TrustRadius
G-Suite: The suite spot for collaboration & productivityG Suite is used across the entire organization and across all functions. It's used for email, calendaring, word processing, spreadsheets, and presentations. The key problems it addresses are: 1) Collaboration on a Specific Document 2) Easy Document Sharing 3) Consistency across operating systems & devices 4) Ease of management for our IT administrators,Very strong at document collaboration - it's easy to see who's made changes, and to see edits and suggestions. Easy to share documents and call-out specific people when collaborating on a document (this sends an automated email). Easy to manage the solution because it's SaaS and works exactly the same across browsers, devices, and operating systems. Very good security and scalability because it's running on Google infrastructure. Key capabilities in Word, Sheets, etc (e.g. Pivot Tables) are intuitive and easy to use.,Ability to more easily create templates, and work with existing templates for Slides (i.e. creating presentations) Better search capabilities in Google Drive (it doesn't seem to be able to effectively search through PDFs and other documents) More presentation templates that would make it easier to develop a more compelling presentation Make it easy to create a team drive from an individual drive without having to copy each item individually,9,It gets us to a consistent way of thinking about collaboration From a negative pov, it doesn't work when you're offline (e.g. on a plane) It's a relatively affordable per user cost,Microsoft Office 365,Slack, OneNoteG Suite is great, that's why it's the standardAt Elemerce, we use G Suite for email and file storage. All our company files are easily stored and managed in shared company folders. We create almost all files as Google docs or sheets. This saves a lot of computer power and time waiting for Excel and Word to load. It also makes it so everyone has the same version of files. Obviously, we need an email and G Suite is an easy way do it in a way that everyone is already familiar.,G Suite makes it easy to add new users. All new users already know how to use it from the start since almost everyone uses gmail for their personal emails. Google drive is great for having only one version of files. It also keeps files from being lost in long email chains. This is a huge flaw in Microsoft Office. Google drive is relatively cheap. If you compare it to Microsoft Office (I think a subscription is $20-$30/month, it's not even close.,Google sheets have added a lot of new features lately, I just hope they continue adding better and better features to help it replace excel. Sometimes you will get some trouble with load times with connectivity issues. This isn't often though.,10,Easy email use and set up Easy and cheap file storage Less confusion from having only one version of a document.,Trello, TodoistG Suite leads the pack!G Suite is being used across my whole organization, primarily being used for the email functionality The primary business problems it addresses for the company is providing a singular inbox where product updates/notifications/progress reports can be shared across the company, as well as on a department by department basis. Whenever new products get released, or new information on our product comes out, we use G Suite to make sure that information gets shared quickly to everyone who needs to know. Additionally, it serves as the central meetings tool, making it easy to find time to meet with anyone that you would need to.,Shared calendars in the organization make it very easy to book meetings/time with individuals. Email is as good as it gets. It's great to be able to set up a shared document that everyone can have access to beforehand to make sure the agenda is set for the meeting.,The word processor could have additional functionality/formatting tools. Gmail lacks the ability to set up more detailed email filters, which could help reduce clutter in the inbox. Calendar UI is not always intuitive. Have to click event, and then click edit, which brings you to a new page, in order to edit some meetings information.,9,Reduced time sorting/deleting emails Reduced time spent to set up meetings Increased collaboration in meeting settings,Microsoft Office 365 and Microsoft Office 2016,HubSpot, HubSpot CRM, HubSpot SalesIt's a Solid Platform ... G Suite is the best productI am currently using G Suite and applications to communicate and manage projects between my internal and external clients. I adopted the email client instead of using the C-Panel option and use Drive to collaborate on projects that need to be managed and edited live. G Suite made working on the go easy: we can now log in to the email wherever we go, as long as we have access to the Internet! Everything is right where we left off and we take advantage of greater security through Google. Two-step verification is very nice to have. The collaboration between Google Docs and Google Sheets is excellent! Several people can work on one document or spreadsheet at the same time! The chat (Hangouts) is also great: instead of sending an email, you can chat with someone and get a quick response. Google Drive also makes it easy to share files! And if you make a big mistake in a document, you can go back to an earlier version with that tool as well.,The email client is incredibly thorough. Users can configure aliases, organize stored responses and create folders for continuous communications both internally and externally. Google Drive offers users the opportunity to create and share project documents, private links and presentations, all with the click of a button. It just works. The G Suite email is one of the best investment you can do for your company. You don't have to deal with spam emails anymore and you can get rid of the "Promotions" tab as well. Greater communication / faster, better collaboration and access to everything while traveling are huge advantages. G Suite continues to provide the market leading experience for teams working on common documents and eliminating problems with document version control. Cloud applications allow on-the-go work anywhere, dedicated and intuitive mobile applications and good security options for administration.,In a perfect world of project management, it would be great to see G Suite adopt some of the best practices for Drive. Possibly a Wiki with insight and detail that shows uniformity for a variety of projects. I would also like to see Google for Education added as an add-on option for Suite users, which would save tons of time and money in operations so that those of us can consult and educate. If I had to choose, I would say a folder option for separate email accounts. Creating a folder option (similar to the Gmail personal folder line) would dramatically help organize communication for different brands. I would also like to see them adopt a "timer" that helps users see how much time has gone by working on a particular project. What would be incredible!,9,Do not waste your valuable time trying to find a free or cheaper solution, it will not. For ~ $ 5 / month you will not find a better alternative. We recommend G Suite exclusively to our customers when it comes to e-mail management. Our personal G Suite account manager proacitvely reached out to us and let us know that we can save up to 20% by switching to an annual plan. It's great to have all the G Suite applications built for the student population, and Google provides more storage than we could reasonably provide. This is favorable when considering the cost ...G Suite is a high school's best friend!Google Suite is used throughout my school, used by both staff and students. G Suite allows all school members to have their own user account, which is used for Chromebook login as well as Gmail, Google Classroom, and all of the Google apps. Students are able to appropriately communicate with their teachers and peers from either Chromebooks or their own person technology devices. G Suite allows students to work collaboratively on group work, as their documents are live and able to be shared with fellow students. Staff members also have the ability to work collaboratively, sharing documents for viewing or editing depending on the need.,G Suite allows students to work on group projects together, without having to save and email out a document. All of their work is live, which allows them to work on projects from any location and on various devices. G Suite is also beneficial for staff members. Documents can be shared in order for other staff members to edit, or the settings can allow for colleagues to view or comment only, without editing the author's document. This helps throughout departments, as there are many fluid documents used. G Suite allows staff members to work with students in the editing process within Google Docs. A student in a study lab can share an essay with their support staff and be working on it collaboratively while being in separate locations.,One issue with G Suite is that the programs do have limited editing abilities, compared with the full Microsoft versions. For example, Google Sheets has limited templates compared to Microsoft PowerPoint. Another feature that is lacking is the ability to create and edit graphs within the G Suite apps.,10,All school members are able to work on one platform for schoolwork as well as email. G Suite is able to be accessed through school-issued Chromebooks, personal cell phones, as well as personal computers off campus. This is a great feature so that students are able to complete work outside of the school building as needed. G suite allows teachers to check student work right within the program, without them having to use a separate site to check for plagiarism.,Microsoft Office 2016,Google Classroom, SurveyMonkey, Prezi
Unspecified
G Suite
91 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
TRScore

G Suite Reviews

G Suite
91 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 97 vetted G Suite reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 33)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 13, 2018

G Suite Review: "G-Suite: The suite spot for collaboration & productivity"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is used across the entire organization and across all functions. It's used for email, calendaring, word processing, spreadsheets, and presentations. The key problems it addresses are:

1) Collaboration on a Specific Document
2) Easy Document Sharing
3) Consistency across operating systems & devices
4) Ease of management for our IT administrators
  • Very strong at document collaboration - it's easy to see who's made changes, and to see edits and suggestions.
  • Easy to share documents and call-out specific people when collaborating on a document (this sends an automated email).
  • Easy to manage the solution because it's SaaS and works exactly the same across browsers, devices, and operating systems.
  • Very good security and scalability because it's running on Google infrastructure.
  • Key capabilities in Word, Sheets, etc (e.g. Pivot Tables) are intuitive and easy to use.
  • Ability to more easily create templates, and work with existing templates for Slides (i.e. creating presentations)
  • Better search capabilities in Google Drive (it doesn't seem to be able to effectively search through PDFs and other documents)
  • More presentation templates that would make it easier to develop a more compelling presentation
  • Make it easy to create a team drive from an individual drive without having to copy each item individually
G-Suite is well suited for companies that are focused on doing simple things quickly. If you need more sophisticated calculation capabilities (e.g. for accounting and finance), then it might not be as helpful. For instance, at my company, I've found that the finance and accounting teams still use Excel for creating budgets, etc.
Read Gagan Kanwar's full review
June 08, 2018

Review: "G Suite is great, that's why it's the standard"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Elemerce, we use G Suite for email and file storage. All our company files are easily stored and managed in shared company folders. We create almost all files as Google docs or sheets. This saves a lot of computer power and time waiting for Excel and Word to load. It also makes it so everyone has the same version of files. Obviously, we need an email and G Suite is an easy way do it in a way that everyone is already familiar.
  • G Suite makes it easy to add new users. All new users already know how to use it from the start since almost everyone uses gmail for their personal emails.
  • Google drive is great for having only one version of files. It also keeps files from being lost in long email chains. This is a huge flaw in Microsoft Office.
  • Google drive is relatively cheap. If you compare it to Microsoft Office (I think a subscription is $20-$30/month, it's not even close.
  • Google sheets have added a lot of new features lately, I just hope they continue adding better and better features to help it replace excel.
  • Sometimes you will get some trouble with load times with connectivity issues. This isn't often though.
It is great for small businesses. I feel like every small business needs G Suite, other options just won't do. I don't even know of any legit competitors. It may not be as good for large companies with larger numbers of employees or who are still stuck using Word and Excel.
Read McKay Salisbury's full review
May 28, 2018

User Review: "G Suite leads the pack!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is being used across my whole organization, primarily being used for the email functionality The primary business problems it addresses for the company is providing a singular inbox where product updates/notifications/progress reports can be shared across the company, as well as on a department by department basis. Whenever new products get released, or new information on our product comes out, we use G Suite to make sure that information gets shared quickly to everyone who needs to know. Additionally, it serves as the central meetings tool, making it easy to find time to meet with anyone that you would need to.
  • Shared calendars in the organization make it very easy to book meetings/time with individuals.
  • Email is as good as it gets.
  • It's great to be able to set up a shared document that everyone can have access to beforehand to make sure the agenda is set for the meeting.
  • The word processor could have additional functionality/formatting tools.
  • Gmail lacks the ability to set up more detailed email filters, which could help reduce clutter in the inbox.
  • Calendar UI is not always intuitive. Have to click event, and then click edit, which brings you to a new page, in order to edit some meetings information.
If your organization is looking for an office suite of services that requires minimal setup and great value, G Suite would be a great option. However, if your organization wants to control specific aspects of the tool, it would be wise to do that research prior to getting G Suite.
Read Paul Jordan's full review
July 17, 2018

Review: "It's a Solid Platform ... G Suite is the best product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using G Suite and applications to communicate and manage projects between my internal and external clients. I adopted the email client instead of using the C-Panel option and use Drive to collaborate on projects that need to be managed and edited live. G Suite made working on the go easy: we can now log in to the email wherever we go, as long as we have access to the Internet! Everything is right where we left off and we take advantage of greater security through Google. Two-step verification is very nice to have. The collaboration between Google Docs and Google Sheets is excellent! Several people can work on one document or spreadsheet at the same time! The chat (Hangouts) is also great: instead of sending an email, you can chat with someone and get a quick response. Google Drive also makes it easy to share files! And if you make a big mistake in a document, you can go back to an earlier version with that tool as well.
  • The email client is incredibly thorough. Users can configure aliases, organize stored responses and create folders for continuous communications both internally and externally. Google Drive offers users the opportunity to create and share project documents, private links and presentations, all with the click of a button.
  • It just works. The G Suite email is one of the best investment you can do for your company. You don't have to deal with spam emails anymore and you can get rid of the "Promotions" tab as well.
  • Greater communication / faster, better collaboration and access to everything while traveling are huge advantages. G Suite continues to provide the market leading experience for teams working on common documents and eliminating problems with document version control. Cloud applications allow on-the-go work anywhere, dedicated and intuitive mobile applications and good security options for administration.
  • In a perfect world of project management, it would be great to see G Suite adopt some of the best practices for Drive. Possibly a Wiki with insight and detail that shows uniformity for a variety of projects.
  • I would also like to see Google for Education added as an add-on option for Suite users, which would save tons of time and money in operations so that those of us can consult and educate. If I had to choose, I would say a folder option for separate email accounts.
  • Creating a folder option (similar to the Gmail personal folder line) would dramatically help organize communication for different brands. I would also like to see them adopt a "timer" that helps users see how much time has gone by working on a particular project. What would be incredible!
The lack of functionality in sheets and documents compared to the Microsoft office. There is something to be said about desktop applications instead of running everything through a browser. Unlike other products, G Suite simply works. G Suite email is one of the best investments you can make for your company. You no longer have to deal with unwanted emails and you can also get rid of the "Promotions" tab.
Read Oscar Francisco Jimenez Colmenares's full review
March 21, 2018

Review: "G Suite is a high school's best friend!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Suite is used throughout my school, used by both staff and students. G Suite allows all school members to have their own user account, which is used for Chromebook login as well as Gmail, Google Classroom, and all of the Google apps. Students are able to appropriately communicate with their teachers and peers from either Chromebooks or their own person technology devices. G Suite allows students to work collaboratively on group work, as their documents are live and able to be shared with fellow students. Staff members also have the ability to work collaboratively, sharing documents for viewing or editing depending on the need.
  • G Suite allows students to work on group projects together, without having to save and email out a document. All of their work is live, which allows them to work on projects from any location and on various devices.
  • G Suite is also beneficial for staff members. Documents can be shared in order for other staff members to edit, or the settings can allow for colleagues to view or comment only, without editing the author's document. This helps throughout departments, as there are many fluid documents used.
  • G Suite allows staff members to work with students in the editing process within Google Docs. A student in a study lab can share an essay with their support staff and be working on it collaboratively while being in separate locations.
  • One issue with G Suite is that the programs do have limited editing abilities, compared with the full Microsoft versions. For example, Google Sheets has limited templates compared to Microsoft PowerPoint.
  • Another feature that is lacking is the ability to create and edit graphs within the G Suite apps.
G Suite is well suited for all members of a high school. Staff members are able to work with both colleagues as well as students using one program. Having the ability to work with students while not having to physically sit next to them is invaluable. Being a high school special education teacher, there are times where it isn't appropriate for a certain student to have a support staff member sitting with them in the general education classes, however, I can be on my computer editing their work with them, without their peers knowing.

G Suite works well without our school setting, as many teachers utilize Google Classroom. All of the G Suite apps work seamlessly within that program.
Read Joanne Riker's full review
July 03, 2018

User Review: "G Suite in a K-12 Enviroment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use G Suite in our school district for all of our student and staff devices, since being an education environment we receive unlimited Google Drive storage and it has been an amazing solution to offer to teachers and students for backing up their data.
  • G Suite has the ability to integrate with our ticketing system so all of our users can easily sign into our ticketing system with their Gmail credentials
  • This year we are beginning to use lightspeed relay as our web filter and it also includes integrated login with G Suite
  • The ability to change settings based on groups, for example, students in 5th grade and below have accounts but no email access. So they can use the drive but cannot send emails.
  • It was difficult to get our sync with the AD set up
  • It would have been nice to have automatic integration and configuration with AD
  • It's not entirely user-friendly for all of our employees in our department, we had one employee accidentally add all users to a smart email group resulting in everyone in our district receiving an email that should have only gone to a few.
G suite is a fantastic service that is reliable and easy to use.
Read Justin Reeves's full review
February 26, 2018

G Suite Review: "Let Google Do IT!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm presently using G Suite and the apps therein to communicate and manage projects between for both my internal and external customers. I've adopted the email client instead of using the C-Panel option and use the Drive for collaborations on projects that need to be managed and edited live. My team frequently uses the Hangout "Meet" as an option to succinctly coordinate calls with screen sharing.
  • The email client is incredibly thorough. Users can set up aliases, stage canned responses and create folders for continuous communications both internally and externally.
  • Google Drive affords users the opportunity to create and share project documents, private links and presentations all with the click of a button. The privacy feature here is unprecedented, Drive will confirm both the sender and receiver once the link is created giving users a piece of mind helping to remedy unnecessary "uh-oh's". Google Drive features software options that are comparable to the Note products available on Microsoft (includes a Word, Presentation and Spreadsheet option) but is inclusive allowing users who don't have an account to collaborate and edit.
  • Uniformity is a plus. As with most clouds, G Suite allows for functionality across all devices. Outside of downloading the Suite to a device, the operation only requires a log-in and everything is in one place. Too, Google is ahead of the game for security. If a user logs in on a device that isn't recognized, they can rest assured that Google immediately sends a notification. This is critical when using the Suite on public devices.
  • In a perfect project management world, it would be great to see G Suite adopt some best practices for Drive. Possibly a Wiki with insight and detail overviewing uniformity for a variety of projects.
  • I would also love to see Google for Education added as a plug-in option for Suite users, that would save tons of time and money operationally for those of us to consult and educate.
  • If I had to choose I'd say a folder option for separate email accounts. Presently, I have three aliases running on one account. Creating a folder option (similar to the personal Gmail folder lineup) would drastically assist with organizing communication for different brands.
  • I'd also like to see them adopt a "timer" helping users to note how much time has elapsed working on a particular project. That would be awesome!
G Suite is well suited as an email client. The option to run several aliases is ideal for brands that need to manage more that one communication stream. G Suite is also well suited as a "meeting place" for some types of project management using the documents options. For instance, here just recently I had to draft Copy for a Virtual Summit. The team outlined the types of Copy by folder and dropped in examples for me to reference. From there, I simply logged in and reviewed what was there for me to glean. I then developed a working template (because you can set up templates) and linked each folder by date and then outlined each file by title in each date file.
Read Tiffany Rachann's full review
June 05, 2018

G Suite Review: "The only true way to run your business in the cloud!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've been using G Suite (Google Apps) since 2008. It's an integral part of our business, without G Suite it would be impossible to run our business. We use emails to communicate internally and externally. We use Google Drive to store and share all our documents. We use Google Docs to collaborate on everything. Our whole business runs on G Suite.
  • Email is one of the more important features, and Gmail interface makes it easy to compose, read, and search for emails.
  • Google Drive stores all our files, some synced locally and some completely in the cloud. Having access to all files anywhere in the world is critical, and being able to share files across the organization or externally makes life so much more easier.
  • Integration of email and docs makes it easy to send/share documents.
  • There are a lot of apps/extensions from third-party providers to give us more functionality, like CRM integration with our emails to see customer data.
  • Email works great, they continuously improve the product and we haven't seen anything that needs improving. It works great for us.
  • Google Drive and Docs could be more responsive, sometimes can feel a bit sluggish. This is especially true when viewing doc's "Version History". When it gets long, it can be a bit painful to go through it. Would be great if it was more responsive, didn't freeze.
G Suite is great for any business looking to streamline operations or bring everything into the cloud. This is especially true for remote teams. Collaboration is critical across any organization, and G Suite provides all necessary tools to make it easy to do.

Where G Suite might not be right is for users who are not technically savvy, or they're used to using Microsoft Office products. If you want desktop apps like Word or Excel, G Suite might not be the right tool. But with a little bit of training, this can be easily overcome.
Read Viktor Nagornyy's full review
May 30, 2018

User Review: "G Suite increases collaboration 10X"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is used across the organization, and has proved useful to help foster collaboration between members of the marketing team as well as the wider organization. In particular, I have found the ability to share files — and store assets in Google Drive — to be very helpful to simplifying our workflow processes. It is also flexible enough to address a wide variety of use cases from storyboarding to spinning up pitch decks for sales teams.
  • While writing scripts for video advertisements and storyboarding them, G Suite was enormously helpful for getting input and feedback from multiple stakeholders in several departments.
  • Google Slides offered a neat way to build out sales enablement materials in a collaborative way, giving sales teams an easy way to comment on slideware and scripts while the product marketing managers were easily able to offer their own thoughts.
  • Google Sheets became our defacto hub for Gantt charts, project monitoring, and calendaring out projects. While we also used Trello and Airtable, Google Sheets was a great way to ensure everyone was aware of things on the horizon.
  • G Suite doesn't have the full capabilities that Microsoft Office has. Although it is simpler to use, it could benefit from greater functionality.
  • If it could support better project management and calendaring (for editorial and creative calendars), G Suite would be a great out-of-the box solutions for a wide breadth of issues. At present, it fills most uses but leaves room for tools such as Asana, Airtable, Basecamp, or Trello to fill in the gaps.
If you're trying to foster greater collaboration and need a word processor, presentation tool, spreadsheet, or cloud storage service, you're in luck. G Suite also features Gmail, which is one of the better email services available in my humble opinion. While Outlook has an edge on meetings and calendaring (and a better iOS app), Gmail is a capable and user-friendly email tool.
Read Aaron Winston's full review
May 26, 2018

User Review: "G Suite is G Eazy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is being used organization-wide to store training and help information. Though the search functionality leaves something to be desired in the drive (shows archived or inactive items) in general it is a very organized and easy to navigate interface. I go straight to G Suite to create sheets or create docs for myself or to collaborate on. We actually just recently moved from Gmail to Outlook for our calendars and emails and it has been a difficult adjustment because of how intuitive Google is.
  • Organized- folders in drive are laid out in an understandable and manageable format for even those that are less tech savvy
  • Collaborative- love the systems that allow for instant sharing of documents, knowing how someone else is editing what you are working on and comments
  • Intuitive- because of its global familiarity it is easy to train others on all elements of G Suite, email, calendar, drive etc.
  • Sharing documents can sometimes lead to users not being given the correct permissions to edit or share, not the most obvious
  • I wish Drive search was a little more optimized to most recently or frequently used documents
I would definitely recommend for use in an environment where not everyone is super tech savvy. It is incredibly intuitive and easy to learn and most people aren't scared away by Google like they would be other software. Google does it right with so many things and this is definitely one of them.
Read Janine Davis's full review
May 25, 2018

G Suite Review: "So easy!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole company, we're pretty small only around 10 employees or so. The problems it addresses is the fact that we work all online and remotely. There is no set office for the company, so being able to use G Suite is incredibly beneficial to us to be efficient.
  • Collaborability: don't know if that's a word but being able to remotely access documents and edit them in real time is crucial.
  • Shareability: how easy it is to share items across the company is intuitive and simple.
  • Intuitive: the whole G Suite is extremely intuitive and easy for anyone to learn. It's not complex at all and can be learned extremely quickly
  • Interface: it's not the prettiest thing in the world, it definitely could be improved looks wise
  • Complexity: while very easy to use, whenever you want to do somewhat complex things it can be hard to know which function does what and where everything is located.
  • Not enough features: simply it can do some basic things but when you want to do complex graphs or anything super complex it doesn't excel at it.
G suite is well suited for companies who need to work remotely and who like being able to edit certain things together, with others input online. One thing it isn't good at is being intuitive at complex formulas or formatting.
Read Baxter Gosch's full review
May 25, 2018

G Suite Review: "G-Suite - :)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is being used by my entire organization primarily for email but also for storing documents, sharing files, web conferencing, chatting, sheets, etc. It's our source of truth/communication and the way we conduct business on a daily basis.
  • Ease of use
  • Number of add-ons that help streamline work is unlimited
  • Constantly updating and adding relevant features
  • Secure
  • Attachments are a nightmare and must be downloaded each time which affects my computer and work.
  • Working within G-Suite can be cumbersome at times and you have to get used to it.
  • Firewall restrictions when inviting external users via conferencing aka Hangouts.
I think it's great for staying organized and managing your daily work overall but if you're constantly sharing documents and files it could get quite annoying having to download a file every time you need it.
Read Mustafa Hubaishi's full review
May 23, 2018

G Suite Review: "An excellent comprehensive office suite for collaborative teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is being used by the entire organization as a general productivity office suite.
  • The feature that stands out is the ease of collaboration by multiple users on the same documents. Aside from enabling simple, effective collaboration by a team, the real-time document editing and version control is great. G Suite users can access a document, make changes or suggest edits and each change will be flagged or highlighted, and even send notifications to other members of the shared document.
  • It's comprehensive -- covers all four basic functions any general user needs -- Docs word processor, Slides presentation app, Sheets spreadsheet editor, and file storage platform Drive.
  • Also the integration with Gmail and Google Calendar adds much efficiency to one's day to day work. Gmail is fast, and it has very effective search functionality. The Calendar has many added value features, such as automatic meeting creation based on email content, and can integrate with IT systems to book meeting rooms.
  • If you're a Gmail user, then I find that it's useful that documents drafted in Docs can be copied and pasted into Gmail easily including with all formatting (e.g., bullets, indents, etc.) retained. Often when trying to paste text from Word to Gmail, all of the formatting is lost and I have to spend time reformatting within Gmail. Thus, if you're a power Gmail user, then using Docs can be a major time saver.
  • Sheets the spreadsheet app simply isn't as robust or fully featured as Microsoft Excel. Frankly there's no real comparison, Excel is superior aside from the multi-user collaboration features of G Suite. If you need a powerful spreadsheet to handle complex number crunching and large data imports and exports, then Excel likely is the better product for you. But Sheets is great if your needs are relatively basic.
  • Similarly, Docs does not have the same full functionality of Microsoft Word if you're working on long, complex documents that require a lot of formatting. In particular I've found that Word's redline / compare documents feature is much better than Docs. Again the key benefit of Docs is the sharing and collaboration functionality, but it can't compare in terms of total features offered by Word. However, for the vast majority of tasks, Docs is an adequate and effective solution.
G Suite is a great all-around office suite, especially for companies where teams often work together on documents and need to collaborate on and share documents in real-time.

The main situations where I'd recommend O365 instead of G Suite are for "power" users of Excel (finance and data/BI) or Word (e.g., lawyers) where the Microsoft applications simply provide much more functionality and power.
Read Steve Quan's full review
May 22, 2018

User Review: "G Suite Collab Tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses the G Suite to solve version control issues, improve collaboration and create a central repository for files. In addition to real-time co-working, we are able to seamlessly support one another on projects and accounts, offering an increasingly higher level of transparency among teams and between all of our departments.
  • Collaboration
  • Real-Time Updates
  • Centralized Filing
  • File Stream update confused some people.
  • More attractive formatting in Sheets.
  • Additional templates for Docs
For teams that work remotely, and those who are traveling often, it is incredibly challenging to trust any centralized repository without the investment of a project management software. It has been a wonderful tool for our client services and media teams, to be able to connect with one another and work real-time on shared files.
Read Adrienne Mansfield Straub's full review
May 22, 2018

Review: "G Suite brings a lot of important business features under one roof"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Everyone in our company uses the G Suite, Gmail as our email server, and we regularly use G Chat for internal communications. Occasionally, we use Google Docs and Sheets, for passing around information that needs editing. We also have clients fill out Google Forms which allows us to easily organize and access their answers and helps us provide the exact services they need.
  • It's straightforward and easy to use.
  • Communicating and sharing material with others in your organization is streamlined through the chat feature and ease of sharing Docs, Sheets, etc.
  • The G Suite houses a lot of features and can feel pretty comprehensive, especially if you use AdWords, Analytics, photos, and features.
  • It's very easy to toggle between accounts and features.
  • Gmail occasionally dumps messages I need into spam, so it's important to keep an eye on that folder if you can't find something.
  • Sharing things through G Drive is not always perfectly compatible. It would be nice if you had the option to save items as different file types in G Drive, rather than having to download items, open them in the right program and then change the file type.
It's very good for internal communication within your company. G Chat and email are accessible from the same screen so you can choose the proper communication method for the situation. If you make use of G Docs, Sheets, Forms, etc. and the G Drive, it is very easy to share materials with co-workers. I don't think I've encountered a situation that the G Suite is ill-suited for.
Read Anthony Burke's full review
May 21, 2018

Review: "G Suite - best for cloud applications, but you might need MS Office as well."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for one of the biggest appliances companies in the globe and we use G Suite as often as possible. It has been used through out the entire organization. The main idea is to have an easy way to collaborate internally - sharing spreadsheets, presentations, documents, agendas and calendar invites (including calls, videos, etc.)
  • Simplicity: Google is known for simplifying things. Using G Suite for work just make things (sharing documents, communicating with peers, and scheduling meetings) simple and fast.
  • Light: There aren't a lot of buttons or options, so using it for the first time is a breeze. Since it is very light, you don't get sick of using it every day.
  • Integration: Your email, phone, calendar, documents... everything is integrated and easy to access both on your computer or phone.
  • Cloud based: Since it's light, running everything on the cloud is super fast!
  • Excel: Well, if you are an Excel heavy user you probably won't like Google Spreadsheets. Don't get me wrong, you can do all the very basic there, but if you want more advanced formulas or macros, forget it!
  • Presentations: I like doing quick presentations on Google, but Microsoft PowerPoint has many more features and options - especially integration with Microsoft Excel and more slide customization.
Well suited:
- Having a common platform across the company that is easy to use, reliable, fast, and can be used in multiple devices;
- Simple tasks: doing a quick presentation or spreadsheet, sharing word documents, having an editable document for multiple people.
Less appropriate:
- Organization where they rely a lot on Excel, example: Finance;
- Organization where they rely a lot on the creative aspect, example: Design;
- Consulting firms, since they need a lot of Excel and PowerPoint;
Read Gabriel Chiararia's full review
May 17, 2018

G Suite Review: "Does the job and does it WELL"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the full G Suite system in our company and rely on it every day. We use Gcal to schedule our meetings, Gmail to send email, Docs to do our work and we used to use Google Hangouts but switched to Zoom (I think I liked Hangouts better though).
  • The Gmail tool is easy to use and effective.
  • GCal is AMAZING especially with the new UI update it's a lot prettier now!
  • I love Google Docs/Presentations/Sheets - it's so much easier to use and I can collaborate easily and see my info everywhere.
  • The Gmail search functionality is pretty much trash and makes it pretty hard to find something. I feel like this is something people have said about Gmail since like 2005 but they have yet to make it any better (as far as I can see). Google invented search, it doesn't make sense for it to be bad but there's probably something tricky about email search that makes it hard - I'm sure they are smart enough to fix it but we make fun of it at work all the time.
  • Need a little bit more functionality of the Microsoft Office Suite in your products. I know your products are simpler and free but there are certain things such as custom animations that should really be available in presentations.
Super easy to use and easy to collaborate on
Read Carl Pieri's full review
March 01, 2018

Review: "G suite gives more tools , integration possibilities and unlimited space"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organisation. It resolves communication with our clients, suppliers, etc. It also gives us unlimited space for storing files and sharing. It includes apps for documents very similar to Office apps. We have an app to share ideas and for the knowledge base. We can create websites that we use as intranet or as presentations for clients. And we can add several apps from the marketplace that helps us to work as a team. As a summary, G Suite is perfect for working efficiently.
  • Email
  • File sharing
  • Integration with other apps
  • Productivity tools
  • Drive should improve file and folders searching.
  • Sites should be more user friendly. It is not easy or intuitive to work with them.
  • Gmail should have better text writer (formats, fonts, etc).
Well suited:
Team work - it works very good for teams that need to share information, projects, etc.
To improve productivity - it boosted productivity since starting.
CRM integration - awesome integration with CRMs.
It is also very good for e-learning processes.

Less appropriate:
The only thing that is improvable in my opinion is design of the Suite, of the Apps. I would suggest an update on this issue.

Read Alvaro Satrustegui's full review
February 21, 2018

G Suite Review: "Cheap, easy to share, lacking features vs Office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use g suite for email, shared docs and spreadsheets, drive for file storage and sharing. It's an affordable solution versus MS Exchange/Office and is easy to set up which is why it was chosen. As a startup without dedicated IT staff it's critical to have something that can be set up and managed easily. Personally, I find the individual apps each to be less complete than their MS counterparts. G Docs is an ok substitute for some of Word functionality but the browser-based interface makes it difficult to do some activities. I have less satisfaction with Sheets which has some significant drawbacks versus MS Excel. Bottom line is that for sharing and ease of use G-Suite solves a problem but if I need to do real work on a doc or xls then I always download and use Microsoft's much more feature-filled Office products.
  • Sharing
  • Ease of Use
  • Cloud Storage
  • Docs feature gap vs Word
  • Sheets feature gap vs Excel
  • I prefer to use Outlook to manage my mail rather than the browser interface to Gmail
Great for startups without dedicated IT resources, great for budget minded organizations. Great for distributed organizations that need to share files. Not so great for spreadsheet/document editing. Unfortunately, in order to get my work done I have to keep MS Office on my machine because Sheets/Docs just don't cut it with features and usability.
Read Eric Farnham's full review
January 31, 2018

Review: "G Suite: decent for basics, but slipping support"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the organization - every department has access to it and we use it and along with Microsoft Office apps for external compatibility. Its sharing functionality addresses the dreaded email and merges chain that you so often get in office. It also handles our organization's email which is fairly well best of the breed.
  • Sharing functionality: collaborative editing
  • Best email system
  • Best spam filtering
  • Access from everywhere (phones, tablets, desktop)
  • Import/export from MS Word/Excel/etc is a massive problem (claimed to work but causes problems, can't copy/paste with comments/etc)
  • Spreadsheets are VERY slow
  • seems like it was more robust in the past: odd errors with permissions (you cannot access your own document) crop up regularly.
  • Support has significantly dropped off - the assumption is that it works and you can fix it yourself (and you can't always)
  • Offline editing still a problem (claimed to work, craps the bed)
  • Limited functionality: word and excel are slightly too massive beasts but google docs are too limited.
Good for *very* simple documents, initial drafting, collaborative editing. Great for email - very reliable and robust. *very much not good* for anything involving offline/online editing (getting on an airplane and syncing up when you're there) - fails regularly Not good for anything mission-critical- can't trust it Not good for final proofreading/preparing for print
Read Glen Mehn's full review
January 30, 2018

Review: "G Suite - easy email and collaboration."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite has been a game changer for us; we used it to manage our own in-house mail server and this is so much easier.
  • Easy to manage users.
  • Good storage capacity.
  • Groups are very flexible.
  • Browsing and searching colleagues email or docs if an admin.
  • "Off boarding" as a user leavers.
  • Login in to manage users process is clunky.
  • Awesome hosted email solution, it is far superior to our previous solution which was a hosted office-based server, and prior to that a web server.
  • It reduces the need for a skilled sys-admin and means that email administration can be carried out by an office manager.
  • It also provides an easy way to log on to other apps through its SSO/authorisation features.
Read Jez John's full review
May 21, 2018

G Suite Review: "Office collaboration hitting the Suite spot."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is a core part of our daily work lives. It is our main form of collaboration across all departments. The central collaboration repository has been the most beneficial aspect of G Suite.
  • Helps share data across the company.
  • Integration with Gmail.
  • Real-time collaboration.
  • There Sheets app is not as robust as it needs to be.
  • The chat and messaging system is not robust and is not used by many people.
If you are constantly connected and need collaboration G Suite is a perfect work tool. If you are not connected their offline features need much improvement.
Read Minh Tran's full review
May 17, 2018

User Review: "G Suite - Great but not there yet...."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use G suite for collaborative documents (docs). But mostly I use it most personally to organize my calendar, take notes, and share information with friends via email. Yesterday a presenter chose to present his deck using Slides instead of powerpoint. So we do have some liberty on what we decide to use.
  • Ease of sharing
  • Ease of use personally
  • Clear, clean formatting. Simple design.
  • Functionality, sheets is good but not as powerful as excel.
  • Same with Gmail. I liked being able to delay sending of emails with Outlook the most.
  • Notes needs to be able to adjust the margins wider.
Collaborating with colleagues. I'd recommend it on more informal work. But I've never had an issue with it, so reliability is up there for reasons I'd recommend it.
Read Sayle Atkinson's full review
January 24, 2018

G Suite Review: "A really useful suite for a cloud within a company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
G Suite is very useful to create a real cloud within a company. It is particularly efficient to share files and work on the same file with a few people.
  • Cloud
  • No technical needs
  • Simple
  • Not available offline for most of the applications
  • Does not convert every Excel function
Every business can use it, the suite is fast, cheap and powerful
Read Brice Delhome's full review
June 25, 2018

G Suite Review: "Great toolset to be more productive and organized with your team."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use G Suite in our department mostly for document sharing. It's great when you need to collaborate on different documents or spreadsheets with several colleagues. I also use Drive for sharing different files with my colleagues and partners who find this way of collaboration very useful and productive. I love how G Suite helps us be more productive and achieve our daily goals.
  • First of all, Gmail is my favorite email provider and I love how it works. The new design is also very beautiful.
  • Drive and Google Docs are very powerful tools. I use it almost daily and it helps me collaborate with my colleagues seamlessly.
  • Calendar is another feature that is widely used and helps a lot to organize my day and meetings.
  • Hangouts is one of the tools that I always had a problem when using. Would be great to have a seamless experience there.
I think G Suite is great for very different types of customers. It's great for big companies, startups, agencies, and even freelancers. It provides the essential toolset for every professional to be more organized, productive and to collaborate with the peers.
Read this authenticated review

G Suite Scorecard Summary

About G Suite

Google's G Suite is a productivity suite for business that includes, Gmail, Docs, Drive, and Calendar for Business.


Categories:  Office Suites

G Suite Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No