FortiGate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
193 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 22, 2020
Tayfun Toka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
We live in Turkey. Fortinet's Turkey office [dealt] constantly with us in our every problem or our experience. In addition, global support teams also supported every ticket we opened in every problem we encountered. They support innovative approaches and evaluate and offer solutions. In this context, they were very supportive of the problems we encountered in previous versions.
Read Tayfun Toka's full review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

6
Support is slightly above average. Sometimes it takes a while to get a response.
Read this authenticated review
April 15, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
Whenever we've had an issue (which isn't often) we've been able to great support through the Partner channel or KB area. We love how well documented various aspects of the platform are taken care of - and how well manicured the KB area / Cookbooks are.

Having quick access to support resources without always having to call to speak to some engineer helps us self-resolve a great number of issues on our own and learn more along the way. Candidly though, we just haven't had to call in or open a ticket hardly ever - usually it's more for our channel support to determine license needs or quoting assistance.
Read Donny McIver's full review
January 02, 2020
Saqib Zaheer Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

8
There were scenarios where we were unable to resolve the issues and it was impacting our business. We had raised the ticket with the Fortinet team to high priority, then they asked us to send a few logged posts so that they could support us remotely and resolved the issue in no time. This has happened multiple times. There support is very prompt.
Read Saqib Zaheer Ahmed's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The Support team at Fortinet is excellent. They can not only help you configure the device for what you are trying to do, they offer suggestions on improving rules, and troubleshooting issues. Their response time is fast, ensuring you are up and running immediately with no questions asked.
We had a hard drive failure in one of our Fortinet Fortigate appliances. The tech answered immediately, and started rebuilding the drive after some preliminary investigations. After rebuilding, there were still errors and issues, so they dispatched a brand new Fortinet Fortigate appliance. The tech then backed up the configurations for when the new device came in, which showed up in a few hours. A restore of the configuration took less than a minute, and there were no more errors or issues.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
In my experience, the support is usually outstanding. You have some wait time to deal with, depending on the issue. Thus far, my experience with their support has been positive.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Support Rating

9
I will give Fortinet FortiGate a 9, and there is no perfect solution out there. Everybody has an opinion on what is best. That's because it's what that person prefers to use. Some firewalls lack certain feature sets compared to others, but it all depends on the environment you need to deploy the solution. For what I needed, the Fortinet FortiGate hit all the points.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The few times I needed assistance, they were excellent. Very professional and well trained. I have been very happy with support assistance as well as the initial assistance switching from a Cisco firewall and the FortiGate. We transferred policies and objects and they provided guidance on cleaning up our existing configuration.
Read this authenticated review
January 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
As devices proved very reliable, the configuration process was easy, and Fortinet's documentation is very robust, I had no need to contact Fortinet's support. All in all, it is a pleasure to work with these devices.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Support is always a big factor in consideration of any product for our organization. Fortinet support has been extremely good. They have provided an onsite engineer at no cost to help us design, implement, and maintain new products when needed. The call support has also been excellent, with quick response times and knowledgeable technicians.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2019
Jeff Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The support offered by on onsite engineer to help design, configure, and use the firewall was the best we've experienced from a vendor. He was knowledgeable, efficient, and patient. Sales support has been equally good. We haven't used the email or phone support very much due to lack of issues, but when we have they have been quick, easy to get to, and knowledgeable as well.
Read Jeff Winter's full review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Local Australian support with knowledgeable engineers. Very responsive and dedicated and with proper escalation paths all the way to the engineering team overseas.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Had to call one time with help and support was fine.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
So far, so good. Fortinet support is awesome and always has a solution when I've had needed one.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
Support could improve but we could say that for all of the products out there.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
The product has been performing to expectation since deployment, with no issues on the equipment either.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2019
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

7
The first support level is pretty much useless for any complicated problems. They are they to guide you to the correct documentation relating to simple questions and to collect data for the 2nd level and up.

Once you are able to get escalated, those people are pretty knowledgeable and will normally get you at least a workaround but most of the time they will really try to understand what you want to accomplish and not only apply the solution but also educate you which is less and less common and a really good thing.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
March 10, 2019
Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

10
service provides technical support excellence through fast track access to the Advanced Services team. It also includes training and certification, a customized account plan, and proactive after-hours support.
Read Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya's full review
March 06, 2019
Adrian Cumberbatch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
The support engineers will always try to find the root of the problem you are having and not give up. Using gotomeeting makes it easy for them to see exactly what the problem is and I've learnt quite a lot from these interactions so that I'm now able to do more troubleshooting on my own.
Read Adrian Cumberbatch's full review
March 05, 2019
Tommy Boucher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
I always get an answer to my issues, most of the time the answer is positive, but when it is not, there is an explanation. The only un-resolved issue I have is regarding the FortiClient while connecting to VPN, and the support was never able to help me with it. Otherwise, all answers make sense.
Read Tommy Boucher's full review
August 27, 2018
Kewyn Medina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

8
Perfect is a complicated rate. But they are good in what they do and also give a really good through their local vendor channels
Read Kewyn Medina's full review
December 28, 2015
Steve Jenovai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Support Rating

9
Support staff is knowledgeable and answers questions quickly. I have not run into an issue to date that was not quickly resolved by the support staff.
Read Steve Jenovai's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (30)
9.0
Visualization Tools (30)
8.8
Content Inspection (31)
8.9
Policy-based Controls (32)
9.2
Active Directory and LDAP (31)
9.0
Firewall Management Console (32)
9.5
Reporting and Logging (32)
8.7
VPN (32)
9.4
High Availability (28)
9.1
Stateful Inspection (30)
9.1
Proxy Server (24)
8.2

What is FortiGate?

Fortinet’s FortiGate is a firewall product with high integrability. It can be deployed on-premises or as a Virtual Machine in a variety of modules. The granularity of the product enables buyers to tailor their purchase to their business needs. FortiGate integrates into multivendor environments, including IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

FortiGate’s functionality includes the core firewall features, such as intrusion prevention, anti-malware, and web filtering. It also includes SSL inspection, threat protection, and scalable segmentation, all within low-latency standards.

FortiGate Video

FortiGate Demo

FortiGate Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

FortiGate pricing starts at $250 for home office use, up to $300,000 for large enterprise appliances.

FortiGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is FortiGate?

FortiNet FortiGate is a firewall option with high integrability. It offers a variety of deployment options and next-gen firewall capabilities, including integration with IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

What is FortiGate's best feature?

Reviewers rate Firewall Management Console highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses FortiGate?

The most common users of FortiGate are from Mid-size Companies and the Information Technology & Services industry.