customizable notification and confirmation emails
  • More visual reporting in the submissions
  • Would like an easy way to batch send pre-filled forms (name, email, etc.)
Formstack is a premier online form solution. They are always working to improve their product and make it applicable to any organization, whether it's a small business, local nonprofit, or global industry leader. The various integrations for payment processing, email marketing, documents and more can really amp up your automation, saving you time and money. They've made a product that's easy to use for both Formstack users who build the forms and users who complete the forms.
Read Cassie Dull's full review
September 15, 2017

Formstack Review: "Check it out"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for forms for any web/digital projects that require forms. It's easy to navigate and customize which is important for our team as well as our clients. Historically, forms had been a problem area for consistency and flexibility, and Formstack has created a platform for us to successfully meet the needs of our clients.
  • Customization of how forms work - so many times in the past a client has asked for something in a form that was not an easy deliverable for us. Now it's much easier.
  • Design options are really nice. It's a seamless transition in a branded website with these forms.
  • Easy for clients to navigate if changes need to be made. Fewer errors.
  • It would be great to offer a bit more flexibility with the branding/design options.
  • Wish it was free :) - but seriously, the value is good.
For us, we work with a variety of clients who need forms. Being able to use and rely on a single source for all of our clients needs saves us time and headaches. Each client has different needs, but Formstack has the flexibility and integration options that addresses all of the different scenarios we deal with on a weekly basis.
Read Donna Gray's full review
September 11, 2017

Formstack Review: "Easy to use yet advanced solution for all you forms needs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for all form needs within the company. The main purpose is to onboard new clients.
  • Simplicity - it's very easy to create new forms or edit them when you have them ready.
  • Integration options - there is a wide range of integrations available. With the webhook option you can do anything you wish.
  • Peace of mind. Creating complex forms with field logic and validation has always been quite difficult or at least it has been taking a lot of effort. Formstack solves it for us.
  • When you add a matrix field, that is a really nice way to present some questions, it's impossible to change the questions later on without loosing your data because the data is assigned to the labels and not to ids.
  • With the webhooks you can't get the Description fields. For example, we send data to a webhook and in the webhook we create a PDF file. It would be perfect to have the headers and description available in the data sent to webhook in order to better build the PDF.
  • Client onboarding
  • Automating data entry for third parties. You create a form and a webhook. The form fields ensure you get the data you need and with the webhook you can perform all sorts of tasks with the data.
I can't really think about a scenario where Formstack is less appropriate. As long as you need to create a form, Formstack is a good way to go.
Read Rafal Szczypka's full review
September 08, 2017

Formstack Review: "Forms with Super Powers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack across the entire institution however mainly we use it to automate and localize some important business processes localized Student Admission and Evaluation. It has been the best to automatize our Evaluation and Admissions processes replacing other high cost systems.

The approving and other workflow logic are useful in streamlining other business processes.

I have presented our model of the admission process to companies selling Admission software or plugins with the request to provide a simple and easier model they could now. Since our administration body is very small simplicity and ease of use for our students and administration is key.
  • Streamlining Procedures
  • Simplifying Processes
  • Ease of use
  • Limited Localization
  • Some issues in third party integration (Gsuite - Authentication, email relaying issues)
  • Email Limitations
Any kind of data collection plus streamlining of different business processes.
Read Mihail Bojonca's full review
September 07, 2017

Formstack Review: "It's like having three employees"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used for] Conference registration, volunteer assignments and recruitment, fund raising, scholarship applications, award nominations, and a myriad of other tasks associated with managing an international conference.
  • Integrated with PayPal.
  • Produces databases in a variety of formats.
  • Allows users to save information and return later to complete the form.
  • Allows users to upload information.
  • Is fairly intuitive.
  • Allows for the easy customization of forms using in-house graphics.
  • It is not always easy to find assistance.
  • When changes are made to functionality, the question needs to be asked, "is this really an improvement?"
  • The huge price increase is not appreciated.
Conference and event management are the only thing we do with Formstack.
Read Susan Feller's full review
September 07, 2017

Formstack: "Bare Bones Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for firefighters to submit electronic forms required for training. It easily tracks and maintains a database of all of our information in one place.
  • Easy to use via links
  • Multiple format types and question types
  • Easy to pull data and submissions
  • Love the approval function but the cost is outrageous. We only need approvals for 2 forms and the cost of over $100 a month is crazy when you only need the feature for a few forms.
It is best suited for transferring paper forms to electronic forms.
Read Tracy Raimondo's full review
September 07, 2017

User Review: "RCA loves Formstack!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack to capture product registrations, support requests and repair authorizations. Formstack also has an API that allows us to easily send form submissions to our customer support portal, Zendesk. Formstack allows us to easily retrieve customer data and assist customers with possible concerns.
  • Form logic
  • API integration
  • Easy form building and customizations
  • Auto delete-all and export for instances when submissions are reaching a predefined threshold.
Formstack is ideal for companies looking to create a powerful form with logic.
Read Michael Honeycutt's full review
October 04, 2017

User Review: "Formstack for the win!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use formstack to manage all approvals and requests at our school. This includes surveys, requesting days off, purchase requests and so on.
  • Multi level approvals
  • Receipts
  • Ease of use
  • More templates
  • Payment integration with Wells Fargo
Perfect for our organization.
Read Brock Alexander's full review
September 25, 2017

User Review: "Formstack make forms fun"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Formstack for clients to submit print jobs, nominate people for recognition, obtain subscription upgrades, registration for events. It makes it very easy to collect information and data. It is easy to use and keeps everything in one place. Before Formstack we used code to format forms and most people were not comfortable doing that.
  • Collects data
  • Is super easy to use
  • Keeps your forms organized
  • I'm not sure really, I find it easy to use
We use Formstack for numerous applications. Anytime we need a form for anything, it is our go-to. It is very handy for people who want to sign up for subscriptions, or to sign up for events. We use it for people who want to put announcements in our newspaper.
Read Jeffrey Scherer's full review
September 22, 2017

Review: "Formstack makes it secure for our clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for all our registration and lead generation forms. We collect credit cards as well using forms.
  • Secure method to collect credit card information
  • Collect client data
  • Connect with Salesforce
  • Easy to manipulate and change
  • Integrate with other systems directly
  • Sometimes international clients have issues with the address fields
  • Availability in other languages would be helpful
To collect credit card information and client data
Read Daniel Berditchevski's full review
September 20, 2017

Review: "Formstack - Changing the data collection game!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Formstack is used for multiple departments in our business. We use it to get feedback from guests that visit the waterpark and campground. This allows us to make modifications to create a better experience for our guests. We use it for hiring as well! From the start to finish Formstack allows us to gather the info we need from our family members. Everything from taking reservations to guest follow-up is or has been handled by Formstack!
  • Guest Feedback!
  • Hiring
  • Being innovative
  • More integration with 3rd parites
Hiring and guest feedback!
Read Clorisa Cowell's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Survey templates (37)
7.0
Themes (40)
6.5
Custom logo/branding (40)
7.3
Changes to live survey (37)
7.6
Question design help (1)
8
Multiple question types (40)
8.0
Survey logic flexibility (40)
7.7
Response tracking (1)
10
Data export (42)
7.6
Standard reports (39)
7.2
Custom reports (35)
7.1
Analytics (1)
10
Access controls (40)
7.7
Compliance (34)
8.0
Vendor-offered crowdsourcing (1)
8
Respondent restrictions (1)
8

About Formstack

Formstack is a cloud-based online form building solution designed to help organizations build powerful web forms without any coding knowledge.

The form builder serves over 500,000 people in 112 countries. Users can embed mobile-friendly forms on their websites and social media profiles to capture leads, gather feedback from customers and employees, collect online payments, and much more.

The platform integrates with over 50 web applications, including apps for CRM management, email marketing, payment processing, and document management.

Formstack offers a specialized Workflows product that helps users turn time-consuming processes into seamless digital workflows. Users can track their workflows across departments, and use special analytics tools to identify system and communication bottlenecks.

Other product offerings include conversion rate optimization tools for marketers and HIPAA compliance for healthcare and HR users.

Formstack Features

Survey Format & Appearance Features
Has featureOnline surveys
Does not have featurePaper surveys
Does not have featurePhone surveys
Has featureSurvey templates
Has featureSurvey library
Has featureThemes
Has featureCustom logo/branding
Does not have featureSingle page survey
Has featureProgression bar
Has featureResponsive design
Survey Content Features
Has featureMultimedia content
Has featureDrag-and-drop editor
Has featureChanges to live survey
Does not have featureQuestion bank
Does not have featureQuestion design help
Has featureMultiple question types
Has featureMatrix questions
Has featureTranslation/multi-lingual
Survey Logic Features
Has featureSurvey logic flexibility
Has featureResponse requirement/validation
Has featureSkip logic
Has featureConditional questions
Has featureQuestion branching
Does not have featurePiping logic
Does not have featureRandomization
Survey Reporting & Analytics Features
Does not have featureResponse tracking
Has featureData export
Does not have featureReal-time results
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Has featureVisualizations
Does not have featureAnalytics
Survey Integrations Features
Has featureCRM Integration
Has featureSocial media integration
Has featureE-commerce integration
Does not have featureTestimonials widget
Survey Automation Features
Has featureNotifications and alerts
Has featureCalendar/scheduling
Has featureFollow-up emails
Survey Distribution Features
Has featureIn-tool invites
Does not have featureEmail distribution
Has featureCross-channel distribution
Does not have featureCustom survey URLs
Has featureEmbeddable surveys
Does not have featureSite intercept surveys
Has feature360 Degree feedback
Has featureAnonymous responses
Does not have featureVendor-offered crowdsourcing
Has featureUnlimited questions per survey
Has featureUnlimited responses per survey
Does not have featureRespondent restrictions
Survey Administration & Security Features
Has featureMultiple users
Has featureAccess controls
Has featureCompliance

Formstack Screenshots

Formstack Downloadables

Formstack Integrations

Act-On Software, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Authorize.Net, AWeber, Batchbook, Box, Campaign Monitor, Capsule CRM, Chargify, Constant Contact, Dropbox, Drupal, Dwolla, Emma, FirstData, FreshBooks, Google Analytics, Google Drive, GoToWebinar, HelpSpot, Highrise, HubSpot, iContact, Infusionsoft, MailChimp, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), OneDrive, Pardot, Pipedrive, Slack, Stripe, Trello, TypePad, WePay, WordPress, Xero, Zapier, Zendesk, WebMerge, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), Beanstream, BriteVerify, Email Center Pro, Microsoft Excel, Facebook, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Sheets, PayPal, PayPal Payflow, PayPal Pro, QuickBooks, Salesforce, Salesforce Desk, Salesforce Marketing Cloud, Twitter

Formstack Competitors

Wufoo, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), SurveyMonkey, Typeform, 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), 123FormBuilder (formerly 123ContactForm), JotForm

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Silver$39All Base Features + 5 Users
Gold$99/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + 100 Forms + 10,000 Submissions + 10 Users
Platinum$249/moAll Base Features + Facebook Tab Embed + Salesforce & HubSpot Integrations + Priority Support + 1,000 Forms + 100,000 Submissions + 25 Users
Bronze$19/moAll base features + 1 User

We also offer a variety of Add-on features: Workflows, Conversion Kit, Portals, Approvals

Formstack Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media

Formstack Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Norwegian (Bokmål), Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Polish, Portuguese, Thai, Turkish and Vietnamese