FortiGate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
210 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 62)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 21, 2021
Binita Kharbanda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet's Fortigate is a Firewall which can be suited to all the types of organizations starting from Small/ mid size to Large enterprises. Due to its cost effectiveness even a Small organizations can afford it. In the return Fortigate will give you the industry best technology to secure your organization infra.
Read Binita Kharbanda's full review
June 30, 2021
Anuja Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The budget of this firewall is less so everyone can use this for their organization. The main focus of this firewall is for malware protection and protection from anti spyware, then latest feature of this firewall is proxy based antivirus which is really amazing.
Read Anuja Singh's full review
June 28, 2021
Arti Agrahari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FortiGate is well suited for a medium & large scale infrastructure environment.FortiGate comes with advanced security features & easy integration with active directory & LDAP for single sign-on options. FortiGate provides content inspection & also prevents unauthorized access.
Read Arti Agrahari's full review
June 22, 2021
Somya Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet FortiGate firewall is well suited for medium & large-scale infrastructure. It is well suited for cybersecurity companies as it provides high-level security features such as sandboxing. Anti-spamming, email protection & also provides remote VPN features to connect with remote branches.
Read Somya Gupta's full review
June 02, 2021
Tony Dous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

SD-Wan VPN site to site is very well suited and saves much time and cost by transferring site to site tunnels on MPLS, IPSEC and Dial-up Tunnels all by this function. I can't see less appropriate scenarios.
Read Tony Dous's full review
May 31, 2021
Neha Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend this product to only small sized organizations and if they are thinking about deep scanning of every packet. This product offers all the very advanced features which help you to increase you organization's security and protect [them] from the external threats. This is really UTM firewall because they include all features like content filtering, email filtering, web filtering, etc.
Read Neha Sharma's full review
May 30, 2021
Basant Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I am using this firewall in my one location which we have limited users but our client data is very critical, we need deep security and we want to scan the every packet deeply, so I chose this one. I am really happy with UTM features. I am using email and DLP features for more control on my users.
Read Basant Gupta's full review
May 28, 2021
gaurav sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet FortiGate firewalls are well suited for those organization who are worry for malware and virus attacks and thinking for devices who help to provide the all layers deep level security . then this is best firewall is for you.. the budget of this firewall is very less but you will get the all the advanced level features.
Read gaurav sharma's full review
May 03, 2021
Vipin Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

if you have very normal budget and thinking about best firewall then Fortinet FortiGate is best product for you. they officer advanced security feature which help you to secure you organization. web filtering and advanced IPS feature will be very helpful for you..
Read Vipin Sharma's full review
April 29, 2021
Andrew Meyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet devices are well suited for all applications. They meet security standards and HIPAA compliance. I have not found any issues where using their devices is truly a make or break set up.
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
June 09, 2021
VINAY Mandora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

[Fortinet FortiGate is] well suited for those industries where you want deep level scan, data are very critical and you can't afford any type of cyber attacks. Cost is less and you will get lots of advanced features.
Read VINAY Mandora's full review
June 01, 2021
Vinit Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet FortiGate Provides a Deep Scanning feature identifies malicious traffic over network easily & also having advance level of such security feature in a cost-effective manner. It also helps us to content filtering & anti-spam over data.
Read Vinit Sharma's full review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is best suited to secure your private networks at filtering packets from the outside world. It also good for managing and limiting your employees to access certain websites and limit application access. It is best suited as your front line of your security systems inside your organization. You can also use it as a VPN.
Read this authenticated review
September 25, 2020
Michael Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FortiGates are very well suited when used in conjunction with FortiManager for scalability and management reasons. Larger model FortiGates are not necessary for smaller environments. The basic models do just fine.
Read Michael Singh's full review
January 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our firewall is fantastic. It's very quick and easy to configure. Fortigate offered a lot of assistance during setup so that our downtime when switching was very limited. The technical support team is amazing and have a very quick response time. Compared to it's peers, Fortigate has exceptional pricing for the same or better feature set.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortigate is an excellent firewall for all sized businesses from SOHO to large enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
June 22, 2020
Tayfun Toka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FortiGate solution is a successful solution in terms of performance and efficiency. No problem in high traffic. Due to its innovative structure, it is an advantage to easily adapt to new integrations.
Read Tayfun Toka's full review
April 15, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FortiGate is a great fit and no brainer expense when replacing a firewall for our average target client (< 100 users) - much better return on investment compared to Meraki solutions. With the ability to license up or down to best fit a client's requirements - the product line is flexible and scalable. Much different experience than some other product lines we used to lead with - that we'll still support, it's just not the top of our list when a client asks for our recommendation.

We like that FortiGate simplifies the deployment of SSL VPN without added hardware or licensing costs - but if you want to include sandboxing and device endpoint telemetry, you can easily bolt on licenses and leverage cloud management without deploying additional hardware. A huge benefit for smaller clients where it's just not feasible.
Read Donny McIver's full review
February 18, 2020
Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortigate works pretty well if you choose the correct device based on the number of your users. If you need to apply policies by application this solution can help you. Their other features like web filter, VPN connections, traffic reports, etc work well too. In general terms, the solution is very complete and the cost of this device is cheaper than other vendors.
Read Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet Fortigate is a robust firewall and security device. Fortinet has devices geared for any situations, and for any sized company...from single computer small businesses to extremely large organizations with thousands of computers. Fortinet Fortigate is reasonably priced and contains the ability to have multiple functions embedded into a single device, making management that much simpler. Its robust feature set is top-notch and is on a level playing field with the largest names in the business, and in my view, because of the cost difference, wins hands down.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

To protect networks ranging from small to enterprise, especially if you are connecting multiple office locations to share IT services where feasible.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Fortinet FortiGate fit in whatever environment you need to provide firewall/UTM functionality. Their range of hardware choices gives the end-user options to fit any scenario.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We started with a new Palo Alto because it was so well recommended but when we moved the circuit from 2GB to 10GB the price rose to astronomical heights. We heard about FortiGate being very comparable if not better. I attended a Firewall Shootout and the FortiGate clearly came out on top. The price savings for such a high quality product made this an easy choice. It's great that it also has built in features such as VPN, web filtering and access point controller. Because we are a school district, we really need a dedicated web filter but it's likely a great option for a non-educational company.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FortiGate is well suited for people who want a firewall setup and don't want to have to do much managing beyond that. Partner network is great.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (34)
9.2
Visualization Tools (34)
8.9
Content Inspection (35)
9.0
Policy-based Controls (36)
9.2
Active Directory and LDAP (35)
9.1
Firewall Management Console (36)
9.4
Reporting and Logging (36)
8.9
VPN (36)
9.4
High Availability (32)
9.2
Stateful Inspection (34)
9.3
Proxy Server (27)
8.4

What is FortiGate?

Fortinet’s FortiGate is a firewall product with high integrability. It can be deployed on-premises or as a Virtual Machine in a variety of modules. The granularity of the product enables buyers to tailor their purchase to their business needs. FortiGate integrates into multivendor environments, including IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

FortiGate’s functionality includes the core firewall features, such as intrusion prevention, anti-malware, and web filtering. It also includes SSL inspection, threat protection, and scalable segmentation, all within low-latency standards.

FortiGate Video

FortiGate Demo

FortiGate Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

FortiGate pricing starts at $250 for home office use, up to $300,000 for large enterprise appliances. Must contact sales team for pricing.

FortiGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is FortiGate?

FortiNet FortiGate is a firewall option with high integrability. It offers a variety of deployment options and next-gen firewall capabilities, including integration with IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

What is FortiGate's best feature?

Reviewers rate Firewall Management Console and VPN highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses FortiGate?

The most common users of FortiGate are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.