Git Reviews

77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 35)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 23, 2020
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In my opinion Git is always best suited for every version control and anything but the most simplistic of temporary code should be version controlled. It takes so little effort and can save your entire application. SVN was much worse at merging when I used that for a couple years.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
January 20, 2020
Ray Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is well suited for any file based scenario where source control is required. We mostly use Git for managing software repositories, but it would also be well suited for document version control. Anything that requires the modification of files and the potential need to roll back to a previous version is a good candidate for Git. The one scenario that in my opinion breaks this rule is database version control. With databases, we manage changes to table structure, functions, stored procedures etc., but I have yet to see good implementation of this with Git.
Read Ray Smith's full review
January 18, 2020
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is great for pretty much any coding project, whether working on a team or with a single developer. For teams, it enables multiple developers to contribute without getting in each other's way. Git also keeps a history of all code changes, which is why I would also recommend using it on projects with a single developer. The only real scenario where I would maybe not use it is when working with non-tech people. But even then, I might recommend getting them set up with a Git client app and teaching them how to use it.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
November 05, 2019
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For beginner programmers or new recruits in our team, I always recommend to learn how to use Git and integrate it into their projects. This tool is essential for every single software writing process, even if you are the only programmer in the team, or a part of a bigger group. Git is an absolute must. The only scenario where it might not be useful is when people cannot configure it properly and include some unnecessary big files in it.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
January 29, 2020
Suleman Ahmad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

- Easy to clone the repos.
- Secure to keep all the previous history changes.
- Fast to switch between branches.
- Easy to manage the codebase when we are working in the team.
Read Suleman Ahmad's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is well suited for collaboration. It can be used for multi-branch repositories and managing branch-heavy workflows. Collaborating is easier in Git. The disadvantage of using Git is that it is less secure. If the project is open source then it is fine, but Git charges for having a secured repository. Meanwhile, it offers private repos for free tier licenses.
Read this authenticated review
December 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for scenarios wherein you need to manage a lot of code and multiple developers are working on the same repository. The whole point of using Git is that you can create branches, develop the code on it, push it up and again keep on doing this. If you are not creating 10 branches a day you are not using GIT well.
Read this authenticated review
November 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is an open-source tool suitable for both small as well as large teams. It's great software for code collaboration and version control. I can't think of any situation where it will be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2019
César Costas Carrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is the best suitable tool whenever you need to backup your documents quickly. Even more so if you need to keep track of who made changes.

It is not suitable when you want to work in a "blocking" mode, meaning:
- blocking any other user from editing while another user is editing.
- setting editing permissions per file avoiding users to edit or read a specific file.
Read César Costas Carrera's full review
October 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

GIT is good to be used for faster and high availability operations during code release cycle. Git provides a complete replica of the repository on the developer's local system which is why every developer will have complete repository available for quick access on his system and they can merge the specific branches that they have worked on back to the centralized repository.

The limitations with GIT are seen when checking in large files.
Read this authenticated review
May 04, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you have a big developing team, you need a version control tool, and Git is the way to go. No other options need to be considered. When the whole team gets used to Git, productivity increases a lot. However, if you are working on your own, Git is still a good tool for managing your code, but its potential will be less appreciated.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2019
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is by far the best Source Control Management Tool I've used. I would recommend it to anyone, whether it's an individual working on their own project, a small start-up company, or a huge organization with thousands of developers. Maintaining code via source control is absolutely mandatory for all developers everywhere.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
March 30, 2019
Nikolay Rogoshchenkov | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Developers can work parallel on projects, increasing the speed at which teams can work, thus causing projects to complete faster. Git has saved our organization hours of having to manually trace code to a breaking change or manage conflicting changes.
Read Nikolay Rogoshchenkov's full review
November 29, 2018
Joel Tanzi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is very well suited for teams of software engineers who are collaborating on a software project. It makes life much easier for project managers, team leads and software architects to make decisions about which code to allow in and which to send back to the drawing board. It can also be a good tool for solo developers to use to manage and showcase their codebase and is, in fact, the versioning system on which the most popular code hosting platform, GitHub, is built on.

Git has at times been used for less technical content such as document management, but this may be a less appealing tool for non-technical professionals such as writers, whom may not want to deal with its learning curve and may find tools built into MS Office or Google Drive to be sufficient to manage document versions.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
February 12, 2019
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is suited for doing source code versioning of all-size projects, from small to large and very large. Does very well when you have distributed teams, as it increases the team's focus, collaboration, decreases the time needed for merging code and finding differences between file versions, and decreases the time needed to make a software release. Therefore, the time to market of new projects or new features is improved (any top manager's desire).
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
September 12, 2018
Matthew Mariner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is a great tool, in fact, possibly the best tool to use when keeping track of all the projects through version control. Through its rigorous program, it allows the end user to see how code behaves before being merged into the main branch, and allows the intelligent user to avoid problems & fix them if necessary. It is easy to learn the common verbiage (clone, add, commit, pull & push) but at the same time have all advanced features that you can need in a future (merge, cherry pick, diffs ...) It is faster than other version control solutions currently on the market, & because it's open source it's just the best go-to for Version Control Software.
Read Matthew Mariner's full review
December 26, 2018
Chris Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is best suited for storing and managing source code in a local or remote repository. For example, myself and 5 other developer friends are working on a hobby app, but we all work full-time, busy lives, and have no clear deadline in mind to develop this app. Each of us can develop our portions of the app independently on our own time, remotely checking-in our source-code revisions to a centralized repository. As each of us pushes our code to the repository, we can begin to merge the code together into a single revision. Let's say Joe (made up friend name) decides to go a little wild and releases some really experimental code that causes the rest of the app to fail when put into production. Since we used Git, it's easy for us to revert back to a previous release, removing Joe's code changes and fixing the issues with the release.
Read Chris Martin's full review
December 17, 2018
Jakub Wilk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is suited very well for programmers and less for new programmers that are mouse oriented. it gives very good support as visual studio tool and I think that thanks to this it is used very often within the Microsoft community. I'm very much MS oriented so my perspective is different than the others and I heard that the world is not only MS. In our company it is very well suited within offshoring projects to share and distribute source code around countries and companies.
Read Jakub Wilk's full review
June 07, 2018
Joshua Weaver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you're developing any software that requires the need of keeping the source code around, then you should be using Git. The only time I can think of an instance where I might suggest not using Git is when you deal with an integrated and closed development environment where the source code is tightly held and managed within the IDE or environment itself. This type of development is rare these days but does still exist. As such, it would take extra measures to extract the source code out of the environment to then be able to utilize the benefits of Git.
Everyone else should utilize Git because it helps in many aspects of Source Control, for example:
  • Feature Branches during development
  • Forking entirely new versions of projects
  • Merging changes
  • Reviewing Commit histories and changes
  • Rolling back changes
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
March 15, 2018
David Petrie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is perfect for any micro-repository solutions, as it can checkout source code quickly and switch between branches easily. For example, let's say you have a new feature to add to a microservice your working on, a feature branch can be created quickly, and the working copy can be automatically switched to that new branch. If you ever need to share your code to a wider public audience, Github is great for this. Anyone with an account can check out and comment on your code and suggest changes. Also, Git is free!

As for a scenario where you wouldn't want to use Git, I've heard that Git can struggle with image files (jpg, gif) sometimes, so users with lots of images may want another solution.
Read David Petrie's full review
March 01, 2018
Christy Herron | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Developers often work in pairs, and on multiple projects at once. Sharing code across multiple machines can be very difficult. I don't know how we did it before Git came along - well, I do, but it wasn't pretty! Git has been a lifesaver on many occasions when systems have gone down due to hard drive failure. Git has also made it possible for me to manage and monitor the input of remote developers, as I can see in the commit logs for each push to the repositories.
Read Christy Herron's full review
April 20, 2018
Miguelangel Nuñez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think you can use Git for every project you have, there aren't limitations about a kind of program or something specific. It's more about personal preferences and ease of use.
Read Miguelangel Nuñez's full review
December 14, 2017
Rene Enriquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Even if you have only one developer working on a project it is always a good idea to use a CVS like Git to version the source code. Not sure where it shouldn't be used.
Read Rene Enriquez's full review
March 07, 2018
Benjamin Hale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is great for coding for individuals and teams. The ability to have versioning and how git is built into many development tools helps to make using one of the many git repository services easy. I can imagine that for some projects, there are better solutions for keeping code, but for most situations, git works well.
Read Benjamin Hale's full review
September 29, 2017
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Git is suited to almost any purpose where you have some code that you want to keep somewhere, or you have some files you want to maintain a history of changes of. The only thing Git is not really well suited for is storing or version controlling large binary files.
Read Ben McClure's full review

What is Git?

Categories:  Version Control

Git Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Git's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Git?

The most common users of Git are Mid-size Companies from the Computer Software industry.