TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/0g/mb/LDFPVHDAU1CL.PNGGit: a solid version control toolGit is our core version control tool in my company and it is used not only in our development department but in multiple other departments like Tech Writing and Implementation. In development, we use Git to track our development changes and to organize our release cycles with different branches to track our stages. We utilize tools that integrate with Git like Bitbucket to have a front end UI that helps us manage things like pull requests, which are branches off of QA for development changes we would like to add to release. Git is the core infrastructure in what we do here and I have been using it every day for the past 6 years.,Ability to create branches off current releases to modify code that can be tested in a separate environment. Each developer had their own local copy of branches so it minimizes mistakes being made. Has a user-friendly UI called Git Gui that users can use if they do not like using the command line. Conflicts are displayed nicely so that developers can resolve with ease.,Sometimes conflicts arise over white space which can be annoying. You cannot do any advanced features in the built-in GUI, you have to use an application like Bitbucket for these things. It can have a very high learning curve for new users because there are so many commands and things you can do that it gets very complex very fast.,9,Git is essential for our development cycle and without it, we could never be efficient at our jobs. Brings teams together and gives the ability to work on the same projects simultaneously which results in faster releases.,Apache Subversion,TIBCO Jaspersoft,13,5,Track source code changes. Remote storage of important source code. Organization of branches to support quality releases.,Integration with products like Bitbucket to visualize branches and organize pull requests. Took advantage of branch history. This helps when needing to reapply changes for upgrades. Recently utilizing pull request and code reviews to increase high-quality code.,Integration with more application to support continuous integration.,10,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,N/A,Implemented in-house,No,Learning commands,9,10,No,N/A,Commiting changes Creating new branches Checking out or cloning branches,Merging branches Resolving conflicts Reverting things when all goes wrong,No,9Git - Best Source Control Management ToolMy organization uses Git for version control of our various codebases. It is used by the engineering and dev-ops teams. We use git because it reliably handles creating branches for various features and bug fixes, and provides an effective and trusted way to merge and release that code to our different environments.,Ability to create branches and merge those changes in - very cleanly and in an organized way. Other features such as cherry-picking and rolling back are extremely useful. Diff-ing changes is a great utility for reviewing code and understanding the history of code changes. Git makes working in teams on the same set of code very possible, compared to some of the alternatives like SVN.,There can be quite a number of commands once you get to the advanced features and functionality of Git. Takes time to master. Doesn't handle static assets (ie: videos, images, etc.) well. Although in the recent years, new functionality has been introduced to address this. Many different GUIs, many people (including myself) opt to just use the command-line.,10,Developers can work in parallel on projects. Increasing the speed at which teams can work, thus causing projects to complete faster. Git has many integrations and hooks, which work nicely with the various continuous integration and deployment tools out there, such as Jenkins. It makes it easy to build deployment workflows, which leads to a more stable product offering. Most developers today are not only familiar with Git, but have used it everywhere they've worked. It becomes very easy to become integrated to a team that's using the same tools you have experience using yourself.,Bitbucket, GitHub, Team Foundation Server and Apache Subversion,Microsoft Visual Studio CodeGit With the Program: Superior Codebase ManagementOur organization uses Git for code versioning, namely to track and manage changes to the codebase in a way that avoids accidentally writing over another engineer's code, resolves change conflicts, and provides a rollback option in the event of a breaking change. Git has become an important part of the development workflow for most software engineering teams. The problem Git addresses for us is the problem of having multiple people updating a codebase. One developer might change a portion of the code in one area and another might change it somewhere else, and managing the merging of these changes together is the main job of Git. To facilitate this Git stores every committed change in a log, and this log can be reviewed and even used to roll the code back and reject changes further down the pipeline. In our organization, each engineer creates a new branch from the master codebase whenever they are starting a new task in the project, and once they have completed that task and confirmed the code is stable, the code can be merged into the master codebase and eventually included in the production build. Our team has a strict policy of not merging your own code, so the code is reviewed and approved by another engineer whom merges it in after assessing its impact. We use Git across our engineering department only.,Git manages the merging of changes from different team members and provides for a way to roll back those changes when necessary. Git allows for management of multiple branches of a code project and merging them in through a controlled and considered manner. Git provides a complete history of all code changes and who made them, making the process of identifying when breaking code came in a much easier one along with identifying the code to roll back to (when needed). Git is a powerful tool for change management and avoiding breaking code making its way into production.,Git has a steep learning curve in that it has traditionally been used through the command-line interface, and has a lengthy set of commands you must learn how to use to work with it efficiently. Fortunately, there are some good GUI-based applications to help you with this, but to really be a Git master you will have to know how to use in from the console. At times it can be difficult to determine just what action is appropriate when a mistake has been made in a Git commit. A deep understanding of how Git works can be required to correctly navigate the steps to recover from a bad commit. Git could benefit from an overhaul of its command syntax to focus on the subset of Git commands that most developers use all the time. Some Git commands have names that can prompt misunderstandings as to what they actually do. A prime example of this is "git blame" which simply tells you whom made a specific change to the code, but sounds like it is going to automatically report someone to their boss for a dressing-down.,10,Git has saved our organization countless hours having to manually trace code to a breaking change or manage conflicting changes. It has no equal when it comes to scalability or manageability. Git has allowed our engineering team to build code reviews into its workflow by preventing a developer from approving or merging in their own code; instead, all proposed changes are reviewed by another engineer to assess the impact of the code and whether or not it should be merged in first. This greatly reduces the likelihood of breaking changes getting into production. Git has at times created some confusion among developers about what to do if they accidentally commit a change they decide later they want to roll back. There are multiple ways to address this problem and the best available option may not be obvious in all cases.,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft 365 Business, WordPressGit things doneIn our organization, Git is used by several departments for file versioning, collaborative work on the same source code, change tracking, branch merging, version comparison etc. Especially because we have distributed teams all over the world, we needed a reliable tool to achieve these goals, and Git was the natural choice.,File versioning - easy to see the history of the changes. Collaborative work on the same source code -- by providing the ability to create branches. Merging branches and comparing versions made easy. It is free and open source. Git is so popular that when hiring, it is easy to find developers who already know this.,To use Git at its full capabilities, one needs to spend some time learning it. Command line usage may be an issue to developers used more with GUIs. For those, you may need to add a free GUI or purchase something like Bitbucket. Merging code when there are conflicts can be difficult sometimes from the command line. Git may have bundled in more features that it needs. Most people just need the basics: pull, edit, push, merge.,9,Using Git helped us having one central place for our source code, developed by a distributed team across the globe. Due to its advantages, more departments in the company switched to Git from VSS or SVN. This resulted in the unified workplace and in having only one Git server for all teams(retiring the other servers and save money on the infrastructure). Git helped us achieve our goal of having 2-week sprints with production releases (in most of the cases), from 3 or 4 weeks. This can be seen as having a 40% increase in the productivity of the software team.,Apache SubversionGit is the king for a reasonGit is being used by our organization on an information technology department level. We use Git as our sole Version Control system for all of our software releases, maintenance & deployment.,Git is designed to work in a distributed manner, allowing each developer to run a local node that has full control of the project. Through this, the developer is able to merge his work with others on a main 'branch' & work in sync without having to worry about stepping on your other developers toes. Because Git has solved the software problem of dependency, users who commit code that needs to be deleted can just roll back to a restore point, saving precious development time & tons of headaches for Information Technology. This is also very helpful when cloning projects or creating new features on the current project. Git has a beautiful command line interface that is intuitive, easy to learn & extensible. You can also observe all the changes you have made in your project throughout the development with just a few simple commands. This diverse set of command-line tools is easy for the end user & very powerful.,There is currently no way to avoid downloading the entire commit history of a repository into the local copy - this can be problematic when cloning projects that have a history of many working submodules & packages. Advanced configurations (managing multiple branches, having commands that take 2+ arguments) can sometimes be overwhelming for inexperienced users & there is definitely a learning slope for new developers. You have to be precise when you use your git commands. The nature of Git commands are powerful. So powerful that if you don't know what you are doing and accidentally type a wrong command, you can cause irrevocable damage to your repository & others.,10,Git has allowed us to have a positive impact on our software development processes by helping us avoid allocating precious development resources to tedious tasks such as manual version control. We have been able to avoid problems before they happen & fix them if necessary.,Apache Subversion,Google Ad Manager, Google Analytics, Google Analytics Premium
Unspecified
Git
62 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Git Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Git
62 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 62 vetted Git reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kyle Jones profile photo
February 04, 2019

User Review: "Git: a solid version control tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is our core version control tool in my company and it is used not only in our development department but in multiple other departments like Tech Writing and Implementation. In development, we use Git to track our development changes and to organize our release cycles with different branches to track our stages. We utilize tools that integrate with Git like Bitbucket to have a front end UI that helps us manage things like pull requests, which are branches off of QA for development changes we would like to add to release. Git is the core infrastructure in what we do here and I have been using it every day for the past 6 years.
  • Ability to create branches off current releases to modify code that can be tested in a separate environment.
  • Each developer had their own local copy of branches so it minimizes mistakes being made.
  • Has a user-friendly UI called Git Gui that users can use if they do not like using the command line.
  • Conflicts are displayed nicely so that developers can resolve with ease.
  • Sometimes conflicts arise over white space which can be annoying.
  • You cannot do any advanced features in the built-in GUI, you have to use an application like Bitbucket for these things.
  • It can have a very high learning curve for new users because there are so many commands and things you can do that it gets very complex very fast.
Git is well suited for development, for tracking code changes in files, creating branches off projects to create pull requests that get merged back in, etc. It is used for anything we want to track on a computer like Source code, SQL scripts, documentation (Html/PDF/word docs), and project files for applications. Not really appropriate for backing files up just to have a backup, google drive is a better option for that.
Read Kyle Jones's full review
Gabriel Samaroo profile photo
January 16, 2019

Review: "Git - Best Source Control Management Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Git for version control of our various codebases. It is used by the engineering and dev-ops teams. We use git because it reliably handles creating branches for various features and bug fixes, and provides an effective and trusted way to merge and release that code to our different environments.
  • Ability to create branches and merge those changes in - very cleanly and in an organized way. Other features such as cherry-picking and rolling back are extremely useful.
  • Diff-ing changes is a great utility for reviewing code and understanding the history of code changes.
  • Git makes working in teams on the same set of code very possible, compared to some of the alternatives like SVN.
  • There can be quite a number of commands once you get to the advanced features and functionality of Git. Takes time to master.
  • Doesn't handle static assets (ie: videos, images, etc.) well. Although in the recent years, new functionality has been introduced to address this.
  • Many different GUIs, many people (including myself) opt to just use the command-line.
Git is by far the best Source Control Management Tool I've used. I would recommend it to anyone, whether it's an individual working on their own project, a small start-up company, or a huge organization with thousands of developers. Maintaining code via source control is absolutely mandatory for all developers everywhere.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Joel Tanzi profile photo
November 29, 2018

Review: "Git With the Program: Superior Codebase Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Git for code versioning, namely to track and manage changes to the codebase in a way that avoids accidentally writing over another engineer's code, resolves change conflicts, and provides a rollback option in the event of a breaking change. Git has become an important part of the development workflow for most software engineering teams. The problem Git addresses for us is the problem of having multiple people updating a codebase. One developer might change a portion of the code in one area and another might change it somewhere else, and managing the merging of these changes together is the main job of Git. To facilitate this Git stores every committed change in a log, and this log can be reviewed and even used to roll the code back and reject changes further down the pipeline. In our organization, each engineer creates a new branch from the master codebase whenever they are starting a new task in the project, and once they have completed that task and confirmed the code is stable, the code can be merged into the master codebase and eventually included in the production build. Our team has a strict policy of not merging your own code, so the code is reviewed and approved by another engineer whom merges it in after assessing its impact. We use Git across our engineering department only.
  • Git manages the merging of changes from different team members and provides for a way to roll back those changes when necessary.
  • Git allows for management of multiple branches of a code project and merging them in through a controlled and considered manner.
  • Git provides a complete history of all code changes and who made them, making the process of identifying when breaking code came in a much easier one along with identifying the code to roll back to (when needed).
  • Git is a powerful tool for change management and avoiding breaking code making its way into production.
  • Git has a steep learning curve in that it has traditionally been used through the command-line interface, and has a lengthy set of commands you must learn how to use to work with it efficiently. Fortunately, there are some good GUI-based applications to help you with this, but to really be a Git master you will have to know how to use in from the console.
  • At times it can be difficult to determine just what action is appropriate when a mistake has been made in a Git commit. A deep understanding of how Git works can be required to correctly navigate the steps to recover from a bad commit.
  • Git could benefit from an overhaul of its command syntax to focus on the subset of Git commands that most developers use all the time.
  • Some Git commands have names that can prompt misunderstandings as to what they actually do. A prime example of this is "git blame" which simply tells you whom made a specific change to the code, but sounds like it is going to automatically report someone to their boss for a dressing-down.
Git is very well suited for teams of software engineers who are collaborating on a software project. It makes life much easier for project managers, team leads and software architects to make decisions about which code to allow in and which to send back to the drawing board. It can also be a good tool for solo developers to use to manage and showcase their codebase and is, in fact, the versioning system on which the most popular code hosting platform, GitHub, is built on.

Git has at times been used for less technical content such as document management, but this may be a less appealing tool for non-technical professionals such as writers, whom may not want to deal with its learning curve and may find tools built into MS Office or Google Drive to be sufficient to manage document versions.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
February 12, 2019

User Review: "Git things done"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Git is used by several departments for file versioning, collaborative work on the same source code, change tracking, branch merging, version comparison etc. Especially because we have distributed teams all over the world, we needed a reliable tool to achieve these goals, and Git was the natural choice.
  • File versioning - easy to see the history of the changes.
  • Collaborative work on the same source code -- by providing the ability to create branches.
  • Merging branches and comparing versions made easy.
  • It is free and open source.
  • Git is so popular that when hiring, it is easy to find developers who already know this.
  • To use Git at its full capabilities, one needs to spend some time learning it.
  • Command line usage may be an issue to developers used more with GUIs. For those, you may need to add a free GUI or purchase something like Bitbucket.
  • Merging code when there are conflicts can be difficult sometimes from the command line.
  • Git may have bundled in more features that it needs. Most people just need the basics: pull, edit, push, merge.
Git is suited for doing source code versioning of all-size projects, from small to large and very large. Does very well when you have distributed teams, as it increases the team's focus, collaboration, decreases the time needed for merging code and finding differences between file versions, and decreases the time needed to make a software release. Therefore, the time to market of new projects or new features is improved (any top manager's desire).
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Matthew Mariner profile photo
September 12, 2018

User Review: "Git is the king for a reason"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is being used by our organization on an information technology department level. We use Git as our sole Version Control system for all of our software releases, maintenance & deployment.
  • Git is designed to work in a distributed manner, allowing each developer to run a local node that has full control of the project. Through this, the developer is able to merge his work with others on a main 'branch' & work in sync without having to worry about stepping on your other developers toes.
  • Because Git has solved the software problem of dependency, users who commit code that needs to be deleted can just roll back to a restore point, saving precious development time & tons of headaches for Information Technology. This is also very helpful when cloning projects or creating new features on the current project.
  • Git has a beautiful command line interface that is intuitive, easy to learn & extensible. You can also observe all the changes you have made in your project throughout the development with just a few simple commands. This diverse set of command-line tools is easy for the end user & very powerful.
  • There is currently no way to avoid downloading the entire commit history of a repository into the local copy - this can be problematic when cloning projects that have a history of many working submodules & packages.
  • Advanced configurations (managing multiple branches, having commands that take 2+ arguments) can sometimes be overwhelming for inexperienced users & there is definitely a learning slope for new developers.
  • You have to be precise when you use your git commands. The nature of Git commands are powerful. So powerful that if you don't know what you are doing and accidentally type a wrong command, you can cause irrevocable damage to your repository & others.
Git is a great tool, in fact, possibly the best tool to use when keeping track of all the projects through version control. Through its rigorous program, it allows the end user to see how code behaves before being merged into the main branch, and allows the intelligent user to avoid problems & fix them if necessary. It is easy to learn the common verbiage (clone, add, commit, pull & push) but at the same time have all advanced features that you can need in a future (merge, cherry pick, diffs ...) It is faster than other version control solutions currently on the market, & because it's open source it's just the best go-to for Version Control Software.
Read Matthew Mariner's full review
Chris Martin profile photo
December 26, 2018

Review: "Git it now! If you're working on a small or large team of developers, locally or remotely, you absolutely need to welcome Git to your team."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is being used throughout our organization by the majority of the development teams--custom app development and off-the-shelf customized products. We primarily use Git as a source-code management, a repository, and for revision control and deployment (integrated with other apps to support this function). Being on a large software development team with multiple different developers pitching in on in-house applications, it's essential that we have a tool like Git to manage multiple processes involved with app development. Git allows us to release development changes faster and minimizes potentially negative impacts to our production releases. I also use Git for personal hobby and freelance projects.
  • Git allows for collaborative development projects, without worrying about impacting the master revision. By using branches in Git, developers can get a messy as they want, knowing that they can revert to a previous revision.
  • The ability for co-located and remote teams to develop on a single project independently. From a business perspective, this allows you to strengthen your team by not limiting your employee or team selection processes to a specific geographical location. It also eliminates the requirement for a physical centralized location for co-workers to meet and work.
  • Git allows for code-comparison so that developers can see what changes they're merging together.
  • One of my biggest gripes with Git is the learning curve. Although I am now fairly seasoned, I vividly remember the struggle to learn the ins-and-outs of Git when I first started using it. It has come a long way since I first started using Git, so there are now a lot of fixes to age-old problems, as well as GUI interfaces and 3rd party integrations, eliminating a lot of the initial learning curve for newbies.
Git is best suited for storing and managing source code in a local or remote repository. For example, myself and 5 other developer friends are working on a hobby app, but we all work full-time, busy lives, and have no clear deadline in mind to develop this app. Each of us can develop our portions of the app independently on our own time, remotely checking-in our source-code revisions to a centralized repository. As each of us pushes our code to the repository, we can begin to merge the code together into a single revision. Let's say Joe (made up friend name) decides to go a little wild and releases some really experimental code that causes the rest of the app to fail when put into production. Since we used Git, it's easy for us to revert back to a previous release, removing Joe's code changes and fixing the issues with the release.
Read Chris Martin's full review
Jakub Wilk profile photo
December 17, 2018

"Git is best to cooperate with customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is used as alternative solution to mercurial. It is used more by my department and is used to manage projects for customers. We are using them in the cloud version to share code with our customer. Each team has their own repository per customer. We usually receive this repository from the customer, because he wants to have control over this.
  • Cooperation with customer
  • Integration with visual studio
  • Distribution
  • Branching
  • Too much possibility to use console and programmers instead of concentrating on programming that has to think about pushing.
  • For me it's more a Linux than a Windows idea.
Git is suited very well for programmers and less for new programmers that are mouse oriented. it gives very good support as visual studio tool and I think that thanks to this it is used very often within the Microsoft community. I'm very much MS oriented so my perspective is different than the others and I heard that the world is not only MS. In our company it is very well suited within offshoring projects to share and distribute source code around countries and companies.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

User Review: "Git: Version control for the future"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Git to manage a truly massive code base. Every developer is added to our enterprise GitHub server and is expected to use it when writing and reviewing code. The problems we try to address with Git include version control and cross team review.
  • Code management. This allows us as a team to manage unique code bases for each employee with little to no overhead.
  • Code backup and versioning. Git truly has the most rebust and reliable code versioning system in the industry.
  • Handling large amounts of unique data from a variety of teams. We sometimes have to work across teams and across organizations when writing and testing code; Git allows us to do this even when developers are on the other side of the world.
  • There is a serious lack of GUI clients for Git.
  • The command line version of Git is often obtuse and confusing to use.
  • When something goes wrong in Git, it often does so spectacularly. We spend a lot of man hours cleaning up Git-created messes.
Git is super well suited to environments populated by engineers and developers. Git is useful for tracking changes across many people and teams. An environment that Git is not optimal for is management or marketing. Git does not work well with art or promotional materials. The complexity of the tool makes it ill suited for non tech fields.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 14, 2018

Git Review: "Versioning and branching at their best"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Git across all of our development projects in order to work on multiple aspects at once and then merge branches as needed. There are four scrum teams and one Kanban team that handles hardware issues. All the scrum teams are developing and maintaining software to various degrees across the organization.
  • It's the best at version control that I've seen. Rollbacks are a snap.
  • Provides local control down the individual developer level, which in turn allows easy management back up the chain of command.
  • Cloning is perfect when you need to copy a project to tweak it without messing with the main branch.
  • If you're not a developer, it'll take some time to get the hang of it, particularly some aspects of the API.
  • Sometimes the parameters are WAY too long.

For any code commitments from any individual developer of any talent range it's awesome. Getting the hang of it happens over time (and can be speeded up if a senior person looks over your shoulder and gives you pointers). This comes into play for testing feature sets and ensuring branches are merged correctly.

For teams where many developers are working on a single project, Git allows them to all work on the same code without messing up back end work in the process. For any bugs or defects that slip through (big ones, I mean), it's super easy to roll back to an earlier version and call it good.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 29, 2018

Git Review: "Open source, widely used, reliable, but medium-high technical learning for effective use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is mainly used in my organisation by the technical team who are mainly responsible for project delivery. It provides us with an avenue for version control and code management. It addresses the risk of time and effort loss during project implementation.
  • Version control and backups
  • Branching and merging
  • Open source
  • High learning curve for beginners
  • Primarily aimed at technical users
  • Built-in GUI is hard to navigate and use.
Very suitable for the project implementation stage, where version control is required. It is more suitable for files that mainly involve text formatting for change/version tracking. It is less appropriate in situations where entire files change rapidly on each commit (e.g. image/graphic design files). Git is less suited for management personnel.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Weaver profile photo
June 07, 2018

Review: "Git Things Done: The Current Standard in Version Control"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git manages the source control over all of our web-related codebases. It allows us to be light and flexible with our approach to not only development and coding, but also using a continuous integration workflow that automates processes in the deployment chain. Without Git, life as a developer would be quite painful indeed.
  • It handles many of the complicated features of version control for you like merging branches
  • It has a diverse ecosystem of tools that utilize its many features
  • Documentation for Git and its workflows can be quickly found and understood
  • Some of the commands are a little obtuse if you're not using a Git Client
  • Since Git is so widely used in the development space, it's easy to believe that growth and innovation might become stale in the area of version control. Competition is sparse these days and I'm curious if this "Standard" is going to keep moving forward somehow.
  • It's hard to fault a tool that is so ubiquitous and hardly gets in your way.
If you're developing any software that requires the need of keeping the source code around, then you should be using Git. The only time I can think of an instance where I might suggest not using Git is when you deal with an integrated and closed development environment where the source code is tightly held and managed within the IDE or environment itself. This type of development is rare these days but does still exist. As such, it would take extra measures to extract the source code out of the environment to then be able to utilize the benefits of Git.
Everyone else should utilize Git because it helps in many aspects of Source Control, for example:
  • Feature Branches during development
  • Forking entirely new versions of projects
  • Merging changes
  • Reviewing Commit histories and changes
  • Rolling back changes
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
David Petrie profile photo
March 15, 2018

User Review: "Git - the new Subversion"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is one of the source code version control tools used at my organization (the other major one being Subversion). We are using Git to store our source code across multiple repositories and branches (features and bugs). We have a mainline development branch which all our new code is eventually pushed to, after being code reviewed by their branch using pull requests. The development branch in our Git repositories are polled for any changes, and builds are automatically run to verify the code.
  • Branching
  • What I find as the main benefit of Git is the ease that branches can be created in a repository - whether that's for working on new features or to fix bugs. It's as easy as selecting the code you want to branch from and "git checkout -b newBranch". Mainly I use this for branching from our development branch (also known as trunk) and once the code is finished, we merge the branch back into the development branch. Switching branches in Subversion is a little bit more complex, whereas Git is super easy to use.
  • Pull Requests
  • Pull requests can be created on a repository allowing code to be reviewed before being merged to the main branch. External tools like Bitbucket can be used to integrate into the Git repositories, allowing users to easily review and comment on your pull requests.
  • Local Repositories
  • When you use Git, you checkout the repository to your machine locally - and any commits that you make only affect your local repository, rather than the "real" repository at a remote location. This allows you to commit often and finalize all of your code before merging onto the latest development branch.
  • Understanding
  • Git has a little bit more of a learning curve when compared to other source control solutions, e.g. Subversion - but this is due to the more complex features it offers.
  • IDE Support
  • There aren't as many plugins for Git when compared to other source control solutions. Subversion has better plugins for IDEs and seems to be well supported.
  • Git Bash
  • Using Git bash, or the GUI that comes with Git can be slightly daunting at first. Tools like SourceTree are a solution to this problem, as they run the underlying Git commands for you.
Git is perfect for any micro-repository solutions, as it can checkout source code quickly and switch between branches easily. For example, let's say you have a new feature to add to a microservice your working on, a feature branch can be created quickly, and the working copy can be automatically switched to that new branch. If you ever need to share your code to a wider public audience, Github is great for this. Anyone with an account can check out and comment on your code and suggest changes. Also, Git is free!

As for a scenario where you wouldn't want to use Git, I've heard that Git can struggle with image files (jpg, gif) sometimes, so users with lots of images may want another solution.
Read David Petrie's full review
Christy Herron profile photo
March 01, 2018

User Review: "The Awesome Git"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a freelance, full-stack, software developer. Git repositories are used for all my code. I use multiple machines to create software for different platforms - Ubuntu to create websites to run on Heroku, and iOS apps. Git allows me to work on any machine while away from my normal setup. It also keeps all my source code backed-up, and I have the ability to grant access to my client if required.
  • Backup. It's the cheapest and easiest backup solution I've found in 20 years of coding. If/when a machine goes down I know I have no issues with losing work.
  • Access. I can access my code on any machine, anywhere I need to be. If I find myself with some spare time, and any machine at hand, I can dive in and carry on working.
  • Forking. It's very easy to fork new ideas without losing the current development thread.
  • I mainly use xCode and SublimeText, both of which provide a number of useful commands to backup my code to git. I'd like to see further integration, perhaps automated.
Developers often work in pairs, and on multiple projects at once. Sharing code across multiple machines can be very difficult. I don't know how we did it before Git came along - well, I do, but it wasn't pretty! Git has been a lifesaver on many occasions when systems have gone down due to hard drive failure. Git has also made it possible for me to manage and monitor the input of remote developers, as I can see in the commit logs for each push to the repositories.
Read Christy Herron's full review
Miguelangel Nuñez profile photo
April 20, 2018

Git Review: "An excellent tool to keep all the changes updated"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is only used in our department. All our code is saved and versioned with Atlassian Stash using Git as version control system. There are at least 15+ projects in the development using this VCS.
  • Git branches allow you to work with different features at the same time.
  • Git makes programming easy and fun. You can share your code with a team peer or an entire community. You can modify the same file because you're working with local changes instead of a centralized repository.
  • At first, it's difficult to learn all the concepts, (rebase, merge, forking). They are conceptually difficult aspects to get in at first sight. You can use a graphic UI to handle it more easily.
I think you can use Git for every project you have, there aren't limitations about a kind of program or something specific. It's more about personal preferences and ease of use.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
Benjamin Hale profile photo
March 07, 2018

User Review: "Git gets it."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Git to track all changes in our multiple websites and landing pages, along with internal scripting projects. Git addresses the issue of keeping track of the code we have created, and maintains security and redundancy between employees. In this way, we can be sure that no one person or one device has all the information we use daily to keep our systems and websites running.
  • Git works quite well to keep a record of the code and the changes made on code for our websites and internal scripting.
  • Git allows multiple developers to work on a single project with the checkout process.
  • Git allows us to track who makes edits, when they were made, and how we can go back and fix any mistakes or bugs.
  • Git is FAST!
  • Git can be slow to learn, and much of it is done through the command line.
  • Git is a single solution for a code repository, so if you are looking for larger scale backup or documentation, it might not be the right fit.
Git is great for coding for individuals and teams. The ability to have versioning and how git is built into many development tools helps to make using one of the many git repository services easy. I can imagine that for some projects, there are better solutions for keeping code, but for most situations, git works well.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
No photo available
June 15, 2018

User Review: "GIT is a gift!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GIT is used as a server out of the box. It is being used by the whole organization. Dedicated Git server software helps, amongst other features, to add access control, display the contents of a Git repository via the web, and help managing multiple repositories.
  • Unlike centralized version control systems, Git branches are cheap and easy to merge. This facilitates the feature branch workflow very user-understandable.
  • Many commands with many options, some commands are non-intuitive and need a level of understanding the internals of Git, commands and arguments are inconsistent to some degree
Staging area: Make sure your commits have logically grouped changes and not everything else you are working on.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 31, 2018

User Review: "GIT - Only the name is small!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
So, Git is a popular tool used across many departments in my organization when it comes to the management of the source code. In our day to day application, we constantly need to check in and check out the code and that is helped by Git. The beauty of the tool is that it's flexible across various operating systems and programming tools and it comes in forms of a graphical user interface as well as command line interface. So, it ensures the code is up to date for the various users working across an application and hence the sync.
  • Open Source, free of cost.
  • Easy to install, flexible across windows and Linux machines.
  • It comes as GUI as well CLI.
  • So, the users that don't have much stronger hands on commands can go for Git GUI.
  • It connects easily with Eclipse and hence provides an additional option to check in/check out the code from Eclipse itself.
  • Since the usage of GIT directly deals with code control its use is recommended only for those who have good knowledge of it.
  • Mistyping of a command can lead to unwanted code to be modified so, extra care has to be taken there too.
  • It's important while using GIT that one follows the basic step flow, if not used in that order it can spoil the code repository.
  • While working across various users using the same code repository it's difficult to maintain the same version of code across each user.
Git is more suited in the code development projects where a team of developers constantly ensure that they are all on same page while accessing the code. It's best suited when a new individual joins in he just has to check out the code and start working. Also, in the testing environments where we have huge chunks of automated test scripts that need maintenance Git comes into the picture, but again here many organizations that prefer to use SVN over Git as there are fewer complications there when compared with Git.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2018

Review: "Git is a must in your development process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Git is used by my department and it is what we used to store and track all of our development projects. For any projects that require some type of programming, Git is used in order for us to maintain and update our code. Git allows us to easily share and manage our project all in one area.
  • Git does a fantastic job of tracking changes within your code. You can see all of your previous versions and it allows you to see easily who made the changes and when the changes were made.
  • Git allows you to revert your changes to current versions or commits should your project need to go back to how it behaved in the past.
  • Git does a great job of allowing multiple developers to work on one project by creating different branches within your git project.
  • Git may take some time to get grasp if you have never used it before in your development process. It can be intimidating to try to learn at first.
  • Git has some strange behaviour of autocrlf in Windows.
Git is great for keeping track of your project when multiple developers are in the picture. This will allow you to see all the changes within the project and contributions of all of the developers and prevent overwriting of each other's code. Another great use for Git is creating multiple environments. For instance, having a staging environment that would allow you to see how your code behaves before merging your new code into your production environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 01, 2018

Review: "Git - A Required Tool for All Development Teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Git for all of our marketing websites. We're using it to save versions of code as a backup, to track changes and to see when changes were made and by whom. It helps us track updates for our clients and enables our team to work on the same sites concurrently.
  • Code backups
  • Code tracking
  • Branching
  • Team development
  • Git has a learning curve
Git is amazing at helping teams of developers collaborate on sites. It allows them to work at the same time by utilizing branches, then merging in with the main branch. It allows developers to track their code and submit bug requests as well as comments on bug fixes.
Read this authenticated review
Rene Enriquez profile photo
December 14, 2017

User Review: "Better choose Git!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Git to store our source code with all of our clients. All the technical staff uses Git as a CVS. It's an awesome product for versioning and managing source code no matter what programming language you use.
  • Versioning
  • Revision of newly implemented code by using Pull Requests
  • Branches to allow developer working in different features at the same time
  • Good integration with CI and CD tools
  • A lot of plugins and tooling are available to be integrated with Git
  • Not sure, it has been working awesome to solve our needs and there is a lot of documentation available to meet the product. As you study features you discover ways to use them.
Even if you have only one developer working on a project it is always a good idea to use a CVS like Git to version the source code. Not sure where it shouldn't be used.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
September 29, 2017

Git Review: "The only version control system you really need."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Git for many varying purposes. The most obvious use case is for our code-based projects. Drupal modules, WordPress plugins, Composer packages, NPM modules, you name it--it's all in GitHub! Additionally, we use GitHub for managing libraries of shared code snippets, managing configuration files, holding Ansible playbooks, and the list goes on and on.
  • Version control just about anything!
  • Manage the code of projects both large and small
  • Manage configuration
  • Facilitate easy collaboration between developers
  • Sometimes Git can be daunting to use, especially if you are new to it, and especially if you're on the command line.
  • Many Git clients exist, but it would be great if Git had an official cross-platform desktop application. However, many alternative Git desktop applications exist.
Git is suited to almost any purpose where you have some code that you want to keep somewhere, or you have some files you want to maintain a history of changes of. The only thing Git is not really well suited for is storing or version controlling large binary files.
Read Ben McClure's full review
No photo available
February 15, 2018

Git Review: "A must have"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for all my projects both professionally and personally. Version control is a must have for development and Git has served me well.
  • Great CLI
  • Great documentation
  • Great support community
  • There are nuances to some of the commands that new users might trip up on such as fetch vs. pull
It’s well suited for any coding project where versioning is important. Cannot think of a good reason to not use it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 18, 2018

User Review: "Git - The best type of version control"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use git across our entire organization. We used to use SVN back in the day, but switching to Git has made our lives so much better. Ease of use is excellent and it's a much cleaner approach to version control.
  • Distributed versioning. Being able to have each developer working on their own stuff without stomping on each others' changes is very important.
  • Incremental versions are very crucial to proper development.
  • It's so much faster than SVN. You can check out a repo in probably 10% of the time it took using SVN.
  • There is no official UI for git, so you need to be somewhat familiar with the command line.
  • Undoing a merge could be made easier, but there are definitely complications in allowing something like that.
If you are doing any sort of software development, you need to be using Git.
Read this authenticated review

About Git

Categories:  Version Control

Git Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No